Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

My Constitutional Law lecturer at university, the late Professor Ralph Carnegie, was of the view that the Constitution, with a capitalized โ€œCโ€, and signifying the written document was but a part of the constitution (small โ€œcโ€) of a jurisdiction; this latter signifying the panoply of practices and conventions constituting the rules of governance. I think that it was Ralph too, as I later reluctantly came to know him, who disabused us of the populist notion that Parliament could do anything except make a man a woman. In his view, so long as it was not constrained by Constitutional regulation, it had the power to declare that in law a man was a woman. And since the definition of a man and a woman is a legal precept for most purposes, including that of capacity to contract a marriage at common law, condign drafting might easily achieve this objective.

I trust that I have not bored my readers as yet, but I recalled both of these statements on Tuesday last when the United Kingdom Supreme Court, in an 8 to 3 decision, upheld the earlier judgment of the Divisional Court of England and Wales that the Executive, acting through the Secretary of State, did not have the constitutional power to give the necessary Notice of Intention to withdraw from the European Union under Article 50 of the Treaty without the prior authorization of Parliament.

This decision reaffirms the supremacy of Parliament over the Executiveโ€ฆ, as it should be. We in the region have come to accept a contrary ordering, especially where, out of either constraint or gratitude, there exists some Cabinets that can easily outvote opposing voices in Parliament even though the Constitution expressly provides, at section 64(2) in our case, that โ€œThe Cabinet shall be the principal instrument of policy and shall be charged with the general direction and control of the government of Barbados and shall be collectively responsible therefor to Parliament โ€œ. [Emphasis added].

It also reinforces the first Carnegian thesis by showing clearly that it is possible for there to be a constitution (which was the basis of the decision) without there being a Constitution (which the UK assuredly does not have).

The enhanced numerical composition of the Court heralded the constitutional significance of the decision, although the notion of an enlarged panel in British jurisprudence is not peculiar to constitutional issues. Indeed, only this week, I lectured on the decision in Murphy v Brentwood District Council where the then highest court in England, the House of Lords, transformed itself into a seven-member court (up from the usual five) to deliver its judgment on the existence of a duty of care in negligence.

The decision itself is understandable, although it might be considered that parliament had already devolved its supreme authority to the people in the โ€œBrexitโ€ referendum. The notion that parliamentarians are mere representatives of the popular will divided by constituency would tend to suggest some exegesis of vox populi, vox curiae.

However, the decision turned on the much more arcane point that section 2 of the European Communities Act, the statute that gives effect to the UKโ€™s obligations under the EU Treaty, created a process whereby EU law became an overarching part of UK law. So long as it remained in force, it operated as a transfer of legislative power by the subordinate UK parliament to the EU law making bodies and thus could be annulled by Parliament only.

Nor did the provision that EU law would apply only in the absence of withdrawal confer a power on the Executive to withdraw from the Treaties, given that any such withdrawal would effect a change in UK domestic law and since their Lordships perceived a vital distinction between variations in UK law resulting from changes in EU law and those arising as a consequence of withdrawal from the EU. To their minds, this initiative would have the inevitable consequence of removing one source of UK law, a fundamental change that constitutionally required Parliamentary assent. Too besides, withdrawal would remove some of the currently existing rights of UK citizens under EU law, a phenomenon that is not permitted without parliamentary approval.

The majority also dealt with the rather nice argument that the existence of the Ministersโ€™ accountability to Parliament, referred to in its Barbadian formulation above, allowed Parliament to play a sufficiently substantial role in the affair. According to the majority, โ€œIt was also suggested that it should not cause surprise if ministers could exercise prerogative powers to withdraw from the EU Treaties, as they would be accountable to Parliament for their actions. This seems to us to be a potentially controversial argument constitutionally. It would justify all sorts of powers being accorded to the executive, on the basis that ministers could always be called to account for their exercise of any power. There is a substantial difference between (i) ministers having a freely exercisable power to do something whose exercise may have to be subsequently explained to Parliament and (ii) ministers having no power to do that thing unless it is first accorded to them by Parliamentโ€.

