jackieopelRead this entry on the famous Barbadian Ken Jone’s Facebook timeline and it resonated. They say a picture is worth a thousand words. It explains the DNA of an ordinary Bajan.

Ken Jones

1 hr ·

The Greatest grave 50 years of Independence .I listen to Larry Mayers and hear all the comments etc.. Question did they really love this man? I wonder.

Image may contain: plant, flower, tree, outdoor and nature

132 responses to “Valuing Our Own”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya have to access the Allison Hinds video through YouTube.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Alvin..David Weekes is one, remember him.

The young scholars I know will vacation on the island but keep their distance.

The ones you know will all be retired….different age group…so why dont your government utilize their genius and scholarship to get the island out of that financial hole…why waste the opportunity, seeing that there are no geniuses in parliament. .maybe they can get the merrymen to help them.lol

Grenada just got a passing grade from of all people IMF, no recession…..what is wrong in Bim.

3. Well Well;
    I keep saying you can’t be that stupid, but you keep surprising me.
    Read what you said:…”no matter what a black person does on or off the island, it’s never appreciated by their fellow blacks on the island, no matter the scholarship or genius displayed….”
    Hasn’t Garfield’s genius been appreciated and revered by every Bajan?There is a statue erected to celebrate this at Kensington Oval. There is an Oval with the names of Weeks, Worrel and Walcott at the University to celebrate their achievements. Wasn’t Obadele Thompson’s achievement at the Olympic Games appreciated? Wasn’t Ryan Brathwaite’s world Championship Hurdles appreciated by every Bajan< Wasn’t Carol Martindale,s effort at the Olympic games appreciated, even though she did not win a medal?Did you know that Shirley Chisolm, the first and only Black woman to challenge for the Presidency of the United States has Bajan background, and she is appreciated for this by Bajans?
    You don’t know about Barbados, go and learn.

4. Well,
    You ever heard of Troy Weeks?Enquire.

5. Well,
    Rihanna just launched another Perfume line, and a clothes line along with her Puma line.
    World class Bajan.
    We can keep this up all the time. Tit for tat.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…the tit for tat is all in your mind, each country has their genuises, scholars, athletes and exceptional people to represent, most countries know to embrace and appreciate all, regardless of their humble backgrounds or whatever…most countries know not to steal from them or chase them away.

Scholarship and genius is generational. .it revolves and evolves….the leaders in Barbados, do not make good use of their scholars and they have to leave…they take advantage of their genuises and they have to leave.

Ya talking crap Alvin..the new generation of scholars and genuises create things you have never even heard of…neither have any of the goats in parliament. ..yall 20 years behind.

You cannot name not one bajan scholar or genuis who has made the international scene in the last six years..since Rihanna..you would not know what they do.

The world has changed..there are scholars and geniuses emerging very year..ya have to keep up.

I thought Shirley Chrisholm had passed.

7. Well Well,
    Troy Weekes is one of them.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…if you have 50 geniuses and scholars being identified each year for the last 6 years, you bend over backwards to keep and utilize them in a positive way, at least 15 of tgphem, not all will want to stay, but you make provisions for those who are interested to return after studying outside, you make it attractive based on what they will offer the island, based on their intelligent and genius….

…..not because who they are related to, who tgphey know in government or who their parents are…..the same way yall kiss ass for a few tourist dollars that are never enough to pay all your bills or lower your debts and deficit….you make your scholars and geniuses feel welcomed.,.they are usually homegrown.., you treat your own the best first..

YOU VALUE YOUR OWN.

There are no geniuses in parliament, but geniuses and scholars are born in each community every years for centuries.

