jackieopelRead this entry on the famous Barbadian Ken Jone’s Facebook timeline and it resonated. They say a picture is worth a thousand words. It explains the DNA of an ordinary Bajan.

Ken Jones

1 hr ·

The Greatest grave 50 years of Independence .I listen to Larry Mayers and hear all the comments etc.. Question did they really love this man? I wonder.

Image may contain: plant, flower, tree, outdoor and nature

132 responses to “Valuing Our Own”

1. We must never forget Jackie

John Sealy,

Added 09 March 2012

Image result

THERE is something special about Dalton “Manface” Bishop, better known as Jackie Opel. His name triggers animated conversation about his musical gift, 42 years after his death in a car crash in Bridgetown. Many of his fans and close friends feel that Barbados did not understand him and therefore never got the break that he deserved in his homeland. Jackie died not realizing his dream of seeing Barbadians accept him and his musical beat spouge. The beat has since struggled to get a serious foothold after a brief contest for recognition after his death. But there is a passionate cadre of Opel supporters who are determined to etch his contribution into the musicscape of Barbados in spite of the odds. And a show will be staged on Sunday at The Plantation at 8 p.m. to raise funds for the restoration of his grave at Westbury Cemetery. One of his strong supporters, Peter Roy Byer, retired Government Information Service photographer and archivist said: “Having photographed him, having spoken with him, having watched his many performances and having heard people speak, they [people] had no problem with his performances. “But at the end of the day, they did not like him off stage. Even on his return from [Jamaica] to be Barbados’ first person with locks – and since many people did not understand locks, they were saying things like, ‘he like going off because he would not even comb he hair’.” Byer said Jackie told him that “there was nothing wrong with the world, just the people in it”. Mark Williams, show promoter and marketer, was one of the closest friends of Jackie Opel from his early youth. “My association with Dalton ‘Manface’ Bishop, started back in 1954 to 1955. He sang down the jukebox at a club called the Maple Leaf, opposite the [Fairchild Street] Bus Stand.” He said Jackie Opel was known as the act of Barbados when foreign stars came to perform locally. These included names like Percy Sledge and Joe Tex. Williams said Jackie also worked with the Mighty Sparrow. “There was a bond between Sparrow and Jackie. And every year that Sparrow made his tour out of Trinidad he included Jackie throughout the region.” This exposure landed Opel in Jamaica around 1961 to 1962 “and it was at the same time that Jamaica was celebrating its independence, Jackie was part of the moving away from the ‘colonial mentality music’ in Jamaica,” said Williams. Jackie did several recordings with ska and was part of the Jamaica Bonanza Tour, a tourism promotion which took in England and the United States. “He was seen in Jamaica not as a Barbadian, but as a perfect entertainer. He recorded a lot of music in Jamaica.” Jackie returned to Barbados and performed but got support only “from a particular set of people” and eventually went back to Jamaica. “The society can be blamed for not accepting Jackie Opel when he came back from Jamaica.” He died March 9, 1970 and was buried March 11, the same day of his planned show.
    – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/25531/forget-jackie#sthash.SBjobUDj.dpuf

2. David September 16, 2016 at 4:49 PM #

The answer lies in our own individual mirror image.

3. The story of Jackie Opel is indeed that of Barbados.

This writer, as a youth, grew up in the same neighborhood as he existed.

We can therefore attest to the ignorance, insults, which he bore with a degree of dignity.

And maybe we should also extend sympathy to those who misunderstood Jackie Opel, poor folks lacked could never, in a million years, conjure the idea that a genius was in their midst. And that genius was not in the image of Michel Angelo’s cousin.

Indeed, we recall that epoch with the greatest sadness.

His tortured life, the public’s ignorance, the internecine battles, gross neglect

We are not now, at all, convinced that similar societal reactions would not occur today, given similar circumstances.

Or the other extreme, of encouraging toooo much loud noises, which say nothing. Which are just as destructive as the lack of attention to a real genius.

Our determination is that the true creative geniuses have always been asked to pay too high a price as they venture too deep into the metaphysical to find the meaning of this thing, this thing called life.

Barbados would have been a much better place had Jackie Opel’s creative evolution been given full bloom.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The colonial mentality has stagnated the thought processes.,, ya cant blame the colonists…enough decades have passed that they could have reprogramed themselves through education, after all, they say they are independent…but they refused.

The society is still saturated with ignorant people…they still destroy all their geniuses and leave their idiots to lead….hence the rapid downward spiral.

5. @Pacha

Could it be a small society where all are known to each other lack the capcity to NOT be insular?

6. David.

No.

Your juxtaposition of size, familiarity and insularity is not the reason for our inability to value our own.

