The March to Déjà vu

Repeat?

The Act will require every person who is a ‘person in public life’ when the Act comes into force to make an initial disclosure to the Commission within three (3) months of the date of commencement of the Act. In the case of a person who becomes a ‘person in public life’ after the commencement of the Act, it will provide for the initial disclosure to be made within three (3) months of the date of his becoming a ‘person in public life’ – Extracted from a Speech delivered by the late David Thompson in January 8, 2008.

Even if a small number of marchers than expected turn up on Monday the government finds itself in a lose lose situation. The big picture that must remain painted in the minds of all Barbadians is the economy stupid. With less than a year to go before the next general election, it is unlikely even to the proverbial optimist this government will be able to infuse sufficient confidence in the marketplace to fuel a greater level of productivity. In summary, if the private sector through its executive fails to demonstrate that it has the support of workers on Monday it will retreat to other means, flight of capital is one example. A trip down memory lane to the period 1991 to 1993 is a reminder that a government that fails to enjoy the confidence of its private sector is doomed to fail.

On the other side of the equation is the Union in a fight some say it cannot afford to lose. With the private sector showing the Union support and about to execute the phalanx maneuver -the Barbados climate, not industrial, is about to become more elevated. How does one determine if the Union ‘loses’? Is it based on the hundreds, no thousands of man-hours wasted because of absenteeism, go slows, employees on the job who have disengaged, how about those who see no wrong in misusing government owned assets?

The right to demonstrate once done peacefully and the rule of law respected is the inalienable right of a citizen or group under the democratic system practiced in Barbados.  The government operatives have pulled the race card which exposes a level of desperation and panic in the camp. Bear in mind this is a government whose political campaign was bankrolled by a White Bjerkham and company in 2007/2008, and to boot,  rewarded him with a seat on the board of the Central Bank of Barbados.

The Stuart led government finds itself in an unenviable position in the political history of Barbados. It explains why the usually studied public utterances of Comrade Bobby Morris have of recent descended into a pit of defamatory bile.  In the 90s the DLP Sandiford administration fell as a result of a public AND internal withdrawal of confidence in his government. Are we about to witness lightning striking twice on the same party? Are the political historians waiting with pen in hand to ink events as they are about to unfold that will include DLP déjà vu in the table of contents?

Part of the problem Barbados is experiencing is that the message of change promised to Barbados first by Thompson and then Stuart who won because the BLP got it wrong has not materialized. We have had more of the same from this DLP government with continuing rumours of corruption supported by Auditor General reports, ineffective Public Accounts Committee sessions, dissenting positions from within the bowels of Cabinet, questionable NIS management read Four Seasons and EMERA, defacing of the Central Bank’s reputation, Cahill etc, etc, etc. All of the forgoing has been compounded by a prime minister who refuses to use the power of speech to communicate to those he leads. It is at election time the sleeping giant feels emboldened to shout from Mount Olympus to the sheeple.

To the topical issue of march or not to march AND the motive of those  who support the march. First a disclosure: Charles Herbert is known to the BU household and the attempt to smear a man who has lived his life so far to build a solid reputation in Barbados as a professional and citizen is to be regretted. It is a clear example why quality Barbadians resist getting involved in ‘giving back’ to society. He should have remained  in his lucrative practice, make his millions and forget about the plebs. Members of the BU household have observed him sitting at town hall meetings quietly taking notes, asking questions when many of the BLACK yardfowls attacking his character today stayed at home watching TV or at Chefette purchasing takeaway dinner. One of the reasons the citizenry has to resort to disruptive methods to demonstrate against a government unwilling to listen is because our governance system is flawed. There is no avenue to recall the government in a structured and less disruptive manner, for example, support in the Constitution to cede the POWER to RECALL to  the people.

At the root of our problem is the lack of integrity and transparency in public office.

311 thoughts on “The March to Déjà vu

1. Since CH wrote the letter as head of the PSA, that letter must be in the public domain. Anybody got a copy?

2. If government had done right by the workers in the country for the last 9 years, stay friendly with the unions and all other workers, especially those paid slave wages….. instead of being confrontational and hardline….toward overtaxed workers.

.ya wont have to worry about some silly little letter from one of your own Mangoose.

When ya sow the wind, ya reap the whirlwind.

