Are We Witnessing the Demise of Combermere Secondary School?

138 responses to “Are We Witnessing the Demise of Combermere Secondary School?”
-
COW went toCawmere and Bizzy went tolodge
-
When will we get beyond this notion that a secondary school eduction in Barbados of all places is to be held in high esteem. You got people in Barbados walking around thinking themselves important because their have attended a school of national reputation in Barbados. And some of these guys mind you, have little or no university education whatsoever, but are made to feel important because their have attended one of these nationally acclaimed secondary schools. Listen! A progessive society does not boast of a secondary school education because of particular academic institution that has a reputation of producing the leaders of a country. It is at tertiary level where the character of the future leaders are formed and not at the secondary school level.
-
Vincent:
Tell that to those who went to Eaton, harvard, Tokyo University etc… This happens in every society so you have to live with it. Say something bad about Harrison College and Money Brain will get you!!! Not true, most leadership potential is formed at the secondary level. Vincent you like you aint went no where and this may be a tirade in sour grapes!!!!
-
Bushie, are you kicking down the ladder. I have seen here where you make reference to cawmere week and meeting folks like Caswell, in cognito.
-
Seems to me the well/septic is leaking and the fumes are pervading the school. This school is not that old. Was it not moved from Weymouth in the late fifties? In the old days, wells were lined with limestone so that the water leached out and the solids remained. What types of wells do they have there? Have they been checked? Have they been emptied? All those smart Combermerians and none can come up with a suggestion.
-
@Bajans perhaps during the construction of the school at Waterford, some of these wells might have been partially block off , and in recent years have been gradually opening back up. Weymouth , the former location was notorious for flooding, so much so that the building began to sink,and had to be propped up with some massive wooden beams to sort of stablize it. The Transport Board moved in to Weymouth sometime during the very late ’50’s.
I recall a situation in the mid 1960’s ,on the approach of a hurricane, all the buses were moved to higher ground, to the compound of Combermere school, where the engines of some of these buses were knackered due to severe flooding. -
@Dompey November 17, 2016 at 8:32 PM . “It is at tertiary level where the character of the future leaders are formed and not at the secondary school level.”
Actually I would think that character formation begins long BEFORE one starts formal schooling.
If character formation does not begin before the age of 4, this is exactly what you get. Wall Street barons who do not know right from wrong:
http://www.bbc.com/news/business-38013723
JP Morgan was found to have designed a scheme to hire otherwise unqualified candidates for prestigious investment banking jobs solely because they were introduced to the bank by officials who could give it business. -
@Hal Austin November 17, 2016 at 3:47 AM “Up and on.”
Et tu, Brute?
-
Peter Harris went to Cawmere too?
-
@ lemuel (9:21 PM)
Bushie was assuming that the level of understanding on the blog was such that complex points could be made …with the expectation that such would be generally understood.
Bushie may have erred…Look around you ..and you will see that ‘evil’ is overwhelming ‘good’.
Wisdom has fled our world..
Idiots are running things…
…in Barbados
…in Europe, Africa, Asia…
…in Turkey
…in Venezuela
…in Brazil
..and shortly in the USAExtrapolate these trends boss!! ….. What do you get?
What place is there in this ‘new’ world ..for a school whose spirit is driven by the words…?
Foes in plenty we shall meet
Hearts courageous scorn defeat
So we press with eager feet
Up and on, Up and on
Ever upward to the fight
Ever upward to the light
Ever true to God and right
Up and on, Up and on.Shiite!!
The surprise is that Satan has not closed it down before…It is REALLY amazing that wunna fellows can look at the sky (or even better, at a satellite image) and predict rain, storm, sunshine etc….
But in the face of clear and ominous signs, no one manages to see the obvious….REALLY interesting times await….
-
So J.P Morgan was hiring the duncy children of big shots.
One big shot’s child had an attitude problem.
Another one had a sleep problem.
Still another one in a big job was deemed only really good enough to operate the photocopier.
Sounds familiar?
-
Re the Combermere issue. Most likely the place needs complete replumbing and the current sewer pipes and tank need to be cleared and sealed.
