This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Months ago leader of the Opposition -in guarded language- hinted that all was not well with the South Coast Sewage plant. Barbadians on the ground who have interacted with the workers would have been aware of the unavailability of parts and tools to perform required maintenance on the plant. As expected the government remained loyal to its tried and trusted MO -to be silent. The few times it broke silence was to issue denials.

Successive governments have struggled with implementing effective maintenance programs. What is unraveling on the South Coast should therefore comes as no surprise. The latest report is that a part that is required to fix the sewage problem will take about three months to be installed.

Enough is enough!

Blaming the BLP will not resonate with Barbadians. This government through its agent the Barbados Water Authority found the resources to construct a 60 million dollar edifice on St. Barnabas Hill, the Sanitation Service Authority is currently constructing its headquarters at Vaucluse, YET, a few parts to fix the sewage plant on the South Coast and to make the Sluice Gate at Graeme Hall operational remains undone. How many blogs have been posted on BU to highlight the ramshackle sluice gate? The very gate the government refused assistance to make operational?

The BU household will continue to pray that the players charged with correcting the problem on the South Coast are able to move with haste. Already there are reports of cancellations by tourists and locals who traverse the area have has to tolerate the putrid smells emanating from one of our main tourist resort areas. All the gains accrued from the 50th anniversary have dissipated.

We now turn to the matter of accountability.

The PR stunt undertaken by Minsters Richard Sealy and John Boyce although understood given the threat to our tourist product trivialized the seriousness of the matter. Whether there is fecal matter leaking into public spaces or stagnant water and decaying matter from Graeme Hall swamp the average Barbadian and tourist who travel the area know there is a problem. There is the very bad smell AND the ‘weeping’ manholes. Then there is the video posted by the owner of a property on the South Coast.

The problem on the South Coast is indicative of how as a country we have managed several others. There is Combermere Secondary School now closed for 1 month because someone sabotaged the sewer covers IF we are to believe the principal. There is the Barrack transaction that has costed the taxpayers over 100 million dollars. What about the NCC and Employment Rights Tribunal matter? Alexandra Waterman Commission and CAHILL???

Against the forgoing shouldn’t Barbadians be calling for the immediate retirement of this government? At worse a few heads should roll.ย 

Today’s Nation newspaper is recommended reading -here is an extract:

Abracadabra connotes a sense that by mere pronouncements, great things take place. For instance, in this yearโ€™s budgetary presentation, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler told Barbadians that โ€œwith a concentrated effort by all parties we can at least have the City of Bridgetown ready for this type of business (duty-free shopping) before Christmasโ€. Just eight days shopping left, sir. Sinckler is particularly prone to over-promising in his Budget speeches as we can see in four extracts taken from presentations in 2010, 2011 and 2013 in addition to this yearโ€™s.

2010: โ€œReductions (of fees for public service vehicles) will be performance-based as operators will only be able to access these benefits if they have demonstrated proper standards on the public roads. Some of these will include the wearing of uniforms by employees while on the job; a drastic reduction in traffic violations; the elimination of the playing of loud and offensive music and generally good deportment.โ€ Proper standards? Good deportment?

2011: โ€œโ€ฆFollowing months of analysis and consultation, this government has decided to move ahead with the construction of a brand new multi-purpose, state-of-the- art cultural and performing arts centre. It is expected that the centre will be financed and constructed through a grant from the government of the Peopleโ€™s Republic of China and it is proposed that it will be located, once the Town Planner approves, on the land at Spring Garden opposite the Brandonโ€™s Beach facility in the constituency of St Michael North Westโ€ฆ.โ€ That was over four years ago, sir.

2013: โ€œThe National Housing Corporation, along with a private developer, is expected to begin work on the Exmouth Housing Complex in October of 2013. This is expected to inject Bds $33 million in investment in the housing market over the planning period with another 75 jobs to be created.โ€ Not so fast, Mr Minister.