It is birthed within us, it is not in some grandiose scheme or policy, it is in the simplest of things.

For example, let us look at the way we congratulate our own at all points of their development – kindergarten, primary school, secondary school, university, work, church wherever and in whatever enterprise

Let me give you the late Sir Branford Taitt for your active consideration.

You have ever attended any function where one of his kids were being awarded anything?

Sir Brandford would get up and cheer and clap and tell everyone around him clap and cheer for his kids too.

People will call his attitude arrogance but I would say that his continuous practice and support of his children is the fundamental DNA blocks of self value.

These blocks and reinforcement at family, school, church and community level that, if we lack them at the “atomic” level THEY CANNOT BE DEVELOPED as part of the national psyche.

We are not socialized to be supportive of ourselves at the most fundamental levels and that parlays into me not ever thinking that I should say “well done, blogmaster” because (a) it is considered to be brown nosing or obsequious or (b) what is worse, I have not been socialized to see another’s worth and CONVEY vocally my sentiments of that worth (c) if it is a man I have been actively trained NOT TO COMPLIMENT HIM cause dat mek me a buller or, if it is a woman, I want pokkerts and (d) over the course of generations, it is not the thing that bajans do.

But here is something worse than that Honourable Blogmaster.

In the absence of a crop, weeds will grow.

So in the absence of positive reinforcements we find that the vacuum attracts the offspring of envy and cravateousmess.

Simply put David, I grudge you just because you are living and that you are brighter than me, or like Noel Lynch’s pronouncement about Obadele, you are faster than I am.

THis is nothing else, it is a natural law where nature abhors a vacuum and, given that we do not seek to encourage the collective, at any level of our development, over the years, we grow envious and distrustful and the Jackie Opel legacy of hatred and grudge becomes our norm.

7. PIECE
    THERE IS MUCH MERIT IN YOUR PIECE………PEACE

8. First strike against Jackie he was poor and black outta of the inner cities .second strike a nobody trying to change the landscape of a music industry which has already accepted calypso and folklore was a definite No
    Third strike barbados had a group known as the Merrymen and the powers that be would not have entertained a Jackie Opel rise to stardom no matter how good he was superstardom which would most likely would have shifted the landscape of the music industry in the carribbean with significant financial fallout
    Like great men of that era who found themselves in the struggle for equality he too eventually succumbed to the the road
    blocks and pitfalls along the way

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yes ACs….Opel suffered all of that in a BLACK NATION…..perpetrated by dumb ass black people on a black person like themselves in a black majority coubtry…are yall proud of yourselves yet….pride and no industry..

10. To quote our Right Honourable Prime Minister, ” Some people(presumably Barbadians) know the price of everything and the value of nothing.”

Here is the value of some of our own
    http://i.imgur.com/X93NtDE.jpg?1
    http://i.imgur.com/r8yp1gV.jpg?1
    http://i.imgur.com/BTFZN5C.jpg

11. Well Well & Consequences September 16, 2016 at 6:03 PM
    We well remembered that colonial mentality which was etched into the thought process of many Barbadians. For example the Plantation Chauffeur ,spent countless hours polishing and shining the big black great house motor car . But when the time came and he became the proud owner of that same car, he did not think that he and his family now merited the type of hard work and dedication which he had previously put into that car. Many still believe that the nice things in life belong solely to those in the great house and other exclusive areas,
    Barbados was praised, back in the early 1950’s by National Geographics, as an island without a weed,as every square inch was cultivated . And now That these and Fields and Hills,beyond recall, are now our very own, if National Geographics had to return, it would not be far wrong in describing Barbados as an island where almost every square inch is over ran with weeds and bush.

12. @PUDRYR

We cannot ignore the fat that we are a parochial people and with respect BU submits it is largely a function of our size and incestuousness.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Coloneol….the pride is false pride and they possess no sense of self, the dummies feel good saying Opel’s blackness in the majority black country of his birth was only one of the deterrents to his success.

Unbelievable in 2016 there are still people, black people…that are that stupid.

14. @ Honourable Blogmaster.

I do not disagree regarding the malady.

I disagree regarding the genesis of the malady and its cure.

I think of Malta, The Maldives, Martinique (albeit the latter being an arrondisement? of France) and their population size and density.

Let us single out Malta.

122 sq. miles and 426,000.

What is different David?

Sound the word Malta on your tongue, it would sound as sweetly as Barbados…

Our working population might be the size of one of the super companies and I would respectfully suggest that some of their properties are more densely populated than our most populous employer.

All of those companies were trained to be what they are “albino-centrally” indoctrinated.

So, to all intents and purposes, irrespective of the size, it is do-able to indoctrinate in a specific thread.

