Submitted by Heather Cole

One can argue that the state in post independent Barbados has never provided the environment to foster economic independence to the majority black population. Despite this a few black businessmen managed to gain economic independence but the majority of the black population has settled for becoming the employed and never the employers. On the other hand, the minority white population has more employers and entrepreneurs.

Except for a limited apprenticeship period early in the history of Barbados – and in poverty stricken areas like Martins Bay- the minority white population has always had economic independence and social independence. At emancipation, the blacks were given social independence; it was not economic because they were not paid reparations for the time they had spent as slaves. At independence in 1966, the island gained its political independence from Great Britain.

Herein lies the present structure of inequality of Barbados; 99% of the 5% whites have social, political and economic independence and the 95% of the black population believe that they have social and political independence. Of that 95 % less than 5% have economic independence.

There are several reasons for this. The outdated educational system in Barbados does not teach entrepreneurship, poverty among blacks, the prohibitive lending practices of the banks, limited scope of government’s business development schemes and the inability of back businessmen to receive lucrative government contracts. This article will focus on the latter.

Throughout post independent Barbados, wealthy white businessmen have played prominent role to direct the political affairs of the island. In the past they were known as white shadows. Of late, they are no longer in the shadows and their presence now looms larger than life. Even the great Errol Barrow could not shake the hold that the minority whites held after his party achieved independence in 1966. They were the landowners and therefore voters before the backs obtained the right to vote. Did this give them preferential access to the government over blacks? One wonders why this preferential relationship has continued with successive black governments and why the whites do not seek political office.

In the midst of the present economic recession on the island, it is now essential more than ever that the black population achieve economic independence. Each successive administration has offered lucrative business contracts to the white minority and very few to blacks. This has created several white business magnates who by their portfolio now cater to every need on the island, leading to a concentration of power and wealth in their hands.

The present reality is that we have a situation where a fraudulent election has produced a hypocritical government which pretends to have the best interest of the people but their actions to these minority white business men speak otherwise. This small group of business men has attached itself as a parasite to the public purse to create every scheme they can dream up. In essence government ministers are now the puppets of the whites who no longer control from the shadows. Every Minister of the elected government has compromised his position to the entire electorate of Barbados in some was as a result of his involvement with those businessmen.

Both the Prime Minister and the Attorney general have admitted that votes were bought in the 2013 election. Bizzy Williams has admitted that he has given money to finance political campaigns for both parties as well as that he made a donation to the police force. It is no wonder that the police never investigated the Cahill scam. Bizzy Williams, Bjorn Bjerkham, Cow Williams, Mark Maloney and Tempro have all found a way to achieve wealth off the backs of the black people of Barbados long after slavery has ended. They bring no genuine investment but depend on the taxpayers’ money to finance their business schemes.

The cash strapped present administration whose members have already sold themselves to the highest bidder is seeking to divest government’s assets. The Sanitation Service Authority seems to be on the list of things to sell and what has unfolded as the Garbage Crisis in Barbados is quite telling; for months the state refused to take hold of its responsibility to remove garbage and then there was the drama surrounding the infamous tipping fee that was to be paid to Mr. Williams’ disposal company and after that several mysterious garbage trucks landed at the Bridgetown port. Now that the garbage collection system has almost collapsed, in comes Mr. Williams as a knight in shining amour to announce a proposal that he is willing to manage the garbage disposal in Barbados for $60 M a year. This alone is evidence that the SAS was allowed to fail so that the government could take hold of Mr. William’s offer. It is a clear picture of collusion between the Minister Denis Lowe and Mr. Bizzy Williams.

Since Opposition Senator Abrahams was able to comment on Mr. William’s announcement, an offer must be on the table and one must wonder of its contents. No manager of the SSA or the Minister is paid $60M a year. So exactly what does this management entail? Are those green garbage trucks that did not have an owner part of the $60M deal? What will happen to the workers currently employed by government? Does this mean that Mr. Williams, in addition to garbage collection will be responsible for garbage disposal? Will his new $60 M responsibility include decision making on any future waste to energy plants in Barbados for which land has already been vested and finders fees paid?

