The man told a bold faced lie on DLPTV tonight โฆโฆโฆ.the man said in Guyana that unemployment is down to 9% and that jobs are coming back. Fumble, where? In Barbados? You have been travelling overseas too muchโฆ.you got to be mad. Just last month in the CBB report, the governor said that unemployment was 11% (which is another big lieโฆโฆ..unemployment has to be over 20%), so how could it drop by 2% in 30 days? You ever see lies?
In that article, I argued that if we paid a little more attention to our labour force participation rate, and less attention to our more contentiously calculated unemployment rate, then we would end up having a far better understanding of the nature of our unemployment problems.
From the outset, let me state that I have witnessed the published unemployment rates being used by some individuals to praise the Owen Arthur administration for its handling of the Barbadian economy over the period 1994 -2007. Likewise, I have seen the similarly calculated published unemployment rates being used by the same individuals to lambaste and berate the Freundel Stuart administration for its perceived mishandling of the economy since 2010.
Now that recently published figures have shown that, at March 31st 2016, the unemployment rate stood at 9.3%, I therefore find it disingenuous on the part of some individuals to dismiss this figure out of hand, and to assert that the true unemployment rate has to be 20% or more. If individuals want to demonstrate consistency in their arguments, they must now offer congratulations to Mr. Chris Sinckler, the Minister of Finance in particular, and to the Freundel Stuart administration in general, for getting the unemployment rate down to this level.
I am acutely aware that fertility rates, unemployment rates, and labour force participation rates are esoteric subjects, so I will quickly present a few numbers to stimulate some thinking about our unemployment problem.
The total labour force represents the amount of working-age Barbadians who were educated and kept alive by some of the taxes which we all paid over the years. They represent a national resource that the country invested in, and is now looking to get a return from. Of course there are some individuals (those imprisoned, those in mental institutions, those deemed medically unfit to work etc.) who must be excluded from the workforce for practical reasons.
In 2013, our labour force was 214, 000. At March 2015, it was 224,000. At March 2016, it was 222,000.
As the Baby Boomers retire, and as the impact of our low fertility rates begin to kick in, our labour force will shrink. Contributions and taxes from our reduced labour force, as Artaxerxes pointed out, will have to support escalating health care costs and increasing NIS payments demanded by a relatively large, retired cohort of Barbadians. Some of these Barbadians will live forty years or more in retirement so we have to start maximizing the use of our labour force NOW.
In 2013: 126,300 persons were employed. Therefore the gross labour force participation rate was 59% for 2013. That is, 126,300/214,000.
At March 2015: 127,900 persons were employed. Therefore the gross labour force participation rate was 57%.
At March 2016: 131,300 persons were employed. Therefore the gross labour force participation rate was 59%.
These gross labour force participation rates are much too low to create or sustain national economic growth!
Prime Minister Freundel Stuart colourfully and simply stated that โthe governmentโs nipples are soreโ. By so doing, he informed Barbadians that we can no longer look to the Government of Barbados to provide jobs for our unemployed. In fact, the Government of Barbados was forced to shed some jobs as part of its effort to bring balance and stability back to the economy of Barbados.
Unemployment in Barbados reached an all-time high in the 2nd quarter of 2014 (125,000 persons were employed in 2014). A cursory glance at the number of persons employed in 2015, and 2016 therefore supportโs Prime Minister Freundel Stuart โs assertion that the lost jobs have returned to the economy. Again, we need to congratulate the government and urge our ministers to keep pressing on.
These small economic gains represent a step in the right direction. The banks are awash with money and are paying savers practically nothing on their deposits. The credit unions are awash with money. Some black and white individuals and businesses are awash with money. Why does it appear that everyone is sitting down and waiting on the government?
Certainly, with a little creativity, ingenuity, and hard work we can take the risk of establishing our own businesses and put our fellow Barbadians to work.
At the individual level, we need to start asking ourselves some searching questions. What skills do I possess? Are they legally marketable? Do I really have to sit down and wait for someone to hire me?
Working in concert with his grandson, our own pieceuhderockyeahright, a prolific commenter on BU, has demonstrated to us how creativity and ingenuity can create opportunities for individuals. I would not like to see him achieve his political goals, but with all my heart, I would love to see the energy and hard work, which he puts into the conceptualization and creation of his posters, blossom and financially flourish.
Who could fault or envy pieceuhderockyeahright for trying โto show de grandson that his talents with the โstoopid cartoonsโ are of great use and that, if wisely positioned could be a revenue stream?โ
This is precisely the type of thinking, at the individual level, which can help the country of Barbados to trudge out of its deep economic morass.
Who knows how far this new venture will go? Who knows how much foreign exchange it will bring to Barbados?
There is a small, but very important, piece of detail which pieceuhderockyeahright mentioned with respect to the development of his product โ obtaining a copyright from the department of Corporate Affairs. If we are going to be successful businessmen and women, we need to pay attention to minute details such as this. Any Barbadian who is serious about owning a business should go to โCorporate Affairsโ and register A CORPORATION.
When you arrive on the 7th Floor of the Baobab Tower at Warrens, you will spend many, many minutes waiting at the counter unattended whilst the employees pore over big binders and try to do their best as they struggle under the weight of an apparent archaic system. Do not expect to achieve your objective on your first or second visit, unless the stars are perfectly aligned with your birth sign on that day. When you manage to get past the โcounter stageโ, be prepared to stand in another line to pay your fees and receive your receipt. If it is after 3:30 pm, โcrapaud smoke yuh pipeโ. You have to come back another day.
