Bloggers may use this space to comment on the presentation.
- Read full text of the 2017 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals
- Follow the debate on the Barbados Parliament website

Bloggers may use this space to comment on the presentation.
The man who is the campaign manager of the so called Mr integrity seems to be at the centre of every money thing where excessive amounts of taxpayers’ money are paid out.
How is it that the PM’s supporters pride themselves that the PM is of such integrity yet his closest campaign person is seemingly overcharging the taxpayers all the time.
From MAM’s presentation tonight the man seemingly will come into 20 million US as finder’s fees.
But let me ask you all something………….how the hell anyone could get that amount of money for “finding” Sam Lords?………….Wuh……I could have shown the Chinese the way…….lol…lol……Lord have mercy!
Boy i tell yuh Mottley needs all the help she can get from the BLP yardfowls cause if all she can do is use parliament as a stomping ground for campaign recitations the country is indeed a good need of a bush bathe
Four hours of ole left off warmed up political speeches and the nerve of it all is to talk about corruption.
Some body ought to warned Mia Mottley to stay as far away from the corruption table cause she is one of the chief cook and bottle washers when it comes to corruption
If you doubt me Ask George Payne and Edmund Hinckson / Really how can she stand bold faced with all the unresolved illegal accusations attached to her name and start pointing fingers
If the DLP allow Mia to draw the corruption card and play it against them without a harsh response they will be deserving of a beating
To quote Agard a devil dress in white cannot be sanctified
If Mia gets the nod she promises to bring in the Forensic Auditors on the many unknown agreements made unknown to the taxpayers of Bdos.It would not be presumptuous to hope that the Clico and Baico corruption is also laid bare and restitution made to the affected policyholders and annuity holders.Clico as a pension administrator for local employees of companies not associated with the insurance arm of Clico have also lost their pensions due to the mismanagement of people’s hard earned pension contributions.Its a bloody disgrace that the DLP appears to be complicit in shielding the leprosy in the Clico institution.
The worst Budget reply in the history of Budget replies in the West Indies.
Pure unadulterated RUBBISH.
Mr. Mottley’s voice is so annoying.
“…If Mia gets the nod she promises to bring in the Forensic Auditors”
The last time they did they had to eat humble pie. Remember the St. Joseph Hospital inquiry?
Millions and millions of taxpayers money wasted and in the end the crooked Barbados Labour Party had to acknowledge that there was no wrong doing.
The Democratic Labour Party does everything above board.
Is this the best that the crooked Barbados Labour Party can do?
No wonder they were silent all along. No wonder all they had to offer was DOOM AND GLOOM and criticise, criticise, criticise!!!!
Please note that ”Independent Voice” is ac aka Angela Skeete.
BU will not bother to delete. It just exposes the dishonesty of some people.
Carson
Mia wipe the floor with the DLP today. If I was sitting the DLP I would leave her alone………..she say she nuff more files.
@ simple Simon,
No disrespect. But, i have simply given up on Barbados.
I apologise for sounding pessimistic but I genuinely feel let down by my fellow Bajans who reside on Barbados. I feel betrayed. There is something terribly wrong with you people.
Is Bush Tea now championing Mia? Lord have mercy.
Now here is a woman who has been called out by many of her colleagues as being not fit to lead the country now stands up bold faced at taxpayers expense and talks about corruption in light of the may accusations by her minters of vote buying and theft lodged against her which she has never denied or confront openly sufficient to satisfy but now given the floor of parliament to add meaningful response to the nations economy she hurls accusations about corruption against govt WEll !Well! well i be damned
BTW David every letter associated with a name that comments on BU that is not a blp yardfowl you associates with angela Skeete. You are a true die hard top of the line speckled Blp yard fowl
Carson C. Cadogan May 31, 2017 at 8:18 PM #
The worst Budget reply in the history of Budget replies in the West Indies.
Pure unadulterated RUBBISH.
Mr. Mottley’s voice is so annoying.
…………………………………………………….
I tend to ignore your ignorance but you have gotten on my last raw nerve. I know that David will not be too pleased with me as he expects us to ignore you.
You should be the last one to be critical of anyone’s appearance or person.
One of BU’s contributors posted a picture of you recently and you look like a day’s work. Get lost, you blood sucking moron!
@ mg_esq … with all due respect…
If one of the demons now ensconched in the newly constructed monument at the Garrison were to give a firm commitment that an independent, FOREIGN-run, forensic audit would be carried out in this shiite place IMMEDIATELY after the next election, then Bushie would probably ‘champion’ that demon ..rather than the sick bunch of thieving brass bowls currently constituting our political class…
Hopefully that is not to difficult to understand.
