$150 Million National Stadium Coming – "IS IT AN ALL FOOLS DAY JOKE"?
Submitted by DAVID COMISSIONG, Former President of the United Athletic Club (UAC)
Surely the Nation Newspaper was cracking an early “all fools’ day joke” when it published a full colour drawing of a spanking new $150 Million National Stadium on the front page of last Wednesday’s newspaper, and asserted that “plans are in the pipeline for the construction of a new National Stadium to replace the run-down facility at Waterford”.
I maintain that this story qualifies as a “joke” because when one actually reads the reported speech of Minister of Sports Stephen Lashley, one discovers that:-
-
“funding is not currently available within the normal financing arrangements of the Government…”
-
“perhaps we will start it on a phase basis…”
-
“we are going to have to look at the possibility of getting grant funding, and that is what we are really preoccupied with now….”
-
” the sports council will be looking at a crowd funding initiative….. although this initiative can be somewhat slow…”
In other words, there is no money available for this project, and the Government really does not have much of a clue as to where money can or will come from!
The Minister also made the following very revealing comment :- “The stadium is a plant that has really deteriorated with hardly any attention to it. We need to understand that…. we have to refresh our facilities….we have not done that in our country….. We have rust falling from the ceiling and cracks in the walls of the VIP stands.”
So, before we even talk about building a new $150 Million stadium, we need to talk about why little or nothing was done over the years to maintain, upkeep and improve the current National Stadium!
We need to talk about whose duty it was to maintain and upkeep our one and only National Stadium; who failed in carrying out that duty; and who– if anyone– is going to be held accountable.
And while we are at it, perhaps we can talk a little about the devastating impact— psychologically and otherwise — that the deterioration and tragic closure of our country’s only stadium has had on our Barbadian athletes.
The National Stadium was opened in the year 1970 — some forty-six years ago. If it had been properly maintained, up-kept and improved over the years, it would still be a fit and functioning facility today!
There are far too many instances in Barbados of Government facilities not being properly maintained and up-kept! Indeed, this callous neglect of taxpayer- funded, Government-owned facilities is a scandal that needs to be denounced and proscribed. Barbados, after all is a small, resource scarce developing country.
If successive Ministers of Sport and Chairmen and Directors of the National Sports Council had carried out their responsibilities, we would not now be faced with trying to find an elusive and burdensome $150 Million.

All fools day was in April . So the Nation Newspaper only fooling itself. We need more responsible journalism than this. I am sure it is cheaper to repair the National Stadium than to build a new one, Whatsmore it is not a priority. The Sports Council and the Ministry of Transport and Works were all sleeping on the job. Barrow was right:we do have an army of occupiers.
LikeLike
Other than funding hangers on to Rio what happens to the lotto funds that are supposed to go towards Sports and Sporting facilities.Maybe Stoute or Sealy can others some light on this.
LikeLike
It would appear dat everybody having difficulty understanding how rather what happening.
Over the next two months, up to the Independence fiasco de ole man want wunna to tink bout two tings
10% and Campaign Finances
10% is the exit parachute that these scvunts, realising dat dem going home, every effing one uh dem, are now seeking to line their pockets with.
And of course dem looking for the requisite campaign finances.
Oh Happy day, 🎵🎵oh Happy Day,🎶
When de DLP, 🎶🎶🎧🎤 get wash away,🎵
LikeLike
Best way to buy votes with JOBS , Now after holding backs all manor of funds , right before elections we now talk of ghost JOBS all over the place,
Jerking the people mode with false hopes, When it was said you dont have money to pay the plate man for bicycles ? ,
No money for the QEH? did enough people die and money saved on saving lives to build a sports building?
When runners with Gold or do well we cant name a house of sports after them ? We must then look at Bolt?
jackass talking of building when people are sick and cant be healed ? Oh none of who died by name did not vote in the last elections or at least not for the DLP
LikeLike
Only a stadium? Really?
Wasn´t there a plan for a fusion reactor and a space center as well? And didn´t we want to sell oil fields in the ocean to UAE?
Surely, we will listen to more funny stories on 30 November. Remember, remember, the last day of November. Ministers and members, joining the chambers. Jumping up and jumping down. Bowing down to the British crown. Remember, remember, Churchill´s birthday in November.