In a world of e-commerce and โpaperlessโ offices, the situation at Corporate Affairs leaves a lot to be desired. That office needs to be brought into the 21st century.
The Permanent Secretary responsible for the Department of Corporate Affairs needs to find a solution to the problem. It should not be left to the Minister.
Unless there is a radical reform of the education system , starting at the primary school level, we will never achieve a new vibrant and sustainable entrepreneurial class.
Loading…
Pachamama
The idea that there should be the development of ‘an entrepreneurial class’, doubling down on classism is unhelpful. Why not as a more holistic construct, involving everybody.
It suggests that classism does not already exist to our detriment, that it is a good thing.
That entrepreneurs do not currently exists everywhere.
It’s an old idea which most often means little in practice but serves as a worn out issue to play to the gallery. To make an audience believe something new is about to happen
These old ideas are unlikely to carry us any further.
Certainly, if people were serious about entrepreneurship they would start with land reform in Barbados. But nobody wants to hear about that brand of entrepreneurship, well rooted in landownership, not house spots! That approach will annoy the landlords these fictitious intervention are aimed at serving.
Loading…
@ All
I know that many must be wondering if, post being mentioned so kindly in this blog, if I was “selling guns to the injuns”
The Honourable Blogmaster can confirm that when the Blog first went up there was one picture for a few moments and not the customary two.
So for a while De ole man misread the article as being from Prodigal Son but having said that I continued to speak to the inefficiencies of the Baobad Towers Corporate Affairs.
Now, to add insult to injury you will see that I have put a “like” on AC, the part of the legion that has common sense, and who has been sent to say something intelligible.
I know that the Sargeant at Arms Bush Tea and the Head of the Intelligence Unit of our Bajans Need Change (as opposed to want it), the Anunnaki, and others of “Ye Band of Brothers” who would be saying that indeed I have done a turncoat Benedict Arnold.
But incredulously there is sense in what AC hath said insofar as “ideas” of varying types and the inability and/or unwillingness of certain section of our society in this case the “young people dem” to seek or self generate gainful employ.
There are some things that I would wish to speak of here which tie into Mr. Skinner’s, Pachamama’s, and many others perspectives.
Years ago, (dere he go again) there was a socially accepted character who loved the young women who came to brandons beach.
Now wunna doan know when brandons was jes by the Mount Gay wall but that was to show we talkin 40 years here, at least.
And every pretty girl who came to the beach he ended up teaching how to swim and laying across his arms, oh loss I cause man uh we you fellers to learn how to swim jes to be like him.
His career came to an end when one day when riding a tractor inner tube he slipped off and nearly drowned at brandons and was unable to teach any more young girls or offer his arms to floatt pun.
De ole man point after dat long story is dat we gots alot of young people who want to learn dis fancy thing called entrepreneurship, which like learning to swim is very difficult to be self taught but dere gots alot of fellers all over Barbados, particularly of the HoA type that leading the drive for Swimming lessons, WHO ENT GOT A CLUE BOUT UM and IS ONLY FEELING UP THE VICTIMS!!!
So we are on a road that is very old, and is the timeless endeavour of all generations, with a cadre of people yearning to be taught being guided by people who are not up to the task, and in fact the system has created a cadre of “feeler-uppers” of great renown, LIl Caesar, Pornville, Atherley, Prescod, Toppin name them my man, name the succession of people that we have had whom are of the Band of Professional Feeler-Uppers.
We are truly lost!!
Loading…
@ Walter Blackman July 7, 2016 at 9:00 AM
You tried to sidestep the issue by facetiously imitating a long-dead man who was an extremely poor teacher and whose main claim to fame was the brutalization of slightly overactive boys going through puberty. Just a Bumpy Moore or even a โRubbernut Thorne imitation would have sufficed. LOL!!
How can you cast serious professional aspersions (I almost said โaspirationsโ to mimic the previous DLP candidate for the same SME riding you are now โaspiringโ to win) on the credibility and validity of the unemployment figures but at the same time go on to make the following statement in support of a moribund administration which is known for lying through its teeth to the people in a most pathologically consistent manner?
โNow that recently published figures have shown that, at March 31st 2016, the unemployment rate stood at 9.3%, I therefore find it disingenuous on the part of some individuals to dismiss this figure out of hand, and to assert that the true unemployment rate has to be 20% or more. If individuals want to demonstrate consistency in their arguments, they must now offer congratulations to Mr. Chris Sinckler, the Minister of Finance in particular, and to the Freundel Stuart administration in general, for getting the unemployment rate down to this level.โ
The โunemployment rate down to this levelโ of what?
Down from what? Are you referring to your labour force participatory rate figure of 57% at March 2015 compared to the 59 % as at March 2016?
Or to put it in the inverse order the percentage figure for those members of the labour force who were without jobs is 41% as at March 2016 compared to a slightly higher figure of 43% as at March 2015.
This administration has proven beyond reasonable doubt that it easily ranks as the most incompetent and untrustworthy ever to be put in charge of the affairs of the people. Do you want me to cite incidences of the blatant lies (โgrossโ statistical and terminological inexactitudes) uttered in the most bold-faced manner to the people of Barbados and beyond? The man on whom you have showered praises โfor getting the unemployment rate down to this levelโ of fictitious proportions cannot even understand the difference 0.03 and 0.3 far less .007 and 0.7. How then can you put faith in such a numeracy dummy?
Walte,r here is suggestion to determine if unemployment has really increased or decreased from quarter to quarter or from March 2015 to March 2016.
