Submitted by George C. Brathwaite (PhD)
Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart brought the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) to victory in 2013. Victory came not because of his strength, but despite his weaknesses. Additionally, Mr. Stuart fought a weakened political leader attempting a come-back of sorts, and a political party that was cracked from top to bottom. It is seldom a cherished thing to publicly unclothe a prime minister given the traditional respect that Barbadians have for these men, and hopefully by the end of the next general elections, a woman. Of course, one can go back to Stuart’s first budget response after the DLP was returned to government in 2008. There, you would realize that the man who would eventually become Barbados’ seventh prime minister, was clinical in telling a story of the Emperor’s New Clothes. Perhaps, Freundel Stuart ought to be a storyteller, because his political leadership appears skewed from the norms, is in tatters, and it is patently weak.

The fact is, across Barbados and the diaspora, persons are crying out for effective national leadership so that the economy and society can overcome many of the hurdles the small nation faces. At this juncture, and among his Cabinet, there are individuals concluding that the stopgap of Stuart is not working, and has become dispensable. This assessment is likely to be one of the main reasons that Donville Inniss is contesting for the presidency of the DLP, and Dr. David Estwick’s intermittent divergences from the notion of collective responsibility goes without serious censure. More rabid in the scheme of public administration, are the repeated failures of the Stuart-led Cabinet. Barbados’ citizens and residents continue to be vociferous in their disgust and frustration.

Undoubtedly, much of the consternation and growing resentment is directed specifically to Stuart’s long periods of hush and do nothing. When the Prime Minister does act, the very untimeliness reveals a man too flippant to pull together disparate sections of Barbadians or to offer durable hope to the nation’s youth, aged, businesses, and families. Stuart’s anecdotes which, are often laced with noxious insults, also reveal his insecure weakness for effective communication despite him holding the most important executive position in Barbados. For instance, in attempting to push back against the expedient alliance between labour unions and strong portions of the private sector, both Stuart and his administration became vitriolic in rhetoric. The initial sting was to punish labour for giving an ultimatum, and later to suggest agreement was attained. A garish prompt came in the form of making the next Social Partnership meeting an unmerited, publicly aired spectacle.

One must wonder the extent that Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, as a student of history and politics, learned anything from Erskine Sandiford in 1992 (now Sir Lloyd). Sir Lloyd said then that: “When tough, albeit painful decisions have to be taken, we must do so in a concerted and resolute manner with the knowledge that there is a purpose for doing so, and that is our survival and that of our children, as well as the maintenance of a standard of living to which we have become accustomed. The days of out-and-out political harangue, partisan politicking, political hypocrisy and hyperbole should be set aside for honest and constructive criticism and political maturity.” Sadly, Stuart may be so entrenched in his obnoxious style of doing things that he does not have nimble flexibility or the acumen to be decisive; nor does he project any of the charm effect that is associated with charismatic leaders or the proactive tendencies of transformational leaders.

A critique of Prime Minister’s leadership is by no means a step in the direction of disrespect, as some DLP supporters would want to contend. Instructively, the great revolutionary Frantz Fanon in Black Skin, White Masks informs us that: “Sometimes people hold a core belief that is very strong. When they are presented with evidence that works against that belief, the new evidence cannot be accepted. It would create a feeling that is extremely uncomfortable, called cognitive dissonance. And because it is so important to protect the core belief, they will rationalize, ignore and even deny anything that doesn’t fit in with the core belief.” There must be some compassion for Prime Minister Stuart given that he probably bit off much more than he can chew. However, empathy ought not to give Stuart any hint of endorsement or victory at the polls – ever again.

The march held last Monday demonstrated a form of oppositional politics in which there was a public and collective challenge against Stuart’s dismissiveness. Labour and capital perceived their common interest relating to the National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL) and other tax measures which emerged out of Christopher Sinckler’s 2017 Budget. Perhaps, Stuart assumed that his silence or unwillingness to meet with the social partners would preserve the integrity of policy actions which, are sure to bring even more hurt and a higher cost of living for Barbadians. Yet, all those who marched were conscious of maintaining the fight.

Professor Hilary Beckles in a 1985 publication on ‘Bussa and the 1816 Barbados Slave Rebellion’ which was 201 years ago, strikingly writes: “It became clear to the planters that much greater repression was necessary to keep the slaves in subjection.” Today, for this analysis, the ‘planters’ can be substituted for the Government, and the ‘slaves’ can be replaced for the trade unions and workers. The resistance to Stuart and the DLP was phenomenal and was estimated to be over 20,000 souls marching on a hot morning compounded by intermittent rain.

