Submitted by Heather Cole

During and after the 2016 general elections in the USA, there were allegations of the undermining of the electoral process, conspiracy theories, scandals, computer hacks by Russia and fake news. The linkages in all of these stories are that they have exposed a threat to democracy in the USA. It is now self-evident that even the most solid democracy was not prepared for such an onslaught which easily circumvented the law to allow for changes in norms, traditions, customs and rules to create the Trump Administration.

The circumstances under which the 45th President of the USA was elected left many persons in shock. Just as they were coming to terms with that shock, a spate of executive orders from the new president and the confirmation of candidates who are not only in direct contradiction with their new leadership roles but also lack experience, have added to the shock factor.

The shock factor has been both good and bad. Many people have become more politically aware. The volume of attendance at Anti Trump demonstrations makes a strong claim that the majority of the people are putting up a resistance to Fascism in government. Groups have popped up all over the country, in every state and town to oppose the direction that they believe the government is headed. The networks are flooded with news both for and against the new Administration. Countless petitions have appeared online which also oppose the government and lest one forgets those angry town hall meetings. The people have been asserting their democratic right to protest. However, the level of stress has risen, undocumented immigrants now live in a state of fear of deportation, there is a Muslim ban of immigrants from selected countries, relations with some foreign countries are at an all-time low, there is a lack of trust of the Trump Administration and division in the country is along party lines. Making America great again is not off to a good start. The best hope for impeachment seem to be after the 2018 midterm elections.

Likewise in Barbados, the present administration also came to power in the midst of shady circumstances. There were no stories of meetings with Russian spies but there was the buying of votes which in essence makes it a fact that the electoral results were fraudulent. This constitutes an undermining of the democratic process and was the enabler for the administration to do as it pleased as it was a forgone conclusion that if the people did nothing about the election results, the party could get pass them with anything. In other words they did not have to be accountable to the people. There was no response by the people to this shock factor.

Fast forward to the present with the island in a state of economic turmoil having received its 18th economic downgrade from Standard and Poor’s, since the coming to power of this Democratic Labour Party Administration.

In a direct contradiction to what has happened in the US, the people of Barbados have remained passive. Resistance by the people has not come to light in Barbados. Enshrined in the Constitution is the right to protest but despite massive loss of jobs, homes, businesses and investments and the over burden of taxation, the widening deficit, increasing debt and constant downgrades there has been no such action on the people’s part. There is no Betsy Devos yet Barbadians have been denied access to public education at the UWI. There is no Scott Pruitt yet the government was hell bent on building a plasma gasification plant to destroy the environment and Barbadians. We however have Chris Sinckler, the Minister of Finance and Delisle Worrell the Governor of the Central Bank who created the perfect conditions to breed downgrades causing the economy to self-destruct. There must be a reaction to this 18th downgrade; it is a shock factor.

I have witnessed the effects of the devaluation of the dollar on the Guyanese economy and it was not pretty. Every street in Georgetown was filled with beggars from the most vulnerable to able bodied men. Not enough food is grown in Barbados to provide for the population. What will happen if we run out of foreign reserves to buy food or pay for oil and gas? Will the entire island be a reflection of what is currently happening in Caracas, Venezuela? One wonders how long our junk bond status will affect our capacity to borrow. Will it be 10, 20 or 30 years? This nightmare is our reality.

It is the opposition Barbados Labour Party that is leading the fight against policies and results of the Freundel Stuart dictatorship. Some are of an opinion that a protest march will achieve nothing. One can also be of the opinion that the strength in numbers can play a significant role in demanding that the Prime Minister whose only act now seems to be in delivering disingenuous speeches; would not only fire the Minister of Finance and the Governor of the Central Bank but that he will also resign and call an election.

Recently, the renowned journalist Dan Rather stated that “everyone who normalizes Mr. Trump now or has in the past, will have to answer to future generations for acquiescence, silence or sophistry- if, indeed, not outright cowardice.” The same can be said of the majority Barbadians who have normalized the present Democratic Labour Party Administration.

In the final analysis, it is about time the people put up a resistance. It was in reference to some of us that Dan Rather also said “we love our country too much to let it falter without a fight.” I can therefore only urge every Barbadian and resident of Barbados that despite your political affiliation for the common good of the island to join the march on Saturday March 11, 2017 against the present administration; that they step down from power and provide the electorate with an opportunity to provide a new mandate for the creation of a better Barbados that they failed to deliver. We need to make Barbados great again and along with a new mandate from the people must be an amended Constitution that provides the people with the power of recall.