3. Was looking at a “Frankly Speaking by Caswell (June 15. 2014).

Going to toss this on the wall and see if stick as the election process has to be more than changing from EverReady to Duracell.

A politician becomes eligible for a full pension after serving 10 years in parliament and reaching the age of 60 (or older).

Politicians must declare their assets to some government office every three years

An immediate criticism is that only the rich would enter politics, but I believe that politicians would work harder to serve the people if you move sharing of the fatted calf down the road and also examine how the calf is shared,

4. “The Mangoose are through with you, you have served ya purposes as slaves.”

Wrong as usual!!!

The mongoose is eager to install the OREO party. To wit the Barbados Labour Party.

But elections is due next year and they are afraid that the people will once again re elect the party of the people the Democratic Labour Party(as they will).

A day can be a long time in politics never mind the better part of a year. In 2013 the Mongoose poured millions of dollars into the OREO PARTY election campaign only to witness the wise people of Barbados get in its way by re electing the Party of the people. As a result they got no return on their investment. Ever since they have been angry with the Democratic Labour Party.

• The thousands who marched equate to votes. You should keep this top of your skull with a general election on the horizon.

5. “I was told today that the police were told to expect 20,000 people. They reckoned they had about 25,000. I took a detour for a ‘water break’ and met up the riot cops in a side road carrying gas masks.”

This is the same gas mask and riot shields Adriel Nitwit had imported some years ago and lied to the people about it.., everyone knew they had it…hope the police used the shields to shelter from the rain and the gas masks to hide their laughter..

The ministers are mischievous, one of them posted a shit article to ND this morning and got cussed poisonous fir his or her troubles. ..ah bet they sorry now.

Carson…yall have to stop lying to the people, they are your bosses, you are their servants.

Ya are not the servants of the Mangoose. .lol

6. @ Carson C. Cadogan July 24, 2017 at 5:42 PM #
    “What we witness today was the cat and the rat pretending to be friends.”

Then your DLP administration must be the cheese trapped like piggy-in-the-middle.

Mene mene tekel upharsin. Your end is nigh. Run for cover.

7. “The mongoose is eager to install the OREO party. To wit the Barbados Labour Party.”

That means the Mangoose are through with you…

…they are exchanging you for the other gang of slaves…remember, all yall slaves are interchangeable.

Same system…get rid of old useless slaves, ship in another gang of slaves easier to control for a time,

“Ever since they have been angry with the Democratic Labour Party.”

So why yall still giving them NIS money by the millions, contracts, concessions, taxpayer’s money.?

How much the Mangoose begging yall to thief from NIS for Hyatt….

8. Pingback: A Failure of the Social Partnership | Government Out of Step With Civil Society | Time for Workers to Rise Up! | Barbados Underground

9. FB

That was my intent on my post as I said every one knows that the lay offs have to come and if these were re-elected just like the 2013 no layoffs the same would happen after this election.

10. Thousands who would have voted for the OREO party anyway. So nothing was gained by them anyway.

11. @ Carson C. Cadogan July 24, 2017 at 6:15 PM
    “In 2013 the Mongoose poured millions of dollars into the OREO PARTY election campaign only to witness the wise people of Barbados get in its way by re electing the Party of the people. As a result they got no return on their investment. Ever since they have been angry with the Democratic Labour Party.”

The same can’t be said about Maloney and his white financial shadows. They have indeed received more than just a ‘return on their investment” in the poor workers’ Housing Credit Fund.

Just look at the Valerie and the Grotto with the Hyatt kickbacks in the pipeline!

But the once fatted calf has transformed into an emaciated dying old cow ridden by an obese jackass called Fumble. Your DLP asses have now become parched grass that not even the mongoose and rat would want to play in.

12. I hope the workers were not too timid to use the opportunity for them selves.

This was a great chance to tell the bosses who were along side them marching, not to deduct their NIS and then don’t pay it in, not to force them to work when there is a National shut down, and don’t forget to give them an hour for lunch as the law dictates and not half hour, to promote them on merit and not to give the Manager job to their 16 year old grand son who is dumb as an ox, when they have guests from overseas don’t require female workers to provide them with sex, and so and so on.

This was a wonderful opportunity for such dialogue. Seeing that they were now buddies.

