David Estwick, Minister of Agriculture
David Estwick, Minister of Water Resources

According to media reports Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Water Resource Management Dr David Estwick has scheduled a press conference for later today (07.10.2016). Estwick has been the target of severe criticism because of the inability of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) to achieve its mandate to deliver potable water to ALL Barbadians.

One hopes that Estwick will treat Barbadians with respect AND assume an empathetic posture later today by leaving his usual blustery and bombastic approach at Hoodies’ door.ย ย  BU agrees with Dr. George Belle that the ongoing water crisis will have political implications for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) when the bell is rung for the next general election. It does not take evidence-based analysis to determine how long suffering residents in the areas of Barbados affected by water shortages will place their X.

One has to wonder what motivated Estwick to state recently, he intends to treat the water issueย  as a national problem in response to the question why he has not reached out to residents of the most affected areas. He is technically correct to say his mandate must be national in focus, BUT, the reality is that there is an area in the North of Barbados that is being affected.ย  Any sensible politician should appreciate the need to establish an ’empathetic connection’ with the affected residents.

Human beings cannot survive without water – the infrequent supply to areas of Barbados has served to increase the level of stress of residents in the affected areas. This is an important observation in the context of a Barbados gripped in a protracted economic crisis for the the last eight years. And there is no light at the end of the tunnel!

BU and others have written voluminously about the water problems afflicting Barbados.ย  The poor management; communication, planning etc. Residents in the affected areas must be grateful in 2016 to be receiving the many gifts of water. The many acts of kindness must be commended BUT it does not absolve the BWA and David Estwick from the responsibility of ensuring ALL Barbadians receive water at the tap. One wonders why the simple task of maintaining supplies to the community water tanks is not being achieved. Why rapid response teams are not being satisfactorily mobilized to fix burst pipes. Why we cannot manage efficient customer contact centre operations to respond to dissatisfied subscribers.ย  Proactive communication alerts via ALL channels. The website of the BWA is wholly inadequate in 2016, there is no visible Facebook and Twitter presence to efficiently exploit the digital platform in a country withย  deep Internet penetration.

The BU household will join many concerned Barbadians later today to listen to Minister David Estwick. Our expectation is that he will leave the political rhetoric for the political platform and deal with how his ministry plans to relieve the suffering of Barbadians in the North of the island.

#weliveinhope

239 responses to “David Estwick Addresses Water Crisis, HOPEFULLY”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87780/-cubana-cause

That fool can keep addressing the issue until the cows come home, if he does nothing about bit, it will get worse…talk does not fix anything.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87785/water-woes-returning-national-head-us

Who was it wanted bajans in the diaspora to take they hardearned money to Barbados again, they better stay wherever they are and see there is now the potential to die of not only bad quality water…but lack of water. At lesst they can move to anitger state ir province in the bigger countries.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/07/mottley-too-few-people-get-government-contracts/

So when did Mia realize this….that taxpayer’s contracts are never divvied up among black people in Barbados…but only given by both governments for decades to minority welfare rats for the last 30 years to enrich themselves only. …..

……did it take BU expounding on it repeatedly for years for Mia to see, did she not see this, when as deputy prime minister her government took up the Transport Board contract and gave it to a thief and cinman like Peter Harris if CGI Insurance over 15 years ago and since then all he has done with the help of former cj David Simmons and the nuisance lawyer Leslie Haynes is destroy all equity in the Transport Board with liabilities…….that he uses to enrich himself as well as Simmons and Haynes and all the other co-conspirators in and outside the supreme court.

Is it only now she is realizing that both governments have to get rid of the minority welfare rats out of the businesses of black majority bajans.

Does Mia realize that both governments have their dirty hands in destroying the island and people…and both have the responsibility and opportunity to fix it….before it gets worse.

3. This subject has been written several times those who choose to be highly vocal with a ferocious appetite for polical sway would do so no matter what Estwick say. The fact being that there are several factors that have affected the water crisis one of which has been the ongoing drought conditions .Although there might be some reason to fault govt for not have a well thought and cohesive plan that would be workable and efficient enough to adress water shortages to homes during times when govt was doing major repairs. Govt must be commended for taking on a massive task of repair of barbados rotted and decaying water system which is absolutely necessary an initative which should have been prioritized and given full attention by the opposition blp govt in their fourteen years of goverance needless to say an initiative which they might have avoided after measuring the political fallout
    This govt might have taken a political risk but a risk which would be benefical to the people who have suffered long and exhausted water shortages for years in silence.

4. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

it dont take 2 terms of near 10 years to run even a blue line of water to people houses, Bunch of lazy crooks in office that dont go out to live a day in People shoes,Any thing run by the DBLP is more like an out house, and its full of it ,

5. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

They can build what ever they want , We will see who owns the land, $40 Million cant move until the prove to Canada Who owns the land, Who they paid for it, and it must be “Clear Title ”

More money over there head from 2008 and cant seem to hook that piggy bank , more proof of land fraud, Wake up People its all about the land with crooks in office,

6. Well Well

I would like to make a brief comment on the latter part of your statement regarding the inability of both political parties in Barbados to prosecute the will of the electorate. Yes, all can agree the both political parties in Barbados bears some responsibility for the current vicissitudes on the island of Barbados, but we can’t stop short of saying that the people more than both of the political parties bears the most responsible for reelecting the same group of men and women who are bent on making a name, and stuffing they pocket at the expense of the ill-informed masses.

7. And it took the Canadian Government to publicly shame this Dolittle Government into addressing a long suffering public on the water situation that is plaguing the country. Notice I did not say “take action” as that is foreign to Froon and his circus clowns.
    Don’t for moment believe that diplomatic approaches were not made to move this matter along. Probably on numerous occasions. The manner in which it is now being addressed shows the level of frustration one encounters when dealing with square holes in round pegs!
    This brings me to another situation; there was a suggestion that the quality of water in Barbados had contributed to the number of sudden deaths experienced on island with a stringent denial by the BWA along with test results supporting their claim that our water is 100% safe to drink. The Canadian Government is now claiming that 30% of the water supply is unsafe. Who do we believe? The Canadian Government who are and have been trusted and long standing friends OR our government who has never lied to or attempted to mislead us? What do you think and who do you trust?

8. Violet C. Beckles

And what is the response of the people of Barbados and those who are influential enough to rally the masses into action? But to gather themselves at some school, to shout at those who are reresponsible and when all is said and nothing is done, put it on Facebook to show the world how stupid they’re.

9. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

I’ll bet anyone here $1,000 that he mentions several times that it’s not his fault, that he inherited a bad water system from the last gov’t and never mentions the money he and others teefed out of a useless new BWA building nor the private contracts to Bjerkham and Tempro to lay new pipes.

10. Interesting is the speed with which the government is willing to shutdown the country at the approach of a fragmented tropical wave BUT procrastinate with glee at the plight of Barbadians in the North who have not been able to get water to adequately satisfy their needs. According to reports the sufferers are treated like ‘animals’ by BWA officials. At least show some damn sympathy!

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

….”but we canโ€™t stop short of saying that the people more than both of the political parties bears the most responsible for reelecting the same group of men and women who are bent on making a name, and stuffing they pocket at the expense of the ill-informed masses..”..

Dompey…and a good day to you too.

Now tell me honestly.,…who else do you expect the people to choose to represent them when. ..

The same mediocre bunch of sellouts and slaves been presenting themselves as representatives and leaders for the past 50 years

The good, intelligent people on the island want nothing to do with the filth that is politics

The shit parliament been set up that way from the 1600s and the useless slaves in parliament when given the opportunity 50 years ago, never changed a thing cause they are all corrupy, greedy bribetakers with the mentality of slaves to a 5% minority

The same slave leaders have for the last 50 years mindwashed their own people, the weaker among the population into believing that their only station in life is one of slaves, yardfowls and pimps for politicians, workers and consumers to enrich the minority 5% welfare sucking parasites and as votes for slave leaders.

Dompey…tell me you dont see something very wrong with those mediocre slave leaders…after all of that.

