Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

They say we gone down de drain,

They say no more could we see happy times again

……………………………………………….

Now is the time to show we patriotism…

We could make it if we try– Black Stalin

Some of the lyrics from the calypso, “We could (sic) make it if we try” performed by Black Stalin as long ago as 1988, have been running through my mind for most of last week, and it is not because, as some wag will be sure to observe, that there is nothing or very little there to impede its progress. Rather, it is because it is eminently possible for me to identify with the sentiments of Stalin’s effort, both as to the comparative direness of our economic situation and the optimistic but simple strategy offered in the hook line that we can make it if (only) we try.

Stalin sings –

Now we country facing its darkest hour,

So our people needs us today more than ever,

But in our fight to recover, if ever you feel to surrender,

It have one little thing I want you always remember

We could make if we try just a little harder…

Our darkest hour would have somehow become even darker still, if that were at all possible, with the news yesterday that the rating agency, Standard & Poor’s had further downgraded the island’s sovereign credit rating from a barely mediocre B- to a lowly CCC+, thereby reducing our bonds to a status below that of junk. And the Ministry of Finance has tried to take this “gentlemanly” mark in stride, attributing it to the challenges posed by our low foreign reserves levels, and declaring itself expectant of an imminent improvement in these and a concomitant diminution of the fiscal deficit. In other words, we will do better next time.

Regrettably perhaps, I am not to be listed among those who consider that the sole answer to our current predicament is to march in protest against the governing administration or even to inveigh for Prime Minister Stuart to advise the Governor General to dissolve the current Parliament and to issue a writ returnable within ninety days for a general election. While this latter initiative would doubtless please some of the contributors to the Brass Tacks talk show, some bloggerati and a growing number of others no end, the more critical mind is driven to contemplate whether this would not amount in effect in that colourful phrase, “ to shifting deck chairs on the Titanic” even as the iceberg of our midnight draws ominously closer. I digress however.

It is here that we might take comfort from Stalin’s lyrics and resolve to at least “try a t’ing”. While our problem might be economic in nature, I am not at all persuaded that the solution lies solely in that discipline, although I make haste to aver that I have no economic training of any kind. A lifetime of learning convinces me, however, that the optimal answer is rarely to be found in one perspective only. Nor, to my mind, is the most effective solution a political one, at least not as politics are traditionally practised in Barbados with a heavy reliance on partisanship; when it has for long been clear that neither side of the customary local political divide has all the answers to our current asperity.

One clear answer would seem to be for the state to engage the minds of all those committed to a soonest improvement in our fortunes; a thesis that would, however, recklessly drive a ZR van through the hoary and crowded streets of local political division. Just look at the consternation that the mere floating of a suggestion that the experienced economic counsel of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur should be resourced to assist the current governing administration in finding a solution to the contemporary morass has evoked among some Barbadians.

The attempt to engage the Cabinet, members of the Social Partnership and other officials in discussion on the matter yesterday (Friday) is of the same laudable order, although I must confess my disappointment at not noticing any members of the so-called alternative government, the Opposition, in attendance. If they were not invited, this would have been a regrettable oversight and a missed opportunity by Government to demonstrate forcefully the collective nature of the existing struggle. If they were in fact invited and failed to attend, then this is equally regrettable on their part, serves as a testament of the unhelpfulness of partisanship in the current context and, perhaps, reveals the true nature of the beast that we will first have to overcome.

Any advance towards bipartisanship or, preferably, non-partisanship in our political context will require first a massive re-education of the local electorate. Indeed, some will argue, not without some cogency, that we may need also to reform the current constitutional praxis that reduces the local formulation of public policy to be a matter for no one else save a hand-picked Cabinet and members of one political group.

I am aware as any that this reformation will require a shifting of the basic norm of our constitutional ethos. This does not come easily, especially since it would require the very authority with the power to alter the existing order to engage in an act of self-destruction. Hence, one of the more effective modes of effecting this shifting is a successful revolution or an overthrow of the constitution itself.

No sane national would seriously advocate this for Barbados at this time and the national psyche would, most assuredly, boggle at this possibility. Nevertheless, as we face our metaphorically darkest hour, traditional thinking will cut little ice. Hence, the logical necessity for a third way that will commit to a renaissance of the Barbadian socio-political compact. Alas, none of those groups that has so far raised a head above the parapet appears to want to do other than to fill the vacuum left by the traditional duopoly.

There is, however, another pertinent adage in which we may take some comfort at this time. The darkest hour, I have been told, comes always just before dawn.