So either it is that the mission statement is something that is beyond the cuntry OR the people are brassbowls and untrainable, cause all the other elements of the equation are constant rather similar.

Which brings us right back to Brother Bush Tea’s hypothesis.

Brassbowls

Or that of Charles Darwin’s brother that the nigger is not much more than a monkey.

Certainly as we monitor the 16 apes of the DLP and the 14 of the other tribe we have to believe that this pronouncement is true!!

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

With one exception Piece, monkeys run in packs and they protect their packs, they protect each other, especially their women and children. They will nit treat one of their own like an outsider because they are a genius or more intelligent than another group who is not even a member of that pack, and tgeur own member can bring progress to that pack.

With the dummies ACs…their example, Jackie Opel could not progress among hid own people becayse the merrymen, who did not have half the talent as Opel, because they were lighter skin, not even white, were received better in a black majority country. …the merrymen never even made it to world class, they and spice and one or two other bajan “white” bsnds hsd a few tours….but none if them ever became world class bands or material.

You had a black Jackie Opel being seeked out by Mighty Sparrow, Percy Sledge and other world class talent…and you as a majority black country cannot appreciate his genius, you relegated him to the back ground. .. when he was the world class material in the 70s that would have put your country on the map and in the international arena, better than any substandard singing by l8cal white groups……

And ya wonder why Barbados can and will never progress, because of that backward mentality, Sparrows music still plays worldwide, so does Otis Redding, Percy Sledge and every other black genius from that era, whether dead or alive…..no one remembers merrymen, or spice or the other bajan white bands. ..unless some jackasses like ACs mentions them…..the ACs are also failures so it’s easy to remember the mediocre..

Monkeys would have appreciated Opel better, if he was one of their own.

16. @ David

Everywhere, the true creative genius has to pay the same price.

Smallness only serves to make it seem more extreme.

17. what should be asked who owns the copyrights to Jackie Opel music by what seems to be a grouping of individual/s who are making money through his artistry by means of redistributing his music

18. I am prepared for the cussing but I have consistently pointed out in this forum my views with regard to the lack of recognition granted to certain people with respect of their contributions to country and community because of their lowly background, pedigree or colour. However I feel that this adulation of Jackie Opel which surfaces from time to time on the anniversary of his death goes a bit overboard. True he was a good singer and entertainer but his contribution to entertainment in Barbados is no greater than for instance Lord Radio’s or El Verno the Congo or Madame Yvette or the versatile Ernie Small all of whose contribution to the tourism industry in its fledgling infancy should not be underestimated. I do not believe that the unkempt grave of Mr Opel has anything to do with his lowly circumstances but with that selfish part of our culture aptly summed up in the words “Barbadians have short memories”. Dame Nita Barrow’s grave was in a sad state for sometime. The places where for example Sir Frank Worrell and The Father of Independence were born were or are in dilapidated states as well.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Balance…so it can ALL be attributed to …a black thing.

All the talents you described, could have been world class, if discovered in the 70s and 80s….blacks have to teach themselves not to be so neglectful of their own.

They have passed the point of learning it from anyone, the other groups have shown everyone how to do it for centuries, it is their dedicated practice among their groups, even if they dont like each other, they all agree on one thing, survival and the strength in unity, looking out for each other for the common good ….it will now have to be self taught by blacks…cause they still only copy negatives to practice on each other.

When last have you seen a white majority country neglect their own people for a handful of blacks born in that country…..it’s like a religion in majority black Barbados though. …..

Emancipate yourself from your own mental slavery should be the national anthem cause nothing else works.

It’s now a brand name curse and blight.

20. @Pacha

If what you say is true i.e. that creatives are marginalised everywhere then the issue is what model/approach can Barbados adopt to achieve a departure from the norm? Is it even possible for Barbados to be different?

21. There are some people who are collecting royalties from Opel musical work but no one ever speaks about them and how much if anything there have contributed to rebuilding his grave site it is some what disingenuous to be pointing fingers at a small community of people who by any stretch of the imagination would not have understand the formalities of the music industry and how it was managed or distributed in the sixty or seventies or even today, ,for what i know of Jackie Opel my understanding is that he was well received in his homeland

22. @ David
    Pacha’s statement is profound.

In a world of selfishness and brass bowlery, ANY kind of genius is envied …. and in particular, the kind of genius that goes against the grain of selfishness …tends to be despised….

It especially plays on the mind of the small-minded, spiteful, and selfish …that there can be others who are broad-minded, transparent and community minded.
    True, they envy the ones who are even more albino-centric than they are too, …but in a very different way… like hero worship.