12. Revolution Coming Avatar
    Revolution Coming

BARBADOS (Naked Departure) โ€” WATER CRISIS โ€” Naked, the water in the Belle area (in reality, all over Barbados) has become poisonous and the Canadian government is willing to help, but the dumb Barbados government is ignoring them. Is the black government in Barbados trying to kill the black people on the island? Anonymous

Now Mia Mottleyโ€™s finally caught a clue and is talking about a national (water) crisis! Water in Barbados has always been in crisis mode. Anonymous

Do you see the amount of deposit in your kettles? Believe me, that is NOT normal.

THE STORIES (Nation): Give the Department of Emergency Management (DEM) the lead role, and enlist the services of the Barbados Defence Force (BDF) in a national effort to bring relief to residents of more than half the islandโ€™s parishes who have been starved for water for a considerable time. This was the advice of Opposition Leader Mia Mottley yesterday in an interview with the DAILY NATION, as she called on the private sector, the Church and other members of civil society to nudge Government into action on what she described as a national crisis. By moving water relief to the top of the national agenda, the St Michael North East MP said it would also allow the Government to clear six brand-new water tenders that are now sitting in the Bridgetown Port, while across a wide section of the country residents wait angrily for the Barbados Water Authority to deliver water to their homes and businesses.

And, Barbados Today: As Barbadosโ€™ water woes continue to mount, a Canadian government official is demanding to know if Government has abandoned plans for the construction of a $40 million reverse osmosis project to improve the islandโ€™s dwindling supply of potable water.

Marc Parisien
    Marc Parisien, head of the commercial section at the Canadian High Commission in Bridgetown, said the plant was earmarked to be built at the Belle pumping station with loan financing from Canadian agencies.

The solution was first examined by the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) in 2008 with the objective of ensuring dilution and reduction of contaminants in local water. At a 2012 media conference, officials reported that in some areas of the island, nitrate levels were approaching the threshold of ten milligrammes per litre set by the World Health Organization (WHO).

At the time, Minister of Water Resources Management Dr David Estwick had expressed concern about the levels of contaminants that threatened the islandโ€™s water supply as he announced Governmentโ€™s intention to construct the facility.

Taking part in yesterdayโ€™s Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) business luncheon at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Parisien expressed disappointment that the project had not yet started. He also warned that the funding, which was being provided at a โ€œvery lowโ€ interest rate, would not be available forever.

โ€œThere is issue with climate change now; there is less rain in general, but basically we have been discussing for a long time about the Belle reverse osmosis project with Barbados and this is a $40 million project,โ€ Parisien disclosed, addiing that only about 30 per cent of the islandโ€™s water was drinkable.

โ€œBut the level of pollution is rising rapidly as you are aware. Now it is still under what you call the World Health Organization standards, but if it reaches that standard . . . it means that suddenly 30 per cent of people in Barbados wouldnโ€™t have water to drink. This could be a real disaster and this could be also [a disaster] for the tourism sector, and all that,โ€ Parisien added.

โ€œSo we have put together a package to help Barbados actually to do the project. Basically, we sent a letter even to Prime Minister [Freundel] Stuart, I think to Minister Estwick also and it was approved by Parliament to our knowledge, but when it goes to the Ministry of Finance for the funding to do the project, it gets stuck.

โ€œThe issue is that we have a package together now. We work with Canadian Commercial Corporation, we work with Export Development Canada and we have a very, very low interest rate average for Barbados to do that now, but we cannot hold this package forever because otherwise they may want to go to other islands with these types of projects also,โ€ he cautioned.

Directing his question to Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, Parisien said while he understood Government was currently struggling with its fiscal and debt challenges, he wanted to know if the project was still important for the country, โ€œbecause we just feel like if it is not done, we would like to know whyโ€.

โ€œCertainly the pollution level is too high and the people [in Canada] are asking what is the Barbados Government doing about it,โ€ he said. โ€œSo we just want to know what is the position of Government and is it still important for the Government? . . . . But we expect that this would be approved and we can start the project as soon as possible, so you donโ€™t get a surprise in six months, a year or two with this big issue in Barbados.โ€

Sinckler opted, however, not to respond to the matter.

โ€œUnfortunately, I am incapable of responding to that question in this forum. I actually think it is not the type of question you ought to have asked in this forum and therefore I am not going to [respond],โ€ he said.