LikeLike
Looks like there will be an election early in 2017. The Minister is securing his golden handshake . And the successful contractor is ……………… Bizzy or Mark Maloney?
LikeLike
Colonel Buggy September 7, 2016 at 7:51 PM #
And from today’s Nation
Speaking to the MIDWEEK NATION after a press conference at his Sky Mall, Haggatt Hall office , Lashley said cabinet had decided to look for an initial amount of $50Million for the first phase…………..
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Perhaps if the goodly Minister had opted for less palatial offices,and utilise already existing government offfices, instead of paying Bizzy Williams $Millions in rental fees, out of the taxpayers money, his government could have afforded to provide the $150 Million projected to build the new stadium.
But do not be surprised, if within the next few months we do not see the old stadium being demolished by a certain construction turk, and construction of the new stadium begin even before planning permission is approved.
LikeLike
Barbados get a big “F” when it comes to maintenance of public buildings or should that be the Gov’t of Barbados and that includes equipment which is often bought without any servicing contract, when the machinery breaks down there is no recourse. The original Hilton was levelled and a new one was built in its place, I heard the NIS building has been condemned and last time I walked around the track at the gymnasium I observed some deterioration. The local library was a fine example of the architecture of its time but last time I visited it could have been a stand in for the Great House at Farley Hill
LikeLiked by 1 person
One main factor Comissiong left out. Elections are at hand and “perhaps” there is “the possibility” they “will be” out of our dishonorable Parliament. We will also see many proposed pavilions ‘started’ around the country at party playing fields. After the elections all the construction stops and the wasted goes to naught. Look around the country and see for yourselves.
LikeLike
What is new…?
Lil Caesar has been talking up a storm now for eight years…. NATO
No Action….Talk Only….
LikeLike
$150 million stadium my eye!
Every other minister brought some big project to the public, people got finder’s fees, commisisions and consultancy fees, now it is little Hilter’s turn.
Bunch of jokers! Do they ever get tired telling lies……goodness me they are trying to out do Hillary Clinton!
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy
With all the new office buildings that the government has built, I thought the ministry of Culture and Sports had been accommodated in one of those buildings……….the Barrack building or the other two buildings in Warrens built out of our NIS monies and which the government has not repaid a cent.
This is another area where this government has been leaking millions of dollars…..renting office space from their friends……..in other words their friends are still feeding on the “fatted calf”. The Electoral Office has been renting office space for the roll out of the “super ID card” and all like now that project is on hold but they still renting!
I went to a meeting in one of the buildings down in the Accord complex and was surprised to see a sign for some youth department on a building up there. You really mean to tell me that there is no space available in any government owned buildings to house a small unit for the youth……..that they have to rent office space in the expensive Warrens area?
When the truth is told of the years 2008 to whenever the bums are thrown out of office, it will not be pretty!
LikeLike
Ups, forget to add the new hospital.
LikeLike
David Commissiong And while we are at it, perhaps we can talk a little about the devastating impact— psychologically and otherwise — that the deterioration and tragic closure of our country’s only stadium has had on our Barbadian athletes.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
well said Mr, Comissiong ! now apply the same logic while placing it next to,a dilapidated bay street which for years has been abandoned and now that govt is trying to address the plight you say not on these grounds
Hypocrite
LikeLike
By the way. In the richest countries, you just renew the surface of the track. Afterwards it looks like new.
In Bimshire, the establishment builds a completely new track.
If I was the manager in charge at CS or IMF, I won´t give Bim one cent anymore for such a waste of resources. No wonder the developing (aka formerly developing) countries fall back.
LikeLike
One just has to laugh at how ignorant we are. Election fever has begun and all manner of erections will be carded, maybe even started. Once the voting is done and those who find themselves happy with new jobs, computers, big tvs, weedwackers and whatever else sharing, have blackened their fingers for these jokers yet again, the real truth will come flying at us and the erections will go limp, as limp as the brains of voters – and if by chance the other party gets in, we will have years of hearing what the last party did that was wrong before we can even begin to see something done to fix all the mess with no money for it will be wasted on commissions of enquiry headed by the fatted claves. Nobody will be incarcerated for the alleged criminal act of taking a perfectly good country, running it into the ground through what many call alleged corruption of the country’s money – in some areas called tiefing – and’ all who have done an alleged great job of ruining a perfectly good island making it the laughing stock of the world will retire on the alleged businesses they have created, the alleged big houses and condos they have built, and the very real pension plan given to them free of charge by the people of the island. Ahhhh, to be or not to be a politrickcian – seems in the Caribbean to be one is the best thing anyone can do for their comfortable future. ‘Let the country and its people rot while we talk crap and drink from the fat until we retire’. That is the motto of the politico and makes for a good career choice peoples.