If the very Being who created this world, were to turn up here again right now – bringing good news and ‘doing good everywhere he goes’, you can rest assured that, starting with the political yard fowls like AC, Alvin …and those on the other side of the fence, a cross would be prepared for his donkey in very short order…

LOL…. cause the VERY FIRST thing he would do is publicly condemn their dishonest, thieving, bribe-taking, incompetent asses….

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, oh lawd Lolll…how did you come up with that ‘Furniture Limited’ idea. That is so profound in its ‘simplicity’. You and the Col B are showing some creativity. Both of you could have made a fist of it on advertisers’ row ‘Madison Avenue’.

re your other profound ‘truism’ : “So in the absence of positive reinforcements we find that the vacuum attracts the offspring of envy and cravateousmess….Simply put David, I grudge you just because you are living and that you are brighter than me, or like Noel Lynch’s pronouncement about Obadele, you are faster than I am….”

Clearly therefore Bajans are no more prone to that natural affliction that any other nationality. And yet the Blogmaster’s point of size does resonate…we experience more or rather SEEM to experience more here.

As you state its almost a ‘ natural law’ of ‘I am better than you’. Described as ‘crabs in a barrel’ or ‘kicking down the ladder’ in other prose and practically evidenced here recently as persons not paying their revolving loans…sowing those weeds rather than re-seeding new crops, of which you spoke!

So…all that said, back to your original point re acclamation….my 2 cents to you (smile): you are a super creative force and a very, very smart fellow. Hearty Applause!!!

And not forgetting the Blogmaster of course…nuff respect, big-up!!

24. The question for the author is do you love this man as well?Death is inevitable and he is in the death business.Cant he spare time and money to preserve the grave as well?This place stupid as shite.

25. @ David

We cannot dare not to be …… different.

And we must mean it, not just pay lip service to these notions

What sense can anything mean unless we are different to other peoples?

What could nationhood mean unless it represents basic elements of uniqueness.

Uniqueness, for example, must be central to the commercial culture. Why else would anybody want to come to Barbados unless for a unique experience?

We cannot be eternally bedeviled by fears of smallness. Democracy, for example, is said to come from a place not unlike Barbados in relative size, population.

This can’t emerge from trivialities either.

But none of this resides deep in the national psyche and is subsumed by other peoples’ stories.

Of course, who we are or think we are doesn’t happen by accident

And because it is not an accident it is also reversible, if we have the courage.

26. @Pacha

A lot of food for thought in your last comment BUT it leaves us where we always have difficulty on BU – trying to figure how to make the quantum leap to be different therefore leading to an improved society.

You will not agree BUT there is the wait for that someone (Chief) i.e. charismatic leaders required to galvanize the people (Indians) into action.

27. @ David
    You know full well that Pacha does not believe in any ‘maximum leader’ – who will come like the lone ranger and save the day… and in a way, he is exactly correct.

While a ‘Chief’ could well ride into town ..and herd the brass bowl sheeple towards their own safety (as for example EWB and others have done from time to time), this does NOT in itself solve the problem of brass bowlery…

It is now quite clear that although we benefitted materially from the leadership of people like Barrow and Tom, who – at times led us, viet armis, to our own good, we remain brass bowls at heart, …and when these leaders passed on, we reverted to our natural state of idiocy.

Pacha (who is too far ahead of his time) speaks of a kind of leadership where the wisdom required for sound leadership resides across the board ..and where there is continuity of purpose as such mortal giants pass on….

Careful analysis would show that this position actually reflects the ultimate PURPOSE of having the whole exercise of ‘life on earth’ …which is about the development and refinement of righteous character in individuals.

The fact that we are not seeing any progress in Pacha’s idealistic epistemology speaks to the increasing RARITY of the ‘diamonds’ that reflect true character development, …and to the clear prospect that ‘life on earth’ may as well be terminated shortly …since it has outlived its designed usefulness.

28. @ De Word aka De Pedantic.

And thanking you as well for your kind words and observations per the “Stoopid Cartoons”.

@ Colonel Buggy

You do know that you “drive” de ole man to do better

@ Pachamama

You said “Smallness only serves to make it seem more extreme.”

Yes sir it is the very smallness that makes us recognise and see the mistakes and inefficiency so easily

@ All

Ex Nihilo Creation.

I will take licence to wax philosophical for a brief while and use this proximate example to propose a solution

The above quasi Latin bastardization means “out of nothing creation” and, for the few of us who seriously want to change this morass of perpetual repetitive cycle of stasis that we Bajans find ourselves in, I would ask you to cast your mind to http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/inventions-what-are-the-10-greatest-of-our-time/

There is no need to get into the article as deeply as a neophyte would but view it just enough to understand 3 things.

