The GROTTO high rise project
The controversial GROTTO high rise project

The truth about the GROTTO Housing project and the decision to declare a dividend from the Housing Credit Fund (HCF) by the Central Bank of Barbados (Government) to pay Mark Maloney of PRECONCO is finally coming to light. The BU household has relentlessly pursued this matter and it gives us no satisfaction to be proved right. Should it make sense why the Minister of Finance plans to terminate and transfer the HCF to the Consolidated Fund?

What the revelation has confirmed is that we have a government willing to flout the financial rules to appease their friends and to fill their pockets. We have a government committed to continue the practice of its predecessor to ignore the observations of the Auditor General. Lastly what it confirms is that members of the political class are loyal to the clan.

Thank you from BU to the BU family member who shared the document.

See the opinion letter issued by the Solicitor General’s Office.

140 responses to “The GROTTO: Solicitor General ‘Opinion’ Deems Dividend Payment from Housing Credit Fund Illegal”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gotta be careful how we throw out ideas on the blog, it is monitored fir ideas by the crooks, Bizzy, Maloney, Bjerkham et al, when I posted a couple months ago that concrete should be used in the mix for paving roads it was intended for the ministry of public works to use that method to pave the roads so they would last longer as has been done in North America for decades, something Maloney , Cow et al were clueless about…

…… it was not intended fpr Mark Maloney to take it upon himself and use my suggestion to write a letter to the ministry like it’s his idea or suggestion and get the dummies in this government or the next to pick up taxpayer’s dollars by the millions, so he could do as he likes with money he did not earn and use an idea that is npt his to get wealthy from taxpayer’s money.

The minorities are bottomfeeders living off other people’s ideas….and taxpayer’s money because of 2 stupid governments, that is how they got wealthy.

I hope Mark Maloney knows I will be reminding him of his scam incessantly going forward.

2. WW&C
    Mark Maloney ain’t really nuffin about you doh, he living in the $15MILLION dollar Easy Hall Plantation.

3. Like Wily Coyote I too could be proven WRONG, but from 2008 the DLP has used deception to mastermind the sale of our little democratic Barbados

4. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Gear4 January 22, 2017 at 7:56 PM #

WW&C
    Mark Maloney ainโ€™t really nuffin about you doh, he living in the $15MILLION dollar Easy Hall Plantation.@@

Gear4 @ What Mark Maloney may? Have to worry about is a ” Clear Title ” Deed,
    Many of the Plantation homes in Barbados were Sold to Whites or insured by CLICO and set a fire to collect the peoples money, This is how they Divest Clico policy Holders as they did with Sam Lords set up fire as seen a few in Barbados Already,

We have to watch the FIRE SALES in Barbados when they are run out the country ,

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gear4….I ain’t realy neffin about Mark Maloney either, but I dont have to steal anyone’s ideas or taxpayer’s money…I am quite contented and happy….it says a lot with all of that, Maloney still has to run scams using government ministers to steal from taxpayers to hand over mobey to him..

I posted the information about concreting the roads to be used by the ministry of public works, not for Maloney to use to steal millions from bajan taxpayers….a 15 million dollar plantation aint enough for him, he still gotta continue stealing from poor black people….using an idea from the blogs……he is a thief.

The worst thing he could have done was pick up my suggestion and try to make millions off it……through theft.

6. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

nineofnine January 22, 2017 at 7:40 PM #

@ millertheanunnaki January 22, 2017 at 5:55 PM #

โ€ฆ.โ€If he is all for productivity then let him call on his boss to make a decision regarding the Hyatt Erectionโ€โ€ฆ..

Will Hyatt sit on lands formally known as BAY PLANTATION?

Is there a pending judicial case on the subject matter? (subject to correction)
    @@@@
    @@@@

nineofnine@@@ If there is any big Boss it would be the owners of Bay Plantation Which We claimed and hold ‘Clear title”
    It says if you build on someone land without their permission and its wall it now belongs to the land owner, We hope that Hyatt people do their homework , We looking at the deed as i type.We dont mind living in the penthouse on top of the Hyatt, But the People of Barbados needs a Beach for self, and not make room for more and more none Bajans,

nineofnine @ it seem that you and most Bajans never learned about the land you live on and grew up on. Its not in the History books in school,I never learned about Our History by way of land until 2003-2004 till now and still learning, So We not mad at you and all else,

The Bay Plantation will be the Bay Plantation till the one True God comes,No such thing as Former at all , All of Barbados are still Plantations every inch, We are growing many different things including ignorance, drug dealers, pimps, hookers, and a few niggers minded people,

This is what the DBLP hiding from the people but when people buy land the right way it say Plantation and the name, The information is at our finger tips, We are looking to restore every Plantation name removed from the history records,

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I am sure CGI Towers is worth more than 15 million and was it not sold a couple months ago to Scotia Bank, by another thief……greed always gets them in the end.

