Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

Wonderful to relate, or “mirabile dictu”, as my two Latin masters of long ago, Messrs. Wellington and [CQ] Williams, would have preferred, I do not find it necessary today to resume my analysis of the Trump presidency; a phenomenon that seems anyway to be imploding towards self-destruction. Moreover, there is sufficient drama being played out in our own front-house to provide adequate fodder for the hebdomadal columnist.

The coup de théâtre of the week has been the denouement of Barbados’s seemingly intractable economic woes being played out in the courts, where the Governor of the Central Bank, Dr DeLisle Worrell, is resisting the attempt of the Minister of Finance to dismiss him from office. To the time of writing, Dr Worrell has managed to secure two injunctions to retain the office; one, by an interlocutory ex parte application last weekend when Worrell J would have enjoined the Minister not to act further on his alleged mandate to Dr Worrell to “resign or be dismissed”, and the other at yesterday’s vacation of that order so as to permit recourse to the local Court of Appeal.

Not having had access to the texts of any of the decisions in the matter so far, I propose to reserve detailed comment until after the judgment of the Court of Appeal, but for those who are querying the appropriateness of injunctive relief in a matter of this nature, the law’s attitude appears to be evolving. Time was when the law set its face firmly against the grant of specific relief to restrain an alleged wrongful dismissal at common law. The several bases of this stance were first, that damages for the dismissal would ordinarily constitute an adequate remedy in the circumstances; second, that the court would be unable to supervise the performance of the contract if it were allowed to continue; third, the substantial potential for oppression, of the employee especially, if he or she is required to maintain a contract involving the supply of personal services and fourth, the need for the parties to maintain the metwand of any contract of service; mutual trust and confidence. Otherwise the order would have no purpose and, according to a celebrated maxim, “Equity (the Law) does nothing in vain”.

However, in recent times, perhaps owed largely to the advent of the concept of unfair dismissal that has at its base the notion of re-employment (reinstatement or re-engagement) as a remedy, the courts have become much bolder or less reluctant in granting specific remedies against employers, most commonly though where the employee is entitled to the benefit of a contractual procedure such as a hearing, where there is no lack of confidence in the employee by the employer, or even, more controversially, where no good reason for the termination has been established by the employer.

I am of course, not privy as to precisely which, if any, of these considerations influenced the judicial decision to enjoin the Governor’s dismissal nor am I aware whether the determination of who indeed was Mr Worrell’s employer entered into the entire debate. This resolution is critical to ascertaining whether or not he is entitled to protection against an unfair dismissal, since the Employment Rights Act, by virtue of section 51, does not bind the Crown or apply to its employees but does to statutory corporations such as the Central Bank.

What is even more serendipitous is that last year I penned a piece in another space in this newspaper that took as its point of departure the dismissal of Dr Worrell’s counterpart in Trinidad & Tobago by the then incoming Rowley administration. Although court action was threatened in that case as well, I am not aware that it did in fact eventuate. In that effort, I also attempted a comparative analysis of the security of tenure of the local Governor and other officials similarly situated. I wrote then:

“It is notorious and understandable, at least in this region, for Opposition parties to be sometimes harshly critical of the various announcements and prognoses of those Central Bank Governors who have been appointed by the other side. Equally, it is understandable that a governing administration, as the economic policymaker for the State, should command the sympathy and goodwill, if not loyalty, of the head of the nation’s Central Bank. The question that begs asking, however, is whether a Central Bank Governor is truly independent or is it that he or she is merely a creature of the Cabinet and Minister of Finance both in the legal and natural senses of that concept? The answer would appear to lie partly in the security of tenure accorded to that official.

Certainly, few regional Governors would be as sycophantic in their roles as Mr. Gideon Gono, the Governor of the Central Bank of Zimbabwe from 2003 until 2013, who eschewed any claim to independence and saw it rather as a cardinal principle that his policies at the Bank were always consistent with those of President Mugabe. He attributed this to his self-perception as a mere disciple, for whom a key quality was loyalty to his leader.