โ€œI have a very perfect response to what you are saying but it is not for this occasion and therefore I am going to do, unlike our compatriots on the West Indies team, I am going to let that ball pass outside the off stump and go to the wicket keeper,โ€ he stressed

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Mia only catches a clue AFTER social media has beaten to death these subjects these subjects of the government violating basic human rights of the citizens and her crooked close associates and clients are the ones benefiting from taxpayer contracts and money….from the present government.

14. SHOW SYMPATHY TO WHO?I’M AH JOSEPHINE AN AND david pestwick can kiss my black ass…U ARE AH BIG STINKING PIT BULL BIG MOUT LIAR, TAKE UR PRESS CONFERENCE AN SHOVE IT UP WHERE THE SUN DON’T SHINE….DOES YOUR HODDIES AT 6 ROADS BE OUT OF WATER? OR THAT MANSION U BUILT/BOUGHT SOME WHERE NEAR L/BAY CORNER? OR UR OTHER ESTABLISHMENTS?…HOW MANY WELLS CAP OFF HERE IN APPLEWHAITES JUST ABOVE THAT PUMPING STATION? HOW COME THAT MAIN BURST AT BAWDENS ST ANDREW AN EVERYONE COULD SEE HOW HIGH THE WATER SPOUTING UP IN DE AIR AND GUSHING DOWN THE ROAD INTO THE GULLIES, YET WANNA SAYING NO WATER DOWN THERE….PESTWICK U AND AN WHO LIKE U CAN DO ME AH FAVOR………………………….

15. The govt will indeed continue to get the beating some justified other unwarranted. However when all is said and done this govt in year 2016 will be given its rightful credit due for fixing a mammoth problem of the barbados water system for years to come. So yes the political boiling pots that has simmered and now seems heavy with overflow will be remembered for years to come as a hot pot. owned opposition party filled with water whose overflow was stagnated with a nothingness to correct the water system of barbados
    All this pious glee by the opposition is nothing new but a typical response to give a certain amount of political leverage which history has proven the opposition to be wrong

16. @AC

Has the DLP ever done anything wrong, in your mind?

Moreover, is it capable of doing anything wrong, ever?

17. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

AC, could you please publish the tender documents by which the pipe-laying contracts were awarded? I would like to believe the process by which Tempro was awarded the contract was transparent.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The government will get NO CREDIT for anything. ACs you mutts…..the ministers are ALL EMPLOYEES being PAID to do their jobs……

…….maybe the pimps and yardfowls are, but the taxpayers are not begging these bribetaking ministers for anything. ……they are supposed to do their jobs for the people, no matter who was there before.

19. @ Pachama sigh !rolling my eyes.but back to your question which is nonsensical in that the issue brought to table is about the water system and problems connected which i have given some credit to govt and taken away some credit . so yes this govt has made mistakes
    But on the subject of mistake the govt has yet to learned they were given a mandate by the people to do what is in the best interest of the country and should not fall into a trap laid out by dissenters whose only interest is for themselves

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah ACs….the bribetaking government once again took taxpayer’s contracts and instead of divvying them up evenly among black engineers, gave them to the minority crooks and lowlifes….Bjerkham and Tempro. …how much bribery is involved ACs….how much will the taxpayers lose again….to the 5% thieves

No wonder welfare rat Bizzy jumped in the newspapers with his gimme mentality….he knew about it wants his share too.

21. @AC

What mandate? You mean that squeaker of an election 3/4 years ago.

Since then the people have changed their minds. But you will continue the Stuart dictatorship at any cost.

There was no mandate. And it there were it would have been for a national unity government, not a DLP ruler-ship.

22. @Pacha call it what you like unlike a dictatorship which you have on ocassion reccomended as a right way of passage .The people whether by 1 or a hundred voices made a determination of choice

23. @ AC, LEGION, David IQUICK TO RUN MY MOUF & STINKLIAR (with the bottled EVIAN water, not Perian) and FUMBLES

Here is a Stoopid Cartoon Poster to express the sentiment of the People of Barbados (the ones that are going to VOTE EVERY EFFING ONE OF YOU OUT and Head of Section of the Canadian Government

@ CHRIS STINKLIAR

STOP THIS POSTER LIKE YOU DISMISSED THE CANADIAN OFFICIAL AT YOUR TING AT THAT MEETING.