My preliminary view of the matter was that the purported withdrawal could not itself remove existing law in the UK, already a fait accompli, even though it would do so eventually. Some reasoning akin to this appears to have found favour with one of the dissentients, Lord Carnwath. In his opinion;

โ€œService of an article 50(2) notice will not, and does not purport to, change any laws or affect any rights. It is merely the start of an essentially political process of negotiation and decision-making within the framework of that article. True it is that it is intended to lead in due course to the removal of EU law as a source of rights and obligations in domestic law. That process will be conducted by the Executive, but it will be accountable to Parliament for the course of those negotiations and the contents of any resulting agreement. Furthermore, whatever the shape of the ultimate agreement, or even in default of agreement, there is no suggestion by the Secretary of State that the process can be completed without primary legislation in some form.

The highest court in the UK has now ruled on the matter. Not everyone will agree with it, but it is, nevertheless, the correct one. Which serves to bring to mind another Carnegian bon mot, โ€œ The decision of the highest court is not right because of superior reasoning, it is right because there can be no appeal from it.โ€

104 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Supremacy of Parliament”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

I look forward to reading anything written over the name, Jeff Cumberbatch. Sometimes it might be over my head but I am never bored.

You alluded to the situation that currently exists in this country, where the Executive outnumber the other members of the House. I feel that it makes a mockery of our parliamentary system, and I believe that Constitution (big c) should restrict the size of the Cabinet to no more than one-third of the members of the House. What are your views.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92959/ccj-quickly-settles

It’s useless having an executive branch of government that for decades can do nothing to speed up or makes changes using the constitution to the judicial process to benefit it’s citizens, that makes them useless and ineffective.

Even the CCJ is beyond fedup of Barbados’ court system, so in reality there is really nothing at all to boast about in Barbados as long as there is no competent, efficient judiciary.

3. @ Jeff
    Kudos to you !!!
    It takes a man to admit that he was wrong… (and that Bushie was again right?) ๐Ÿ™‚

@ Caswell
    The Barbados arrangement is a de facto dictatorship, plain and simple.
    Either we get a decent, honest, intelligent Prime Minister …. or our asses looking for grass….

So if you are unprepared to BUP, and to put in place an arrangement where the PM is really a CEO, under the direct governance of a National Supervisory Committee, then any kind of changes to the current constitution can be nullified – in a country of brass bowls, a dead judiciary, and easily bribed officials.

You should note that in the Credit Unions (with the same brass bowls, dead judiciary and easily bribed officials) the problems are MUCH MORE EASILY addressed…. and the scamps sent packing…

4. Well, your thinking on this matter seems reasonable, as far as the law goes.

And that is the problem. For law alone does not go far enough

It cannot and does not answer questions like, who makes up the Parliament?

How do members get there?

What are the factors driving their decision making?

To what extent are they representative of the citizens?

What are the possibilities that this parliament’s thinking might be inconsistent, with the people, future parliaments, even past parliaments.

Are there any groups of citizens with the ability to bias the thinking of parliament?

In sum, law alone cannot, of and by itself, speak to these issues.

Lastly, you did not consider the possible contrarian role of the House of Lords.

Given those limitations we then should expect all the answers from the operations of law

5. should NOT

6. Jeff,
    Thanks for supporting the view of the supremacy of parliament versus the executive. Two other small points: parliament can indeed decide who is male and female. It is illegal to discriminate against transgender people.
    Second there is only one type of ‘referendum’ that has legal weight in UK law, it is called a general election.
    The Referendum we had on June 23, in which I did not vote, was simply advisory. It was not, and could not be binding.
    You mentioned Prof Carnegie. I have said here before, one of my law lecturers at university once told the class that if you wanted to know the ignorance of the media (read people on blogs) just read what they say about something you know about.
    For those getting their information from CNN, they know squat about British constitutional arrangements.
    Parliament is supreme, that is why we are a parliamentary democracy. Referenda are unBritish; they are foreign and should return to whence they came. This is the confusion David Cameron has left us with, idiot.

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Yes, Bushie, you were right! Good, now if you will let me have the winning numbers for the next Mega Six draw, I should be grateful. LOL.

@Caswell, I agree with your proposal for Constitutional change.. And perhaps while we are at it, we ought to make a real distinction between Parliament and the Cabinet. Then policy would be subjected to independent scrutiny and debate. Much like with Bushie’s supervisory committee.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Unbritish = reality and not criminal and fantasy.

9. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

@@Why must you look moves our MINDS of what is in our face in Barbados, We know lawyers are spies, agents for the Crown.