Similarly, few would lay claim to the awesome autonomy of the Chairman of the US Federal Reserve Board, an entity whose monetary policy decisions do not have to be approved by the President or anyone else in the executive or legislative branches; which does not receive funding from the public purse; and whose members’ tenures span multiple presidential and congressional terms.

Unlike the Trinidad & Tobago legislation, the Barbados Central Bank Act does not provide specifically for the manner of termination of the appointment of the Governor, leaving such matters to be as set out in his or her instrument of appointment, although there is, of course, local precedent in the dismissal of Governor Winston Cox some years ago.

It bears remarking that this was written at a time when the employment relation between the Governor and the Minister was as amicable as could be, an observation ironically made by the Trinidad Guardian in a column published last week Thursday under the caption, “Is Barbados insolvent?” and written by Anthony Wilson.

Alluding to the fact that the current contretemps has caught many people in T& T and throughout the region by surprise, the author reasons:

“That’s because anyone who has seen the two men interact at the several investor forums that Barbados has held in Port of Spain, and elsewhere, over the past few years would have come away with the impression they had a close working relationship based on mutual respect, complete policy alignment and the need for them to work together to further their country’s national interest…”

I suppose, as the lady is alleged to have winkingly told the verger in an entirely different context, “Even the best of friends must part”.

157 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Enjoining a Dismissal”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Worrells contract being violated not withstanding, bajans are noting the swiftness with which an injuction was filed, the judge was agreeable and available, the swiftness of a court date and hearing, 2 days, the swiftness of the judge to clear a way for an appeal hearing and I am sure an eveñ swifter decision.

So why are all those thousands of cases backlogged In the same supreme court for decades and refused just as swift attention by the judges, by the judiciary. …some decisions still left hanging by the samè judge.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“Hebdomodal”

I and never seen that word in my life and, bereft of an intellectual competency sped to a dictionary for its meaning for there was the old man thinking that it referred to the abdominal blows that the Governor of the Central Bank was delivering to Stinkliar s head.

Hopefully the liks might by osmosis bring him some clarity about Decimal points.

Having also not seen the Governor s contract of service I am somewhat hesitant to believe that the Energizer bunny and governor would not, after fabricating all the lies for the Minister of Fine Ants Cris Decimals Bond, have secured an iron clad contract of employment where he could not be fired so easily.

Having said that one can only wis that he is able to prolong the judicial process for two months of paydays for the government snivel servants during which time the Monopoly money got salaries is not printed.

That will bring us nearer to closure to this lot of DLP incompetents at which time I do hope to see you enter the fray Mr Cumberbatch as leader of a third party.

De ole man and me grandson would support such an effort as long as you don’t run wid dese DLP or Mugabe BLP od Grenville elitist ting

3. Piece

Ah gine hep yuh unstan…………

heb·dom·a·dal
    hebˈdämədl/
    adjectiveformal
    adjective: hebdomadal

weekly (used especially of organizations that meet weekly).
    "he was forced to eke out a meager living scribbling hebdomadal feuilletons"

4. Well Well

I think I said to you that a case of national importance is given priority by the US Suprem Court, and here is the prime example playing out in Barbados before us.

5. Looks like the President of the NUPW should have moved with greater alacrity when his contract was unceremoniously terminated before its shelf life had expired.

6. I just read this opinion. Scary!

“When a country reaches the stage where no commercial bank, either local or foreign,

will lend it money—and where the main source of deficit financing, the central bank,

is warning about the dangers of it continuing to provide financing—then that country’s

back is against a wall and the only ladder, shovel or door is the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

7. Some of us do not want to be accused of being facile when distilling this issue. There must be a terms and conditions of employment contract between the Governor and the government. It should be very clear on what basis the government have grounds to fire the Governor. In the past a Governor fired by the PM -who has historically hold the office of finance – would have walked away to ensure damaged to reputation was contained. With Worrell we have a different animal. He is a septuagenarian who is happy to go off and play with his toy cars, attend cultural shows and read the occasional book. Renewing the contract of a Governor who does not have to factor prolonging his career has come back to bite the MoF you know where.