1.The spontaneity of invention and innovation, irrespective of the field of endeavour.

2.The impact that it has on the world (albeit that at the time when discovered/implemented few see it)

3.The normalcy of “robust competition and active opposition” read the synergies achieved by constructive criticism of the “players” and the people who are going to teif it.

While this is disturbingly cliche at this hour of the morning i.e. “those who do not learn from the mistakes of History are doomed to repeat them” I would just ask you to pause and look at each invention and innovation and see what the process was “ex nihilo creation”

Can that inform Barbados’ course through these muddy waters of successive governance?

Successive governments, for these 50 years, most notably among which is this tribe of DLP monkeys, seem to be totally oblivious to this niche THAT DRIVES ALBINO CENTRIC & NON ALBINO CONCENTRIC, life.

Why after all, irrespective of the nature of the internet to invade our privacy and to tacitly mine our keystrokes (sometimes even keylogging our machines), and the websites we visit tracking our ongoing surfing, and all the other James Bond sorry Jason Bourne stuff, here we are typing, ON AN ALBINO CENTRIC computer using ALBINO CENTRIC electricity to create non-albino centric solutions? because we are hoping to make a change?

So let me make this point more pellucid.

Which observer among you could know or appreciate that the “Stoopid Campaign”, in three weeks has made a company to which de ole man sent a clearly defined offering, US $100K on its first launch?

Which of you in observing these “Stoopid Cartoons” could appreciate that Said Company now offer the product every month, and gross US $100K, each month?

Stay with de ole man just a little longer. I will not go into the lawsuit mode OR the attendant breach of confidentiality agreement aspects of that matter this morning, that is immaterial to the discussion.

My point is that a company in ***, saw the opportunity when it was packaged for consumption for a world audience and took the product, reverse engineered it, and now is using it.

My Point??

Barbados’ problem is not that we do not have what it takes to produce the products or services that the albino-centric world will consume OFF THE BAT, our problem is that

A.We do not have the ability to recognise what is indigenous talent of a world type or a global game-changer WHEN IT IS PRESENTED TO US, in utero.

Simply put, the people who are there at the top of the pyramid, our deciders, in both administrations, ARE CRETINS, and could not recognise the cure for HIV/AIDS even if they travelled into the future and it was given to them in a gift wrapped box saying HIV AIDS with Hollywood Sized Letters.

B.We do not have the nimbleness required for this type of transaction.

We lack the legal competencies for IP based transactions and to market mechanisms for worldwide products.

C.We still are incapable of understanding what this albino-centric game means.

If you are to get in it, you have to be prepared to do the Dell type lawsuits using the Dell calibe lawyers suing people for the patent on Steel Pan, the patent for blackbelly sheep and for things barbadian and West Indian.

There is nothing wrong with us supporting our tourism plant and the “white man’s” Gold Coast so that our degreed daughters, sons and grand children can become assistant to the UK chef or Head of Maintenance that Sandy Lane imports and the Immigration Department rubber stamps.

That is their game.

We bajans have to develop ours

@ Mia Amor Mottley

For us committed Bajans to “really change the game” you Mia Amor Mottley, when you get in office and wipe out the DLP, you have to get rid of these stragglers on.

Both those you are sucking your pooch and you know who they are and the other set, within the Army of occupation who, collectively manage the various pockets of national development and specifically innovation funding ACROSS THE ENTIRE SPECTRUM of national endeavour.

Whether we are talking about (a) the Ministry of Agriculture with a newly formulated Food Import Substitution Strategy, one augmented by hydroponics and Geographical Information Systems that collect collate and analyze our food sufficiency real time or (b) the Ministry of Economic Affairs and the Investment Planning Unit? with their outreaches to China or wherever for bilateral aid.

Whether it be at EGFL, the Central bank guarantee Fund, BIDC, the BMA, the BHTA, Fund Access you have to orchestrate a streamlined national programme supporting “innovation” whether at the requisite Incubator, or in virtual collaborations and de ole man list can go on and on and on.

The point that I am making is that you need to replace these cretins with visionaries and competent men and women who can deliver a new National Development Impetus for “new SUSTAINABLE products OR ELSE, in 5 years Mottley, you going be back at the same effing place like these DLP effers!!

So that wunna doan ting de ole man confabulating tings bout the Campaign 360 here is a video of the item that was sent to the *** Company, after 4 months of discussions and signed agreements.