None of the holy, role-models who represent the Bajan angelic class appears willing to stand up for TRUTH, JUSTICE, HONESTY and righteousness….. So Bushie will take Mia.
If you are without sin, then YOU can pelt the first ‘big-rock’ and burst her donkey… 🙂
David May 31, 2017 at 8:33 PM #
“Please note that ”Independent Voice” is ac aka Angela Skeete.”
I realized it was Angela Skeete after I re-read the contribution. She cannot change the way she phrases her sentences, without proper punctuation, as demonstrated by her following comment:
“independent voice May 31, 2017 at 6:57 PM #: From the list of proposals submitted by Prodigal nothing shows any or any reasonable profit margin enough to tackle govt debt more likely another pathway of an expansion or explosion of govt debt.”
https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2014/03/11/draft-estimates-2014-2015/
Old fraud meets new Fraud
Brannie said he was vindicated by the report on St Joseph hospital.Vindicated?There were so many missteps and thieving and misuse of manpower on other peoples’ properties that poor Brannie lost the confidence of the dear people in his constituency,beaten and disgraced by a new comer to the party Clyde Mascoll who went on to lead the party.Poor Brannie never was the same since that St Joseph Inquiry and it is felt the report sent him to an early grave at a relatively early age.He felt abandoned by the party and they tried to make amends in later years by appointing him to the presidency of the senate but it was too late for this outstanding Up and On goalkeeper for the Weymouth lads!
A Budget response by MIA with RUBBER TEET
DAvid stop being a jack a,ss do steupse
here prodigal this is for YOU Corruption
Armando Rodriguez May 31, 2017 at 8:35 PM
Nothing she said made any sense.
Bare LIES!!!!
Talk wuh wunna like…
Did Mia say there will be a big meeting on these documents…?
Bushie will be the first one at Haggatt Hall for the full ‘no-holds-barred’ meeting with those (and other documents that are bound to fall off some track shortly)…
Dishonesty and incompetence should be exposed and rooted out wherever it rises its dirty head…
Some DLP closet doors are going to be bust open very shortly by persons who not only speak from personal experience, but have the evidence to back it up. Those DEMs who portray themselves as bona fide members of the ‘morality’ pool had better watch out. There are some surprises coming, though maybe not so surprising to some…..
What de fool me thrice, conniption I reading! Amazement fah days and extra days…..
The great wordsmith of BU who has excoriated to the bone the Oppo leader of the BLP and her alleged corruption in VECO , in EduTech before that and also directly called into question her integrity as it related to the use of sophisticated surveillance equipment to spy on senior police officials, politicians et al can speak so smoothly on May 31, at 7:02 PM !
This same lady can now be accorded ‘rooting status’ simply due to one of her oratorical master classes!!!
No excuse being made for the pathetic DLP sycophants who are defending their corrupt and spineless ministers…because OUT they MUST go.
But do stop the abject nonsense that Mia Mottley will become some new fangled, law abiding, corruption busting crusader.
These Budget proposals and their impact are vitally important but this yearly political theater that surrounds it is totally IRRELEVANT.
That Mr Brassbowl proselytizer himself could become so washed in the blood after mere words from an alleged very dishonest person is instructive.
It is clear that in the land of the reprehensible DLP crooks, cheats and liars, that BLP former crooks, cheats and liars are now our saving Kings and Queens.
What a ‘WIRL’…selector de rhated record, em stuck…same blouse n skirt playing again and again!!
@ de pedantic Dribbler,
Bush Tea has assured us that he is “chosen” by BBE.
He can therefore forgive alleged past indiscretions of others.
Too besides there is a theoretical statute of limitations on corruption in Barbados.
I can say with absolute and unequivocal uncertainty that the BLP has not been involved in
corruption prior to 2008.
You are clearly an idiot Dribbler.
No one is perfect – and certainly not stinking Bushie.
Repentance is magical – sackcloth and ashes works WONDERS.
Did Mia say that all Barbados KNOWS HER …with all her warts…?
Did she, DESPITE those warts, decide to STAND AGAINST corruption?
Bushie would turn around next week and cuss her donkey if she does shiite…
This has not one shiite to do with her (many) weaknesses, and everything to do with her future intentions… Wuh if um was like that Bushie would have NEVER been adopted….
…as the original boss bushman said – “GO Mia… and sin no more”.
But unto YOU…
He said…
“Get thee hence” …. 🙂
Confident leaders change their minds even doubt themselves at times and take a different path to resolution.They believe and practice the dialectic…..thesis,antithesis,synthesis.They believe in themselves,step back,believe in others and encourage that kind of leadership in others.Bushie exhibits these traits.Im joining him at ‘hackett’ on that day when all will be revealed.It will not be like that nite when the king of St. John church yard summoned his troops in ’94 to Queens Park to reveal the contents of a letter Owen Arthur wrote to the IMF.Diehard Dems lost faith that night.The “letter” never materialized.Dems liars then,Dems liars now,Dems liars tomorrow and always.When Barrow died,the party died.It out to sea,somewhere in the Atlantic Ocean, without the skipper.
