Submitted by PieceUhDeRock

unbeliefThe following is from Gospel according to Mark:

22And ofttimes it hath cast him into the fire, and into the waters, to destroy him: but if thou canst do any thing, have compassion on us, and help us.
23Jesus said unto him, If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth.
24And straightway the father of the child cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief.

It comes from Mark 9.

I have long loved this verse because it best describes the “state of flux” that I, and hopefully a few of you, the lukewarm dwellers, dwell in.

For me that verse best represents a Moho, similar to that Mohorovičić discontinuity, that  boundary between the Earth’s crust and its mantle.

Like this thing called belief, the Moho is purported to be in a constant state of change from solid to liquid to gas or so de ole man’s memory would seek to recall from geography classes. No one has ever seen it but seismic readings so intimate.

And yes, “let Google be your friend”, while pertinent to what might be disinformation, is not really central to what I would wish to achieve with this submission.

Lord, I believe, help thou mine unbelief is non partisan, insofar as it has no BLP nor DLP politicking in it. It is that admission of a scientist knowing that he does know fashioned for a believer, or one who knocks upon the door.

De ole man submits it here, to the BU audience THAT MIGHT BE INTERESTED, with a flailing hope that those who have the knowledge can indeed espouse here and share insights with floundering souls, like mine, which know that I see through a glass darkly, but like the Eunuch would wish to “understand that which I readeth…”

And yes…we can be assured that not many will come here, but, those who do come should be able to take hope that those of you who “know” will share, and care, for the Word in which you believe in such a manner that you do nothing but “help thou in increasing belief in His Word…

281 responses to “Lord I Believe, Help Thou My Unbelief…”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/88424/tolerate-abuse-journalists

It’s time to get rid of Fruendel and his jackasses out of the people’s parliament, from the time you have reached the threshold as a leader of restricting movement of the press, trying to muzzle and filter information to the public….you should not be leader, because you will not be an effective one., go the hell home and play with your toes or something.

“Daniela Gomez

I agree, is Fruendel crazy, is he resticting freedom of movement in public spaces and freedom of information about something that affects the lives of all bajans., does he have something to hide from the bajan public, whom he expects to reelect him to the people’s parliament.

This is not a good precedent to set as prime minister. The press has an inalienable right to cover any and all human interest stories as they see fit on the island..”

2. Hahahahahaha

Good Morning Well Well & Consequences.

I did not think that it was possible that this simple blog on spiritual? matters and persons like Dr. GP who give instruction in The Word of our Lord might have attracted a political comment.

Lololol

Notwithstanding my colleague in the Struggle Simple Simon did herself warn me that I should have known better than thread religious tenets through things temporal therefore it is only fair that things meant to be religious will attract the traipsing of the Caesar and Babylon

3. @ Dr. GP

It is interesting that you read Jeremiah? here the other day and the story of the prophet and the three brothers who were thrown into the Lions den.

I read that item about 3 months ago and (while it is obvious that I am unsure of the book though i do remember Shadrach Meshack and Abednego (spelling required) one thing that i recall due to my obsessive compulsive disorder, while the telling of the happening begins with 4 persons, as you go further in the chapter, it only features 3.

That concerned me, greatly!!

Or is that bigly??

Would you care to clarify what is a seeming miscount??

4. Amazing isn’t it. In everything that we do it should be guided by respect.

Still waiting on Zoe to answer the question posed on the other blog.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…Unfortunately Piece, all things religious and political go hand and hand, it just keeps manifesting itself to get our undivided attention.

……if you understand politics, we will understand religion and what drives both firces as you can see from Fruendel’s actions, why they exist and are both so destructive, but our ingrained spirituality, if we recognize them, can beat back both forces of evil.

I will bet my last dollar Fruendel runs into a church every Sunday and considers himself the most religious man in Barbados, without displaying one grain of spirituality, I bet all the politicians and crooks on the island do the same.. ..explain that..lol

6. Chuckle…….Thanks Piece……an excellent idea for you and the other believers to have a post that you all can hammer out the facts of myths to your hearts content without many interruption.