Mr. Williams is no angel, saint or savior. There are already private waste haulers who could have done this job. Chief among them is Mr. Cherry, private waste haulers who government seems bent n victimizing. Mr. Cherry should now offer government a counter proposal to collect the garbage in Barbados.

One wonders if the outcome of government’s failure to collect garbage is a sign of things to come for the delivery of other public services for which taxpayers’ money is utilized. This brings me to the water crisis that is being experienced in the North of the island. Is the provision of tap water being allowed to fail so that a white businessman can offer to provide running water to those affected residents at let us say $300M a year?

At the end of the day there is a need for the ending of secrecy and beginning of transparency in the way the government awards contracts and other business initiatives, the tendering process must be followed. There is a need for a quota system in the awarding of government contracts. 95% of the island should receive 95 % of the contracts and the 5% who are already wealthy will not suffer if they receive 5% of the contracts. Black business men, community groups or cooperatives must be formed to present counters offers to the government in light of the proposition offered by Mr. Williams as well as for other projects. If Mr. Williams can do it off the taxpayers’ money any black business man can do it too.

If this situation persists unchallenged and unchanged, we are headed to what can only be termed as economic slavery where the government collects taxes just to pass on to this minority. To make this situation even worse, a fraudulent election means that there is no political independence of the electorate. This means that after 50 years of achieving independence, the black population is headed back to the pre emancipation period. We never had economic independence, our political independence was sold for a mess of pottage on the last election day and; social independence (our pride which some of us relinquished by giving up the right to vote for free and fair elections) which is dependent on the former also vanished on the last election day.

247 responses to “Hypocrites and Parasites”

1. … and then there is the 1709 bequest of 100 acres on which Foundation School sits!!!!

I forget the name of the man who made the bequest!!

2. Bush Tea October 12, 2016 at 7:46 AM #

Chuckle……wuhloss…..John cutting yuh tail wid some unpallatable facts……I await your response.

3. The problem in Barbados today is no one has the slightest concept of what is wealth creation

Everybody is after riches but there are limited opportunities so the weak get left out.

The strong live to fight another day but time is running out

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John…time has run out….yall thieving asses got exposed, all of you, the slaves in parliament as well as the thieving 5% welfare rats.

All of you have had 3 decades of thievery , scams and corruption against the 95% black majority population…..a really long run.

5. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Funny very funny people know all about the things that does not matter and none of the things that does matter today, We still looking and watching to see what direction it goes to next,
    Wealth was stolen in these modern times, Archive, Library, land tax, inland rev. website and web pages cover up and delete as much as they can , \

Bush Tea , i watching none not coming this way , as the white crooks and the Masons take over for the next level of slavery, Bankers, power light , water , internet phone cable,bonds sold to white as taxes goes up to pay bonds when due, around and around till we all broke ,We await from the 1900 to 1970 and see who own what, that lack of info to the public is what is killing us, The white bankers on the outside knows whats going on in Barbados , its time the people know.

6. The problem is the politicians expect their cut or everything mash up!!

They started asking small then escalated their demands as they got bolder.

People on the outside with money and power moved in on the scams so most of Barbados is in foreign ownership … eg CLICO.

Bigger con men than the politicians!!

My guess is that they will soon want out as they realise they have bought into a shackled out economy.

Eventually, the country will be worthless …. until something basic changes in the hearts of Bajans!!!

Not much to do with colour!!

So my logic says even the politicians will lose out and everything mash up with or without them!!!

Greed and stupidity do that!!

Reread the article and you will see what pure idiocy is expressed … but that is how Bajans think, or rather don’t think now!!

“For they have sown the wind, and they shall reap the whirlwind: it hath no stalk: the bud shall yield no meal: if so be it yield, the strangers shall swallow it up.”