13. David,
    The BIG march took place. Based on the speeches made by the leaders of the march I still have to understand what the purpose of the march was. One leader said it was because of lack of dialogue between the Government and the unions, because Government would not engage with the. I seem to remember that a union leader some time ago, when seeking to convince government of the necessity of consideration of a wage increase; in spite of a presentation of government’s estimates of expenditure and revenue; prepared by public sector workers, showing the precarious position of Government, and despite the dismissal of the Governor of the Central Bank because he objected to government borrowing (through printing of money, i.e, loans) to pay the same public sector workers, indicated that he was prepared to begin negotiations by asking for a 25% increase, still expected to be talked to or negotiated with. Bargaining begins with each side presenting an extreme position, but not an unrealistic position, when all the figures are presented. The unions are not being led, they are being misled by their so called leaders.
    I read the IMF report, of the staff participating in the article 1V consultation. The second to last, and last paragraphs should be required reading over and over for the Union leaders (ALL), and the Private sector leaders. It reads:

“Continued fiscal discipline, with economic growth are essential to securing Barbados’ future. They will be critical to bolster international reserves and support the currency peg. Only a substantial and a sustained reduction in the fiscal deficit, which will put the debt-to-GDP ratio on a solid downward path, will restore the country’s credit rating and attractiveness to investors.
    The May 30th budget accelerates the pace of adjustments. It seeks to address the fundamental imbalance between revenues and expenditures that has characterized Barbados’ Public finances in the past decade and to significantly reduce new funding requirements. The budget is primarily focussed on raising revenues while shoring up international reserves, including through an increase in the NSRL which impact mostly imported goods,rising from 3%to10%…”

There is no doubt in my mind that the IMF had a hand in the preparation of the BUDGET. They left the island on 29th May. They knew what was coming and had no objection.
    What the reaction of the unions, the opposition (even though the Leader of the opposition was part of the consultation team), and others, is that the reactionary elements in this society are still following a slavish attitude. If the same medicine had been recommended by the IMF; (foreign; and what Bushie would call albino-centric elements), there would have been no protest marches. They would have held their noses and swallowed the medicine. But because it is a home-grown package, fashioned presented by Black people, and does not advocate borrowing to support the balance of payments, or devaluation, the same people want to kill the party in power, and create strife.. Shades of 1991.

14. before I forget,

When they see them at the bus stop waiting for the bus and they are driving up in their Audi SUV, don’t leave them stranded, give them a lift home. After all we are now friends and fellow marchers.

I scratch your back , you scratch mine.

15. David;
    My mother used to use an expression in reference to people who would not listen or understand. She called them “hard mouth cows.”
    At last the union leaders should understand

16. DAVID

If you really want something to do profitable, get a copy of the letter HERBERT wrote to OUR PRIME MINISTER promising “social unrest”

And publish it.

OUR PRIME MINISTER said that he had to read it, re read it, read it upside down, read it from the back, READ IT FROM ALL ANGLES, because he could not believe that HERBERT put something like that in writing to him.

• There you go Carson old boy.

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart’s signature next to Clare Cownan, CEO of Cahill Energy

17. @ Carson Cadogan

Did the Prime Minister not say that with regard to the removal or adjustment of the NSRL at this time, “That will not happen.”?

What dialogue are these marchers then expecting to take place?

The Prime Minister explicitly stated that fiscal policy is the sole prerogative of the Cabinet of Barbados and not subject to the review and approval of any private sector body.

The Prime Minister said that he was not negotiating the policies of the Government with anybody who has NOT faced the electorate.

Do you agree that should the Prime Minister meet with the private sector association or the unions with regard to the already imposed tax policies that this is a declaration of surrender and evidence that the present administration is not fit to govern?

Has the Prime Minister painted himself into a corner? As a student of history what did you learn from the previous experience of a large number of Barbadians taking to the streets to protest the actions of a DLP administration? Ten thousand marched then, twenty thousand marched today; should I prepare for 28 years of BLP administration?

18. `Carson C. Cadogan July 24, 2017 at 7:10 PM #
    I hope the workers were not too timid to use the opportunity for them selves.

This was a great chance to tell the bosses who were along side them marching, not to deduct their NIS and then don’t pay it in, not to force them to work when there is a National shut down, and don’t forget to give them an hour for lunch as the law dictates and not half hour, to promote them on merit and not to give the Manager job to their 16 year old grand son who is dumb as an ox, when they have guests from overseas don’t require female workers to provide them with sex, and so and so on.

