The ancestors of the modern Cabinet system were, in reality as well as constitutional theory, creatures of the monarch, a monarch who appointed ministers, and arranged meetings of his or her government. ‘Cabinet’ was, in effect, a meeting of the monarch’s individual ministers. The monarch was the Prime Minister of the era (and, in effect, Cabinet Secretary also). As the eighteenth century went on, the politicians sought to wrest control, especially from the Hanoverian kings, and collective action was a prerequisite for this development: Collective Responsibility of Ministers

The Westminster system the government of Barbados adopted from England has been attracting strident critique from segments of the public including the BU community. In a nutshell, we have become saddled by a system of government which is not working as originally designed. Successive Barbados governments have neglected to frontally address the problem by instituting changes to make the system relevant to Barbados way of life .

Many examples are a matter of pubic record to expose our ineffectual system of government.

Successive governments have refused to take corrective steps to address matters raised in Auditor General reports. The majority of state agencies (if not all) do not have up to date audited financial statements. If  the purpose of audited financials is “to provide independent assurance that management has, in its financial statements, presented a “true and fair” view of a company’s financial performance and position”, it leaves the public to speculate about the integrity of government’s finances. Imagine if false assumptions are being made about the state of financial health of the NIS fund.

There was the incident with Speaker of the House Michael Carrington who was ordered by the High Court of Barbados to disburse funds owed to a 70 year old client. Although Prime Minister Freundel Stuart defended the Speaker and is quoted as saying Carrington committed no crime, it is patently obvious -even to the ignorant- that on ethically grounds, Carrington committed a wrong and should have resigned based on accepted conventions practiced under the Westminster system.

The final critique of the system of government practiced by Barbados is what is referred to as collective ministerial responsibility.  During the Stuart administration the public has had to endure several examples of two ministers -Inniss and Estwick- being openly critical of public policy.  Of interest is the fact both Estwick and Inniss from the government side are reported to be financially self sufficient.

Cursory research supports the position that collective cabinet responsibility is based on convention and not statute. If Barbados governments fully subscribe to the Westminster system why do we cherrypick or ignore conventions fuelled by political expediency?  If we do not subscribe fully to the Westminster system then what is the Barbados equivalent.  Should we be discussing the Ministerial Code? What about the workings of political parties?

Unfortunately Barbadians continue to allow national conversations to be led by the political class –BLP and DLP.

69 responses to “Overhauling Our Governance System”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I cant believe Hal is still letting the Chadster spin him around and wind him up with lies…lol

2. David:
    The point I was making; which you have chosen to ignore, is that we are NOT following the Westminster system “slavishly:. We have adapted it to suit the Barbados situation; customs, mores, expectations etc.
    Shame on you for expecting “wise counsel” from me. According to Bushie I am too much an idiot, and according to Well well and Miller, too much of a yard fowl; this coming from two yard ducks.
    Frustrated; with your negativity, you will be frustrated for a very long time. Things are looking up.
    And Miller, don’t you think it is time to get off this “horse that is going nowhere” with the name Devaluation? The Barbados Dollar is not going to be devalued, and we are not going to the IMF for any loans etc. We will paddle our own canoe without their external advisors passing judgement.
    Artax: according to Well Well above, she said: “My gynecologist is a man,” Seems to me the it would be a woman referring to her “gynaecologist.” but then….

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…that was quite a mouthful..lol but you know it still does not change the number of idiots in parliament or the number of useless yardfowls wasting space.

4. @Alvin

Up to the OSA the Westminster convention of collective ministerial responsibility has always been followed. Are you saying that Stuart has decided to change course? If he has it should be included as part of a stated ministerial code.

5. Alvin Cummins December 30, 2016 at 10:25 AM #

We will paddle our own canoe without their external advisors passing judgement.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Totally agree with above statement…………but…..could you tell us where we are going on this canoe and what is onboard to protect us from the rapids and waterfalls if we are on a river or the big waves if we are on the sea……we need to know Alvin.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol..hahaha..Alvin did not thing that far ahead, he is a now man, no vision, he will drown, by himself..lol

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins December 30, 2016 at 10:25 AM
    And Miller, don’t you think it is time to get off this “horse that is going nowhere” with the name Devaluation? The Barbados Dollar is not going to be devalued, and we are not going to the IMF for any loans etc. We will paddle our own canoe without their external advisors passing judgement.

You mean you have magically found that missing $300 million in foreign reserves hiding in the Guv’s back pocket since April 2013?

You said a similar thing prior to the 2013 elections. Remember the “No Layoffs, No Privatization” mantra?
    So what happened subsequently?

Isn’t your administration in the process of selling or divesting itself of commercial entities?

Does the BNTCL spring to mind?