Why not use the number of people making contributions to the NIS. If, say, 125,000 people were making contributions as at March 2015 and that figure had increased to 130,000 as at March 2016 then one can conclude that employment rose by 5,000 or unemployment decreased by 4.0%. Of, course necessary adjustments would have to be made to take account of those people who have either retired and are no longer making contributions or have died and whose โestateโ was in receipt of a funeral grant.
Wouldnโt such a method of determining the changes to the level of employment or unemployment be reflective of what is actually going on in the job marketplace and minimize the level of political bias that can cloud such statistical analyses?
Miller what is latest news or the privatization front burner. I am speaking sbout the one that Mia has as a plan to restructure barbados from the ground act.
Am do not hurt yuh sweet head (yuh know which one i refer) about the unemployment numbers that is none of your business just ask Mia what is her plan of action for barbados
Word on the street she has a secret plan to sell off half the islands to all white private corporations.
Namely Cbc the airport transport board the port and the post office. Wuh yuh think thst is fair miller
Loading…
Walter Blackman
millertheanunnaki July 7, 2016 at 9:18 PM #
@ Walter Blackman July 7, 2016 at 9:00 AM
You tried to sidestep the issue by facetiously imitating a long-dead man who was an extremely poor teacher and whose main claim to fame was the brutalization of slightly overactive boys going through puberty. Just a Bumpy Moore or even a โRubbernut Thorne imitation would have sufficed. LOL!
millertheanunnaki,
Are you trying to use “bribery” on me? LOL
On a more serious note, the article speaks to the existence of two major groups:
(a) those who have used unemployment rates historically to praise or castigate past and current administrations. The recently produced unemployment rate dictates that this group must now offer praise. I hope that you can see the fairness in the argument and “ease up off the licks”.
(b) those who understand how unemployment rates can be manipulated. This group must look for measures, less subject to manipulation, that can consistently give us an indication of what is really happening as far as employment generation is going on. For starters, I have suggested that we use the gross labour force participation rate to get a better insight.
Consistent use of the gross labour participation rate will show the extent to which all administrations have struggled to achieve and maintain an acceptably high proportion of the working population employed.
I will bet you that group 1 and the 9.3% unemployment rate will dominate the discussion around the water coolers. No mention will be made of 59%, 57%, and 59%.
Loading…
Re. your response to 10:34 response to Millertheannunaki;
But! but! but! Walter!
You implicitly praised the current PM and the MOF for bringing the unemployment rate down to 9.3% ( “Again, we need to congratulate the government and urge our ministers to keep pressing on.” )with nary an effort to tie in Gross labour force participation rates to the “official” figures that have been misused for decades by both political parties.
Nowhere in your chapeau do you make the explicit point you make above about the primacy of your Gross Labour Force participation rates and its nebulous relationship to the official figures.
You now therefore seem to firmly class yourself as both a group 1 and a Group 2 in just this one post. You can have it both ways for those of us who do not study the figures and understand what you are talking about, but your implicit political misdirection will not fool all the BU readers and posters.
How could you promote a “fool proof” method for analysing Unemployment data and also praise an incumbent Government for using somewhat flawed data?
Now that election’s just around the corner, the pretense at facilitating and funding small and medium sized businesses come to the fore again to be used to be reelected again…while not doing anything about it after elections…again.
the nation newspaper has no credibility as a source for the politics of this country.too many times it has revealed that at the core of its analysis there is a political preference
it is only on those rare and very small occasion there is a fair and balanced in their reporting
Loading…
Pachamama
How can obvious conclusions be so consistently avoided.
We know that both parties use statistics to serve their purposes.
We know that both parties have made the same critiques of each other over the years but we still end up with this dead-end discourse.
We know that people like Walter Blackman will be no different that those before or after him.
We now know that Walter Blackman is a backward political Lilliputian as he serves up warn over rhetoric from a bygone era.
Some very interesting early morning reading, from those who intend to make these pronouncements a reality.
Loading…
David; re. your 2:13 am post.
“something to do with entrepreneurship” ?
It has all to do with entrepreneurship! Remember the “mahogany birds” and the “pet rocks” blips. We still have some tourists that might be taken in by the talk.
Its all about entrepreneurship!
Loading…
@ THe Honourable Blogmaster.and Watchman
Is the video a skit or is it for real? I seem to recall the face of the “vendor” since he looked lile a real life person in the Arts industry who is also a vendor and has some works on slavery up in sheraton (he “uses”
@ Well Well and Consequences
This type of retain banking for the “more marketable” entrepreneur is already available in the Hightech industry with conventional banking, loan sharkers, venture capitalists/angels but has and probably never will fully expand into the market that we in Barbados have to serve.
The issue that we are dealing with is not so much that there are “entrepreneurs” as the bright AC stated earlier in this post but what is one “entrepreneurial” in
That video which i hope is a skit, and modern adaptation of Maubert’s “Mahogany Birds” shows the real and present possibilities and practices of government agencies currently investing in such outlandish badword badword (got to remember my promise to you ladies)
That is the disconnect.
And that is where the EGFLs and Fund Accesses, and the Central Bank facilities for the cutting edge tech solutions have grappled.
They, as opposed to what they were created to do, have become “more punitive banks” with a political agenda
Let me explain.
Are you the minister s son, family, referral? then go to the minister’s piggy bank for special technical assistance to draw down on daddy’s/mummy’s overdraft that you will never have to pay back.
How can a BDO (Business Development Officer) at BIDC say no to George Hutsons referral? “De minister send he” so approve um!!”
