Submitted by Heather Cole

History is repeating itself. Early in our history when controlling black slaves and white indentured servants became problematic, the legislature enacted a series of laws as a method of control. By 1650, the infamous set of laws that became known as the Barbados Slave Codes were enacted to maintain the control of the Slaves by the Planter Class.

In 2016, with similar dynamics, history appears to be repeating itself. Again in Barbados, a small group of persons are trying to exert control over the rest of the population. This time the pursuit of that control is over both black and white taxpayers and again Parliament is the mechanism that is being used. However, it is not through the enactment of laws but through the award of lucrative Government contracts and positions on statutory boards. In addition to this, the island’s garbage collection agency has been allowed to fail and the provision of water to the Northern Parishes is following a similar path to failure so that Government can privatize both services.

In essence the problems of Barbados are being cause by a minority of business men who have planned an economic takeover which is being facilitated by a politically weak Government. The problems are all intertwined; they are not separate problems and cannot be dealt with in isolation from each other.

Many have been critical of the Trade Unions of late including myself until I finally understood that you cannot fight the problems of a 2016 Barbados with an institution that was created to solve problems of the 1930’s. I was of the opinion, that the Trade Unions that were birthed during the struggles of the 1930’s were no longer equipped to handle the problems of Barbados which have long surpassed just labor.

I felt that the Unions should increase their mandate until a few days ago, when the Government unceremoniously demoted Akanni McDowall, of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW). Much has been written about it so I will not linger on it. What I will state is that it is a blessing in disguise.

For several months, something has been staring me full in the face and I could not see it. However, it was this Administration’s action that caused me to “finally see.” I want the Trade Unions to remain trade unions and to fight solely for workers’ rights.

However, I want History to repeat itself again because if trade union activity in Barbados was able to give birth to a political party in 1939, a trade union in 2016 can also give birth to a new political party in Barbados. Even back then the trade unions realized that defending workers’ rights was not enough to effect political action for change in Barbados so they created their own political party.

In essence, the Trade Union must realize that the problems that it is currently faces are much more than labor and that it must do as its predecessors have done and form their own political party. That is the only way they can be on a level playing field with this Government to fight fire with fire. In doing so the trade Union will again create what is no longer evident in Barbados “a labor party.” The dynamics of politics is Barbados can be changed if the trade unions form a political party. For one, it would spell doom for the Democratic Labor Party.

It took an entire generation to see the fruit of the 1930’s Riots which was political independence. That fruit was reaped during the 1960’s. Many of the players who held significant roles in the riots across the British West Indies died by the time their countries gained independence. They never lived to witness it.

Instead of gaining economic independence 2 generations after political independence, we are reverting not to colonialism but to a new form of economic slavery. We must never forget that our labor is for the next generation and not ourselves. The acid test of our success can only be measured by their success. If we do not do what is right for our country now, by default we would have set the next generation up for failure.

79 responses to “The Barbados Problem: A Trade Union Solution?”

1. STAND UP DOMPEY
    WHAT EVER YOU DID IN THE US ARMY…….YOU WERE IN THE US ARMY
    DO NOT LET ANY ONE PULL YOU DOWN
    IF YOU WASHED POTS SO WHAT?
    POT HAD TO BE WASHED FOR ALL THE SOLDIERS TO EAT
    THANK GOD HE GAVE YOU THE STRENGTH TO SERVE

2. Colonel Buggy (not Colonel Sanders) Avatar
    Colonel Buggy (not Colonel Sanders)

Georgie Porgie October 25, 2016 at 4:16 PM #
    When push come to shove and the enemy is at the back door, the Cooks ,Bakers and Bottle washers, have to discard their tools of trade and grab machine guns and grenades to defend their locations.
    How many of the Tankees or Footsloggers are able to vacate their tanks , APC’s, or well worn boots, and prepare healthy meals for troops.

3. A fellow on the block told me that Barbados’ position is too complex for the General -Secretary, and that someone with half of that title would be more suitable.