EF IT IS DE LAST EFFING TING DAT MY DONKEY DO BEFO’ I LEF DIS ISLAND TO MUGABE, IT IS GOING TO MEK EFFING SURE DAT EVERY ONE OF WUNNA EFFERS LOSS WUNNA EFFING SEATS FOR DE WICKEDNESS DAT YOU ALL HAVE PERPETRATED AGAINST BAJANS!!

EVERY EFFING SEAT!!!

http://imgur.com/a/AZ72H

24. THis is like that three bears fairy tale “something is in my bed”

Noooooo! This is like an effing horror move!!

Instead of “Something in the Attic” or “Something in the Woods” this is “Something in the Effing House of Assembly” SCUM called the Democratic Labour Party and wunna slime has been effing there for 8 years and we cant get wunna to shy##te out!!!

To the Most Supreme, we the people pray to relieve us of wunna scvunts.

Wunna real r hole ingrunt

25. The latest home grown economist to criticise government policy is Dr. Andrew Downes. His critique follows Dr. Winston Moore. It seems only minister Chris Sinckler knows the path good for Barbados. We pray that he is correct.

26. The quote of the morning found on the front page of the Nation Newspaper.

“I have to drive around to collect water to flush my toilet. It’s ridiculous! “

27. DEPRESSION, STRESS, frustration and despair.

Barbadians were expressing all these emotions and more this week as many continued to turn their taps and see nothing come out.

Farmers were contemplating giving up,

returned nationals were questioning their decision to resettle here

and elderly people complained they were completely dependent on their children and younger relatives for water help.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87784/bajans#sthash.6KM0YQ4p.dpuf

28. @Hants

Yes, we forget the farmers and animals.

29. LAWRENCE TAITT came home from the United States to retire and live the dream, but now he is living a nightmare โ€“ a dry one.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87785/water-woes-returning-national-head-us#sthash.MBTnY0ll.dpuf

30. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

And Williams from Cave Shepherd said yesterday what I’ve been typing here for years.

Barbados has been ground to a halt by inept gov’t, useless bureaucrats and otherwise unemployable snivel servants.

Big surprise there then.

The will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

31. How funking difficult is it to fill tanker trucks with water and deliver to those who need it?

How funking difficult is it to load vehicles and deliver bottled water to those who need it?

How funking difficult is it to do deliveries from 6 am to 6 pm every day?

Why is the Defence force not activated to help in this crisis?

There immediate, medium term and long term problems with water in Barbados.

Solve the immediate problems now and talk shiiiite and hold press conferences and “poliyical photo ops” to talk about medium and long term (elections).

32. โ€œOn a morning, it is terrible. We does got to bathe in buckets and all the children got to bathe. If I want a proper bath, I have to go to my sister and sometimes, them water does be off too,โ€ said the Chimborazo resident.”

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The present government is blighted, they get a salary, take bribes, sell out the people, have a nerve to want to take credit when they can get nothing working right…..and expect not to be exposed for their wicked ways.

We see now why none of them, including the oppostion party leader Mia and the 5% parasitic minorities never wanted social media in Barvados…..keep tge peopke ignorant, backward, a society with no information dessiminated and everything secret.

They ALL wanted to turn black bajans and Barbados into Mauritius. ….a slave country, using stealth and far away from the eyes of the world, in secret…..all for self-enrichment and personal gain at the expense ofthe black majority.

I am sure the 5% welfare rats already had a blueprint drawn up, the first order of the day was for lowlife Bizzy to control the police force and the SSA…..eventually the other 2 welfare rats and business partners Bjerkham and Tempro will control BWA…while the slaves in parliament will takevtgeir bribe money fir selling out their people….and retire.

Mia needs to explain in one of her townhall meetings why that thief and criminal Peter Harris was allowed the Transport Board contract 15 years ago by her government, to destroy the state entity with liabilities, destroy sny equity in the entity and destroy hundreds of injured claimant’s and their families lives by refusing to pay claims, but using the entity and the supreme court to enrich himself and those politicians, lawyers and doctors etc….he owns.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The black leaders are a disgrace….the black scum in the system calling themselves professionals who allow themselves to be owned by a minority 5% population are a disgrace and blight on the earth….they destroyed a whole country with their nasty corruption and greedy practices.