When will we learn that as we put them in, we can take them out. That once in, we can hold them accountable and we can make them fly right.
LikeLike
Ya cant build 150 million dollar stadium with no money.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/85280/levy-shortfall-caution
What a cast of jackasses.
LikeLike
When Mia is elected, there is not much choice left and she dont expose how much money has been wasted by these government ministers, hold them accountable and have them arrested, name the thieves, give the taxpayers the exact amount stolen….publicly, she will be in for a very rude awakening.
Neither government even thought of refurbishing or building a new stadium, though that one has already been more or less condemned by a world body years…they were all too busy thiefing taxpayer’s money and looking for bribes and kickbacks…from their crooked business counterparts.
LikeLike
David C.
“…..Barbados, after all is a small, resource scarce developing country.”
Truer words have never been spoken, yet you seem to think that we can do everything on our own. What really do you want of this country? What type of people do you want us to be? Is EVERY Bajan entitled to the same rights and privileges?
LikeLike
Comissiong is at it again with his political hattricks once again trying to position himself to become Commander and Chief.
This time around his so-called activism for the people stinks to high heavens as he now lays out a foundation of criticism against a government whose intent is to replace a delipadated and decay sport stadium after years of neglect . Sound familiar first bay street and its environs now the stadium seems as if Comissiong is trying to formulate a winning strategy out of confusion
LikeLike
Well Well,
You said:”…Neither government even thought of refurbishing or building a new stadium, though that one has already been more or less condemned by a world body years…”
Where have you been? Do you think the plans drafted, the drawings shown and costing etc. just spring out of thin air? Have you been following sports in this country? Didn’t government relay a new track within the past couple of years and announce plans for building a new stadium when the restricted admission to a number of sporting events etc held usually at the stadium? Tired of your carping and stupidity.
LikeLike
By the way Tron,
The IMF does not “give” any money to countries who obtain funds from it. Go and educate yourself on the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund; what they are, their functions, and the way they operate and then come back to this forum. Until you do stop polluting the social media with your inane comments.
LikeLike
Did you read what DC wrote with understanding?
Is there merit in highlighting the poor maintenance record of successive governments? Is there merit in flying a kite for a proposed 150 million dollar stadium when the government cannot even buy toilet paper for the QEH?
LikeLike
“Didn’t government relay a new track within the past couple of years and announce plans for building a new stadium when the restricted admission to a number of sporting events etc held usually at the stadium?”
So where is the 150 million for the new stadium…..and how long did it take to build that still unfinished little track at Lazaretto….4 years…and it is still not completely built, up to last year the stands were not covered…and they only got that far because people put it online that it was not completed.
The most important thing is the electorate being tired of yall crap amd will vote ya tired asses out.
Not one effing seat.
Yall dont finish anything Alvin…but want to start million dollar projects. …with no money….who yall plan to sell out the country and people to know…ya traitors.
LikeLike
@Alvin
There are people on BU who do not live in Bimshire. They praise the ministers, judges, bureaucrats and pastors, although they never pay many dollars for rotten food, they never have to pay thousands of dollars a year for their car tax and insurance, they do not know any potholes in the roads and they think Blackrock and the Jolly Roger are safe places. And not to forget: They think that an untested Dioxin-fuming plant is something like Silicon Valley. There are people on BU who worship the “right honourables” just for their titles, badges, medals and their big cars – like in the rotten and old colonial days. They still think Barbados is on the way to pass the border between the non-developed and the developed countries.
So Alvin, was the Credit Suisse loan not a loan in its legal definition? And is there not a clause in the contract that the government has to do whatever the IMF commands? Remember the Nation News: “Among them were … the condition that Government provide the lenders with a full copy of the Staff Report for the 2013 International Monetary Fund (IMF) Article IV Consultation as soon as it became available, as well as an update on plans for implementation of any specific recommendations in the report. The objection was to the effect that this was an ordinary commercial bank making an extraordinary demand of a sovereign country that would only be expected from development banks or one in stand-by arrangements with the IMF.”
