Donald Trump declared the winner of the US presidential election by the Electoral College

We will contend that what is generally referred to as a progressive socio-economic-political flank, located primarily on the โ€˜leftโ€™ or the โ€˜left of centreโ€™, but less so on the โ€˜rightโ€™ or โ€˜right of centreโ€™, has been dead for 50 years. The media fiction, on the left, has been keeping a dead political current alive as master narrative to mek money and mislead publics.

This subject is important because if progressives in North America and Europe are as useless as the evidence demonstrates, there can be no global convergence to protect small island states, like Barbados, from the most rabid Alt-Right forces which are preparing to descend on us all.

The Alt-Rightists will soon be controlling the IMF, the World Bank, the machinery for war, among other power levers. A country like Barbados could expect to surrender any perceived advantage (soft power) accumulated over time. Begging these criminals will not help. It would be encouragement to the enemy.

We will indict these so-called progressives for the emergence of a Donald Trump. The re-emergence of far-right parties in Europe. And the hollowing-out of any gains ordinary people have made in the past. Surely, Trump must signal a new era.

We will cast these โ€˜progressivesโ€™ as a bunch of spineless sycophants who allowed, in the case of the USA, a succession of ignorant, backward, Republican minded idiots, to take power. And do so from minority positions.

Our point of departure could be 1968, you choose. Since then weโ€™ve had Nixon, Carter, Ford, Reagan, Bush 1, Clinton, Bush 2, Obama and now Trump. So from the height to the nadir of โ€˜progressivismโ€™, in this recent incarnation, weโ€™ve had less real progressives elected to the highest office than during the period of the first half of the 20th century โ€“ FDR, Teddy Roosevelt, for example.

The American โ€˜progressiveโ€™ has acquiesced so much that it is no wonder the best policy to be contrived, recently, had to do with the institutionalization of an agenda against mother nature herself.

The mainly White, highly โ€˜educatedโ€™, progressives are all about form not function. They are cowards, lacking a scintilla of courage. All about an empty rhetoric, as a means to blur the lines between themselves and the Republicans. The progressive agenda has always been a White man’s trick.

The republicans or conservatives play no such games. They see politics as war by other means and are prepared to move heaven and earth to their will.

In the Obama presidency alone, the Republicans have given us government shutdowns; illegal wars; mass defunding of social programs, developed to help the poor; filibustered an Obama Supreme Court nominee for over 300 days; gerrymandered the country to make certain of perennial control of the House of Representatives and the Senate; consistently stole elections by the disenfranchisement of primarily Black and Latino voters.

Not even when confronted with irrefutable evidence progressives have no meaning responses. They possess the worst kind of cowardice.

In North Carolina, a Republican Pat McCrory, the incumbent, was ‘defeated’ by a Democrat, Roy Cooper, in the Governorโ€™s race, 2016. But since November 8th and several recounts, McCrory has failed to concede despite a nearly unassailable 10,000 vote lead by Cooper.

What is more, the Republican State Legislature in NC, in anticipation of the defeat of the Republican Incumbent Governor, has acted to severely cut the constitutional powers of the incoming Governor. Powers the current Governor enjoyed.

In the UK. We are not convinced that the Labour Party of Jeremy Corbyn has laid out anything new. He too seems wedded to traditional progressive agendas. But the political environment has markedly changed and requires different responses from hollowed-out labour parties. Maybe the alt-Right of Farage and company will repeat, in the UK, the Trumpism progressives in the US have made flesh.

In Barbados, it may take a decade or more for us to see some official recognition of the death of progressive โ€˜idealsโ€™ as historically constructed.

All this is happening and there is hardly a whimper from the supine progressives in the Democratic Party, in the USA, or even Barbados. Maybe they are used to being in a submissive position with the ruthless Republicans driving home an advantage no minority should have.

Moreover, the case of the defeat of Clinton is indeed emblematic of the perennial weakness of progressives. With over a billion dollars and an ability to raise much more; possessing a far superior case than Trump; currently having control of the Obama presidency; and with all of these advantages, the pooch-pickers called progressives could not defeat a demagogue, a narcissist, an apolitical madman like Donald Trump.

Progressives, in an age of Trump, cannot be expected to offer any determined, courageous, resistance to the Hitler of our times. Already, we are seeing that they intend to be as supportive of Trump as they were of Bush#2. Even if they had majorities on Capitol Hill, which they do not, they will be just as compliant.