This was a wonderful opportunity for such dialogue. Seeing that they were now buddies.`

….and the government knows all of this, condone it, do not lock up these Mongoose gang for it, do not protect the workers from it…

all the government does is demonise the workers and the unions…you are slaves to the minorities, you serve and protect them…you do not serve the majority who pay your salaries….you got what you deserved….look after your own people first.

19. Ping pong

Lightning does not strike the same place twice. That is for your edification.

20. Our PRIME MINISTER is a very intelligent man.

He is not only well educated, but even more importantly he is imbued with a great deal of COMMON SENSE.

Also he is surrounded by a very capable team of Cabinet Ministers and advisers.

Nuff said!!!!

21. @ Alvin Cummins July 24, 2017 at 7:12 PM
    “There is no doubt in my mind that the IMF had a hand in the preparation of the BUDGET. They left the island on 29th May. They knew what was coming and had no objection.”

“If the same medicine had been recommended by the IMF; (foreign; and what Bushie would call albino-centric elements), there would have been no protest marches. They would have held their noses and swallowed the medicine. But because it is a home-grown package, fashioned presented by Black people, and does not advocate borrowing to support the balance of payments, or devaluation, the same people want to kill the party in power, and create strife.. Shades of 1991.”

Alvin, can’t you see you are contradicting yourself by those two conflicting statements?

Did or didn’t the IMF ‘recommend’ those measures proposed in the “BUDGET”?

But we are glad to see that you are seeing the inevitable road to the IMF door.

Shades of 1991, indeed! Even when the economy was firing on all cylinders and batting like Sir Garry.

The current economically stifling measures will have even a worse impact than those which were introduced in the many versions and iterations of the same homegrown package sold to Bajan fools since December 2013 with the disgracefully dismissed Guv of the C B being the chief salesman of junk bonds and bullshit.

22. Ok

you have published something which can not be verified, how about publishing HERBERT’S letter now?

• What value should we place in the word of a Prime Minister. Should we dismiss Prime Minister Stuart’s promise as election campaign rhetoric? Should we dismiss the promise the late Prime Minister David Thompson made to CLICO policyholders? Are we finally willing to say to politicians, ENOUGH!

Read Nation article PM’s Word

23. So why dont Fruendel publish the letter, that is what a real leader would do to prove his case and regain the lost trust of the people…whom he is paid a salary to serve.

Ping Pong….it is clear Fruendel and is fools were playing slick, buying time for the next 10 months and it blew up on them…lol

they got stabbed by their masters

24. yall just got thrown under the bus by the minorities you enrich and put before ya own people and ya still keeping secrets for them…

useless slaves….they will destroy you.

25. DAVID

WHAT VALUE should we place on HERBERT’S WORD?

“Business folk make views clear”

NO, NO AND NO!

The Barbados Private Sector Association (BPSA) supports neither the recent budgetary proposals nor the trade union-led industrial action taking place.

And it has also not engaged in any show of no confidence against Prime Minister Freundel Stuart.

The position was made clear by the association’s chairman Charles Herbert following a two-hour meeting with its members ”

Then two days LATER there he was encouraging Businesses to close down their businesses and give staff a Bank holiday WITH PAY so that he and they could march REAL BUDDY LIKE.

THE SAID SAME HERBERT.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/98857/business-folk-views

26. The Prime Minister said that he was not negotiating the policies of the Government with anybody who has NOT faced the electorate.

Suppose de body brings de electorate with him/her?

Sounds like an awful lot of voters in the electorate marched today!!

27. @ David
    Forget the idiot Carson..
    Let the dead bury their dead.
    Why are we talking about the dead?

There march was about sending a message to the BLP…about the kind of Barbados we want.
    It was sweet as shiite!!! …an atmosphere not seen on the streets of Barbados since the 1980’s

Thousands of mostly DECENT people, …of all races, ages, abilities …all intermingling like family….

..no nasty low-minded, gutter-ready wukking up and drunkenness
    ..no nasty language and fights
    ..working people …concerned for the future..

Shiite!!!
    Bushie could hardy believe it… SOME BAJANS ARE NOT BRASS… 🙂

28. DAVID

One thing about you, you like using numbers which you think will get your crooked Barbados Labour Party into Parliament in numbers sufficient to form a Govt.

