Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
The following was poster was created by Sunshine Sunny Shine

The Barbados Labour Party opposition leader has painted a picture that the parliamentary system of government under the Barbados Model needs a drastic amendment to make it more effective and public centred. When one listens to the gusto of the opposition leader, the way forward sounds very positive if the leadership of the island is given to her and her party in the next elections due in 2018. One cannot dispute the fact that the words of this aspiring leader makes a whole lot of sense as can be heard and viewed in the link below. She is without doubt a woman that is not often lost for words. But, one thing is certain and evident, we are yet to hear the same type of gusto and enthusiasm towards the number one problem in the Barbados governance model that has labeled both her party and the current Democratic Labour Party as the two peas in the same pod dilly dallying and excusing the need for – greater accountability, Transparency, Integrity, Anti-corruption laws, Freedom of Information and Whistle blower legislation. Mottley knows that the reports coming from the Auditor General over several years shows clearly that financial mismanagement and the wastage (or stealing) of millions of dollars under the guise of projects, cost overruns, were there little reporting of financials or no reporting at all, is still at large and needs reprimanding. Until Mottley addresses that concern, she will be looked upon as delivering a bunch of sweets that will only get sour once she has obtained the coveted first position of winning the next election and becoming Barbados’ first female Prime Minister.

106 responses to “Mia and Freundel …we want transparency legislation IMPLEMENTED!”

1. I thought every Barbadian understood that the DLP won the 2013 election only because they had money coming through their noses and bought votes.

This current mob has forever corrupted our electoral system. Someone close to me happened to overhear two women talking in St Michael West on election day…….one asked the other one if she had voted yet……….she replied ……….promised me $500 for my vote and he told me to meet him here for the money.

Where did a box suddenly turn up from in St Philip South just when the returning officer was going to declare a winner?

These morons have destroyed everything we hold dear……

2. @ Prodigal
    Look Boss…
    The DLP won (barely) the last election for two reasons….
    ….because the BLP had the audacity to present the same bunch of raw, bare-faced crooks that we had dispatched just 4 years previously…for open stealing, as documented by the Auditor General over many years.

….because nobody ANYWHERE, could POSSIBLY imagine that there existed a set of jackasses as dumb and dishonest as the current clowns in the DLP government.
    NOT EVEN STINKING BUSHIE….

Money shiite.
    Mendicant Bajans will take money from any, and EVERY one who offers it – for whatever reason, and will then vote for the last person to beg them for the damn vote…..

If the BLP were worth ANY consideration then Arthur would not even have lost back in 2008…..

Steupssss….
    Just because the DLP is shiite ….don’t stop the BLP from being jobby…..

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lorenzo

And I have said to you and I will say again that if you think Mia Mottley is going to be allowed to walk into the spotlight with all this talk about parliamentary reforms, free wifi and other nice sounding promising goodies, think again. Mia Mottley has to give all Barbadians her take on the matter of ITAL, anticorruption legislation, increasing the powers of the auditor general in light of his audit report findings under both political parties over the years, whistleblower legislation and freedom of information. I see that you did not read my responses to you on BT too well. To reiterate, the single and most despicable threat to good governance is the ease at which both political parties have enriched themselves through various deals and other illegitimate means. The idiots in the DLP have proven why it is needed and since they are not interested in enacting as indicated by the jackass we have for an Attorney General, then Mottley, who wants to come over as the people saviour, must address it with purpose and conviction. Mottley wants to be the Prime Minister that can, then she must take a hard look at the Auditor General reports and add to her list of promises, these necessary pieces of legislation that are needed.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/05/27/baico-policyholders-face-fresh-setback/

That is all they are good for, useless, unwarranted delays.

“BAICO policyholders face fresh setback
    Added by Emmanuel Joseph on May 27, 2017.
    Saved under Business, Local News
    Just when they thought the long wait for the payment of outstanding claims was nearing an end, the 13,000 policyholders of the collapsed British American Insurance Company (BAICO) are facing yet another setback.