But having said that we have another problem.
In addition to the dearth of bankable projects and the insidious nature of Ministerial Interventions you have the third and most dangerous of the challenges.
The BDO who does not know anything about the industry, his manager who has seniority, and is therefore his manager, who KNOWS LESS!!, the internal committee that is composed on dunces and the Board that is chosen at the minister’s whim and fancy!!!
You see why we are royally badworded?
Steupseee
Loading…
Back to Chad’s and several bloggers earlier points on the waste foop that is the Corporate Affairs Office and the veritable Enemy of Business and entrepreneurial activity
It took me a while to find this specific graphic to underscore the wastefulness that is CAIPO
Name of process is UNIMPORTANT insofar as it just represents a Process BUSINESS REGISTRY
Steps in process EQUALLY UNIMPORTANT insofar as they enumerate the actions which accompany the equally unimportant process BUT have metrics associated with each action, AND EACH EMPLOYEE OR SUB PROCESS (computer prints receipt for example) to accomplish the BUSINESS PROCESS)
And the description.
I have to be getting better in my old age.
It is written in ARABIC? which is ironically symptomatic of our own effed up system where, for 50 effing years, we dont know or have a clue what the description/lasks of our jobs are!!!
This was what they hired SYSTEMS and KPMG & THE OECS and ERNST & YOUNG to do.
Define the Process, detail the HR, enumerate the tasks, ergonomically improve the operation, measure the outcome and effect a Monitoring and Evaluation of their actions to ensure that the organization is on target
@ Walter
Given the clear short, pointed steps above would you respond to my pointed question below.
Did this administration do anything with the specific department that seems central to this topic that you have chosen, OVER THE LAST 9 YEARS that would suggest that they UNDERSTAND, AT LEAST, or are committed to the deployment of a truly functioning CAIPO?
Once you have answered NO could you tell me why I, one of the 30 fellers in my village, under a tree smoking tampi, or using the Rent-A-Gun entrepreneurial programme in my real ting Gaza gine be looking to vote for any crew that perpetuated and perpetuates this crime on the entire cuntry?
Look let me tek back that political element part Walter just forget i even asked that part, focus on telling me why you think it has taken 9 years to mek this straight ok?
and leave my my girlfriend alone please….lolol
Loading…
Walter Blackman
David July 8, 2016 at 2:13 AM #
“@Walter
Your friend watchman asked BU to share this video, something to do with entrepreneurship”
I watched the video and have ended up “speculating” that someone originally had a problem with large boulders. The problematic boulders were broken up into small rocks and now an attempt is being made to market those rocks.
Maybe this video will provide a little “food for thought” for watchman as he grapples with his seemingly insurmountable “boulder” problem. I can picture him knocking on Frank Thornhill’s office door and asking him if MTW has any pot holes that need filling. LOL.
Loading…
Bush Tea
@ AWTY
“….How could you promote a โfool proofโ method for analysing Unemployment data and also praise an incumbent Government for using somewhat flawed data?”
Walter’s situation can be summed up in the simple observation that one CANNOT serve GOD and Brass-bowlery at the same time.
Loading…
Pachamama
@Bush Tea
Hallelujah
Do you hear the Church say Amen?
Amen!
LOL!
Loading…
Watchman
@ Piece
A Red C.O.Williams started by moving and sell bigger rocks, now he own half of Barbados , his house pet is not a dog, its a big white pig that the Black maid have to clean up after The WaltHer PPK said his focus is to find jobs for the white collar worker, just asking for some help for that Black- man who trying to be a rock-artist salesman
Loading…
Pachamama
Seeing contradictions is one of the highest thought processes.
Of course, contradictions between “Brassbowlery’ and rightness have always existed.
The role of the politician is to blur the chasm between them.
That’s why most politicians and aspirants, like Walter Blackman, often walk around with stupid smiles on their faces.
They really are convinced that they can fool all the people all the time about those contradictions. This sounds much like the role of Satan himself!
Loading…
@ ac July 7, 2016 at 9:57 PM
โWord on the street she has a secret plan to sell off half the islands to all white private corporations.
Namely Cbc the airport transport board the port and the post office. Wuh yuh think thst is fair millerโ
Where have been? In bed with Rip Van Winkle? Vacationing in the land of Nod?
Half the island has already been sold to white and Indian corporations with the Chinese on the inside track ready to takeover the whole kit and caboodle tourism plant. Ask Bushie since you don’t believe anything the miller tells you.
You think the Chinese might just be interested in โleasing and operatingโ the GAIA?
As for the remaining junk-yard assets backed by junky bonds, who would buy them unless they are to be sold as they stand tottering on the verge of bankruptcy.
How else would Stinkliar get the fast disappearing foreign exchange to meet the year-end targets set by the IMF unless he is forced to sell off the remnants of the peopleโs economic birthright? Soon you are going to see real โparoโ economics in action in reverse Robin Hood fashion.
The puppet Governor’s report on the 2nd Qtr. economic performance is due this month. Do you think there will be another delay to give the quack time to doctor the numbers as demanded by Chris to make his much overdue budget palatable to the already overburdened taxpayers?
BTW, fair-weather friend of Walter, Mr. Blackman is for the privatization of certain commercial entities currently owned by the State but only if their pension liabilities can be offloaded on Greenverbs Parris and friends. Would you be still loyally backing your Johnny-come-lately friend, Wally Gator?
