Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance

Mr. Speaker,

I crave the indulgence of this Honourable Chamber to present this year’s Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals. I do so Sir mindful of the important responsibility which has been entrusted to your Government to develop policies and craft strategies, both economic and social, to assist with the orderly, holistic and expansive development of this beautiful island of ours.

It is not a responsibility which my colleagues and I take lightly as we are acutely aware that in very many instances the current and even future success of possibly every life in Barbados will be affected in some way by the decisions we take.

Full 2016 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals

261 responses to “2016 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals”

1. If you dems were running the country properly or in fact if you knew what you were doing, the economy would never be in this position………….

2. A poor budget reply – no starling revelations. As usual a megliomaniac Opposition leader throwing everything hoping something would stick . A woman who sit down in a cabinet for 14 years while nearly 80 million of our hard earned taxpayers dollars went down a hole in St. Andrew and she and her cronies “financially raped” Bajans at Crab Hill, now asking people to GET UP & STAND UP.
    It would be funny if it were not so pathetic.

3. @Bajanfuhlife

And what is the downside to printing money with a currency peg?

4. MAM has shown the disgrace that is this DLP government.Of course it is known that they have no shame therefore it’s like casting pearl before swine.MAM has shown how unprepared this cabinet is, such that they do not know what’s legal and what’s illegal in respect of the projects they claim they have in the pipeline.There definitely will be work for Sir David.

5. after Mia put down her parrot speech she sounded like one of them blp yardfowls on brassstacks

6. Minister of tourism throwing cold water over Mia rants and raves her so called response to the budget

7. Not listening! Worse set of ministers ever!

8. you need to listen great information that speaks truth

9. DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) Radio and TV

When i said that this DLP gov’t is the biggest disaster to hit this country, I was not exaggerating one bit. Quite simply if this “gov’t” is not removed from office in the next general election, this country simply will not come out of the economic black hole that they have created in this country!!!!!….WHAT IS THIS OBSESSION WITH THIS GOV’T’s TAXING THIS COUNTRY INTO OBLIVION!!!!!!!!..It is official..the DLP has run out of new areas and new names to put and call their taxes so Chris, Fumble et. al. said to hell with it ..just tax certain imports and call it the National Social Responsibility Levy…Now i REAL REAL lost now…i thought the purpose of taxes\levies were to help pay for “governance”, to improve the social services in this country….to make them accessible to all!!!….so to have a Levy called a National Social Responsibility Levy is a redundancy in NAME…..soooo….to be facetious…has this gov’t not be using our previous taxes for that purpose!!!…IT DAMN WELL LOOK SO!!!!!…Can’t get yuh garbage collect regularly,…cant get proper health care, buses brekking down pun de road…some parishes can’t get regular water service…..
    To put such a tax on such a broad item is tantamount to raising vat to ~ 2%!!!! so effectively VAT is now ~19%!!!!!….now since the first budget the DLP assumed government 2008 we have had some sort of rate hike or some new tax\levy implementend every single YEAR!!!!!…..causing the continuous erosion \ inflation of this economy…so when this govt can boast of a 1.3% – 1.5 % growth….the highest in years…you cannot see any real “benefits” because the economy has been cumulatively eroded by more than this amt…..so for govt to implement ANOTHER TAX that is so broad by that amount has effectively cancelled any growth… to use an analogy…if you dig a hole….fall into in it….by your own action keep digging the hole 1 metre deeper every year for 8 years…to just say you were able to climb 1.3m up that hole in one year is not telling the whole story….you are still in that hole!!!!!

10. Yellow Moon Rising Avatar
    Yellow Moon Rising

I am asking the BU family to comment on the following:-

(1) Is Mia Mottley better placed to become the next Prime Minister moreso than David Thompson was when he was the Leader of the Opposition in 2006/07?

11. The veracity challenged Minister is as usual out of his depth!
    Talk loud & talk nuff shite seems to be the modus operandi of the Freundella govt.
    Bare talk & no action is the new standard in Buhbaydoss..
    Cuhdear them is the best that we got?? UWI like it produce a lot of posers with nothing to offer other than Bullcrap & meaningless drivel.
    The deficit of leadership combined with ingrained casual indifference ain’t very pretty.
    Bombast & inertia make an interesting combo ! How low can they go?

12. You serious? This has been the most lying deceitful government ever!

13. The above was to ac.

14. Did’ja notice MAM was robbed of 10 minutes of TV coverage.The thieving speaker told her at 6.40 pm that she had 5 more minutes.My recollection was that the lying man Sinckler had up to 6.55p TV coverage yesterday.