LikeLike
Over the years ,Trinidad with all its oil and gas wealth has failed miserably to bring its citizens out of the morass of neglect,ignorance and poverty in both the working classes of African and Indian origin.In particular when the PP was in power,Kamla wasted taxpayers monies on lots of litigation compliments of an equally bombastic,litigious AG Anand Ramlogan.Poverty aided by social dysfunction,resulting in heavy alcohol consumption causing mayhem in and of family relationships breeds destruction,tending to be repeated in the successive generations.Education is the key.Primary education is where the emphasis should be.Next would be separating the sexes at primary and secondary levels.See what poverty is like in Trinidad.How can children concentrate on learning in conditions like this.Note a car is parked under the home.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160907/news/deep-crime-fears
LikeLike
@ Well Well & Consequences September 8, 2016 at 5:55 AM #
“When Mia is elected, there is not much choice left and she dont expose how much money has been wasted by these government ministers, hold them accountable and have them arrested, name the thieves, give the taxpayers the exact amount stolen….publicly, she will be in for a very rude awakenin”………………
………………………………………
I could not agree with you more, Well Well……..Mia has got to expose these people and do as the PM said……take the information to the DPP. There will be results as there will be a new DPP by then. No wonder the dems wanted to extend the retirement age for the current one……no, no, no…he will go soon!
The new goverment has got to expose every crap otherwise the public will hold them totally responsible for whatever happens after the election. The lying dems will say it is not their fault, they left money in the Treasury and we all know that that is a big fat lie as the Stinkliar we have for a MOF spends like a drunken sailor on shore leave.
LikeLike
All the stealth and deceit over the last 30 years have caught up to both political parties.
If Mia refuses to recognize it and do right by the people and instead continue to play games with the people like she did last elections, then she will reap what she sows…Prodigal.
What she should be doing as we type and as opposition leader…is get a list of exactly how much taxpayer’s money is in the treasury, now…before elections….and make it public, so there can be no he said, she said, they said…with fluctuating amounts about how much was innthe treasury while the thieves ride off with taxpayer’s money….and the blame game starts for years going forward.
That is how both political parties have been operating with the electorate for decades…telling lies about exactly how much money they found in the treasury. ..left over by the previous government.
LikeLiked by 1 person
They really need to get rid of DPP Leacock, I cant believe Fruendel and his Fools were going to allow Leacock another 9 years to make an already badly corrupt situation worse, while tying his tenure to the Auditor General’s whose report on the corruption and missing public funds. ..both Fruendel and Adriel Nitwit continue to blatantly ignore…what nerve from these demons.
LikeLike
Money left in the treasure box? There is no money left, but debts.
The next government will soon find out that the public debts are by far higher than anticipated.
LikeLike
Tron September 8, 2016 at 1:48 PM #
Money left in the treasure box? There is no money left, but debts.
The next government will soon find out that the public debts are by far higher than anticipated.
Mainly covered by receivables to the private sector. It is now called ‘hostile financing’.
But remember, we can’t sell CBC for less than what it owes gov’t (not counting the gifted subventions) to stop the financial haemorrhage or the sky will fall on Chicken Little’s head.
There will be no economic common sense coming from Fumble’s Fools.
LikeLike
But what good is Comissiong highlighting the systematic decay of buildings in barbados he always take a position to hinder or stop corrective measures.Here he is once again repeating the same political script as that of the revitalisation program for bridgetown which he is totally against only if it is done his way.
LikeLike
While readers might not be aware, the ole man and Neanderthal has taken to supporting AC and Legion with my Posters.
As she speaks of all the things that the Demonic Lying party has done, de ole man, being de neanderthal dat I is, is providing covering fire to her brave attacks.
heheheheheheheh.
I guess dat I is really a good neanderthal after all….
Here be dat covering fire….
“Barbadian Activist Recall and other commentators provide a partial list of the Fecundities that the DLP has done during their tenure under Prime Minister Fumbles, the worst Prime Minister Barbados has ever had in the 50 years of its Independence
A picture speaks 1,000 words”
LikeLike
A careful analysis of Froon’s facial features strongly suggests that he would have been a first class undertaker.
As it turns out, he is well on the way to burying ALL our asses anyway.