-See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/91459/editorial-abracadabra-answer#sthash.D727mcCW.dpuf

116 responses to “This Government Needs to ‘Retire’”

1. Wishful thinking!I

David, it ain’t going to happen until someone capable of arousing the collective conscience of the nation does it as Donald Trump did it in America.
    I have been saying this prior to Clarke and Donald Trump, who by the way proved my hypothesis by his unprecedented and somewhat surprising victory over Hillary Clinton.

2. When a government has not only lied to its people but has constantly shown them that the love is over for their country.; it is time for them to do the honourable thing and call an early election. If said government having just about ruined the tourism product by putting tax-payers and/or borrowed and/or funded money into places that are questionable (very questionable) while ignoring a situation that can cause not only the shutting down of the tourism industry and not just on the south coast but right up the west as currents go, but seriously puts the health of a nation at risk – then it is time for them to do the right thing. Show the people of this country that they are loved and cared for by admitting defeat of proper management and stepping down. There is no shame in this. There is much to be admired by such a show of love of country at this time when it is celebrating the 50th Anniversary of Independence.

3. The haywired DLP government is on preretirement until 2018, according to MoFA Maxine

4. These are the very worse possible kind of people to have in government.
    THEY HAVE NO SHAME.

Stinkliar lies constantly, shamelessly and incessantly. Only in Barbados would anyone actually listen to ANYTHING that he says and believe any of his words.
    The Prime Minister is a goat…. pure and simple.

They will not resign; call elections; or change behaviours; …. simply because their have all become agents of a greater force which is beyond their control or understanding.
    It is that same ‘force’ which have led them to build the monument on the Garrison, and which highlights a well-known, and long documented characteristic symbol of that force…..

We can just prepare for some heat….
    The shiite is just the beginning.

5. Bewiched Bajans I am asking you this question.Having held hands in a show of national pride, you would have witnessed the passage of the milestone.How much longer do you intend to endure the encumbrance of the millstone slung around ya necks?

6. The fortunate few have always had and continues to have what in basketball parlance is known as”a clear path to the basket”. When was the last time that anyone from that select group say in our parliament? Yet their bidding is done.I want to remind Barbados that a rose by any other name is still a rose. In 2008 right there by the Bussa statue , even though it was given another name We accepted A COVENANT OF HOPE. Any incoming administration should have more than a two thirds majority.We need to be told what plans are on the cards to ensure that there will be no repetition of empty promises a la Crooked David Thompson.

7. Evidently they don’t need to sit in our parliament to frustrate the efforts of poor and middle class Barbadians. How do we rectify this madness? Understand and appreciate the power and worth of your ballot. If you sell your ballot you are selling your country. Use it wisely.Donald Trump is now President Elect all because too many failed to recognize the importance of participation in the exercise. Wake up Bajans!

8. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

And a Marigold by any other name is still a Stinka Missy. Yes . There is always hope. But active hope involves good planning and execution of the plan. So roll up your shirt sleeves and let there be a feasible plan.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The government ministers spent the last 9 years lying to and disrespecting the over 1/4 million people on the island who gave them the opportunity to prove that they are capable of managing a country, they failed miserably, so what did the ministers expect would happen when they are too ungrateful to ever put their own people first. ..the same people they now so desperately need for the next election win.

Dennis Lowe should be fired and Fruendel will be fired for not firing Dennis Lowe.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Wait, didn’t Lowe get some stupid international title re the environment, it’s good those who gave him the title are now able to prove how little he cares for and how much he neglects his own environment.

Those titles are their downfall, they are all mentally incapable of living up to any title.

11. What is fascinating is that the debt ceiling has been raised by $1billion and now to hear that the costs of rehabilitating the water and sewerage systems is $1billion.

12. Something has to be wrong with our thinking when ‘retirement’ is to be our saviour from an entrenched elected dictatorship.

Are we not then slaves to this wicked system?

