Recently we had occasion to review the series “House of Cards” and with the much heralded first Q&A sessions between Clinton and Trump being primed for profit, we now consider how art mimics reality, or is more realistic than reality. The differences, if any, between fiction and fact in politics. The centrality of war and peace in this election, if any of this could be serious, for a minute.

As we write both Clinton and Trump are going through their rehearsals in order to present what has been determined should be their best image/s. It’s all about perception management, not fact necessarily. Not truth either, if lies have more purchase. They are politicians playing ‘actors’ attempting to win an Oscar or two.

In the ‘House of Cards’ the president of the USA was portrayed in a more realistic manner than the current one or the wannabes are on the networks. President Underwood was seen as a serial murderer; a manipulator; the son of a man with ties to the KKK; a man surrounded by henchmen, bag men, wet workers, dry workers, willing to break any law in the protection of Underwood and in the finale – willing to go to war to avoid negative news reports about his own sins.

The activities this weekend at the UN suggest that an imminent Clinton presidency would mean a declaration of war on Russia. Clinton is obviously head of the war party in wait. Russia has had to asked ‘who was in charge in the USA’. Obama is clearly not, as the Pentagon has openly disobeyed his orders and bombed Syrian soldiers to show defiance to him. He is now the little boy sitting at the kiddie’s table.

And the CIA continues to arm terrorist groups in Syria in contravention of direct orders from Obama. It is clear Clinton, Samantha Powers and ilk are intent on a humanitarian nuclear war to further the interests of the one-percenters. Russia phobia has gone mad in the USA. And Trump may be our worst best hope, imagine that. For Hilary Clinton is a very, very, wicked bitch.

These are not the images we will see in the reality show which will dominate network coverage over the coming weeks. Any realities would require more than a soundbite, be too complicated for a dumb-down public, be absent of the zingers which Ronald Reagan made popular, fail to deliver the killer blow which both candidates will strive for but a draw could be satisfactory for both candidates and is the most likely outcome.

What we will certainly not see are the political infrastructures before, during and after these Q&A sessions to influence perceived outcomes. It is imminently possible to, by objectives measures, win the debates but loose the perception game. And this has happened before. So the showmanship around these sessions are more important than what actually happens during the Q&As themselves. Is this not then mere political theater?

The same will be true for the actual presidential elections. It is very possible to win the elections and loose the presidency. These days, the best way of achieve the ‘dark arts’ of the political game is to make the false claim of voter fraud by non-White population segmentations unlikely to support you while plotting with the internet experts to rob the electronic vote train as it conveys tallies to the central counting center.

This was the type of voter robbery Romney and Carl Rove attempted in 2012 to deny Obama a second term. Had it not been for the hacker group ‘Anonymous’ we would have had a flipping of tallies as happened in Florida 2000. In the fictional account, President Underwood had developed a more profound method for the total influencing of public perceptions by manipulation the news voters read – from jump street, making sure that only information supportive of him occupied the first items on most search engines, influencing other mainstream media houses, like only a sitting president could.

We know that the Clintons have not been dissimilar to President Underwood. Indeed, all US presidents have employed violence to achieve stated aims, at home and abroad. Clinton is particularly troubling and represent an existential threat to all mankind with her intent to escalate aggression against Russia, her willingness to deploy nuclear weapons, her blind support for the Zionist regime in Palestine, as ultimate war hawk. Now that the Clintons family has married into Jewry we should expect Benjamin Netanyahu in the White House, on steroid, should she win.

As far as violence is concerned, Trump represents a somewhat unknown quantity. Clinton loyalists have been trying to influence perceptions by arguing that he is a friend of the Russians. A country Clinton sees as her primary enemy, a la Ukraine. In this their acolytes in the media have been helpful in painting Putin as a dictator. But Clinton herself, is not unknown for her love affairs with the worst of dictators. They say Trump cuddles Putin. We are unsure what his orientation is likely to be about war and peace but expect that Trump may very well end up in the children’s room, left out of the loop, when the adults, the war party, discuss these matters.

However, given his history, his mental disposition, a 14-year-old boy trapped in a man’s body, his innate dislike for people of colour. We would also contend that no remarkably dissimilar policy positions from those of Clinton or President Underwood should be expected. We will also argue that Trump’s inability to show empathy and his spoilt-child orientation makes him particular dangerous in possession of nuclear weapons should he get a look-in.