160 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Our Darkest Hour”

1. What is this love of country crap? We need principles. We are beginning to sound like Trump, or Hitler.

2. I guess that you are lumped not with the lumpen proletariat but with that lump of those in the UK) given that you have spoken of your middle class lot of refugees in “The middle classes, like all refugees, will escape to the US, Canada or down the islands – (the UK will not take anymore)

You have spoken very irreverently of me and my GLock 17’s.

They are not “under my bed” but are ever close should anyone try to bum rush the house.

I will not turn my gun pun noyone UNLESS they attack my castle and suffer the consequences.

I have told the granson where the ** is and in the even of dementia or such thongs that come with age, i have told him to tek way the guns lest …

And, do speak for yourself when you say “…elderly men with nothing else to do but hide behind nom de plumes…”

I ent one of dem who dont have nothing to do ..I does mek Stoopid Cartoons BEHIND my Nom de Plumes heheheheeh.

But you are quite right about the coming of the Gated Communities and the AK47 culture being the Darkest Hour that we have to look forward to.

The Chinese are already here, they are 500 of them living in the Chinese Embassy and anothe 2000 living on Sam Lord’s Castle place.

If you keep coming her you may finally end up with a slight understanding and capacity to make sound statements yet.

3. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Excellent brasstack today even rattling a ministers cage.

It is unfortunate the wider community will not hear it as they continue with bling and wukk up.

Consensus is that something has to pop between now and 31March……we shall see what.

4. Piece,

Do you think the Chinese in Barbados just bring in personal and building materials in their containers. They are armed to the teeth. If trouble breaks out the Chinese do not have to travel 10000 miles to defend their citizens; the citizens can do it for themselves.
    Do you recall the little boy shot dead by that Chinese woman in Georgetown because she thought he was in her shop to steal.
    Not speaking a word of English, the boy was on a mission for his mum.
    If Ms McClean thinks the Chinese are an easy touch, boy just you wait. Do you recall the Chinese restaurant in East African that banned Africans as not suitable customers?

5. @ Vincent

You have got to be kidding me!!

You said and I quote “…and right and then just so Solutions is the best thing since sliced bread and you have the evidence to show a signed charter of commitments…..”

Explain.

I have been strongly suggesting a pledge, an immovable contract between individuals of a specific profile (a) honest (b) competent and (absolutely) committed to country.

Please doan tell de ole man dat Solutions Barbados adopt dat contract ting?

Say it ent so!!

I ent set up no website!!

You is an awful Liar Vincent and you feeling out de ole man heheheheheheheh.

You ent got what it takes to bait de ole man heheheheheheh

But seriously SOLUTIONS Barbados doing someting like dat?

Whuloss man, whu I cud sit down hean and mek Grenville II and dem fellers do dat?

I doan go to Grenville site

In fact I doan go to none uh dem site.

I does choose my collection materials and my sources and access agents carefully.

De udder day a feller set a sprat fuh de ole man and i tek he bait and den feed he some stuff and dat leh me know de lay of de land and I ent going dat way again.

You must try it some time it is called “the green marble”. You hold something in your hand and pretend it has power to it. and you share that it is a marble. You tell two suspects the colour of that marble and WHEN YOU HEAR the exact colour repeated since you have only shared said item with one person, then you know that they are the leak.

Steupseeeee I dun wid you doah cause you sorta slow and it appears like if, in addition to the fact that you working for pebbles, Mugabe does only give you part of the story and does set you loose for your enthusiasm to take over.

Remember that NOn Partisan does not mean THird Party it means Third Way

6. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece

Chuckle…..how yuh means yuh dun wid muh an e’en leff nuh words pun de blenza ting…..guh long bozie as Skins dun sey pun hey yuh soons shows up pun soam board or position……yuh cyan hide an buy land but yuh cyan hide an wukkum…….hehehehehe

7. Hal, do not even respond to BT. He has no concept of common scenes or any means to think critically. Kolij? Nuff of us went there, few started with any concept of reality and less left there with more of it.

The situation on the island reeks of amateurish to the highest degree. For all the so call ministers with degrees, they have run the country into the ground. I witnessed the best of Bim between 1995-2002 or so, then a nose dive into the gutter.

When the IMF comes, no choices will be left.

8. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

It’s not the end of the world. No need to panic. We don’t need no revolution for a blasted credit downgrade. Fiscal and balance of payment issues are inherently a part and parcel of any modern economy. What the economy needs is a shock/correction to bring the system back into ‘equillbrium’. There will be collateral damage. There is no free lunch. The free riders, rent-seekers, and unproductive elements will be exposed and jettison from the system. I am not going to lose sleep over this.