The *** company just opened a new market in Brazil on Friday (You can hide and buy land but you cannot hide and work it)

https://youtu.be/z7w7UYPe26s

29. There are those who would introduced a psychological curve to interject their versions of truth without thought or concern of all the necessary ingredients that would have given reason for Jackie Opel having to leave barbados to pursue his musical career.Nevertheless many have brought into an article a onesided version which places a blame on Opel native people and a community of predominately black people erasing those memories when Opel music was highly appreciated in barbados by blacks.
    The tone on which this article proceeds to place blame is obvious but for whatever reasons excuses the power brokers and shakers of the music industry of that time
    More over one can take a review of Opel History via google and see who they are and how much of his death is contributed and attributed to making them wealthy
    Yet there are crying foul and asking those whom they place blame for help

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, and …drum-roll the most impactful development/invention of our time is…..

The 3-D printer.

I never appreciated the full impact of this device (and it has been on hand for some time now) but the vast and often ‘innovative’ ways that the tech is being used from medicine and science to military campaigns and all things in between will make this the most influential device on earth.

Simply mind boggling actually.

31. David,
    I wrote a piece earlier, and received a message saying that it could not be posted. Why?
    Was it because I compared the Barbados Pre- Independence with the Barbados of today, and would have been in apposition to the negativity and vitriol of most of your anti- government and anti DLP writers?
    In my article I pointed out what it was like at the time of Jackie’s appearance on the music scene, and paid tribute to him through a passage from one of my books: “…We created our own, our own music, one own heroes. We had Garfield, Charlie and Wes, and Conrad, and Jackie Opel and the Draytons, and Emile and The Merrymen, and Wendy and Spouge. The Music was ours.”
    …There was pride. We challenged the world at cricket. We showed them we were were not afraid to take on the world. We were a nation proud and Independent.”
    That was the attitude of Barbadians at that time; proud and unafraid. There was positivity. compare that with today.

When Jackie’s talent was recognized we did not; (in the small society of the time) and in reality, still, do not recognize what we have and have achieved in the world, and have now become so Black centric that we have gone full circle.Everybody danced to and enjoyed Spouge. It circulated the West Indies, but like many things in Barbados it became overwhelmed by competition from other genres and sources.

Well Well you speak disparagingly of the Merrymen. These are Barbadians; us, whether you like it or not, and they gave Bajans, all, a voice and image all over the world. They drew large crowds in England,In Canada, In New York and Europe, especially at a time when nobody knew of us,except as people from a “small island”. Their song “Beautiful Barbados” was revered by Barbadians wherever they sang it, and it remains an outstanding contribution to the Barbadian musical landscape. You would not have been around when it was first sung at the world’s fair in Montreal; when men and women stood entranced, with tears running down their faces. Where were you at that time?Where are you now, because from the negativity you are always spouting you live on a different planet. I note now how many Barbadians speak negatively of Rihanna; a world class figure, financial mogul, and world recognized artist who speaks constantly about her country. Another Jackie Opel?

Anyhow, you negative nabobs, Barbados will survive, grow and prosper, despite your attempts to denigrate it. Begin, foul varlets. Get thee hence.

32. Pedantic. and Pacha,oh ana Well Well.
    Do you know who invented the back light to your cell phone? The light that comes on when you turn on your cell phone? It was a Barbadian. Dr. CardinaL WARDE; A PRODUCT OF FOUNDATION.. CHECK IT OUT ON YAHOO OR GOOGLE.

33. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins September 17, 2016 at 11:39 AM
    “Anyhow, you negative nabobs, Barbados will survive, grow and prosper, despite your attempts to denigrate it. Begin, foul varlets. Get thee hence.”

Couldn’t agree with you more, A C! “Barbados will survive, grow and prosper”.

And it will happen as soon as they get rid of the useless incompetent dangerous lying pack of DLP bastards making up the current administration that has been a total disappointment and a millstone around the country’s neck while taking it back to a pre-Independence period both economically and socially.

By using the word “nabobs” you are deliberately casting aspersions on the Muslim community- many of whom are wealthy financial sponsors of the DLP electoral campaigns. You must ask Dumbville from Pornville about Bhana specialists in the importation of chicken wings for clarification on the meaning of the word.

EWB would have been most disappointed in you Alvin, Clown Prince of the troupe of varlets.

