Fifty years since Independence is a sufficient period to evaluate the performance of the Prime Ministers we have elected.  How they have performed, what is the skillset a Prime Minster of today requires to be effective.

Vote for the person who in your opinion represented the office best. Explain in the comment box reasons for your selection if you are inclined to share.  The individual with the lowest % vote gets to wear the label of the worst prime minister Barbados has elected.

175 responses to “Vote for Barbados Worst Prime Minister Since 1966”

1. Freundel Stuart will undoubtedly go down in history as the worst (times worst) PM Barbados ever had.

For real!

2. Vote For Me

3. Prodigirl…….eat yuh heart ❤️ out !

PM Stuart is head and shoulders over what you and all the other BLP political sheep 🐑 will ever be .

Barbadians know they have a PM who will not be dictated by scumbags like you.

Case in point : the BPSA know the next Social Partnership meeting is Augus 2017 …. and they already agreed to that date

So and the other BLP charlatans can settle and wait fuh that date…. or migrate to VENEZUELA 🇻🇪……..where wunnah can join the SOCIAL UNREST over there !

In the meantime we getting the cameras 🎥 ready for the big meeting in August 2017

Canuoan ?????

Live and undiluted coverage for all Barbadians to see for themselves……

4. The PM likes to quote the Bible………..tell him to read the story of Haman.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This poll is bare shite. No need to ask people to vote for the periods the PMs served. Just put up the names of all the Prime Ministers minus the periods so that the votes reflect each Prime Minister instead of the votes split on the same person who might have served in different time periods.

6. The correct answer is Tom Adams. Good mind. Well bred. Excellent public speaker. Relaxed and charming whenever he wanted to be.

Only problems: Rumors of occasional cocaine use. (I’ll forgive him for that.)
    Womanizing. I’ll allow one troublesome vice.

7. Well bred?

8. The headline is misleading. I almost voted for the worst rather than the best because of the headline. Others must have actually voted with the headline in mind for P.M. Stuart to be rated higher than P.M. Barrow.

9. How could it be misleading if we have intelligent commenters who read with understanding? But the voting has revealed we do not and this is the point. We come with our filters and never read with comprehension,our minds are made up, this is the very problem we are battling in wider society with the breakdown in the relationship between partners in the social partnership.

The voting for the PMs in the period they served is to recognize that each period possibly required a different skillset and it applied to Barrow only.

We don’t apply reasoning, we are not dispassionate in our analysis, this is our problem as a people. We are robotic, many of us, how we do things.

10. Which is the best of a bad lot?

11. angela Skeete Avatar

yeap silly season i voted for the worst blog

12. You yardfowls are so blind that you voted for Stuart above Barrow didn’t you?

Have a read of Dr. Belle’s article.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/26/stuart-is-a-liability-belle-warns/

13. What has the voting revealed so far?

Sandiford, Thompson, St.John sink to the bottom as expected. Tom rises to the top because of disaffected BLP supporters. Stuart is wrongly positioned above Barrow because DLP operatives and others who didn’t apply reasoning voted incorrectly. Some learnings.

14. Be honest Fractured…
    PM Stuart is a perfect example of why you should not put low-class, ill-mannered, low-self-esteem people into positions of power.

He does not need to keep emphasising the fact that his mother was a maid…. He lives the fact.
    Bushie’s mother also did maid duties… but she was no damn maid, she was an unquestioned QUEEN…. and the Bushman is hard pressed to live up to that reality – even though she is long gone…

His recent rant on TV was depressing, embarrassing, uninspiring, and actually insulting… even to a mother was ‘was a maid’. He sounded like the ‘son of a maid’.

First thing we gotta do in Barbados is face reality…
    This man is the PITS…. an embarrassment to Black people, to Barbados, to St Philip and even to his mother.

Far from being the worst prime minister, Froon is among the worst parliamentarians that we have EVER had….

15. Do we need a new vocabulary of politics. Instead of people being yardfowls, how about calling them supporters?

16. Hal a yardfowl is not a supporter. Can you dig it?

17. @Bush Tea

Did you listen to Richard Sealy in parliament yesterday when he used the argument offered by ac on BU that was shot down? He asked where were the other 255,0000 Bajans.