13. @Pacha

Yes we are bar a revolution Castro style.

14. We must revisit the Constitution and the Mandate of Governance when the new body of thinkers are established.

15. We have a crisis of governance. Successive governments have failed us and this is where we now find ourselves -a banana state. And to think we have invested billions in education. Maybe Professor Drayton who delivered the Independence lecture a couple weeks ago may want to recant.

16. RETIRE HELL, they need to be SHOT in a public square execution.

17. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

nineofnine December 16, 2016 at 9:45 AM #
    We must revisit the Constitution and the Mandate of Governance when the new body of thinkers are established.

EXACTLY.

The people we need to lead this country will never willingly jump into the sewage pit that is Bajan podium politics. Those new thinkers who think they would soon suffer reality checks.

The only way to attract the right non-partisan people to governance is to de-politicise the Senate.

Remove paragraphs (2) and (3) and the word ‘Seven’ from (4) of section 36. of this document.

http://www.oas.org/dil/the_constitution_of_barbados.pdf

Add a clause giving the Senate judiciary powers in instances of national importance.

Then we have a better chance of getting the OVERSIGHT and CONSEQUENCES we need to deal with the Civil Service, Cabinet and MPs.

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Frustrated Businessman
    De-politicising the Senate is a sound idea. Putting all the power of Senate appointment in the GG’s hands does make the appointment of a ‘yardfowl’ GG all too likely. Unfortunately I do not have a better suggestion at the moment.

19. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

peterlawrencethompson December 16, 2016 at 10:44 AM #
    @Frustrated Businessman
    De-politicising the Senate is a sound idea. Putting all the power of Senate appointment in the GGโ€™s hands does make the appointment of a โ€˜yardfowlโ€™ GG all too likely. Unfortunately I do not have a better suggestion at the moment.

The issues have been debated for eight years. I am yet to hear another solution or even a stop-gap that would come close to this simplicity and effect.

I would go further.

Check the Yellow Pages under ‘Associations’. Pick any 21. It would be best if they were relevant to the ministries they would be tasked to oversee but not necessary. Mandate the chosen associations to have internal elections to send up their senator.

Voila, the democratic process is preserved, less yardfowls, more people who actually know their job, less political bullshit.

Barbados has degenerated at all levels of society due to lack of management oversight and consequences.

20. @ Frustrated B
    Boss, how are you quoting from the BUP manifesto …without the required references…? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Well said!

21. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Surprised at the use of the word adacadabra.
    It seems as id the testosterone level is on the increase in the island.
    Also surprised at ‘the tone’ of some comments made by some of the posters. The government is p*ssing off people of all races.

@Bushie
    You should direct folks to the 10 points pan. Simply replacing batteries is not going to save Barbados.

22. This government is taking this country down the path of destruction. What have they done for this nation in the last 8 years..

(a) Citizens have lost their money in CLICO – Government has done nothing

(b) The promises made to fix ZR Bus Stand. – Nothing done (the politicians and their
    family do not have to catch a ZR)

(b) The problems at the Combermere School seems to be going the route of Louis Lynch
    Secondary – will left to be seen what will be done

(c) The water problem and now the Sewage problem…the only thing I keep hearing is that
    these two problems were here before the DLP took over.

The politicians in the DLP are a group of disgraceful, incompetent bunch of people. All I heard during the debate in the Senate is Errol Barrow did this and that. They should be ashamed to call Mr. Barrow’s name. He did so much BUT what have they done NOTHING but talk. I am so tired of these people.

23. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

It is clear that the current set of ministers is in above their head, the island is regressing and mediocrity is becoming the norm.

Has the replacement team proposed solutions that seem able to address these problems or will we be here making the same statements but exchanging a D for a B? Are they up to the job? ZIIs it simply redistributing the fatted calf?