34. No Miller;
    When YOU negative nabobs are silenced again as you were silenced (not completely) in 2013. The energy you put into tearing down and/or obstructing could be put to better use.
    When you say: “By using the word “nabobs” you are deliberately casting aspersions on the Muslim community- many of whom are wealthy financial sponsors of the DLP electoral campaigns ” you are reducing the whole context of the discussion to your biased political argument , that you are always making. Why do you direct the discussion to the Muslim community. The word “nabob” has no connection with any ethnic or religious denomination. It simply means ” a very rich person”, thus it could mean very rich BLACKS, Whites, Hindu, Jewish, Men or women. Yet you chose to put it into a context which would direct attention in a specific direction.
    EWB would be very proud of me because it was against people like you; obstructionists, against whom he fought. People like you who sent delegations to the ‘mother country’ to fight the battle against him, against the fight for independence. People like you who wanted to keep us backward poor and poverty stricken. I will continue to fight against you. Remember that the Barbados Labour Party sent a delegation to join in that fight? Remember that the Under Forties, who fought against Independence, and whose members all became Ministers and Prime Ministers in the Barbados Labour Party Government, fought steadfastly against the Democratic Labour party in the struggle for Independence? The battle still continues today, fifty years after the DLP won the battle to obtain that goal. Your obstructionist views are still evident and must be resistedWhen you use language like:
    “…useless incompetent dangerous lying pack of DLP bastards making up the current administration that has been a total disappointment and a millstone around the country’s neck while taking it back to a pre-Independence period both economically and socially.” Does this do anything to enhance your image? It just shows the vitriol deep within you.. It is people old enough, like me, to understand the true meaning of what you say, because we are old enough to remember what it was like Pre-Independence, to understand that we can and will never get back to those dark days.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…what that got to do with me…am sure the genius Ward had to haul ass out of Barbados or sellouts like you and your government ministers would have sold him and his invention to the highest bidder, local or foreign residing on the island.

Alvin.., you can kiss merrymen ass all you want they were not nor will they ever be legendary worldwide…I have never heard anyone in my travels talk about them.

That’s the difference between us, I know when to call a spade a spade..no pun intended….how many platinum and gold records did merrymen or any bajan white boy band sell…you jackass.

The only time Bajans that I know of critized Rihanna was when she thought she needed to be naked to be famous…until she grew mature and realized that SHE made clothes rock, ask her the brands she now models…..but I dont expect you to understand that,..you of the sell ass brigade….thanks to her management, she sells gold.

Ya still dont realized what ya have achieved…yall steal from your geniuses, sell them out…they have to run from the island.

36. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins September 17, 2016 at 1:06 PM
    “When YOU negative nabobs are silenced again as you were silenced (not completely) in 2013. The energy you put into tearing down and/or obstructing could be put to better use.
    When you say: “By using the word “nabobs” you are deliberately casting aspersions on the Muslim community- many of whom are wealthy financial sponsors of the DLP electoral campaigns ” you are reducing the whole context of the discussion to your biased political argument , that you are always making. Why do you direct the discussion to the Muslim community. The word “nabob” has no connection with any ethnic or religious denomination. It simply means ” a very rich person”, thus it could mean very rich BLACKS, Whites, Hindu, Jewish, Men or women. Yet you chose to put it into a context which would direct attention in a specific direction.”

You must check the ‘historic’ meaning of the word nabob and you should be able to ‘contextualize’ its wider meaning.

But let us come a bit closer to home and apply it, as you so kindly recommend, to the local “very rich person[s]” and ask if you would consider Maloney, Bjerkham and that ilk to be nabobs too.

After all, the DLP political minions must do as these nabobs demand of them. Just look at the Grotto housing project and ask yourself which you think will be occupied first. Dalkeith Woods or the Hyatt Tower for the foreign nabobs?

Oh, I forgot! What about the Sugar Point cruise ship terminal? When is it going to start? When will be opening to start receiving premium grade sugar from Andrews factory due to be completed for the 2016/ 2017 sugar crop season?

In time for the grand opening of the Hyatt? Then Bridgetown will become a hive of activity in 2017, n’est-ce pas, Monsieur Alvin C. Nabob le Clown?

37. Alvin Cummins September 17, 2016 at 11:39 AM #

THE CONTENTS OF THIS POST CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    IT IS SOUND DOCTRINE

38. ac September 17, 2016 at 6:04 AM
    An interesting question ,best directed to COSCAP. I was in a shop yesterday ,and saw the COSCAP sign displayed,and wondered how are the fees collected by COSCAP disbursed to the various artistes .

39. @Colonel Buggy

How COSCAP work for Jackie Opel? He would not have been registered in their database at the time of his death.

40. It was on BBC Radio Four that I discovered that it was a Barbadian, working in a Canadian university, who invented the first internet search engine.
    Since then he has not been recognised by UWI, he has not won any national awards, nor interviewed by the so-called national newspapers.
    There is an old Barbadian saying: he is not anything, I know him. In other words, if a Barbadian knows someone, then it follows that person cannot be distinguished.

41. Has the Bajan Dr who designed the NHS in 1985 been recognised by UWI, or won any national awards, or been interviewed by the so-called national newspapers?