Progressives will be more interested in notions of working with the devil, Trump, than defending their constituencies which are largely anti-Trump. They are sell-outs. It is the progressives who have people of colour voting for agendas for which there is no benefit to the voter. And Black people make no demands of the system. Not even on matters of life and death, like police shootings.

Presently, progressives on popular media are still licking their wounds from the Clinton defeat. When all the sobbing and gnashing of teeth is over, aided by their media bosses, people like Rachel Maddow, Lawrence Oโ€™Donnell, Chris Matthews, Joy Reid, Anderson Cooper and others on MSNBC, as well as those on CNN, will be brought to heel. It will be unsurprising when the Trump administration demands more favourable coverage, like any dictator has, in return for access, pretenses will have to come to an end. Without access these media houses might as well play dead.

This is how the game is played by โ€˜progressiveโ€™ media bosses, on the left, who are only committed to money, in the final analysis. The same media bosses who gave Trump, in kind, the equivalent of 2.5 billion dollars in free advertising/coverage because ratings were high and the spectacle of the pre-election season meant more to their top and bottom lines, a measure of success! In sum Trump has been, and is more so now, a creature of mainstream media. And the progressives will never apologize for imposing him on us. Their attitude was that Clinton would win, regardless. Now, let them consign themselves to being the anachronistic dead-beats they have long been.

The peoples of the world were, long time ago, sold out by the progressive agenda. It was, of late, essentially a response to Communism and gave yeoman service to right-wing forces thus creating the illusion of political pluralism, mass mobilization around social needs. Now that the Right has discovered that they can create populism, of the Right as well as the left, those alt-Right forces will soon deem left-wing populism and progressives themselves totally unnecessary.

269 responses to “Mainstream Media and the End of ‘Progressives’”

1. @Pacha

Poses corrected to possess and whipper to whimper -please advise.

2. @ Pacha
    I don”t know if so-called liberals(American style) should be thought of as progressives
    “In Barbados, it may take a decade or more for us to see some official recognition of the death of progressive โ€˜idealsโ€™ as historically constructed.”
    The progressives in Barbados have been effectively silenced since the Public Order Act of 1974.

3. Not surprising that their is not a peep out of you about the role of the Soviet union in the maasacre of the Syrian people in Aleppo.

4. there

5. Pacha;
    A good contribution.

6. Scary but true

7. Didn’t the Soviet Union go out with Gorbie?

8. @ Pacha
    You just brilliantly described ‘Global Terminal Cancer’.

9. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Pacha

Very interesting assessment of the western political thinking and practice. But could you define for me a little more rigorously the “progressives”? Are they left of centre, central or just a motley group trying to maintain the post war 2 definition of social democracy? Where would you classify, BLP, DLP,and BU?

10. American elections process is rather complicated to a โ€œnot so brightโ€ individual such as me.

The Electoral College confirmed Trumpโ€™s victory with him receiving 304 votes to Clintonโ€™s 227. In Novemberโ€™s count Trump received 306 and Clinton 232.

How could Trump and his supporters say he won the election by “a historic electoral landslide victory in our nation’s democracy,” when Clinton won the popular vote by more than 2% or 3 million ballots nationwide?

If these statistics are correct, then Trump lost the popular vote by a larger margin than any other president in history and joins 4 others presidents that have been elected despite losing the popular vote.

11. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David 9:28AM.

The Soviet Union did because the Communist system ,as implemented by military suppression, ultimately failed. It did not deliver materially. It was therefore a failure compared with the post Depression, post World War 2 modified capitalism in the West. But political systems are always works in progress. They evolve. This is exactly what is happening at home and in Geopolitics. We tend as humans to be a bit impatient and fearful. But that is how and who we are.

12. Pacha;

Excellent analysis!

13. I also must agree that Pachamama’s article an excellent analysis.

14. Usually, I think Pacha is too heavy for me. But I have to give her/him some credit here. Good article, but still digesting.