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John…I see that as a good thing, finally break the stranglehold they all have on the taxpayrrs…parasites, slaves in parliament, 5% wefare rats…all gone……

…..the majority population will be happy to be rid of all, they are resilient people and will survive…….

it’s the parasites and welfare rats have to go looking for new holes, new, vulnerable and unware people outside of Barbados to try their vampire acts on…I suggest Jamaica, nice island, friendly people.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161012/news/painter-charged-with-prison-officers-murder

Or even Trinidad, one of my favorite islands…never a dull moment.

http://ow.ly/HmhG3057UEU

Never, never dull in Trinidad….the parasites and welfare rats should love it.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ John

I have to vehemently disassociate myself from any assertion that the Anglican Church in Barbados was associated with the generation of wealth. They amassed riches from their racist benefactors and employed those riches entirely in building their own influence and power. I am embarrassed that you quoted something I wrote before launching this ill considered diatribe.

Look again at Bishop Coleridge’s ‘accomplishments.’ “Clergy had increased from 15 to 31; the places of worship from 14 to 35; the sittings in Church from 5,000 to 22,500; the schools from [5/6] 8 to 83, and the children receiving their education in those schools from 500 to 7,000.” He built churches and recruited clergy to extend Anglican power; he built schools to brainwash the populace to extend Anglican power.

He did NOTHING for the people of Barbados or the other islands. Why doesn’t the record show how many homes the church built for Barbadian Black people: ZERO. Why didn’t he talk about the number of acres of donated land he put under cultivation to help feed a desperately hungry population: ZERO (Remember that the era after emancipation was a time of starvation for many Black Bajans who were reduced to eating rats to survive). Why didn’t he brag about the Church using its money to underwrite Black enterprise and help economic development: because the Church did NOTHING except in its own narrow racist selfish interest. The “education” that you speak of so reverently was tailored to keeping Black people in subservience: to train them to accept the white supremacist power structure and hope for deliverance in an imaginary hereafter. Did they train carpenters, masons and tradespeople? NO!

This is not “an example where riches were converted to wealth,” it is a sorry tale of ill gotten plunder given to the Church which then used it to reinforce racism and its own temporal power. Remember the root of the word riches? Reich! Kingly power. The only thing Bishop Coleridge accomplished was accumulating more servants for his ambition to power.

Take a close look at your own words “Emancipated slaves could neither read nor write, they had no surnames how could they possibly fit in to an economy that relied on such niceties?” Is this supposed to be ironic? Can you not hear the condescension in your language? Can you possibly be unaware that they were deprived of their surnames by countless acts of terror perpetrated with the collusion of the Anglican Church? Being violently robbed of your land, your family, your history, your very name: it’s not a bunch of “niceties” it’s a crime against humanity. Your own words stink of racism.

And then you have the temerity to take someone to task for writing “At emancipation, the blacks were given social independence; it was not economic because they were not paid reparations for the time they had spent as slaves.” This sentence is perfectly clear. The writer may not have postgraduate degrees but the intent is clear and is in accordance with the facts. You disparage it but fail to deal with the substantive issue it raises. I am disappointed, sorely disappointed.

10. Cuh dear PLT
    Yuh going kill ee….?

Anytime someone goes into such detailed analysis to show how stupid John’s contributions can be when waterless, he tends to disappear from BU for months on end….
    …and with the current water situation on the island, we don’t want to lose him….

SO EASE UP A BIT please…. 🙂

11. Bush Tea October 12, 2016 at 9:15 PM #

Look at you nah…..yuh need a harsun body tuh fight yuh battles….yuh ain shame hollering “up and on”

John has made valid points from his perspective that are factual…..being factual does not make them correct in an overview of the situation,

A pox on all religions….is the best that can be said.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Harsun Kolij started as one o dem damn Anglican places probably. My education started after I left dat behind.

13. Actually I was told a week or two ago that HC is situated on what were two plantations, one called “The Retreat” and the other I can’t remember …. I need to check it out.

When it moved there from Spry Street I will have to check out too!!

HC started in the 1730’s if I remember right, long before the Anglican Church became the powerhouse it became!!!

Don’t have to be an extra terrestrial to figure out HC is also a product of the Quakers!!

The Harrison family early wills (up to 1715) show they were a Quaker family!!

