Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

The Ministry of Education has approved our children’s use of cellular phones in our schools.  The obvious foreseen risk is our children’s direct access to pornography (porn) on their smart phones.  While some responsible parents will install porn filters on their children’s phones, most parents and grandparents will not know, and are not expected to know, how to protect them.  Therefore, a national response is required.

Many parents have provided their children with smart-phones, tablets and lap-top computers without installing the critically necessary porn filter.  Therefore, they are unknowingly giving their children direct access to porn, which is perhaps the most reckless act that a parent can do.  For those who are unaware, porn permanently damages children.

Our children are not the only victims.  Employees who watch porn are normally very unproductive, which harms both the private and public sectors.  Spouses who watch porn normally destroy their marriages.   However, the real victims are those whom they view on the screen.

The sex slavery trade is real.  Girls, mostly from Asia and Eastern Europe, are forced into sex slavery, and are repeatedly raped until they are made to appear to enjoy it.  Viewers of porn may try to justify their actions by deluding themselves that they are engaging in a harmless act.  However, every time that they visit a porn site, they increase the advertisement revenue of the site, thus ensuring the bondage of the victims.

Sex slaves are perhaps the most oppressed group on Earth.  Their initial hopes of rescue are dimmed with each forced rape and each new year of captivity.  However, those who capture, rape and confine them are merely agents.  The true oppressors are those who view porn, for if there were no market, there would be no sex slavery.  Viewers of porn are the market where sex slaves are traded.

By allowing our children to access pornography, we are training the next generation of oppressors, and ensuring that the sex slaves’ hope for freedom is in vain.  Most of us are descendants of persons who were either sold into slavery, or kidnapped and forcibly brought to Barbados.  If we now actively facilitate the enslavement of sex slaves, then we, above all people, deserve the harshest judgement.

Fortunately, this judgement can be avoided, because this is one of the easiest national problems to solve.  The Government can easily block access to porn on the Internet, by default, today.  Those adults who want it can simply apply for it.  Therefore, with one decision, the Government of Barbados can immediately protect all of our children, increase national productivity, improve marriages, and most importantly, provide some hope to the despairing sex slaves being savagely raped around the world.

Let me directly address those who believe that it is their duty ensure that the bureaucratic ‘wheels’ of Government turn slowly.  I understand that this decision involves policy, legal, and technical issues.  The policy issue can be addressed immediately – it is good policy to protect our children.  I understand the benefits of having ‘Green’ consultative and ‘White’ policy papers in order to get diverse feedback.  Therefore, set the policy on protecting our children, and then have the time-consuming consultations on changing that responsible policy.

The legal concern is a non-issue since those adults who want it will be granted access once they apply for it.  That leaves the technical issue.  Flow and Digicel can be regulated to block porn, or the Government can block it directly today.  You can be sure that in a Solutions Barbados administration, porn will be blocked on day 1.

There is one man in Barbados that currently has the authority to do so much good, or to perpetuate so much harm.  That man is the Minister responsible for Telecommunications.  Today, he can instruct the Permanent Secretary to instruct the Chief Telecommunications Officer to block all porn sites.  That he has allowed such unspeakable harm to go on for so many years is very distressing.  However, perhaps he was unaware of just how much harm his inaction was causing.  Well, now he knows.  If our children are unable to access porn tomorrow, then we will know that he also cares.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

169 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Does He Also Care?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Grenville…this is something started under David Cameron in UK, they used ISP to remove portions of porn from the internet, they have not started forcing adults to put their names on a list to view porn, it is a UK idea, they still have to figure out what they are going to do with their millions of pedophiles, child rapists, if you did not know that infest from the house of lords full of criminals to the man in the street, they should register as sex offenders, will you have a registry for sex offenders in Barbados.

FYI… porn and human trafficking are not the same thing…you are overstepping, do some research.

2. WW&C

This is what happens when a theologian wants to run a secular society….. we end up like Turkey.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Vincent…exactly, christianity can be just as extremist as the muslim religion. This is the information age, parents are responsible for their children or they can be taught to be….

….where are the parenting classes, government spends millions on bullshit celebrations that can go toward educating parents on rearing children….not one of these politicians have a gram of commonsense in their fcking heads.