I dont believe that bottom feeder Mark Maloney picked up my suggestion to try to rob the treasury though, let’s see if the idiots in government let him run that scam for bribes, that is what the crooks troll the blogs for now, they are running out of ideas.

8. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Almost three years ago, Government sought a legal opinion on whether the Trustee of the HCF โ€“ the Central Bank โ€“ has the power under the Trust Deed – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92718/usd30m-dividend-grotto-illegal#sthash.4IC4suGx.dpuf@@@

Do anyone knows what a ‘Legal Opinion” cost in Barbados? By way of a lawyer
    And if that lawyer is a QC?

Well ask Richard Byer what he charges for a “Legal Opinon” Nothing but crooks added to the bill paid by the people of Barbados. What happened to the AG the do nothing ,and all the lawyers in Government?
    So many parts to Barbados and many will not admit we are dealing CROOKS on every level.

9. Maloney’s shipment of rock hard cement stored in less than ideal conditions, is now reaching ,or has reached, its , Sell-by Date, not that this matters in Barbados , and will no longer be fit for the construction of Buildings or bridges or any other structure requiring “fresh” cement.
    If he gets the go ahead to build concrete roads in Barbados, will he be reducing the quality of his cement to ‘junk status’ , and the cost of construction accordingly?

10. @ millertheanunnaki January 22, 2017 at 5:55 PM #

“While the liar is at it skyving on the job and โ€˜bad-mouthingโ€™ his stupid boss let him multitask and produce the results from his sworn commitment to restructure the SOEโ€™s he โ€˜diligentlyโ€™ promised to do in 18 months since December 2013. But what can one expect from a lying rat who canโ€™t tell the difference between 0.03 and 0.007?”
    ……………………………………………………….

miller,

We are going to have to put together a list of all the gaffs, lies, half truths on BU of this idiot Stinkliar very soon. This is just too much!

11. They gonna have to abandon this cement plan/scam they had, the lot of them. I mean it was a clever concept to get the bajan money converted to US$ and get it outside but how do you explain continuing to import cement while the previous shipment is unsold and Rock Hard?

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Just dont put any ideas on the blogs for Maloney and the other halfassed emptyheaded minorities to steal, then take to the dummy ministers in government to steal taxpayer’s money by the millions and put in their hands, let us watch them figure it all out without new ideas and taxpayer’s money..

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    So you know, the idea of a concrete wearing surface for roads was contemplated back when Spring Garden was in design in the 70’s.
    The concern is the concrete is laid within a grid of steel rebar, and said rebar will corrode and rust under certain environmental conditions. One being salt, which is prevalent due to the salt air (as opposed to de-icing salt). Today, with the protected rebar available (epoxy et al) it is likely less of a concern.
    However given that Bjorn B et al just opened a new asphalt facility at Black Bess, I doubt concrete roads will be considered. Concrete wearing surfaces also need proper equipment to be viable. (not currently in Bim) And can be very slippery when wet, but can be scarified to help this. They are easy to install over long reasonable flat areas, but hard in the undulating Bajan roads.

14. You are correct that the idea of building concrete roads was contemplated for many years. The other reason you did not mention is the unstructured way cable and pipes are laid underground. It makes it impracticable to use concrete except in virgin areas. COW publicly rubbished the idea a couple weeks ago.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Northern….Since the 70s, new technology has advanced the way concrete is used to bind ewth other products to keep the road surface firm…how is it none of them in the ministry kept up with the times to update themselves with technology and use it in the last 30 years, neither dud Cow or Rayside….

Maloney wspas nowhere around Barbados at that time and would have been too young even if he was, none of the minorities or ministers knew about the technology until I mentioned it and Maloney researched it.

As I said, the information I put out there was fpr the ministry of works to utilize and make the roads safer amd longer lasting, it was not for Maloney to use in one of his scams against bajans for government ministers to give him millions of taxpayer’s dollars, or to use his old expired cement to do more damage to the roads so he can collect more millions of taxpayer’s money.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92748/bntcl-sale-strategic

Say whatever yall want, Sinckler thinks differently, he is the great strategist.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Northern…….The 70s shouldn’t even be mentioned when no one tried to keep up with technology or tried to test and upgrade the way concrete is used themselves, they all waited until it was mentioned on BU and Maloney writes them a letter acting as if he invented it, why did he not write that letter to the ministry in the last 20 years, why did Cow not write that letter to the ministry in the last 40 years, they are are waiting to steal other people’s ideas and taxpayer’s money……….it’s shameful, useless people….all of them..