The workers, businesses, consumers, and Barbadian families marched to gain their freedom from a beleaguered DLP regime. Barbadian workers, aided by capital interest, felt sufficiently pressed into survival mode with the unchanging demeanour of Prime Minister Stuart. The people were resisting the rigid and harsh positions taken by Stuart’s Cabinet. Frantz Fanon, incidentally warned that: “When we revolt it’s not for a particular culture. We revolt simply because, for many reasons, we can no longer breathe.” Surely, Barbadians would prefer a growing economy and a healing and productive society, although always having to struggle for the ‘right to life and social liberty’.

Therefore, at the dawn of another anniversary of our emancipation, it is important that Prime Minister Stuart realises the struggle of today remains one of rights and freedoms. For many Barbadians, their right to life and a good quality life is threatened by the presented policies of the current Minister of Finance. Moreover, our social liberty remains under threat when such things as gun violence, and an astonishing murder rate so far for this year are forcing residents and communities to shudder with fear. Barbadians will no longer tolerate delay, indecisiveness and silence on the issues affecting them daily. With an announcement for general elections drawing nearer, it is becoming clearer that Freundel Stuart’s leadership is unwholesomely growing feeble. Prime Minister Stuart needs to do a little more listening to the voices of the masses; all that is expressed by the nation is not discordant or unreasonable. I wish all Barbadians a safe, enjoyable and memorable Emancipation Day. Something must be said and done, Mr Stuart!

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com)

71 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Stuart’s Feebleness Grows”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Fruendel really needs to get his lazy ass up and hop to it…..

….. show the people he is making the necessary changes….or move aside and let someone else who is CAPABLE…..do the job, that the people are paying exorbitant amounts in salaries for government to do, every month.

2. What does it say George when you resort to the following extract from your article? Sandiford though knighted remains arguably one of the most unpopular prime ministers in our history, till now.

One must wonder the extent that Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, as a student of history and politics, learned anything from Erskine Sandiford in 1992 (now Sir Lloyd). Sir Lloyd said then that: “When tough, albeit painful decisions have to be taken, we must do so in a concerted and resolute manner with the knowledge that there is a purpose for doing so, and that is our survival and that of our children, as well as the maintenance of a standard of living to which we have become accustomed.

3. Vincent Haynes Avatar

4. @ George

This DLP is curse . It is headed by one of the ugliest men in every form , so George, with 6 months to go before exorcism, tell us something from the BLP that is hopeful.

5. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Interesting…..just before elections…..

Pinelands appeals for financial support
    Chief Executive Officer of Pinelands Creative Workshop (PCW) Rodney Grant says the organization needs significant investment if it is to truly benefit Barbadian youth. Speaking to the media on the…
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb
    https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/31/pinelands-appeals-for-financial-support/

6. George Braithwaite why would u not be truthful in your political diatribe and speak a truth about this economy which cuts across a ploitical landscape of years of decadence and self interst where all feasted off the fatted calf and now in present time when a called for restoration and reconstruction is necessary no one wants to pay back.In the meantime with elections around the corner why are you not asking Mia Mottley what solutions does she has to restore and reconstruct the economy.

7. @ David

Sandi ought to be instructive for Stuart and the DLP, if no one else, for several reasons among which would be the need to look beyond narrow political interests, and surely to realise that the cousts may be longer than 15 years this time around. In fact, Stuart plays to the internal politics and forgets that his decisions or lack thereof affect the current and the future. Maybe that is why Sandiford’s efforts were viewed more positively by the next generation as opposed to the calamitous effects at the time.

@Watchman
    I cannot and will not speak to the man’s physical characteristics. But more pertinent to your question, do you not believe that it is the electorate that ought to be demanding and advocating for what they want as opposed to listening to hear what the BLP or any other party will promise. 50 years of independence suggest to me that we have to move the mark and make demands on politicians and political parties. Yes, it is about give and take, but the citizens must become more responsible for letting their needs be known.

8. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Georgie Progie

How are you today?

This is the first day of August 2017.

In another few days we will have the out in the open, as it were, social partner meeting for all to see. The people of Barbados will get to see the unholy alliance of the chickens and the Mongoose sitting on one side holding hands and trying to bring down our BLACK Govt. who will be sitting on the other side, the correct side of history.