155 responses to “Putting Up a Resistance”

1. @Heather Cole who wrote” It is the opposition Barbados Labour Party that is leading the fight against policies and results of the Freundel Stuart dictatorship. ”

You do not have to resort to unmitigated falsification of veracity.

Freundel Stuart is no dictator and the Barbados Labour Party that is NOT leading any fight.

They just spinning enough bulllyshyt to inherit the government.

2. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

It is the opposition Barbados Labour Party that is leading the fight against policies and results of the Freundel Stuart dictatorship.,,, ?@@

Not True, the BLP is also part of the root problem,Its the BLP that took the lead on the Massive land Fraud , /Owen/Mia and the BLP need not act like they dont know, nor innocent of their own wrong doings, Giving the idea that they are looking to get back in to power where they started this mess,
    People may march but Mia hands are not clean either, walking around Barbados talking about pot hole and garbage in the street standing by dumpsters .

When the biggest pot hole and trash is in the Government Minister lawyers and the cover up of the other lawyers and minsters in the House, The Bull Dog acting up again right before election looking to hold on to his own seat and regroup after election if they win.Fool game most people need to wake up,

Base on this Post We can see which side you are for or leaning .
    Both Parties BLP and now DLP are guilty for this mess both parties need to go,

Vote CUP

3. “What will happen if we run out of foreign reserves to buy food or pay for oil and gas? Will the entire island be a reflection of what is currently happening in Caracas, Venezuela?”

Wise people on this island already bunker food, water, toilet paper, US-Dollars and a flex-ticket to Florida or London. You never know, when D-Day is coming.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Heather…looks like Piece was right about you. ..lol

None of the ministers/politicians have the majority black population or country in any other regard than to use the majority black population/voters to get their hands on the itty bitty power, status and exposure/access to the tiny minority of bribers on the island to continue the ugly wholesale corruption…that has and is doing so much damage to the economy, anything else is a fairytale.

5. Anyone seen this story:

https://www.theguardian.com/media/2017/mar/07/wikileaks-publishes-biggest-ever-leak-of-secret-cia-documents-hacking-surveillance

I like Heather’s urgency. However why is politics in Barbados so adversarial? We are a tiny and an insignificant island and should be doing our utmost to work in unison.

Like our dear friend GP I’m just waiting for the rapture.

6. There were no Russian hacks.

On the contrary, there were proven disclosures from within the DNC, by at least one leaker.

Not that Russia, like all other serious global players including the USA doesn’t engage in cyber warfare, but the narrative about hacking was a lie from the beginning.

And yes, Russia has what the Americans have always cited as a national (strategic) interest in helping the emergence of a more ‘understanding’ American president.

Has the authors of this propaganda not been doing this for centuries. And if they can interfere in other peoples’ election for centuries, what could be so sacrosanct about theirs?

We say what is good for Jenny is good for Jimmy.

Indeed there is not a thread of proof to support this propaganda that has become religious dogma by all in the mainstream, fake news media and the very ‘intelligence’ people who get their information therefrom.

People with more than the brain of an ant’s size understand well that this western propaganda is more assiduous.

It is about running Trump out of office, preparing the ground to turn Russia into the bogeyman.

Both Republicans and Democrats support these objectives.

It is about warmongering by deep state forces and the interests which benefit from war or decades of militarism – cold war dynamics.

It is about having an enemy. The nonsense of terrorism is getting quite staid.

It is about Central Asia and the fight for continued global dominance. And Russia as a necessary precondition as to be subdued.

Yours is a school girl analysis, at best, we are afraid.

7. Furthermore, there was never any ‘democracy’ in the USA nor Barbados either.

These circumstances are merely tearing away the facade and unveiling the underlying anti-democratic forces at work.

8. @ Pacha what will you do when it is provened that Donald Trump is being blackmailed by the Russians? Did you read the reports today that he had a meeting in 2016 with the Russian Ambassador?

9. @ Well Well I have not written anything that is not the truth. Also I have not made any inferences as to who any person in Barbados should vote for. It is time to put politics aside and stand up for Barbados.

10. I am asking for the people to give another mandate to another party since the Dems have failed miserably.

11. I suppose one can question the validity of Russia hacking the DNC or whether a young man who had shown a deep devotion to the Dems and to a significant extent seemingly to Clinton as well, was the source of the email leaks.