But they will run out of their illgotten money and die worse than that animal Lionel Craig…they never learn….hope they all end up in QEH before they die…..long before they die.

35. I dont think that you are understanding the depth of this problem Hants.

The Water is contaminated. they are now dealing with a very serious problem of where do we pump it from and not send water that is contaminated to people

we are in some serious shyt##e.

All water, all drinks, all food prepared in water every effing ting or to use your words funking ting is contaminated.

And dem trying to keep a lid on it

We got a serious problem and they are in the mode of “IF WUNNA TELL ANYBODY IT GOING AFFECT TOURISM & DE ECONOMY”

Whu de place dun eff to shy#te up, what more fecundity can they do??

36. David October 7, 2016 at 10:45 AM #

The latest home grown economist to criticise government policy is Dr. Andrew Downes. His critique follows Dr. Winston Moore. It seems only minister Chris Sinckler knows the path good for Barbados. We pray that he is correct.

……………………………………………………………………………….

Could you put up the link as I would like to shareit.

37. One has to be pumping from well running dry on the coast, it will destroy the well. The drought has compounded the problem for the BWA.

38. @AC

Yes, we supported the popular dictatorship of Caswell Franklyn as a means of reversing the excesses of the elected dictatorships we’ve had.

And as consistent with a well-known Roman tradition.

Fruendel Stuart is no solution. He is the problem.

39. Well Pacha easy! form your dictatorship and maybe all and sundry would get the message

40. Of course the Government has not taken up the Canadian offer of $40m to help purify our ever more putrid ‘drinking’ water. The Canadians insisted that the entire $40m be spent on the actual project. Imagine that!

41. Estwick in his address must stick to facts and realities of the problems and avoid being goaded by a political yardstick

42. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

‘Gearbox’ Estwick wouldn’t know a ‘fact’ if it bit him on his ass.

I still have $1,000 for anyone who doesn’t expect to hear him say ‘it isn’t my fault’ in one way or another.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As someone called the pothound “Pestwick” needs to stop freaking talking and DO SOMETHING about poisonous water and LACK OF water….no one wants to hear anymore of his lies and tricks.

How much kickbacks is pothound Estwick getting from the Bjerkham/Tempro thieves BWA scam to rob the treasury through that taxpayer contract ACs…how much of the people’s money will they all steal…., how many millions of taxpayer’s dollars in cost overruns scams…..how many decades will they take to replace those 150 year old pipes….why is the job a big secret from the public who has to pay for the project. ….

……….yall thieves will not live long enough to enjoy the stolen money…ya own wicked, evil, thieving minds will kill ya.

44. Well I doan know who going goad David “IQuick to shoot off my Effing Mouf” but I know who de ole amn going “goad” to some action and dat is de people of Barbados

When de election bell rings wunna is to remember that we are not to give the Democratic Labour Party “NOT ONE EFFING SEAT OUT OF THE 30 SEATS

WE MUST WHITEWASH THEIR BADWORD, BADWORD, VERY BADWORD

http://i.imgur.com/RGdxhx5.png

45. Live: David Estwick press conference. Tune in.

46. A FEW ELDERLY PEOPLE walking slowly in the scorching sun with bottles of water; scores of families trekking up a steep, long hill with containers of water in hand; a man pushing a wheelbarrow of buckets filled with water; a line of cars parked by a standpipe; a line of cars parked outside the nearby pavilion. No, these are not scenes from a movie I recently watched; this is reality. This is what I have witnessed in my neighbourhood in the two weeks we have been without water.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87787/water-woes-feels#sthash.fU7h8Mra.dpuf

47. Hants, so let us raise our voices and celebrate how far we have come as a nation in 50 Glorious Years.

48. How about making the commemorative erection at the Garrison a multi image statue including a giant pit toilet: a tap with sand coming out of it; a pile of garbage; a broken down bus, and a poor old woman bent double carrying two large plastic bottles of water. A flag with the number 50 on it flies at half mast and the inscription on the base says “Death of a Nation”