An Update from Solutions Barbados.
Grenville Phillips II

Celebrating 50 years of our political independence was an important national event that the Government should have been allowed to manage, without being distracted by constant criticism.ย  Given the foreseen economic challenges this year, it was also important that Barbadians be allowed to enjoy the Christmas and New Year celebrations.ย  With these events now behind us, we all need to consider the future of Barbados.

Barbados has never been in so much debt.ย  The BLP has been responsible for accumulating approximately $8B and the DLP approximately $5B of our $13B national debt.ย  The international rating agencies continue to warn potential investors about our challenges to repay our debt.ย  If we continue to manage Barbadosโ€™ economy as we have in the past 40 years, then we will not own a country to pass on to the next generation of Barbadians.

The solutions to Barbadosโ€™ economic problems should be well known by both of our established political parties.ย  However, for the past 50 years they have both played this game of criticising the party in power for mismanaging the national economy, and then proceeding to mismanage it far worse when they attained power, leaving the criticising to the other party until their roles are reversed.

Since they have taken us so far beyond any responsible debt limit, to the point where we have no choice but to be badly taken advantage of by investors, then the next general election is crucial to the future of Barbados.

Solutions Barbados has already published workable solutions to the principal problems hindering Barbadosโ€™ development at SolutionsBarbados.com.ย  Regrettably, the games continue to be played while the problems are getting worse.ย  Therefore, we have assembled 14 employers who have never contested a general election, but who are willing to stand as candidates in the next general election in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.ย  We are looking for 16 more candidates.

If you agree with our published solutions, have been a responsible employer at any time in your career (the type and size of business does not matter), and are willing to be a candidate in the next general election, then please contact us at NextParty246@gmail.com.

148 responses to “Hold On Barbados – Help Is Still On The Way”

1. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

A major problem with Barbadian politics is transparency or the lack thereof. The secrecy surrounding the players in this Organization even at what must be seen as the eleventh hour cannot be very comforting to anyone looking for meaningful change. Same old same ole. If secrecy is so necessary to protect these Government contracts, none of your last minute candidates will win a contest, let alone your party. So what happens then to these sacred contracts? Please tell us something different.

2. The only hope for Solutions is the total disgruntlement with the status quo by the peeps,which will manifest itself with party supporters not voting in numbers that will allow john public to show his displeasure by voting against them………history is a making here…..we have had brexit,duarte and trump…..all things are possible.

3. The fact that Solutions Barbados feel constrained to shield their candidates until the eleventh hour is explained by the same reason we have anonymous bloggers -ask Carl to give Grenville a call. We do not buy the reason offered by Grenville that his businessmen want to protect their employees for as long as is practical?

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Grenville needs to let us know who those 14 candidates are so that others would feel inspired to join the fray…,.right nowvhe is asking us to buy a big in a bag, fully knowing how dishonest many, many of the business people are in Barbados and everyone has a story to tell about their dishonesty……..keep the secrecy up and no one will look at your 14 or 30 candidates the week before elections.

They cannot have the welfare of the country at heart if they are unwilling to make sacrifices.

5. I understand the need for secrecy. However, have these 14 candidates considered what politics is about. Politics is not for persons unwilling to stand up and fight using the rights guaranteed under the constitution.

Will these candidates melt away should they loose? Its puzzling, as such a stance by Solutions Barbados does not engender confidence and lends credence to the indifference shown by bajans to standing up for righteousness.

6. “Therefore, we have assembled 14 ( UNIDENTIFIED ) employers who have never contested a general election, but who are willing to stand as candidates in the next general election in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative. We are looking for 16 more candidates.

So basically we have a politically party with a leader but no candidates……yet !

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya have a generation of black men, already mentally weak from generation after generation of brainwash, bought, owned and paid for by the criminal element in the business sector, who do not want to make sacrifices for the greater good…, and that is the bottomline.

Grenville cannot bring a good enough argument to convince me that we should not know who these 14 are….as well as the identities of the cockroaches hiding in the shadows funding this party.

8. “Will these candidates melt away should they loose?”

Yes. They will go back to managing their businesses.

9. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

“I will lift up my eyes unto the hills from whence comes my help.’

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You people could really give the man a chance to prove himself. How long have fellow bloggers been asking for an alternative, a change from the shite of D and B? Barbados is a place that practices victimisation very well. Let the man play according to his own cards and if the hand dealt is not worth what Patty shot at, then you there will be ground to rip apart his failed model.