Loading…
Watchman
@ Walter Blackman
If you did take time to read into what you see in the video, you would have seen the entrepreneurship in the Black-man and not the rocks, the someone never had a problem with boulders,but what the boulders were used to do,( block a watercourse ) the Watchman, the someone and most of the Black people in Barbados has a lot of insurmountable created by the DLP to grapple with, like you said Walter 30 or more years worth
By the way, how far are you in your 360 degree turn
Loading…
Walter Blackman
pieceuhderockyeahright July 8, 2016 at 8:25 AM
“@ Walter
focus on telling me why you think it has taken 9 years to mek this straight ok?”
pieceuhderockyeahright,
It has taken more than 9 years, and it is still not straight yet.
Regardless of political affiliation, most Barbadians would readily agree that successive administrations have created a track record of leaving national problems untouched. Some of these problems have been around for 35 years or more.
The Freudel Stuart administration has been around for only 6 years. An earlier administration bold-facedly promised “Civil Service Reform” but today we are experiencing the continuing negative impact of civil service “deform”. The civil service problem has remained untouched.
The Stuart administration proposed a solution to our garbage/energy problems (the Cahill WTE gasification plant), but civic minded Barbadians pointed out the risks and dangers that were embedded in such a solution. The government has apparently clawed back that proposal.
The Stuart administration proposed “fingerprinting” as a solution to some of our national security problems. David Commisiong argued that the โlawโ giving expression to this solution is unconstitutional. The court agreed.
These two examples portray an administration trying to identify and solve problems, but they also betray a lack of rigorous thinking and โteamworkโ on the part of all concerned, including top-level civil servants.
A former administration contracted Al Barrack to construct a building at Warrens. Contractual problems surfaced. The Stuart administration eventually solved the problem. Barrack has reportedly been paid tens of millions of taxpayersโ dollars, and the government of Barbados apparently has received no building in return. Barbadians ought to have been given a detailed explanation as to why so much of their hard-earned taxes โwent up in smokeโ. This example shows that the government needs to desperately do some work in the area of public relations, so that the public will know and understand some of the good things it has done.
Loading…
Walter Blackman
A cursory glance at the number of persons employed in 2015, and 2016 therefore supportโs Prime Minister Freundel Stuart โs assertion that the lost jobs have returned to the economy. Again, we need to congratulate the government and urge our ministers to keep pressing on.
are-we-there-yet July 7, 2016 at 11:50 PM #
“But! but! but! Walter!
You implicitly praised the current PM and the MOF for bringing the unemployment rate down to 9.3% ( โAgain, we need to congratulate the government and urge our ministers to keep pressing on.โ )”
are-we-there-yet,
What I wrote is there for everyone to see. Take another look. I urged congratulations to be offered to the government based on the NUMBER OF PERSONS EMPLOYED IN 2015 and 2016. Those numbers are not supposed to be manipulated. They clearly show that lost jobs have returned to economy.
Do you see how you have been drawn magnetically to that 9.3% unemployment rate? Do you see how unsuccessful I have been in trying to elicit a meaningful discussion or response from you about the use of the 59%, 57%, and 59% gross labour participation rates?
Loading…
Wunna see how a man axe Walter a simple question bout the Corporate Affairs and he waffle through everything and ent answer me yet?
Looka, Walter I even give you simple diagrams.
Doan tell me that you ent understand de concept cause it write in Arabic?
I like i going have to draft this like a Financial Planner exam test!!
A man has a farm.
The farm is for cows actually fatted calfs
The farm is supposed to register how many fatted calves arrive each day
They used to brand the calves using the antiquated process seen on movies with a brand with the letters DT the name of the old rancher but since he up and dead dem now using FS.
Anyways branding de fatted calves affecting the quality of de meat and after all dese years 2008 until 2016, 8 years and not 6, where you learn to add? it is apparent that a new way to count the fatted calves needs to be adopted.
I jes axe you de question if you tink dat de farmer who has owned de farm for 8 years,
(a) should not by now be counting the fatted calf using a different means that using Hodges, the farm hand, who is known to have canal knowledge of the ducks and the paling cocks/hens?
OR
(b) should have his lease of the farm taken away since he does not know about farming at all
Please, should you attempt to answer this simpler format of the previous question, try not to mention how the peeple next to the farmer’s property are building a WTF Assification plant that is emitting fumes and effluent that will kill all the cows, the fatted calves, the people who are milking the calves and the people who are drinking the milk.
Also, it is not pertinent to this question to know the genealogy of the fatted calves DEM or to know whether they came through the Red Sea with Moses and the Israelites and would need to be fingerprinted or whatever one does with fatted calves.
Stay focused. We has not gotten to that part of this simple problem as yet.
You really mekking me thing that what Watchman, Enuff and Pachamama say bout you is true yuh ?
Loading…
Walter Blackman
millertheanunnaki July 8, 2016 at 9:39 AM #
“BTW, fair-weather friend of Walter, Mr. Blackman is for the privatization of certain commercial entities currently owned by the State but only if their pension liabilities can be offloaded on Greenverbs Parris and friends.”
millertheanunnaki,
As Bajans would ask: “Yuh think you sweet?”
You are the closest approximation I have seen to a modern day Goebbels. I wonder who is your Hitler. LOL.
Loading…
Walter Blackman
Walter Blackman July 8, 2016 at 10:16 AM #
“The Freudel Stuart administration has been around for only 6 years.”
pieceuhderockyeahright July 8, 2016 at 11:02 AM #
“…. 8 years and not 6, where you learn to add?”
pieceuhderockyeahright,
Freudel Stuart became Prime Minister of Barbados in 2010. We are in 2016.