Chairman of the Barbados Investors and Policyholders Alliance (BIPA) June Fowler the policyholders had been looking forward to the final handover of policies to Sagicor on May 31, as outlined in the High Court approved judicial manager’s final report dated December 31, 2016.

But nothing has been easy for the shareholders, for whom Government has made provision of $.96 million in this year’s Estimates of Expenditure and Revenue.

“BIPA was unnerved by the appearance in the press on Wednesday 24 May of a paid advertisement placed by the Judicial Manager stating that, ‘due to further discussions with Sagicor and the Government of Barbados, the transfer cannot be executed by this date,’” she lamented.

Fowler said BIPA had been advised that the judicial manager would return to court on May 31 to give an update on the situation.

However, the advocate is questioning the need for an update on this crucial date, other than to confirm that the transfer has taken place.

“What further discussions could Sagicor and the Government still be having at this 12th hour?” Fowler asked.

She however made it clear that BIPA would be present in court to ensure its members are kept abreast of the developments.”

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Alvin Cummins

Can you help to understand what you are trying to say? I ask you to simply answer a few questions and you write me a hold bunch of bull about what is going on in other countries. I did not even bother to read the rest for fear that it causes the old me to come out and lambast you crunch. So I leave you to answer David’s nice little rebut to your nonsense i.e. Why did the DLP promise to implement Integrity legislation if they knew that they had no integrity?

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Vincent Haynes

How many people you think would put their names to a Facebook petition for the implementation of Accountability, Integrity, Transparency, Anticorruption legislation, Freedom of information, increase powers to the Auditor General, a Watchdog Commission to review ministerial conduct and contract estimates and proposals, whistleblower legislation and penalties that would finally see ministers and government operatives feeling the full weight of the law?

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Where is Leroy Parris….how much did he steal.

At least we know where Madoff is and will remain…anither hundred years in prison, ditto Allen Sanford.

8. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Sunshine Sunny Shine May 27, 2017 at 5:17 AM #

My gut feeling says not enough to make a difference,for the simple reason that the majority are only interested in “what is in it for me”.

Hence my suggestion of strengthening existing ones and forming more like consumers and others in areas like protecting mother earth,etc

Note BARP by virtue of its 20000 odd members is able to get discounts from airlines down and have world recognition……my point being that organisations have to be created with clout.

What has to be done is that each group must have on there agenda good governance however worded.

9. Fractured BLP Avatar

The BLP cannot win the next general election with Mia Mottley at the helm

The BLP cannot win the next general with George have Hinkson in High Court for calling him a tief

The BLP cannot win the next general when the High Court comes back with a verdict to show that Mia Mottley , Jerome Walcott unfaired Maria Agard

The BLP cannot win the next general election with Mia Mottley remaining silent about same – sex unions in Barbados

The BLP…..simply cannot win the next general election…..when the DEMS upload on a SCREEN near you……all the dirty videos from Mia Mottley forays in Canuoan with young vulnerable women

Simply put……..WHAT IS MIA MOTTLEY’S POSITION ON SEXUAL BATTERY AGAINST WOMEN ?????

She and cohorts can stay SILENT on those issues as long as they like

It is DEMS now and DEMS AGAIN……

King Freundel done tell Winona……the jackass BLP does look good at de Garrison training by herself…….

But wait till race day…😂 ELECTION DAY !!!!!!

10. Fractured BLP Avatar

Mia Mottley the DESPOT will not be the PM of Barbados 🇧🇧

Owen Arthur knows what is ssying !!!

11. Every year the DLP comes wuth another “salacious” story to discredit the opposition. I recall in 2013 it was Pegasus tapes, never provided, now it is Canouan videos. Ah mean if the DLP has “dirty” videos of Mia, why even mention non-issues like same-sex marriage and Agard Gate; just call the election now and romp to victory. #tekbajansfuhfools

12. Who is the idiot still blaming Leroy Parris for the incompetence of the government? I will bet the person has not got a name. Some pensioners just have too much time on their hands. Is there a psychiatrist in the house? Clico failed because the authorities allowed it to – not just dishonest managers.