9. Konkieman,

Bush Tea is an old man seeing out his last days. I hope he had an enjoyable life and wish him well.

10. Our problem has been and will continue to be our laziness and “yella bellyness”. The physical plan is currently going through a public consultation and a quick scan of the crowds show less attendees than the line for a liver cutter @ Pink Star on Saturday nights. Active and progressive engagement by civil groups ought to trigger change, not constitutional amendments. For example legislation is drafted, and we seldom hear any comments from the Bar Association, the law faculty at UWI etc. Indeed commentary on legislation is not the sole domain of lawyers. Where are the other professional bodies, formulating and proposing policies to the government on an ongoing business as opposed to simply making suggestions at Budget? Any re-education of the electorate to embrace “bi-partisanship”, whatever that means in a local context, should start with our opinion shapers using their positions of influence to lead by example. The constant berating of the system in my humble opinion is a get out of jail card. We must ask ourselves, what are we doing to bring about these changes instead of grandstanding on BU pretending to be apolitical and concerned.

11. @fortyacresandamule

The idea of collateral damage will lead to panic for Barbadians. They have been living the easy life on the back of easy credit which has led to a feeling of entitlement. It will make it hard to swallow the bitter medicine.

12. @William 11:52
    I fully agree with your sentiments.

There is ne immediate relief. Whoever gets the mantle of leadership will have a tough time digging us out of this hole we are in.

Sadly, the only course with the duopoly is downward.Let’s hope we can find someone who can stop/slow/reverse our downward spiral.

@Hal: Let us continue to hide behind our nom de plumes (in peace).

Greetings to all mice (anony and known)

13. That’s what you anonymice want. To slander people (in peace).

14. Carl,

It is the last hiding place of cowards. What is worse is that it seems politicians also use anonymity to smear rivals.
    Such cowards would have been exposed in the UK ages ago. But let these old men wither and die on the vine.

15. I sensed the presence of a few the other night at Elombe’s talk. Not one of them had the courage to get up and make a point or ask a question.

Too public. What did they do? Come here to hide behind their noms de plume. Quiet in public; noisy here.

16. Carl

How do you know who asked questions? Didn’t you walk out? How do you know those who asked questions are not non de plumes on BU.

BTW, good to hear you admit you are not happy the direction the Nation has taken. We have it on the audio.

17. I believe that without viable third parties Barbados cannot escape from its current course.

The duopoly (BDLP) knows that they will get THEIR turn at the wheel every ten or fifteen years. If those in power mess up, then the other side of the duopoly is in power after 5 or 10 years. If those in power do an excellent job, it will probably be in the first five years followed by five to ten years of hard time and then the other side of the duopoly are back in power.

There is no Pharaoh, no dream, no Joseph, no fatted calf, at most five years of plenty and then tough times.

Barbadians have the intelligence and the men who can put us on a different course, but currently they lack the incentives to step forward and adopt a leadership role.

We can only hope that one day they wake up and realize theiir children or children’s children may want to live in Barbados.

18. On the Barbados Today website,
    Grenville, the boss of Solutions Barbados, is making a point about ISO. But the ISO is simply meant to harmonise global customer service. But, because the champion of free speech, Kaymar Jordan, has barred me from the site because I pointed out she is Owen Arthur’s public relations person, I cannot reply to Grenville.
    Someone has reminded me who Kaymar is. Sometime ago I took part in a debate at the Barbados high commission in London with a young lawyer, a PhD candidate, who is now back in Barbados, and someone doing an MA in international journalism at City University, who it now seems was Kaymar.
    At the end of the discussion I offered to give her some work experience at the FT and she was greatly offended. I thought at the time she needed some real journalistic experience. I stand by that assessment made years ago.
    Free speech is not about banning people; it is about engaging them in debate. A free press is not the same as free speech. We do not want a free press for the likes of Kaymar to deny ordinary people the right of free speech.

19. @Hal

You should ask your friend in arms against the BU community to intervene on your behalf. He has no problem getting his submissions to print.

20. @enuff

Good comment!

21. How did I know? Because I know most of you anonymice. Including you, David.

I walked out towards the end of the programme after complimenting Elombe for his persistence in trying to plant seeds of progress every two years in the intellectual desert that is Barbados.

The Nation has known of my position since June 1980. You’ve arrived late.

22. @Carl
    As I made the comment that pulled you out of your hiding place in less than four minutes, please tell me who it was that I slandered (in peace).