A president Clinton will provide more material for writers on the ‘’House of Cards’’. Her administration will be characterized by so many investigations that it will make the Bill Clinton presidency look like a cake walk. Those investigations will be centered on the Clinton Foundation et al which has devolved into a hundreds of billions of dollars in money laundering, a trans-national, criminal enterprise, operating under the cloak of a 5O1C3 and not properly registered in various jurisdictions nor properly reporting.

A Trump presidency is no less likely to be characterized by criminal investigations. He too has issues with the usage of Trump Foundation money, tax code violations etc. The viability of these proceeding may very well depend upon the relative numbers of Republicans and Democrats ‘selected’ in the Senate and the House of Representatives. But a Democratic presidency and a Republican congress will be more eager to go for the impeachment of Clinton, from day one.

It certainly is not helpful to the people of the world that Clinton has already suggested her husband to be the employment czar. In the ‘House of Cards’, President Underwood moved heaven and earth to have his wife, the first lady, in an open marriage, to be the vice-presidential candidate. How life mimics art!

This political theater is manufactured to be unfair. For Jill Stein and Rocky Anderson will not be there, neither would the other up to 100 candidates who are on some ballots. The corporation, run by Republicans and Democrats who own this project is less interested in fairness than the League of Women Voters who ran the debates up to the 1980s.

President Underwood would have been glad to locate this set of moderators willing to keep fictions alive. Moderators refusing to do any fact checking. Moderators who have said that even obvious misstatements made will not be highlighted. Moderators prepared to have candidates disobey rules of truth without sanction.

The elections in the USA should be about the survival of the planet, the avoidance of war, the extent to which the one-percenters are seeking to gain more control over us all. What is certain is that a Clinton victory will insure all the above. It is difficult for us to contemplate circumstances where a Trump presidency could avoid these sets of outcomes given the diffusion of the war party forces and the acceptance of the PNAC agenda by all mainstream political forces.

Maybe the election will be a watershed. A time when the ‘House of Cards’ collapses. But we seriously doubt. However, these dog and pony shows should not properly qualify as debates. They are more Q & A sessions, billed like fights between Ali & Fraser, with the winner known ahead of time, depending on who spends the most money in advertising on the networks sponsoring same.

597 responses to “Clinton Versus Trump – Fiction Versus Fact”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

And David, one of them is going to be President of the US of A which is still the most powerful country in the world. How can one not enjoy and gawk at the spectacle regardless of the caliber of the candidates!!!

And how can one not appreciate that politicians are no more than a representation of us the voters. If we have lousy candidates then frankly David, it means they came from a bunch of lousy citizens who in their lousiness will elevate one of these louses!

Sad reflection on us all, don’t yah think!

2. In any case she whupped his backside last night and he,the spoiled brat and school yard bully that he is will come out swinging or swiping next round.Why did they have to stand for 90 mins?Was this a demand from the Trump camp which seem to think Hillary has no stamina and no doubt they were hoping she would have collapsed on the stage for millions to see.

3. Hillary Clinton is a certified dunce.
    She studied political science at Wellesley (a private girls college), then went to Yale Law school where she did not do well. She graduated for sure, but failed the DC bar exams.
    She then moved to Arkansas to piggyback on the career of her boyfriend Bill. She has never had a job Bill did not arrange for her.

4. Same ole same ole with Donald, today he came out blaming his microphone alleging that it was tampered with and also took shots at the moderator indicating the questions were “unfair” just like a schoolyard bully who is unable to respond when people stand up to them. In the Republican debates he also got into a catfight with Fox moderator Megyn Kelly (who should be his natural ally) for asking tough questions. The bully has been unmasked, the Emperor has no clothes, his knowledge is a mile wide and an inch deep.

This latest fit of pique is a prelude to him threatening to withdraw from future debates but his ego wouldn’t let him, he will come hunting for bear next time and the result will be the same.

The billionaire’s creed:
    1) Pay no taxes on your income
    2) Set up a Charitable Foundation
    3) Do not put any of your own funds into your Charitable Foundation
    4) Stiff your contractors
    5) Pay your personal expenses from your Charitable Foundation
    6) Establish Corporations with little or none of your own money but with significant investment from other parties
    7) Bleed these Corporations dry
    8) Declare Corporate bankruptcy
    9) Move on to the next victim

5. Sargeant
    Respect the facts. Your claim that Trump uses his foundation to pay his personal expenses is false. It is also false to say that he never used his own money to contribute to the foundation.
    What you can say is that he used other people’s money to fund recent distributions from his foundation.
    You should also recognize that Trump is a real estate developer. Developers in the US can claim a suite of tax privileges that are not available to most businessmen in other industries. There is nothing illegal about Trump’s tax strategies.