Maloney et al cannot get out of this one….anytime I catch the minority thieves stealing ideas or money from anyone, I will expose it.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Besides Northern, if the technology of cement on road surfaces still cannot be used, why is Maloney writing the ministry asking for permission….and of course taxpayer’s money…… to use it……if you think it cannot be used, which is not true. …it still equates to Maloney using a scam on the ministry to get free taxpayer’s contracts and money for something that cannot work….he is still a thief.

The thieves on the island would do well to see my suggestions on the blogs and leave them alone, any suggestions I put on here is for government ministries to utilize to the benefit ALL the people in Barbados….they are not for Mark Maloney and the usual well known minority gang of thieves to rip off taxpayers and enrich themselves using foolish, puppet government ministers.

I have made myself very clear, if it happens again, I will not hesitate to call out the thief or thieves in the most brutal fashion….in the future…I am not one of the foolish bajans who sit and take these things lightly in their usual victim mode…be warned.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ All

Contrary to what a few here might suggest regarding the efficacy of cement Road structures de ole man will point wunna to Reef Road de road connecting the Harbour Road to Fontabelle where the BTA HQ is.

That is a concrete Road that was laid in the 1970’s and which has withstood the test of time insofar as it has not gone through and of the predictions of doom that COW and the other experts have predicted

There is also Asphalt Hot Mix whose silica read glass, additive is able to preserve the longevity of roads notwithstanding the fact that extreme care has to be taken with the cancer producing silica content during manufacture and application

Basalt geogrids like they use in Grenada also have been able to extend the life of road surfaces and to repeat what Well Well and Consequences has said earlier, you would believe that got the years these MTV clowns have been around, they would have learnt about the new technologies and aggregates.

Doan mind COW, he ent too learner disposed or rather it is not in his interest to build a road to last for 50 years when he can use sub standard bitumen and have to redo the roads every 3years as part of inbuilt degradation or the hidden part of “We Move the World to Please” which is “our Roads brek up if you Sneeze” or “We pun successive governments like a Disease “

19. Thank you Piece.

20. @PUDRYR

To be fair to COW his comments were more targeted at using cement to patch asphalt roads. Note the St.Patricks roundabout is cement but there is structured cable/pipe.

21. @ David
    Fair to COW shiite…!!!
    COW should really keep his mouth shut.

This is DECADES now …that it was known that Barbados should be building roads out of concrete, maximising the use of local materials and building long-term service into the roads.

Shiite talk about underground services should be left for people like AC to talk about… all it takes is the establishment of a set of road construction standards to be enforced …that would have upgraded utility services along with proper roads, in an arrangement that allows for ongoing service.

COW was PURELY interested in an arrangement where he could rape the treasury every pre-election time in exchange for bribes to both political parties. Our roads are largely glorified cart roads, laid in natural water courses, with shitty drainage, uneven surfaces, and loose edges.

Those roads that were done in concrete has been a disaster to people like COW, since he has been unable to bleed any more money from the treasury for those roads since they were done.
    If all roads were concrete, he would not be able to go on BBC bragging about how rich he is…

If these albino shadows had not been bribing successive governments, we would have been able to invest those scarce resources on FURTHER development instead of giving him millions each year to do shiite…. and we would have good roads all now…

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…that even makes it more of a crying shame that using cement for road longevity was not continued, but patchwork and inadequate work, mediocre road work was done by all of them to keep the roads in constant disrepair to continue ripping off the taxpayers and fill all their pockets, it just reinforces what I said,.

That harbour road still looks good after decades, is still smooth despite decades of daily use and proves the con game with shoddy road repair government ministers and the road construction people have been playing on the people for decades to get access to their money.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Cow is a dried old crook and Barbados will be much better off when he stops haunting the earth, he is evil and greedy and will be going nowhere with the money he stole from taxpayers…..neither will the ministers of both political partes past and present who aided and abetted Cow and the gang of minority thieves to rip off the treasury each and every time..

24. Chuckle……whilst you all arguing about COWs substandard roads,bearing in mind that he has stated on many occasions that he builds to the specs given to him by the govt engineers,our govt is heading for its third election win.