What cannot be in doubt however is that a DNC tech was killed in very mysterious circumstances and that the Russians were absolutely besides themselves in willing Trump to victory. There was undeniable subterfuge undertaken during the campaign and Russia along with other ‘intelligence actors’ were certainly involved in roiling the waters.

An interesting juxtaposition of the US issues and the Bajan comparisons…the DeVos one in particular is amusingly well done.

However, the DLP is on their SECOND turn at the wicket. Trump just started to bat. Certainly the locals have long ago shown their lassiez-faire attitude and acquiescence to the ‘nonsense’ being done in their name.

AND @WW&C, indeed Pieces was on point re Heather’s allegiances.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Pedant…..Heather is yet to understand that the island will continue slipping into darkness with both DBLP political parties, because they cannot see light, the island has been neglected and is deteriorating rapidly because of the mentality of politicians/ministers who are still stuck in this 50 year old quagmire of secrecy, lies, deceit, bribery and corruption.

I read today that Remy Martin bought Mount Gay Rum since 1989, I only found out about it a couple years ago……did either DBLP governments bothered to tell the people that it has not been bajan owned for years, no one needs politicians who keep secrets from taxpayers.

Who is going to tell CGI policyholders what will happen to their policies next.

As it stands not one of these politicians can be trusted.

13. Steupseeee!

Steupseeee

The Circle of the Noose is closing around us

In one corner (OF THE CIRCLE) Heather sings for her supper with her hodge podge plea to Bajans to March pun Saturday, cause Dan Rather say so, and dat she want dis march to be well attended cuase Devos or she Heather Boss Mia say so and dat she know dat Mia going make Barbados “great Again”

Oh oh oh oh and she mek sure to talk bout Cunstitutional Change and Power of Recall passingly

In de next corner “of the circle” heheheheheheh is One George Brafwit who in singing does also put together he own brand of the Suck Poochism that Mugabe seeking to disguise her despotism under

Den in de nex corner is Mugabe sheself trying to emote concern fuh people who cant eat pun a day or cant go to University or some other ting dat when you listening to she you realise dat it is all a script that she is repeating.

Mottley never been hungry a day in she llife whu she know bout hunger?

Go back to the piece uh message dat she compose.

Everyting strong together like if it was done in a hurry so that she could have gone somplace

And den in de nex corner my Blogmaster heheheheheh who dun weigh in a showing he hand wid Mugabe and these videos heheheheheheh

Steupseeee all of this pantomine by Heather for her Mugabe is pitiful and indeed best filed under “Jobby and its connection with the non-existent Corners of a Circle

14. How does OSA feel now that the dems have humiliated him?

15. Russians hacked elections what?…………….dont understand why we in the Caribbean keep believing the democrats lies and propaganda…………the voting machines are not online.

The fact is the people were fed up like Barbadians are of the way the country was being governed and decided that they were not going to be told who to vote for by the biased media and went out and voted for an outsider……….the lesser of the two evils. The democrats have yet to admit that they had a horrible corrupt candidate whose only policy was that it was her turn and that she is a woman. It is fascinating to watch this so called main stream media who decimated the same HRC when she ran against BHO in 2008.

What is it with dems…………

16. Wicket taking pace.
    George at one end and Heather at next.
    AC anc ac at the wickets
    What a lovely game of cricket

Bear in mind that in a highly educated society, propagandists and story tellers will be plentiful.

But you should have been exposed to these stories/plays/actors for over 50 years. The telling may be a litlle different the actors may be different (but they all came from central casting), but the ending is always the same.

The BDLP to the rescue and all get screwed–

17. Think the term hacking is used in a much broader sense… like interfering

18. If i was a poet it would have been

Wicket taking pure spin
    George at one and Heather at the next end
    AC and ac at the wicket
    We in for a lovely game of cricket

19. Good insights. If you dont stand for something you will fall for anything.

20. @ De Ingrunt Word aka De Pedantic Dribbler

“Hidden in Full View” speaks to the practice of going contrary to the practice of hiding what is so pellucid to the discerning eye.

You are unlike others here starting to put together the dots as to the killings that are being effected to cover up this hack.