11. The notion that countries are to repay debt is misguided, quaint.

Barbados has never tried to repay all its debt, whether local or foreign.

Indeed, virtually no world countries care about debt repayment in terms that ‘they’ insist Barbados should.

Like Barbados, most countries try to pay interest, a little principle, enough to increase the net-net at the nearest opportunity.

It is clear that none of this debt is repayable.

Unofficially, everybody knows that monetary economics is a Ponzi scheme.

It can only be dealt with when the whole international fiat system collapses

So anybody who would want to pretend that Barbados is to be some economic unicorn should face the facts on the ground.

12. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

We met with this man and his mindset is not for the people its for his business and big business, No laws in BARBADOS to stop them from fraud as always, No “blind trust” for them as you will see heads in government changed into his family and friends names.
    There will be a flip on the guard of crooks, crooks replacing crooks.

We even told him to his face what went on with the BLP under Mia and Owen, We told him what went on under PM David, We also told him how the crimes progress under PM Fumble, AG,MOF ect, He seem like he was on drugs NUM, and in other worlds he would be in special Education classes,
    “Manchurian Candidate” at best, He can not reply to questions on his own, MORE like he needs permission to speak, We don’t know if he even went back to Peter Harris “his boss” to check on the information, All he is about is Jobs Jobs no matter the crimes that need correction,
    At the end of the day,what can he do as PM about jobs? that the PM Fumble can’t do NOW? based on fraud to build up Barbados for only white people from England, America and Canada and Germans ,So the JOBS will come by way of white builders for white and the Natives run to white Nations looking for JOBS, Who will be unable to catch up to higher prices and taxes based on white incomes in a non-white Nation, non-white wages pure slavery,
    Our Nation True History needs to put back in place, Records need to restored to see our path.
    We keep talking about getting things done as if all Clear Title Work have been done and there are no “cloud of title” Until the Sun comes out we will have nothing but BAD storms,

13. @Pacha

The issue is maintaining a debt ratio deemed to be manageable based on the business plan of the country over time. So to your observation yes it is not about repaying debt but managing it based on a serviceable number.

14. Who in the world has been able to ‘manage’ debt in the way you assume for an extended period of time.

That is and has been impossible. Especially when one superimposes all the other forces on this issue.

In the US for example, under Obama the national debt rose by about 8 trillion to 20 trillion. Under Trump, we could expect it rising to 25 trillion, in four years.

Those ratios are not dissimilar to Barbados.

You are wrong. Even if the principle could be repaid, the interest, which is the real problem, makes sure debt continues forever, under this economic system.

15. Comparing to the US is nonsense given it hold the world’s reserve currency. At root of the problem is our addiction to consumption spending and behaviour. We have to reorder how we do business and be a model country for the rest of the world.

16. We can’t make ever proviso to every statement.

We took it for granted, we’ve made these arguments previously.

Our comparison has known limitations.

Even in circumstances where the world reserve currency is help the amount of debt or the rate of increase therein is nor dissimilar.

There can be no ‘re-ordering’ of the way we (Barbados) do business. Not when we are so deeply embedded into the international order – IMF, WB, WTO etc.

Local politicians have no such power.

17. So what if Barbados has never been in so much debt? Listen! The same can be said for the United States and many parts of Europe, so suck it up and move on from your perennial lip-service.

18. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff Cumberbatch

Grenville really has to get serious now. Elections are imminent and we have no clue who the candidates of this new grouping are. Will they eventually baffle us with their brilliance. Or, more likely, bemuse us with their bullshit? Not at all a good harbinger of more freedom of information!

19. David

If it is not fair to compare United States to Barbados in any respect, then why do we compare Jamaica with an area of some 4 million square miles, with a population close to three million people, to Barbados with a population of three-hundred- thousand people and an area of 166 square miles?

20. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine….. Respectfully I beg to differ. For all that Barbadians have gone through and all that over time was promised, do you not recognize why we are as leery as we are? We accept that the nature of politics says that one does whatever one needs to do to hold onto power. If the Prime Minister feels that it is in his party’s best interest to call a snap election, what chance would John Public have had to at least attempt to vet these candidates?
    Solutions Barbados needs to take this into account. An electorate denied a vetting process relies on its gut feeling. The vibe currently being emitted is gut wrenching.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

Business people? He needs politicians. Persons who can scrap with the masses, talk shiite, apply Kellman type economic theories. The hardened B’s or D’s not only vote, but vote accordingly. He needs an arsenal of money, for he will need nuff parties, nuff food and drink and gifts, is he expects to get Bajan voters. And he better start soon, cause 2 brams wouldn’t be enuff.