7. Miller
    Like they found your body.

The Exceptional Discovery: the Body of King Anunnaki for 12,000 Years Completely Intact
    1-dot
    Nibiru Group · The unique discovery of three Sarcophagus, 12,000 years old – Secret grave finds are older than Egypt Let’s look at this report as the finds, as throw them all overboard Egyptology as well as the S… · 23 October

8. @ Piece
    The question of ‘belief’ and ‘unbelief’ in that story really has nothing at all to do with the father of the possessed boy.
    ‘Belief’ is a term used that loosely speaks of a life commitment to certain VALUES.
    When Jesus had returned to his disciples, he was told that those disciples he had left behind had been unable to cast out a demon from the child.

Jesus said TO THE DISCIPLES that “wunna fellows have no idea of wunna potentialities” (OK that is what Bushie would have said on BU – he actually said “Oh ye of little faith….”)

When he quizzed the father, the poor man said to him ‘IF YOU CAN, have compassion and help us…’
    Jesus then said ‘What IF WHAT CAN WHAT??!!” ( …opps – that is what Bushie would have said… ) IF you can??? ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE FOR THOSE WHO BELIEVE….

The response of the father (which you quote) just reflects the concerned interest of a caring parent to do anything necessary to have his son healed….

Jesus later explained that this particular demon was not easy to dislodge (somewhat like AC and Dompey on BU) …but requires lots of prayer… (The fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much….)

The point of the story is therefore about the lack of ABSOLUTE faith by the disciples – despite their close association with Jesus himself….and not about any belief or lack thereof of the parent.

9. Piece

When you speak like this it reminds us of a certain place where we were some years ago.

That place preys on the vulnerability of this kind of magical thinking

That place was to harness such vulnerabilities for global power

As a result the spawning of mega-churches followed, that was not the work of your god but the Devil himself.

Piece, you may think that you are doing something powerful but you are encouraging your proximate enemy to utilize your weaknesses.

In some, you are only encouraging the Devil to further destroy you using these fictitious set of stories you misguidedly believe to be true.

We say no more.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

‘Belief’ is a term used that loosely speaks of a life commitment to certain VALUES.”

That sums up perfectly what my post speaks of…..

11. IF AH MAN OR AH WOMAN PUTS ON THE FINEST SUIT, BEST PERFUMES, SHOES TO MATCH EVERY PIECE OF CLOTHING, EAT AN DRINK THE BEST, GOES TO CHURCH EVERY SUNDAY & DON’T HAVE AH OUNCE OF LOVE IN YA HEART FOR UR FELLOW MAN/WOMAN WE ARE NO WHERE. RELIGION IS THE PLACE WHERE WE GO, LIKE DIFFERENT CHURCHES, WE ATTEND THESE CHURCHES RELIGIOUSLY. BUT WITH JESUS CHRIST LEADING THE WAY IN OUR LIVES WE CAN MORE THAN BEAT BACK THE EVIL FORCES.

12. @ Bush Tea

You are most assuredly right as to the fullness of those lines which I truncated.

Did I say that I am selfish? Yes I did and i will say it again.

The point which I wanted to promote with my selfish, purposed truncation was and is, my own application of those words.

I understand faintly what Jesus the Christ meant as such related to his disciples who, even unto His Death at the Cross and to the Upper Room DID NOT BELIEVE … “unless I put my hands into his wounds…”

But that is precisely the point that i am making.

Each man or woman amongst us has a personal journey that we must make during our finite sentience.

My enlightened Pachamama has, per his own passage, chosen one which given him a mastery over things temporal and a compass to his ship which he is driven by.

I often wonder at his knowledge of the machinations of current and past happenings and even future extrapolations particularly as such relates to certain secret service modalities (both he and Hopi) but, AND HERE IS THE CAPITALIZED VERSION OF THAT CONJUNCTION, BUT , equally so, observe how, sine any reliance on books or NBC or ABC or FOX, look how you, and Dr. GP. and Zoe? arrive at the same point, albeit by different roads.