6. Donald Trump attended Fordham University for two years, from 1964 to 1966. He transferred to the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, where he graduated in 1968 with a bachelor’s degree in economics.

“It has been reported for decades that Trump graduated at the top of his class, but this claim has been called into question. It was first reported in The New York Times back in 1973 and was repeated ever since, but no journalist has been able to find any evidence that confirms Trump’s class standing.”

“In fact, the New York Times later reported that the commencement program from 1968 does not list Trump as having graduated with honors of any kind.” [Heavy.com News, May 27, 2016]

The Daily Pennsylvanian interviewed 13 of Trump’s classmates, and 12 of them had no recollection of him whatsoever.

Perhaps trump could be described not only as a “certified dunce,” but a “certified liar” as well.

7. Artax

Don’t be foolish. The Business and Economics program at the Wharton School that Trump successfully completed is one of the most mathematically rigorous undergraduate social science programs in the United States, far more difficult than the bullshit political science Hillary studied in the 1960s at Wellesley.
    Trump became one of the most successful real estate developers in New York City, earning a personal fortune of over $3 billion from an inheritance of less than $14 million.
    Hillary’s personal fortune of about $80 million was earned by selling worthless speeches to powerful interest groups and their lobbyists. She has never written a scholarly article or book, never drafted a single piece of legislation on her own. Totally worthless.

8. @ Chad

I believe you should have directed the “don’t be foolish” comment to the source of my information.

Okay, but despite the fact Trump may have “successfully completed” his economics degree and it may be, as you described, “of the most mathematically rigorous undergraduate social science programs in the United States,” the FACT REMAINS he DID NOT graduate with honours, which makes him out to be just an AVERAGE STUDENT who gained a “pass.”

Trump has been saying he graduated from Wharton with honours, but reports indicate there isn’t any evidence to suggest he was an honour student.

It was reported that, in 1973, Trump told the NY Times he finished FIRST in his CLASS at Wharton. An article in “The Daily Pennsylvanian” lists 56 people who made the Dean’s List at Wharton in 1967-68 and Trump’s name was NOT among them. (Source: The Daily Pennsylvanian 25 October 1968)

http://dparchives.library.upenn.edu/cgi-bin/pennsylvania?a=d&d=tdp19681025-01.2.27

Additionally, in 1984, William Geist revealed in the New York Times magazine that “the commencement program from 1968 does NOT list him as GRADUATING with HONOURS of any kind,” even though “just about every profile ever written about Mr. Trump states that he graduated first in his class at Wharton in 1968.” [Fortune, August 14, 2015]

However, I suspect that similarly to Trump, your response will be these sources are lying. Perhaps you could present evidence to the contrary.

By the way, I’m guessing that, UNLIKE Clinton, Trump has WRITTEN a scholarly article or book.

9. @ Artaxerxes

We humans are so predictable in this dichotomy called life.

I like Killery so de ole man will find all sorts of items to discredit The Donald.

Similarly, I am one of those suffering under the “blood from stone reign” of the Democratic Labour Party, and I use all sorts of tactics to discredit them while ensuingly “bigging up” their opponents the BLP.

When Chad 45 wakes up you can expect him to find something else to support his perspective and he may even suggest that you call Sean Hannity for confirmation heheheheh.

Do remember that Chad 45 is not an avid supporter of no Equality Movements ok?

Keep dem barefoot and ” pregelent ” is the caveman theme and, by golly, some may say that it is Chad s.

A fellow told me that Chad 45 is really 25 bodies short of his goal of Chad 70 (virgin wives) since de man is really a Sharia Law man and women is to be wearing “a bolt of cloth” sorta thing but I ent know to much bout Chad…

10. @ Pachamama

By the way this article was soooo dispassionately good dat it is frightening.

How many Americans rather global citizens REALISE that either choice is not a choice and that both are war mongers rather chess pieces for the purveyors of war?

If only the 14 year old boy in the 70 year old body were to realize that his comment about the 2nd amendment people speaks to the real force behind war and peace as they define and require it globally.