H2S is a poisonous gas and most likely source is the sewer.
It is not rocket science.
Only other option is a complete relocation.
-
Bushie:
We all know that you are the “wise one” of BU and the rest of us can comfortably embrace the title of dumb and dumber. But Bushie, one would think that after all of your extrapolations and extirpations, you would at least tell us or support an effort to allow this Cawmere to exist within the exigences of this prevailing world situation and the geopolitical attitudes which are associated with it. A fighter like you can not just tell us role over and die.
As for words, I am shocked and very surprised at this your position; for the entire infrastructure of BU is buttressed upon mere words. Are you saying as you wax philosophically warm, that words and the power derived therefrom are not of “power”!!! To be short, the spirit of Cawmere is much more than a mere song. Up and ON!!!
-
@Dompey November 17, 2016 at 8:32 PM ….. Your rant is purely personal grape juice sour from years of your crushed hopes at never attending one of those named secondary schools.
The remark “Listen! A progessive society does not boast of a secondary school education because of particular academic institution that has a reputation of producing the leaders of a country. It is at tertiary level where the character of the future leaders are formed and not at the secondary school level” does NOT gel with what I have read/experienced over the years.
Get off this Combermere or QC or St. Michael’s folly. People identify with what they perceive as excellence or with persons they perceive as achieving excellence. And they surely evolve their characters before and during secondary school NOT after.
It’s natural that the first Bajan schools where Black boys and girls could go and showcase their awesome abilities hold a very special place in their hearts and minds and obviously also with the many who entered years later.
It’s natural that many of those Bajans who experienced the esprit of those places feel proud to be associated therewith. Proud to be linked to perhaps the greatest persona in WI cricket and life in general in the person of Sir Frank Worrel who went to Combermere; that they feel overwhelming pride that their St. Michael’s school has been the incubator of many other great Bajans.
But don’t any of us who went to Parkinson or Alleyne et al have the right to feel proud too! Of course. Nuff really outstanding people went through those doors also.
Didn’t a great man launch his Modern Secondary School and guide that and the many outstanding Bajans with the same esprit de corps of any other named school?
Incidentally in places like New York there are a bariffle of people who publicize their tenures at schools like Brooklyn Tech, Stuyvesant or Bronx Science or even Catholic schools like Bishop Loughlin. Some of the best and brightest entered the doors at these top high schools and have no problem saying so loudly (well before the Catholic scandals, anyhow).
So go and refresh your wine, fah real. Big-up your own school and your own strong purpose of togetherness and leff de other people to theirs, nah.
Mek yah own fine wine and if you can’t – as it appears – then go and buy some. Lots of schools and lots of wine sellers!
-
lemuel November 17, 2016 at 9:11 PM #
What on earth are you talking about??
Kindly reference the post.
-
Now that it’s been decided that environmental challenges can cause the abandonment of a second school, especially one with the historic significance of Combermere School, let us hope that The Central Bank, Hilton Barbados, The Public Buildings, Government House etc. are not similarly affected. Perhaps we should apply this determination to the government; does it smell bad, is it a danger to the society, is it a threat to our health, is the future of our children endangered? Maybe the time has arrived for abandonment.
-
@ FearPlay
This is not new…
You must be aware of the number of government buildings, vehicles, plant and equipment and other valuable capital assets that are sitting idle – for lack of some relatively minor maintenance or upgrade.That building on Fairchild street is a monument to stupidity and waste.
The St Joseph hospital should have been a wake up call for Bajans
The abandoned buses parked in the various depots – many of which can be fixed for less than $1000.00 and some common sense…Did they not look to dump the QEH recently?
Look along our coastline – at the dilapidated structures rotting on what is probably the most blessed coastline ANYWHERE….We have jackasses leading us … and they are not even smart by jackass standards….
-
What epitomizes the mismanagement of this government is the knocking down of the Fairchild Street Market to allow the location to be a haven for rats etc.