Moral of the story…
Que sera, sera….
LikeLike
PIECE
WITH REFERENCE TO THE DEMS CANCELLED FECUNDITIES YOU GOT TO MAKE A CARTOON WID AN UMPIRE CANCELLING HIS DECISION IN ONE FRAME
AND IN THE SCECOND FRAME GIVING THE DLP OUT
LikeLike
In the last election the BLP had the machinery of BU and the news media print and radio. The dlp had no such offerings.
But the Dlp had the last word carry on smartly but try not to count the chickens before they hatch.
LikeLike
Its not a damn thing to do with the dlp carrying on smartly.The 40% who did not vote provided the gateway for the poor rakey fishers of parliament to be considered by one of their own,a man who with blood in his eyes in another dispensation ordered 10 lashes with the cat on a little miscreant on whom the police was in the habit of blaming all break ins in Barbados.
One of the reasons there is no respect for any of the institutions bajans used to look up to…..GG,CJ,COP,PM,the Speaker,DPP,AG,John Barbados, Harold the Switch,Lower House,Senate,Trade Unions with their high end cars and members catching their royal….
LikeLike
Coming generations of historians will compare the pre-election manifestors with reality. They will find no overlaps.
In my opinion, “The Adventures of Baron Munchausen” are a better term when it comes to these manifestos.
LikeLike
I don’t know why yuh all would take this stadium talk seriously…..even from Mr Lashley’s address…funding isn’t even secured…and to think even if govt would to get the initial $50 million would you spend it on a stadium???…right now???!!!….seriously???….in light of a new levy to SUPPOSEDLY is to raise $142 million?!?!?!?…as Peter Wickham would say….come off it….it is highly absurd…..no one doubts that we need a stadium…..as the current one is basically a glorified pasture…but successive govts have deliberately put it low in the order of priorities since it requires substantial money that could be better used elsewhere…..even in the “times of plenty” the stadium wasn’t dealt with….and this is not the first time plans were put in the public as to what a new stadium would look like…..so BU don’t be distracted….the only way we getting a new stadium right now is if the Chinese or UAE donates it to us…probably if Kensington Oval wasn’t refurbished for the 2007 CWC it would have been possible ….but definately not now
LikeLike
Simply look at the Dem Manifestof 2008. Parrises best friend and a hysteric old lady on title page.
What they promised:
Reducing costs of living: Just try to shop in Massa Center for 100 dollars. You get a drink and a bread for that.
Improving access to ownership property. Right, look at Grotto: a 3rd rate flat for 450,000 bugs(!).
Health care for all: QEH looks now like the hospital in Grozny at the end of the First Chechen War.
Education in the 21st Century, including “affordable” education for “every Barbadian”: I guess the manifesto talks about the ministers, judges, pastors and high bureaucrats who can afford to pay many thousands of dollars for their children at UWI or better American universities.
Empowering our young people: If you are smart enough, you study abroad and stay there. Otherwise, you end as cook or chambermaid in Butch´s tourism plantation.
Treasuring our seniors in their golden years: After next election, the new government will find out that all the NIS loans are lost. Not to forget CLICO.
A modern civil service: Actually, the costs for the civil service will destroy this country.
Good governance: I say Carrington.
Law and Order: I doubt that anybody at the AG chambers and at the SC knows at least 50 % of all statutes in force in this country.
…
LikeLike
We are hearing that out of 2500 Barbadians elegiable to enter UWI, Cave Hill, only just over 1000 have registered read paid.
LikeLike
The democratic establishment will reflect the future of Barbados on Friday. Somebody will lecture at headquarters on “Trying to Succeed in a Failed System” (note: I did not make up this title!).
Is it Piece who delivers the lecture? 😉
LikeLike
See what happened. You guys running around talking about olympics, medals and stadium.
Wunna stop it, or these guys going to hurt themselves and the island…. (even more)
LikeLike
re Bush Tea September 8, 2016 at 3:12 PM #
A careful analysis of Froon’s facial features strongly suggests that he would have been a first class undertaker.
As it turns out, he is well on the way to burying ALL our asses anyway.
this is the very best of bush tea
LikeLike
doesn’t take too much to get your eyes off the hyatt
LikeLike
@ Dr. Georgie Porgie
De ole man hopes that you enjoy this rendition specially for you.