I am stating here and now that we will see a rush from wealthy businesses trying to pay for goods before the implementation of the 2% foreign exchange tax. Banks will have a tough time sourcing foreign exchange for the majority of these big businesses. We will also see businesses using money runners going to countries with US dollars hidden on their person to pay for goods.
@ Tell me Why
…do you mean like how it was OBVIOUS that even normally law-abiding citizens would have been tempted to dump their rubbish in cart roads, gullies and country roads after the same idiot came up with his tipping fee?
…or how it was obvious that you CANNOT give 40 years tax free status to a new player in the market, and expect that the old reliable players will remain happy campers…?
…or how, if you keep increasing taxes, that people will retreat to the black market and reduce the taxable economy..?
…or that instituting a “Shiite Tax” to raise money for his puppeteer controller was a no- no..?
Boss, we are dealing with an idiot. Normal logic eludes him.
Imagine EVERY damn budget he is making basic mathematical mistakes that would be in section A of the 11 plus exams.
BTW, Wuk-4-Wuk like he ain’t too bright either …given his understanding of what 15% represents…. LOL
Ohh Shirtt… it it was not so tragic, it would be real funny….
Bushie. What we will also see is compounded taxes that will affect everyone. You cannot operate with an obsolete brain and decide to tax people. The Finance Minister should have done a dry run to see any obstacles that will affect the consumer. 2% increase might turn up to 15%.
Went to the gas station this morning and the price was still $3/ litre. I heard Ms Mottley also comment that the new price of gas should be more than $3.05 as stated in the budget. If the Minister and all the well educated persons in the Ministry of Finance cannot take care to get a basic calculation correct, should I not be concerned that maybe they won’t get even more complicated calculations and issues right?
@ Prodigal SonMay 31, 2017 at 7:53 PM
“From MAM’s presentation tonight the man seemingly will come into 20 million US as finder’s fees.”
Should that ‘man’ -who like the leper Greenverbs is another bosom buddy of Lord Fumble the king of deceit-should be in receipt of the US$ 20 million windfall for doing diddly-squat we hope MAM will ensure the BRA receives its share.
Prodigal, what did this man do to be in line for such a huge cream-off?
Did he re-enact so impressively the plundering acts of Samuel Hall Lord to make the Lowdown Lowe look like a reformed pettifogger?
The current DLP administration can find the time an resources to pimp behind tillers, roadside mechanics and other small-scale artisans but refuses to ‘encourage’ their “estimable” friends and fatted calf hyenas to pay also their fair share towards the tax pie.
Instead of forming a youth brigade or posse of tax witch hunters enough to make the Gestapo look like a pack of boy scouts why not let the so-called professionals in the BRA go after the big game tax cheats like Greenverbs and the same crooked finder of Sam Lord?
The Barbados Government proposes to sell the Hilton hotel and to build Sam Lords Castle hotel with money borrowed from China. I hope the Barbados Government has observed the experience of Sri Lanka who also built large projects with money borrowed from China and must now hand these projects over to China after these failed to perform financially. China is not averse to taking over parts of a country that is in debt to it.
@ BushTea. I will get me hence from this what your colleague calls a political dialectic!
Clearly BU and you one of its loudest proponents want to get on this intellectual merry-go-around once again or to quote you, to seek our national “Repentance”!
Thus in your current iteration of Bush Speak here cometh, our imperfect savior who “… DESPITE those warts, decide to STAND AGAINST corruption?…”
Those who were here then say you were also a loud and brazen acolyte of the DLP’s “dialectic…..thesis,antithesis,synthesis” in 2008.
And surely you had ample opportunity to cuss Thompson et al after those sweet words were laid bare for their nothingness…. all a part of the political dialectic which one scribe, Machiavelli, described such:
“A wise lord cannot, nor ought he to, keep his promises when such observance would place him at a disadvantage, and when the reasons for which he gave his word no longer exist.”
So once again you are brazen. And as a master beyond measure with words…you can always change your tune with a cuss later, after all.
Mia Mottley has now repented…Hallelujah … Let’s all say ‘Praise be to the Lord’…and may we also be forever guided by His wisdom…and the sweet dialectic of political synthesis and antithesis.
Let this idiot get thee hence from this abject, nonsensical folly.
“Occasionally words must serve to veil the facts. But let this happen in such a way that no one become aware of it; or, if it should be noticed, excuses must be at hand to be produced immediately.”