-
@Bush Tea
Looks like you are flummoxed for a solution to the environmental mess at โCawmereโ and are reverting to the usual verbiage about the evils in the world. We are aware that your alma mater is of extreme importance to you and one would hate for it to go down the proverbial tubes. The world is going to hell in a handbasket but we still need someone or some Agency to tell us what is wrong at โCawmereโ, unless this information is forthcoming the issue could rear its head at some other location.
You are right about maintenance, we donโt do maintenance there are many public buildings where there is no maintenance after completion, no one looks at the roof, the physical plant except the occasional weeding of the garden. I have visited some major cities in the world and see architectural marvels that are well over 100 years old yet the NIS building built in the last three decades has been condemned, I am yet to learn why the original Hilton was levelled and the Public library seems to be vying for the title of โFarley Hill in the Cityโ. If this trend continues we should select a site for a new BWA building to replace the edifice in the Pine, to be forewarned is to be forearmed.
-
Which department of Government is responsible for maintenance of government owned buildings?
-
@Sargeant at 10:23 AM …Well stated. The Bushman does appear quite flummoxed and there are buildings “in the world … that are well over 100 years old” and going strong.
However, on the latter there are also buildings across the US, Canada etc which have been condemned due to asbestos problems or where owners/landlords have been sued for millions due to lead poisoning issues.
The problem in Bim as the Blogmaster and others have clearly noted is the lack of information on the source of the problems and meaningful steps to fix them. It is uncomfortable and unconscionable that the issue at Combermere could reach such noise from the Minister and there is so great a lack of transparency on the issue.
It seems that the same reasons for the Louis Lynch closure (external issues ‘flowing’ back to the school) are not at play here although that would seem most rational, because just so all of a sudden the building couldn’t be ‘sick’.
Again my favorite city examples. I recall major water main damage throughout NYC back in the early and mid-nineties: the infrastructure whether 100 years or not had just reached its bursting point…literally.
If that’s the cawmere problem principally then it needs to be addressed not just there but at all older school and government buildings….obviously.
As the Blogmaster states this is a case of gross mismanagement…they did not create the problems but they are showing poor skills addressing them!
-
“He said the ministry decided to close the school after extensive tests failed to find the source of the environmental problem making students and staff sick”
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/89270/jones-hope-combermere#sthash.JwFOaFEw.dpuf
-
” extensive tests failed to find the source of the environmental problem making students and staff sickโ”
This calls for a thorough “forensic” investigation by EXPERTS.
-
Does one have to attend Harrison College to arrive at your conclusion?
-
Note asbestos was removed during the 90’s.
In my day the 60’s,I think our roll was around 700(Bushie can correct me,as his brains younger than mine),today I read that it was at 1100 and we have not increased the acreage.I wonder if overcrowding an area can cause such problems?
-
The irony is that the inability to resolve the issue at Combermere School makes a mockery of the promise we would have been able to monitor the gasification plant.
-
Yuh got dah one right.
Succesive govts do not have a good track record as far as maintenance is concerned,neither proactive or reactive one only needs to look at the many properties,roads,bridges,equipment,etc,etc allowed to decay.
-
@Vincent.
Yes the acreage has not increased but the physical plant has expanded with additional classrooms etc. On the whole though, the place is crying out for maintenance. -
Hants November 18, 2016 at 10:46 AM #
Which department of Government is responsible for maintenance of government owned buildings?
…………………………………………………………………………………………..
Looks like it is a free for all. We even had the NIS constructing a building in Collymore Rock for another Government Department. A far cry from when we had the Public Works Department, (PWD) a division of MTW. -
Vincent, Dribbler, Old Buggy, and sundry others, for your information.
!. Cawmere was first located at part of the space now occupied by the Ministry of education, in Constitution road.
2. It was relocated to Roebuck Street, after it outgrew the space. The building was occupied around 1944-45. By the early 1950’s Because of defective foundation, engineering, wrong construction or whatever, the building collapsed; during Prayers one morning, with severe injuries to many students.
3. The school was relocated to buildings which were housing the Education Department; no ministry of education at that time.
4. A new school was built at Waterford.
5. Some years ago it was determined; because of complaints by staff and students, and investigations that there was a problem with the sewage system, and the school was temporarily closed while this problem was resolved.