@Hal: Why on earth does it matter if I post as Theophilus Gazerts or as the Gazer or John Boyce. If I use John Boyce which John Boyce would you assume that I am.

This psuedonym thing is nonsense.

23. Kaymar is as equally friendly with OSA as with CS, fact. She was not fired from Nation Newspaper?

24. @Carl

Did we hear you say you are 77 years old? You keeping good man.

25. But let’s not relive groundhog day by redoing the anonymouse script again. Barbados has more pressing problems…..

26. Seriously though Carl. What do you attribute the decline at the Nation and we add the other media outlets to?

Why has the BAJ nt been able to get its act together?

Why are senior journalists avoiding press conferences given by senior players? Most recent the MoF.

27. TheGazer, you’re funny, man: You, an anonymouse, pulled me out of my hiding place?

Hilarious, for a Sunday afternoon. Thank you.

28. angela Skeete Avatar

What viable third parties! so far all that have raised heads above ground are reading from the same hymn book just like the opposition plenty criticism and pretending to have lock box solutions What third parties or better yet Turd parties
    Most the economist are saying barbados best option is the IMF but none tells the stipulations attached ,
    Heard Owen Arthur singing the praises of Jamaica lowering its deficit problem after about twenty years in an IMF program but resist telling the whole story of a Jamaica where the poor and socio environment went into the toilet in order to pay the financial giants

29. David,

My intentions are honourable. After over 40 years in journalism I have no desire to see my name in print. It is just that bad journalism eventually becomes irritating and Barbados Today is very bad. They seem not to have heard anything about the key concepts of journalism: objectivity, balance and impartiality.
    News reporting is the heart of journalism and if you leave out any of these you are in danger of offering readers disinformation – a one-dimensional view – which is what we often get from Barbados Today, especially with Owen Arthur and Donville Inniss.
    That is propaganda, not journalism. In trying to help, Kaymar has obviously become offended – or has been told to bar me. Fine. I will just spend my free time reading more on BU.

30. Sorry, didn’t realize that reading BU on Sunday afternoons was on yout to do list.
    Please
    Did you tell David “Thanks for keeping me abreast of the news in Barbados”?
    I bet the answer is NO..

31. angela Skeete Avatar

32. Kaymar obviously has more sense than David 🙂
    If it was up to me, you would be here with more psuedonyms than ac 🙂
    All: just kidding

33. Violet Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP

More Pain to come Hold on for dear Life in Barbados, The Island of Doctor Monrow

34. @ Mr. Carl Moore

I am here still listening to the questions session at the point when you left the lecture

It was right before Elombe said “…some men like hoares…”

I want to know if you left because (a) you felt that he was going to make that comment or (b) that you were afraid that the people there (among whom were a few anonymice) might have mentioned your ammmmmmm affliction?

I know you dont like we anonymice but, given that that comment bout whores proceeded your hurried departure, and all dem people laugh when de whores comment was made, I would just like you to tell me if that had anything to do with it

35. Zzzzzzzz … Anonymice, you’re hurrying me off to my afternoon nap. So little substance here.

Apologies to Mr. Cumberbatch for misusing the thread David allocated to his brilliant piece in today’s Advocate.

I can’t help it: when I spot anonymice I have to zap them!

David, my friend, when you reach 77 you’ll understand why an afternoon siesta is so refreshing.

Zzzzzzzzzz …

36. @PUDRYR

Let us eave Carl be, he is entitled to a view read individuals should have the courage to post using their names. How he would validate the the true identify behind the name were it to be be possible to achieve let us leave that job for him. We are also entitled to disagree with hm. Time to move on.

37. The Gazer, is that a reference to me? Who are you?

38. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. Agreed. Most countries around the globe is going through the same or even worst than us. Look at Venezuela.This shouldn’t be interpreted as some sort of solace, but looking at the broader picture, global comparative economic narratives are relevant.

39. The following is taken from a report in 2015 after Sinckler delivered the budget. Check the promises then and where we are today. There is our problem right there.

He said a total of US$1.12 billion in capital projects are currently on the books for growing and developing the Barbados economy.

Some of these include projects such as the Sam Lords Refurbishment project due to start in September 2015, which will bring US$200 million in investment; Royal Westmoreland expansion expected to start within weeks will bring an additional US$30million, and Beachlands due to start in September will bring US$120 million.

He said the Barbados Port Development project is currently ongoing and is expected to cost US$25 million and clear the way for the Port to accommodate two new mega ships to Barbados for the coming winter with 8,000 new passengers every week.