In the run up to the 2013 election you were spouting numbers of 28 to 2.

Barbados Labour Party 28

Democratic Labour Party 2

Now you are back with numbers again?

You just getting old but you are not learning anything?

29. Charles Herbert is more intelligent and competent that EVERYONE in the WHOLE DLP …put together – even if Stephen Lashley does the arithmetic …and comes up with $20M.

It is therefore refreshing to hear that the pissy DLP yardfowls are attacking him… Bushie would have had second thoughts about him, …if brass bowls who like Froon and Stinkliar ALSO liked Herbert…

30. @ Vincent

The public sector workers have to get a salary increase first, then the elections will be called. Have patience.

31. bush tea

Wonder of wonders!!!!

You are no longer calling your fellow Bajans , BRASSBOWLS?

I CANT BELIEVE MY EYES.

32. Hopefully Mia and her gang, once elected do not make the same mistakes, being slaves for and serving Fruendel`s Mangoose, instead of the majority population.

33. WELL WELL

The DLP is going to be returnd to office for a third term.

Don’t get tie up.

And the thing is you are talking so much about Barbados and you don’t even have a vote here. so your words don’t count.

34. @ John who wrote “Suppose de body brings de electorate with him/her?”

Well that may be fortuitous. It makes for greater effectiveness and efficiency in getting one’s message across. However, the message received may not be message which was sent. Something like what happened as a result of the CBC telecast of the PM’s speech at the constituency luncheon. 20000 didn’t get the PM’s message or did they?

35. if the numbers are correct, ya see those votes ya expecting next year….ALL marched against yall today, ya would be lucky to get one seat…..

someone said it could have been up to 50,000 marching against the government today….

36. @ WW&C
    Hopefully Mia and her gang, once elected do not make the same mistakes,
    Hopefully, the situation will be such that Mia and her gang will be FORCED to be on their Ps and Qs …out of fear that those DECENT Bajans who stood up for RIGHT today will be UNAFRAID to do it again …and AGAIN should politicians do shiite….

Left to Bushie, there would be another march on Friday UNLESS the dead idiots in charge have called elections by Thursday…

The on Monday next week …
    EVERYONE STAYS AT HOME AND HOLDS A WAKE FOR THE DLP…

Up de damn thing..
    How long are we going to lug around a bunch of dead bodies?

37. Bush Tea July 24, 2017 at 8:02 PM # said “march was about sending a message to the BLP…about the kind of Barbados we want.
    It was sweet as shiite!!! …an atmosphere not seen on the streets of Barbados since the 1980’s”

The march this morning was the best welcome home present I can imagine.

38. The numbers are increasing by the hour.

First it was 10,000

then numbers man DAVID raised them to 20,000

now some one else is saying 50,000

by this same time Tuesday night they will be 250,000

I am hoping that I will be wrong. But I doubt it.

39. @ John July 24, 2017 at 8:00 PM
    “The Prime Minister said that he was not negotiating the policies of the Government with anybody who has NOT faced the electorate.”

How come he will have to be prepared to ‘negotiate’ with IMF in the coming weeks/months? Will he be faced with a Hobson’s choice of black horses?

Will the IMF be facing the electorate in the upcoming one-horse race since the yellow DLP horse saddled with an obese jockey will be ‘scratched’ because of a broken leg received while exercising at the Garrison but too close to the monument dedicated to Satan?

40. A very poor outcome of a protest march !

The DLP government is still intact & not brought to it’s knees as promised by the organizers !!!!

In the 2013 general election campaiythe BLP claimed they had 25,000 persons at their Haggatt Hall rallly …….in a space that can only hold about 6,000 persons !!!!!!

The Dems ain’t budging the PM ain’t budging !!!!

So all your BLP political sheep 🐑…..keep chewing on your cud !!!!!

41. Bushman…it`s time.

Carson….which ever way, yall lost the trust of the people…so you are doomed either way.

there was solidarity today and it was not with the government.

that is a death knell.

42. “The Prime Minister said that he was not negotiating the policies of the Government with anybody who has NOT faced the electorate.”
    Which electorate did Jerkham, baloney and bizzy face..?

43. …by this same time Tuesday night they will be 250,000
    Got THAT shiite right Carson….
    Left up to Bushie, by the third march up to Bay street it may well be…

REAL people hate wunna donkeys hear…?
    Dey wanna UP the damn ting….