5. Shortly after there was concern expressed by the staff and some students, about the smell emanating from the blossoms of some trees to the east of the school. This was resolved.
6 The new problem that has emerged has not been fully investigated yet, and reports have not yet been submitted by the competent authority..
7. The Combermere Old Scholars Association is an old and revered, aS WELL AS IMPORTANT PART OF THE SCHOOL’S HISTORY. IT HAS AWARDED SCHOLARSHIPS TO STUDENTS DURING THE YEARS WHEN STUDENTS HAD TO PAY SCHOOL FEES. MY BROTHER WAS THE RECIPIENT OF ONE OF THOSE SCHOLARSHIPS. AT THE COMPLETION OF HIS STUDIES OVERSEAS, HE RETURNED, AND TAUGHT AT COMBERMERE, UNTIL HIS DEATH SOME YEARS AGO.
8. Rihanna has contributed to Cawmere, the country and its development and advancement. We at Cawmere are proud of her. We are proud of David Thompson. We are proud of the innumerable alumni, who have not only contributed significantly to the island, but who have also made their mark in the world. Charlie Skeete, Economist and employee with the World Bank, is an alumnus of Cawmere. Bushy is an alumnus of Cawmere, and many other illustrious sons and daughters of the soil.
9. Don’t be premature, let us wait and see what are the results of investigations, and what are the recommendations. There will never be a demise of Cawmere. The spirit of the institution will live on. That spirit “scorns defeat,so we press with eager feet, Up and on, up and on.” -
@Alvin Cummins November 18, at 7:16 PM re “There will never be a demise of Cawmere. The spirit of the institution will live on. That spirit ‘scorns defeat,so we press with eager feet, Up and on, up and on.’ ”
Sounds like the spirit I would expect from a cawmere alumnus fighting for their beloved school. Carry on smartly, with hearts courageous scorning defeat….as paraphrased from your school song earlier posted!
-
The national colors of Barbados seem to have originated with the Combermere School colours of gold and blue,which school colours are of the Drax family.I recall when Combermere celebrated its 300 th year of existence in 1995,the then Dean Harold Crichlow,one of the many distinguished scholars produced by the school,suggested that the school should be renamed Drax College.
-
Old Buggy;
No need to let others know that you did not go to Cawmere. You will admit though, that the site is beautiful, but those buildings are places for serious business. Cawmere is also in the serious business of training young minds, so we will find another site.By the way COW , and his younger brother Lionel did go to Cawmere, although they left after first form to go to Lodge. Bizzy went to Lodge.
Pacha;,
Excellence should always be celebrated and Cawmere has always; and will continue to be, a centre of excellence. Harvard, Yale, Princeton, University of Toronto, Yourk University, Ryers0on University, Oxford, Cambridge,, Upper Canada College, all centres of excellence are not numbered. You do not seem to understand the meaning of excellence, being satisfied with mediocrity. Caawmere alumni are proud of their school, and will not accept the attempt to denigrate this pride. We will overcome this small setback, and rise again triumphant. All we ask is that the students of Cawmere maintain their eyes on the goal of excellence, pride, and strength to overcome whatever odds are placed in their way.
Gabriel;
We don’t have to rename it Drax College. It will continue to be known as the University of Waterford. We will continue to produce top class people and scholars. -
Dribbler;
I am indeed an alumnus of Cawmere, and PROUD of it. It gave me the foundation for my future successes. It gave my brother the foundation that took him to Johns Hopkins to finish his Masters Degree in Music,It provided the foundation for so many great people. If you are not proud of your school, and prepared to stand up for it, that is your business. If Cawmerians extoll the virtues of their school, and are prepared to shout it from the rooftops, it is because we love our alma mater. We do not stop others from doing the same thing about their schools, that is their business. -
Alvin
Looks like you getting dotish…..I went to Cawmere as well in the 60’s….kindly do not lump me with non Cawmerians in your posts.
-
Vincent;
Humble apologies. Thought Vincent Haynes was a nom- de- plume. I think I know you now. Apologies again.