Given our spiral to hell, these questions must be asked.
    Is an albino-centric education superior to that of a UWI education?
    Does an albino-centric education instill values that UWI cannot?
    Can we survive in a post albino-centric world? So far the answer is no…

I wonder how many are longing for the days of “God save the queen”. Clearly what we are writing on History’s page is not that great.

24. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Seriously, How do makewe get this island to work properly?y Simply swapping a B for a D is a complete waste of time.

25. The following excerpts were taken from the DLPโ€™s 2008 election manifesto, under the heading: โ€œ22 Good Governance.โ€

โ€œThere is therefore a need to clean up politics in Barbados. The Democratic Labour Party has selected a team of CLEAN, CARING, COMPETENT and committed politicians who have signed on to a code of conduct, that promises Good Governance.โ€ [Page 46]

โ€œThe DLP administrationโ€™s attitude to accountability will be based on the understanding that as servants and representatives of the people there can be no secrets or matters to be hidden from the population.โ€ [Page 47]

โ€œA major failing of government under the BLP over the past thirteen years has been its reluctance to take the people of Barbados into its confidence and explain to them what it has been doing on their behalf. There has been an absence of informative Press Conferences and releases which inform Barbados about government activities and its dealings. Parliamentary questions raised by the peopleโ€™s representatives are ignored. Reports from the Auditor General are disregarded.โ€ [Page 47]

After 8 years and 10 months at the helm of government, the status quo remains.

List the names of the clean, caring competent and committed politicians in the DLP?

The first sentence of the last excerpt could be rewritten as: โ€œA major failing of government under the DLP over the past eight years and ten months has been its reluctance to take the people of Barbados into its confidence and explain to them what it has been doing on their behalf.โ€

I’m against the government retiring because we usually associate retirement with pension. And these guys have not anything deserving of them receiving pension.

26. This virus appears to be a Caribbean thing,part of the post-colonial exercise…..we await the cure.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/16/a-plantation-parliament/

27. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

Vincent Haynes December 16, 2016 at 1:32 PM #
    This virus appears to be a Caribbean thing,part of the post-colonial exerciseโ€ฆ..we await the cure.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/16/a-plantation-parliament/

True words, no mystery here.

Animal Farm moved from the ‘fiction’ to the ‘current affairs’ section of the library.

Just like Dippa did with his ‘not another cane blade’ speech, those among us who achieve power will always defer blame for poorly wielding it.

None have been so blatantly stupid as our current lot though, still blaming a gov’t of nine years ago for their failings of yesterday, last month and last year.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Gazer
    this is exactly the challenge. Swapping a B, or any other letter guarantees no solution, just a different set of people to blame.

The core of the problem is money. Financial mismanagement always comes back to haunt us, for to do most things we need money. And this mismanagement didn’t begin yesterday, or 8 years ago.

we write our NAMES on history’s page, with EXPECTATIONS great.

We are still writing our names, yet the confidence is taking a hit. The expectations are getting lower every year, and those who can fix the problem are bailing like rats off a sinking ship. They want no part of it.

The PRIDE of which the anthem speaks, has become an overt arrogance. No wanton boast? Social media has ensured this is not true, and our ignorance is on display daily. The island has been wallowing in shit for years, its manifestation is now making a visual appearance for those who doubted.

29. I seem to remember ITAL was to have been passed within 100 days of assuming office in 2008 but my memory sometimes plays tricks!!

30. Vincent
    It’s 400 years of mental conditioning that has worked to the detriment of Caribbean societies.It won’t go away in a hurry unfortunately.Might take another 400 years!By then the world might be peopled with majority browns,the albino class extinct by miscegenation.

31. OXFAM says Barbados ranked as one of the worst Tax Havens, check the last blog.

It’s funny, OXFAM is a product of the Quaker movement!!

http://www.quakersintheworld.org/quakers-in-action/313

Once upon a time Barbados itself was built on Quaker principles.

That’s where the INDUSTRY in our MOTTO originates although I doubt if any Bajans knew that.

…. nothing about pride, but the Quakers were all about INDUSTRY.