And whereas one of you might falter in that voyage or its destination it only confirms my disposition as to an inward look at myself to say “I believe, Help THOU my unbelief…”

I constantly say that GOD has fun with me every single day of my life because I will (scientifically?) determine a thing to be “x” and then He just changes it and in the quiet of my realization while my mind rushes back and forth on the whys and the hows, smiles as I come to that realization that my concepts and understandings are way inferior to his most simple of pronouncements…”

So for me that statement is one of knocking at the door, looking beyond the rented veil, staring into the infinity of space and crying out for “immersion in HIS BEING”

@ Pachamama

Yes, the same way that there are High Priest of the Order of Melchizedek, and certainly while the Story of the Birth of the Christ Child speaks to 3 Wise Men from the East who “heard of the Birth of My King” and came to worship Him, i too am aware that there are many false doctrines and false priests but like you Pachamama with your conviction in your faith, I too have that constancy and hope that He who Creates All WILL NOT PUNISH THE HOPI people purely because of an absence of active prayer and praise.

For such would be a vengeful and unjust Creator would it not? and neither your Deity nor My Almighty GOD proposes such to either of us.

Let me ask you this.

A man holds two dice in his hand, and he post praying and asking for 6 sixes throws the dice and contrary to all probability 6 sixes fall/

I know that i have commingled faith with gambling but i could equally have said a man’s wife has cancer, or his child is dying, or his home is to be foreclosed or whatever and he prays to His GOD, and deliverance comes, why would he stop that practice?

Does he then revert to the theory of probability of the Scientist?

And what is the difference?

Suffice it to say that “as for me and my household we choose to serve the Living GOD and leave others to their Probabilities heheheheheh

13. @ Pacha
    Your scepticism, while understandable, is a bit surprising for someone as thoughtful as yourself. Surely you know that the VERY best place to hide the tree of life is within a large forest.
    Your analysis therefore, that the trees of the forest of spirituality are generally not worth anything but firewood- is correct, and based on the application of common sense then,
    Intelligent people are therefore justified in concluding that ‘all religions are bare shiite’.

Above average intellects – such as yours, however – must be able to look BEYOND the forest and recognise that THERE IS SOMETHING VALUABLE HIDDEN WITHIN.
    The evidence is everywhere around us – in nature, in science, in philosophy – that there is an epistemological reality of TRUTH – and that this truth clearly encompasses the most valuable potentialities of the experience that we call ‘life on earth’….

Once it is accepted that a tree of life exists within the forest, the challenge is to find the way to that tree….and we SHOULD be able to quite logically identify that particular entity, and to eat of its fruit…

If Bushie was tasked with the mission of hiding that ‘truth’ from intelligent people like yourself (and to a MUCH lesser extent, Vincent 🙂 ) Bushie would simply plant multitudes of false trees and empower various ‘learned exegeses-experts’ to spout confusing sounding dogmas in impressive looking ‘churches’ to mislead the easy brass bowls; confuse the thinking bowls; frustrate the committed; and turn off the skeptics…..to their demise…

But Bushie does not have that mandate – Satan does….
    Bushie has a big-ass whacker….

14. A philosphy which most people “live by”when one mindset has reached a stage of denial. Mostly appropriate to victims of domestic abuse or drug abusers
    A whole sleuth of events which renders the human spirit helpless to see and belive those things which can be for the better or those things which can drown them in a sea of hopeleness
    One can also add a philosphy of great intent which states Though he was dead yet shall ye live .a well versed philosphy that sets out to awakens a dead mind from those things of the world that really does not matter

15. I can’t believe that this is our own Bushie writing, he sounds more like a scholar this morning. Boy I have been underestimate this man intelligence all the while, not knowing that he was above average intelligence.