4. #christianright

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The jesus freaks and allah freaks tend to gross me out, ya can always see the collision and destruction for the people ahead.

#altrightdelete

Myself and someone else ran through a hundred different scenarios where Grenville will lose control of the monster he is trying to create from DAY 1.

Ya would think there are more pressing issues that are priority.

Economy
    Sewage
    Water
    Water mains
    Corruption
    Integrity legslation
    The judiciary
    Garbage

Am sure I missed some.

6. TheophilusGazerts Avatar
    TheophilusGazerts

Nonsense
    Blocking porn could lead to the development of a flourishing local porn industry
    3.What about porn magazines? Do you take them out of the store?
    When the ‘pervert’ list falls off a truck, where will I go to get my name back

7. TheophilusGazerts Avatar
    TheophilusGazerts

I applaud your motives but disagree with your methods.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Flourishing porn market”…run by children is what Grenville will create.

There are areas of the internet no government can touch.

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/05/24/ag-supports-cell-phone-use-in-schools/

Not government ministers and not any politician think anything thriugh before running with it….steupps.

10. Well Well, Vincent & Enuff:

Did any you actually read the article? Did any of you understand that rather than the default position being that porn is unblocked and there is significant effort required to block it, the proposed default position is that porn is blocked, and there is little effort for adults to unblock it.

Well Well: porn and sex slavery overlap significantly. You are more likely to watch someone being raped when you watch porn. If you are watching child porn, then all of it is rape. If you do not think that this is important, and you live in Barbados, then we are truly sunk.

Theo: How would you address this problem.

Grenville

11. Grenville your view on this matter is refreshingly different but the horse has bolted, there is hardly a moral compass that drives how our society works.

12. Hi David:

Fortunately this is one horse that can be safely put back in its stable. It just needs responsible leadership from the Minister. However, if the Minister is influenced by the highly irresponsible comments made here, then he may feel emboldened to do nothing.

Best regards
    Grenville

13. Grenville let us take the decision to allow mobile phones in secondary schools for example -the Attorney General is on record as seeing nothing wrong with the decision, note he has not cited any significant body of data to support the decision yet he has done the opposite in the decriminalization of Marijuana. He also promised to revert to the Lower House about Mia’s LEC. Many will not see the relationship here regarding the lack of rigour to nuturing and holding accountable our public officials to a moral and ethical minimum because we have bought into the fact this is a secular society and the individual rights of citizens must be held as supreme even if said position is visibility eroding the social fabric of the society by attacking the minds of our children.

14. @Grenville

Leadership is not about gaining popularity although the leader must be able by definition to win the support of the majority he or she aspires to lead.

15. Steupsss @ Grenville
    Boss, why don’t you wake up and get real nuh?
    Do you REALLY think that you have ‘solutions’ to the complex problems that beset this country and world?

Surely you jest!!

It is one thing to point out the folly that exists all around us, but to suggest that simplistic measures such as ‘banning’ and ‘restrictions’ can have any meaningful impact is to ignore the history of prohibition, the war on drugs …and human nature itself.

The ONLY thing that can redress our current (global) dilemma is a change in human nature from albino-centric selfishness and greed, to one of community-centric LOVE and unselfishness …. and the ONLY way that can be achieved in present circumstances is through sackcloth and ashes (genuine repentance and conversion of nature)….. and the spiritual sacrifice made by a boss bush man some time ago…

…and we all know that this will NEVER happen.

If you REALLY expect that your ‘technical’ prescriptions will address our current problems then you are just another variant of Thompson. Trump … and Mia.

It would be FAR more meaningful for you to talk about implementing integrity, honesty, righteousness and transparency, than about imposing Victorian standards on lost brass bowls….. What we really need is someone who will ACTUALLY make ITAL happen…

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

I cannot believe this.

People in life have choices to make. Banning and blocking only appeases the banners, because the users will find a way around it. I used proxy servers for years to get around various, usually geographical, limitations placed on web content.

Employees waste far more time on social media, games and shopping sites than porn? You are going to block them too?

Focus on trying to win an election and forget trying to be the nations moral compass.

17. Why are we beating up on Grenville and SB? They have the right to create the platform agenda of the party and we have the right to agree follow.