You can keep your CBC but as sure as night follows day and vice versa there is a list that the IMF Santa Claus has delivered recently. There will soon be the Big “Reveal” but this time there will be no burying of the devil’s pitchfork to hide your sins of mismanagement and downgrades.

Do you really expect to restructure the numerous statutory bodies without shedding the excess fat of unproductive and politically chosen parasites called labour?

Don’t forget the same IMF which you claim has no influence over your administration is strongly suggesting you shed the fat become the heart specialist has to be brought into the picture.

Alvin, as an old geezer you must have heard the old Bajan saying: “Ya could hide and buy land but ya can’t hide and wuk it.”

8. Elections around the corner……….Innis just came on Brasstacks to defend himself against accusations made by Tallboy and after the political back and fro,denying his anti-cabinet stand,he made himself available early next year to explain to the country what he is doing……when is the date??/

9. @ Chad,
    It is not that we don’t take our politicians seriously, they don’t take us seriously because they have no need to. They know the country is polarised and there is a little floating vote that will put their party over the top. Most of the so-called shapers of public opinion were once in the DLP camp. The fatted calf was reduced because of circumstances, so they now backing the BLP. Should the BLP win and the fatted calf is not big enough , they would be back backing the DLP and the game goes on and on.
    Against this background it is not that “cerebral” people are not attracted to politics it is really that those whom we consider to be cerebral enter for the wrong reasons. Cerebral people use their intelligence to make decisions and to even suggest that Mottley , Mascoll, Arthur, Stuart, are not cerebral is absolutely incorrect. They have all the brain power necessary but they use it for different ends , mainly to keep the status quo in tact. Barrow, Grantley Adams, Sandiford , St. John, Henry Forde etc were all highly intelligent men . Most of them reaching the pinnacle of Island Scholarship. They were the top of the heap. The prime products of the elitist , authoritarian education system.
    Most of the candidates from the two major parties have some level of intellect and are capable of making intelligent decisions. Hence the failure to NOT to push integrity legislation etc was not because their intelligence it lacking. They just do not want to do it!

10. Well Well,

I am of the old school in believing people until |I have reason not to. Chad is slowly losing any confidence I may have in what he says.
    To track back to an old subject, if s/he was using their real name, there would be (could be) reputational damage.
    As the main forum for public discussions in Barbados, we all have a collective responsibility to be honest in our discourse. We owe that to the young.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hal…if honesty is not built into your character and personality, it would be impossible to keep up a pretense anonymous or not….it is what it is, at least you know, Chadster been bullshitting for a long time, people in the US are learning the hard way that you canno trust or take a Trump supporter seriously.

12. “we all have a collective responsibility to be honest in our discourse. We owe that to the young.”

Barbados-born immigrant Hal Austin, former hack for one of the most disreputable tabloid jokes in modern history, a newspaper read exclusively by morons, gives us all a little homily. How nice.

13. Lee,
    I have never worked for the Nation, but did write a column.

14. William
    Can you recall Tom Adams introducing Integrity legislation in Parliament and Errol Barrow refusing to support it?I seem to recall such an event.

15. William
    Can you recall Owen Arthur repeatedly making changes to the PAC Act to accommodate the then chairman of the PAC,Leader of the Opposition David Thompson,to no avail?Was Thompson’s ducking anything to do with Clico that would have been made known if he stepped out off the crease?

16. @Gabriel

That is correct, it died in committee. BU posted a couple blogs on the matter.

17. Miller:
    Since the major workers in the Statutory Cor[[orations have not been laid off , or even made redundant, these you refer to would have been working in these corporations longer than eight years, so they would have been “unproductive” when they worked under your administration, If you knew they were unproductive, why didn’t you do what was necessary to increase their productivity?
    All those who are speculating on the demise of the “peg” will end up losers. It ent happening!
    And when the land produces, all willshare in the harvest; don’t forget your bible: the rain falls on the just and the unjust.

18. @ Gabriel @David,
    This is the exact point I am making. They do it and cherry picking a point here and there means nothing. The simple undeniable fact is that both parties have had opportunities to introduce and pass integrity legislation and they have BOTH refused to. The PAC is like CBC under both parties. These partisan positions prove that we do not have to be taken seriously. There was a time when the BLP only had three opposition members -did the DLP try to pass any major government reforms NO. There was a time when the DLP only had two opposition members -did the BLP try to pass integrity legislation? No.
    In the fifty years of independence both parties have ruled -do you see any real progressive efforts to change anything.
    Why do you think the Public Order Act of 1970 is still on the books? Why is the Auditor General still toothless? Why is the PAC still toothless? Both parties are the same. Cherry picking is simply a means of justifying ultimately party positions or preference .

19. I have just been on the Transport Board’s website reading the 2009 annual report, the latest on the site. The auditor’s report is given as page 27, but the report itself is only 26 pages. Am I the only one fed up with Barbadian duplicity and lies?