18. David,
    It shows why we have to explain ourselves in simple language. When I was a teenager in Barbados in the 1960s, we used to call unquestioning supporters a yardfowl. Has the meaning changed?

19. @ David
    Hal has been away for too long…. the imagery eludes him…. Yardfowls up in his neck of the woods would not survive summer…

Look Hal,
    A yardfowl is an bird that hangs loosely around the backyard and under the cellar living off the scraps of the house.
    The pretend to like the residents of the house, and cluck excitedly whenever the boss man appears, but as soon as he turns his back, they run over by the neighbours playing the same game…

Bushie avoids them because they end up swallowing a lotta shiite that is discarded from the house, …shitting all over the yard, …and keeping a lotta shiite noise in the place day and night.

See if that does not describe angela and Carson to a ‘Tee’….
    Alvin is NOT a Yardfowl … he is just an idiot… 🙂

20. Man David…
    Out of self-respect, Bushie makes a DELIBERATE effort to avoid listening to Richard Sealy and John Boyce….
    That sorta shiite does tempt a bushman to sin he soul
    …and then the whacker does need urgent maintenance…. 🙂

Missed him ….deliberately.

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Absolute nonsense, David when you state that:

”The voting for the PMs in the period they served is to recognise that each period possibly required a different skillset and it applied to Barrow only.

We don’t apply reasoning, we are not dispassionate in our analysis, this is our problem as a people. We are robotic, many of us, how we do things.”

The polls ask for which Prime Minister executed the best skill set during their tenure. You provided periods resulting in Barrow having two spots on the poll to reflect two different time frames. He will be judged on the basis of what he did during these two separate serving periods. You could have easily placed his period next to his name showing the two different serving periods in brackets as you have done. Persons then would simply vote for what they think about Barrow overall, just like persons are voting for all the other Prime Ministers overall. Do you not see that if Barrow was good in 66-76 or terrible in 86-87, this could easily result in bias opinions affecting his poll at two different positions? Therefore, how could a true picture be painted of Mr. Barrow if you have him coming in at two serving period spots.

All the other stuff you wrote about applying reasoning, dispassionate and robotic blah, blah, blah, is simply blah blah blah.

22. “SSS

Here is the beauty of BU, you are entitled to your comment.

The split of the Barrow period was deliberate, many like the BU household, regard his second bite at the cherry as a nonsense period and we did not want to detract from the other period. Those who feel that it does not detract will vote for his first period, others who are of the view he dragged himself back in that period will vote for the second period. It is not perfect design based on the limitation of polldaddy. It will give a feel for how Bajans measured his last period in office.

23. Hamilton Hill Avatar

The minister of finance reminded Barbados last night that if one puts a moustache on a pig,um is still a pig. Is the following a fair assessment? The PM of Antigua says ” This administration will not be held to ransom “. Our PM said the very same. The difference is that Antigua ‘s PM directed his tough talk at a private sector entity that exhibits parasitic qualities anytime incompetence raises its ugly head. Ours directed his tough talk at the Barbadian workers, after giving away not only a wash pan full of goodies…but de kitchen sink too. Well dress and well spoken. Does such preclude incompetence? Not saying….just asking.

24. @ David
    SSS has a point.
    You COULD also have given Arthur three time slots in which to be judged… one for each term… the results would have been quite different….

What you HAVE been able to prove is that polling is bare shiite…and should mostly be seen as a fun exercise to be used when more serious analysis is too much of a strain on limited intellect…

…thus an excellent profession for Peter….

Shirt!!!!

25. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

There was once a great man called Tom, who after today’s march would have removed the NSRL tax and then send home 6000 gov’t workers and given the others a raise of pay.

ERIC LEWIS

26. @Bush Tea

You need to behave!

If the instrument is well designed the poll can serve a purpose but it should not occur inside a timeframe that we judge will shape public opinion. This simple exercise exposes how a poll can be misused. By Peter Wickham’s own admission when the result is close a poll is a toss up any way. If BU had its way we would publishing the result of polls one year from the date of the election.

27. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Jamaica, has gone through about six or seven IMF programmes since 1980 and is still experiencing profound economic pressure, that pressure made worse by the global financial meltdown of the last quarter of 2007. Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica and Barbados were always regarded as the far more developed countries of the CARICOM and all of them are under pressure. Barbados is has been under enormous pressure ever since the global financial meltdown as well because we have something called a service economy which depends significantly on tourism and on international financial services and international business and therefore a lot of what we are able to achieve here depends on what is happening in the countries on which we depend for tourists and on which we depend for international business and financial services. So the four MDCs in CARICOM are under pressure.