I cannot lump any Cawmerians with someone like Old Buggy, who wrote: “Having drove along the South Coast earlier tonight…”. He should know it should be “Having driven along…” Perko would have had a fit if such a sentence had been given to him.
To all former, Cawmerians; and even present
cawmerians, continue to be proud of your school. Present students, study hard, for what you put IN your heads cannot be taken from you. You may lose your home, household furnishings and other material possessions, but your knowledge can never be taken; except by physical problems. Be strong. UP AND ON!! -
@Alvin Cummins November 19, 2016 at 10:10 AM re “I am indeed an alumnus of Cawmere, and PROUD of it… it is because we love our alma mater. We do not stop others from doing the same thing about their schools, that is their business.”
Clearly understood. Also revert to my remarks to Mr Dompey earlier and in every regard and more you are preaching to the choir!
Now re David Thompson…you must be mad. Any Cawmerian who holds him in esteem still should be ‘read out’ as true blood brethren.
If you were in 5th or 6th form back in the CBC ‘Understanding’ days then David Thompson and people like Liz Thompson (I remember those two well) were notable young scholars. Subsequently people like Stephen Alleyne (age contemporary but I do not recall him from that show) was also a true tour de force.
NOW, anyone ‘seriously’ aggrandizing D. Thompson is an unworthy sycophant, Mr. Cummings. The sins of which he has been accused and validated with evidence are powerful enough to have his name removed as any ‘servant’ of the people. COMPLETELY.
So if Combermerians still revere him then they do so in memory of his battling wonderfully on that public affairs program. Period!
-
Combermerians in general have tossed DT under the bus.
A drive along Stadium Road we have the National Stadium stands -condemned, then Combermere -about to be condemned.
-
Alvin Cummins November 19, 2016 at 11:13 AM #
I cannot lump any Cawmerians with someone like Old Buggy, who wrote: โHaving drove along the South Coast earlier tonightโฆโ. He should know it should be โHaving driven alongโฆโ Perko would have had a fit if such a sentence had been given to him
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
And that is the root of the problem in Barbados. We concentrate so much on being Wordsmiths, and electing leaders who are Wordsmiths and not BlackSmiths, it’s no wonder that the infrastructure in Barbados is crumbling bit by bit by bit. Try using your Queen’s english, Alvin to put the collapse sewerage system on the South Coast, Spry Street and Shot Hall back in operation.
Jackass, big old hard back men ready to go back to the grave and still talking about school. -
Why are we allowing an alleged environmental issue to threaten the future of the only centre of excellence in Barbados. Instead the government should be spending more on Combermere and other schools to push talented pupils to their full potential,
The most important thing about an education at Combermere is that it gives you confidence in your ability and capabilities. Combermerians are not easily intimidated.
The only Combermerians who do not celebrate the spirit of Combermere are those did not shine at school or since.
Tell Old Etonians, Harrovians, and others that they should not celebrate their schools; school lays the foundation.
Belmont, St Giles and Combermere (until Stanton Gittens got his hands on it).
Up and on. -
Note Cawmere is a microcosm of Bim having produced Scholars and murderers,Priests and rapists,etc,etc.
-
@Vincent Haynes November 19, 2016 at 4:12 PM #
lol
-
Colonel Buggy November 19, 2016 at 12:08 PM #
Didn’t you read the P.M’s comparison of his silence to that of the pilot of an aircraft flying smoothly with no sign of conditions to cause turbulence ahead – lol?
-
Up and on! And did you know that the barbados flag which was raised fifty years ago was raised on a flagpole borrowed from Combermere School?
-
@Truthseeker
Really? Where can this information be verified?
On Sat, Nov 19, 2016 at 9:25 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:
-
I was a cadet recruit there at the time and it rings a bell.
If BT is who I think he is he may have a better recall.
-
I was there . A Boy Scout at the time. I guess you can check the Defence Force! -
A lot of the history about November 1966,might not have been written down, and have died with stalwarts like Colonels Banfield and Quintyne , who were both Majors in 1966.
-
I wanted to attend the town hall meeting which was held at Harrison College yesterday, but after reading what took place there in today edition of the Nation newspaper, I have no regrets over missing it because of a prior commitment.