Lane Graves
Lane Graves

One of the claims made by Disney World in Florida is that it is the “happiest place on Earth”. Of course, it would be difficult to convince the Graves family of Nebraska of the merits of this claim after the incident last week in which they lost their two-year-old son, Lane, after he was attacked and drowned by an alligator as he waded knee-deep in a shallow lagoon outside the family’s resort rental. The entire episode raises a number of intriguing legal issues and supplies a test case for students of the law as to the extent of an occupier’s liability in negligence towards its lawful visitors.

I readily concede that there is arguably much other fodder for the columnist this weekend. The surprising criticism of the United States Embassy in Kingston by the Jamaica Attorney General for its decision to fly the rainbow flag, most used by the LBGTI community, in sympathy with the victims of the mass shooting in Orlando early Sunday morning; the unsuccessful attempt of Mr. Maurice Tomlinson, a self –titled homosexual and LBGTI activist, to persuade the Caribbean Court of Justice that similar provisions in the Immigration Acts of Belize and Trinidad & Tobago deeming homosexuals as prohibited immigrants served to deny him his freedom as a CARICOM national to enter and remain in another member state for a period of six months unless excluded for other stipulated reasons; and the ongoing standoff between a local entrepreneur and my primary school classmate, now Chief Town Planner, Mr Mark Cummins, might all have provided ample material for this hebdomadal (!) essay. However, perhaps as a coda to my effort last month, “The Gorilla and the Boy”, I prefer today to explore the legal intricacies of the boy and the alligator.

It is at least remarkable how frequently art seems to imitate life. Just last April, in the examination for first year students of the Law of Torts, I posed a scenario where there was the need to determine whether an occupier had sufficiently complied with her duties towards another by the mere placement of a sign which stated “Watch your step” in a circumstance where her lawn had been left slippery with oil and where, as a result, the visitor naturally slipped, fell, and injured himself. Now, in the Disney World incident, a significant consideration will be whether a sign that merely enjoined “swimming” was adequate to protect against the rare, though not unlikely, actuality of an alligator attack. The issue is also relevant to the Barbadian occupier of premises, though, of course, the incidence of an attack by an alligator here may be a “fantastic possibility” rather than the “reasonable probability” that ought reasonably to be guarded against by an advertent occupier.

Nevertheless, section 4(5) of the Barbados Occupiers Liability Act , Cap 208 provides-

Where damage is caused to a visitor by a danger of which he had been warned by the occupier, the warning is not to be treated without more as absolving the occupier from liability, unless in all the circumstances it was enough to enable the visitor to be reasonably safe”. (Emphasis added)

Clearly, it may be argued that a sign which simply seeks to forbid swimming is insufficient to enable a visitor to be reasonably safe where there is a not remote probability of the presence of alligators that, as I argued with the gorilla previously, are treated as ferae naturae or wild by nature. In consequence, it is not humanly possible to predict their behaviour, especially in a situation where the distinction between a small child and prey for the evening meal would be a difficult one for the beast immediately to draw.

Nor should it matter that the animal is not owned or controlled by the occupier of the property here. The presence of the alligator presents a danger that might have been foreclosed by the resort complying with its duty qua occupier “to take such care as in all the circumstances of the case is reasonable to see that the visitor will be reasonably safe in using the premises for the purposes for which he is permitted by the occupier to be there”.

Other legal issues may also arise- Did the father take as much care for the safety of the child in the circumstances as a reasonably diligent parent should have? Or should he be treated as having been contributorily negligent? In other words, did he, by permitting the child to wade in the water at that time, contribute to the happening of the tragedy or was the event so objectively unforeseeable that no blame at all should be attributed to him?

Indeed, he himself might have a claim against the resort. There is no doubt that he would have been seriously traumatized by the chain of events, especially after having failed to pry his son loose from the steely grip of the alligator and watching in horror as it swam away with the child in its jaws towards one certain horrific outcome.

If the negligence of the resort may be established as well as the medical proof of some psychiatric injury having been caused to the father thereby, it would be highly likely that the father may recover substantial compensation for the psychological effects of the incident on him as a secondary victim who would have shared close ties of love and affection with his son and who, with his own unaided senses, would have witnessed the particularly horrifying event as it must have been.