44. OMG, David

Thanks for posting that picture of that old goat……..

I was searching in your archives for it since another blogger posted it………..instead of spending so much time bowing down and worshipping at the altar of the DLP, serving the wicked deceitful DLP, he could really spend some more time looking after himself.

This march today really has them rattled to the point where they seem to be going bonkers!

If only 5 or 6 thousand had turned out, he would be here gloating………but alas, people of all classes and races came out peacefully to show their displeasure with this government.

The PM did a disservice to the country last night (I actually watched the man). I think as well as a lot of the marchers today that his condescending tone and rhetoric brought out many more people.

45. Good question…all 3 of them making up half of Fruendel’s Mangoose….his masters.

So glad they threw him under the bus…should have been on of those GO buses…those are huge.

46. It’s sad when neither the PM nor his ministers know their place…are always combative to the union, their members and workers in general…

Hear the idiot Carson gloating about government knowing about discrimination against and sexual exploitation of workers, never doing anything about it and hinting that they never will because of today’s march…what a low class, bottom feeding bunch…no one should ever vote for them again…

I could not even read Alvin’s nonsense, not even the first paragraph, cause it sounds very much like they believe the government can retaliate against the marchers and the unions when these are the people they should be looking to make peace with…or be thrown out of parliament….which it appears is a slam dunk.

47. There is no disputing the fact that the foundation of today’s march, was lies.

48. There is no disputing the fact that the foundation of today’s march, was lies.
    Right again!!
    …probably started when Froon said that he knew nothing of CAHILL…
    …or was it when he said that UWI fees would not be cut…?
    …or perhaps when Stinkliar said that the 2% NSRL would be just temporary…?

49. @NorthernObserver July 24, 2017 at 11:28 AM “Hence my surprise, and disapproval, that Herbert would write the need to “avert social unrest”. That could be construed as an implied threat, versus a consequence of actions taken/not taken.”

I see no implied threat. However I do see a warning that if people feel mistreated they will protest, sometimes violently. It has happened in every country, in every era, under every form of government. Bajans are human.

And because we are human, we will sometime protest, and in the past this protest has sometimes become violent. The capacity to protest, sometimes violently is embedded in every single human being.

I know this.
    You know this.
    Stuart knows this.
    Herbert knows this.

50. @Hal Austin July 24, 2017 at 2:30 PM “Government has now lost the confidence of the people and of business…It now has lost the PR battle.”

I am so glad to see that you have awoken from your coma.

51. Bushie how come yuh ent shout muh out? Yuh play yuh ent see mu BUT ah see yuh flat boxy self trying to wine behind de truck. Dat march was a good one. Yuh ent see de BIG BLACK RAT dat run thru de crowd over de bridge. I say dat was Froon running to Bay St. fuh cover! It nearlyrun over muh foot and de crowd did jumping high.

52. Mia took a lot of flack when she built a prison at Dodds and used the old US Naval Facility at Harrison’s,St Lucy to house temporarily the majority of prisoners.It was a logistical nightmare but this indefatigable woman rose to the occasion.You see the hell Guyana is going through with a similar situation.And we had even Worrell at CB complaining about the repayment of the loan for building Dodds.Barbados a tourist destination would have been doomed if Glendairy had burned under the watch of Nitwit Braffit and this poor rakey lot comprising the DLP.Prisoners would have been in that march today if Nitwit had to deal with the problems Mia handled.In addition this same Mia handled the logistics of Cricket World Cup,enacting and passing special legislation connecting our territories as a single space for purposes of immigration and emigration.OSA had confidence in Mia then to handle these 2 big projects.She did so admirably.What is the reason OSA detests Mia nowadays.OSA,say it or stop talking about the woman as though she is a pariah.

53. @Artax July 24, 2017 at 3:48 PM “This march is a lesson for Freundel Stuart.”

But still the question is “Is he capable of learning this lesson?”

54. @Carson C. Cadogan July 24, 2017 at 5:40 PM “As someone said, the BLACK Trade Union Leadership must realise that you cant be a friend of the chicken and the Mongoose.”

Since Fruendel has called the private sector (read the white people) predatory cats, lions and mongooses tell me again why did Jepter apologize for calling them parasites?