BNTCL sale a strategic move
    THE FREUNDEL STUART ADMINISTRATION has outmanoeuvred its opponents once again, and will soon be able to focus solely on winning the next general election.Thatโ€™s…
    nationnews.com|By Nation News author
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/92748/bntcl-sale-strategic

25. @Bush Tea

We cannot get the BWA to coordinate with MTW on pipe laying projects. What construction standards what!?!

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Now Bjerkham is tryng to get his turn at ripping off the treasury for another 10 years or how long he and his company survives with this asphalt crap, the roads should be concreted going forward….all of them…fullstop, end of story.

Keep the minority thieves and their greedy hands out of the treasury.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & ConsequencesJanuary 23, 2017 at 5:17 AM
    โ€œSinckler brims with such confidence because of the US$100 million in foreign exchange Government is set to earn from the sale of the Barbados National Terminal Company Limited (BNTCL) to the Sir Kyffin Simpson-led Sol Groupโ€ฆโ€

What this man is saying is that the sale is a โ€˜done dealโ€™ with two fingers up the FTC.

What is this all about? Is the FTC just a toothless rubber stamp body with the โ€œFโ€ standing for Fear?

Why is this man so certain that the sale will be โ€˜approved by the FTC?
    We shall see how Jeffโ€™s reacts to this political fait accompli.

28. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Miller 10 :13 AM

Wuh loss. . Two fingers? What kind of Urologists is he? No wonder there is a high level of Homophobia.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller….ya mean no vaseline for our buddy Jeff….lol

30. David January 23, 2017 at 9:16 AM
    Add National Petroleum (Natural Gas )to that list. While the rest of Barbados is crying out about pot holes unlimited which are shaking vehicle to bits, the people in Sayers Court, Ch Ch, are shaking their heads in disbelief, over the many Natural Gas and BWA’s induced pot holes , trenches and bumps along that stretch of recently refurbished road. The contractor has done a bad job of reinstating the road where trenches were dug across the width of the road. They have replaced the trenches with bumps. Must be unsettling for residents trying to sleep at night.
    Added to that its about time that the Government of Barbados insists that the mainly Telephone Company, Flow ,C&W, whatever, spend some of that $Millon of profits and enter a programme to raise all of their sunken manholes all across the island to the level of the existing road surface. It is quite unfair to be paying high road taxes and still dropping into industrial potholes on our highways.

31. Quickly after Hitler came to power, he started,in 1933, the construction of the Autobahn in Germany using concrete. A section of the original Autobahn,built in 1936, is still very much in use , in the Berlin area.,

32. @Colonel

Nothing wrong with using concrete to build roads, the problem in Barbados is the underground services which crisscross the underground and the lack of cooperation by the owners of the services.

33. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Well Well & Consequences January 22, 2017 at 10:32 AM #
    From the time any government is elected, they see the taxpayers as their enemies and believe they can do whatever they likeโ€ฆ.to the people who elected them, the present ministers should not be allowed in parliament ever again, too weakminded, brainless and useless to their own people,

If we behave like sheep, we have no right to be treated as anything else.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frustrated….very true. I keep telling bajans that act they have of being docile, complacent sheep and yardfowls is the glue that is keeping them in the position they are in, they are accepting what is being done to them….silence is acceptance.

35. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

David January 23, 2017 at 1:43 PM #
    @Colonel

Nothing wrong with using concrete to build roads, the problem in Barbados is the underground services which crisscross the underground and the lack of cooperation by the owners of the services.

Concrete can only be used on roads that have been built with proper foundations that will not subside. Very few of our bi-ways qualify.

Tar never really hardens and subsides with our foundation-less tracks that became mule and donkey cart roads, that became motor vehicle roads, that were hand laid with stone picked from canefields over a century ago to move cane from fields to factories.

Concrete, Maloney’s or otherwise, is not our road surface solution. Neither is incompetent government.

There will be no economic or transportation recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Prime Minister Stuart declaring general election victory a year ahead of poll.”

A news blurb on Barbadostoday. ….yall can stay there and talk what you want, but Fruendel the Fiend says he has already won the election for next year.

Frustrated…ah guess ya got Fruendel for another 5 years.

It appears he will cast all 40 thousand votes needed for his government to win and there is nothing bajans can do about it…lol, hahaha, lol

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frustrated…I suspect ya missed this post, apparently Barbados already has concrete roads still operational today from the 70’s…..but Cow and successive government minister’s greed, bribery and corruption, kept the substantard road works alive for 30 years to rip of the treasury.

The technology for concrete roads are even better today than in the 70s.

“pieceuhderockyeahright January 23, 2017 at 6:57 AM #
    @ All

Contrary to what a few here might suggest regarding the efficacy of cement Road structures de ole man will point wunna to Reef Road de road connecting the Harbour Road to Fontabelle where the BTA HQ is.

