Posted as a comment to another blog by Caleb Pilgrim.

So far, the need to honor Professor Kamau Brathwaite cannot be reasonably or intelligently contested. What, therefore, are the options?

Rename a great Boulevard after Professor Brathwaite as Hal A. suggested.
Rename his alma mater, Harrison College, after him and in his honor. The HC Gentlemen and Gentlewomen could/should prevail upon their Governing Body, to adopt the necessary, relevant resolution to rename HC, beginning at their very next mtg.
Urge the University of the West Indies (UWI), Vice Chancellor Professor Beckles et al, to establish an endowed chair in Kamau’s honor. (Certain insurance companies – the pirates of our day, incorporated under law – in order to launder their reputations might even be encouraged to put in $2.5 m, to guarantee the Chair in Brathwaite’s honor).
Simply, have the GOB seize the property near BGI, by eminent domain, if necessary, just as the Government reportedly seized Mrs. Ram’s property, pay fair market value, and establish the Kamau Brathwaite Cultural Center forthwith.

To my mind, these are all viable options which do not require a lot of long talk. They simply require the necessary “political will”.

Re 4. e.g., any intelligent civil servant could draft and finalize a cabinet paper in a matter of hours, if not less (unless we are bent on perpetrating what Professor Blackman, I believe, once labeled “disguised unemployment”).

However, true to our traditions, ceteris paribus – you know how prolix we are, how after a couple of grogs, and ludicrous and unnecessary chatter, and a fabulous bowl of cou-cou, with salt fish gravy, with some sweet potato on the side, we tumble over like some Rip van Winkle, then sleep walk through serious issues (cf. our esteemed “Lord Nelson”).

Then, we may simply have to wait until the Resurrection. Good luck.

Submitted by DAVID  COMISSIONG, President, Clement Payne Movement (Barbados)
Kamau Brathwaite

So, the American folk/rock musician , Bob Dylan, has been awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in Literature — the first time that a song lyricist has won this prestigious international award !

I say well done to Bob Dylan: he is deserving of every accolade that comes his way. In fact , I am one of Dylan’s biggest fans, and regularly  gorge myself on his socially conscious, insightful and poetic compositions, ranging from the anthemic “Blowing In The Wind” of the American civil rights era, through such folk and rock classics as “The Times Are A-Changing” , “Mr Tambourine Man”, “All Along The Watch-Tower” “Like A Rolling Stone”, “Knocking On Heaven’s Door” and the list goes on and on.

But, as much as I admire and appreciate the lyrical work of Bob Dylan, I can’t help but note that it pales in significance to the tremendous body of poetry and essays of cultural scholarship that  has been produced by our very own Kamau Brathwaite over a 65 year career of ground-breaking scholarship and artistic creation.

Why hasn’t the 86 year old Kamau Brathwaite– easily the most original and creative poet of the Caribbean and wider Americas region– ever been awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature?

Is it because he is too authentically Bajan, Caribbean, African? Is he too Black, too revolutionary, too un-compromising in his views and in his defense of the intrinsic validity and worth of the culture, heritage and humanity of the Bajan/Caribbean/Afro-American/African/Third World peoples?

Several years ago, the Nobel Committee found it possible to award Nobel Prizes in Literature to two English-speaking Caribbean writers– Derek Walcott and V. S. Naipaul. Of course, the latter writer– Naipaul– has devoted much of his career to extolling the alleged virtues of the English and Western European culture and to sneering at and denigrating virtually every non-White civilization, including our Caribbean civilization.

Walcott’s work, on the other hand , has valorized and found universal relevance in our (and his) Caribbean culture and civilization, but has done so without veering too far away from the standard European models, standards and approaches. Unlike Kamau Brathwaite, Walcott has not plunged into a profound exploration and validation of our Nation Language , nor into the capacity of our African based and derived folk culture to generate authentic and valid myths , legends, philosophies, historical arch-types, poetical and literary devises, deities, and creation stories. Nor, for that matter, has he been the excoriating critic of European imperialism and domination that Brathwaite has been!

Thus,so far as the European literary establishment is concerned, Walcott has in all likelihood been a safer and less dangerous cultural warrior and literary iconoclast than Kamau Brathwaite has been AND  CONTINUES  TO  BE.

And so, even though the Nobel Committee may never be able to summon up the integrity and sense of justice that will be required of them if they are to make that fateful decision to award the Nobel Prize in Literature to the profoundly deserving Kamau Brathwaite, we should not let them off so lightly by failing to publicly press the case for Kamau.