I was taught to add at Wesley Hall Infants and Primary School. Did they teach me incorrectly?
Loading…
Artax
pieceuhderockyeahright July 7, 2016 at 8:27 PM #
โBut incredulously there is sense in what AC hath said insofar as โideasโ of varying types and the inability and/or unwillingness of certain section of our society in this case the โyoung people demโ to seek or self generate gainful employ.โ
@ PUDRYR
Iโm surprised you have not yet realize that the ACs DO NOT READ and UNDERSTAND contributions. They immediately INTERPRET and โTRANSLATEโ them, to SUIT their POLITICAL AGENDA, and โmove the goal postโ to prove they are correct.
I specifically mentioned in my contribution that potential entrepreneurs are โCONFRONTED with a number of inhibiting factors, which create difficulties for them to achieve their objectives. In many instances it is difficult to obtain loan financing due to the prequalifying conditions attached to sourcing those funds.โ
Additionally, I also stated that, โespecially if they DO NOT HAVE a JOB or SAVINGS or CANNOT SOURCE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE from relatives or friendsโ it would be unlikely for them to get the necessary finance.
WORKING with ENTREPRENEURS is what I do for a LIVING, unlike the ACs whose sole purpose in life or employment, it seems, is comment on every issue posted to BU for discussion.
Loading…
Artax
pieceuhderockyeahright July 7, 2016 at 8:27 PM #
โBut incredulously there is sense in what AC hath said insofar as โideasโ of varying types and the inability and/or unwillingness of certain section of our society in this case the โyoung people demโ to seek or self generate gainful employ.โ
@ PUDRYR
The ACs dismissed my knowledge of and experience in business as โmodern day babble of economics that a financial windfall is always necessary to start a business,โ when I never mentioned anything about a โfinancial windfall,โ to present an argument re: โI submit to you that car washes and window cleaning were small ideas that has generated millions of dollars for the small business person.โ
Piece, you are an INTELLIGENT MAN (I thinkโฆโฆ. Lol), how could you have โLIKEDโ that shiite? Unless you are also of the MYOPIC VIEW that ALL a car washer NEEDS is a SPONGE and a BUCKET, and taking advantage of USING SOMEONEโS WATER WITHOUT HAVING to PAY or CONTRIBUTE to the WATER BILL, while he confines himself to washing cars in Bridgetown or car parks.
How the hell he could โgenerate millions of dollarsโ WITHOUT making the necessary financial investment?
Let me give you an example. A friend of mine who was an insurance salesman, used to wash cars on weekends. He decided to give up insurance and go into the car washing business full time. Using his SAVINGS along with LOAN FINANCING he was able to ACQUIRE the NECESSARY EQUIPMENT, such as polishing and detailing equipment; dry/wet vacuum cleaners; low & high pressure spray guns; hose & tubing; soaps, detergent and car care products, etc.
As a result of his โideaโ โMidas Magicโ was born and was able to employ a few people. Any good business man would incorporate and insure his business to protect himself and his clients respectively. He marketed his company to the extent that โMidasโ cleans private, government, new and imported used vehicles.
Rather that confining himself to the โsponge and bucketโ mentality that you and the AC fools seem to be suggesting, he โPROFESSIONALIZEDโ his CAR WASHING BUSINESS.โ
How could he have ACHIEVED these OBJECTIVES WITHOUT a SOURCE of FINANCING, especially taking into consideration that setting up a car washing business and purchasing the associated EQUIPMENT is A VERY EXPENSIVE undertaking?
Piece, yuh let muh down, man.
Loading…
@ Walter Blackman July 8, 2016 at 11:04 AM
โYou are the closest approximation I have seen to a modern day Goebbels. I wonder who is your Hitler.โ
Below is an extract of a version of the moral antithesis to Mein Kampf from which I draw my โpropagandaโ:
โDo not believe in anything simply because you have heard it. Do not believe in anything simply because it is spoken and rumored by many. Do not believe in anything simply because it is found written in your religious books. Do not believe in anything merely on the authority of your teachers and elders. Do not believe in traditions because they have been handed down for many generations. But after observation and analysis, when you find that anything agrees with reason and is conducive to the good and benefit of one and all, then accept it and live up to it.โ ~Buddha
And it is precisely because of my conviction to the above philosophy I would wish to challenge the โvalidityโ of a few asserted statements (of fact) you made and read as follows:
โIn 2013, our labour force was 214, 000. At March 2015, it was 224,000. At March 2016, it was 222,000.โ
โIn 2013: 126,300 persons were employed. Therefore the gross labour force participation rate was 59% for 2013. That is, 126,300/214,000.
At March 2015: 127,900 persons were employed. Therefore the gross labour force participation rate was 57%.
At March 2016: 131,300 persons were employed. Therefore the gross labour force participation rate was 59%.โ
What is the source of those โlabour forceโ figures you have neatly โgeneratedโ for the purpose of this very important discussion?
Loading…
Pachamama
@ Miller
We wish you well.
But you will soon find that a fool can never be persuaded that he is an idiot.
You may continue to try, but you are destined to fail.
Could we copy from your kind of propaganda too? LOL
Buddha, Prince Siddharta was right. The opposite of His is central to local thinking.
Loading…
@ Walther
So and there you have it.
From the very mouth of the horse
What you have espoused her is that from 2008 until 2010 Barbados did not have a government and that there was nothing done in these two years while the provisioner of the Fatter Calf was in the Seat of Power.