4. Bush Tea

Lol…lol..lol

10Th Mountain light Infantry Division baby, the only light infantry division in the entire US Military ready to mobilize and deploy with in 48 hrs. The Division saw action in Mogadishu, Panama, Grenada, Haiti, Iraq and Afghanistan baby, so you’re dealing with a tough cookie baby. Ask Well Well, the Division is located upstate NY an hour away from the Canadian border. Listen! I received my basic training at Fort Benning in Columbus Georgia so if you never heard about Fort Benning ask Colonel baby.

5. Bush Tea

What do you wish to in about BRM Basic Rifle Marksmanship? They’re three principles in shooting a rifle
    1) Aim
    2)Breathe
    3))squeeze

I let me let in on a secret in Urban Warfare when you’re clearing a house room by room, you carry your rifle short stock, and in open terrain you carry your rifle long stock. They’re four positions in which can shoot your rifle; the Foxhole position, the prone position, the standing position, and the sitting position.

6. Bush Tea

Let me let you in on the job of a cook in military for your information, so that you don’t look like a fool. A cook doesn’t participate much in our training because when we are do PT at 5 p.m. in the morning the cook is getting our breakfast ready. When we go to the field after PT the cook is getting lunch ready, and after lunch me might do some Land Navigation or weapons training the cook is preparing supper Bushie. Lol you idiot!

7. OK Domps…
    Looks like you were a crack infantryman…
    Don’t bother with the lecture…. 🙂

8. Bush Tea sorry made a mistake PT is at 5 a.m in the morning… could you believe when you’re deep in sleep we are training to save your black ass.

9. Bush Tea

When the battalion goes on a mission ( a battalion is four companies Bushie) we set up a perimeter and every company within that battalion has a Foxhole to manned, around the foxholes you have fighting positions and at the top of the perimeter you have the 60 Cal. At Stand -up you pull a 100% guard, and Stand- Down you go down to 10% guard. At stand -up you have a roving guard and a quick reactionary force to go outside of perimeter to search and Destroy the enemy Bushie.

10. Bush Tea

Came off of active duty and enlisted in the State National Guard for three years, at the 143th Military Police and pulled security at the airport during 9\11, when the governor called out the National Guard to work in conjunction with the State Police to secure the airport around state Bushie.

11. All right already Dompey…
    We get it…

Presumably this all happened after you had been fired from the hospital job for pulling out the heart monitor plug to charge your cellphone…? …right?

…and it was definitely BEFORE the fire…. where you next-door neighbour had to drag you out at the last minute…?
    Ok Boss, it all fits now….

12. @Caswell what are your thoughts? you said you are speaking up.

13. Bush Tea

😄😄😄😄😄😄😄… You want tah prove whether not I am cook … Lets going the range Bushie and see your boy in action. I bet I could hit you between your eyes and nose from 100 yards.

14. Bushie

I would take pleasure in putting one between you eyes and nose and then aa gain, I think the hand grenade or probably Claymore Mine would do a better job.

15. Dompey
    Recall doing a joint military exercise in BAOR, with an American mob, and all we heard from them was . ” Gee Mack! no ice cream no f***** war.”

16. @ ac,
    “The Unions back then were all content with all that was happening one can assure that with their end of the bargain not ruffled that the status quo of doing business as usual would not be part of their end game.”

To make a statement like that tells me that you know very little about the history of the Trade Unions in Barbados. A Trade union is a movement, it is dynamic not static. For your information, they were not content with the economic well being of black Barbadians workers who had no rights.

17. @ Bernard Codrington. October 25, 2016 at 10:57 AM #
    “Whichever party wins the election in 2018 has a lot of work to do”

Jesus C’rist .. you know the Parties have been continually screwing with the viability of our children’s future for decades, while they rake in all manner of short term personal gains for their insiders. Why would you want to suggest they would all of a sudden actually do something different and “do work”..? Why would Heather even suggest that having a new Party from the Trade Union move could actually solve anything .. The flipping business model is wrong. Political Parties are simply not designed to tackle systemic, long term issues ..

This idiot here intends to use the General Elections to make statements and invite any number of you to follow.