One had to make some changes to the elements but ……
To those news readers who just joined.
This Stoopid Cartoon is inspired by Social Activist Dr. Georgie Porgie the Barbadian Medical Luminary who has lived overseas for many years but loves his country Barbados with all its faults.
He also has a deep love for the West Indian sport Cricket and made what seemed to be a request to see what combination of Cricket and the bungling administration of The Democratic Labour party, the worst government that Barbados has had in its 50 years of Independence.
Here is hoping that the “Stoopid Cartoon” satisfies his discerning taste.
Dr GP do note the Scoreboard of the Cricket match in the upper left hand corner “BLP 30 and DLP =0
And please forgive the language of the Cricket Umpire
LikeLike
piece
i not so important man I AM A NOBODY MAN A HAS BEEN
but i like your cartoon man
the umpire is most demonstrative and the scoreboard is awesome or better AWFUL LOL
LikeLike
Prodigal Son September 7, 2016 at 10:39 PM #
@ Colonel Buggy
With all the new office buildings that the government has built, I thought the ministry of Culture and Sports had been accommodated in one of those buildings……….
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… From the state of this country , I would be happy to see the bulk of the ministers accommodated in one building, ………………somewhere near Church Village St Philip.
LikeLike
Words of wisdom, if the link opens.
LikeLike
@ Bernard Codrington……” Is it an All Fools day joke ” ? and not an all fools day jokejoke..only a fool would not understand what the one in italics means.
LikeLike
@ pieceuhderockyeahright,
30 to 0 will create a de facto and in facto dictatorship.
Be careful what you wish for.
LikeLike
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/09/clico-setback/
Talking about CLICO…the disgrace that is Fruendel, his government ministers and his good friend Leroy Parris…refuses to end.
LikeLike
Anyone wondering yet if the government will find the money to build this myth of a stadium instead of paying back the CLICO policyholders, some of whom have already passed on…anyone willing to take bets on that…or better yet, use taxpayers money help the Maloney and Bizzy conmen build their fantasy Hyatt hotel…eho is betting.
Come on Lawson…I know you are good for it…lol
LikeLike
@ Hants
I wonder about what you have voiced regarding the “de facto” and “in facto” dictatorship.
As I trace through the successive government administrations I would be the first person to respectfully suggest that Barbados has been and will always be “a dictatorship”.
I will rely on the definition of dictatorship to support my submission
“A dictatorship is a government or a social situation where one person makes all the rules and decisions without input from anyone else.
Dictatorship implies absolute power — one person who takes control — of a political situation…”
We may of course debate the “overt brutality” of one dictator over another but de ole man would ask you this “nuance of definition”
If I have a man/leader who proactively imprisons me and there has me denied food to eat and the prison guards do not let me sleep, where is the degree of “de facto and in facto” dictatorship difference with another whose cumbersome taxes, restricts my movements to my home, whose economic sanctions do not permit me to eat the food necessary for sustenance and care of my diabetic needs and the ensuing depression and or pain that i suffer that does not permit me to sleep?
I guess you may qualify it by the bars about the windows of my home or the number of steps i can technically take after 9 o’clock from my home, whereas I am on lockdown in a prison.
Both of these tribes of leaders impose a prison on we the electorate whether overt or tacit.
My 30 to 0 projection is with the (unfounded and impractical) hope that both tribes will be awakened by this shock and will be moved to “do the right thing” for their charges during the prescribed prison sentence of 5 years.
De ole man needs to stop inhaling the fogging machine fumes since they seem equally as damaging as those other ones that Amused has been recommending me to use
LikeLike
Dictators, after their reign of terror ends, ALWAYS go the way of the doh-doh bird. …without fail.
LikeLike
They should incorporate the stadium and the hotel , with the hyatt’s big comfy beds the west indies team wont have to sleep standing up
LikeLike
Lol…the only thing should be on the lips of the government is paying the clico policyholders their stolen money, instead of all these pie-in-sky preelection promises that they do not have the money at hand to implement…and are only doing so out of desperation.