13. angela Skeete Avatar

Wuh happen to the first BLP jack a.ss PDYR that bolted out the door with his stupid cartoons

14. angela Skeete Avatar

How is a woman with some much baggage ever going tp hoist the Flag of integrity legislation. It is like the devil peaching goodness
    Expecting Mottley to push Integrity legislation is like promoting an unseen or unheard covenant of hope

15. Independent Voice May 26th 9.10pm
    Your opening paragraph is piffle.Pure hogwash.Start wrong end wronger.

16. Fractured BLP Avatar

Enuff

Do not Panic !!!

Do not worry about the Canuoan tapes

Go back to local press and remind yourself where Mia Mottley celebrated her 50th birthday 🎉

BARBADOS 🇧🇧……anxiously waiting to here views on same – sex unions……

PM Stuart has declared his position on the subject

The Bishop of Barbados has declared his position on the subject

Dale Marshall has declared his position on the subject

The Canadian High Commissioner to Barbados has declared her position on the subject

Why is Mia Mottley so silent on this subject…….

Canuoan??????

What a mess that is the BLP !!!!!

17. Fractured,

Why is this important to the future of the nation. Since I was a kid it was generally accepted that Bajan men and women were prone to homosexuality. I have a Jamaican friend, a woman nurse, who was scared of working nights with Bajan nurses.
    Stop this petulant nonsense and get on with real politics. Idiots. This is one of the reasons why Barbados is a policy swamp. Jackasses.
    Is Mottley fit enough to be PM or not? That is the question. What we do know is that that braindead idiot we have as a prime minister is not. Full not.

18. Clico nor British American werent government entities. Go after the Trinidad parent company, CL Financial who ran into trouble and took all the liquid cash from her subsidiaries. Some folks braying for government to take up tax payers money to bail out a public limited Trinidad-based company. Imagine that. The policy-holders should be glad the government at least trying to get back the amount they invested. They and the authorities that oversee the insurance industry should be held responsible for their lack of due diligence.

19. Fractured, Bajans dont let the bedroom business or love-lives of politicians affect how we cast our votes. No matter how much fornication, adultery, unfairness, woman/man beating occurs, the Bajan populace is usually willing to give politicians a pass on those sort of things.

20. Kevin,
    I am getting old and am not in a mood to tolerate nonsense. Barbados is responsible for resulting and supervising its own businesses. Clico’s Bajan subsidiary is what we are talking about. Bajan incompetence led to what was the result. Not a thieving Paris or whatever, as some mental cases are saying. When are we going to accept it.
    Or is the real problem that we do not think Mr Parris is part of the Bajan elite?

21. Lol @ Fractured
    Why should I be worried? If you and your folk don’t understand that the sheer hubris of the DLP in conjunction with the state of Barbados is and will be its downfall, that is not my worry. There is nothing more despotic than a failed political party, convinced and attempting to convince the masses that they deserve to be re-elected. The paucity of your record is reflected in your stated reasons for victory, which do not include one single iota of accomplishment over the last 9 years. Carry on smartly, pride often precedes the fall.

22. The CoI into CL Financial apportions blame to the poor management of the company and part of that problem was the vast sums Duprey skimmed from the company for his own private use.Evidence led at the Inquiry suggested Duprey was being paid a salary of $90 million a year!!Duprey now wants to get back control of CLF and was or is in TT recently complaining that the govt kept moving the goal posts as to quantum owed them by the bailed company.

CD was also in Guyana trying the same lark,apologizing to the Guyanese for huffing millions of their hard earned NIS funds compliments of the corrupt Jagdeo govt.Guyana correctly told CD ….”show we de many first,den we kin talk”.People say CD hear Guyana ‘have’ oil.