15. The writer overlooks the rise of Muslim extremism that is causing the current political dislocation of the โ€œProgressivesโ€. For every action there is a reaction and Al Queda and ISIS has provoked a response. The so called โ€œProgressivesโ€ want to engage with Muslims to establish some sort of common ground for kumbaya, while the โ€œAlt Rightโ€ want to establish Muslim registries and deny them the right of residency in their countries. The right is winning because people are afraid, they are afraid about their safety, they are afraid that their way of life is going to be changed and they are afraid because of the portrayal that Muslims donโ€™t like them. When people are fearful they will vote for whomever they think will make them safe, if safety means keeping out Muslims or discriminating against Muslims they will vote for the candidate who promises to do that. There is no gerrymandering in France or Britain and the parties in power were not faced with the same obstinacy that the Republicans employed in the US but right wing groups are still in the in the ascendancy, Angela Merkel days are numbered because she supported the rights of refugees to live in Germany but if the French domino falls and Marie Le Pen becomes leader it will be โ€œkatie bar the doorโ€.

16. We cannot allow extremism to force our societies to relinquish our values and what made us great. How Merkel reponds to the recent incident will be interesting. Does she cower or remand steadfast to what is right!

17. We must not allow ourselves to become victims of global jihadists. In a small island such as Barbados we must be vigilant.

18. Germany,that well ordered society is going to react.There is talk of resurrecting the Afrika Corps to take on ISIS and Muslim extremists

19. The media is well deserving of every jab it has been receiving via social media and by Obama in his recent press conference
    However the jury is still out as to much interference the Russians played in the election
    Trump seems to be in the drivers seat as of now ..but because of his sensitive nature and quickness to respond to every criticism he will be in for a bumpy ride as the media and the Clinton supporters remained vigilant and in hot pursuit as to wanting answers about his business connections and the issue of conflict of interest
    These conflicts can make be of redeeming value for the media if they put self interest aside

20. @ Bernard

You are generally right

We are talking about an amorphous phenomenon with elements from one end to the other of the political spectrum.

For example, they maybe far-right elements who are progressive on say, global climate change.

We are talking about all of them, roughly.

21. ”We cannot allow extremism to force our societies to relinquish our values and what made us great. How Merkel reponds to the recent incident will be interesting. Does she cower or remand steadfast to what is right!”

We never knew that we were as great as you presumed.

We still have not solved basic problems like hunger, wealth inequalities, and many more. Where is this greatest of which you speak?

That kind of thinking better serves the propagandists, not a thinking man like youself.

Those who see it fit to parrot what White people are saying about Islam and Islamic extremism have no voice when the Western powers themselves created the terrorists, armed them, trained them, gave them diplomatic cover, used them as tools for regime change, and on and on.

Anybody who know anything about the science of warfare could tell you that it is impossible for any terrorist force to withstands standing armies for nearly 6 years without the support of leading countries, as in the case of Syria.

More generally, western wars in Libya, Iraq, Afghanistan, along with the never mentioned effects of global warming, that have caused the migration to northern Asia from western Asia.

We have no sympathy for Merkel and those you are now shouting ‘terrorism’

We say the chickens have come home to roost.

Now! If that makes us terrorists. Then we plead guilty as charged.

22. @ William Skinner

”’I donโ€t know if so-called liberals(American style) should be thought of as progressives”

It is not for us to make an absolute determination as to who is ‘progressive’ or not.

But the Americans call themselves ‘progressives’.

Certainly, you hear that description bandied about all the time.

And it is used to define large numbers of people, in certain structures, formations.

Now, if they so describe, who are we to say some litmus test has not been passed.

We deal with them as we find them.

And we say all this knowing your history and political cleavages.

It must be painful especially for you, but this is our truth.

We are not driving these political forces, just interpreting them.

23. Pacha

has lost touch with reality.

Progressive forces have frog marched the Western world and its satellites (like Barbados) into a Promised Land of mass abortion, euthanasia, gender fluidity, same-sex marriage, and unbridled feminism, complete with show trials of emasculated men (for “sexual assault” and such).

There is also unprecedented government redistribution favouring the poor. Expenditures on the SNAP (food stamp) program in the United States are at an all-time high at approximately $75 billion annually, benefiting 45 million recipients. Loans and grants for tertiary education, Medicare, Medicaid, ObamaCare etc all involve unprecedented levels of spending.

To be sure, Trump’s lucky win in November is a setback for Progressives, but they are gathering their strength for a massive counter-attack.

24. We cannot allow murderous terrorists to destabilise the world. We should take an all-out war to them. There is no room for medieval savagery in a modern world.
    Advanced capitalism has made a numb er of mistakes, but we can reverse those through good government and progressive ideas and policies.
    It is our fault that for the last fifty years we have allowed a number of opportunists to grab the reins of political power and lead us astray.
    Now the same vacuous idiots are recolonising us, this time with the Chinese. If you think European racism is bad, wait until the Chinese and Indians take control.