There is something fundamentally wrong with the path we have taken since Independence.

It is really as if the devil has us leading!!

32. … BT may have a point … or maybe three!!!

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The government buried a pitch fork, a damn pitch fork in a ceremony and the shit flowed, that’s their legacy, 4 generations will be talking about this for another 100 years.

34. It is not just the government that needs to retire. I hav just made a decision to stop buying the UK Edition of the Nation.
    I cannot understand, or appreciate, the nonsense written every week by one Toni-Ann Johnson, Yuh Gawh Be Kidding.
    What this silly column does for journalism, or Barbadian culture, is beyond me. However I am not prepared to pay for that indulgence and many of the other stupine columns in the crudely gathered up UK Edition.
    I am outta of there.

35. @ John

The DLP party is fighting the devil who want his due, taking David Thompson,turning the present PM uglier and havoc on the ministers whole body,( you hear Lowe lately) is not enough, we the people that allow them to govern us, will always suffer collateral damage

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington. December 16, 2016 at 8:54 AM
    โ€œThere is always hope. But active hope involves good planning and execution of the plan. So roll up your shirt sleeves and let there be a feasible plan.โ€

Feasible plan my Bushie (tail) donkey!

A plan without financing to implement it is just like a document prepared by a class of first degree students in a school of management and business studies and headed by the likes of that ‘ac’ of B U.

There is only one plan on this governmentโ€™s (or its successorโ€™s) agenda. An IMF plan based on a list of codes determining the future financial management and direction of that corporation called Barbados.

Now which lending agency CDB, IADB or otherwise would lend Bim $1 billion without a โ€˜structuredโ€™ IMF supervised programme in place to curb the โ€˜corruptingโ€™ proclivities of politicians in charge of a ripening banana republic?

The current shitty state of affairs of effluence from the South coast (and soon Bridgetown) sewage system and which has been โ€˜actingโ€™ up for the last three years is ample evidence the monkeys running the show are just downright incapable of the doing the job at hand
    What say you now, BC? Time to visit the banker of last resort before the shit fully hits the fan and the whole economy fallsto pieces?

This shitty situation can be seen as a blessing in disguise. A saleable alibi to go cap in hand to the loan sharks of economic pain and suffering. Unless, of course, you have another homegrown 24 month plan ร  la Stinkliar.

37. We need to do remedial work to the roads asap.

Another embarrassment for once proud Barbadians.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

This is a message to the following soldiers in the army to save Barbados from a mob of thieving wild boys and mad men who know not what they are doing:

Piece Uh de Rock yeah Right (Old Sage PUDRYR).

Colonel Buggy (the old soldier in pictorial arms).

Prodigal Son (the Daniel who has been warning of the doom and gloom this current Dangerous Lying Party forming the current political administration is doing to Barbados and wreaking havoc upon its people and visitors to her once pristine shores).

Loyal Soldiers of the BU army, your country needs you more than ever! Get on your keyboard and Rise to verbal arms in this cyber war of words!

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Watchman December 16, 2016 at 2:56 PM

“The DLP party is fighting the devil who want his due, taking David Thompson,turning the present PM uglier and havoc on the ministers whole body,( you hear Lowe lately) is not enough, we the people that allow them to govern us, will always suffer collateral damage”

Watchie,

There is an old saying (proverb) in the book of morality.

‘Those who allow liars to continually lie to the public, the devil will eventually spit in their faces as reward. ‘

Lying is a curse and ugliness its payment.

40. Yea the rallying cry next election will be….LET US MAKE BARBADOS GREAT AGAIN

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/12/16/vauclause-recycling-project-on-track-says-cherry/

Is this what Dennis Lowe and Bizzy “give me” was trying to stop.