15. The BU Household will have to rely on comments of the BU family, the Olympics is a must see!

16. Mia unleashed a barrage of criticisms and unfounded allegations about the hyatt and Sam lords and the same ole bogeyman Sandals to which Minister sealy replied with a blistering attacks founded on provable evidence which has been documented by the house of parliament

17. David why do i get the feeling you are disappointed with Mia response guess you have decided the olympics is better than sitting on the paling fence

18. ac

Why was it so neccesary to bring a budget in the midst of a must see event which only comes every four years? Why……what had to be done so urgently? I will not miss Olympics coverage to watch Kellman………Lowe…….the Pitbull……..the AG……none of them!

19. because we have a country to run nobody stopping u from watching your olympics

20. @ AC

It appear the Sinckler performance with this budget was surgical tight, due to his gut feeling of stainless steel

21. For an entire day today, the PDC leader, Mark Adamson, did not even hear three people speak in anticipation of Mottley’s reply. Not even three people!! And you know thousands of people do pass by him as he does business daily in Victoria Street, the City, and he does know many of them know that he is politically driven to talk politics often. Wow, not even three people!! So, what a scandalous shame on Mottley’s part when so few people really talk about her. In these very harsh material and financial times Mottley can NEVER provide leadership in this country. Mottley holds out no hope for the brighter and better, politically, materially, financially, etc., for the broad masses and middle classes in Barbados. She does not have any vision, cosmology, or blue print for the upliftment and betterment of this Barbados. Furthermore, she does not have the support of these segments of people whatsoever. Not even the Barbadians living overseas are giving her support as witnessed by the disappointing numbers at the Island Inn recently. What an egregious intellectual and political farce for an Opposition Leader in the parliament of Barbados!!

22. OMG……….here comes the Clown prince!

23. Yellow Moon Rising Avatar
    Yellow Moon Rising

Kellman?

24. MAN LOOK DE D LYING PARTY HOLD SOME HAND THIS EVENING, THEY DIDN’T HAD AN ANSWER TO THE HURRICANE THAT UNLEASH ON DEM. THAT WOMAN TOUCH EVERYTHING AN WE CAN ATTEST WID WHAT SHES SAYING, ONLY AH YARD DUCK, PIGEON, ETC ETC WOULD SAY DIFFERENT, GOD HELP DEM

25. ac

I cannot bear to listen to Kellman………..his presentations get on my nerves but I want to find out……..did he mention anything about the houses at Grotto or the ones in St Philip?

26. @ GABRIEL, NEVER MIND, YA DONE KNOW HOW IT IS WID D LYING PARTY, BUT SHE GOT ACCROSS MORE THAN ENOUGH TO OPEN OUR EYES, TO DE SCAM, SCUMBAGS, DEMONS ETC THAT SAY THEY INCHARGE OF THIS COUNTRY, I KNOW FOR SURE WHO THEY CAN’T FOOL, DAMN IT TO FRANCE, THINGS LIKE THESE SHOULD MAKE PEOPLE HIT DE STREETS, UNION OR ON UNION, KISS MY ASS AN GET RID OF THE IMBICILES FOR EVER. BUNCH AH ASSORTED NUTS, CROOCKED AN ROTTEN TO DE BONE

27. @ PRODICAL SON WHO CAN LISTEN TO ANY OF THEM, ONLY IF YA WANT TO GET CONTAMINATED OR INFECTED WID DE SHIT COMING FROM THE LYING ASS…..U AINT SEE HOW DEM LOOK?, BEND UP, TWIST UP, FAUCK UP, MASH UP, JUCK UP ROOT UP…..2018 WID DEM, I HOPE NOT

28. I wonder why the business’s, individuals, etc arrears in VAT are not in jail. This amounts to plain, and simple thievery. And Sinckler proposes a moratorium. Okay lets dismiss all the shoplifting cases, theft cases, etc. This will clear the court backlog.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84571/cheers-boos

Lol….the ACs pimps did not mention thst Fruendel got booed at parliament yesterday.

PIECE…”not one effing seat.”

He has been too arrogant and upoity to the very people whose votes he now needs to be reelected..ha, ha.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84574/double-hit

Oh well….they think they are being geniuses in parliament.

31. All central banks are printing money. They have been printing money all along.

What do you think QE or quantitative easing is?

Why do you think we are in the era of negative interests rates?

Barbados will continue with the same, until judgement day.