News in recent days is to the effect that Disney is now attempting to change the signs around the lagoons to warn of the likely presence of alligators. In light of the above, this is scarcely surprising and may serve as a subtle concession of liability.

Thing is, it comes almost a week too late for little Lane Graves.

192 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Tragedy in the Magic Kingdom”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Well Well & Consequences June 19, 2016 at 3:53 PM #
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/19/offshore-solution-for-medical-internship/

GP…this one’s for you..can you imagine the nerve of these idiots…lol

I HAVE TACKLED THIS ON MEDICAL CORNER
    IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE AUTHORITIES IN BARBADOS DO NOT KNOW HOW OUR MEDICAL TRAINING OPERATES OR HOW THE OFFSHORE SYSTEM OPERATES

SEEMS THE OFFSHORE FOLK IS CONFUSING JOKERS DOWN THERE

2. @Jeff Cumberbatch “hebdomadal”

hebdomadal? Cuh dear Jeff. ya writing fa lay people, not for law professors. Wha’ wrong with the word weekly?

3. Here comes Simple. Why must an academic step down? Why cant ordinary people step up?

#Jesus!

4. I’ve been to Disney with a bunch of little kids, 11+ers, and it never occurred to me while there that wild alligators were on the premises. Disney has created such an artificial environment that wild beasts were the furthest thing from my mind. Do you think that Cinderella’s castle, Mickey and Minney mouse, and alligators share the same mind space?

On the other hand when I go to a zoo with little kids I keep the little kids in strict control because I know that wild beasts [though penned] live at the zoo, and that perhaps something bad can happen.

I find it amazing that Disney did not have “beware of the alligators” signs.

And in spite of what Dr. Georgie Porgie continues to say “no swimming” signs do not convey the same message as “No swimming because there are alligators in the water”

Not the same message at all.

5. The thing is bigable Disney and their big shot lawyers knew that alligators were likely to be in the artificial lake.

Poor little Lane Graves and his parents did not.

I and my little children did not know either.

6. There are a myraid of reasons why this ac never takes any thing the blp and it’s leadership says seriously .the biggest one is that of being a hypocrite .over and over again anyone can cast their eyes on the numerous illegalities some hidden some tossed and turned in the wind like tumble weed and ask why …..yet those who remember should ceremoniously forget

Happy Father’s day

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

David June 19, 2016 at 4:26 PM #
    Here comes Simple. Why must an academic step down? Why cant ordinary people step up?

#Jesus!

WHY ARE YOU CALLING THE NAME OF THE LORD IN VAIN SIR?

8. Suppose that I keep a few dogs on my premises, pit bulls say, and suppose that I invite my cousin and her children from over and away to vacation at my home, and suppose I do not tell my cousin or her husband, nor their children that I have these pit bulls and that furthermore these dogs have a free run of my home inside and out. And suppose that my visitors arrive late at night and that I escort them safely to their rooms, and at 4:30 a.m. the little boy gets up to use the bathroom, and the pit bulls sees “this stranger” in my home.

And suppose something bad happens.

Am I in any way liable?

9. @GP

Your reprimand is noted.

10. Disney traffics in childish cuteness, and I guess real live alligators and real live snakes are not cute so why mention them.

11. @ Piece
    Abijah’s mother, every Rasta in Barbados and supporters must turn up and speak for him when the case against Maloney is set to be heard at month end. If 1000 field niggas who aint even house niggas could turn up when massa house in trouble, 1000 or 10,000 real field niggas could turn up to say let it burn!

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Disney did not tell their visitors about the alligators and snakes swimming in their lakes prior to arrival because they would get no visitors if they did…that makes Disney very liable, they know that and will settle..very quietly.

13. @Heather

Have a look at the video, not seeing 1,000 employees.

https://www.facebook.com/NationBarbados/videos/10153448625390989/

14. @Bush Tea June 19, 2016 at 11:12 AM “no arrangements were in place to encourage visitors to enter the water in the first place.”

Please explain what you mean by “no arrangements were in place to encourage visitors to enter the water in the first place.”