If I sell bulletswhat interest do I have in peace agreements at the United Nations particularly when the war zone is somewhere out there with dose people?

Well written, well done.

Get a Virtual Private Network service installed on your computer Pachamana, your writings are noteworthy at a level beyond these shores which parlays into a person of interest on a US watchlist.

Minds like yours cause people to think and such is the basis of insurrections

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ProvoChad, or should that be Chadpocrisy. Did you just SERIOUSLY tell us to “Respect the facts.” LOLLL. A perfect Trumpism of rhythm and rhyme.

“She has never had a job Bill did not arrange for her”. A falsehood. Easily referenced and dismissed. You are as bold and brash and just as economical with the truth as your hero. No wonder you want him to lead ‘the world’. Respect the facts, indeed.

Look I get it that appointments to the Supreme Court, the immigration issues etc are bigly matters driving Republicans to want their person in charge but when the Blogmaster reminds us about lousy candidates and ‘pundits’ like yourself (from both sides) extol blatant lies to validate their own candidates it’s abundantly clear why we have elevated so many liars to be our leaders.

Incidentally, most people may agree that “there is nothing illegal about Trump’s tax strategies”, but they are simply asking this sharp Wharton grad to show them his skills. It’s a simple request completed by EVERY candidate in recent memory. Why is your man so exceptional that he refuses to follow that tradition?

You say Clinton has broken the law and got away with it. The FBI didn’t think so re email. And various other investigations of Whitewater et al have not returned indictable cases or levied major fines.

On the other hand, your man lost and was fined after a Housing Discrimination suit. Lost action and was fined for illegal loans to his casino. Lost action and settled case he brought against a financial analyst who wrote that his casino operations was a House of Cards. The list is long.

Your hero bends the rules (like Clinton) to the edge of their natural breaking point and has gotten away EVERY time.

He basically plays by his own rules – as you do here bro…but we would definitely have to be a bunch of louses to allow him in full public glare to do it with his taxes too.

Is it too much to ask that any leader should really ‘respect the facts’ better than he does, which btw is 5X times worst than his opponent!

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Trump is lying about how much money he is worth, lying about his health, lying about taxes, lying about graduating, his stripper wife lied about graduating, plagarized Michelle Obama’s speech, lied about being a model, a stripper and a model are 2 completely different professions, the one has nothing to do with the other.

Clinton is just doing what she knows best…..being deceitful and telling lies.

The white house is now being exposed for what it really is, a house with white paint…filled with secrets and lies…the 2 most dangerous and proficient liars are fighting to reside there….how much more proof do we need that it’s been fraudulent from the get go …….. 266 years of fraud.

Neither candidate even realizes that they are exposing the reality of how the system works. …they are both too caught but with their own lies.

Don’t mind Chad wasting his time trying to sell Trump, anyone piggybacking on a loser and serial thief like Trump. ..has confidence issues……they need a bully and liar to look up to.

Trump is a master of bankruptcies and living off credit to return to bankruptcies. …that is called stealing…some might find that admirable since they carry the same mindset…but it is stealing.

13. Do you think trump is the only businessman to play the system, I can guarantee all of you take the deductions on your taxes that you are allowed and some of you take deductions you are not allowed. Trumps job is to make his company profitable for the investors who probably pay taxes his employees who definitely pay taxes and himself who may or may not who cares govt revenue is being generated in one way or another.
    We can all agree these are two awful people but one will be chosen as president so do you pick the bad boy billionaire former miss universe owner or the mutt bill was tired of phucking

14. It is tragic to see black men supporting Hillary. She is a misandrist who calls certain black men ‘super-predators’. She organized support for her husband’s legislation in the 1990s that dramatically increased the number of blacks thrown into prison. She helped Bill when he reduced welfare payments to impoverished blacks.
    She plans to continue immigration policies that will keep flooding the US job market with Mexican immigrants, who dilute the political influence of African-Americans. She is bad news for black people no matter how you look at it.

15. It is enough to say that Hilary represents the status quo. It is enough to say Obama promised change.

YOU be the judge.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

….240 years of fraud….

I am surprised the BU error and typo police did not catch this error.

Maybe they dont know the correct date…lol

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson….speak for thyself.

I filed my taxes in the US and never cheated once.