9. Alvin Cummins

The office of COSCAP is in Belleville; 9th or 10th Avenue. Why not go there and talk with them. They will give you all details. I have no doubt that Jackie Opel left an estate to which all his business would have been lift. What happens when a person dies Intestate. Check and you will have the answers. Because he is dead does not mean that his work can be used without having to pay royalties to his estate. COSCAP can guide you.
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    The last part of your comment is an assumption one that asked then if “so” why then is his Opel grave left in disrepair and why are not his royalties being used for the upkeep

10. Periodically, doufuses, of whom AC and AC, the dynamic duo are lead singers in the band called Assinine Cretins, will make comments and the ole man, since I can’t abide a fool gladly, will speak out.

You Alvin should be ashamed of yourself because, whereas the other doufus DOES NOT UNDERSTAND how royalties work, you, with your books, published in big up Canada, where sales are plentiful, SHOULD AND DO KNOW, BETTER!!!

I will share with doufus #2 this cut and paste and explain it to the rest of the readers since I know that she will not understand this.

“Back in the days of vinyl records, there was a lot of breakage when record albums were shipped out for distribution. Because of this, recording companies only paid artists based on 90% of the shipment, assuming that 10% would be broken. Even as vinyl was phased out, this practice continued. Today it is gone for the most part, but there are still a few holdouts.”

See http://entertainment.howstuffworks.com/music-royalties6.htm

Jackie’s music was recorded on Vinyl and that presents two issues for consideration.

A.Which radio station still uses vinyl? AND

B.The process of conversion to the current electronic media AND ITS COST? In other words who pays the costs for this conversion? particularly when the author is dead, who prosecutes this conversion when the primary is no longer with us?

AND OF COURSE the primary driver, WHAT IS THE RETURN ON ROI? or simply put, whu $$$ does it mek?

Leh de ole man simplify dis fuh wunna.

effing a feller like Red Plastic Bag, who still alive and kicking, having a problem promoting his music and getting paid for materials WHICH GO OUT OF SEASON, from the time that they are made, what reasonable expectation can Jackie Opel or Mr. Bostics’ estate hope to realise from his dated music?

Alvin Cummins, I am going to ask you to be honest, and i know that that is going to be a challenge for you.

How many The Royal Palms are Dying” books you have to publish to get royalties, IN A PLACE LIKE CANADA, while you are still living?

Now and here is the $1million question, COSCAP, whose last annual report on their website is dated 2011, and whose disbursements for the year are $80,000, across some 500? artistes and producers, where is the ton of $$ that you seem to be intimating that Jackie Opel’s estate “must be making” to keep his grave in tip top order???

Steupseeee

You are a chronically dishonest man Alvin Cummins, deceitful to the very core of your being.

11. #rememberingzoe

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin, an author, asked me what artistes I was talking about…from that statement alone I decided to comment on what I know will go right over his head…lol

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Zoe passed?

14. The BU household congratulates newly crowed Miss Barbados,HOWEVER,we have to admit that her selection does not define what is a beautiful woman in our predominantly Black household. No disrespect intended.

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosToday/videos/10154078840198191/?hc_ref=NEWSFEED

15. First let me extend my deepest sympathy to the Zoe family a man of deep spiritual conviction

However on the issue of Opel and royalties am in also to belive that his name should be absent of any purchasing power attributed to present sales .isnt the artist name a branding by which a product is sold and therfore the useage of the name should only be given permission only if legally copyrighted to do so by the estate wherby the estate might have sold the name or can receive royalties

16. Why did BU post that Zoe is dead?

Zoe reported he suffered a heart attack and has not been around the blog of late.

hashtag remembering Zoe means just that…

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Miss Universe show goes for the exotic look, intelligence and mostly the community service you have distinguished yourself performing, that stands out in your country and to which you are well known, looking white does not mean you are Ms. Universe material..

…..that photo is airbrushed to hell, she is not the best Barbados has to offer, but the experience will be something..,

The track record in the Ms. World and Universe pageant shows the success rate of Trinidad, Jamaica and Grenada….that tells you what they look for in contestants who stand a chance of winning, find what really stands out.