16. @ recoanthony
    IF AH MAN OR AH WOMAN PUTS ON THE FINEST SUIT, BEST PERFUMES, SHOES TO MATCH EVERY PIECE OF CLOTHING, EAT AN DRINK THE BEST, GOES TO CHURCH EVERY SUNDAY & DON’T HAVE AH OUNCE OF LOVE IN YA HEART FOR UR FELLOW MAN/WOMAN WE ARE NO WHERE.
    Absolutely right!!
    But Bushie would put it the OTHER way around….
    If ah man or woman claims to have found the ‘tree of life’ and does not display the fruit of that tree (which are LOVE, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.) then we KNOW that they have found the WRONG tree….. and are eating the wrong shiite… 🙂

17. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@recoanthony at 8:29AM

Well said religion is a way of life. Not a believe. If it is not transformational , it is pure theatre.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Too many millions of people do not even know what spirituality is, despite reading the bible every damn day, so how can they display what they do not know.

19. PIECE
    i BRING TO YOUR ATTENTION NEHEMIAH 8:8
    So they read in the book in the law of God distinctly, and gave the sense, and caused them to understand the reading.

THEOLOGIANS AND SERIOUS BIBLE STUDENTS WILL TELL YOU BASED ON THE PRINCIPLES ESPOUSED ON THIS TEXT
    READ THE TEXT
    UNDERSTAND THE TEXT
    APPLY THE TEXT

IT HAS BEEN A JOY THROUGH LIFE TO READ SERIOUS EXPOSITORS OF THE WORD PRACTICE THIS AS THEY OBEY THE TENETS OF 2 TIM 2:15

IN CONTRAST, ONE HAS TO BEAR BIBLE ILLITERATES TALK THE TRASH GIVEN TO THEM BY THEIR FATHER THE DEVIL

IN THE APPLICATION OF THE TEXT YOU CHOSE, PERUSAL OF THE WORD WILL REVEAL THAT BELIEVERS OF EVERY AGE HAVE HAD DIFFICULTY WITH THEIR DOUBTS, JUST AS THE MAN WHO CAME TO JESUS TO ASK FOR AID FOR HIS SON.

HAVE YOU EVER WONDERED ABOUT ROMANS 8:28?
    And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

20. PIECE
    THE QUOTE ABOUT THE 3 HEBREW BOYS IS IN DANIEL NOT JEREMIAH
    DANIEL’S PROPHESY GIVE US A CAPSULE OF THE COURSE OF HISTORY
    IT HAS BEEN VERY ACCURATELY FULFILLED

BEST WISHES

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Codrington, I would rearrange your comments thus: ‘Well said religion is a way of life. IT IS A PERSONAL belief. AND IS transformational , THESE ENDLESS PROSELYTIZERS ARE pure theatre.’

No disrespect to a fellow but this takes me back to my youth of divining the words of the ‘Miller’s Take’ and ‘The Spire’ et al and pompasetting in Mr Ting’s class wid dem big head magguffies who were ‘showing’ off their capacity to dissect and ‘handstand the craft of those masters.

Pure frigging theatre.

As was clearly enunciated above: “Each man or woman amongst us has a personal journey that we must make during our finite sentience.” …Hark to your Lord and Master whomever he may be, and to your way of life belief system.

Doing good to your fellow human even as you promulgate your ‘truths’ is the only mantra of worth.

And the sooner we aim to cease this pompasetting of who is smarter than whom, the quicker we move past these theatre shows which are the ultimate contradiction of Godly behaviour. Alas!

22. IT IS WRITTEN IN TITUS 3:3
    Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost;
    6 Which he shed on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Saviour;
    7 That being justified by his grace, we should be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

IT IS WRITTEN IN EPHESIANS 2:8&9

For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:
    9 Not of works, lest any man should boast.

IT IS WRITTEN IN ROMANS 4

What shall we say then that Abraham our father, as pertaining to the flesh, hath found?
    2 For if Abraham were justified by works, he hath whereof to glory; but not before God.
    3 For what saith the scripture? Abraham believed God, and it was counted unto him for righteousness.
    4 Now to him that worketh is the reward not reckoned of grace, but of debt.
    5 But to him that worketh not, but believeth on him that justifieth the ungodly, his faith is counted for righteousness.