That is a concrete Road that was laid in the 1970โ€™s and which has withstood the test of time insofar as it has not gone through and of the predictions of doom that COW and the other experts have predicted

There is also Asphalt Hot Mix whose silica read glass, additive is able to preserve the longevity of roads notwithstanding the fact that extreme care has to be taken with the cancer producing silica content during manufacture and application

Basalt geogrids like they use in Grenada also have been able to extend the life of road surfaces and to repeat what Well Well and Consequences has said earlier, you would believe that got the years these MTV clowns have been around, they would have learnt about the new technologies and aggregates.

Doan mind COW, he ent too learner disposed or rather it is not in his interest to build a road to last for 50 years when he can use sub standard bitumen and have to redo the roads every 3years as part of inbuilt degradation or the hidden part of โ€œWe Move the World to Pleaseโ€ which is โ€œour Roads brek up if you Sneezeโ€ or โ€œWe pun successive governments like a Disease โ€œ

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Didn’t COW own Ready Mix back in the day? He won regardless of the wearing surface used?

One cannot place concrete over an asphaltic wearing surface. The roads in Bim are so bad, and “falling away” that the sub coarse will have to be replaced in many areas, regardless of the wearing surface selected.

Concrete can be used, and can offer a longer life span. However it is not suited to all roads.
    Especially those with significant slope. And like any material, quality control is vital to longevity. It is easier than you might think to “phuck up” the concrete batching process.

Proper concrete roads, are usually more expensive than those with asphalt wearing courses (initial cost) and one reason why public bodies will shy away from them.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So why is Maloney writing the ministry about concrete roads.

40. Is not the over 2 mile runway at Grantley Adams Airport not made of concrete and doesn’t it stand up all these past 60 years plus to all the heavy traffic handled daily.Are not portions of the said runway overlaid with the asphalt mix using the barber green machinery?

41. Tar never really hardens and subsides with our foundation-less tracks that became mule and donkey cart roads, that became motor vehicle roads, that were hand laid with stone picked from canefields over a century ago to move cane from fields to factories.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Have you seen motorways under construction in Europe,and the same probably applies to the USA. The road bed is generally mud or sand.

42. @ Colonel Buggy / Gabriel / WW&C
    …Give Frustrated-B a break, he is a businessman… not an engineer…. He probably thinks that COW knows what he is speaking about…
    Modern engineers can build concrete structures on air …far less on limestone/ mud sub-soils.

..besides, he is 100% correct about there being no economic or transportation recovery under Fumbleโ€™s Fools.

We cannot get the BWA to coordinate with MTW on pipe laying projects. What construction standards what!?!
    Boss, stop playing Devil’s advocate.
    You know full well that leadership is not about pandering to the whims of brass bowls, but about implementing culture change that addresses such brass bowlery.

Mendicancy is about working WITH such MTW / BWA shiite as you mention….
    …while a meritocracy is about NOT tolerating such idiocy….. but expecting and DEMANDING mature, constructive results.

There is no reason why concrete roads cannot be constructed with ductwork and other provisions included to provide for current and future utility works. Such arrangements could be laid under sidewalks and in drainage ways.

Even if it cost five times as much up front to construct such quality roads, the reduced maintenance, and the 10X lifespan will easily justify the investment.

The problem is that this calls for 50-year strategic planning …as opposed the the 4-5 year election of bribery and largesse…

43. @Bush Tea

Every damn thing is wrapped in politics. A 50 year strat session you say?

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I have known about concrete roads in Nprth America for years, the lies of not being able to concrete the roads in Barbados as an excuse to rip off the treasury with decade after decade of substandard road works, by government ministers and thiefing minorities must stop.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

Maloney is promoting them because he makes money from cement, a major ingredient in concrete. and IF he can get a contract(s) and he invests in the equipment, future bids will be his? Preconco is a concrete company? Instead of forming walls or pouring floors, they are making roads. Different day, same thing.

Also remember, if you wanna talk about ‘teefing’, concrete has more end uses than most products.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

lol…cement.ca?, that is like reading about the benefits of smoking from Marlboro, or alcohol from AmBev.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@His Whackerness
    “Even if it cost five times as much up front to construct such quality roads, the reduced maintenance, and the 10X lifespan will easily justify the investment.”

This the battle everywhere. Politico’s active lifespan is usually 4-8 years, cheaper options give them more bang for the buck, plus employment down the line.

And once you figure out the tricks to concrete, with decent equipment there is minimal employment. Politico’s like employment?