Canada Revenue should check you out,..lol

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…hahaha

This just proves that not only did Trump NOT graduate from uni….he more than likely. ..never went.

He cant debate with Hillary….she can tell more lies than him….and being a law student….it was mandatory for her to be part of a debating siciety….a skill every politician should have.

If I remenber correctly….Obama was the head of the debating society at Harvard…I believe, so was his wife.

TRUMP THREATENS TO SKIP REMAINING DEBATES IF HILLARY IS THERE
    By Andy Borowitz , SEPTEMBER 27, 2016

PHOTOGRAPH BY POOL / GETTY
    HEMPSTEAD, N.Y. (The Borowitz Report)—Plunging the future of the 2016 Presidential debates into doubt, Donald J. Trump said on Tuesday morning that he would not participate in the remaining two debates if Hillary Clinton is there.

Trump blasted the format of Monday night’s debate by claiming that the presence of Clinton was “specifically designed” to distract him from delivering his message to the American people.

“Every time I said something, she would say something back,” he said. “It was rigged.”

He also lambasted the “underhanded tactics” his opponent used during the debate. “She kept on bringing up things I said or did,” he added. “She is a very nasty person.”

Turning to CNN, Trump criticized the network’s use of a split screen showing both him and Clinton throughout the telecast. “It should have been just me,” he said. “That way people could have seen how really good my temperament is.”

The billionaire said that debate organizers had not yet responded to his ultimatum, but he warned that if he does not get assurances in writing that future debates will be “un-rigged, Hillary-wise,” he will not participate.

“I have said time and time again that I would only do these debates if I am treated fairly,” he added. “The only way I can be guaranteed of being treated fairly is if Hillary Clinton is not there.”

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Trump wants to debate with himself…lol..hahaha. .lol

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David September 28, 2016 at 7:11 AM ……. YES ” Hilary represents the status quo” DOUBLE YES “Obama promised change”.

EVERY POLITICIAN SINCE George Washington in US, Grantley Adams here and the myriad others promise CHANGE at every election cycle..

Are you suggesting that in fact he did NOT bring about CHANGES? Or are you saying that all the changes he touted were not implemented? Or are you saying he was just blowing smoke and never intended to change anything?

Since Errol Barrow and team enacted the obvious and far reaching changes when they took office can I infer from your brief remark that every Bajan politician since then has done NO change?

If you prefer a Republican mode of change as compared to a Democrat mode that is absolutely acceptable. I have no problem whatever. But if you are suggesting that Clinton will simply be same-old-same-old then I question your analysis of the politics of the day.

Frankly, I would have no problem with Trump if he just topped the chart for an A’type personality and was a man who showed decorum, judgement and temperament and was not so plainly racist and divisive. In short like Regan or Bush 43 before him.

But the man is a dangerous unhinged, egomaniac who is brilliantly shifting the tide of an entire country with rhetoric that would have gotten the average politician relegated to the dump heap months ago. This man is beyond smart and thus he is absolutely too frigging dangerous to be the leader of a super power.

Clinton can be controlled and will be investigated to death or out of office, whichever comes first but It will be Heil Trump at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue.

This man should go reside at the presidential suite at his Washington hotel…that is as close to the White House as he should ever get.

We can play these mind and word games endlessly but the words President D. Trump should chill the hearts of any practical person.

I pray to God the US electorate cut through all the damn BS.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@chad99999 at 7:08 AM #…It is tragic to see black men supporting Hillary. She is a misandrist who calls certain black men ‘super-predators’……STEEUPSE!!

And we should vote for a man who wouldn’t rent his apts to us. Of course you know that 30 years after those cases one of the buildings embroiled n that discrimination suit still only had 1 or two Afro-American tenants. A man who refers to us as ‘there is my Afro-american’.

A man who never built one complex of ‘affordable housing’ is now the saviour of the average man and woman after over 50 years n the real estate business.

If Clinton is a dog on race issues, she is a chihuahua. This man is a rabid bull-mastiff.

You really need to ‘respect the facts’, fah real.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/donald-trump-hillary-clinton-america-presidential-debate-first-isis-american-security-middle-east-a7332516.html

Lol

I do agree with Chad…blacks should not vote for Trump or Killary….the Clinton administration started the wholesale imprisonment of blacks, worse than it was before and the nonsensical immigration detaining of everyone. …for profit, they made it an industry. …their Foundation needs to be looked into with a microscope……….for this.