23. Piece

Wah you ain’t saying nahting because those in Christ already know that the Christain faith is predicated upon self-determination or quote unquote free-will. So therefore, one is at liberty to choose between eternal life or eternal damnation; the very choice given to Adam and Eve when God instructed the both of them not to eat of the tree, and the consequences to be had if their contravene His directive. So if God allotted to every man the right to determine his own course in this life? Who given you or anyone else the right to force your religious convictions down the throats of others who chooses not to believe because of the lack of convincing evidence, when God expressly says in His word choose the broad or narrow way?

24. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@d p D @ 9:31 AM.

Yes probably much better put. The journey is long and difficult but we must all soldier along.

25. @ THE PEDANTIC FOOL
    Proverbs Chapter 26
    1 As snow in summer, and as rain in harvest, so honour is not seemly for a fool.
    2 As the bird by wandering, as the swallow by flying, so the curse causeless shall not come.
    3 A whip for the horse, a bridle for the ass, and a rod for the fool’s back.
    4 Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.
    5 Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

WHICH TYPE OF FOOL ARE YOU? A CLASS ONE FOOL OR A CLASS TWO FOOL? LOL

YOU OBVIOUSLY DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT. BUT YOU ARE VERY GOOD AT APPROXIMATING YOUR LABIAE ORAE TO THE ADIPOSE TISSUE OVERLYING THE GLUTEI OF SOME BU BLOGGERS

YOU DESERVE BOTH THE WHIP THE BRIDLE AND THE ROD
    YOU CONTINUE TO BE A DOG BY THE DOCTOR CAUSING HIM MUCH MIRTH LOL LOL LOL NOW BARK AGAIN YOU COMMON CUR AND SARDINE TOT RETRIEVER

FINALLY GO READ AND UNDERSTAND THE MEANING OF JOHN 7:24
    Judge not according to the appearance, but judge righteous judgment.

26. Bernard Codrington. October 25, 2016 at 8:57 AM #
    @recoanthony at 8:29AM

Well said religion is a way of life. Not a believe. If it is not transformational , it is pure theatre.

NOT TRUE

ALL RELIGIONS OF THE WORLD ARE WAYS OF LIFE BASED ON WHAT THE PRACTITIONERS THEREOF BELIEVE

JIHADISTS BELIEVE THAT THEY WILL GET 72 VIRGINS AT DEATH BY KILLING A FEW “INFIDELS ”
    YOU JUDGE WHETHER IT IS PURE THEATRE WHAT THEY DO AND WHETHER THEIR BEHAVIOR IS TRANSFORMATIONAL

27. If religion is simply a belief .it therefore begs the question what about this belief some endorse while others rejects.
    Religion cannot be simply defined or categorize as a belief.A belief at some point and time can produced emperical evidence of proof wherby religion cannot and requires a measure of faith for human mind to understand

28. A good person is defined by how they improve the lives of others Bushie. No long talk necessary.

29. yOU MEAN LIKE SEEING PATIENTS FOR FREE?
    GIVING AWAY BOOKS? AND OTHER RESOURCES?
    SPENDING FREE TIME TEACHING IN THE COMMUNITY?
    HELPING FOLK GET HOUSING?
    DOES THIS COUNT FOR DECIDING WHETHER A PERSON IS GOOD?
    WILL SUCH ACTIVITIES IMPROVE THE LIVES OF OTHERS, OR IS THIS LONG TALK ?

WHO IN THE FINAL ANALYSIS DETERMINES WHETHER SOME ONE IS GOOD IN THIS LIFE?
    WHO WILL BE THE JUDGE AT THE BEMA OR TH GREAT WHITE THRONE JUDGEMENT
    1 BUSHTEA?
    2 THE PEDANTIC JACKASS
    3 THE BLOG MASTER
    4 AC AND DOMPEY
    5 NONE OF THE ABOVE

MURDAH HOW I LOVE TO MOCK IN THE BU BULLSHIT TALK SHOP WHERE DUMMIES ABOUND

30. IS A GOOD PERSON ONE WHO INVESTIGATES WHERE THE INFANT TWIN SONS OF HIS DYING PATIENTS CAN BE LOCATED IN THE COMMUNITY?