14. …. and that’s why The Retreat is called the Retreat!!

15. Why do you think there are so many places in Barbados known as Parish Land?

My guess is that this is land donated to the Anglican Church by landowners, wealthy and not so wealthy!!

Who lives on the various parish lands today?

16. So PLT … you need to address the facts …. something I learnt at HC!!!

17. “Emancipated slaves could neither read nor write, they had no surnames how could they possibly fit in to an economy that relied on such niceties?” Is this supposed to be ironic? Can you not hear the condescension in your language? Can you possibly be unaware that they were deprived of their surnames by countless acts of terror perpetrated with the collusion of the Anglican Church? Being violently robbed of your land, your family, your history, your very name: it’s not a bunch of “niceties” it’s a crime against humanity. Your own words stink of racism.
    …. facts are facts.

No one deprived slaves of surnames … they had none when they arrived!!!

I have seen instances of baptisms up to the early 1850’s where former slaves did not have a surname.

Here is a link to one of the many pages you will find online, or at the archives taken from the parochial register, burials, for Christ Church, 1808

https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9RSK-97GQ?i=34&wc=M6PQ-CWT%3A218219001%2C218217802%2C218268101%3Fcc%3D1923399&cc=1923399

You will see slave burials and most do not have a surname.

Here is another link, this time to a page from the slave returns of 1817.

http://interactive.ancestry.com/1129/CSUK1817_133760-00274/3081829?backurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ancestry.com%2fcgi-bin%2fsse.dll%3fdb%3dBritishSlaves%26gss%3dsfs28_ms_r_db%26new%3d1%26rank%3d1%26gskw%3dthompson%2520barbados%26MSAV%3d0%26uidh%3dud5&backlabel=ReturnSearchResults

See how many surnames you find.

Nor could they read and write until they were taught.

Whatever may be said about the Anglican Church, it taught thousands to read and write, more than 100 years before Independence.

“We write our names on History’s page” so there cannot arise now a contention when the facts show what they show.

Act like you went to HC and deal with the facts, emancipate yourself from the emotional brainwashing of the 60’s and 70’s.

You can’t expect not to be taken to task when the data are available on the Internet and it is so easy to access.

Go and read!!

18. Why didn’t he talk about the number of acres of donated land he put under cultivation to help feed a desperately hungry population:

Because Barbados was a land of milk and honey and no one starved!!!!

19. There is more likelihood than people starving today than there was 200 years ago!!

20. PLT, no use expecting help from BT, he really don’t read and can’t deal with simple facts.

Squandered wealth!!

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“No one deprived slaves of surnames … they had none when they arrived!!!”

John..you lying hypocrite…blacks taken from Africa, stolen from Africa, had names you LIAR…they still knew their names when the landed at the slave clearing house that was Barbados and distributed to other countries…their very identities were whipped out of them….after all of that.

When ya thieving ancestors were deported from UK in the 1600s…did they not arrive on the island with English, Welsh and Irish names, so what did they call each other…….well the same for the Africans stolen from Africa, they had African names…and you actually call yaself intelligent..oh please, ya a jackass of the lowest order, ya sound like backward old dried up Cow “welfare rat” Williams.

“I have seen instances of baptisms up to the early 1850’s where former slaves did not have a surname.”

And here is to exposing your backwardness and racism…

…….if the Africans were allowed to keep their Africam identities…ya would have seen African names on those baptism certificate from yall fraud religion back in the 1850s…you are a disgrace and blight to humanity.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

When ya thieving ancestors were deported from UK in the 1600s…did they not arrive on the island with English, Welsh, Scottish and Irish names, so what did they call each other…you liar, racist and hypocrite.

23. Prospects at 60 Something and decreasing….

There is a horror that looms on the horizon of 90 % of bajans (we the poor ones) and that is one of getting old, when your job prospects are much diminished, with commensurate income reduction yet, and here is the clincher, every other thing that is part of your existence continues to rise.