The govt of Barbados played a role in assuring the people that Clico was properly managed here and by extension in the OECS which was managed by the Leper from Barbados.The PM Thompson helped his former underwriter(pun intended)by putting 10 million bajan dolllars into a known failed company.He had to know what was going on at Clico since he was in the employ of the company for several years.If CD came to Barbados and met with the govt,it was not reported in the press.If current reaction to CD in Guyana and Trinidad are examples by which Bdos should be guided,then it would seem the wait will continue for the foreseeable future.

23. Good supervision – and regulation – would have stopped this abuse. The fault was with the supervisors and regulators ie the state.
    Clico was a regulatory and supervisory problem, not management. Management might have been poor, but those responsible for supervision and regulation failed the nation. They were simply incompetent. Stop finding excuses.

24. @Hal

Yes it was a failure of the regulator but that does not exempt senior officers of CLICO from their fiduciary responsibilities. What reasons are there to support Parris uttering a cheque to Thompson $ Associates as a gratuity payment for 3.3 million yet the reason stated on the invoice has been proved to be false.

25. David,
    I have said before and will say until I am blue in the face. If there is a prima facie criminal case against senior executives at Clico, then prosecute them. Until then, all the background noise is hogwash.
    I know Bajans are not too keen on the rue of law, but that is the principle of the rule of law. Yu either believe in it or you do not. Leave Mr Parris alone.
    The real culprits ware the arrogant Canadians who barred him from having an account for no real reason. That is one for the regulator. Another failing on their part.

26. Fractured and Ac or Angela Skeete the two of you along with CCC has to be the biggest jackasses in Barbados.You all think this petty behavior by you three about same sex unions is going to stop Mia Mottley from becoming the next PM? Tell us about your Government,s acheivements in the last nine years that’s what Bajans are interested in,the nineteen downgrades and some ministers not performing like the AG who seems more interested in criminal rights than law abiding citizens and failres like Ms mcClean ,Mrs Byer suckoo and Mr Jones, and others.This is what we want to hear about,

27. @Hal

There is a stay on prosecuting Parris, Thorhill and the lot until the matter is removed from under judicial management. This same issue came up in T&T when the CoI was given priority.

28. David,
    I rest my case. It is the cart before the horse. Any criminal case should come before so-called judiclal management, a nonsense in itself. Only in Barbados would you get such nonsense.
    They either have a case against him or they do not. In any case, an allegation of wrong doing is not enough for some foreign bank to ban a customer. These silly Canadians must be brought in to line.

29. David
    Jeff gave an explanation some time ago as to the rationale for local DPP’s appearing in extradition matters representing the requesting state.A report in the Antigua press is now indicating two of their local attorneys appearing in federal court in NY next week in connection with a case involving one of their own and a Chinese billionaire.It is reported also that the outcome might have implications for The Integrity in Public Life Act 2004 and The Prevention of Corruption Act 2004.

30. David
    Story I omitted to include the referenced article in the Antigua Observer.

http://antiguaobserver.com/veteran-local-lawyers-on-opposing-sides-in-landmark-corruption-case-in-the-us/

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Angela Skeete

Watch your mouth when you talking about my sweet Piece. I have been respectful to you up to a point. However, when you are going to talk shite about the contribution that Pieceofderockyeahright has made on this blog, via posters or his the deep commentary, I will break a promise and delve into your ass with spite.

32. I find it amusing that Clico failed from the Bahamas to Guyana and all the in between Territories,owing to management inefficiency and outright theft yet there are those who would blame the many Caribbean Governments,all of them and the many Supervisors of Insurance or whatever nomenclature they go by in the various jurisdictions, where Clico operated.In the face of truth and fact stand a gauntlet of ignorance and defiance.

33. angela Skeete Avatar

PDYR this one for you
    Is this transparent enough

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/47/80/ee/4780eee4190fd46dd02e350b34486fb4.jpg

34. Can’t. We seek that the economy has been privatized

By the time we get to transparently there shall be nothing to transparency over

35. CUP/BFP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    CUP/BFP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

Comments on “Mia and Freundel …we want transparency legislation IMPLEMENTED!