So every economic and business professional in Bim agrees that this budget will put us back into recession, chase more business away from our shores, result in Barbados investment lowering to ‘junk status’ and destroy the very little credibility any businesses here have with foreigners.
Obvious to everyone with half a brain.
So, when are we marching to demand immediate elections and who is leading us down the road?
Ping Pong,
Plse remind me what is the BLP’s position on Chinese loans? While you are it, what is Solutions Barbados?
Also remind me, when was the last time we had a debate in the print or broadcast media on China’s influence in Barbados?
What’s that proverb again about the blind leading the blind?
@Mr Austin
Don’t know what either the BLP or Solutions Barbados thinks about Chinese loans. I think whoever wants to administer Barbados should be very careful about anything to do with China. China is like fire, a good servant but a bad master. The present DLP administration is so cash strapped and desperate that it has thrown caution to the wind. While Solutions Barbados is irrelevant and can be ignored, I agree the BLP, as the likely next administration, needs to be interrogated on this matter.
Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! June 1, 2017 at 10:51 AM
Excellent question…….In any other country the business sector and the unions would have called their members together for a meeting in order to gather support for closing down the country untill such time as elections are called.
….but we live in Bim….we holler hard,talk nuff,cuss bad….then bend over and take it minus vaseline…..thats the creature we are plus they are some out there that see nothing wrong with more pain.
Basically Chris Sinckler could not wait for his chance to be PM so he did what he had to do on Tuesday and thereby ensure that he is NEXT in line after Mia becomes PM.
Imagine that DLP senior MP’s let a Johnny like Chris Sinckler jump ahead of them, treat them like little boys and destroy the economy and the DLP’s chance of retaining the Government JUST SO HE COULD BE THE NEXT PRIME MINISTER AFTER MIA AMOR MOTTLEY.
How is the lawyer in Barbados who had the bold-faced audacity to go the a commercial bank in Barbados and demand to cash a $750K cheque from SSA? It is being alleged that the man left the Bank after several hours with a medical briefcase of 20’s, 50’s and 100’s and smiling ear to ear.
Is the DLP government going to publish the two reports by the Social Partnership working parties in full? If so when? If not, why not?
“Chinese workers and Gymnasium staff tried to put out the blaze before the fire got out of control ”
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/97341/outside-wildey-gym#sthash.DUMJPgHS.dpuf
Chinese? Is Barbados now a province of China?
Chuckle….we just celebrated 40 years of togetherness with China as shown in this weeks newspaper…..China built the original gymnasium……since then that construction company remained here.
It was refreshing to hear the PS in the Ministry of Home Affairs called in the Auditor General to look into the Arch Hall Fire Station project.VOB news says cost overrun is almost 100%.
Waiting to hear submissions from Estwick and Inniss. Anyone can tell me the time.
What kind of contracts do they draft. I know in general Barbadian lawyers are not very competent, but where there is a cost over-run on a project like this the builder should be penalised, not the other way round. If government has to pay for over-runs it would be a perverse incentive. A 100 per cent over-run means heads must roll, starting with the minister and permanent secretary.
He characterised it as a project suffering from deficient management in the monitoring process, involving failures in the transmission of important information to the permanent secretary in the Ministry of Home Affairs, and high-level approvals not being sought prior to variations being undertaken.
“The failure to properly manage the project has resulted in delays in its progress, significant cost increases, a lack of funds for completing the operation, and the ultimate suspension of works, with facilities not being completed for use, thus placing pressure on some of the other fire stations,” said the audit.
Bushie. I blame you for the rubbish burning by the Gymnasium where the Chinese are carrying refurbishment.
You said
“…do you mean like how it was OBVIOUS that even normally law-abiding citizens would have been tempted to dump their rubbish in cart roads, gullies and country roads after the same idiot came up with his tipping fee?
Probably someone was playing with matches.
China has had a resident ambassador in Barbados since the late ’70s.Barbados only reciprocated,post the DLP victory at the polls in ’08.Sir Sandy himself was chosen by the king for that honour and it was suggested he wanted to get him out of the way because he was expecting great things like maybe GG.After Sir Sandy took ill and came back the next and current Ambassador is another heavyweight Dr Brathwaite,the former long standing Director of the IICA.Barbados clearly thinks very highly of its relations with China and has made sure by its choice of quality top class candidates.
@ Tell me Why. “Probably someone was playing with matches”…….
and cooking lunch. lol
According to the news item no documentation was submitted to the ministry,so one is left to ponder on these things.The contractor would have to know what he was doing and he would have to have good credit or deep pockets.The original project was 4 million.There are a lot of unanswered questions.