18. David,

Solutions Barbados must be complimented for entering the fray, but it too must not get aw free pass. Pie charts and powerpoint presentations do not substitute for political policy.
    Barbados is in a mess and what people want to know is what a Solutions Barbados government would do in terms of policy.
    How will it avoid falling in to the trap of an ever-expanding Chinese empire? Would it establish an independent central bank? Would it reform the educational system and give heads greater control of the P&L of their schools? What about the criminal justice system? How about the massive pile up of cases in the civil courts?
    Solutions Barbados too must put meat on the bones; technocrats have no greater expertise or knowledge than others.

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

While Grenville though misguided can be given an A for starting a discussion, he can only get an F and a beating for not thinking about his own original ideas and solutions  for this type of particular problem.

Just because the UK and David Cameron, descendands of slave masters and current enablers of modern day slavery in the form of 30 million people trafficked daily, millions of really sick nasty pedophiles these have had for centuries the UK says somthing is good to fix their probems, does ot automatically mean that it is good to fix the problems in Barbados, the population of UK, 67 million people, the demographics ad even problem sizes are different.

What Grenville has to untangle in his mind are the differenes between,  kiddie born, prevalent in UK and these pedophiles lurk in an area of the internet untouchable by any government, agencies who have to wait for them to surface to get their IP addresses to lock them up, most of them never surface for air…it’s a kiddie porn ring with the most evilt of mostly white pedophiles. Will he round up the bajan pedophiles to prey on and rape chidren as youg as 6 yeers old ad only get 2 years in prison. Will he fix the court system to make sure the punishment reflect their crimes of rape against children, young people and women.

Then there is the porn for profit that I understand is prevalent in Barbados, maybe a current government minister we know as Pornville can help Grenville with that one they  may  be friends, he may even be able to help the US governmet grab the government minister porn artist they been waiting years  to grab, will Grenville  stop people from making movies in houses and sharing it , porn movies, even though the exploitation of children and young people may or may not  be involved, will Grenvile be going house to house, form a porn squad, watch people 24/7…set up cameras in their houses. 

Then there is  the porn  for adult entertainment,  my daughter was tellig me about one called porn hub…even the UK government know they cannot do a blanket ban and control of all pornsites to infringe on people’s rights…certain things ya cannot control or ban.

Most adult porn entertainment is harmless, as long as there is no exploitation involved…and it should not be state controlled where people put their names on a list to describe the type of porn they want to watch, it’s infringe.

Then there is human trafficking, will Grenville ban:

Prostitution. …that’s modern day slavery and human trafficking

Strip clubs who bring in strippers for postitution, seizing their passports and makig them work off their debts…that’s human trafficking.

Will he ban the construction companies who bring in workers from other islands and treat them as slaves as Jada was recently accused in the newspapers. ..that is modern day slavery.

So when Grenville is jumping out with someone else’s ideas,  he needs to first get it right in his mind and come with original and better solutions. 

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Grenville…I spent 5 hours dissecting and analyzing your article yesterday, I dont, but someone I know read your weekly columns on barbadostoday which they say you need to research more of your subject matter…..

How do you think I know that idea was developed in the UK under Cameron and May is trying with great difficulty to implement it…again, because it was developed in the UK does not mean it’s good for Barbados and the Caribbean, the destruction of your ancestors was also developed in the UK, US, etc.

…….what I can tell you about yesterday’s column, you did not do enough research to separate Cameron’s ideas from your own or separate exploitative porn from adult entertainent..research is fundamental to any orginal ideas and solutions.

Create your own deas and solutions and apply them to Barbados’ very unique social probems.

21. CUP/BFP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    CUP/BFP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

Hal Austin May 25, 2017 at 5:18 AM #@

Hall.He now start looking at his own and making his own charts, the man is very late only woke up after his money line drop off,, he did not wake up before 2013 only after the house burn down he want to rebuild, No new projects after 2012 he saw his income from government cut off, the first chart he checked was his bank statement, no more pie on his own chart,

What did the whiteman do for us or do to us? Chinese Empire can do no worse, Do some homework on the White Dragons who were before the Black Dragons. They are us as time before now,The are the keeper of the Gold in which all things are to be backed by, They have more Honor than the whiteman we love so much,We need to look for better deals ,White banks run by crooks niggers got us where we are today not the China or its people,Always begging at the IMF like no can see the same setup over and over. Spies and greedy DBLPscum,