Notwithstanding the fact that you DID NOT answer my question on the first part you have now confirmed in part what many here have been saying “The Entire DLP representative are like ghosts and bring nothing to the benefit of the Government of Barbados”
Well Done, 2008 – 2010 “ghosted” by a parameter which you set!!
Mine was purely to ask you about the workings of the CAIPO under the DLP administration for the entire period that they were in power but you have set your own very instructive delimiters
And before you do that adroit movement that many here attribute to you, a sleight of hand rather mouth, let me ask you which persons were in government in 2008?
Of those which were in government in 2010?
Did these men/women (and in betweeners) change during that period?
Were there any additions or subtractions to the DLP forces barring the departure of the Fatted Calf provider?
Do you know that, as we speak, Mia Mottley has her animation teams creating stories 45 second to 2 minute stories and limericks and posters and cartoons and really impresive shy*te that is going to flatten you gents when the election bell rings?
Walter, unhitch your horses from this wagon train, them thar smoke signals ent bout the injuns roasting bison, nor fatted calf, me knows that it be the injun tribes planning how them going meet all uh wunna on Broad Street Plains and scalp all uh wunna and do unspeakable unmentionables tuh wunna yard paling folk dat gine be left throughout de Public Service.
Go and search out David Comissiong and get a few good fellers to run your campaign my man of change.
Why you so bent on your self destruction?
Steupseeee “enough, enough of this, where ignorance is bliss, tis folly to be wise…”
Artax you can disagree all You want but the evidence is there to show that a startup business like a car wash most owners started either by going house to house or in parking lots.
The start up financial cost is minimal even if he uses other people water. Btw hoe much does it cost to buy a sponge and bucket.
You are a numbers man now compared that to a big projectlike farming
Loading…
Artax
ac July 8, 2016 at 1:05 PM #
Artax you can disagree all You want but the evidence is there to show that a startup business like a car wash most owners started either by going house to house or in parking lots. The startup financial cost is minimal even if he uses other people water. Btw how much does it cost to buy a sponge and bucket?โ
The above comment is indicative of people who lack common.
No one is disputing whether or not a car wash business could be started with just a sponge and bucket.
Shiite, the DLP employing you to write shiite everyday on BU is a business for you. Perhaps your comments re: โac March 20, 2016 at 1:32 PM #: Sir much of my time is spent ADMINISTRATING and MANAGING a LARGE COMPANY,โ are descriptive of that business {DLP YARD-FOWLISM Inc.}
The argument is that for anyone wanting to develop an idea into a viable business, which will employ people and fulfill the statutory requirements, they can only achieve these objectives through the necessary financing.
Stop creating your โown straw men to knock them downโ and โmove the goal postsโ to establish a basis for your argument.
I dun wid you and dat!!!!
Loading…
@ Artaxerxes
Apologies my man.
It was your own detailed outlines that i attributed to AC, in (minute) part.
You did indeed detailed the prohibitive ($4,000) starting point for there entrepreneurs
All this smoke and mirrors, and the cold wind dem blowing into the nether regions got de ole man confused and lost and not thinking straight.
I dont want you to believe now that since you ent give me no access to your archives at the Nation, the Advocate here on BU and at Peter harris Place? now to think bout it you doan really talk bout Harris Place do you? no I doan want you to think that I getting back at you fuh DEM selfish tings dem, leffing de po ole man tuh fend fuh heself and ting (lolol)
[[[ No, sir, it only be dat feller from up Norf dat of late ent inviting me tuh observe he roses and flowers no more, it is only he dat does treat me bad and gots de Blogmaster doing de same selfish and own way, not sharing dese tings dem.
Oh, jes in case de PPK gine attack dat statement i gine put it in square brackets so only you and me see whu I write in dis part ]]]
PS. De ole man ingrunt and ting, but would someone tell me if dat video is a skit/joke or if it is for real, de one wid de feller selling de rocks sorry “impressions of coraline craft”.
De reason I asking is dat I is due royalties pun all Rocks sold in Barbados and de Caribbean, I is due to be paid a fee from COSCAP.
Additionally, One De Word, aka De Ingrunt Word and De Pedantic Dribbler or Dribbler also own me royalties for using “effing as and adjective yesterday and “piece uh something when he was denouncing a feller yesterday.
I need de money cause I got to pay one TheGazer up in eider America or Canada for using his word “Fecundity” and I also owe that feller Frustrated Business man for using this item below
You see the true reason why I complaining about CAIPO now?
I trying to secure my rights over shirt sales
While a few of you will laugh at de ole man ramblings wunna kin bet wunna alst dollar that this General Election going see Less Bunting and more uh de ole man T-Shirt facsimiles
Where is my Forex? I going axe you to put a pension plan for me Walter
Loading…
Walter;
Seems to me that if you have to depend on raw numbers alone at which you enjoin us to only take a “cursory glance”, that there might be something very wrong with those numbers.
Indeed, the question might be asked why was the hype congratulating Stuart and the MOF not started in 2015 (as compared with 2014) when those figures were even better than in 2016?
The total methodology of collecting and sifting labour statistics needs a thorough cleaning up, including your gross labour force participation rate, which cannot be accurate as it is largely thought to be derived from inaccurate massaged figures. That is why the GoCB might have decided to manufacture his own stats.
Could there have been changes at policy levels at the statistical department that might have resulted in the very atypical 9.3% official 2016 unemployment figure, the only statistic that matters to most analysts?