So your light bill increases, the water, if you get any, increases, gas for the stove increases, land tax, house rent, mortgage and if no mortgage, maintenance increases and you find yourself feeding the altar of existence, on an exercise stairwell, from which you cannot get off.

Your reliance on your children, if you have any, increases, much to your inner shame, and, if you have health problems, between the financial requirements and the human resource needs that such care necessitates, just the act of staying alive becomes a challenge.

Certainly the recent challenge of Gordon Bellefield Alleyne known by those in his Church Gap Hill, Hillaby, St Thomas neighbourhood as “Giant” will underscore what de ole man is speaking about

This rat race of which Bob Marley sung seems to churn us up and spit us out at will and it is no “respecter” of persons, irrespective of ,our race.

Which brings me to effective government, and social care, and national safety nets, and the seemingly tricky balancing act of good governance and ensuring that the economy and environment for stable growth and functioning services are there for us all

Countries where that social matrix does not exist, all have these denominators, rampant crime, poverty, squallor and corruption.

It seems so obvious then that the duty of citizens choosing competent leaders AND THE CONCOMITANT REQUIREMENTS OF ELECTED AND APPOINTED OFFICIALS TO DISPENSE THEIR MANDATED DUTIES, goes hand in hand.

Either party being derelict in their duties, brings the malaise that grips Haiti, is gripping Jamaica, and Trinidad and which has seized Barbados under the incompetence of the Democratic Labour Party and which, as we all see, is bringing us down.

And yes, that “decreasing” age spectrum is ubiquitous and while readers may query why people as old as Dr. Atlee Brathwaite are still working (and effing up the system), we can see why, in the circumstances stated above, he HAS TO WORK and why we, who will be similarly challenged, will all be condemned to have to work when we reach his age.

This is why, with these “collective prospects” we the people, particularly the electorate have, irrespective of our age, to demand a caliber of representation from these two simian tribes, to ensure that we elect responsible adult leadership, capable of keeping the cogs of government moving effectively for us all.

CRIME & VIOLENCE, POVERTY, SOCIAL DESPAIR DOES NOT GIVE ONE BADWORD BOUT WHO WE ARE, IT DOLES OUT ITS GIFTS EQUALLY.

24. Of course slaves arrived with their given names … but they did not have surnames as we know them today.

If a space ship landed and took me to mars I would still be called John to anyone who got taken, BT and WWC included.

But my name would not fit in with whatever naming convention existed on Mars.

It doesn’t mean that I would not keep my name and BT and WWC would not forever know me as John.

But if I wanted to fit in to whatever existed there my name would probably change and I would do it.

Same would go for BT … or WWC.

Given names are different from Christian names, those names arise at baptism.

BT and WWC are given names, John is a Christian name!!

BT and WWC will also have Christian names but they have chosen different names.

Christian names and given names are different from surnames.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surname

That was the system into which slaves came.

Some slaves chose to keep their African names and indeed you will find some slaves being baptized with their African given names.

Here are some examples of baptisms of slaves who chose to keep … or adopt … an African name as a Christian name at baptism.

https://familysearch.org/search/record/results?count=20&query=%2Bgivenname%3Aquamino~%20%2Bbirth_place%3Abarbados~

Choose any known African name you like and do a search at this site.

Don’t run around thinking people were deprived of choosing an African name at baptism because the facts would show the opposite.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And those gifts will be doled out in large numbers to the minority welfare rats on the island when the majority demand their fair and equitable share of their own tax money….squeeze the corrupt government ministers until they squeak.

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Of course slaves arrived with their given names … but they did not have surnames as we know them today.”

John…ya talking demented rubbish and LYING again…..African names were known as African names ith surnames before yall started being spat out of black females wombs as Albinos………

African names ALWAYS had surnames…as can be found in 20,000 year old and older scholarly works in Egypt and other African countries…you are babbling demented nonsense.

Put you on any planet other than earth, first ya gotta pray ya can breathe.., everything else is secondary…we were not meant to live on other planets where we cannot breathe without an oxygen tank….how can ya call anyone’s name or surname if ya cant breathe.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John October 13, 2016 at 10:15 AM #
    “No one deprived slaves of surnames … they had none when they arrived!!!”