“Will you look after my cat?’ Chris Steele, ex-MI6 spy ‘who worked with murdered Alexander Litvinenko’ flees his £1.5m home ‘fearing for his life’ leaving his pet with neighbours”

He is probably dead as is his source of info, General Oleg Erovinkin, a former KGB general linked to said MI6 spy’s dossier on Donald Trump has been found dead in his car in Moscow.

Trunk is causing many patriots in the USofA serious concerns as they seek solutions to reslve what has occurred in the grand ole USA.

One by one those in the know are going to be sanctioned to the extreme.

Tell me something my man.

Tell me the name of one man who was the former boyfriend of Anemia Trunk ?

Have you seen anyone come forward to make this claim?

Follow the trail (of the bodies)

But you should be ashamed of yourself though, coming here in the middle ot this triffling plea for Bajans to get up and march behind the LoO Mugabe whose is allegedly leading the charge against some stupidness or the other…

Steupseeeeee

When de ole man come heah and share tings dat he know “second hand” heheheheheh which doan mean by proxy but dat he do um more that twice heheheheheheheh everybody does say dat he got a fertile imagination.

Wikileaks come and give wunna a likkle file and um does be true and people does be amazed.

Now wunna understand dat Whatsapp is being monitored and is the tool dat the US does use among other things, to confirm or deny US Visa applications.

But for those who do not believe in the hack when *** happens then wunna will realise that the hack was real.

It is a serious weight that Obama carried on his chest regarding SCROTUM the 45th President of the Great Babylon

21. @ the Gazer

It is more like

Mia Mugabe had a scam e-i-e-i-o
    and in that scam she hired a man e-i-e-i-o

With a pooch suck here and a pooch suck dere
    Here a Suck dere a Suck every where a suck suck

and dere were clitorises on that farm e-i-e-i-o

Or

Mia had 2 little scamps (Heather and George)
    she hired them for a dime,
    and every blog they wrote on BU
    they sucked at Mugabe’s behind

I wonder if i could get Baba Elombe Mottley to publish my poems at chattelhouse publishers?

What your think The Gazer?

22. Heather

We suspect that Trump has had long term financial relations with the Russians and many other shadowy characters.

He would take money from anybody, despite the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act.

From the oligarchs and their illegal money, etc.

And there are relation between the Russian billionaire and their intelligence operative.

We know all this

And they ‘monitor’ anybody who goes to Russia.

We assumed all the hotel rooms are bugged.

We have a fight between the elites for power, influence.

But, if the deep state forces can get Trump to give them what they want, like they have started to get already, they will call off their dogs in the media.

Next day Trump would be as righteous as virgins snow.

These deep state elites are blackmailing Trump too.

23. @PUDRYR

You shouldn’t run with the obvious. Based on the content of any blog posted BU will from time to time post related material if based on our judgement it serves to add value.

24. William Skinner Avatar

I am amazed that we still have so much time for Trump.

25. Why are we still obsessed with Trump and the US while at the same time Barbados is drifting in a swamp of ineptitude? We must get real.

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/travel/news-and-advice/donald-trump-invites-foreign-tourists-white-house-ban-bar-state-department-latest-a7617301.html

…….where there is no vision because of visionless emptyheaded politicians in Barbados and other islands, the people will perish…trump’s idiocy must be monitored by Caribbean people, must be taken into account, there are ministers and politicians who would be happy to emulate and act out trump’s stupidity, many of them are to known to be incapable of thinking for themselves. Many of them still copy the UK stupidity and use it on their on people….it’s good to know what folly they will copy next, and use against their own people.

27. @Hal

For some the US news is all that they know.

28. True. The problem is, David, we look to the US/Europe for high class journalism and then accept the printing of press releases in full at home. Read today’s Nation for BGIS on the Estimates, the most important political event since the sacking of the governor of the central bank. Most Barbadian journalism is up and down PR. We are hopeless.
    Look at medicine. Every time the wealthy and well connected get ill they fly off to Miami, New York, Canada or Europe – or go in to their private clinics.
    No doubt QEH is not improving.

29. It is not too late to expect that for the rest of the week the media practioners will assemble experts to discuss the Estimates.

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Such a pity there is no good, great or any positive class of journalism from the conventional media the island.

Such a pity politicians/ministers are only mentally capable of copying the negatives, only that which destroys the majority population……particularly since there are multiple, literally thousands of positive ideas to choose from in both Europe and North America, it’s glaring that black leaders are only capable of copying negatives to practice on their own people.