And those of us who are Bajans, especially those of us who like Freundel, are country Bajans, know that to be called a sneaky, egg sucking, parasitic, thieving mongoose is the very worse kind of insult.

55. Bushie

Why are you allowing the BLP to laugh at you?

Why are you setting up yourself for disappointment, again?

What could explain how you, as our intellectual prop, could over and over again, when the chip are down, defend duopoly politics as if vanguard?

You cannot be so naive to consider that any message could be sent to the BLP other than your spineless desire to have the BLP in power again.

No further reading, by the duopoly, will go into the meaning of this march. And you MUST know this.

We’ve had potentially more profound marches before this. Last time the BLP emerged with 15 years in ‘power’ and nothing changed for the better.

Even crimes committed last time have not be answered, and will never be, once you now sanction these old crimes.

A highly intelligent man like you must see some external forces with the potential to inform local changes. Things lesser mortals are oblivious to.

We see external forces making things far worse. And consider that the dominant local forces, including the BLP, will merely serve to further consolidate economic power into fewer and fewer hands.

Your notion about the least bad is also self delusional.

Or the thinking about not throwing out some baby with some dirty bath water. That too has long been a logical fallacy.

Politics in Barbados, in duopolies more generally, are nothing more than acts of public masturbation and we find it quite difficult seeing the Great Bushie spilling seed in such a wasteful fashion.

56. ” why did Jepter apologize for calling them parasites?”

You would have to ask him that question the next time you see him?

57. @ Pacha
    Boss … you have to work with what you have.
    Life is like that.
    Brilliance is not about being a genius – it is about maximising the ACTUAL potential at your disposal.

@ Islandgal
    Bushie had his eyes on someone looking like you, …but what the hell happened to that ‘coke bottle body’ yuh had…?
    What has gravity done to the ‘bubs’…
    Looks to Bushie that IslandGuy overdoing it yuh…. 🙂
    Better put him on a leash….

58. The workers were given a Bank holiday by their bosses and paid for it. Next year we will see the same again, but this time THE WORKERS WILL BE PAID TO VOTE by their bosses.

Today was the dry run.

What say you HERBERT?

59. @Alvin Cummins July 24, 2017 at 7:12 PM. “Bargaining begins with each side presenting an extreme position, but not an unrealistic position.”

Can you explain for us simpletons the difference between an extreme position and an unrealistic position?

Tek ya time thinking before ya respond.

60. “21,000+”

For now, by Tuesday night, it will be 250,000.

Mark my words!!!!

61. “The Transport Board . . . we were buying transmissions at about $30 000. The consultant, through his initiatives, was able to bring a transmission out of Texas for $6 700 and they’re on the buses and they’re working,” said Lashley.”

What iniatives–honesty and research? No wonder people fed up!

62. @ Pachamama July 24, 2017 at 10:21 PM,

Sadly, your above comments to a naive and an excitable Bush Tea will go largely unnoticed. There is too much triumphalism in the air.

The large numbers of those who attended the march should be attributed to the marchers’ employers who, maybe, coerced their workers to attend the march. We will never know.

Let us salute that group who hold the “pouvoir” (power) in Barbados; and i’m not talking about the government or the masses. To be continued.

63. Lashley is lying, there cannot be any savings, if a transmission cost 30,000 and you hire a consultant at 22,000 per month plus perks to make a few calls to US to get the transmission for 6,000….the excess money is paying the consultant for the calls he made, 22,000 plus perks, which adds up to a hell of a lot more than 30,000 per transmission, where is the savings.

Abd besides, Lashley said they git the trsnsmisdions, so what does he still need the consultant for, the consuktant coukd have stayed in Trinidad on a shirt 3 month contract and made the same calls to Texas.

And how much did Lashley pay PWC to tell him he is saving and if they told him that, they should not be an accounting firm….and like all the other ministers….Lashley cant count for shit.

No wonder people are fed up of these jokers.

“Carson….yall wont stop telling lies…Herbert said there was no threat of civil unrest in the letter. …so show us the letter….cause I tend to believe him.

Ya see, he say, he say.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/07/25/not-true-7/

“Chairman of the Barbados Private Sector Association (BPSA) Charles Herbert has flatly rejected suggestions that the business community had threatened social unrest if Prime Minister Freundel Stuart did not hold talks with the unions and the private sector ahead of a scheduled August 18 meeting of the Social Partnership.