I don’t know what the procedure is for nominating a writer for the Nobel Prize, but I think that the time has come for us Caribbean people to do the necessary research and to launch a very public campaign of advocacy in pursuance of a collective people’s demand that Kamau Brathwaite be awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

A Tribute to Kamau Brathwaite by David ComissiongThe Quiet Warrior

108 responses to “Nothing Against Bob Dylan, but wha bout KAMAU?”

1. @ Greene February 17, 2020 8:56 AM

Want to support you on your ‘surprisingly’ perspicacious observation.

But why do you think this phenomenon exists mainly among blacks?

You did previously make reference to its probable source by suggesting that black people must stop worshiping other people’s gods and look towards the source of their black skin for their own guidance and strength and stop being the hewers of wood and drawers of water for other less melanin-enriched races

We, quite surprisingly, are sharing, on this occasion, the same halo of knowledge devoid of your partisan political penumbra of the yellow and blue spectra of the Bajan rainbow. LOL!!

2. Green @8:58
    Luder @9:53
    Simple
    Well said.
    Food for thought

3. @ Hal
    That’s the thinking of the blogmaster. I am not surprised.

4. @ F.M. Luder

Nothing surprises me when it coms to Barbados. Maybe Kamau was not world class enough, he did not punch above his weight. By the way, was this former education minister involved in a government that frustrated Kamau’s attempt to build a cultural centre?
    One of the two or three top children’s authors in the UK is Malorie Blackman, the grand daughter of a outstanding old Harrisonian. I often wonder if any of her books are on the curricula in the Caribbean, as they are on UK curricula. We talk about heritage, but would not recognise it if it fell on us.
    Kamau came from the wrong side of town. If he was a MSc from the LSE in political sociology he would have been a star – the president would have changed to constitution to make sure of that.
    Big flourishing speeches, hands flaring, may impress the weak minded. Depth comes from the soul.

5. If we do not even give him his due here why would we expect them to give him his due? How many people in Barbados actually focus on thought provoking rather than mind numbing culture? Mind numbing culture is pushed more than thought provoking even by the NCF because they know that most people don’t want to think and therefore it is more commercially viable to push bashment soca.

Years ago people had less education but actually thought more.

It is time we face ourselves head on as Kamau would have wanted us to do. Then we would not be left “blowing in the wind” but would find our own answers as culture is supposed to do.

Monuments are fine but the cultural centre named in his honour surrounding the statue would be better. Even better would be a little museum of Caribbean history, literature, film, art etc as a feature of the centre.

I can see it now! How much would it really cost us and what would be the returns?

6. Perhaps because of my faulty vision, I am not blinded by the sheer brilliance of former Ministers of Education or their visions and promises of reform. We can only hope that they don’t commission another plaque in his honour.

Lest I be accused of being overly negative, here’s a suggestion to former and present Ministers of Education:
    Partner with his family, UWI and BCC to adapt some of his work to the big screen.
    Add his name in some way to NIFCA or create a new festival.

7. Perhaps because of my faulty vision, I am not blinded by the sheer brilliance of former Ministers of Education or their visions and promises of reform. We can only hope that they don’t commission another plaque in his honour.

Lest I be accused of being overly negative, here’s a suggestion to former and present Ministers of Education:
    Establish a partnership with his family, UWI and BCC to adapt some of his suitable work for screenplay.

8. fortyacresdsandamule Avatar
    fortyacresdsandamule

What’s in a name ? Plenty of great scientists have passed on long before a nobel prize even existed. People like Newton, Faraday, Maxwell, Darwin, Mendelev, and a lot more, are still very accomplished without a nobel prize.

9. @F.M. Luder

Maybe Kamau should be given a Chinese name, then he will get respect from our politicians..

10. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

[]ac
    October 17, 2016 7:46 PM

David Comissiong. Maybe this is your first and last comment with which i might agree
    Any how well said[]

We endorse this comment.

On Dompey’s missive of two St. Lucians receiving Nobels it is a profound achievement.

When rigorously scrutinized however there isn’t anything to imply the two laureates were products of extraordinary educational or unique circumstance.

While not belittling their Nobel accomplishments it lends itself to the theory of an outlier metaphysical fluke.

11. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

No black person has ever won a nobel prize in the sciences. And only three have won for literature. It seems we are only good at peace-making. Please note the prize in Economics is not an original nobel prize. The Economists were jealous of the real scientists, so the Central Bank of Sweden in the 60s decide to create a prize for the discipline in MEMORY of Alfred Noble. Ever since, the economists have referred to their prize has a nobel prize to had prestige to the discipline.

12. @Hal Austin
    No, not yet, we must try getting RIhanna to perform one of his pieces first. After it generates enough interest and accolades in the international press, politicians will be tripping over each other to be associated with the name Kamau

Politicians are more accustomed to paying respects, this is what they’ll do at his “Official Funeral” on Friday. Same as they’ve done countless times before. Plenty of photo ops available. That is all that matters.

I never knew the man personally, but I would be surprised to discover that he cared for such useless pomp and pageantry.

13. @William

#deletenegativity

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Donna,

It is instructive that, among the many gurus here who have spoken on this topic we have

1.the customary useless commentary from the MIA (missing in action not Mugabe’s Intimate A.sshole or Most Itinerant Asslicker) Ambassador Come Sing a Song

2.noticed that bajans (and blacks) are trained to adopt all things white as “we” standards of success

3.the usual response that when such obsequious behaviour is pointed out to its students, they “double down” with the inane reasoning that “the Nobel Prize, is the de facto standard and norm therefore WE MUST ADOPT IT CAUSE all else is on no account.”

4.reverted to the poultry “Road naming or festival or another holiday” practice where, 10 years later and nobody doan know who Ermie? HIGHWAY get name afterwards!

But you alone said this Donna

“… Mind numbing culture is pushed more than thought provoking even by the NCF because they know that most people don’t want to think and therefore it is more commercially viable to push bashment soca…”

And this encapsulates the “mind numbing” effect that permeates our thought processes and has resulted in these proposals.

Some with notable permanence/impact and others of accustomed paucity!

We are speaking of creating proactive legacies, which perpetuate this “son of the soil” (one who successive governments persecuted in his lifetime, but that is another story)

what of a Kamau Brathwaite institute of Creative Genius at UWI which would, in addition to the notable proposals above

1.offer 4 different masters scholarships across 4 disciplines, 2 each, in Arts & literature, Creativity and Innovation.

2.ironically such would be co-sponsored by the imaginary business community e.g. Sagicorp that might participate and counterpart UK AND US UNIVERSITIES! (by was of creating the counterpart scholarship offering)

2.let the recipients be pre qualified by 1 year of service in a related agency or organization where they work having been awarded the scholarship in year 3 of their baccalaureate AND MUST GIVE ONE YEAR AFTER THEIR MASTERS (they are to be paid)

We want KB to be honoured, but we want his memory to live on for beneficiaries BUT WE WANT VALUE TO OUR NATION, FOR THE RESOURCES ALLOCATED TO HIS MEMORY!

(as long as the value of the exit man hour repayment IS REALIZED IN ACTUAL HOURS TO THE EXIT JOB ATTACHMENT PARTNER, then exit requirements are realized)

15. Scholarship is fine but will reach only a few people. We need impact and we need it now! Wuking the waist is good exercise but we also need to work our minds. The whole population needs to do so. And the government needs to make it more “sexy” to do so since nowadays that seems to be the only way to attract people.

16. @ Blogmaster:

Lost earlier intervention. But, if it has not been already done, should this matter of the appropriate honor/memorial for Dr. Kamau not be included in the Cabinet’s calendar, this coming Thursday, February 20, 2020 in the a.m? So far as I can sense, your readership in the main demands it? I am confident that in your natural generosity, you will use your good offices and advocate accordingly.

17. @Caleb

The PM and her surrogates are keen followers of social media.

18. @CPikilgrkim

Have you noticed, in typical Bajan style, the discussion descends in to what kind of recognition is best, whether than first agreeing he should be recognised..

19. @ Hal:

Yes; but I have long given up trying to change the world (that is, Barbados). As a dear friend and local historian advised me decades ago: “May be the world is perfect as it is”. Stupidly, I used to think differently. Live in hope. Die in despair.

20. rather…..

21. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Hal Austin

Hal,

Some of us are already at the point in our minds that HE MUST BE REWARDED AND RECOGNISED.

And yes, some of us are already suggesting what the rewards should be and have unwittingly and unintentionally fallen victim to the fact that the first step was not employed

The mere fact that this article has been launched by the Minister of Disinformation EVIDENCES THAT DEM DOES NOT HAVE A CLUE WHAT TO DO!