And neither in your scheme of things did they have first or given names! Did your kind expect the slaves to say:

‘Hi, My name is Kunta Kinte and I speak English just like my brother Olusande Obasanjo. But you can call me Black Jack Joe Jones or Sambo Smith’.

Your argument suggests that the people who were forcibly taken from the West African coast were nothing but dumb animals living in the wild with no social institutions of their own.

The same way you would give your dog or cat a name to show you recognize it as part of your loving household. They had names alright; but clearly not those assigned to them indicative of their ownership by some plantation or some well-off Quaker household.

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

My god John, when you’ve dug yourself into a hole you should stop digging.

Africans were not nameless before your church gave them “Christian” names. It is irrelevant that they did not follow eurocentric naming conventions. Your condescending nonsense about them not having surnames is a transparently racist attack on their personhood. The Igbo names of that era were constructed in a fashion similar to Arabic naming convention & old European naming, with no family names, instead one is known through their immediate male lineage. It was the institution of slavery which sought to obliterate these identities.

It is a measure of the depth of your racism that you assume that the lack of a European surname means that a person could not “possibly fit in to an economy.” The reason that the ex slaves did not fit into the economy is that they were prevented from doing so by our evil racist ancestors (yes, some of my ancestors were racists too). Their humanity and their labour was stolen during slavery and apprenticeship in a crime against humanity that still has its repercussions in your racist assumptions.

29. Never said anywhere that Africans were nameless when they arrived!!

You are making assumptions!!

Some of their descendants chose to keep their names, most did not.

Mine did not as did yours.

You got the surname Thompson because one of your ancestors adopted that surname for whatever reason.

… and I will bet Peter Lawrence are the names your parents gave the priest at baptism to make you a member of the Church … your Christian names.

That was their choice because it is clear from the records that the option was open.

30. I went through the same programming in the 60’s and 70’s I recognize in the language here …. in fact I could speak it too … thought it too for a while!!!

But then I went and did my own research

31. Up to the 1960’s I kneww an African descended Barbadian woman who was still know by her African name: M’doo-ya (my phonetic spelling)

She was very old, (retired) maybe twenty years older than my grandmother who was born in 1879 and who was still working at Mangrove (St Peter) plantation.

i am sure that she was not the only person in Barbados who used her African, not her European name.

John you really should not come here and write nonsense.

32. Am I the only one that comprehends that John is referring to the difference between some european naming process that dealt with a given and a surname as opposed to many african and eastern areas that only used one name.

33. Simple Simon October 13, 2016 at 12:14 PM #
    Up to the 1960’s I kneww an African descended Barbadian woman who was still know by her African name: M’doo-ya (my phonetic spelling)
    She was very old, (retired) maybe twenty years older than my grandmother who was born in 1879 and who was still working at Mangrove (St Peter) plantation.
    i am sure that she was not the only person in Barbados who used her African, not her European name.
    John you really should not come here and write nonsense.

I have actually shown you why she may have had the name!!!!

That name may also have been a Christian name she received at baptism.

Do you remember if she went to church and which one?

It could also have been a given name.

If you remember the surname/maiden name look online for it with the year range and if there is a baptism or marriage it will pop up.

https://familysearch.org/

If she was born in St. Peter the baptism records for St. Peter’s Church would probably have her listed.

That site will have records from the 1859 era!!

34. Just check the facts and leave emotion out!!

35. Anonymouse - TheGAazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGAazer

John present a very sanitized version of history during slavery.

He seems to think that slavery was the good old days with loving and beneficent masters. His narration of Barbados history is devoid of rape, mutilations, floggings, break-up of families, sale of human beings and their dehumanization.

Instead one hears a litany of the generosity of the ruling class. A classic case of mis-education ans misinformation.

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ John said “Because Barbados was a land of milk and honey and no one starved!!!!”

You are so hopelessly, tragically wrong.