22. Solutions?Not one damn seat allyuh will get.The odder party poopers like Eastmond and Gill?Allyuh gine lose allyuh deposit.All third party people ought to take a lesson from Richie’s NDP.Organization and money din a problem for Richie.He won.The party lost big,big time.

23. We also need business persons who will not have to rely on the MP post for a salary. Hungry persons in politics make for easy bribes. I say that with the knowledge that some of the present MPs had businesses, were not hungry but greed and the love of money is their saviour.

24. @Gabriel

That was a different time, people thirty for change these days.

25. This secrecy is total nonsense. If these business men have legitimate, bonafide contracts with terms and conditions re termination, there is NO reason why they cannot show their faces. What do these business men have to hide? Are they doing actual work or providing actual services for the monies received through these contracts? Makes one goes hmmmmm.

26. @bajans

Did you follow the saga between the NUPW and government over Akani Mcdowall? His contract was severed before the end date. These are the bruts you are dealing.

27. Like I said before and was vilified and accused of all manner of wrong. How can a set of business people who more than likely benefitted and benefits financially from government’s largesse (ie borrowed money) now profess to be our saviours? #hypocrisygraanmurh#solutionsisnotready

28. David how many young people have started successful businesses as promoted in a training seminar held last year when one only needed to walk with an idea, pencil and paper?

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Leaves us to believe the contracts are ill gotten, through schemes and scams with various government ministers and permanent secretaries….and as soon as we hear the names….everyone will know…

…..does Grenville plan to keep the names of the candidates secret up until the morning of the election, this has not been well thought out….seriously….or he will see the inevitable blowback from such a foolish move, he has not been elected yet, but is already keeping secrets from the people.

What is it with these fools.

30. David, it is not the same. These are business people with money to fund a party, then they have money to sue if contracts are illegally terminated. I don’t buy it. There is more to this secrecy. Who are the principals/officers of this party? They have not even made that public.

31. “However, Phillips told Barbados TODAY the identities of the candidates would not be released just yet in order to protect jobs, since many of them hold contracts for major Government projects.”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/07/third-party-lineup/

” many of them hold contracts for major Government projects.”

32. No help is on the way, NONE!

Why should Bajans be made to expect help from the same kinds of people who mindlessly got us here.

Merchants of false hope, false expectation, should be shot ……….. on sight.

33. I agree with you, Enuff………….The same people who are feeding at the trough are to be the saviours of this failing economy?

I have always said that if Richie Haynes with all of his star power could not get a third party going to even be a force to be reckoned with………..I find it hard to see anyone in the near future doing!

Just my opinion!

34. The candidates are afraid of being exposed on Naked Departure

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

They will be exposed anyway, no one is going to vote blindly for candidates whose names they never heard and have not investigated thoroughly, that would be taking stupidity to a whole new low, even for bajans.

So what, once elected they wont have to worry about the contracts or the employees, they will take that scam of no names right up until the election and never reveal them, how is that even possible,….it makes no sense.

36. Grenville
    You cannot speak of debt in isolation.What level of development took place since this 40 year window thru which you view Barbados’s debt portfolio.Share your data.You should need no reminder that debt in itself is not a bad thing.How disingenuous to write of liabilities and no mention of assets in a balance sheet of 40 years.I remain sceptical of Solutions.

37. Chuckle……here we have a bunch of psuedonyminous individuals on BU mekking noise over the fact that a bunch of secret operatives want to run the country……hahaha…..wunna fuh real.

38. @enuff

Grenville will have to respond. It is laudable though you are attempting to hold Solutions Barbados accountable because we seem unable to do same with the BLP and DLP.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

If Barbados had intelligent leaders, they would seek debt forgiveness, it obviously has never occurred to any of them that they will never be able to repay those ballooning government debts…no matter who is leading or their business acuity, in Barbados’ case….small businesses.

I would be wary of who is in the background pulling Grenville’s strings with the not naming candidates scheme…..

……..I know of those with the track record of not telling claimants the doctors that are examining them works for CGI Insurance and is not neutral, that is a dirty trick of Peter Harris, but this would be a whole new low…, so Grenville better come clean real soon.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

None of the “pseudonymous individuals” are seeking to control the treasury or have cockroaches funding them andhiding in the shadows waiting to continue the corruption on the island….free from any constraints.