He said there were other projects within the tourism sector including investments by the Jamaica hotel brand Sandals that will pump an estimated US$350 million into the local economy, and the construction of a hotel by Hyatt at a cost of approximately US$70 million.

"All of these plus others not mentioned are expected to lock in the economic turnaround in the local economy as private and public foreign inflows continue to grow," Sinckler said, telling legislators that "added to these will be a fairly robust public capital works investment programme which is already on the way and expected to expend more than US$100 million over the course of this and the next financial year".

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Barbados-gov-t-outlines-strategies-for-economic-growth_19144497

40. Perhaps we are approaching that period in our history where we need to discuss – seriously – a foreign country who would be prepared to adopt us. A country who would be prepared to spoon feed us until we reach the stage of adulthood.

It is patently evident to me that we as a people have shown little evidence over fifty years of indepence that we have the capacity to govern ourselves.

We talk about third party options. Some of us cling to the two major parties for reasons that do not make sense.

We are a young nation in need of paternal help.

41. Yes it is a constant struggle -those countries that can mobilize a plan to get the stakeholders to support will be able to respond better to the challenge. It is what Jamaica and the other countries have been demonstrated.

42. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/05/jamaica-attorney-disbarred-ordered-to-pay-110m/

Yep..a few hundred attorneys in Barbados need this fate or worse. Some of them carry the QC designation and are the pettiest,unethical lowlife ya could ever want to meet. Jamaica knows they have to be weeded them out before the system is totally destroyed.

“JAMAICA: Attorney disbarred, ordered to pay $110m
    Added by Desmond Brown on March 5, 2017.

A well-known attorney, who is also a senior member of the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), Harold Brady, has been disbarred from practicing in the country.

The decision that was made on Saturday by the disciplinary committee of the General Legal Council (GLC), resulted in Brady being struck from the list of licensed legal practitioners in Jamaica.”

43. Exclaimer,

Bermuda rejected independence.

44. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

I wonder why this govt is so afraid of showing the IMF the books just like Tom&Sandy did in order to get their loan.

…..why are the apparatchiks spreading disinformation(alt-facts)that devaluation is all you will get from the IMF,so how come Tom nor Sandy got it from a tougher IMF also knowing that several packages are available to choose from.

……why are they citing Jamaica and not learning from them how detrimental a long wait before taking your bitter pill is.

…..with their backs against the proverbial wall with only one way out which could or as one their own has said could not cost them the election because they would have come clean with the peeps who will thank them and re-elect them.

The PM is a master politician who has survived palace coups and won a re-election against the odds,he must know what he is doing…….we shall see.

45. It seems as if the establishment will seek to maintain the duopoly (BDLP) and resist the emergengenc of any third party.

To quote one person on BarbadosToday
    “What’s his claim to political fame. Oh I see, he’s a stop gap Johnny come lately. He cannot do better than either of the two the DEMS and the BLP will put to run there”

To be added at a later date:
    His lack of a political name; his youth; his lack of political experience, etc.

See you all back here in five years time singing the same old song.

46. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

David March 5, 2017 at 3:47 PM #

I was in Jamaica during the 70s and saw Capital take flight by the so called stakeholders first hand,houses in the posh district called Beverly hills with swimming pools going for a song in hard currency and plane loads with cash heading to Florida…….that is what sunk Jamaica.

The same will happen here if the matter is not dealt with urgently…..I am already seeing more than normal for sale signs on the west coast.

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Hal…we have been over this, the former owner of CGI Towers does not like critics in any form, for more than 20 years the dummies from parliament, the judiciary, the ones heading the law enforcement system to the ones in the streets made Peter Harris believe he was king of Barbados, but now reality has set in for him after 2 decades, there are those now challenging him, seeking to bring him down for his decades of dirty deeds on the island, seeking to make sure he does not spread his poison and corruption to the other islands, where the majority are even more poor, vulnerable and unaware of what he is capable.

He will not appreciate you criticising his journalistic prowess or lack thereof Hal…lol

48. Well well,

That’s fine. If you have any information that will make a good story plse send it to me. We have publications in the UK that will snap it up. I know all kinds of people say they have information, but they usually fail to deliver.
    I am not interested in gossip. Just facts. That goes for CGI or any other corporation.

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Vincent Haynes

You wrote:

“The PM is a master politician who has survived palace coups and won a re-election against the odds,he must know what he is doing…….we shall see.”

Won a re-election against the odds? You must know that is complete nonsense. Corruption secured that election victory; it had nothing to do with anybody being a master politician, unless you equate vote buying and over spending as qualities of a master politician.