31. @David at 5:32 AM …You noted in response to Hal and William that “For some the US news is all that they know.” What an amusing ‘blogging tic’. This is like a learned psychological reaction whenever Trump or US pols is discussed.

Regardless of the dire importance of Bajan life re job losses, forex paucity, ineffectual journalism or whatever woes we suffer there can never be a worthy or rational dismissal of news and current events in the US and UK particularly, Europe generally and now too China and then the rest of the world.

Will the recent ratings declines not generally impact the Estimates debate?
    Will issues of Brexit and Trump travel policies not provide much impact on possible tourist arrivals?

Is it not pertinent for wise men and women to read the tea leaves of Trumpism as best as possible to benefit and as importantly avoid pitfalls?

On the downside, how can any Bajan and particularly the leaders not focus on a US policy that dumps Bajan who often have no roots to this little island at Grantley Adams fresh from a stint at Rikers or other forced stay hotel?

And on the upside, how can they not focus on encouraging visitors who are dismayed by the US travel policies from making Barbados their holiday destination?

The remarks are amusing. But then again we generally are quite ethnocentric (self centered really) and thus repeat the same ‘commess’ of the Trumps of this world rather than learn from the errors.

Incidentally, beating up on the local press is understandable but rather self defeating.

Consider if the US was a little media market like Bim and had only a Fox and MSNBC as principals……Ok, now exhale. Would that be any different to the irreverent, ‘press release’ type journalism the local press is lambasted as?

We are in the midst of the most enlightening news nirvana possible…we can affirm our data bias as if we are at a most sumptuous all-you-can-eat-forever buffet. Even in Bim there are numerous Facebook and social sources for real news and opinions.

Is the oft noted (Barrow was it?) wry remark that when US(or UK too really) sneezes that we Bajans get the infectious cold bug, not still as true today as ever?

Why this constant refrain on the demerits of US (international) based news flow …that is truly ‘fake news’!

32. Heather,
    You said: “… Barbadians have been denied access to public education at the UWI.”.
    A complete falsification. NO ONE HAS BEEN DENIED ACCESS TO PUBLIC EDUCATION AT U W I. Al yhaay has happened is that students have been asked to pay for part of their tuition (10%), while the government (the people) pays th full economic costs and the balance of the tuition. DO NOT LIE JUST TO MAKE A POINT (actually non-point). Why o you people persist in sawing the limb you (and so many others) are standing on?

33. Estimates: “$1.8 billion set to go towards repayment of principal and interest on Government’s outstanding loans.”

WOW. 40% – FORTY(!) % – of the whole budget already for the creditors. New loans to pay INTEREST on old loans. We already reached the point of no return. Default and devaluation are inevitable.

How much will we spend next year on credit? 50, 60, 70% ?

Sounds like the anecdote of the boiling frog.

34. David, and BU readers, including Heather,
    Interesting article.

ELECTION 2016
    An Insider’s View: The Dark Rigidity of Fundamentalist Rural America
    In deep-red white America, the white Christian God is king.
    By Forsetti’s Justice / AlterNet
    November 22, 2016.

Tron;
    Haven’t you people all been calling on government to pay down the debt? How else can it be done but by biting the bullet? How many people pay out more than that from their monthly income toward car payments and Credit Card payments; at the same time.

35. ac

These clowns have bankrupted the country. Barbados is now a circus complete with clowns, comedians and court jesters all the halls of government. The lunitica have escaped and are now running the asylum, ITS A CRAZY CRAZY PLACE THOS NEW BARBADOS.

36. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Alvin…as usual you are trying to distract with nonsense, it’s been 10 years credit rating agencies, IMF and bloggers been telling both givernments to CUT THEIR DEBT RELIANCE……10 years.

Dont you think if that was being done in the last 10 years instead of their usual lies, secrecy and deceit to the people, there would be no need to now “pay down debt” or “bite any bullet”….all of that would have been prevented if the swollen headed, hard headed, arrogant Fruendel and his gang had listened to anyone with intelligence in the last 10 years….and made the requisite sacrifices back then.

The government is now taking from Peter to pay Paul…debt junkies, which can only lead to loan default, in the real world when that happens with the credit card scam that seduced and sucked in billions of people worldwide to economic ruin in the last 3 decades……..there is only one option left…debt consolidation.