8. Hants,

The country is bankrupt.

9. @ Jeff,

thanks for the hebdomodal intellectual stimulation. lol

Its been a good week for my ageing brain. Read a book titled “The Dark Land” by Bajan author Ronald A. Williams PhD. Really good novel.

I also just finished chapter 12 of Growing Up Stupid Under the union jack by the late great Austin “Tom” Clarke.

Good distraction from the discussions of impending doom in Barbados.

10. @ David,

The Prime Minister of Barbados should do his job and intervene.

He should take decisive action and address the people of Barbados.

BARBADOS IS IN CRISIS.

11. @Hants

Good you are stimulating the brain cell by reading. Now back to reality!

Stuart had the leadership of the party dumped on him because none of the others had earned the confidence of the other in the parliamentary group. It is still the case although Donville Inniss is trying very hard to reach the top of the flat pile.

Stuart’s slim majority restricts him to resolving all issues with an eye on the political ramifications -to hell with national imperatives.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey….this case is of no national importance, if ya look at it in a practical manner, this is a personal vendatta between Sinckler and Worrell, both of whom cares nothing about country, pepole or economy. …

Worrelll could have bowed out and sued for breach of contract, a new governor would have been appointed and we would see the same lies and deceit coming from central bank as under Worrell.

Sinckler could have let Worrelll serve out the 2 years on his contract….of course he would hate to know that Worrell whom they appointed was still at central bank and the government would be kicked out by the electorate.

They both had options.

Try to think less narrow Dompey.

As it stands….everyone loses, but Worrell can talk out everything to the press….the only upside.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And my comment still stands, this is really a breach of contract case, it should not have taken precedent over many more cases with dire consequences to some litigants now. clogging up the court.system.

14. @Jeff

Can you explain how urgent applications to the court are handled/prioritized ?

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants February 19, 2017 at 10:08 AM

“He should take decisive action and address the people of Barbados.”

Hants, to ‘juxtapose’ those two words “Decisive” and “Action” and associate them with the fumbling giant who has gone on a convenient RIP Van Winkle journey of somnambulation could only represent the biggest convoluted oxymoron of a contradiction of epigrammatic proportion ever written on BU that even Carl Moore would exit his alley cat lair of pedantic snobbery and agree with the ‘anonymouse’ miller.

At this late stage in the game of political ‘scapegoating’ the only thing Bajan should be expecting from this jokey captain of a sinking ship is the ringing of the bell in electoral Morse code for Save Our Souls.

At this dire stage of financial crisis the upcoming Estimates ain’t worth a hill of beans of jack-shit since the printing press used to prop up this administration has been put out of commission and the IMF will be throwing that of book of fanciful pie-in-the-sky numbers through the window.

16. @ David

“Good you are stimulating the brain cell by reading. Now back to reality!”

David I suggest, if you have not, that you should also read Growing up Stupid Under the Union Jack. You may also find some great stimulation. Then hopefully those of us who have Grown Up Stupid Under the BrokenTrident, might have a firmer grip on reality.
    Keep up the stimulation via reading nothing like a good book, my friend.

17. @ Jeff

These are critical insights.

Thanks for a words usage, which in a few cases, could have sent us to the dictionary. Not seen them in a while.

You need not promise to stay away from international issues

For there are few subjects in Barbados which can be properly understood outside of a set of concentric circles of analysis.

In this respect, you rightly allowed the social sciences to meet the law. How would it have been possible to understand the forces at work, the relative importance of each, unless such a meeting took place?

Of course we have some comments on some issues raised.

Firstly, the issue of ‘confidence’. We are not at all ‘confident’ that this here MOF has the confidence of the people of Barbados, the PM or the Cabinet. We are not aware that the government of the day enjoys such confidence either.