Our school are full of lies and nothing but flying fish and slavery keeping people down mentally, Jewish don’t teach Hitler day and night to keep the Jewish people down, they learn it and move on to make sure it never happens again,

Only the Criminals get Justice in Barbados they are running all levels of government and we don’t need a clone for them,

Most of the cases in court are also land fraud cases at the end of the day it dealing with land ownership and who looking to rob you, With no Clear title to land many waiting years for the real owners to die for they are selling and fighting over where most have no right over, so all things are stuck ,
    Remember Hall the most crimes were started by the same JUDGES who are on the Bench today, who gain favor in the cover up, So do not expect the judges now to overrule or reveal their own crimes as lawyers,

SB is nothing more than a Pothole and garbage party, the leader can’t lead he just pushing money and paying for all things, An audit of All things in Barbados is what they are all avoiding, Most are running from that word or even an inquest. As you can see, the not so Royal Police can’t even move for they are also infected with a do nothing Attorney General Dumbwaiter.
    Headline NEWS, All the Sirs and QC are charged on the same level and crimes in Barbados as Sir Allen Stanford and Madoff, Out of England the Queen has Stricken Barbados GG of his title and The Royal Navy has Surrounded Barbados As an Enemy of the Crown,

HAl, when you look into the land all things will be cleared, All papers have names and all bank account also have names and numbers,

Bajan Free Party /’CUP , We have the proof and the names, case done,

22. @Grenville

Good heart, noble intent but overly idealistic and naive.

regarding cell phones in schools…the Ministry can and does block access to porn and other sites. As a youngster however I found a old VHS videotape with Vanessa Del Rio in my father’s underwear drawer.

Adults have a right to view what they choose to. They also have a responsibility to ensure that their children don’t. Therein lies the problem.

Focusing on content and video rather than characteristics and values is in effect a cop out. You are placing too small plaster on an open sore and hoping for the best.

Bring some solutions for changing attitudes and mindsets and rebuilding values and morals if that’s what you believe in. Identify how Solutions through its leadership and policies will rebuild faith in the integrity (and morality) of government and politicians. Show a long term plan to influence (not enforce) persons to choose “good” over “evil” and how you can create a social environment that encourages them to do so.

If your party’s plan is to force a moral position based on a theocratic philosophy on an immoral secular society then unfortunately you will be dead in the water. Instead of being allowed to shove it down our throats you’ll be kindly asked to just shove it.

As an elder told me in my way back younger days…. “pick ya battles wisely.”

Just Observing

23. @ David
    Why are we beating up on Grenville and SB?
    Probably the same reason that old time parents used to beat up on their children…
    …because they wanted, hoped and prayed to ‘make something’ of them.

Like them, our future may well depend on those licks working yuh…

24. angela Skeete Avatar

As if the world does not have enough dictators now here comes along one of the tin horn tribe can wait to destroy peoples freedom of expression under the guise of protecting children.
    Makes one wonder what world has Granville been living in for lol many years when legislation was passed to protect an individual rights to freedom of expression
    For sure a Constitutional lawyer Granville is not but wanting to become a PM he should first read the laws already enacted to protect an individual rights before dishing such nonsense

25. CUP/BFP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    CUP/BFP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI
  26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Grenville your view on this matter is refreshingly different but the horse has bolted, there is hardly a moral compass that drives how our society works.”

…and therein lies the whole matter, the degenerative sexual mind and destruction of 2 generations of bajans turning sexual deviance into a culture and a women against children, young people and women really got started post slavery….in government,  the 60s with the likes of the Tudors, the 70s with the likes of Lionel Craig and Justice Douglas….I lost track in the 80s and 90s but we all know about Pornville in the 2000s….so that ship saied decades ago.

You have reached the clean up period where EUCATION is the ONLY solution.

Eduate parents, spend some money on parenting classes and not on wukup celebrations, classes should be geared and tailored particularly on  the sexual deviance perpetrated in households with children…identify and isolate the rot causes, which we know are mostly financially..educate people.

undergroundket ban will create a more dangerous black market porn, driving the trade undergroud where you will never touch it again. Why do you think the UK is holding back, they jut realized the shitstorm they started and you are about to drag the islad right into it..