37. angela Skeete Avatar

Ha ha ha very funny the govt taking from Peter to pay Paul
    ????How much does Peter and Paul owed govt in govt write offs , oustanding loans, and uncollected taxes

Answer .enough to pay down defecit and govt debt with sufficient left over for a rainy day

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Retarded As’s/ACs…. lemme break it down, those foreign loans is government borrowing from one bank or lending agency to pay another bank or lending agency……since yall are clueless about the lending system.

……and if the black ministers of government were not so weak, so slave like, so damn stupid, they would go after those who owe millions…did they ever collect the 25 million Courts limited owed, who do they expect to collect it…me.

If the black government ministers were not so intellectually weak, slave minded and stupid the Cows, Bizzys, Maloneys, Bjerkhams et al could never put their hands in poor black people’s pension fund by the millions or millions of taxpayer’s dollars or contracts….and there would be more than enough money to repay loans, the million Bizzy “give me” gets every month for the do nothing Ionics scam could have repaid those loans, the millions Maloney got for shit houses and apartments could repay those loans……dont get me started on the ministers’ total greed, incompetence and bribetaking.

39. Re Alvin @ 8:12 AM
    Bushie thought at first that Alvin was an idiot…
    The Bushman may have underestimated the situation…..

40. DOAN HAVE TO READ AND SPELL FUH WUNNA

“Former President Bharrat Jagdeo and former Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon were this afternoon arrested in connection with the Pradoville 2 probe.

Earlier, Lisaveta Ramotar had been detained by the Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU) in connection with the ongoing probe into the Pradoville 2 housing scheme.

Ramotar, the daughter of former President Donald Ramotar, has been taken to the SOCU office.

41. Dam Fool why dont you ask Mia how much millions of taxpayers money OSA administration allocated through loans and various business enterprises some of which went unaccounted and many of which was never collected.
    Instead of marching Mia should be having a rallying cry calling on all businesss who still owe govt taxpayers money to pay up in this time of dire financial need instead asking barbadians to look like midday jack a sss trotting in the hot sun

42. Somehow de ole man is at a loss here about this side swipe at this Mugabe Advertisement dubbed “Article per Governance in Barbados”

Her propaganda for Mottley begins :

“During and after the 2016 general elections in the USA…” and for 4 of its roughly ten paragraphs, it presents the non applicable experience of the USofA, as its central hypothesis.

It is upon this that readers are to arrive at a stance of “Support the Mugabe March this coming Saturday.”

How puerile can one be?

BTW, about the march, I thought that it was going to be on the 4th? just after the Baba

Ooops there must have been a Mugabe miscalculation regarding the Gold Cup Garrison races.

The rationale must have been “Workers union packed to the seams’ and therefore “we advertise that and the March going be ram off!”

So the “not-so-adept” writer (read bright neophyte) seeks, unlike Jeff Cumberbatch, to give an “emotive setting” for her Mugabe Babble.

She, like the other fool Dompey, continues to talk about how de Americans do this, Dan Rather say this, Tom, Dick and Harry do this

Then incredibly, after putting in she ends off by talking bout “Mugabe who is leading the fight against Fumbles”.

I would have given her a fail for this paper not only because it is about Mugabe the despot but purely because the writer DOES NOT KNOW how to develop a thesis and, in seeking to sound like if she is (il) literate achieves both superbly i.e. “seeking to sound literate” and “she is illiterate”

The irony of this is that the very topic of Putting Up a Resistance is fed by this facsimile of such poor quality where the resistance dies in utero.

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

As’s…..I do not need to ask Mia anything…..she is not the prime minister, she has nothing to answer for in the last 9 years… it will be fun to see what lies Fruendel and his fools are practicing to tell the electorate in an attemp to fool them again to be reelected…this I gotta see, incompetent Fruendel was to fix the economy, not make things WORSE.

Am glad to see that racist corrupt former Guyana presìdentt got arrested, that should send a messagė to the other mediocre Caribbean leaders who believe themselves untouchable. …his badly abused ex wife must be rejoicing

44. @ Hants

You see that article that you posted?

“…Former President Bharrat Jagdeo and former Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon were this afternoon arrested …”?

You see whu de ole man does be heah preaching to the ingrunt third party that running?