I guess I should ease up a bit because our history education at HC was so atrocious. Please read a good history of the post emancipation period to see how wrong you are. The racist plantocracy pursued deliberate policies to make it as difficult as possible for freed slaves to grow food independently, so as to make sure that they had a desperate labour pool to work on plantations. As recently as 1900 famine was very much present in Barbados.
    http://archives.chicagotribune.com/1900/03/13/page/3/article/face-famine-in-barbados/

Famine was not all that made Barbados a living hell for many Black Bajans in the 19th century: epidemics of cholera and yaws (a bacterial disease) ravaged the population because in Barbados the “years after emancipation were characterised by a policy of deprivation of health and medical services to the free communities.” (Dirt, disease and death: control, resistance and change in the post-emancipation Caribbean by Dr. Rita Pemberton: http://www.scielo.br/scielo.php?script=sci_arttext&pid=S0104-59702012000500004)

37. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John, you are refusing to address any of the issues I raised, so I will repeat myself.

It is a measure of the depth of your racism that you assume that the lack of a European surname means that a person could not “possibly fit in to an economy.” The reason that the ex slaves did not fit into the economy is that they were prevented from doing so by our evil racist ancestors (yes, some of my ancestors were racists too). Their humanity and their labour was stolen during slavery and apprenticeship in a crime against humanity that still has its repercussions in your racist assumptions.

38. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

@PLT
    HC: History was just British History under Captain Hutt.
    We had some bright boys who could recite dates other than November 5

Only after Mr Jemmott came that WI history was taught and made sense

Show how irrelevant (some) of our education was…

Seems as if a few have realized that our education was not all it should be….

39. @Peter

You should also point him to the Apprenticeship period.

40. Sometimes you have to learn to leave well enough alone and not let John hijack any and all topics at will.

For a so called Christian who has a direct line to the Kingdom of the Almighty his is a not so rare racist indoctrination of dispensation to we ungrateful niggers.

Behold how this charitable brother of the Milk and honey doctrine in heaven is able to pull wunna private parts with this massa naming convention.

THe slave masters could not (a) pronounce our names because he was heavy tongue euphemism for practiced in pooch licking at the British Boarding school/seminary and (b) being unable to pronounce he was therefore unable to remember it.

And why should massa gots to remember the name of chattel??

Your name is Peter and he is an apostle so shut up you mabassa Ibo donkey and remember the four letters (heheheheheheheh)

de ole man cant count, I is related to Cris STINKLIAR annuder feller who got “pacific” not to be confused with specific, english and mathematics problems.

An earlier blogger made and observation as such related to the foolishness proposed by Pastor Lucille Baird

Of course what The Reverend Lucille Baird can do is to exhort the police how to “ban de fellers from congregating on the blocks”

Which made de ole man wonder, if dem go in a house and “congregate” is she going advise that de police go in deah and BREK up dat congregating too?

Whu aftah all, it would appear dat the rational is dat “wherever two or three yutes is gathered together” dat is a de facto block corner, and it should reason that we going BREK dem gatherings up, yes?

It is so sad that we doan see Reverend Baird, or others of the laity, tekking she tithes and buying some computers AND opening the antechamber of the church for evening training in programming and viable alternatives, yes?

But here she is, one of the leading minds in Barbadian society, she and Pastor “He Shall Not DIE Under My watch” Durant mekking a nex foolish pronouncement, so we going wid dat.

The logical progression of the two ideas of (i) banning de fellers from the block (Baird) and (ii) mekking babies (durant) is (iii) having de unemployed you locked up in houses mekking babies, whu wunna tink?

Yes cum leh we jes wuk up and have a good time

41. It is a measure of the depth of your racism that you assume that the lack of a European surname means that a person could not “possibly fit in to an economy.” The reason that the ex slaves did not fit into the economy is that they were prevented from doing so by our evil racist ancestors (yes, some of my ancestors were racists too). Their humanity and their labour was stolen during slavery and apprenticeship in a crime against humanity that still has its repercussions in your racist assumptions.

If you actually read what I wrote you will notice that lack of a surname was but one!!!

The other two were the ability to read and write.