42. Sorry of message. Live on BBC world aervice

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p04kqdrt

43. The poor hapless DLP is a party that must call Errol Barrow’s name to remind Barbados of its relevance.Lets get this clear.Errol Barrow has left this place some will say he lost his relevance since 1975 in the St Philip by election won by David Simmons.Bree and OSA followed Tom and both put Barbados first.EWB was followed by Sandy better known for his obstinacy and nothing else as PM.Thompson was a failure on account of poor health and Stuart is poorer for Thompson’s passing because based on what Mia said and what Maxine said I read between the lines that the failure to get that loan in place was the long known vendetta and bad blood between Estwick and the fool Sinckler.All you Dems are a pack of liars and Barbados is in the pits now with the problems on the South Coast.The DLP is notorious for cavalier management of resources.We all know that.Time to pressure their asses out of office.South Coast businessmen start walking and start demanding resolution.Dont take any stop gap crap from Stuart,Sinckler and McClean.Rise up now and save Barbados from more failures.

44. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@miller 3:34 PM

If one does not have a feasible plan no Financial Institution will lend money. Finance is not the problem. What one does to correct the fundamental problem is the real issue. Finance, if you really need it, assists in bridging the gap between where you are and where you want to be.

45. And do not forget which party was said to have “lost it soul” by its former leader OSA before his official departure a damming indictment from a leader who had served the blp party for many years
    Also a man who would have known where all the skeltons are buried by some members of the party
    The long and short of this meaningless exercise in futilty hng on a fuselage to incite and encourage deception and division which is laughable had not for the fact that we are living in a technological age where facts does no longer matter
    Asking the govt to retire is as good asking OSA to return to the blp. Not going to happen
    So there u have it a toothless article with whimsical chants

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington. December 16, 2016 at 7:10 PM

So BC, are you saying that the many plans of economic recovery the present administration has been undertaking have been just a waste of time because they have not borne any fruit to qualify as being feasible in the first instance?

The MoF would be most disappointed in your lack of confidence in both him and his many plans.

Three years is rather long time for a 19 month economic recovery plan to bear fruit and provide some form of sustenance to a country even if paid for by way of the imposition of higher taxes right through the period of sacrifice for the sake of economic salvation.

Is it the plan or the planner(s) who is unfeasible in the first instance?

Inspiring leadership coupled with sound management is the key to the effectiveness of any plan whether for social, economic or any other form of human development or improvement.

If your administration had done a โ€˜Sandifordโ€™ in 2013-14 as in 1991-92 and gone to the IMF with an agreed and workable (feasible) plan of a bailout for that missing $300 million in forex in true abracadabra style with no condition of the dreaded Devaluation attached, maybe, just maybe, a Stuart cum Sinckler plan would have saved the day and prevented what is certainly on the cards for 2017.

In numerology 2017 adds up to the number ten (10).

Maybe the first of the ten plagues equivalent to those which afflicted Egypt in the Biblical story of Moses is about to visit Barbados.

Since the shit is about to hit the tourism fan any number can play.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 16, 2016 at 7:36 PM

“Asking the govt to retire is as good asking OSA to return to the blp. Not going to happen”

Neither was OSA going to be returned as P M in 2013.

Neither was Privatization. And so, neither will Devaluation.

So are you forewarning us that Fumble is planning a Mugabe on Bajans by remaining in office until his black skin drops off his skeleton?

48. If we accept that the BLP is responsible for all the problems this country has experienced over the last eight years, then I am on bended knees with clasped hands and closed eyes begging Froons and his bandits to please, please, please give it back to the BLP and let them clean up their mess. Hear muh prayer. Ah cahn tek it nuh mo.

49. Bro u asking for too much. After cleaning up who would dare let the dirty birds in the house again

50. Steupsss
    Froon and his bunch of demons CANNOT retire. – even if they wanted to…. they may even be re-elected …if the BLP sticks with Mia as leader… like the DNC insisted on Hilary.

Wunna think that de Devil easy nuh…?

Once yuh hooked, it is hell to escape… and with that monument in place, wunna should KNOW who running things bout here ….