I am seeing some barely there photos of her online, hope there is nothing more revealing out there, the Ms Universe show has strict policies about nude photos, although that sounds really weird…lol

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…I asked a question, as ya can see, David did not answer…lol

19. Btw David arent we as a country enough divided.Why do you feel the desire to infuse more of the same
    For Christ sake does her skin pigmentation makes her less of a barbadian than those of darker skin? So what about beauty i cannot understand your logic here .seems you are implying that her beauty should be measured in a skin color defined by majority
    For God sake do we now see skin color as a shade of paint by which we should like or dislike.. find acceptable or unacceptable
    Where do we go from here in our bigoted attempt to standardise and categorized the human race through the lenses of a beauty contest

20. Gosh, for once I am robustly behind ac. David??? You cannot be serious.

Fine, your position is that only people with a black complexion should represent Barbados.

Fair enough. Point taken. I take it that you accept that this holds true in all aspects of Barbadian life?

I take your point and accept it. I am myself of mixed race.

As such, I will take your words as sound advice in my future direction.

Nastiness already coming out, Well Well and whatever the consequences, now started slurs re nudity etc. Interesting, not only from the bitchiness view, but my mind had not even gone there, I was looking purely at the representation that Bim would get.

But WW and consequences of nothing mind has gone straight to the girls’ underwear.

That tells a tale, surely. Have fun imagining WW&WC.

21. Dr.GP, dem got room whuh part you is?

22. It would appear that the Face of this Miss Barbados we are, within the sapce of minutes, seeing “the Many (two?) faces of Eve” read AC the idiot at 2.32 and AC the coherent and reasoned at 2.45 p.m.

23. @Crusoe

Like Elizabeth Wadman this young lady gives Barbados the best chance of being taken notice of in this competition. That is al it is a eurocentric show.

For those Bajans who are not aware and of which obviously there are many….the Ms. Universe pageant is now seen as an outdated cattle show.

There was a time black females could not enter the show because of the color of their skin….that time has recently passed, around the 70s….. and given the number of exotic beauties who have since won, many exceptionally pretty of mixed blood groups, the most exceptional from the black group, but we all know why Harris was chosen…the organizers believes she has a chance…let them have their experience. …experience is good.

Next time they can try a mixed race female…or an exceptional darker toned female.. Barbados has never won that pageant or placed 2nd or 3rd, despite trying for years.

25. Sorry but i had not intentionally misinterpreted your leading statement in reference to Zoe death which you now seem fit to clarify after the damage is done.However i find it offensive and somewhat distasteful to make a posting with a controversial content relating to a persons death . sorry but such commentary does not make for good controversy

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Crusoe…keep your panties on…I said nothing about underwear, I said I saw some just there photos of her…..and it was a sideview photo of her breast, the person said it came from facebook…that’s why I said I hoped there where no compromising photos of her out there because of the Ms. Universe organizers set policies….

……where did you see me mentioning underwear, you can now go and see if you find any photos of her in underwear….that’s what the pageant sponsors do….and when they find any…you are out.

Where was I being bitchy, nasty etc.

And I too am mixed race…..so what’s your point.

Some people love to fall at the feet of others…I dont.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And I did mention that I did not see the point of the Ms Universe policies, my point being that the contestants are in some barely there swimswuits parading around the stage for the world to see anyway…yall full of shit ya know that Crusoe…lol

28. PDYR have you got nothing of importance to do with your time other than making stupid cartoons and the other side issue of being the blog critique professor while trying to discover how many faces there are of ac. You foolish ole goat
    Now i post a comment relevanct to person name and copyright and you all up in arms. Steupse.

29. No, AC (the stupid one)

It is not that I “do not have anything to do with my time than make stoopid cartoons”

Firstly, I am devoting some time to ensuring that you and your party “DO NOT GET ONE EFFING SEAT!!!”