25. Bim and the Caribbean should take this trumpian opportunity to unite and chart a way forward whilst the west is worrying about the economy,middle east is sorting themselves out with putins help and China is taking over the east indies.

Never will we get a greater chance to constructively put our heads together in a sink or swim struggle……..united we stand divided we fall.

26. “We cannot allow murderous terrorists to destabalize the world” – famous last words, you might say. Unfortunately for us, a good dose of destabalization is just what kindly, benevolent and altruistic old Uncle Sam thinks he needs in order to attain his and his buddy Israel’s (look up Yinon plan) own geo-strategic goals.

From the news you won’t hear about by reading the NY Times, watching CNN or even the BBC comes this article:

Officials: ISIS Arose From US Support For al-Qaeda In Iraq

A former Pentagon intelligence chief, Iraqi government sources, and a retired career US diplomat reveal US complicity in the rise of ISIS.

A new memoir by a former senior State Department analyst provides stunning details on how decades of support for Islamist militants linked to Osama bin Laden brought about the emergence of the โ€˜Islamic Stateโ€™ (ISIS).

The book establishes a crucial context for recent admissions by Michael T. Flynn, the retired head of the Pentagonโ€™s Defense Intelligence Agency (DIA), confirming that White House officials made a โ€œwillful decisionโ€ to support al-Qaeda affiliated jihadists in Syriaโ€Šโ€”โ€Šdespite being warned by the DIA that doing so would likely create an โ€˜ISISโ€™-like entity in the region.

J. Michael Springmann, a retired career US diplomat whose last government post was in the State Departmentโ€™s Bureau of Intelligence and Research, reveals in his new book that US covert operations in alliance with Middle East states funding anti-Western terrorist groups are nothing new. Such operations, he shows, have been carried out for various short-sighted reasons since the Cold War and after. (my emphasis /GM)

In the 1980s, as US support for mujahideen fighters accelerated in Afghanistan to kick out the Soviet Union, Springmann found himself unwittingly at the heart of highly classified operations that allowed Islamist militants linked to Osama bin Laden to establish a foothold within the United States.

SNIP

In an interview on French national televisionย , former French Foreign Minister Roland Dumas said that the USโ€™ chief ally, Britain, had planned covert action in Syria as early as 2009โ€Šโ€”โ€Šafter US intelligence had clear information according to Flynn on al-Qaedaโ€™s threat to Syria:

โ€œI was in England two years before the violence in Syria on other business. I met with top British officials, who confessed to me that they were preparing something in Syria. This was in Britain not in America. Britain was preparing gunmen to invade Syria.โ€

http://www.mintpressnews.com/officials-islamic-state-arose-from-us-support-for-al-qaeda-in-iraq/208790/

For further information I also suggest doing a search on the words between the quotes: “Sibel Edmonds Gladio B”.

27. Maybe just maybe when Trump plans of destabilisng govts by abandoning free trade and the impact reaches the Carribbean shores maybe just maybe these small usland nations would realise and understand the meaning of force by numbers
    This might be the wake up call that small nation islands needed in order for Caricom to work
    Better late than never

28. @Gabriel

The Muslim extremism is soaked with a lot of rhetoric. You are fighting an ideology on one hand and lawless born of social dysfunction the other. How does one fight it with guns and wall?

29. AC

You and the majority of blacks in the political class are ensuring the eventual subordination and immiseration of black people in this region by pushing CARICOM

Stop it. We will be engulfed and crushed underfoot by the East Indians. Learn the obvious lessons from the effing post WWII history of Guyana.

30. Guess you would prefer to be crushed by the ultra right who have vowed to shut off america from the rest of the world a process which would crushed every developing nation to the bone

31. @Gabriel

The Muslim extremism is soaked with a lot of rhetoric. You are fighting an ideology on one hand and lawless born of social dysfunction the other. How does one fight it with guns and wall?

32. Amazing.
    Third World leadership have told us for generations that the US and the UK are imperialist states. Blood-sucking exploiters stealing prosperity from places like the Caribbean.

Now Trump comes along and calls your bluff. No more trade and immigration with the US if you don’t want it or won’t behave.