That is the difference,

41. @Vincent Haynes,

we psuedonyminous individuals are not running for public office.

Most of us are ordinary people who choose to use the FREEDOM of blogging pseudonymously.

42. BU bloggers asked the DLP government for Integrity Legislation and a freedom of information act.

MIA and Owen Arthur declared their assets and liabilities.

First order of business for Solutions Barbados. Name your candidates and declare their assets and liabilities.

Then promise that within one year of taking office your Government will enact Integrity Legislation and a freedom of information act.

43. Chuckle……Ok,get the point but when you have a situation the these candidates depend on govts nipples to sustain their businesses that does not bode well for future govt contracts under them,because they have to award them to themselves…..

44. So if these anonymous candidates do not win and the DLP regain power, they will be in exactly the same position the day after the election as you claim they will be in if they show their hands now. Possibly worse in the unlikely event they have unseated anyone.

We need people with balls to take control of the mess we are in and try to turn things around. We also need people who do not fear going after those who have been responsible for any malfeasance.

Those requirements are not met by people remaining in hiding until a few weeks before an election because they fear for their jobs or their contracts.

45. I posit that if Grenville was serious,all like now he would be holding public meetings and whipping up support for his Solutions.I am yet to be convinced that Grenville has it in him to withstand the cut and thrust of politics.He should have been wetting the people’s’ appetites with facts,figures and a dose of charisma borne of an engaging personality.Start calling meetings Grenville.Talk yuh talk and convince we to support yuh.

46. General Bussa was betrayed by the Yellow Belly Ashanti Slaves. Clement Payne had to come to Barbados to fight for us.

In 2016 we have Bajans without BALLS or GUTS.

None are willing to draw fire in the best interest of the country.

Who will be bold or ignorant enough to challenge the status quo and be willing to defend their right, even if it causes
    their life?

47. David

The BLP was voted out in 2008–that was being held accountable. Since then we continue to hold them accountable even for the DLP’s actions and promises. What did the BLP promise that they didn’t deliver? Grenville can’t ramp with Mia–Fact! Listen to the woman’s ideas then compare.

48. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

This man is looking for the Nation of Masons to put him Office as he maybe one. That would not be a problem if he is looking for Justice before business,

We at the CUP were talking to this man to see with the idea that if his party and ours did not reach 30 for the next elections that we might be able to Join to reach 30, Most people are watching to see if Him or We can reach 30 candidates, In their minds 30 means business for many want to vote and they want to vote in their own area when that time comes.

We gave him the point that there are no records in Barbados History for Britton’s Hill and that we hold the root title deed, Being that Britton’s Hill 1950s and Bay Plantation 1930s and that
    St. Michael South where the PM Fumbel ran in 2013.

Yes PM Fumble can only put up a few buildings in time for election each time to keep votes on his side. By way of laundering land by way of NHC and the AG singing our land from the Estate of Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles and switching the land tax records and calling it CROWN LAND,

We are the ones that can make and Clear all titles and put teeth in the CJ and DPP work for recovery of the assets. Plenty monies were laundered under court made-up names and checks cashed up in England,

Under the NHC Lawyer Samantha Cummins did a lot of dirty work for her own gains, Under PM David she was removed and end up at the “Land Registry” as We confront her with her
    signed land tax records of transfer to Iona Marshall Et Ali of New Jersey USofA. Tax value at that time of 207,000 bds that was to go to Violet Beckles, 2007.

Land tax Number on request, At Well Gap Cave Hill, where houses are build in the name of the NHC? land from the CROWN ,, at that time MIA aka The “CROWN” and Owen in power,

We also told him we told him we hold the deed for “Black Rock Plantation” where we can get the “FOUR SEASON” back on track with “Angel Funding”.