Go look at the various legal deeds in the archives and you will see that nearly all there will be surnames executing them.

There are exceptions, for example when a slave without a surname was manumitted and only their given name was listed.

That is still recorded as a deed executed between a person with a surname and one without.

So, not having a surname on its own would not stop a deed from being executed and business being transacted.

The inability to write did not stop some deeds being executed with the signatory making a mark … applied to all sorts.

But if you can’t read, how are you going to know what the deed says and what you are putting your mark or signature to?

You have to rely on someone you can trust to read the deed for you which is indeed possible.

There are Free Negroes and Free Mulattoes who executed deeds and who took part in the economy, owned land and sold produce.

In the case of one of my ancestors who was given his freedom and became a Free Negro in 1721 he was given land … and slaves too!!

In the case of another ancestor who was also given freedom in the early 1800’s, she became a Free Mulatto and ended up owning slaves too.

Both took part in the economy.

I believe the descendants of the Free Negro ancestor became school teachers and fitted into the programme of the Anglican Church aimed at teaching the freed slaves to read and write.

I don’t consider any of my ancestors to be evil or racist, not the Free Negro one who owned slaves, not the Free Mulatto one who produced 10 children from her original owner, and least of all, not her original owner!!

PLT, I would never suggest you are guilty of racism but I would point out that you have been programmed to think a certain way and you can’t break free!!!

I have been there, done that!!!

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Vincent…John is again trying to steal the identities, dignitiy and respect, with dying glee of his and our African ancestors, though he would be ashamed to admit he has African ancestors. …again….because that is how he was programmed 80 years ago.

John is continuing to spread misinformation instead of admitting the fraudulent savagery of the british religious and political system created to enslave, control and specifically for self-enrichment…….he fails to admit what savages and animals they were and could become again…since the UK is going broke.

But I sincerely hopes he lives to see Round 2…that should shut him up.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John you still have not addressed any of the points I made. You are a hopeless case.

44. Peter, if you look at the date of the Chicago Tribune Article you will see it is March 3 1900!!!!

So, what happened two years earlier in 1898?

A pretty bad hurricane!!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1898_Windward_Islands_hurricane

… and if you look at the period at immigration from Barbados to Panama and Ellis Island you will observe that tens of thousands of Bajans left Barbados in search of work.

In fact, my great grand father, a tailor, took his two eldest sons to Ellis Island.

He could not support his 7 children.

He left them.

One ended up for a short period in jail (1910 census) and the other was a conductor on a tram in New York (1910 census)

The elder went to the UK where I found him serving as a marine in the first world war.

The younger married in New York, produced a child then died in 1917 of consumption.

I lucked out in being able to find these facts out and even got in contact with his grand daughter, my first cousin through the internet.

45. Whether one likes or dislikes John as a person,because of his religion,his coloured ancestors privilege to be a slave owner or just his tone…..it is immaterial to the facts that he is presenting……he has done the research and as unpalatable as it maybe try and rebut it it with your own research as opposed to deriding him……so what if he has an agenda deal with the facts!!!

46. … and regarding cholera, if you can get to the Journal of the Barbados and Museum Society, you will see that if you were rich enough to afford a doctor you died quicker because the doctors did not know what to do!!!

Right up to the 1960’s you will find infant mortality a huge problem in Barbados and it was not until Tullstrom and his work on water quality that any dent was made.

If you get to the Archives and you want the references are available

47. peterlawrencethompson October 13, 2016 at 1:57 PM #
    @John you still have not addressed any of the points I made. You are a hopeless case.

Actually, I thought I addressed the one you specifically asked I address pretty well!!

48. What is the problem with my answers?

49. SS

I will see what I can find on the lady to whom you refer from the facts you have given.

Sounds like she may have made the 100 mark!!

If she was born in 1859 and worked on Mangrove in St. Peter there is a pretty good chance that her parents may have been born as slaves or even worked as slaves on a plantation in St. Peter, maybe Mangrove itself.

There are returns made by plantation from 1817 to 1834 so I will look and see if I can find any names remotely similar to the one you have given.