Think of it like Inventory and Stock Doufus)

Signed the Neanderthal, the Stoopid Poster Boy & the foolish Ole Goat heheheheheheheh

PS (the Stoopid Cartoons are “templates” which can be ported to other clients so this is not wasting time it is creating a portfolio of items for future clients.

Here is another one for you

http://imgur.com/a/Gwr73

30. Fine !stoopid is stoopid does heeeeeeeee

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol……my, my.

32. @ David,

Your predominantly black household needs lo lighten up. lol lol

I hope you enjoyed my latest posting of Fleur East. Black.Beautiful.Talented.

33. reCrusoe September 18, 2016 at 2:55 PM #
    Dr.GP, dem got room whuh part you is?

wuh you talking bout Crusoe?

34. Yes Hant, there is a beautiful woman.

To be honest don’t care about Miss Barbados or whatever it is called. Another one of those shows designed to make White people richer.

35. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Neanderthal,
    the Stoopid Poster Boy
    the foolish Ole Goat
    Seems as if each ac has a name for you//

36. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

What became of PK? Like a meteor he shot across the BU sky and is gone.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Look…if the girl did not win the pageant fairly, as some are saying, she better not have naked pictures out there….if she does, it’s just a matter of finding them and sending them to the Ms. Universe franchise holder, there are strict policies against that and there will be nothing the hypocrites in Barbados can do about it…

That is me keeping it real.

38. It’s always “woe is me” or “poor black man” excuse for our shortcomings and earlier the suggestion was made that the Merrymen succeeded at the expense of Jackie Opel. Nothing could be further from the truth; Jackie’s music bore no relation to the Merrymen’s and one should give credit where its due. The Merrymen exploited a niche that in hindsight should have been apparent to anyone with half a brain.

The entertainment scene 50 years ago was dead except for Saturday night when people had “Social Hops”/Brams that catered to a specific group in society i.e. working class who were looking to let off steam and the primary music source was the “one man band” (call them HiFi’s). Those who were trying to move up in the social ladder would attend “fetes” at the Drill Hall or YMPC where they would likely hear bands like the BRC, Troubadours etc. While the two latter bands had the occasional gig at hotels, tourists didn’t come to the Caribbean to listen to some poor imitation of a North American band they came to experience music with a Caribbean flavor. Enter the Merrymen they dressed like colouful British Midshipmen and took some local folk songs of unknown provenance and made them their own think about songs like “Brother Neddy” and “Millie Gone to Brazil” etc. and the tourists lapped them up. Would a local entertainer would sing “Yellow Bird” or “Island In the Sun”?

Nothing succeeds like success and they were able to build on their success to the extent that Canadians of a certain age still remember them fondly and a few years ago they had a concert in Niagara Falls that one elderly woman told me she wouldn’t miss for the world. Some cruise ships hire musicians from the Caribbean and their song repertoire consist of Caribbean style music, that is what the guests want and that’s what management demands. BTW another successful group that appeared on the Hotel circuit was Lord Radio (Oliver Broomes) and the Bimshire Boys, they also dressed in colourful outfits played music that tourist like and had a job every night.

Even now every Bajan entertainer wants to be the next Rihanna, they are more likely to be the next forgotten musician if you want to make money you have to cater to your audience, if you want to be a starving artist join the long brigade.

39. @ Sargeant,

The Merrymen succeeded because their music was like vanilla ice cream. Almost everybody likes it.
    They created a brand that was perfect for the Tourist market.

There were a lot of bands in the 60s and 70s and some did well on the hotel circuit but the guys had regular day jobs.

May I remind you that the BRC and the Troubadours were very successful in Canada in the seventies.

Go to YouTube and search “Bajan Bands of the 60’s & 70’s – Part 5.avi”

40. @ Sargeant
    It is mental slavery.