42. The office of COSCAP is in Belleville; 9th or 10th Avenue. Why not go there and talk with them. They will give you all details. I have no doubt that Jackie Opel left an estate to which all his business would have been lift. What happens when a person dies Intestate. Check and you will have the answers. Because he is dead does not mean that his work can be used without having to pay royalties to his estate. COSCAP can guide you.

Miller, you have never understood the purpose of Sugar Point that is why you are so confused. Go and learn..Just Google it.It had nothing to do with sugar.

Piece, you portray Yard Fowls and Paling Cocks, What about Yard ducks, don’t forget they exist also.
    The DLP was supposed to be white washed and washed out in 2013, remember? Up to the week of the election the “polls” predicted as much. What is to be will be.

Well Well,
    the Merrymen do not have to be “legendary” worldwide, they have produced many albums and have played together as a group for almost fifty years,During the seventies and eighties, they were so popular that everyone of their concerts were sell outs. All Barbadians were proud of them. I will never forget the last concert I saw them play at Ontario place, you couldn’t move for the crowd. Robin Hunte died only this year, but Emile still performs,. and above all they were part of US. Their mothers and fathers came for the bosom of Barbadian society. Your anti “white” sentiment is always showing. Their Bassman, Roger Gibbs, is the only Bajan, and Caribbean person to swim the English Channel. Did you know this? And his brother, a lecturer in Physics at Cave Hill, is the only Bajan and West Indian to swim Lake Ontario.Did you know that? What about our Rowere; a black man and a white men, who together rowed across the Atlantic Ocean.Do you acknowledge their achievement? To you it is nothing. What is really the matter with you?

Hal,
    a lot of Bajans have achieved, but they are not publicized as they should, and Bajans themselves treat their achievements as “no big thing”.I drew attention in an earlier contribution to Professor Nigel Harris, a Nobel laureate who was a collaborator with others in that award for atmospheric work.Did you know this?Did you know of Dr. Wardes work and the number of Patents he holds? Check it out.

43. David,
    Be proud of your country, even if it has warts.It is yours (ours).
    If your relative had AIDS would you abandon him, or would you still love him?

44. HAL I forgot to tell you that the inventor of the Search engine, worked at McGill. I think he was an Emtage.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…I am not interested in your la de da…you have to soothe and appease…I dont, I spoke the truth…they performed but were not international artistes…they NEVER made it to any Top Ten or No 1 hit list list anywhere, they NEVER sold any platinum or gold albums….they were NOT music geniuses that anyone would remember internationally.

You can call me anti-whatever…but I am not pro-ass kisser…, I leave you with your eternally puckered lips.

Everyone knows about Emtage….and where did he did it…Canada, I know some bajan born, but not raised geniuses and scholars….where did they achieve and exercise their genius recently..in the last 6 years….US and Canada….unimpeded.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin is a hypocrite…he knows well no matter what a black person does on or off the island, it’s never appreciated by their fellow blacks on the island, no matter the scholarship or genius displayed….they act just like Alvin…

“oh, he invented this and that or I know she family…wait…ah coming back, I gotta go kiss this white ass, tha man or woman is somebody and they got money”….

Nauseating scum.

That is why the black scholars and geniuses stay well away from the island.

47. Well Well,
    You are really an ass. What is an “international artiste”. Would you say this :…”NOT music geniuses that anyone would remember internationally.” about Bob Marley? I can tell you, when Gabby wrote and performed “Jack”, I came to Barbados a few months before I went to Qatar in the Arabian Gulf, and the first day I went into the bowling alley and heard “Jack” being played on their music system. Many people would not know how far our music has gone.
    Where do the majority of Nobel Laureates come from? Where did Sir Arthur Lewis a St. Lucian Nobel Laureate do his studies? How do you expect the “inventors” and developers to get their funding and research backing from? What difference does it make where they had to go to finish their work. The important thing is that they are Barbadians. Barbados is where they grew up and developed. Even Einstein had to leave Germany, or Austria, and go to the U.S. America could never have been able to reach the Moon if Werner Von Braun had not been taken to the U.S, but he was German.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…better an ass than an ass kisser…Little Ricks music…Red Plastic Bags music….Allion Hind’s music….did you hear Allison Hinds sing the US Anthem in Brooklyn for the kickoff of a basketball game….they are all over world…no gold, no platinum…but music.

Here is Allison:

http://ow.ly/Qr0O304jfk4

Broaden your horizon Alvin…kiss another ass for a change and do so with genuine feelings nd real pride..

49. Well Well,”
    “That is why the black scholars and geniuses stay well away from the island.”
    Do they? You better check, you will be surprised.