@@Caswell the same thing cross my mind we got to “C”,

Building without Clear Title, telling lies, tricks of the DBLP,

I dont call your name as you dont call mine and or CUP/CoUP We see it in what you post or write,, But People can see you well.
    If your name was in Violet Beckles papers I sure would. But for you to be a lawyer you do not serve the people well on this Blog, “complicit ”
    UWI and Sir Beckles really need to know about the C the small “c”in Beccles “white”and not Beckles”black” Who the National Trust wrote in their Books John Beckles died in 1823 ,, that own the Bay Plantation?
    My records show John Beccles was Governor 1834, 1835,1836 with 2 small “cc”and not”ck”.

The deed reads John Beckles who died in 1957 age 74 sold to Beatrice Henry in the 1930s and never a man that became governor after he died, nor sold land 100 years after he died.

I was told the John Beccles Lies are running the radio in Barbados, Remember We holding the truth and facts for the World to see and know but first Bajans,

We hold Clear title for more than 90 years and not 70 where the law holds, We are not dealing with 166 pages ACT of Fraud of good title of 20 years, which does not apply to this case,

10. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

It cannot and does not answer questions like, who makes up the Parliament?

How do members get there?

@Pachamama, contrary to your thinking, these are exclusively legal questions. Try answering them in the local context.

11. It never ceases to amaze me that there are so many lawyers who think that they have some special body of knowledge, and some special cognitive skills, sometimes called legal reasoning ability, that non-lawyers do not have. They believe that they get this knowledge, and these special reasoning abilities during a relatively short three-year experience in law school.

The reality is that in many universities you get a better understanding of constitutional arrangements from the political science professors than from the law faculty. And you get the “highest” (i.e., the most rigorous) habits of reasoning from the philosophy department.

So most lawyers, who have spent all of just three years at their law schools, should be a lot more modest about what they know, and how well they can think about “legal” issues.

12. Jeff,
    It is not rocket science. Individuals and those selected by the various parties put themselves forward to be members of parliament; the electorate is given a vote and the majority candidate is then elected as MP.
    However, no matter elected, they are not mandated by party or constituency. They are there in their own right.
    But pragmatism steps in: if they want to be r e-elected, then they must listen to their constituents; if they want to influence policy, and get a ministerial or Shadow position, they must work with the party Whips.
    But the 660 members of the UK parliament are there as individuals.
    The real issue is who are they people who put themselves forward, who have the confidence or arrogance to do so. Like Barbados, many of them are lawyers, many – almost all – are graduates, and a large number are Oxbridge graduates.
    Their conceit is that they believe, on the Labour side, they can best represent the workers who do not understand the fine points of politics.
    Their occupational backgrounds are just as interesting: NGOs, Spads or parliamentary assistants, think-tanks, journalism and university dons. Trade unionists have more or less been squeezed out on the Labour side and they all go for a few ethnics: Caribbean and Asian people on the Labour and Liberal sides, and West Africans and Asians on the Tory side. Tories now have one Tory. There is no science.

13. Jeff

We accept that you are the legal expert.

Where we differ, like with all other singular areas of academia, is that phenomena can hardly be properly explained from one viewpoint alone.

All we did was to ask a series of questions to show our thinking.

The first two were the introduction. And we understand the simple lodgings they may find in the law. There is no mystery there. We wanted to go beyond the obvious legal rules.

In their totality, to us, they represent issues that law alone fails to address.

14. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Pachamama: Your point is taken! I concede that the legal provision can never be the sole answer in all cases. In fact just now in the same Brexit judgment, who knows what economic, social and philosophical influences might have played a role in the minds of their Lordships in reaching their decision?

15. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Hal, I agree with your analysis for the House of Commons. Try applying it to the local context, however, and there is no semblance of similarity, especially as it pertains to the individual conscience. Here it is “my party or nothing!”.

16. @ Jeff
    Bushie would be happy to share the winning numbers, …but won’t …for a number of reasons…

1 – Too many others would see them and share your winnings (the square bracket thing only seems to work on Pieceurderock’s cuntputer)….

2 – You are pretty well off from all indications, (Bushie has his sources…) so there is no need to throw water into the sea….

3 – Having a lotta money is not all that it is cut out to be… and can actually be a major problem – unless, of course, you have a whacker…
    For example – if we make you a multi-millionaire, then the FIRST thing you will do – is stop writing these columns, …because you will be too busy spending the blenders….

No dice skippa….We need you….