In fact, de ole man might go a step further to say that the Letter from Come Sing a Song was an after thought solicited from de Ambassador after the Pilgrim comment AND BEFORE BEING POSTED HERE!

Just think about the coincidence of the two items here!

The question then is

“Was not Caleb Pilgrim’s blog not enough to generate these 70 comments?”

Why then append to no value blog from Commissiong?

Come Sing a Song added nothing unless one seeks to reactivate the MIA Ambassador

You understand de ole man?

22. @ Piece
    The man lived ninety years. We failed to honor him in any meaningful way. That is the national embarrassment.
    Your ideas about a meaningful honor are progressive and should be embraced by forward thinking citizens.
    The Duopoly should really be ashamed to even mention the gentleman’s name.They get about here giving all kinds of fancy honors to family friends and political lackeys.We have reached the sorry state where an artiste/ calypsonian/ teacher/ comedian gets a chairmanship of a board and calls that murders be removed from front page coverage. That’s where we are.
    The Duopoly Rules.

23. @ William
    @Piece

Kamau is not the first. Remember Mr Emptage, who invented the search engine? Where is his national recognition? How do we encourage young people? Where is his honorary professorship at UWI?
    Of course, Obama’s hit man got his recognition. Has CBC done a profile of Kamau?

24. Originally posted on October 16, 2016 by David 73 comments

25. I am truly amazed that I never heard of Mr/ Emptage! What is his fuul name so I can research it. Seems to me such a story would truly inspire other Bajans.

PS. I thought the fact that we had gone on to what honours should be given meant that we accepted that he should be honoured. I thought taking that for granted was a good thing. But perhaps we should further examine why he should be honoured. Extracts from some of his work would be nice.

26. > > INTERNET HALL of FAME INNOVATORAlan Emtage

In 1989, Alan Emtage conceived of and implemented Archie, the world’s first Internet search engine. In doing so, he pioneered many of the techniques used by public search engines today.

In 1992, Emtage, along with Peter J. Deutsch, founded Bunyip Information Systems, Inc., the world’s first company expressly founded for and dedicated to providing Internet information services. Bunyip distributed a licensed, commercial version of the Archie search engine.

Emtage, a founding member of the Internet Society, chaired several working groups at the Internet Engineering Task Force, including one which established the standard for Uniform Resource Locators (URLs). He has served on advisory panels for the National Science Foundation, the Library of Congress, the Online Computer Library Center and others.

Since 1998, he has been a partner at Mediapolis, Inc., a small web development company based in New York City.

Emtage was awarded a B.S. in Computer Science in 1987 and an M.S. in Computer Science in 1991, both from McGill University in Montréal, Canada.

https://youtu.be/giwBCXASWVg

27. Impressive indeed! Why don’t we hear more about him?

28. Up! Up! Up!
    Black heroes raise their people up but upliftment of black people is deemed a radical threat in the human race

29. Ballad of a Thin Man
    Bob Dylan

You hand in your ticket and you go watch the geek
    Who immediately walks up to you when he hears you speak
    And says, “How does it feel to be such a freak?”
    And you say, “Impossible!” as he hands you a bone
    And something is happening here but you don’t know what it is
    Do you, Mr. Jones?

30. Kamau’s ‘official’ funeral is tomorrow (Friday) and Bajans should/must turn out. There should also be a minute’s silence in his memory. We are still waiting to hear the order of service at this ‘official’ funeral. Of course, the president will give the main address. To good an opportunity to give up.
    How about the governor general?

31. Why not wait until the service is completed before leveling criticism.

32. Today is the ‘official’ funeral for Kamau Brathwaite. Barbadians should turn out in large numbers to show support.

33. Why is CBC not streaming Kamau’s ‘official’ funeral?

34. The funeral is being televised by CBC and at this time Mottley is paying a tribute, (which will obviously provoke the ire of some people).

35. Voice of Barbados carried a nice tribute yesterday.

But we are a failed state that does not appreciate our own.

36. @Hal,
    With silence, we will never be right or wrong.

We have no way of measuring how a comment prompts others to act; how it modified their behavior or their plans.
    We should continue to make comments, even though time may prove us wrong. At lease we will have the knowledge that in the end, they did what was right.

It does not matter if you provided the spark or if you were wrong. Scream.