Speaking at a luncheon of the Democratic Labour Party’s Christ Church West Branch at the Almond Bay Hotel Sunday Stuart said he was told “to meet or to schedule a meeting in order to avert social unrest, which is a coded way of saying, ‘if you don’t meet there will be social unrest’”.

64. “Since Fruendel has called the private sector (read the white people) predatory cats, lions and mongooses tell me again why did Jepter apologize for calling them parasites?

And those of us who are Bajans, especially those of us who like Freundel, are country Bajans, know that to be called a sneaky, egg sucking, parasitic, thieving mongoose is the very worse kind of insult”.

Lol, lol…I have never seen anything like that, it’s like a paradox.

They forced Ince to apologize to sweeten the Mangoose to side with them in their intent to economically hurt the workers. …when that backfired, Fruendel resorted to calling the employers he holds in higher esteem than the workers who pays his and the ministers salaries….Mangoose, which is so much more insulting than …parasites..lol

But both governments have known along that the private sector are largely comprised of Mangoose, whose actions against the workers, the people and the island, both governments have been actively enabling and condoning for decades…..a crime against their own people.

A message needed to be sent to both governments that the decades of disdain they carry for workers and unions, while the ministers spent all those decades in solidarity with employers who exploit in all manner and discriminate in all manner against all these employees. …had to end one way or another.

Even if it took the selfishness of the employers to pretend they are in solidarity with the employees to achieve that objective…….which turned out to be .a real paradox of the government’s own making.

That is what happens when ya spent decades neglecting ya own people, selling out ya own people…the universe takes a stance.

65. And besides, Lashley said they got the transmissions all installed, so what does he still need the consultant for at 22,000 per month plus perks, the consultant could have stayed in Trinidad on a short 3 month contract and made the same calls to Texas.

Michael Lashley is a real, real idiot….and these clowns claim to be the best educated in the Caribbean, having the best schools in the world.

While a Trini who aint so bright charges the taxpayers 22,000 per month, plus perks for another 5 years for making a few calls….steuppss.

While Lashley needs an accounting firm to tell him it saves money, which it does not.

Vote them all out.

66. Will Fruendel apologize for calling the private sector Mangoose, doubt it and he should not…..it was pre ordained that he says what everyone has known for decades.

Besides, he did not call them Mangoose only, his mouth was filled with a list of descriptive animals…lol….all vicious..lol

Let’s see if he will stand by his convictions…

Let’s see if he is a man or a spineless mouse….

The workers, union and electorate should always be unforgiving of governments…dont care who they are, who stand in solidarity with employers instead of with workers and unions….and both governments have practiced that for decades…..

…but finally, the government stands alone as a pariah.

It’s time for ALL workers on the island to be unionized, too many employers are getting away with paying unliveable, slave wages that both governments continue to enable.

BTW…..did any of the 3rd parties march in solidarity with the workers and unions….was Grenville and Lynette et al there.

And I hope Mia’s solidarity in marching was for the workers and unions and not the private sector.

67. I can’t make this any clearer.

The government tried to provoke the unrest…It just shows up Fruendel and his ministers as being totally out of tune and unaware of how mature bajans can be when they need to be, which of course has made the government look stupid.

The population just has to keep displaying that level of maturity…a win win.

Besides…it also shows that the government believes that the private sector (Mangoose) whom both governments have been in bed with for decades against the workers of the country and the unions….are capable of creating civil unrest in the country using the workers………

… they would like the population to believe that also..

So if government believes that the private sector is capable of destabilizing the country and the government…why have both governments for decades and still do today….fund the private sector with taxpayer’s and pensioners money….

That has to end…the governments are creating instability when they fund the private sector against taxpayers, against unions, against workers, using the population’s money……and then complain about threat of civil unrest instigated by the private sector…..everytime they have a falling out with the private sector..

How much more foolish can these two governments be.

Despite all of that, the government would still seek to be vindictive and punish the workers and unions, by refusing to do their jobs…

Do they even understand what that tells intelligent people about their mentalities.

68. So if government believes that the private sector is capable of destabilizing the country and the government…why have both governments for decades and still do today….fund the private sector with taxpayer’s and pensioners money…

I will even go so far and call it funding private sector (Mangoose) terrorism against ya own people.

Just remember it’s Fruendel, ministers and yardfowls put the information out there.

Comments are closed.