32. Well Mia delivered her usual stealth basket of attacks and unfounded allegations only this time she attempted one more hat trick one of waving the banner of nationalism and pride predictably an issue having to do with the proposed building of the Hyatt hotel on Baystreet . It is inconceivable to understand that Mia having no scientific knowledge in building can make statements which are irrelevant to what chris had presented as budgetary proposal and tried to use them with an effectiveness to woo and sway the politics of the day
    Also what was alarming was her insane statement of govt insensitivity as she called on govt to house a family with conclusiveness that the family lives were in danger of their home collapsing while they were asleep which gave me pause to refresh my mind on the planning and building permission of the Arch cot buildings which collapse at the dead of night while the victims were yet asleep
    A project which was undertaken during her ministerial duties in the blp govt

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…Fruendel got booed. ..he is done, deal with that…lol

The 10 people who turned up in parliament courtyard the day before…were all 10 ACs…lol

34. @Pacha

The difference is that the countries with hard currencies can get away with it – they think so anyway.

35. Below are 22 objectives – out of many others – that will be helped brought about by the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC), in rightful and dutiful association with other political organizations forming a certain future coalitional government of Barbados:

1) The Abolition of Taxation;

2) The Abolition of Interest Rates;

3) The Abolition of ALL so-called Exchange Rates Parities with the Barbados Dollar;

4) The Abolition of All Motor Vehicle Insurance;

5) The establishment of a National Currency Board (NCB) to manage currency and financial credit flows within the country, and into and out of it;

6) The making sure that the Real Actual Cost of Use of Money in Barbados is substantially reduced in the medium to long term;

7) The making sure that the Money Turn Over Rate is substantially increased in this country;

8) The legalization of the uses by persons 18 years and over generally, and by persons of the approved professions, specifically, of marijuana and its various biological relatives, and the legalization of the specified and specific amounts of such that are consistent with the social, personal, recreational, religious, commercial, medicinal, and research purposes for which such plants, their main derivatives, and their uses will be put to, respectively;

9) The making sure that there is almost total freedom of interaction between the nominal incomes, nominal revenues and nominal transfers of individuals, businesses and other relevant entities, and the remunerations that are to be made by the entities that would be charged with running the business and corporate affairs of the Seaport, Airport and at all other points of entry in this country, where there is the transacting of commercial goods and services entering/exiting Barbados;

10) The making sure that locally based exporters of goods and services receive their transfers through the National Currency Board (NCB). These local exporters will get from the NCB, the equivalent amounts of local money/financial credits that local business people – in the like cases – will get from local people, businesses and entities, when getting/having got ownership of the identical/similar goods or uses of the identical/similar services to those goods and services that have been exported. In such cases the NCB will be deemed to be acting on the behalf of the overseas parties who will eventually own those goods and/or use those services, and who under the said contracts will either give foreign currency or foreign financial credits to the NCB which – in turn – will thereafter give to the locally based exporters the amounts in local transfers that are wholly due to them;

11) The introduction of a regime of the assembling of aircraft, motor vehicles, missiles, satellites, the building of ships, etc for Barbados;

12) The introduction of Partnership Enterprises in every instance where there would have hitherto been any business enterprises in operation in this country – and with two or more persons involved in them, and whereby these incoming Partners will be the part owners of these enterprises – hence, the substantial elimination of the work system/culture in Barbados;

13) The establishment of a Hire Purchase Relief Fund for persons (not businesses) who – under their respective hire-“purchase” contracts – will be proven to have had genuine difficulties in giving over monies to the relevant hire-“purchase” enterprises;

14) The ensuring that NO foreigners whatsoever are able to own land spaces rights in this country – only that they may be permitted to lease such rights.

15) The institution of a serious Regime of Rent Control over all residential, commercial and social accommodation in this country;

16) The building of a modern efficient railway system for Barbados, to run back and forth on what is now the existing ABC/Ronald Mapp Highways;

17) The introduction of specialized secondary school education, via the institution of Academies – the Abolition of the Common Entrance Exam – the introduction of an appropriate National Continuous Assessment Program – and the introduction of Full Zoning for Barbados, with some reasonable exceptions thereto;

18) The building of a modern acute care 200 bed hospital for the north of the country;

19) The implementation of a Proportional Representational Electoral System, to take the place of the first past the post one, in respect of certain elections in Barbados;

20) The ABSOLUTE removal of the Queen as head of state of Barbados – and the creation of an Executive Coalitional Republican System for Barbados, which itself will be nationally elected;

21) The institution of Constituency Assemblies for Barbados – one per constituency – and whereby within them elected constituents – as members thereof – will have all opportunities to initiate, debate, and pass the laws of this country;

22) The national election of Judges to the Supreme Court positions in this country.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/08/18/bribery-suspected/

The business people who care about ending the bribery and government ministers involved in bribetaking, the business people who pay bribes, the civil and public servants who demand bribes…should call their names, use digital recorders to record the crimes….expose them all, if ya want bribery and corruption to end.

David Simmons knows first hand it exists…he has been part and parcel of the corruption for over 20 years…now that he has confirmed it….what will any of them do about it.

37. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

Prodigal Son August 17, 2016 at 6:04 PM #

There is always something wrong with everything this government touches.