“I decided it is better to scream. Silence is the real crime against humanity.” ― Nadezhda Mandelstam, Hope Against Hope

37. @ Theo

Good. I am listening to Gabby.

38. Not withstanding his personal scholastic achievement and his acomplishments in the literary world acknowledge by some; his contribution to the nation of Barbados escapes me.
    i await the guillotine but i was never a weathercok

39. You should have attended the tribute held at the UWI Errol Barrow Creative Centre this week that paid tribute to the late Kamau.

40. Streaming on CBC TV 8

41. Charles Skeete,

What do poets do? They make us think. Some of us did.

42. @Hants
    Thanks for the link.

VERY General comment: It appears to me that we often have to reach the point of near exchange of blows before useful information is tossed into the ring.

43. It is all in the attitude of people. It is a Bajan condition, we are a failed state.

44. @Hal,
    This is a test with a response of Yes/No.
    Googling not allowed.
    Have you heard of Audre Lorde??
    Here are some googled quotes from her.

—xx– .
    It is not our differences that divide us. It is our inability to recognize, accept, and celebrate those differences.

Your silence will not protect you.

If I didn’t define myself for myself, I would be crunched into other people’s fantasies for me and eaten alive.

When we speak we are afraid our words will not be heard or welcomed. But when we are silent, we are still afraid. So it is better to speak.

Life is very short and what we have to do must be done in the now.

Revolution is not a onetime event.

Only by learning to live in harmony with your contradictions can you keep it all afloat.
    ————————————————-xx—————————————————————
    She is Grenadian. Was not aware of her.
    It seems as if there can only be one at a time.
    It was Maya Angelou
    It is Malcolm X
    It was MLK and now that he is gone, there is a vacuum.

There can be only one

45. Yes. She died of cancer a few years ago. Didn’t she have a Caribbean connection? In the English speaking Caribbean it will be the Guyanese Fred D’Guiar.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Austin, you pressed the issue of a ‘state’ vrs an ‘official’ funeral repeatedly these last several days and I wondered why a man of your knowledge would act to be do facetious rather than clarify what is a simple matter.

Dr Brathwaite is essentially receiving a ‘state’ funeral based on the pomp and ceremony of his final send off but based on the dictates of protocol (and legalities/statutes, one presumes) it is called an ‘official’ rather than ‘state’ funeral.

A state funeral as broadly explained can be described as “a public funeral ceremony, observing the strict rules of protocol, held to honour people of national significance….Generally, [one is] held in order to involve the general public in a national day of mourning [and to] generate mass publicity from both national and global media outlets.”

By that simple measure this is a state funeral. However, it isn’t so called because the term state funeral is actually OFFICIAL terminology for a funeral event accorded principally for Heads of State (honorific or elected) where proclamations are given in HofA and all that sorta thing.

So the renowned brother has been given a full (lower case) official funeral which has all the ‘sound and fury’ of a state funeral (and the nation picking up the costs, np doubt) but without that OFFICIAL ‘State’ label.

Quite SIMPLE (where r u 🤣) , really?

Both David Thompson and another very well known, widely respected young man Stephen Alleyne were accorded major public funeral ceremonies at Kensington. Both events were treated to comprehensive assistance from the govt of the day and attended by the PM, GG, cabinet officers etc and both events were almost a national day of mourning…. but, only Thompson’s funeral was labelled a ‘state’ funeral: the last such to date I believe!

Thus, no need for this too deep intrigue on simple issues.

47. @ Hants

I got it, thus the reference to Gabby. Thanks.

48. @ Pedantic

I did not press anything. I asked what was an official funeral and Quaker John posited that it was a state funeral. I asked the question, not pressed anything.
    This is not the first time I have asked a question and you questioned my motives. I know there is no such thing as a question in Bajan English. I asked because I did not know. Do you? How does it differ from a state funeral? Don’t patronage me with nonsense about knowledge.

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Austin, why is it patronizing to give the expectation of ‘knowledge’ to an experienced, well read person!

You never cease to amaze.

I explained with a detailed quotation and then with a clear example that anyone who paid attention to Bajan affairs is last 15 or so years should understand.

YET, you ASK again how these two things differ.

Senor, there are questions and then there is Hal’s supposition that he can play smarypants repeatedly on BU.

Remember bro a breach of commonsense may no longer get one a caning for the folly but it still looks like yah playing de fool.