17. Jeff,
    That is hypothetical. The judgement was based on the law of a parliamentary democracy. All else is academic. Maybe some had breakfasts that morning while others went jogging.
    The Supreme Court simply confirmed, as if they needed to, that constitutional authority has passed from the Royals and Church to parliament. That is what Cromwell fought for.
    The real interesting bit in that Supreme Court hearing, that CNN and websites could not convey, were the nuances: Lord Pannick, rightly recognised as the brightest lawyer at the bar for a generation, versus Lord Sumption, the brightest of the previous generation, with Lady Hales being the feisty independent-minded feminist.
    Lord Carnwath intervened on a number of occasions, but he was not in that league. While the others were playing in the Premiership, Carnwath was in the Championship.
    This is the deception of the internet: it can provide information, but not knowledge. The commentary by the legal experts was as interesting as the case.
    As soon as Pannick started his presentation Sumption intervened, and that continued. I suggest, Jeff, you should get the video to show to students then follow with a discussion. Transcripts would not do.
    All the London universities are having public debates on the outcome.
    Plse allow me to say this is what exposes the frauds who pretend in this forum they know what they are talking about.

18. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

I think the decision is more procedual than substance. I have little patience for legal lettering.

19. Jeff,
    The problem with Barbadian politics is the electorate falling for the corned beef and biscuits. My mother ran a rum shop in the Ivy and I can remember people like George Ferguson coming in and spending lots of money on rum and corned beef and biscuits. I knew then that there was no morality in Bajan politics.
    There is also a lack of personal integrity, most candidates are opportunists. As they say, you get what you pay for.
    In St John, we have now gone back to the old Rotten boroughs, with seats passing from husband to wife.
    Even now, people who can hardly feed themselves, are some of the biggest party supporters. You just could not make it up.

20. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Bushie, you are on the ball today (though not your sources) and writing is too much fun for money to prevent me doing so. But you are so right that “Having a lotta money is not all that it is cut out to beโ€ฆ and can actually be a major problem โ€“ unless, of course, you have a whackerโ€ฆ” At least, so I have heard…lol!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

21. “…..if you wanted to know the ignorance of the media (read people on blogs) just read what they say about something you know about.”

Amen.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch:
    โ€œThis decision reaffirms the supremacy of Parliament over the Executiveโ€ฆ, as it should be. We in the region have come to accept a contrary ordering, especially where, out of either constraint or gratitude, there exists some Cabinets that can easily outvote opposing voices in Parliament even though the Constitution expressly provides, at section 64(2) in our case, that โ€œThe Cabinet shall be the principal instrument of policy and shall be charged with the general direction and control of the government of Barbados and shall be collectively responsible therefor to Parliament โ€œ. [Emphasis added].โ€

From your ’emphasis’ it can be gleaned you are agreeing that the Executive (in this case Cabinet) must adhere to the provisions laid out in any piece of legislation or Act passed by Parliament and carrying the royal assent of ‘Her’ Majesty or her representative (for the time being).

A colleague of yours once argued that โ€˜Moralityโ€™ is the highest law of the land. Maybe thatโ€™s why members of Parliament are conscientiously referred to as โ€˜honourableโ€™.

We are just hoping you have your letter of resignation already written; just to be dated and signed.

23. @ enuff
    What ‘amen’ what??!!
    Suppose what you ‘know’ of the thing that you ‘know’ about, is as flawed as what you thought that you ‘knew’ about CARICOM?

Most people don’t know squat…
    don’t mind Hal yuh, ….He knows not that he knows not…

24. Hey Jeff
    Is โ€œDavidโ€ using an old photo to illustrate your column? I just visited the FairTrading Commission website and the profile here bears faint resemblance to the individual with the salt and pepper beard on the Commission website.

Is that some lawyerly sleight of hand that accounts for Chadโ€™s unrelenting criticism? On the other hand it might be prudent for some sort of disguise yuh never know if the FTC will make a decision that angers a few people.

25. @ Sargeant

“Lawyerly sleight?” or “lawyerly slight?”

You like you also know who Chad of the 9 fives is.

Jeff has said previously “I know not the man” but I come come to understand that “know” has 3 connotations, one of which WILL NOT be pertinent to Jeff, the second being “to have knowledge of” and the third, when taken in conjunction with the word “not” can also mean that he does know the man but does not know what he is capable of, based on previous encounters.