Given those circumstances, and this is a question for your legal mind, how can it be that the GOCB is beset with an artificial imposition?

Secondly, on the question of ‘loyalty’ there is no doubt that the Federal Reserve, its Chairman, its regional branches, as the private institution they are, are not required, legally, to show loyalty to the government of the day in the USA, but in practice they do.

In Barbados, the tradition has been for terms of the GOCB to spawn political administrations. Given that these two men for, let say, more than 7 years found no fault with each other in relation to the peoples’ interests. Is it fair to assume that it was the GOCB who was disloyal to the MOF or to the people of Barbados? And if so, how have the interests of the people come to harm?

Thirdly, we found the case of President Mugabe and the ‘loyalty’ of his GOCB absent of the kind of historical and environment interrogation, in sufficiency, to be as insightful as you otherwise were.

In this case, you opted for the cheap shot. Given that Barbados, itself, may not be too far away from those sets of circumstances engendering a ‘Mugabe’ takeover, pun intended.

18. “@Jeff

Can you explain how urgent applications to the court are handled/prioritized?”

@David, I do not know of any set criteria, although it is generally accepted that writs of habeas corpus that concern the liberty of the subject are to be given priority over all other matters in open court. This was an emergency application last Sunday night before a single judge. Nothing competed then for priority.

19. Thanks Jeff, interesting.

20. “Firstly, the issue of ‘confidence’. We are not at all ‘confident’ that this here MOF has the confidence of the people of Barbados, the PM or the Cabinet.”

@ Pacha, thanks for your comments. Surely the reality says otherwise in this respect. Mr Sinckler’s post is at the sufferance of the PM. Alack of confidence there should lead to one result only.

21. @ Jeff who wrote, “This was an emergency application last Sunday night before a single judge.”

So could a person “with connections” get his lawyer to wake up a judge in the middle of the night ?

22. Hants isn’t there always a rota with a Judge “on call”?

23. @enuff

Apparently Randell J was rostered last week.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/02/19/marshall-calls-rift-between-sinckler-and-worrell-scandalous/

That’s exactly what the Worrell v. Sinckler saga is….a scandal…it dpes not benefit the country one way or the other…regardless of the turns it takes..this is Worrell trying to keep his cushy job ad the government wanting him gone despite his 2 year contract still being in force. ..no more, no less….and that is despite Marshall being a drama queen about it…lol

Marshall calls rift between Sinckler and Worrell scandalous
    Added by Desmond Brown on February 19, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    Former attorney general Dale Marshall is describing as “scandalous” the ongoing dispute between the Minister of Finance, Chris Sinckler, and the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Dr Delisle Worrell.

Speaking Saturday at a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) press briefing, Marshall also described the on-going situation as a tragedy.

“The future of our economy is now to be determined not by fiscal planners, not by economists, but by three judges in the Court of Appeal whose forte happens to be law – now that’s a tragedy,” Marshall said.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I dont think a writ of habeas corpus was designed specifically for special people, a writ can be filed for anyone…I dont see what was so urgent about Worrell’s filing, he was not about to die, he was not being imprisoned, he was not detained and needed to be released. .., what was the emergency. ..it’s obvious he only did it because he could, just like everyone who has those issues now should…..should Worrell lose the appeal…then what.

26. My understanding, at least in England and Wales, an emergency application can be made to the duty judge, either in chambers or at his/her home for an temporary injunction. This is just a holding operation, followed by a full hearing. In this case it appears as if the judge has extended the temporary injunction.

27. No Hal, in fact the temporary or interlocutory injunction was vacated on Friday. The new injunction is for the purpose of allowing time to prepare the appeal to the CA.

@Hants, Enuff answered your question. No “connections”. The law is always available to the citizen in emergencies.