A condition which results in not wanting to ‘stand out’ from the crowd; which feeds on a mendicant ‘poor me’ attitude; …..and where you actually resent other similar ‘nobodies’ who dare to think that they are somebody.
    Add an ‘education’ system modeled on the inherited albino-centric English version that glorified slave owners and reduced blacks to lower order humans…barely…. and you understand Bajan brass bowlery.
    Add politicians who are from AMONG the mentally enslaved (unlike the EWBs etc) and you condemn your society to self-enslavement.

Look carefully and you will see that it has mostly been those highly influenced by EXTERNAL education that have driven change….like Clement Payne…
    It is no surprise then that whites appear to succeed here. The whole warped ethos is one based on albino-centric values – including the idea of beauty. Even the black girls at these pageants seek to emulate ‘white’ characteristics in their drive to exemplify ‘beauty’….so what would you expect from the sponsors, judges, audience etc?

Bob Marley was prophetic in his redemption song… unless we can free ourselves from this bondage (and only we can..), they will continue to kill our prophets, and we will continue to settle for mediocrity …while looking up in awe to others.

The joke is that our hands were indeed ‘made strong by the hand of the Almighty’ …but we have not been able to ‘forward triumphantly in this generation’ as Bob had hoped…..

What a waste…literally a brass bowl waste…

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The heading is Value Our Own…I thought that would include ALL bajan bands that toured North America and Europe from the 70s, 80s, going forward, but some jackasses on here act like it was only merrymen and spice band toured.

Mike Thompson and others spent many, many years singing in Canada, if am not mistaken…he is still there.

No wonder the 5% minorities are boasting they not only own your politicians and ministers and with their help got their hand on your money but they also own yall dumbass mentalities, so that ya cannot think clearly…and that is on social media.

42. @ Bush Tea

Who are you though?

I can’t believe this!!

I was watching the NationNews clip of the awards and i was saying where the ass them bajan black girls asses gone!!

And I kept my donkey quiet

And look at you jes come here and say “Even the black girls at these pageants seek to emulate ‘white’ characteristics in their drive to exemplify ‘beauty’….so what would you expect from the sponsors, judges, audience etc?”

You are something else!!

Profound truths to the very core of our being.

I gone doah, I got a presentation to mek to a nex entity and I wanna do some fancy emaze effects, plussing I promise AC to do some tings bout de David Thompson Football ingrunce

43. @ Well Well & Consequences,

The MerryMen was the most popular Bajan band with TOURISTS ( and Bajan whites ) in the 60s and 70s.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants..the merrymen were not the only band playing in the 70s…to tourists ,. I was very young in the 60s, from what I remember, there were not many bands playing to tourists back, the dudes from troubadours etc were also young then, so they were not yet on the scene…but when the 70s came, that changed significantly, many young bands came out with much better genres than a duppy and some man sang by merrymen…..in the 60s.

……much better music evolved in the 70s and 80s which propelled the troubadors and others to the international stage in Europe and North America…and which became even more popular with the tourists …of course we know tourist would like anything when they drunk, everything sounds good to them then….my point being that from the 60s to now, the musicians have gotten better, more talented and even more internationally recognized than what obtained in the 60s.

Personally, I never cared for merrymen music…it was folksy, but that is not my cup of tea and I will not let anyone tell me what to like…I know what good music is and what it means to be an ultra talented singer/musician.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Besides.,..the troubadors and others from the 70s and 80s are also your very own, the bands from the 90s and now 2016…are also your very own.

46. A wonderful show this evening with members of the original Troubadours hosted by Larry Mayers.

47. PIECE
    re Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI September 18, 2016 at 9:20 PM #
    @ Bush Tea

Who are you though? I can’t believe this!! I was watching the NationNews clip of the awards and i was saying where the ass them bajan black girls asses gone!!

BLACK GIRLS DONT HAVE ASSES MAN…….THEY HAVE BACK–TERIAS MURDAH
    BACKTERIA note I didnt say bacteria but BACKteria

48. @ Well Well and consequences,

Enjoy the Merry Men with a black drummer.