We will also get to see what is the Ethnic composition of the private sector team. Will it comprise largely of those who from the 97% majority of Barbados or largely from the 3% minority including Indians?

All lies being told about the Govt. by the chickens and the Mongoose will be laid bare for all Barbados to see.

And by the way this will be the format going forward. George, I am sure that you are eagerly looking to it as the rest of Barbados is.

9. @George

We all know the problem Stuart has had to battle from the start, a slim to non existent backbench. He has therefore not had the opportunity to whip his frontbench when the situation has demanded. Wickham predicted it, the handicap has guaranteed one of the weakest if not the weakest we have seen since 1966.

10. Wickham also predicted a Poll that never came true.

11. Two Venezuelan opposition leaders, Leopoldo López and Antonio Ledezma, have been re-arrested, relatives of the pair say.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-40787830

12. Another poisonous rant from George, littered with mistakes of grammar and diction.

Does George read his own material? Does he enjoy looking foolish? Will David help him edit these diatribes?

AIso, BU should discourage George from being the cunning propagandist and insist that he offer a few ideas to show that his gang deserves the opportunity to govern.

13. Chad,
    Stop being petty. Deal with the ideas and not silly nonsense such as ‘grammar and diction’. You should be one of the last to talk about grammar.
    We do not all have five qualifications, including a PhD, passed our A levels at age 15 and now work for a major US corporation.
    Some of us are ordinary. Ideas are what matter.

14. The Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite should be so embarrassed to attend the next DLP annual meeting where a resolution to discuss if Mia is practicing law without a LEC will be debated. Is this the same man who on the floor of parliament promised to investigate the matter? One must assume that there is an earthshaking announcement in the making from Brathwaite. We wait!

15. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

FROM BARBADOS TODAY

“”I have also acknowledged the resolution coming for a call for the Office of the Attorney General to make clear for Barbadians, the legality of having a legal certificate to practise law. And that resolution we know is going to be highly debated in terms of the concerns that we have heard in other domains with respect to the holding of this legal certificate and the importance of it,” Pilgrim said in a clear reference to recently raised questions about Opposition Leader Mia Mottley’s qualification to practise law in Barbados.

Minister of the Environment Dr Denis Lowe had openly challenged Mottley to “bring proof” that she was qualified to practise law here.

During last month’s Budget debate, Mottley attempted to clear the air on her qualification holding up a set of personal documents, which she made a record of the House, to prove she was an attorney-at-law of good repute. However, this has not quelled public concerns about Mottley’s qualifications.””

16. More important!!!! Has MIA unreasonably withheld client’s money like that lawyer who does have a LEC, but had to be taken to court to force him to give the old man his money?

17. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Hants

The older you get the wiser you ought to be. Don’t disappoint me talking foolishness.

Anyone practising a profession such as Law or Medicine must have ALL the prerequisite qualifications. Or the person is a fraud who must be dragged before a court of Law and the book thrown at them. Followed by a lengthy jail term when found guilty.

An old pensioner like you should know that.

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar

These operatives too love to duck reasonable questions…..everybody asking something….. including me about preconco cement and fx wastage and wondering why?

….but then again it is the modus operandi of the Primus inter Pares…..to be expected.

19. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

I would advise the BLP to elect another Leader between now and the next General elections to spare themselves a lot of grief.

20. The dems are desperate………..desperate people will do anything to survive and remain relevant.

21. And I would advise a certain bad looking person to do something about their appearance rather than worry about someone who is head and shoulders above them.

22. The days for gutter politics dlp style are over……….people want substance and issues not dlp pig pen slime!

23. Poor rakey wild boys.No concept of decency about any of them.Garbage all over Barbados and Denis Lowe drawing a salary still.Agriculture still dormant,water struggling to maintain supply and Estwick mouth clamped shut.Boyce running tings in Finance and Stuart taking all the blame for the poor shape of Barbados.The Fatted Calf down to bare bones and all the policeman son can talk about is woman who is a big able QC is a quack lawyer.The speaker who many rate a dizzonest lec trained man is given a free pass.Major problems facing Barbados and these guys making mock sport with a political party’s future by tabelling stupid questions at the party’s annual conference.Barrow’s legacy is one set of clowns,parading as intelligent and serious about the people’s business.

24. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

prodigal

you still with that “”dems are desperate””?

Its time that you turn the page.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Howling…”I would advise the BLP to elect another Leader between now and the next General elections to spare themselves a lot of grief.”

Why? if FJS & Co cannot defeat her, they are useless as rahsoul.