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

. I”f 1000 field niggas who aint even house niggas could turn up when massa house in trouble,”

Those shameless field niggas turned up to support Maloney in breaking their own laws, those field niggas are not even aware that were they to do the same, the structure would be torn down, those field niggas will not be working for their wicked little massa in the next 5 years, but like all field niggas, they do not know that they do not know.

Those same field niggas would never turn up en masse to stand up for their own rights…what a shame.

16. By the way Heather, do you endorse this week’s column? 🙂

17. @ David, point taken. Not one of them should have turned up.

18. 🙂

19. @ Heather

Well said.

Now here is an addendum to your powerful statement Heather.

If is should transpire that the Rastafari Community which, unlike the docile community of Bajans, DOES NOT TURN UP FOR ABIJAH, then de ole man will know absolutely that we as a country are truly lost.

For unlike me, citizen activist, and “weekend warrior”, they are the most vocal and “activist” component of our society.

That is indeed the litmus test Ms Cole.

My lady, if you were to move away from *** ( I will not say the Darkside) you would be a force to reckon with.

All jest aside, it is my sincerest hope that, what you said the other day, regarding your allegiances, solely to truth and a better barbados, is true

Your exhortation nonetheless is “Spot On.”

I shall await that day with baited breath to see where the brethren and sisters are regarding their solidarity for one of our sons, or if they just into “legalize marijuana” chants

20. @ David, I was not going to comment but since you asked….With a view to the keep the peace among the BU family, I must say that the contributors actually showed the relevance of the article to Barbados by posting clear examples. It was as though Jeff wrote half of the story leaving us to connect the dots and draw our own conclusions.

21. @ piece you must engage them and see what they thoughts are. The power is in the people but they must want change.

22. @Heather

There you said it, we know Jeff is a ‘keen listener’.

23. @David June 19, 2016 at 4:26 PM “Here comes Simple. Why must an academic step down? Why cant ordinary people step up?”

Because….
    http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/
    “Since 1979, we have been campaigning against gobbledygook, jargon and misleading public information. We have helped many government departments and other official organisations with their documents, reports and publications. We believe that everyone should have access to clear and concise information. The campaign officially began after founder, Chrissie Maher, publicly shredded hundreds of official documents in Parliament Square, London. Entirely independent, we fund our work through our commercial services, which include editing and training. We have worked with thousands of organisations including many UK government departments, public authorities and international banks, helping them make sure their public information is as clear as possible. Our Crystal Mark now appears on more than 21,000 documents worldwide. Launched in 1990, and the first mark of its kind, the Crystal Mark is used by over 1600 organisations who want to provide the clearest possible information.”

Just saying…

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Heather maybe one day you will understand that all really GOOD leaders/teachers figuratively (and sometimes literally too) write or say “half of the story leaving us to connect the dots and draw our own conclusions” .

I imagine it takes some thought and time even for GOOD students like yourself to understand that the choice of a topic seemingly in no way connected to our country can in fact be a very profound and revolutionary essay about our country…if read carefully.

Not calling the Dean of the UWI Law school a revolutionary, in the least. But just glad that you realize that his words and ideas have a lot more bite and snarl than seen at first blush.

25. @ de Pedantic Dribbler, I am not as bad as understanding the English language as you may thnk. Jeff would have made inferences if he wanted us to do as you suggested. He did not.

26. @Simple Simon

Part of the allure of communication is the words use to stoke the imagination and curiosity, if the spoken word there is cadence etc. There is nothing wrong with an academic injecting his learning in a place where it adds value read the BU forum.

#justsaying

27. @ Simple Simon
    Was it a swimming pool?
    ..a beach? …Did the brochures advertise skinny dipping there?
    The damn thing was there for the aesthetics …. like a fountain, a golf course lake…..

Steupsss
    …and your analogy about your pit bulls is the pits… Disney came and found the WILD alligators and wild snakes there….. these are not pets under their control.

If your cousins came to visit and got bitten by a mosquito with dengue …should they sue you? …or the neighbour who keeps plants?
    Do you have a sign warning of mosquitoes and dengue? Do you issue repellant? Do you brief visitors on how to identify Aedes aegypti?

If a fellow chose to climb up your coconut tree and fell? …. do you have a warning sign saying not to climb the coconut tree? Do you provide sponge under such trees?