IS A GOOD PERSON ONE WHO AFTER FINDING THEM PROVIDE MILK FOR THEM AND IS INSTRUMENTAL IN GETTING THEM ADMITTED TO FARRS CHILDREN’S HOME? OR IS THIS JUST LONG TALK?

IS A GOOD PERSON ONE WHO BOLDLY TELLS GUVMENT HOW TO DEVELOP A NHC THEY DID NOT KNOW HOW TO START?

HAS SUCH ADVICE LED TO THE IMPROVEMENT OF THE LIVES OF OTHERS FOR THE LAST30 PLUS YEARS , OR I THIS JUST LONG TALK?

MURDAH HOW I LOVE TO MOCK IN THE BU BULLSHIT TALK SHOP WHERE DUMMIES ABOUND

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You do not earn spirituality from reading a bible, I said earned because that is the only way spirituality is awarded.

32. Well Well & Consequences October 25, 2016 at 11:00 AM #
    CAN YOU GIVE US A FEW PROOF TEXTS TO SUPPORT YOUR POSITION…………OR ARE YOU ENGAGING IN LONG TALK. LOL LOL LOL

33. @Georgie Porgie October 25, 2016 at 10:28 AM “JIHADISTS BELIEVE THAT THEY WILL GET 72 VIRGINS AT DEATH BY KILLING A FEW “INFIDELS”

Since virginity is like a balloon, one prick and it is all gone, it does not make sense to me for jihadis to kill others and yourself in order to access 72 virgins, who soon after your duppy-self meets them will be virgins no more.

Seems to me that the fellas (and it is almost always fellas who believe this foolishness) would be much better off here on earth where there are billions of perfectly good second hand women, who would be perfectly glad to have consensual intercourse with them.

34. By the way can any of the religious fellas on here who are familiar with Islamic teachings tell me whether female jihadis are also rewarded with 72 male virgins?

I’ve often wondered if there is a chapter/verse in the Koran and/or subsequent texts which affirms that female jihadis are equally rewarded?

Or confirms whether they get nothing for their “heroic” actions.

35. Well Well & Consequences October 25, 2016 at 11:00 AM #
    I AGREE WITH YOU 100%
    BUT THE FELLOWS PRACTICE WHAT THEY BELIEVE………AND THEY DO SO WITHOUT ANY LONG TALK!

36. @ David
    A good person is defined by how they improve the lives of others Bushie. No long talk necessary.
    Not ‘defined’, …perhaps “identified”.

A ‘good person’ is one who have brought into the values of righteousness. To do so in a world where Satan himself is god, requires extra-ordinary help…..and is a continuous struggle.

However, the outwards sign of such a person is their COMMUNITY-CENTRIC outlook (that trumps any inclination to selfishness), the love of neighbour, and PARTICULARLY of BBE- who is their help and strength….

There is no ‘good’ person, but there are some who strive against the natural tendencies to albino-centric living …and this is only REALLY possible with counter-balancing extra-human assistance….
    The Bible calls it the Holy Spirit.

37. Movement and Breath Avatar
    Movement and Breath

Make Yoga your spiritual practise

38. WHAT IS RIGHTEOUSNESS?
    HOW DOES ONE BECOME RIGHTEOUS?

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…it clearly shows why most are lost, starting with the leaders.

…….ya will never find me reading those history books with king james version and macabee version and whoever else wanted to add their version in the last 2000 years and if ya check which group they all originated, it is never from the original tribes with original texts out of Egypt/Africa. , most of the upgrades were done by criminals and frauds out of Europe..

…..spiritual is exactly that, spiritual, unseen, but there, your thoughts are upgraded automatically, your beliefs are infinite…you will not find spirituality in a man written history book.

Bushman…everyone has a different definition of what is holy and what is spirit, which is really the word spiritual…they shortened it and bastardized it and did as they like, now they are lost and confused,.