Wha happen to Leroy? When he was Consulate General in Toronto..FJS was a hero. Looks like he was thrown under the proverbial bus.

26. @ Vincent Haynes

PRECONCO was dumping cement at Lears for years in the form of BOTCH prefab parts of houses, why do you think the houses built for Government cost so much, the taxpayers paid for dump botch prefab too

27. …………..Stuart assumed that his silence or unwillingness to meet with the social partners……….

PM Stuart did meet and had dialogue with the social partners. However they wanted to meet before the next planned date. So that statement is not correct.

28. @Kevin

Are you aware Stuart once referred to the social partnership as a philosophical absurdity?

29. 28-2

30. Can or will Kellman be #2 of the DLP in the house to a Thompson again ?

31. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

David August 1, 2017 at 2:57 PM

The right Hon. Freundel Stuart is one of the wisest men in Barbados.

His description of the social partnership is very accurate. Anytime there is a so called partnership and two sides always gang up on one side it is time to get rid of it. It is something whose time has passed.

It is also no help to the workers either. When Vat was introduced by the Arthur administration it also worked against the workers. The Mongoose class benefited tremendously from its introduction and the Govt. raked in more tax revenue than at any time in the history of Govt. in Barbados.

The Third part of the social partnership, the workers, was taken advantage of by both Govt. and the Mongoose class.

32. @NorthernObserver

rahsoul

To be accurate to the bajan lexicon it is ‘rassole’.

33. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Gabriel August 1, 2017 at 2:16 PM

I am trying to find out what it is you are really trying to say. Because you are not making any sense to me.

34. @Gabriel August 1, 2017 at 2:16 PM #

“Poor rakey wild boys.No concept of decency about any of them.Garbage all over Barbados and Denis Lowe drawing a salary still.Agriculture still dormant,water struggling to maintain supply and Estwick mouth clamped shut”.
    ………………………………………………………

I have some relatives who have come home to visit the family.

I have been taking them around the island to various spots of interest. I am so ashamed to see the condition of this island. The island is in terrible condition. I do not blame the government for the littering as I think that we have a lot of nasty Barbadians………….but I do blame them for the firing of Beautify Barbados workers whom they sacked to make room for Mark Maloney and he is only looking after the ABC highway.

Every single thing aspect of what we had as good governance in this country has been eroded by these wildboys passing off as a government.

35. @enuff

Dont tell them that…………..last time OOB told them so, they went and flooded narrow constituencies with thousands of dollars.

I was at a function over the weekend and a dem…a big up one at that told the group of us that the gang of 11 seem to be at it again……..plotting and scheming……….

36. No David

You are not rolling your r’s enough

37. Carson ignore Hants already made up my mind he sits on the alzhemeirs top shelf along with a few others who frequent Bu

38. @Pacha

Rassole is the root. Based on the temperature of the discussion intonation can be used to good effect. Someone of your bent might even resort to the hybrid, rassoul!

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

Phonetics good blogmaster, phonetics. I know the recommended.

40. No Northern

Etymology

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am a numbers guy….phonetics(sound), etymology(origin) are all beyond me.

42. Northern

Are you in danger of giving legitimacy to a ‘language’, often used by the many, but cannot be on your TV or radio?

43. There was a scary video made threatening us all recently.

I happened to tune into DLPTV last night and saw the AG taking to a reporter. This is a serious matter and he is in George Street standing in front of a DLP banner.

This is not a DLP matter, he is the AG for God’s sake.

If the man had any sense of what is right and wrong he would simply have moved to another location in the building even if it was infront of the hideous picture that is frequently used as a back drop because at least it does not say dlp.

This is a party in office since 2008 and still has never understood the difference between party politics and governance of the country.

But tick tock……..only 180 days to go!

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Or, they could all go meet Thompson, am sure he will be thrilled to see them all again..

Pure waste.

45. @Carson C Cadogan August 1, 2017 at 1:11 PM “Minister of the Environment Dr Denis Lowe had openly challenged Mottley to “bring proof” that she was qualified to practise law here.”

But is he a Dr.?

Can you find the university which granted him a doctorate in this list of Accredited U.S. universities: https://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/

Have you heard of degree mills?

46. A diploma mill, also known as a degree mill, is a phony university that sells college diplomas and transcripts—the actual pieces of paper—rather than the educational experience. Diploma mills are scam colleges that literally crank out fake diplomas to anyone who pays the requested “tuition.”