By the way, I raised 5 children, both sons and daughters and knew well enough how to handle situations when they arose nothing beats education experience and knowedge, which is power.

27. @Observing

If it was just about changing attitudes. We have to also address how the state can intervene with draconian action to act as a ‘shock’ to move change. It is not novel for the state to draw a line based on a public morally clause.

28. @Bush Tea

The others are not inspiring anybody by showing anappetite for risk taking, more of the same. So far Grenville naivete or not is all that we have.

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

and therein lies the whole matter, the degenerative sexual mind and destruction of 2 generations of bajans turning sexual deviance into a culture and as a TOOL and WEAPON against children, young people and women really got started post slavery….in government……in the 60s with the likes of the Tudors, the 70s with the likes of Lionel Craig and Justice Douglas….I lost track in the 80s and 90s but we all know about Pornville in the 2000s….so that ship sailed decades ago.

30. Grenville wrote: “Viewers of porn are the market where sex slaves are traded.”

Sex slaves are also a result of human trafficking, where, in some instances, women are brought into Barbados, their passports/travel documents are with-held and they are forced to engage in prostitution until they satisfy the debt their “sponsors” incur to bring them to the island and prepare them to work in the sex or strip clubs. Then they are those who voluntarily engage in prostitution and stripping.

This situation, whether forced or voluntarily, has seen an influx of non-nationals women, predominately Guyanese and Jamaican, into Barbados (and other Caribbean islands). These women can be seen openly parading themselves, while scantily dressed, in an effort to attract clients.

These women often exploit the mandatory six months stay afforded to CARICOM nationals to engage in these activities.

The illicit sex trade gives rise to other social problems, such as STDs, squatting, illegal vending, exploitation of social services, illegal employment and crime, which are a result of when the women decide to “get out” of prostitution. There may be children conceived as a result of unprotected sex who may unable to receive adequate health care or education and may be forced into the sex trade because of varying circumstances.

Recently, there was a situation highlighted in the media relative to many non-nationals who were squatting on lands and securing “house spots” for their relatives and friends in Rock Hall, St. Philip. The political representative for that area is none other than the Attorney General & Minister of Home Affairs, Adriel Brathwaite, who, in response to queries on the issue, said he was aware of the situation and has friends living there.

I believe that although blocking porn sites is a noble and necessary gesture, prostitution is a much bigger issue, since the activity has a “reverberant” effect on the society.

31. @ WW&C

I just noticed I posted comments similar to yours.

32. angela Skeete Avatar

There is nothing refreshing when individuals attacks individual rights.
    The religiost bigots of have advocated for years to use children as a way forward to attack individual freedoms of expression. Nothing new or refreshing here just a continuation of the beating of the same drum

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And if many in government could be honest and true to themselves, they will admit that over the decades, the likes of one of the Tudors who learned his hompsexual deviance while in the UK inner circles,  upon his return to Barbados,  practiced that sexual deviance on vulnerabke MEN, in the bajan society,  both him and other ministers so inclined used their sexual deviance as a weapon against  small children, young people, women and men for decades.

And just to be fair and equal…the likes of Billie the goat Miller, did not fail to use her sexual deviance either,  we all talk about Mia, but conveniently forget Billie.., so any clean up of the nastiness and sexual recklessness in the society have to come from and performed by who and where it all originated, the government.

They used their sexual deviance to miseducate the society for decades into becoming sexual deviants, they can now use EDUCATION to reverse that damage, they caused.

Art…great minds think alike..lol

And Grenville…I have not watched porn in over 25 years, I got over that decades ago, but I listen to my children, adults in their 40, 30s, 20s, tell me all about it and they educate their children re porn. ..just as I educated them.

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

They used their sexual deviance and the POWER given to them by the people to miseducate the society for decades into becoming sexual deviants, they can now use EDUCATION to reverse that damage, they caused.

Art…great minds think alike..lol

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And the Bushman still want to use slave beatings on other people’s children, while still not beating his own.

We got a rough road to travel and a long, long way to go..lol

36. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I dont kniw if Grenvilke saw when some crackheads calling themselves Bajan Anonymous claimed they had removed Naked Departure’s website and warned other blogs and blah, blah….well Naked Departure was still around as of last bight and there is no sign of crackhead Bajan Anonymous…..