The problem with Barbados is that White/Black good people want no part of Land Fraud, And with Basel 3 Banking in laundering, check with “WESTERN UNION”

This is the way Barbados moves ahead without the Massive Fraud being done to the people and we have to pay off their crimes with high rates on loans or selling DBLP government Junk bonds . bought and sold to white/black crooks on the island and can only be paid back with lies of 2.5% to pick up trash,over price road tax with potholes ,10 %on soft drinks,overall vat hike to 22.5 % , fuel tax,gas tax,light bill taxes, water taxes on new meter we never had or got ,but then to be charge for even a new water meter,While Butch Hotel man get all things free, Butch is not fool for he knows what “Land fraud” deals he had to make to make a deal, Incase the High Court looks to give Probate to Me after more than 5 years waiting,

Only the owner can sign deeds and agreements, Only the owners can sell land to NHC and UDC to the Crown, to then be sold and signed to have the people of Barbados to have a deeds they have been waiting for some over 30 years, Check the PINE we did our homework.
    Our “FINDINGS” are at the AG office from 2009 and 2010 and the COP ,police fraud squad under wraps hidden from the NEWS and Public.
    No worries we also have St Mary’s Church crime listed, and many a law firms in Barbados,

So if Peter Harris want to do Business in Barbados by law and not by fraud he will have to deal with Me, Alex Mitchell St Michael South, Running against the Crook ass PM Fumble again in the Next Elections.

49. Dear All:

Allow me to respond to some common concerns.

Candidate Secrecy

We plan to shield our candidates until the day that elections are called. This should give Barbadians approximately one month to scrutinise them. I expect that some will reveal themselves sooner, but that is their decision.

There are obvious advantages to revealing our candidates now. However, the liabilities far outweigh the benefits. What would be more outrageous is if we decided to wait until the elections were called to reveal our policies.

The two established parties normally parade their candidates early while keeping their policies secret until after elections are called. This provides the public with limited time to scrutinise their policies. Clearly, that approach has not worked well for Barbados. However, voters had no choice but to accept that approach.

We published our policies 18 months ago for rigorous public criticism. If voters prefer that policies rather than personalities remain hidden, then that is their choice. However, we want to allow our candidates some more time to keep their employees employed.

Contracts Interpreted as No Risk

Having a Contract does not guarantee payment โ€“ just ask Al Barrack. If you are an employee, you simply have no idea of the risks to an employer of being on the wrong side of a dominant political party. Many have had to leave their professions and find other job opportunities in order to pay their mortgages and feed their families โ€“ you simply have no idea. Even Owen Arthur complained. Please be advised that the risk is real โ€“ contract or no contract.

Financial Backers

Please be advised that Solutions Barbados has only one financial backer โ€“ me. We have been offered funds โ€“ all of which have been refused. We are not requiring or accepting funds from our candidates, their businesses, or any other party. All we require of our candidates is that they pay their deposits.

When I was on Brass Tacks with Peter Wickham and Hartley Henry, Peter asked me where we would source the large sums required to run a campaign. I asked him what we needed the large sums for. He did not reply. I told him that we had no intention of paying votersโ€™ bills, paying for their household appliances, or doing anything that could remotely be interpreted as purchasing someoneโ€™s vote. We are here to facilitate an economic environment where people can pay their own bills. To pre-empt the likely criticism โ€“ of course we plan to support the most vulnerable who simply cannot support themselves.

Advisors in the Shadows

We have many advisors, and they include you. Everyone who comments on our site, or even here, advises us either intentionally or unintentionally. We take all comments seriously because we want to improve our policies – for all of our sakes. For clarity โ€“ there is no person or organisation or group pulling the proverbial strings. All advice is rigorously assessed on merit alone.

Losing Our Deposits

We may, but that is the risk that we have agreed to take. Barbadians cannot be blamed for the current mess in which we find ourselves, because we had limited options at each general election. If we choose to return to what has not worked after being given a competent alternative, then we, as a nation, will be without excuse for the foreseen economic decline.

Accumulating Debt

The problem with continuing to accumulate debt is that the minimum payments keep growing and take up larger portions of the national budget. Further, the required payments must be paid in foreign currency. Foreign currency is needed by companies competing outside of Barbados in order to bring in foreign currency.

Where we are on the โ€˜death spiralโ€™ is that foreign exchange required to service the debt has overlapped with the foreign exchange deeded by competitive businesses, thus reducing that competitiveness. Debt matters.

Best regards,
    Grenville

50. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

“If any man aspires to any office, he is sure never to compass it; they all live easily together, for none of the magistrates are either insolent or cruel to the people: they affect rather to be called fathers, and by being really so, they well deserve the name; and the people pay them all the marks of honour the more freely, because none are exacted from them. The Prince himself has no distinction, either of garments, or of a crown; but is only distinguished by a sheaf of corn carried before him; as the high priest is also known by his being preceded by a person carrying a wax light…”

From “Utopia” by Thomas More (1516)