Loading…
Watchman
@ Walter Blackman
you are not that good at interpreting video,so instead of picturing the watchman,or the someone at Frank Thornhill Office Door, talk about the picture you really saw at Clarkes Road St, James, where the houses west of the someone,are also in high risk of flooding out, because Frank Thornhill, the CTO of MTW is a man of your ilk, who do not seams to know what his responsibilities are, those poor Black people can’t pay for your services, how about the promise made to highlight the plight in a post to BU, oh Shiite, the WaltHer PPK is on the DLP range now his focus target is in St. M. East , there goes the white collar jobs generating too.
Loading…
@ Caswell Franklyn
@ Jeff Cumberbatch
I wanted to ask you gentlemen if this T Shirt can be worn on General Election Day since it does not bear any semblance to any known political person
I am seriously asking.
Hopefully this will not give any ideas to the party in opposition
Loading…
h
@ pieceuhderockyeahright,
How many Bajans know who “Fumble” refers to? And the T shirt ca be mis interpreted to be in support of the Dems.
Maybe you should change the T shirt colour to green.
Given your earlier remarks about “people not recognising who Fumbles and Froon and the Domonic Lied Party were”, a new order was integrated with your batch which the Canadian ex-patriot community can wear with (gay) “pride and industry”
It is important to be politically correct
We had a problem shipping the items out of the island today because the Minister of Small Industry Pornville did not allow his ministry to issue Export Licenses.
He claimed that “since we were exporting “swine and sheep” national ass -e(t)s of Barbados” the permit was denied.
Something about all of the Ministers being swollen up like pigs and swine and Kellman and Short me crutch Stephen Lasles being as dumb as an alpine sheep.
We made an outreach to Bhanananananana and after, pronouncing his name correctly, and after promising “the importer of the condemned chicken wings” that we would not put out more than 1 “Stoopid Carton” per week about him and the chicken wings, he called his buddy and the license was issued.
Please forgive “the smells of swine” on the shirts because Minister Pornville was reported to have been rutting about in the containers looking for X rated CDs and a woman who used to work at his company who quit.
You know one of those big bubbied women who he had reading the news naked. Apparently he mised her and a spiteful person told him that she was in the containers
We are still trying to decipher a new request for 50,000 Yuh Muddah Scvunt skirts that we received but we do not know who the source is.
Do you?
Loading…
Pachamama
There is little doubt that this DLP regime is criminal.
For any person then to align themselves with it therefore means acceptance of all the crimes the DLP have committed.
For Walter Blackman then, the crimes of the DLP must become his crimes.
He could therefore be expected to defend them to the hilt, as he must.
As a criminal he is eligible to public sanction.
We therefore pronounce that Walter Blackman and his cohorts are to meet their fate with the guillotine.
Loading…
Donna
Pacha,
And what are we going to do with their replacements?
Loading…
I already told Pacha she will be using the guillotine as the french did…nonstop.
Loading…
Watchman
@ Piece
Walter said, about 77.000 unemployed persons, that someone determined are not looking for work, were expel from the unemployment list, that list of names are still somewhere out there and can be a big sale of T.SHIRTS, you know, a list like that often blow in Caswell car, so put him on alert
PDYR i think it will order a few , i have a lemonade stand which only cost me pennies to set up and so far it is doing very good business due in part to this very hot summer weather Any how i have been thinking about ordering a few of DEM T shirts as an additional option of expansion and generating more revenue for my lemonade business
if that option works favorably i might asked you to make some with a promotional theme for my business providing the price is right
Loading…
Retribution-things that make me go hum!
Among the unemployed that are not looking for work, can the rationale be attributed to the useless department called WELFARE.
Why are workers meant to pay PAYE and NIS and when severed/fired/ made redundant etc, you are waiting literally six or more months for unemployment benefits? Yet, the willfully unemployed – (the ones that don’t want to work) can register to welfare and receive funds monthly? Sitting down pun their arses and getting their utilities paid free of charge.
This place is a damn mess!! No hope of recovery until this bunch is out of office. God help us!
Loading…
“Where some of our limited $$ for ICT initiatives should go.”
Unbeknownst to many Mark Zuckerman is now perched on facilitating what IBM did for Hitler prior to the extermination of the Jews in the Holocaust – creating VIRTUAL Punch Cards.
As an aside IBM was never tried for war crimes at the Hague.
What WILL HAPPEN is that the 5 billion people on the internet by 2025 will mean that he who owns the backbone will be master of “Peoplecentric data” which is what drives the fingerprinting exercise of the Barbados Immigration department.
What our dufuses at the Census department and the related government departments do not know is that Mark et al will be the new Census gathering machines of the future and Mark will be the one world backbone to facilitate the GOD Chip which is not imbedded in a man, it is the cellphone/smartphone.
Run with the old man for a while
If you add me to your facebook, 2 hours later I see who your friends are and vice versa.
Mark is changing Facebook to intrude in your computer and harvest your contacts and all the loose data on your phone/computers cause now with the “Connected” Operating Systems which permit you to leave the computer and continue doing what you are doing on your IPad, all of your data is known.
Either we plug out or we start preparing to plug in only to the degree that we wnat to be plugged in and therein lies the new fronteir for isolating our data with our own specialized clouds that will allow persistent SAAS systems access to our networks “thus far and not further”
Before Mark gets his networks up and running we have to have Apps out there that are helping people do the very thing that he wants to do, harvesting data BUT THEN BECOMING THE REPOSITORY AND VENDOR FOR THE SUBSET OF THE GOD CHIP DATA that they are targetting anyways.
But now that i think about that one is speaking to a set of professional feeler uppers so this is like water off the ducks back.
Loading…
The blogmaster invites you to join and add value to the discussion.Cancel reply