Trump with his broke self…will make it worse….

Both of them are the world’s laughing stock because they are both so dangerous.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Three truthful comments that grabbed my attention.

One of these two insane imbeciles will be president shortly. The world has never been in so much danger.
    ReplyShare0

3 hours ago
    ratatoskr
    As far as I know IS don’t have their own weapons factories and I don’t think they have their own Toyota plant. Choke the money from SA and Turkey and watch them wither.

Robert Fisk is a decent journalist, one of the few left working for the mainstream media with any integrity. What however is the point of Robert Fisk, when the comments are much more interesting, and reveal far more truth than his article?

The comments even quote official US Government documentation, which make the situation perfectly clear, as regards to who exactly has been supporting (and is still supporting ISIS), whilst claiming to fight them.

Readers need to accept, that even Fisk is either incredibly naive (which seems highly unlikely) or just yet another propaganda merchant promoting US and UK Government lies, resulting in the atrocities of wars continuing in the Middle East.

If people like Fisk actually wrote the Truth, the wars would eventually stop.

24. @Chad
    It is tragic to see black men supporting Hillary
    +++++++++
    How will they fare under a President Trump? With a possible Giuliani of “stop and frisk” fame as Atty. General (Christie may be toxic since the stench of “Bridgegate” is clinging to him) it will be open season on blacks, if you think that race relations in the US are bad now Pres Trump will set it back 50 years. Everyone knows the “birther” nonsense was pure racism and that was not the only time he tried to slime Obama, he also promoted the line circulated by right wing Press that Obama didn’t go to Columbia and he demanded to see Obama’s transcripts from Harvard (saying Obama was a terrible student). Trump was prosecuted by the Justice Dept. for housing discrimination this wasn’t any Justice Dept. this was Nixon’s Justice Dept. not known to be friendly to blacks but Trump’s policies of not renting to minorities were so egregious that the Gov’t had no choice but to prosecute.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/inside-the-governments-racial-bias-case-against-donald-trumps-company-and-how-he-fought-it/2016/01/23/fb90163e-bfbe-11e5-bcda-62a36b394160_story.html

25. De Pedantic Dribbler at 7:47 am.

My sentiments exactly!

Trump has disqualified himself several times over in the long lead up to the Presidency. Any thinking person who has followed the campaign must recognize this. That it is still possible for him to win the elections speaks volumes of humanity’s ability to discard facts staring us straight in the face.

Re. Clinton; Where are the facts that she is anymore off the chart, in terms of morality or liardness, than any typical top politician anywhere on this Earth. They are all adept Liars. They are practically all egotists. Clinton’s voluminous record suggests that she will be essentially a status quo president, moved slightly to the left by Bernie Sanders. But it does not suggest that she would bring down armageddon on the world because of innate personality flaws.

Re. Trump; His actions speak volumes of an unbalanced mind but there is one characteristic of his persona that, imho, will ensure that a Trump presidency could catapult us to Armageddon or at least a Third World War. That is, that he seems incapable of taking sage advice even though he may temporarily appear to do so and therefore his opinions remain static and ill informed and therefore liable to be acted on. He is essentially a near 70 year old spoiled child.

Americans should therefore think carefully before handing him the scary trappings of an awfully powerful Presidency. A possibly unbalanced president is a serious threat to Mother Earth at our current stage of development.

But perhaps that is what several of us, like Georgie Porgie, are praying for.

26. Blacks in Barbados and elsewhere have trouble separating rhetoric from reality.
    Under a racist Republican (Ronald Reagan), the black- white income and employment gaps were reduced.
    Under the first African- American president, those gaps increased.
    The Democrat Party has been a disaster for blacks, doing nothing to address everyday police brutality — just go to Democrat cities like Baltimore, Chicago, Dallas, Detroit, Houaton, Los Angeles, Philadelphia or Washington and see how you are treated.
    Instead, Democrats promote expensive housing, health-care and training programs that don’t work. Very little money actually gets past the lawyers, doctors, university researchers, psychologists, social workers and other helpers to reach the intended beneficiaries.

27. Sargeant ..open season on blacks…you think it isn’t now .look at the murders in Chicago 3600 since Obama has taken office and you are worried about stop and frisk to save some of those lives. Sometimes people are willing to collectively give up a right for there own protection. What is your suggestion to stop the chaos in the inner cities, a democratic president? how has that worked out for them

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Lawson what has the President to do with ANY US city really. Has Chicago not been a corrupt entity under a string of corrupt politicians for eons?