In 2008 I typed here that newly-elected politicians were driving around Barbados on people’s property picking out land they didn’t own to build ‘houses for poor people’.

The idiots didn’t understand that the greatest impediment to building houses for poor people was the Gov’t of Barbados itself. After the gross low-income housing failures they have created they still don’t understand that their first job should have been sorting the snivel service holding us all back, the free market would have taken care of the rest. But they couldn’t, they were elected by the snivel service.

Grossly incompetent fools.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

38. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

“Nothing to show for the past eight years by any measurement”.

Lost eight years indeed. If we didn’t have rum, fun & sun there would already have been rioting.

39. @ WW&C
    ACs…Fruendel got booed. ..he is done, deal with that…lol
    The 10 people who turned up in parliament courtyard the day before…were all 10 ACs…lol
    Getting booed is like water off a duck’s back to Froon…. Bushie watched him walk onto the stage at the Bussa play while the massive crowd continued to sit and chat; gave his shiite speech, and walk off as if he was the gardener asking someone to move their car…
    Bushie would have resigned the VERY next morning…
    The man has no shame whatsoever….

Even some of the ACs did not bother to turn up in parliament to support the Dems … Bushie checked… and a certain one at least was missing…probably watching olympics 🙂

40. Most of these politicians are no longer allowed on my television or radio because I cannot stand the level of “debate” or the level of ignorance and arrogance on display. When I collect myself I will READ the pack of igrunt lies minus the personalities I find so unbearable.

But am I to understand that Sinckler’s solution to our economic woes is more of the same? Boy, that man’s head is soooo hard he can’t understand that further taxing is not the answer? Is it ignorance or stubbornness? What the hell is it?????!!!!!

41. LOL @ Donna
    Doing the same shiite and expecting different results is the sign of a normal fool.
    Doing it over and over for eight years is the hallmark of a brass bowl idjut.

42. @Donna “Is it ignorance or is it stubbornness?” It is stubbornness Donna because a jackass in not ignorant, a jackass is stubborn!

43. It is poetic justice for Chris Sinckler, Delisle Worrell and Freundel Stuart that David Estwick was RIGHT ALL ALONG and they were and continue to be WRONG.

44. David Estwick must be laughing his ass off at Freundel Stuart, Chris Sinckler and Leroy Parris those being the one who got together on DT’s death bed to make a ‘deal’ with the devil. That ‘deal’ continues to haunt this country (even tho DT’s pushing up daisies) and that is why the PM can’t touch Sinckler and Sinckler can’t touch Stuart.

45. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

Past Zone August 18, 2016 at 9:44 AM #
    David Estwick must be laughing his ass off at Freundel Stuart, Chris Sinckler and Leroy Parris those being the one who got together on DT’s death bed to make a ‘deal’ with the devil. That ‘deal’ continues to haunt this country (even tho DT’s pushing up daisies) and that is why the PM can’t touch Sinckler and Sinckler can’t touch Stuart.

It would be a traitor’s laugh. He knew what was going on, knew what needed to be done and could have stopped it by resigning. But the teefin’ was too sweet. Treason.

46. The Commissioner of Enquiry into the failure of CLICO in Trinidad,in which it surfaced that Duprey was receiving 90 million dollars a year in payments from Clico begs the question of the role of Parris and the private jet aircraft which was allowed to come and go without the 100% oversight and the stories of the types of cargo and the bags that were placed on board that aircraft.No person is better placed to lead the Commission of Inquiry than the said person who did so in Trinidad.There are too many loose connections and since Amused suggests that the Commisioner was dismissed by the King who said he would not lie,cheat nor steal,it would be poetic justice as to who will have the last word.We look forward to MAM as the first order of business name the lead in that COI to look into the CLICO collapse in Barbados and the OECS and the role of the leper in all this,and all whom he will name because he will not be going down alone for sure.

47. The People’s Democratic Congress August 18, 2016 at 6:37 AM #
    Below are 22 objectives – out of many others
    …………………………………………………………………………
    22 ways to destroy a country. Can’t believe you took a sabbatical and come up with such nonsense.

48. Agree with you, Frustrated!

49. Instead of adressing the matter the Opposition Leader raised that the land being proposed on which the Hyatt is to be built is owned by the taxpayers of this country, the idiot we have as a Tourism minister lambasted the Opposition leader……and insult our intelligence by saying that…….”Sandals did not get any special treatment”.

These people really gone past being ignorant. As David would say, their hignorance knows limits.

Dont deal in facts, attack the person. We would still like to know did Hyatt or Maloney pay the taxpayers for their land or is this another Coverley arrangement.

Talk about idiots leading us!

50. These are not normal idiots Prodigal…
    They are brass bowl idjuts….