LikeLike
David C. David Tron et al,
Was it an April Fools Joke when OSA and the BLP following sheepishly behind,conceptualized holding the Cricket World Cup in Barbados? Was it an April Fools Joke when Barbados was committed to building a new Oval to hold the matches that Barbados was designated to hold? Was it an April Fools Joke when the government was committed to building a hundred and nuff million dollars to rebuilding Kensington; solely for cricket? Was it an April Fools joke when it was accomplished? It was indeed an Aril fools joke when a whole cruise ship was hired to take Bajans around the Caribbean.
Well?
By the way PUDR, I note that the umpire in your cartoon, is white. is this on purpose or is it a Freudian slip of your pen? Back to white people telling the black leaders to leave? Will not happen for your information. We eat leaving. We going get pick again.
LikeLike
By the way Well Well,
Government end tied nothing from CLICO Policy holders. The people themselves, of their own free will, PURCHASED the EPA And the EFPA instruments, because they saw lots of dollar bills before their eyes and wanted to get ALL for themselves.Their horses run off the track and jumped the tracks.. Money burn up.
Talk to the Trinidad Government and CL Financial.
LikeLike
Correction: “… Government ent tief nothing…..
LikeLike
@Alvin
We should not stick to certain colours. There is no white or black policy, but only good and bad policy in relation to the common good. Other countries of the third world with Latino, Asian or Southern European blend face the same challenges. The story is always the same.
It is also not our task to challenge what the last administration did nearly ten years ago. That is the task for historians.
LikeLike
Alvin….you were right the first tiime “governmt ent tied nothing”..they allowed their friend Leroy Parris to tief the money, they were warned, both administrations that Parris was misleading policyholders and illegally selling these scam policies…..they refused to arrest Parris…so they enabled Parris in his scam and theft of policyholders money.., Fruendel’s friend, Thompson’s..whatever…
Lying Thompson said the collapse of CL could not affect Clico Barbados, so who is lying, you or Thompon..Alvin……..that is why it has to haunt yall, it’s unfortunate that the taxpayer’s have to foot the bill..it should have to come out of the lying minister’s pockets.
No one is believing all those fake promises from Fruenel and his idiots, Alvin…ya wasting ya time, the only person ya convincing is yaself.
I keep telling Bajans..keep away from the insurance companies…they are scams….let them collapse…all of them.
LikeLike
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/09/womans-home-collapses/
Just the same way the government sits back and allow senior citizens houses to collapse around them, if this lady was not outside, she would be dead…it’s the same way the collapse is coming.
LikeLike
@ Actually Alvin
The Umpire was black or rather an Indian whose image was desaturated to grey to “match” the clip art bowler and wicket keeper black and white dual colour scheme.
The action of the mock up figures prescribe their choice and inclusion and in the absence of people of colour to provide bodies one has to use black people.
Interestingly enough I spend too much time looking for black samples so that the head/face will match the character of focus and derision.
I guess they are not that Stoopid a Cartoon after all and the obsessive compulsive disorder goes down to that inane level of detail.
That is what being trained by the best does Alvin it either makes you damn good at the craft or anal retentive hahahahaha
LikeLike
This administration should really look at the realities of island life. We depend on tourism,we have NO OTHER INDUSTRY on this small speck of land.
One of the most popular beaches for tourists is Pebbles. There is a popular cutter shack which attracts them like flies round a garbage bin.
There is also an overflowing,stinking skip that attracts swarms of flies and stinks out the beach.
The “car park” is barely accessible by 4x4s.
There is no money to clean away the garbage. There is no money to level the car park.
But hey, there IS money to erect a “national monument” at the Garrison.
That will bring in the tourists!
LikeLike
@bookworm
we have grown so accustom to these things that we take it for granted that the people we invite here ,in the hope of spending big bucks, with soon get accustomed to it, as well.
Not far from where construction has now started to erect a monument on the Garrison, is the the Main Guard Clock tower building, one of the main attractions of this World Heritage Site, and when visitors dismount from their tour coaches, they are greeted by and unsightly chemical portable toilet.
LikeLike
bookworm September 10, 2016 at 8:27 AM #
“This administration should really look at the realities of island life.”
“But hey, there IS money to erect a “national monument” at the Garrison.”
Right on.
People living on the streets. and DEM with Cash Flow problems building yet another monument.
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy September 10, 2016 at 2:27 PM
“we have grown so accustom to these things that we take it for granted that the people we invite here ,in the hope of spending big bucks, with soon get accustomed to it, as well.