40. The mind can be fooled trick or coherece into a belief
    Religionists has mastered a technique of mind over matter which serves to control human behaviour
    In essence it is not what the eyes see but what one minds perceives or belives to be true
    Religionist however has taken the conception of such a technique into an outer extreme of ultra- reality

41. @Bush Tea

We can agree to disagree agreeably.

42. Religion has been a part of humanity since the first astronomers peered into the sky and created elaborate stories to define the movements of our universe. It made its way into our minds as we fearfully created devils and demons to explain the danger lurking in the darkness of night. It has both enchanted and burdened us as we attempt to define our world with the information available to us as we work our way through history.

However, things are quickly changing. For a growing number of us worldwide, what was once indescribable is now easily explained by the vast data we have gathered as we work towards refining our understanding. We are becoming painfully aware that, although our religions gave us a starting place for thinking about how our world functions, they no longer serve us in that process; and in fact, have left a trail of destruction in their historic path.

Here are 11 ways religion is destroying humanity:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjG4dvqsfbPAhULWz4KHfRGCY4QFggeMAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fchurchandstate.org.uk%2F2015%2F10%2Fthe-problem-with-faith-11-ways-religion-is-destroying-humanity%2F&usg=AFQjCNFL8_lVjPFEOEJJPvUxJii2pQ7tKw&sig2=k5dKsjK8oMAE_vmMYqJl0Q

43. It is hard to belive that that a baby was born with a structured mode called “faith”such a concept had to be taught by the manipulation of the mind
    There are several areas of the brain that was tailored made or design for acceptance giving an individual tan easier underdtanding to belive or accept .hence we have the eyes ears and mouth feet and hands and yes that concept called intuition which also play a valuable role in our decisions

44. in the final analysis i am led to realise that this state of righteousness has nothing to do with our actions and that in that great judgement He Shall Make His Choices as HE SO WILLS

“And I will sow her unto me in the earth; and I will have mercy upon her that had not obtained mercy; and I will say to them which were not my people, Thou art my people; and they shall say, Thou art my God.”

There are many who do things that, in the sight of other men seem righteous, but will not be thusly considered.

I can know every single verse of the Good Book by wrote yet, because it is His Will NOT BE COUNTED AMONG THE SAVED.

So therefore since I again do not believe that HE IS AN UNJUST GOD, and since I do not believe (and GP has confirmed? using the example of Abraham) that, even in the absence of (a) being in the presence of GOD, or (b) “knowing” GOD that He may be so kind as to judge me among the UNGODLY who seeks to believe on Him that justifieth the ungodly, with the hope that my faith is counted for righteousness.

45. @ David
    We can agree to disagree agreeably.
    As always….
    But surely you know that there are those who perform great philanthropic deeds solely because it gives them personal pleasure to do so…
    Some do do because it stokes their ‘superiority complex ego’…
    …and some do it just to impress.

The Widow’s mite is a case where the ‘giving’ is spectacularly unimpressive; mostly not very impactful; – but which is held up as a model of true caring.

‘GIVING’ in itself in no great commendation, it is the intrinsic “caring and concern” that giving reflects …that counts.
    …so the fellow who asked Jesus what he must do to be saved, was told to ‘Give all that he had to the poor – and come follow him…’ – or as Bushie would put it, forsake the albino-centric priorities and come and adopt the values of righteousness.

In any case Boss…
    You MUST know that there is a SPIRITUAL LAW that dictates that ANYONE who gives to the needy …ALWAYS receives more back in return. Giving is therefore also a wise investment- for those who can understand this….

As to what is ‘righteousness’…”
    Righteousness is the BBE characteristic of , given ANY set of circumstances, choosing to take the path that a BBE would take…. ie. ..doing the RIGHT thing.
    It is characterised by a continuous striving to improve one’s self in this regard;
    – by a COMMUNITY-CENTRIC focus in life (looking out for the welfare of others equally to your OWN welfare);
    – and by a love for ‘Engineering’ – of the Spiritual, BBE type….