Extracts from the speech by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart at the DLP Christ Church West Luncheon on Sunday, 23rd July 2017.

28. This poll is a nonsense

Biased and aimed at one man, JFS

The truth is that who ever the current PM is will be the worst

Just like how a year from now MAM will be the worst.

The truth is that there are no meaningful statistical measures to make sense of this question, in a current moment

It just opens the door for the rank political or the emotional, yearnings for yesteryear.

29. @Pacha

If Stuart finds himself in an untenable position then how would you advise him to craft his rhetoric months before a general election IF he plans to lead the party?

30. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Astor B. Watts Lunchtime Lecture Series

Friday, 28th July, 2017

By Hon. Denis Kellman, M.P., Minister of Housing and Lands

Join us and be edified.

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Stuuupse. I like you, David. I really appreciate this blog, but sometimes you are/could be a real ignorant shite when you want to be. Do not take it to heart, just being the SSS and respectfully speaking my vile mind. So understand me when I tell you that this is not about entitlement or what BU tolerates or does not tolerate. You are the blog master, and if the poll is fit for your liking, man enjoy em here. At the end of the day, the only darn thing that counts is how we are going to get out of this mess that the BLP started and the DLP intends to finish. And, the part you will play and are playing, in getting the next incumbent to embrace ITAL and all other relevant legislation to protect tax payers dollars. SSS over and out.

32. Are you of the view your interventions on the blog and FB helping your cause? Soon you will find yourself in the political dustbin like sylvan Grenidge and Henderson Bovell.

33. We may see it as such but Stuart does not give us the impression that he believes that position exists.

David, the next election has already been decided. The only question which remains is whether there will be a constitutional crisis arising therefrom.

Our advice would have come from the last election. Including the formation of a national unity government.

The PM is therefore locked into current political realities and can do no more than face the political death to which he marches.

There is no rhetoric to overcome the quagmire and that Stuart has created for himself.

34. David why is it that when a difference of expression is made on BU you become so irritated and defensive to the point where you attack and try to destroy the persons credibility or reputation
    If you really belived truly in freedom of expression you would not use derogatory tactics such as name calling to demean persons of differing opinion.just let people be .all are not cut from the same cookie cutter.
    You ought to be ashamed of yourself

35. @David, for what it’s worth I offer my two cents in agreement with SSS and BushTea.

Segmented Barrow for his two periods as PM is an overly intellectual exercise for the purposes of your lovely snap poll…SSS perspective re well made….Even if you can aggregate both his selections can one realistically for a one-query poll parse effectively your remarks re:

“…[many regard] his second bite at the cherry as a nonsense period and we did not want to detract from the other period. Those who feel that it does not detract will vote for his first period”.

Barrow’s as the original PM was a colossus among a group of other colossal elite men and women at a pivotal era in the nation and nothing he did (or others really) after can really ever reach those ‘soaring’ heights.

In those simple terms he would have to be seen as the best…

As you say well “If the instrument is well designed the poll can serve a purpose…”. And thus as you know well, a shewed question or headline bias can affect even the most simple or properly detailed poll query. Your headline also threw me off-guard initially.

@Chad45, as Hal asked “well bred”. Good Heavens man, are you saying that Grantley was a stud of repute or that Mrs Adams was like Venus the Goddess and knew how to charm her paramour to maximum effect…a fertile and wondrous breeding, yes!! Steeeupse.

And BushTea you are just as ridiculous with your broadside of Stuart…(“he is a perfect example of why you should not put low-class, ill-mannered, low-self-esteem people into positions of power”).

So he is a poor leader because he was NOT well-bred, I presume ….

David, as usual this site bubbles up some real deal perspectives quite powerfully. Amazing.

36. @Bush Tea

PM Stuart is also the UGLIEST in every form

37. In other words Pacha…
    ..the DLP is just a ‘walking dead’ at the moment… and even Stuart must know that.

There is NOTHING WORSE than for a body (Barbados) than to be carrying around a dead part – especially in the head….
    It is BY FAR better to endure a serious operation and excise that DEAD part …and then to work assiduously on a recovery…..