Statement no 1. Encourage the demise of the Party by requesting of as many people as you can to vote for an independent candidate or not at all

Statement no 2. Encourage the removal of the strangle hold that the legal fraternity now has in Parliament by requesting of as many people as possible to NOT vote for lawyers … 40% of Parliament for a fraternity that represents less than 0.4% of the population is way too much

18. @ BAFBFP
    Boss, if you were to run as an independent, ….yuh got Bushie’s vote ….
    even if bushie gotta relocate…

19. Ha ha Bushie,

Maybe Baf should reacquaint himself with some kind of religion, church and bible so as to improve his the chances at the polls then .. It probably is not too late .. ha ha

20. Working in a corporation, I can tell you that trade unions are the offspring of Satan. Why? Because they poison every dispute with unnecessarily adversarial attitudes. By destroying goodwill, they become the enemy of long term progress.

Politics infected by trade unionism is the worst kind of politics.It is the politics of Jamaica, which somehow managed to re-create the destructive tribalism of Africa. It is the politics of Grenada and Antigua, soaked in violence and corru

21. I unequivocally agree with your point that political parties were designed to deal with systemic long term problems. The same point I stressed yesterday when said: that democracy and the two party system is facade because if our political leaders were truly interested in solving the conditions of the masses they would have came together and put forth the best ideas to best solve the problems confronting the masses. But our leaders are caught up in this party ideology -which puts on parity against the next and in process dividing masses and while the masses are preoccupied with this ideology battle the politicians enlarged they pockets.

22. And we have an idiot like Bush Tea putting forth Ten Point Plan with Peer -Review whatever, and calling himself a chairman not knowin that the word chairman has within it a sexist connotation, so Bushie for future reference the word you ought to employ in view of respect for the females here on Bu is chairperson. He was a chairperson alright, but Bushie was the chairperson of Onion Growers Association.😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃

23. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

BAFBFP October 25, 2016 at 11:11 PM #
    @ Bernard Codrington. October 25, 2016 at 10:57 AM #
    “Whichever party wins the election in 2018 has a lot of work to do”

Jesus C’rist .. you know the Parties have been continually screwing with the viability of our children’s future for decades, while they rake in all manner of short term personal gains for their insiders. Why would you want to suggest they would all of a sudden actually do something different and “do work”..? Why would Heather even suggest that having a new Party from the Trade Union move could actually solve anything .. The flipping business model is wrong. Political Parties are simply not designed to tackle systemic, long term issues ..

Exactly.

Further, we transplanted and evolved a system which we do not have the population to run.

In round numbers:

In Westminster 600 seats are contested to make a gov’t from 301 and a cabinet from 30.

In Bridgetown 30 seats are contested to make a gov’t from 16 and a cabinet from 20.

So, even if 10% of the ‘talkers’ actually had a productive job experience and could contribute to the management of a country, UK gets their 30 and we get 1.6.

With our numbers the Westminster system cannot work.

24. listen and read the DAILY DRIVEL
    A NATION OF DUMMIES TALKING SHITE ALL DAY EVERYDAY AND ACCOMPLISHING NOTHING
    A SET OF DUMMIES WITH DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR OR IT IS PAST GLORIES

25. Georgie Porgie

Yah blind bat .. HA HA HA HA

26. BAFBFP!

WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN MAN?
    HAVE NOT SEEN YOU FOR A WHILE
    ONE OF THE BETTER PEOPLE IN THE BU TALK SHOP

27. And when the trade unions form this political party as the author of the article is proposing, there is an assumption that when this newly formed party gains power that the need for trade unionism in Barbados will be no more because we would have solved the problem of labour, and how to meet the needs of the masses? Is that what the author is asking us to believe. This sounds like something Bush Tea would say on an empty stomach and in a moment of one of dementia episodes.

28. Still hey Georgie … Ha ha ha. You still cussing dese people … Ha ha ha

29. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

Did you manage to get a copy of the picture that was in the newspaper in the nation this morning with Fumbles and the Chief Town Planner?

You will note that that item was changed within the space of 3 hours!!