46. ONE TWIT TRIES TO PUT YOU DOWN BY STATING GOOD PEOPLE GIVE

ANOTHER TWIT WHO CANT HELP IT JOINS IN THE SEEKING TO PUT YOU DOWN BY A PIECE OF RUBBISH
    IT MAKE YOU LAUGH
    THEN YOU READ ANOTHER LOAD OF GARBAGE BELOW

LATER THE SARDINE TOT RETRIEVER WILL ADD HIS PIECE AS HE ADDS TO HIS WORD COMPOST THUS

And the sooner we aim to cease this pompasetting of who is smarter than whom, the quicker we move past these theatre shows which are the ultimate contradiction of Godly behaviour. Alas!

RE As to what is ‘righteousness’…”
    Righteousness is the BBE characteristic of , given ANY set of circumstances, choosing to take the path that a BBE would take…. ie. ..doing the RIGHT thing.
    It is characterised by a continuous striving to improve one’s self in this regard;
    – by a COMMUNITY-CENTRIC focus in life (looking out for the welfare of others equally to your OWN welfare);
    – and by a love for ‘Engineering’ – of the Spiritual, BBE type….

THIS ANSWER SOUNDS WORSE THAN IF IT WAS GIVEN BY THE PEDANTIC FOOL DOMPEY OR AC
    I HAVE NOT HEARD SO MUCH RUBBISH SINCE I LEFT THE ANGLICAN CHURCH IN 1968

I WOULD LOVE TO SEE THE SCRIPTURE THAT SUPPORT THESE MORONIC MOUTHINGS
    ALL MY LIFE I HAVE HEARD SPIRITUAL THINGS DEFINED BY SCRIPTURE

IF I WAS ASKED TO SPEAK ON RIGHTEOUSNESS
    1 I WOULD LIST ALL THE REFERENCE THERETO IN MY STRONG’S CONCORDANCE
    2 I WOULD READ ALL OF THESE REFERENCES
    3 I WOULD SELECT THE APPROPRIATE REFERENCES AND SET OUT A PROPER OUTLINE IN ORDER TO GIVE A PROPER EXPOSITION BY FOLLOWING THE TOPICAL METHOD OF BIBLE STUDY

BUT I SUPPOSE THIS IS CALLED LEARNING BY ROTE
    BUT IT IS VERY VERY CLEAR TO ME WHO IS SPEAKING ON BU ON SUCH MATTERS

IN ANY SERIOUS DISCUSSION ON RIGHTEOUSNESS ONE MUST AT LEAST DISCUSS THE FOLLOWING

ROMANS 3:10 As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:
    But now the righteousness of God without the law is manifested, being witnessed by the law and the prophets;

ROMANS 3:22 Even the righteousness of God which is by faith of Jesus Christ unto all and upon all them that believe: for there is no difference:
    23 For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;
    24 Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus:
    25 Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in his blood, to declare his righteousness for the remission of sins that are past, through the forbearance of God;
    26 To declare, I say, at this time his righteousness: that he might be just, and the justifier of him which believeth in Jesus.

AH GONE HEAR?

THEN WUNNUH WONDER WHY THE ONLY REASON FOR ME TO COME HERE WHEN I REAL BORED IS TO MOCK
    CAUSE YOU CANT LEARN ANYTHING HERE

47. @Bush Tea

If any individual is committed to improving the lives of others we should allow the overseer to judge.

48. Actually GP…
    Bushie always thought that the reason you came here was because you lead such a a sad and lonely life … especially since your clearly unpleasant attitude would have caused you to be kicked out of Barbados …and chased from the medical fraternity here…

You would REALLY benefit from the fruit of the Spirit Boss … especially some love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, generosity, gentleness, faithfulness, modesty, self-control, and even chastity….

You should consider it… cause all that bitterness must be hell on your system….
    Ha ha ha

49. @ David
    Bushie is not in disagreement with you…
    Just suggesting to you that ‘all that glitters is not gold’. However, all gold probably glitters.