Not far from where construction has now started to erect a monument on the Garrison, is the the Main Guard Clock tower building, one of the main attractions of this World Heritage Site, and when visitors dismount from their tour coaches, they are greeted by and unsightly chemical portable toilet.”
But Colonel, what else do you expect from a bunch of low-class uncultured riffraff currently running nasty smelly Bubados?
But we must put the blame on those who are arranging and performing such tours. They themselves are also bereft of any class and appreciation for high hygienic standards.
When the white people were in charge of the management of Bim these same low-class niggas in charge today would have been the first to ensure the toilets- both on the plantations and in the business houses- were kept spotlessly clean like true brass-bowls of the Bushie kind.
I am certain that the Garrison area is well served by both water and sewage infrastructure whereby well maintained waterborne toilets could easily be installed and can be partially financed by an imposition of a fee as is found right across countries from which the visitors arrived.
LikeLike
@ Miller
“….were kept spotlessly clean like true brass-bowls of the Bushie kind.”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
…just read that a few times…,
…and knowing you, there is an insult in there for Bushie some damn how…
You play you smart … but one-smart fall at two-smart door.
Since the whacker get tek way, you have been taking liberties with the bushman, but be warned – BUSHIE STILL GOTTA ‘LENS….. or for those of your era … a whompa…
LikeLike
@ Bush Tea September 10, 2016 at 11:19 PM
Bushie, what’s happening to you? It seems you are molting away and losing your once crocodilian-like intellectual skin.
I genuinely meant NO innuendo of insult or satire. I was simply giving authenticity to the ‘Word’ “Brass-bowls” designed and minted by the one and only Bush Tea the “Godfather’ of BU blogging.
But BT, what has gone wrong with the old whacker? It seems Chad 9 by 5 has been borrowing it too often.
It looks like you are becoming a softie girly boy in your old age. A good lock-up with Chad would turn you into a full-fledged closet queen a proclivity you have been suppressing since your school days.
You better take it back to repair shop owned by the Cawmere mafia for a good servicing.
LikeLike
@Miller etc.
It looks like you are becoming a softie girly boy in your old age. A good lock-up with Chad would turn you into a full-fledged closet queen a proclivity you have been suppressing since your school days
++++++++++++
You are a bad bad man to have the temerity of accusing Bush T of being a secret Irma La D that proud alumnus of Waterford HS, Bushie will have no option but to “unretire” the whacker to beat you into submission.
Bush T please don’t shoot the messenger as you know my brain has been addled by drinking the piss poor water (pun intended) up these parts BTW you will recognise me if I ever come back down those parts I fuhget to tell you we got two nuclear plants on the shores of Lake Ontario so I will be glowing in the dark
LikeLike
Tron,
“And is there not a clause in the contract that the government has to do whatever the IMF commands?”
Tron this can only apply when there is an IMF agreement between the country and the IMF, under an IMF programme. Barbados and the IMF are not in that kind of programme. So get that thought out of your head.
LikeLike
An IMF programme is coming unless these nincompoops control the runaway expenditure on some statutory boards,constituency councils and all these contracts and picks for the fatted calf brigade.What an inefficient lot of ragamuffins, for a political party,so called.
LikeLike
LOL @ Sargeant
Boss.. yuh mean that yuh radioactive too? …and not just urea contaminated?
Shiite Sarge ….that explains more than you know….
LikeLike
@ Gabriel September 14, 2016 at 1:22 PM
You can bet your last Bajan dollar that a full IMF programme is around the corner.
The third and fourth quarters will witness a dramatic drop in foreign reserves with the unlikely prospect of arranging foreign loans given the country’s junk bond status or to sell assets to foreigners to shore up the reserves as was undertaken in previous years.
The mere fact Barbados is losing foreign reserves at a time when oil and commodity prices are comparatively very low can only signal one thing. A visit to the banker of last resort is inevitable.
Never mind the braggadocio coming from the lying mouth of Stinkliar about a billion dollars in forex will coming Barbados’s way in the next 6 to 8 weeks.
Then again these guys are just playing for time and you can bet that early in the new year general elections will be called to leave the mess on the hands of the BLP to execute and to take the flak.
LikeLike
Thank you for such a nice detail article. I bookmared your website for further reading. Keep updating us with informative post. Regards Burhan Sheykh | http://dailystatuscollection.com
LikeLike