28. @ Mr. Cumberbatch

Surely you jest!! when in reply to Pachamama’s comment you said

“…Surely the reality says otherwise in this respect. Mr Sinckler’s post is at the sufferance of the PM. A lack of confidence there should lead to one result only…”

As a man who uses words with the fluency of the real Shakespeare most assuredly you employed the verb should in its context of “…used to indicate what is probable…” and not in the context of “…used to indicate obligation, duty, or correctness, typically when criticizing someone’s actions…”

Though, now that the ole man, illiterati dat I am, looks at it closely, both are correct and you have chosen that word with subtle correctness and nuanced appropriateness.

29. millertheanunnaki February 19, 2017 at 10:42 AM #

You many Bimmers keep under-estimating the Captain of the Ship MV BIM,at your peril.

This situation is tailor made for an excuse to run to the IMF,take a 12 month dose of bitter gall during which time many projects will come on stream,at the end money will start circulating again,employment high just in time for elections which he intends to win……..its a big gamble but he is a political gambler…..against the odds he came back from political death and has won a govt facing off a supposed great as well as quelling all disquite in the ranks.

30. Sorry Jeff.
    I am just going by second and third hand information. As a non-lawyer my impression is that the temporary injunction was simply to maintain the status quo until a determined date at which a full hearing would be held and the reasons for the application explored. The continuing hearing in chambers is the one I cannot get my head round. Why is this?
    But this appears to be a strange application. If the governor is on a contract with two years to go, his application can only be to compel the minister/government to fulfil their side of the contract. That is not in dispute.
    The government can get round this by paying him monthly on condition that he does not take another job. If he does he breaches the contract.
    However, the courts cannot compel the government to keep him in place for a further two years. That will be against the public interest.
    As I have said, this is pure theatre, drama, a diversion. If the minister/government wants the governor to go, he has to go.
    What is being discussed is the dignity in which he goes. He can be marched out by security or be allowed to say goodbye to his former colleagues.

31. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@PUDRYR-INRI:

“Though, now that the ole man, illiterati dat I am, looks at it closely, both are correct and you have chosen that word with subtle correctness and nuanced appropriateness.”

You are far too humble, Sir. I would never presume to state what a Prime Minister’s obligation or duty is. I cam merely point out the options available to him any given circumstance.

32. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@Hal, the full hearing with arguments and submission from both sides took place on Friday. That took care of the temporary injunction. You are so right in the remainder of your post.

33. I agree with Hal that this is pure drama.
    However, it is always refreshing to read
    and follow Jeff on these matters. It shows
    that those intellectuals/ academics who
    hide behind the excuse that they would
    be victimized if they involve themselves
    In public discourse are cowards.

34. @Jeff

Not following your reply to Hal here. Are you saying that some kind of natural justice should not apply based on the Governor’s contract with the government? The MoF is not obligated to show cause for dismissal given damage to the Governor’s reputation capital as a result of the imbroglio?

35. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ David, Legally, no, no reason need be given unless the contract provides for it or unless the court is of the view that the Governor is covered by the ERA2012, a point I made in my column. In terms of the likely detrimental fallout for the Governor, this depends purely on the terms of his contract.

36. @Jeff

Implied is that the first injunction was vacated and second injunction invoked for a frivolous matter to be heard on appeal?

37. Jeff,

Am I right in assuming that the court has no right to consider the governor’s professional reputation unless there is a smear, in which case the libel laws are available to him.
    But presumed under-performance is a matter for his contract and his employers.
    We do not have a right to a job, whether we are on a contract for employment or one of employment ie on paye or self-employed.
    Our trade unionists need to be reminded of this. In the UK there are caveats: race, sex, disability or age discrimination, or sexual preference.
    And in all those cases tribunals rarely order employers to re-engage the victims. All they do is increase the level of the unlimited compensation.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes February 19, 2017 at 1:14 PM

You might just be right on the money with that ‘gambit’.
    The man from the East is one lucky son of a ‘nun’. From the time of the sickness and subsequent death of the former King this black knight has had more than his fair share of winnings thanks to Lady Luck.

As time is longer than twine even luck has her betting limits.