NY city was once like Chicago. It is no longer. And yes a Republican MAYOR started that change…no disagreement. But WTF does any of this has to do with any President.

I get it if a fellow doesn’t like Obama or prefers a Republican ethos. But it’s really annoying to see sensible people offer some of the most bogus explanations re the societal problems we face.

We obviously need to balance some of the inane democratic polices which seem to elevate welfarism with the inane Republican ones which elevate the 1%. There is no compromise at the federal level and most of the cities are corrupt with Democrats or Republicans.

Chicago is a mess. The police department is rife with corruption. The Black criminal enterprises are out of control. In years past it was the Irish or the Italian.

Stop and Frisk as a criminal ploy implemented in NY was unconstitutional and blatantly racist. That does not mean that the Police dept cannot enact aggressive personal intervention policies on the streets without trampling on rights. It does not mean they cannot be aggressive with sweeps into high crime neighborhoods.

Let’s get real and end the petty, stupid finger pointing!

29. I am amused at “lawson” implying it’s Obama’s fault that there were 3,600 murders in Chicago since he took office. Perhaps he may care to explain how he arrived at that conclusion.

Based on that comment, however, I am forced to conclude that “lawson” is white. White people are still of the belief that whites in control of anything will obviously do a much better job than blacks. After all, they graduated from the “University of Slavery” with honours in management.

Lawson is essentially saying Obama has been a failure as President because he was unable to reverse in eight years, the wrongs white people perpetrated against black people over the past 397 years.

People like “lawson” would conveniently forget that organizations such as the KKK have been able to exist under all the white presidents.

30. @Dee Word

On a side note, remind us why Obama threw The Reverend Wright under the bus?

31. don’t conclude…I am white most on here know that, but I have a black heart lol….the reason that Obama is at fault is that the barbadian sire holder that was sent to investigate every time a black man got a paper cut as a hate crime. Do you think police are really wanting to get involved when they may lose their pension or worse get jail time or die. Why is it most of these guys are only on a couple of years, its because the older and wiser ones have buggard off if you don’t think their looking the other way your deluded. Aggressive with sweeps ??? what does that mean??? democrat rhetoric. Stop and frisk there is no mistaken what it means and will let those poor people trapped in the inner city get some breathing room.

32. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL @ David, let me get back to that with prolix later tonight. But simply stated: the expediency of politics. Like Trump and his ‘birther’ admissions or Clinton’s remaining true to Bill in the face of his serial philandering .

33. So Donald Trump is a math wizard?Heard and read that and saw the proof of Justin Trudeau being a known hard seed in math.If Trump is equal to the task,he doesn’t ever show it.The guy might be many things including what the editor of the Huffington Post writes:-

Editor’s note:Donald Trump regularly incites political violence and is a serial liar,rampant xenophobe,racist,misogynist and birther who has repeatedly pledged to ban all Muslims-1.6 billion members of an entire religion- from entering the USA.

34. Does the subject of this book remind any of BU’s posters of Clinton or of Trump?

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/09/28/books/hitler-ascent-volker-ullrich.html?_r=0

35. @Dee Word

What is being political expedient? Does it make the proponent a liar, hypocrite or both?

36. the moustache reminds me of Clinton

37. Sources are now reporting that Hillary Clinton was given the debate questionsa week in advance.
    Reports are arguing that an NBC Intern was seen delivering a package to Clinton’s campaign headquarters in New York. Given Hillary’s troubles with emails, it makes perfect sense that they would deliver their information by hand to avoid hacking or getting caught.
    They’re Helping Her Get Away With Everything
    It is being reported that the Intern walked into the headquarters, and went directly into the personal office of Clinton campaign manager Robert Mook. The Intern was spotted wearing a FedEx outfit, but a reporter working with Fox News recognized her and immediately reported what he saw.
    When the Fox News reporter raised questions, Clinton’s staff called him “ignorant” and ushered him out of the office and away from their building. The Fox News reporter argues that he stuck around and did not see a FedEx truck anywhere in sight the entire time.
    This story appears to be true given how calmly she acted last night. It was almost as if she had a week to prepare for the questions, and that is why she sounded so robotic with all of her answers.
    Hillary had the facts and numbers memorized for very specific questions, and that raises another red flag. Of course the mainstream media will brush this story off, just like they have about Hillary’s emails, her server, Benghazi, and how the DNC rigged the primaries in favor of Clinton, but we can see the truth.
    They Continue To Cheat Because They Know Trump Is Winning
    While Hillary was fed the questions, she also got help from Lester Holt, the impartial moderator, that more than likely leaked the questions to her in the first place.
    Holt interrupted Trump a record 41 times, either to “fact-check” him or to ask a follow-up question. Conversely, Clinton was only interrupted 7 times during the course of the 90-minute debate.
    Additionally, Holt interrupted Trump the most during a particularly heated exchange about Trump’s stance on the Iraq War. Moderators are to remain impartial and unbiased, yet Holt made it his mission to argue Trump was lying when he claimed he was against the Iraq War.
    Holt interrupted Trump 10 times during the exchange, and demanded at least 5 times why Trump thought that he had better judgment than Clinton. How is that fair or impartial?