And so the begging bowl miscreants like AC are all in a panic. How can we survive without the United States?

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin December 22, 2016 at 12:47 PM
    โ€œIt is our fault that for the last fifty years we have allowed a number of opportunists to grab the reins of political power and lead us astray.
    Now the same vacuous idiots are recolonising us, this time with the Chinese. If you think European racism is bad, wait until the Chinese and Indians take control.โ€

But Hal they (Chinese and Indians) have already taken control; not only in the Caribbean but also on the Motherland.

The white man is an easy payback target for blacks and a ready-made alibi for their failure to take control of their own social and economic destiny.

How else do you explain the importation and sale of condemned chicken wings and synthetic (plastic) rice? When you depend on other people to be fed and be clothed you can no longer claim to be people of โ€˜independentโ€™ means.

Too many blacks are easily bought for the offer of free food and trinkets.

Maybe its their manifest destiny to be hewers of wood and drawers of water for the other races.

Maybe they have served Mother Natureโ€™s purpose in the grand scheme of things and are at the point of biological extinction on the evolutionary timetable.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes December 22, 2016 at 2:31 PM

Glad to see you are aware of one of history’s great military figures.
    Many in the world of ISIS fancy themselves as the reincarnation of Saladin.

BTW, what do you read into the move by the USA to ‘redeployโ€™ heavy tanks and other heavy weaponry on European soil as a show of force to the emboldened Putin after his victorious forays into the Middle East?

Would Donald Trump follow through with this baring of (false) teeth by the totally crippled duck on his way out the black and white house?

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/qKuu307nHw2

Always some scam to rake in millions and it’s always some excuse that the charity is for the sick, dead, dying, children, old folks…the parasites never stop, but the media got them on speed dial, nothing happens now that wont be exposed to the world.

36. Miller,
    You are more right than you imagine. When I write, it is from the experience of watching the decline of the once Great Britain.
    I have said here before, but I repeat: until the industrial revolution, the Chinese economy led the world for 800 years. It is their historic mission to return to the top of the tree.
    They are not trying to achieve this over a single generation; each succeeding generation is taught to take up the baton.
    To compare India with Chinese is silly. Indian culture is too corrupt to make any global impact. The Indian economy will implode.

37. In the 1970s we were told to learn Japanese because Japan was on a trajectory to bury the United States and take over the world economy with its high-quality products.

Now we are hearing the same claims about China.

Trust me. Don’t bother to learn Chinese.

38. @ Miller

Don’t mind that idiot.

He is only speaking ‘favourably’ about the Chinese because of the recent rapprochement between the British and the Chinese.

This is what his masters are telling him.

That is really what Brexit was, in the final analysis, all about.

On the one hand, the stinking British have made moves to betray the ‘western alliance’. And they can’t ally with both at the same time.

On the other, the Chinese have promised the British to be the centre for Chinese finance. And you should know they historical role in that.

This shit could hit the fan just now.

39. This brain dead goon is claiming I am speaking favourably about Chinese. Am I? Only a demented mind will see a historical fact as a favourable statement. He should go back in his box. He should have been aborted as a baby.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

robtwothirds
    “Is he talking about the dark days of the 30s when all his Grandparents, his Dad and Mum and the rest of his family, openly and often conspicuously, were ardent fans of Hitler and the Nazis?”

Ironic isnt it, US and UK were instrumental in stoking all the deep seated hatred in Europe that gave rise to Hitler from the 30s…forked tongue and two faced.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Especially the parasites in buckingham palace, that sleaze Philip is of German descent, just like Trump.

42. Philip is Greek. The Windsors are German.

43. The ‘progressives’ are at it again

North Carolina republicans just fooled them again

The Republicans made Democrats agree to the repeal of a ‘good’ ordinance as part of a legislative plan to repeal the LGBTQ legislation causing national boycotts.

After the progressive/democrats agreed and voted for the plan by annulling their own legislation.

The Republicans, immediately thereafter, refused to vote down the offending legislation about bathroom usage.

Progressives/democrats are igrunt

44. Philip and the Windsors are cousins.

The LGBT community has all rights to unfettered existence.

45. The title of this article should have been …
    END OF MAINSTREAM MEDIA AND THE AWAKENING OF PROGRESSIVES.

One must be aware of the ownership, the side of the fence they stand and the agenda by which the use of the machine was used and by extension, the use by Government via the CIA.
    It does not matter whether you choose to accept that much of its output was geared at misleading the public via propaganda and subliminal manipulation to control the collective consciousness to accept whatever edicts that where disseminated or intentions.