But he is about to be thrown from around the small-scale black jack table and kicked out of the small-fry casino itself.

He was playing against political poker novices like Mia, Baloney and the `Jerkman punter.
    Now he will up against the financial heavy rollers with their own-designed set of loan-shark terms and conditions and travelling with their own croupier and selected ‘medici’.

39. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Hal, yes you are correct, the impact of a dismissal on the employee’s reputation is not remediable in damages at common law unless the employer has so conducted its business in such a way as to damage the employee’s prospects of future employment- see BCCI v Malik and another {1997] ICR 106

“An employer might be liable in damages to an employee stigmatised by association with employers’ improper methods of conducting business, even though he had only learned of the misdeeds after the termination”.

40. Let us hope Gregory is taking notes although the missing chad99999 will disagree.

41. @ William Skinner

You are wrong, merely ‘drama’.

We are disappointed that a man of your political knowledge, skill, intuition

Could consider a hot war between the GOCB and his MOF to be ‘drama’

This is no less than a deep political-economy crisis. A crisis capable of triggering world-ending scenarios for Barbados.

And you join with a Brassbowl tuh talk Shiite!

The role of the political dunce does not suit use at all.

The idiot in England with whom you find agreement must know that when these circumstances present in Westminster it is seen as a political earthquake, possibly leading to the end of a government, new general elections, lack of confidence by the financial markets.

We cannot accept that it is your best judgement that ‘drama’ could be descriptive of these events.

42. @ Well Well and Consequences

You see your post of 12.23 p.m. ???

This is why the ole man saying vote all the DLP & BLP effers out

AND VOTE FOR JEFF CUMBERBATCH and men and women like he…

You see how dem believe that after 8 years of the DLP shyte dat we Bajans ent got no REMEMBRANCE?

Well here is a ting dat going give we bajans REMEMBRANCE

http://imgur.com/YLJAX7f

43. Have to agree given the state of play in Barbados an eruption of this magnitude between the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados and the MOF read government is significant on many fronts.

44. William,

We must not allow savagery and aggression to hide ignorance. The only serious outcome of this is a run on the stock exchange. But the Barbados stock exchange is of very little importance. T|he matter is a bit of entertainment for bored Bajans.
    The reality is that the row between the finance minister and the governor of the central bank is amplified because they are big fish in a little bowl.
    The point is that the governor must go; the only question is how and when. Events in Barbados would not cause a global earthquake if a real earthquake hits the island.
    Who cares about Barbados apart from Barbadians – and mental cases stalking online forums?

45. h David,

Plse!!

46. @ Piece
    If you are talking about the Dodds contract…. was there not another bid from a local consortium in association with a British Building contractor whose business was building prisons…? A bid that was LOWER?

How they could expect to compete with VECO …who never built a prison before was beyond Bushie… not when VECO was well known (and subsequently convicted) for paying bribes…

47. Indeed, the situation is so serious that we would suggest the intervention of the GG, because the PM seems to lack a certain testicular fortitude.

His mandate would be to de-escalate tensions, remove the complaint from the court system, suggest the resignation of the MOF, send the GOCB on pre-retirement leave, adequately reward the warring parties.

Until the country can go toward elections.

We must also think about saving our country from idiots in power, anywhere in the system.

48. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ David, Pachamama, one category of drama is Tragedy!

49. @Hal

Given the precarious state of the Barbados economy. Given the role of the Central Bank Governor to provide good advice to government. Given the benefit of blowing confidence into a private sector suffering from fatigue and so on. What is playing out between the Governor and the MoF is important. All this going down on the eve of a general election and less than 10 weeks of forex cover. How do you anticipate this will impact FDI flows for example?

50. Perspective David.

To a man living in England for the last forty years …what could possibly be important about Barbados?
    The ONLY reason Hal comes on BU is because he had the expectation that all those here would have been intimidated by his name and his exploits in the mother country, and would have sat humbly at his feet soaking up his albino centric knowledge.

Pacha is not playing the game it seems…..