The Devil don’t give people Bibles, You all back on this? You do not get it in 24 years you damn sure not going to get it now,

36. Banker to bankee:…Account for this large sum of money on your account
    Bankee:….brudda man,dah is my salary.
    Bkr: What is your salary per month.
    Bke:$900,000 per month.
    Bkr:let me see your pay slips.
    Bke:pay slips?I don’t keep pay slips.
    Bkr:Bring pay records,including PAYE,NIS and tax returns for the last 5 years.
    Bke:I don’t have dem.
    Bkr:get certified copies and be back here in 2 weeks.
    Bke:I down have to show you my personal information.
    Bkr:I don’t have to provide banking services to you if you cannot answer our concerns.
    Bke:you gine hear from me my man.

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I tried hard to be decent with you Angela Skeete. So I did some research on you and found out that you are indeed the cunt AC, that you are the lapdog who does not get tired sitting on the DLP lap or face down in it. I also felt bad when I found the following picture of you. I can help. Please visit http://www.sheepfaceforuglyfaceswap.com. Good luck

38. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

OH yeah forgot. Angela if the site does not open, simply look away from the screen. The sensors won’t pick up your ugly.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Ha, Ha Austin….Leroy Parris is still a thief, ya face have years of getting blue.

40. Fractured BLP Avatar

Lorenzo

I feel Fuh you

Dems now …..Dems again

Mia Mottley is a DESPOT…….who said that…… Owen Arthur !!!

Mia Mottley is a THIEF…..who said that ……GEORGE PAYNE !!!!!

Mia Mottley is a SERPENT in white……who said that……MARIA AGARD !!!!

Wuh after all …..them charges ain’t PETTY!!!!!

ESPECIALLY COMING FROM PEOPLE THAT KNOWS HER VERY WELL…..

THINK BOUT THAT…….😤😤😤😤😵😵😵😲😲😲😡😭😭😭😭😭

All rational thinking Bajans…..( except JACKASSES like you) Doan want nuh leader like that !!!!

Keep on fooling wunnah selves

Wunna calling fuh elections ????

Wunna did calling in 2013 too !!!!!

What happen then ????

This one gine be Mia’s last hurrah

Canuoan EXPOSE ……to come on a big screen near you……

Stay tuned LORENZO..

Elections coming……don’t you rush…. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂🇧🇧

41. Fractured BLP Avatar

Why does Mia Mottley to state her views on same -sex unions ?

What are Mia Mottley views on sexual assault against women ?

Why has Mia Mottley never made a speech on International Women’s Day ?

As someone aspiring to lead BARBADOS….why is she so silent on these very important national issues ?

42. Fractured BLP Avatar

Why does Mia Mottley REFUSE to state her views on same – sex unions ????!??

43. @Fractured
    Do you need her blessing or approval?
    Forget about her.
    Marry the partner of your choice…

44. @SSS
    I was enjoying your excellent contributions to this post.
    Don’t allow ac to cause you to dilute your message.
    Drawing your fire may be the best part of his/her day…

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The Gazer

From AC Angela Skeete`? No worries. She knows what I give. Besides, Angela Skeete is not her real name.

46. angela Skeete Avatar

Listen up fool !The Gazer i never once called that idjit name until she told me how many showers of not so many nice blessings she had in store for me. Gazer rather than stick your bloody nose in places which it should not go or belong you ought to get your facts right at least for once old man

47. angela Skeete Avatar

Gazer in other words BUTT OUT

https://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2239/2352425789_369e5f5a3a_b.jpg

48. Fractured do not worry about me I will survive whatever happens but you if your party loses whose skirts are you going to hold on to?We all know what happen in 2013,with the buying of votes but I believe lightning will not strike twice and as for your so called tapes what happen to the Pegasus tapes ?The DLP better be able to defend their acheivments at election time since nothing else will matter.