….. that is how difficult it is to ban anything on the internet..it does not go away, it just gets more refined, better and powerful. ..a lesson for those who do not know.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ nextparty246 May 24, 2017 at 9:45 PM
    “Well Well: porn and sex slavery overlap significantly. You are more likely to watch someone being raped when you watch porn. If you are watching child porn, then all of it is rape. If you do not think that this is important, and you live in Barbados, then we are truly sunk.”

Grenville, you come across as being quite’ au fait’ with the world of porn.
    Such intimate knowledge could have been garnered only from ‘first-eye’ experience.

So watching porn has not had any seemingly deleterious effects on you or caused you to shift your moral compass ‘negatively’ south why do you think watching porn would have such an overwhelmingly dangerous impact on society as to bring about it demise.

While you are researching your ‘porn’ material you should also look up the etymology of it.
    Unlike other social and economic factors, pornography and its bacchanalian connection certainly did not bring about the fall of the Greek or Roman civilizations or even those of the earlier Sumerian or Egyptian.

While you are deeply contemplating the banning of porn, why not turn your sights to alcohol, tobacco and prescription mind-altering drugs to put them on the same ‘level’ playing as marijuana?

Then you will certainly witness the economic collapse of your tax base and its ensuing societal implosion.

Your moral ‘dictatorship’ views are nothing new to societies.

All you will do is to drive those so-called morally outrageous activities underground as prevailed in so-called morality police states like Saudi Arabia.

But you are too ‘immaturely’ young in many ways to have heard of or even researched the Temperance Movement that gave rise to the era of Prohibition in the USA when many an underground speakeasy’ and gin joint operated in a sea of crime and violence making future television stars out of the likes of Al Capone and Elliot Ness.

NCD’s and the deliberate despoiling of the natural environment represent far greater ominous threats to the Bajan society than a few obese children instead of playing during their breaks waste their time looking at naked people advertising their assets and (liabilities) online.

“Let us be grateful to the mirror for revealing to us our appearance only.” ~Samuel Butler.

“Laws control the lesser man. Right conduct controls the greater one.” ~Chinese Proverb

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“So watching porn has not had any seemingly deleterious effects on you or caused you to shift your moral compass ‘negatively’ south why do you think watching porn would have such an overwhelmingly dangerous impact on society as to bring about it demise.”

Yeah Grenville…tell us.

39. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ WW&C at 8 : 49 AM

Do you refer to hardback men like Vincent and Solutions children? You your self have shared lashes like peas today.

@ Observing May at 7:36 AM/

Your father went to the trouble of hiding a VHS in his underwear drawer and you did what? You were most disrespectful .That was an invasion of privacy. I hope that now you are an adult you are not doing the same with your children , and are instead answering their questions on sexual matters when they ask.

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Bernard…so well deserved, open eyes to reality.

Children will get their hands on porn dont care what the parents do, but how you, the parent handles it will dictate the outcome, like my sons then 12 and 13, waited until i was asleep one night at a hotel in Miami and accessed the cable porn, I only knew about it the next day when security told me about this cable bill, i assured them I did not access any PPV cable…the guy looked at me  and said, not you, your sons did it….

…….so I as the parent was able to use that as leverage to keep my sons in check for years after, they were raised in NYC, they are now men in their 30s and how i love to bring it up for fun, their children cant pull that stunt, but they probably have different and better  tricks.

…some kids can now teach themselves to code as young as 6 or 7 years old.. let me see any adult getting past that if they can’t code ir dont even know what ciding is,  but if ya are an educated parent, ya can control the situation. 

The Barbados government owe bajan parents the courtesy of that parental education to reverse that decades old damage to the society.

41. I read the article–twice! Contradictory, lacks sound evidence, illogical and out of touch. F! I repeat, SB is not ready, and given the cheering congregants many in here are not either. The matter is far more complex than banning online porn, in fact I don’t even understand how access to porn is the “unforeseen risk” associated with cell phones in school when Youtube is more dangerous than porn!

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Grenville dont want to hear that, but it’s true, ya cant always get to hear what ya wont.