“CHANGE” was a popular narrative yet not in the way fore-planned but came in the form of an awakening of the masses to the game plan of the use of the machine, even as in some incidences of news coverage, many a times the report came before the actual incident.

PROGRESSIVES as defined… large numbers of people, in certain structures, formations.
    Plans are made and are unmade. Progressives might have determined that by power, control and investments that preferred outcomes were inevitable, SORRY, wake up, they are variables and ultimate control does not belong to you, you should now be awakened.

Trump will reverse the slide into global slavery and poverty, will halt corruption of all forms against humanity, opponents In time will reverse their opinions and reinstitute basic freedoms and rights, make corrective policies in all departments and repeal all executive orders that are not conducive to enrichment, empowerment and equality while ending programs that impacts negatively on the environment. Promote real healthy trade, tighten immigration policies and enhanced foreign relations while improving global economic recovery. It is left to be seen if he will disclose and end secret ops on and off world.

A close eye must be kept on Chinese investments within the Caribbean, for as in the USA, they own a large percentage of corporate business and boast of partial ownership of the USA and also of the USA indebtedness to them. Trump will reindustrialize the USA again.

Is the USA owned the British? Who runs the FERDERAL RESERVE?… TRUMP is not of their house, they are concerned and worried.

The Middle East has been bombarded with beta frequencies from Tesla Type Arrays for quite sometime and this has promoted a violent mentality, add ideology and objective with funding and you have a controlled war machine ….add injury to insult by promoting open borders globally and you have a cocktail for world dominance. SORRY, Trump and Russia and soon to be a coalition of nations will remove this threat, should Hillary been elected, this agenda would have been advanced.

When Caribbean nations are free of masonic influences, CARICOM will work. Everything needed to sustain life is found in our collective territories. Present Free Trade Agreements were never designed to enrich territories other than the USA, with Trump you will see a greater ease of trading not as yet experienced and with that CARICOM must get their act together NOW.

MUSLIMS are humans too, they have been violated unbeknownst to them, there is no greater healing than the power of LOVE. Millions have been uprooted, killed. There is no place like home and the world especially the USA owe it the Muslims to remake their homeland and create that environment for safe and happy living. As far as the infiltration of the threat of Terrorist on home soil makes the gun and wall a necessity but not the ultimate solution.
    Last words…”taking an all out war to them” is really a last ditch effort to stage another military industrial complex war on behave of the cabal… its a prodding subliminal incitement to war and an attempt to sway public opinion…. here the adage of LOVE not WAR is applicable.

……”Progressive forces have frog marched the Western world and its satellites (like Barbados) into a Promised Land of mass abortion, euthanasia, gender fluidity, same-sex marriage, and unbridled feminism, complete with show trials of emasculated men (for โ€œsexual assaultโ€ and such).” ……ALL UNDER THE DEMOCRATIC WATCH….one once said that the next step beyond Democracy is TYRANNY.

…..” the role of the Soviet union in the massacre of the Syrian people in Aleppo.”… It is not fair to make such a statement about Russia massacring Syrians, for a cry was made for help from the siege of those who 1. were being used to oust the Government and 2. from those who were holding Syrians hostage. If you are a soldier on the battle field, have the balls to fight the fight and not hide behind the civilian for in doing so you are not worth your weight neither fit for the fight. Those who could not escape or being used as human shields were caught between a rock and a hard place. Aleppo had to be liberated, sadly they became collateral damage.

IN conclusion …
    “The peoples of the world were, long time ago, sold out by the progressive agenda. It was, of late, essentially a response to Communism and gave yeoman service to right-wing forces thus creating the illusion of political pluralism, mass mobilization around social needs. Now that the Right has discovered that they can create populism, of the Right as well as the left, those alt-Right forces will soon deem left-wing populism and progressives themselves totally unnecessary.”
    …..at the end of the day, regardless of whichever side of the fence you stand, your ideology et al, there is one common thread, and that is to make it a better place for future generations, whether that means that it is attained by subjugating one another, intellectual or financial deprivation et al, remember there is karmic responsibility and it better be a good expectation.