What surprises me is that Chad of the 5 nines came to this assembly but Nine of Nines has not come.

Now, Sargeant, you are a military man so you can comprehend this better than most.

Chad 99999 is purported to be the nemesis of Jeff and the latter’s posits (he and ammm that Ms. Cole lady who seems to have dropped off the radar? heheheheheheh)

But Nine of Nines recently commented on this subject and it seems most strange that 9 of 9’s is not here to lend support or to disprove what has been posited by Mr. Cumberbatch.

By the way, a few of you may note that this is the closest to a clear political statement that Mr. Cumberbatch is saying heheheheheheheeh

Dat is why I like he bad bad cause whereas de ole man going come and cuss and swear and violate de sanctity of this day, Jeff going say his Piece? heheheheheh and lef we ole menses tuh try to make sense out of what he is saying, a process which is lost pun de ole man.

26. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Jeff

The decision of the Supreme Court is the correct one simply because there is no court above it to which one may appeal. Does correct now mean final in the law? Now it is pellucidly clear why the Law is an ass. But that is the rule of engagement in human society if not we will all live in chaos.

27. @Bernard

Definitely clear ๐Ÿ™‚

The decision of the Supreme Court is the correct one simply because there is no court above it to which one may appeal. Does correct now mean final in the law? Now it is pellucidly clear why the Law is an ass. But that is the rule of engagement in human society if not we will all live in chaos.

28. Caswell
    I have said before that this present government is laden with the biggest number of ministers and parliamentary secretaries in the history of Barbados and this is the first area that should come under the “cutting expenditure” hammer.Further I agree wholeheartedly that cabinet should be no more than 10% of the number of seats of parliament,although I firmly believe we don’t need more that 8 ministers.This lot has nothing to show for the money they get.I hope the 40% come out this time around and help vote their backsides out of existence.

29. All sensible people agree that the governance system is not working as originally designed. Why appoint Esther Byer, Patrick Todd et al as minister and parliamentary secretary for example? It is all about cronyism and pandering to the paramountcy of the political party. To hell with national priorities.

30. David

Would it not be better to see such persons as willing victims of the system, as well?

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Gabriel

I have said before and you should realise that Thompson and Stuart had to fill their Cabinets with these duds because most of them were unemployed, underemployed or otherwise unemployable. They were therefore given jobs in the Cabinet so as to give them a salary and not for them to do any useful work. So far have you seen any semblance of useful work coming from any of them? They don’t even understand how to operate as a cabinet and that is why they are always trying to get one up on each other, (Inniss has perfected that) or opposing each other publicly.

32. @Pacha

Our system has deteriorated to the level where the it is never about serving the people. It is more about the representatives growing financial security. The ignorant public will get the people they deserve. A crash curse in civics needed maybe? The ignorance is so inbreed it is hard to fathom how we will be able to disrupt the establishment.

33. David,
    You say a crash course. But there is nothing to stop informed people from holding free classes/seminars/meetings locally in schools, halls, etc. School buildings are empty from Friday evenings to Monday mornings. Use that time.
    When I first came to Britain, during the 1960s student movement, that was the form of public education, agit prop.
    Every weekend university students, trade unionists, etc would organise discussion groups.
    It was out of this movement that Richard Branson started his Student magazine, then moved on to Virgin records, then Virgin Airlines. The rest is history.
    One value of this kind of public education is that you integrate the formal and informal modes of education.
    I came to Herbert Marcuse through the student movement, then went on to read about him and the Frankfurt School, and by following the members of the School became interested in other aspects of their knowledge. It bred in me a dislike of empiricism and the Enlightenment.
    An example of this that Bajans might appreciate is legal education: you start with law, then become interested in the sociology of law, then the philosophy of law (jurisprudence), etc.
    Or in art: the politics and sociology of art are totally different to being an artist or sculptor. One is theory the other is practice.
    People must get out, educate the public, and not hide behind their curtains drinking cheap rum and eating fish cakes.
    This is why we ought to appreciate people like Jeff Cumberbatch more.

34. Interesting comments by Americans protesting in the USA against Trump’s immigration executive order. Some have reportedly commented on behalf of ‘refugees’ who expressed fear about doing so publicly. All of this is playing out in the land of the free read the greatest democracy on earth @carl more.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chadster…it’s the lawyers in the US will take Trump down, they have the skills, the problem with too many lawyers in Barbados, they do not use their skills and training for the right reasons…..but for all the wrong reasons against the wrong people.