38. Trump is a Racist BUT ShilLIARy’ s self confession hey so:

She spoke of Black youth being SUPER PREDATORS and agreed wid 3 Strikes and the BIG SYTE hey:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4wo9nqWrwE

Wunna letting de Arkansas Mafia frig up yah head or wha?????

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There is no proof Trump is anything other than a liar.

You know when Justin is visiting University of Waterloo as soon as he is elected, he is proficient in Math, they got a world class Math department….and the Canadian dollar is still holding steady after that sudden drop last year, not climbing but holding steady.

I see the US in a permanent state of bankruptcy with Herr Drumpf.

Lawson…Chicago has always been a killing field, no matter who is president, it’s just highlighted now because it’s one if Obama’s hometowns. …it was always a brutal city since the 20s….chicago = the mob.., which had and still has nothing to do with Obama.

Yall like to blame my baby for everything. ..but just weeks left and he will be gpne…leaving ya with what ya deserve……..Herr Drumpf and Killary…lol

Ya think it’s bad now…NYC is soft killing….one every minute…compared to Chicago.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Here is my other baby…MoneyB.

Lol

41. he is milk toast we need a real man , maybe unlikable but is willing to back up what he says when someone crosses the red line. More troops to Iraq lol death by a thousand paper cuts.

42. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q3-0zVmBL9Y

Clinton Cocaine??????

43. Chicago had the Criminal Whiteys in charge, the Daleys????????????

In Guiness Book for having more voters from their Casket than anywhere on Earth!!!!!lol

44. Barack Obama is all about personal ambition and self-promotion. He has done nothing for black people. In fact, he was so careless about his appointments, he named a white Jewish lesbian to the Supreme Court who he knew could not vote on crucial affirmative action cases because she had previously argued before the Court on related matters in her capacity as the US Solicitor General — another job Obama awarded her.
    Obama’s neglect is not necessarily bad, because white Americans trusted him not to help black people too much, and he repaid their trust. If he had gone out of his way to help, most whites would have become even more cynical about the equality claims blacks make. They would be even more inclined to dismiss the entire black race as greedy, selfish people who only want to take from others.
    However, many of the real needs of African-Americans remain unaddressed, and Hillary’s priorities, like Obama’s, are elsewhere — with Hispanics, white feminists and Muslims, even though they are not as loyal to the Democrats as black voters.
    How stupid are black people?

45. BHO is a sophisticated pimp!

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….but I like him….lol

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB. ..didn’t they say it was Trump sniffling up a storm and could not stop…they stilling telling jokes about that one.

Lawson…famous last word, we will not let you forget them.

“They would be even more inclined to dismiss the entire black race as greedy, selfish people who only want to take from others.”

Not unlike the whites in the US and UK and everywhere else…they must always be the biggest, greediest most selfish thieves and welfare recipients.

48. Twitter accounts had a field day on Trump and his repeated sniffling suggesting substance abuse of some kind.One contributor opined that he was a coke addict and never had the sniffling the man exhibited.Hitler was a serial abuser of drugs as was Mussolini.Dictator types are not normal and subject to fits of rage and bullying as Trump has shown.The man showed withdrawal symptoms by constantly drinking water and repeated sniffling.

https://www.theguardian.com/books/2016/sep/25/blitzed-norman-ohler-adolf-hitler-nazi-drug-abuse-interview

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…ah tell dem dat dey supporting an American psycho…they will never live that down.