THE ABOVE ARTICLE IS WORTH ITS WEIGHT IN GOLD.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David December 22, 2016 at 11:30 AM re “We cannot allow extremism to force our societies to relinquish our values and what made us great. How Merkel reponds to the recent incident will be interesting. Does she cower or remand steadfast to what is right!”

Hooray on your first sentence. I read the piece awaiting some positive solutions with alternatives to the alleged cowardly and supine positions from the so-called progressives.

As excellent and discerning as the analysis surely is, it offers the same harsh rhetoric for a ‘war at all cost’ to the conservatives as they did to the liberals. That has gotten us no where and yet we continue this endless cycle to pain, discrimination and destruction.

I need not remind the enlightened here that at ever stage of US development immigrants were victimized: the Irish at one point; the Italians. The Japanese certainly and on and on. Today it’s folks from the mid-East being sweep up with the broad Muslim brush, who are now the victims.

This is a very different dynamic and it is too facile to blame some weak progressive agenda for the ills that befall us.

Additonally, how can one so glibly say that the “the defeat of Clinton is indeed emblematic of the perennial weakness of progressives.” Eh!

Hillary Clinton was a poor candidate. Despite her experience and gravitas she was absolutely corrupt and untrustworthy. She could not even dominate the female cohort as the first female president. She was ineffectual where it counted as that popular vote ‘Pyrrhic’ victory shows.

Her “over a billion dollars” war-chest was made irrelevant by the awesome coverage Trump generated for himself. I am sure that he has given renewed meaning to the dictum that all PR is ‘good’ PR.

Maybe Clinton did “(possess} a far superior case than Trump” but she did not MAKE that case. He made his. Resoundingly where it mattered most.

Coming after Obama, his ‘advantages’ had become albatross size disadvantages in the eyes of the man in the street: higher premiums on the ACA being the biggest.

Politically, a ‘third term’ was not a guarantee. I believe the records show that either party has managed that only once in the last 30 years or so.

Anyhow, we are all entitled to our views. The liberal agenda has been strong over the years and the conservatives have slowly clawed back those gains. They have no desire for comity and compromise and will not do so until their discriminatory, divisive agenda explodes.

Donald Trump will be the agent of that major explosion …and the liberals must be ready to aid his destruction even as they play nice and work with him PRACTICALLY to move the country forward.

And David, how could Chancellor Merkle ever ‘cower’ to terrorists. An East Berliner battling from her origins, now showing apprehension in the face of her country’s greatest threat! Verboten, or something like that they would say. Surely she will be steadfast.

47. @DPD
    Hillary Clinton was a poor candidate. Despite her experience and gravitas she was absolutely corrupt and untrustworthy.
    +++++++
    Itโ€™s amazing how easily some people are influenced by the narrative coming from Hillaryโ€™s opponents that we accept any allegation as fact. Did Hillary also kill Vince Foster? Can you substantiate the corrupt allegation? (Speeches to Goldman Sachs donโ€™t count as all these political talk meisters are contracted by Speakers bureaus to deliver speeches for money) People make enemies in politics and the Clintons have been around long enough for all sorts of accusations to be made against them and these accusations are fed by โ€œimportantโ€™ people like Gen Flynn the soon to be National Security advisor to the incoming President. Is Donald similarly corrupt? What about Trump University? What about his Charity? What about his sonโ€™s Charity? Is it a case of like father like son? How about the Coffee with Ivanka? What about the pre-inauguration gala with his sons (now withdrawn) which was a pay for play the same issue that Donald accused Hillary of being part of?

I agree that Hillary was a poor candidate who was perhaps not served well by her advisors, she didnโ€™t set foot in Wisconsin during the campaign and she lost that State by 10,000 votes. An able assist belongs to her husband Bill who went out of his way to talk to Atty. Gen. Lynch while Hillary was still under investigation by the FBI which effectively hamstrung Lynch and removed her from any oversight of the FBI investigation and allowed Comey โ€“ he of the messianic complex- to run the show and his initial announcement of an investigation (breaking a cardinal rule of not making any type of announcement so close to an Election) effectively cast doubts in enough votersโ€™ minds for them to switch their votes.

We have less than a month to the Kakistocracy, Middle East is heating up (never fear Jared is going to be Middle East envoy) and get a peace agreement. Russia is making noise about increasing its nuclear arsenal and Trump vows to do the same when he is not tweeting, a new arms race is on the horizon.

Time to reset the doomsday clock.