That idea is being conceptualized for UK who are now having second thoughts…

Barbados’ problems require a different approach from those who can see what the real problems are, how deeply ingrained and those who are capable of finding solutions.

43. angela Skeete Avatar

OJ simpson soon to be relased from jai. However another black icon Bill Cosby soon will replace him.

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

Since SB is entering this area, I would be interested to know their position on the local buggery laws, same sex marriage and abortion.

WW&C…who cranked you up?

45. This is one general election the performance of the ‘third parties’ will be eagerly monitored. If a political party other that the two main cannot make headway in the prevailing environment than may God have mercy on our souls.

46. Here we go again attempting to treat adults like children and legislating what can and cannot be done. Having been raised under the Union Jack, we would probably only complain for a couple of days and then go merrily on our way without further protest or should I say, revolt?

Government enacts legislation that demands you submit a clearance for BRA before finalizing any land transaction. Do we protest? Maybe a grumble here and there.

Oil prices keep falling the world over and government keeps the local price high. Do we protest? Maybe a grumble here and there.

Cost of living continues to rise by the day and salaries remain frozen for eight years. Do we protest? Maybe a grumble here and there.

The latest song from the choir is that we will have to suffer somewhat in order for government to fix our economic challenges. What the heck have we been doing for the past eight years? Do we protest? Maybe a grumble here and there.

Public transportation continues to suck the lifeblood of productivity from the working class in Barbados. The roads, bridges, health, education, public buildings, the courts, housing, etc. are all crying out for attention and what do we do? Do we protest? Maybe a grumble here and there.

And now our Prime Minister in waiting has a solution to all of our problems – block porn sites. Brilliant.

47. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

I would suggest that Solutions does a study of the Netherlands and its dependencies in the Caribbean one of which is Curacao…legalised prostitution,marijuana use and casinos, I have not noticed it sinking into the slough of perdition.

You should also check on how many Curacao born of dark pigment own and operate businesses all over Europe whilst you and Bim are still crying for admission into europe.

Its high time Bim throws off the colonial shackles that are firmly embedded in the Victorian era….archaic thinking will not carry us forward.

48. CUP/BFP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar

David May 25, 2017 at 8:05 AM #

@Bush Tea

The others are not inspiring anybody by showing anappetite for risk taking, more of the same. So far Grenville naivete or not is all that we have.hahahahah @@@@

All we have? Who you talking to David the dead?
    just like the rest of the NEWS in Barbados, Whenever they get the Balls to debate We will be there, none step up as yet, DLP , BLP, BS, Bim,UPP, , SB late to the events ,BFP/CUP will be there again with truth and facts, no mind your news blocking like the rest, Why dont you run with SB?

49. CUP/BFP.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar

David May 25, 2017 at 12:27 PM #

This is one general election the performance of the ‘third parties’ will be eagerly monitored. If a political party other that the two main cannot make headway in the prevailing environment than may God have mercy on our souls.@@@@

Please, you praying for SB? Better monitor the vote buying and vote counting, The Numbers for 2 weeks was good, Seem like the DBLP want even one to be 7 days, for they don’t vote, and the fools they pay for votes can take over, Education is needed and the last 5 years that went to the dogs,
    Wiat till truth get out that is when the crooks, liars and scumbags will get out,
    Once again this is a WAR for the Truth the Moors shall return, Yes and We are here,

50. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Northern….with those questions, I believe you are now cranking up Grenville, let’s see his plans for buggery laws etc..lol

I guess if social media complains for enough years, someone will finally get fed up and ask government to update legislation to regulate insurance companies from thiefing.

“Guy wants updated insurance laws
    Added by Marlon Madden on May 25, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    Acting Chief Executive Officer of the Financial Services Commission (FSC) Kester Guy is calling for updated legislation to govern the insurance industry here.

Though not saying if the sector were at risk due to outdated legislation, Guy said it was important to update laws governing the sector regularly in order to strengthen some aspects of the industry, maintain stability and keep up with international and innovative changes.

“The FSC recognizes that the insurance industry is a key pillar in the stability of our financial market and will therefore ensure that the regulatory framework is able to maintain the industry now and well into the future,” Guy told this week’s 31st annual Sales Congress for the Caribbean Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors held here and which focused on, The Regulatory Framework in Which You Operate.”