If they run on a campaign that AMONG THE OLE MAN OTHER SUGGESTIONS of (a) contract with the people (b) Power of Recall (c) FOI/ITAL and (d) We going offer a 15-20% fee for all monies recovered from MP infelicities

AND

We going prosecute them and lock them up! my man the third part going lick up Mugabe mottley with ease

The DLP IS NOT IN THE RUNNING

http://imgur.com/7qV92ea

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin CumminsMarch 8, 2017 at 7:51 AM
    “Heather,
    You said: “… Barbadians have been denied access to public education at the UWI.”.
    A complete falsification. NO ONE HAS BEEN DENIED ACCESS TO PUBLIC EDUCATION AT U W I. Al yhaay has happened is that students have been asked to pay for part of their tuition (10%), while the government (the people) pays th full economic costs and the balance of the tuition. DO NOT LIE JUST TO MAKE A POINT (actually non-point). Why o you people persist in sawing the limb you (and so many others) are standing on?”

Are you accusing Heather of lying just like your boss man did to the same UWI students just to win back a government?

Now don’t go and perjure yourself by saying the man never gave that ironclad assurance that they will never have to pay tuition fees under his administration since that would have been a rather retrograde step and spitting in the mirror image of EWB.

We will not mention the other lies told to little school children and the CLICO clowns still expecting a get money from a lying intellectually bankrupt administration which cannot even pay tax refunds (legal requirement to return overpaid taxes) or pay public sector workers in a timely fashion.

46. are-we-there-yet Avatar

dpD;

re. your 7:46 am post, Very well said.

There are many parallels between the Trump situation and our Freundal – Sinckler mis-management situation.

One of them is the selfish reactions of the Political Party supporting the respective leader. A depth of support that appears to be mindless and caring only for following the party line to the detriment of the Country.

Thus, in the USA, Trump can do no wrong for the Republicans despite the general recognition by most in the country that it is quite likely that he colluded with the Russians in the successful hacking of the DNC that almost certainly led to his winning of the 2016 elections. Thus a man who appears to be intellectually, morally and mentally incapable of properly guiding the Country is now in charge of the Country and providing almost daily evidence that he will preside over the decay of the USA as a world leader if he is allowed to continue this trend. One clear example of the mindset of the Republican leadership is that they appear unwilling to seek a meeting with Christopher Steele (who has now come out of his self imposed hiding) to clear up some aspects of his Dossier and thereby possibly providing evidence for the impeachment of the Donald.

Similarly, The asymetrically thinking Stuart appears to be fully supported by his party despite all the evidence in the public domain that he has presided over (and caused by unstrategic inaction) the almost total destruction of the Barbados Economy while evading all the advice that would have made a difference. Chris Sinckler is not the problem. It was and is The Leader and the party that persisted in making bad decisions in the face of all the evidence that their medicine was not working.

The real problem facing both Barbados and the US is that morality in Government has been lost and only lip service remains for treating with the disadvantaged and that without these guiding principles, both Countries will flounder.

Heather;

An excellent article. Perhaps the explicit support for the Mottley march was overdone and somewhat ill advised but actually support for an established party that provides some possibilility of relatively un-chaotic righting of the economy as compared with bringing in unexperienced neophytes to chart a new course is a demonstrably better strategy under the dire situation we now find ourselves in unless we are willing to suffer decades of Haiti like existence until the situation normalizes.

47. @Pieces, March 7, at 10:47 PM

I had forgotten about that news item re General Erovinkin. But the youth Seth Rich’s death is quite troubling. The general made his bed of thorns with a career in the dark-arts world of espionage; the young DNC tech made no such calculus, one suspects. Why was he killed? To what end was this just and necessary?

May his death be avenged some day.

I would doubt that Steele is no longer with us, however. You know better than I do that such extra-judicial actions on agents by competing intelligence services is just not ‘cricket’: the game is not played that way and can get very, very nasty real fast when it is.

And of course, Steele has done nothing to merit a death sentence from his own people as the good general did. But of course he still does need to watch his back…lone wolf idiots are alive and alert for opportunity.

But beyond any Trump-Russia connections what is really deeply troubling is the fact that the US Intel apparatus is so pathetically porous.

How can they exist and what are their operational competencies if they are ‘allowing’ leaks of this type, the Mannings and the Snowdens. And too the less well known Harold Martin, the NSA contractor who over several years secreted oodles of classified data.

These revelations and leaks are either an awesome false-flag concerted effort to misdirect us from the real methodologies or it is mind-boggling that with the advent of the ubiquitous always connected ‘internet of things’ world that the US Intel services are being made to look so inept at safeguarding its ‘gold’ on security control and surveillance.