36. Five judges, four of them women, have issued orders temporarily staying or suspending enforcement of the travel ban issued by President Trump.

Trump will prevail because a president has broad discretion to exclude aliens from the United States. So the feminists and the lawyers will make a lot of noise and waste scarce resources before they are run over.

The White House has issued a statement pointing out that less than 1% of travelers to the United States are directly affected by the travel ban. None of these people are US citizens.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chadster…it will kill yiu to see how it will eventually play out, no one listens to the lies from the white house, only mentally ill people support other mently ill people.

38. @Chad
    Five judges, four of them women, have issued orders temporarily staying or suspending enforcement of the travel ban issued by President Trump
    ++++++++
    Trust you to bring up the gender issue but we know you love white women, youโ€™ve told us a couple of times that you dated white women so whatโ€™s the big deal? Are women incapable of delivering sound legal judgements?

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/WslN308tfGD

Tough Ms Universe Competition, 9 very beautiful and talented girls.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

You lot let Jeff C off easy
    B’dosToday Jan 27 2017….”โ€œBNTCL is a storage facility and therefore I think that once the FTC sorts itself out and comes to its own conclusions, we should be able to see a clear way forward. I am optimistic that we will get this out of the way,โ€ the Prime Minister said.”

Instead of talking about Big C’s or little c’s, what about big P’s and little p’s, namely the PM and pressure.

Once the FTC sorts itself out…..Hmmm. “WE” should be able to see.

Bushie check your storage, looks like the PM stole your whacker, and is using it on the FTC?

41. Wild Coot’s article is preferred reading today. It repeats the point we have been making. Will the projects expected to generate foreign exchange be mobilized in a time manner AND how much of the foreign exchange will make it to the Barbados Treasury.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92991/wild-coot-questions-answered

42. David,
    Wild Coot is spot on. But it goes further. The workers that China brings to the Caribbean are people out of jail, as the Grenadians discovered in 2007, when Chinese gifted the nation the new cricket stadium. Have you ever seen Chinese unemployment figures.
    Then there is the question of quality control. Who is going to check the quality of work? Even if Barbados appoints quality control engineers the Chinese will just ignore them. They will retreat in to their language behind a shield of ignorance.
    Then there is the clause in any Chinese agreement that the workers – all men – must stay on and live in the country benefiting from their largesse. The Chinese govt will also give them settling money to establish small businesses.
    There is a demographic problem pending, mixed race Chinese. After 50 years of constitutional independence this lot have delivered us in to neo-colonialism.
    Some progess.

43. @ Hall
    Well said!
    This is what ‘parro’ children do to formerly respectable families…

44. Bushie
    Ain’t yours flawed too? I sticking to my position-people talk a lot of nonsense about things they don’t understand, including Hal and me sometimes. #sueme

45. LOL @ Enuff
    …Bushie too …
    #whatsuewhat?!!

46. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Sarge,

Yes. the photo is an old one. There is indeed now salt and pepper in my beard and on my head. It is not David’s choice however. This is the photo that I have been using for the last few years. I do need and intend to get a more recent one done.

@ Northern Observer,

I can assure you that I am under no pressure as Chairman of the FTC, not from the PM, the public or partisan politicians. The decision as to whether a transaction impacts negatively on fair competition is a legal and not a political one. Much like the recent Brexit judgment I have written on above.

47. By the way

We are always hesitant to accept that anything/anyone is ‘supreme’, has ‘supremacy’

Except the Great Ancestral Ones, of course.

Maybe our dislike for the language that is english.

48. Just read a headline in the Nation (web version)

โ€œSchools among ten best in worldโ€

This was gleaned from a speech by the Min of Education to the graduating Class at Erdiston Teachers Training College and makes for another entry into the โ€œLies, damn Lies and Statisticโ€ file. If the schools are so good at providing a sound education that equips them for the essentials of success what happens after those students journey beyond the confines of those walls? Do they go on to excel at University? Do they have the movers and shakers from Silicon Valley beating a path to their doors? Do they invent anything? Are they innovators or are they successful entrepreneurs? Are they among the top ten in the medical profession in the world? Are they providing a blue print that will lead to a more prosperous Barbados?

Pity that among the โ€œten best in the worldโ€ doesnโ€™t correlate to anything except political bombast signifying nothing.