Even a bad foot is not tolerated by Bajan doctors – far less a bad part of the damn head…. Every DAY counts…

Either we dump these duppies …or we all die with them….

38. Angela,

David is not an objective referee, he likes too much to be part of the punch up. But by so doing he sets the tone in the forum, which undermines the very impact of the blog.

39. Bajan in NY July 26, 2017 at 2:30 AM #

“The headline is misleading. I almost voted for the worst rather than the best because of the headline. Others must have actually voted with the headline in mind for P.M. Stuart to be rated higher than P.M. Barrow.”

@ Bajan in NY

I understand your point.

When I read the headline of the post: “Vote for Barbados worst since 1966” and saw the “ballot,” I immediately voted for Freundel Stuart and I’m sure many other readers may have done similarly.

However, it was only after reading the post I realized the headline is somewhat misleading.

On the other hand, perhaps it may be better to READ the post before voting.

40. @ Dribbles
    So he is a poor leader because he was NOT well-bred, I presume ….
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    So exactly what do you NOT grasp …about him being a poor leader ..AND not being well bred too..?
    Shiite man, wuh If Bushie’s GARDENER demonstrated that attitude on TV.. that Froon did, Bushie would put a few whacks in his ass about poor breeding…. far less a ‘lawyer’ sitting in the position of PM…
    No wonder the other low life in his cabinet are such jackasses…

Looka – you best don’t vex Bushie today yuh!…this is not a good day.
    The whacker just got service-and a new roll of 1.04 string get installed….
    Shiite could be flying bout de place like rain yuh…!!!

Whaloss!!!

41. @ Hal
    David is not an objective referee, he likes too much to be part of the punch up. But by so doing he sets the tone in the forum, which undermines the very impact of the blog.
    Lotta shiite…!!
    No wonder you are a washed up failure …only now looking for meaning in your old age…

David is a BOSS!!
    He injects EXACTLY the right mix of tolerance, probing, repartee and censorship (especially she who must be obeyed…) to make BU the BOMB!!!!

If you want mediocre lukewarm shiiote why don’t you call brass tack…and get the OTHER David?
    …or go back to Barbados Today …from where they dismissed your ass unceremoniously?

What undermine what impact what??!!
    NOTHING compares to BU as the news medium of choice for Bajans EVERYWHERE….

Results speak louder than washed up brass bowls…
    BBBBBBBB!!

42. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle….Kudos bozie….yuh shottin pun this one today….ah gine see wuh yuh doin pun de udders.

……no need for my intervention.

43. Agree Pacha.

44. @Hal

Read BU’s tagline. The BU household started this blog to broadcast our opinions and to facilitate those held by others from the BU family. Hope you get it now.

45. A poll always provokes discussion. Recall the second poll by Wickham?

🙂

46. @Artax

Surprise you didn’t read, not like you. Let us reverse the perception that Black people don’t read…joke.

47. Listen Hal does setting the tone call for calculated attacks on a person
    I have been a victim of such attacks even to the point of David purposely and maliciuosly giving and presenting some personnel information on this forum which he perceives to be the person connected to my moniker
    Who does that when it is clearly stated in the privacy agreement
    That no private information would be placed in the public domain by the administrators or owners of the blog
    David lies in the same sewer pit as Herbert all with the sane mindset of having their own way by any means necessary even if it means destruction or division

48. Bush Tea wrote “Shiite man, wuh If Bushie’s GARDENER demonstrated that attitude on TV.”

I expect you employ a “maid” as well as do all the Elites in Barbados.

49. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Stop playing like there are only few on here who are the real intelligentsia that can read between the lines. Some of us choose not to frigging well intellectualise simple things with a lot of fancy big word talk. Poll always provoke discussion my grandfather’s pooch-hole. You just do not want to admit that how the poll is presented is bare shite.

50. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Vincent at 8:43 AM

Are you afraid to get whacked or what? In my days of playing Bat and Ball that was called “appealing for light in the midday sun.”

Without the Freudian slip in logic the discussion would not have gotten off the ground, simply because the poll would have had a foregone conclusion. It widened the debate to illustrate that giving a politician more than two terms at the helm leads to manic depression. That is not good for the country.