Have your lime trees been ‘de-pricked’….. cause you done know that Dribbler’s grand children are likely to climb that tree….

Woman, go and put on the damn pot or something do….

28. @simple simon
    Personally, I prefer the phrase “every 168 hour period” to weekly. Weekly is too overused. Perhaps we can give Jeff a calculator so he can convert all times to hours…. Everyone understands hours, minutes and seconds…

29. @ Heather

You said “…It was as though Jeff wrote half of the story leaving us to connect the dots and draw our own conclusions…”

“It is as if???”

No Ms. Cole, jeff is not an as if man.

He is one serious radical.

Watch his articles, all of them.

Tort, civil litigation, criminal litigation, children loosing lives, peaceful civil agitation, relevancy of systems of government, stasis in our own system, 5 year tenures which only bring more of the same, nuances, undercurrents of speech etc.

Then look not only of what he does but what he does not do.

A feller would say you did not mention x in your exposee or y and Jeff would leave that fellow along this time, but then another time he would engage the fellow and say, “you know you are right” and move on.

The fellow satisfied and Jeff moving and jabbing.

Harambe and Isiah last week? and Lane and no name alligator this week bobbing an weaving like Ali, hitting hard and moving, the man reminds me of one of those Mime performances I saw years ago, silent but totally impactful.

Do you know any of his students in his classes at UWI?

Why is this man Deputy Dean and one ex-patriot David Berry Dean? But then again let de ole man not go down that road of “What is my Mirror Image?”.

You know when i first wrote about Abijah this morning I had just come from reading an article that expanded on the hotel and showed how it was a man made lagoon that was purposely connected with small tributaries.

I was going to speak of “purposed death” and then I paused and said Lane and Isiah are Murica’s problems, dem going deal with that.

Who is going to stand for Abijah? in his grave? and a voice said to the ole man if you write here you will be doing the same very thing that you often accuse others of “hijacking the topic” but I am haunted by that young man’s face Heather, his face and that of the young Shamar.

Do you know what it is Heather?

When you bury old men and women like us (unless you are short) our coffins have 8 pallbearers.

Those of those young victims of parental abuse and murder on the highway scarce could carry 4 and at tops 6.

Again, it is anomaly for me, it is a pattern that does not fit, and it reinforces my belief that no man or woman should bury their young.

Whether it be by bullet fired to kill philandering husband and whose loving child is hit by errant bullet, or battered young man in houses where neighbours heard the cries, or incompetent Child Care Board or loving son passaging in seat with mother driving car.

We all going die Ms. Cole but not through acts of such “premeditated murder”.

30. …and Simple
    If you REALLY have dogs running all over your house it explains quite a lot…
    Tour donkey should be sued for spreading fleas and ticks….

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

bush tea too sweet pun dis disney BS

but de piece that cause me to fall of my chair was

If a fellow chose to climb up your coconut tree and fell? …. do you have a warning sign saying not to climb the coconut tree? Do you provide sponge under such trees?

Have your lime trees been ‘de-pricked’….. cause you done know that Dribbler’s grand children are likely to climb that tree….

Woman, go and put on the damn pot or something do….

BUT BUSHIE DUN KNOW THAT THE IDIOT WOULD TRY TO CLIMB THE LIME TREE BEFORE HE GRAND CHILDREN DEM MURDAH

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The fact that an island was placed in the middle of a road and the authorities have not charged this jackass Maloney, is telling. I have not driven up to that airport in years, had it not been for this story and kid’s death, I would not know the island was there and hear is what would have happened……a couple years ago my family and I were taking an early morning Jetblue fkight, I was driving up to the airport around 3 am…not knowing there is an island in the middle if the frigging road, placed there by an idiot and allowed to stay there by idiot authorities…at that time of the morning, anything could have happened.

That’s why I make sure I know where all the idiots in Barbados live…that island in the middle of the road is another death waiting to happen.

33. @ Piece
    Methinks that your imagination is being overstretched here with respect to the all encompassing nature of Jeff’s writings.

As far as Bushie is concerned, every Saturday night, Jeff is faced with a tight deadline (that he probably now regrets having subjected himself to)…. and he puts together some ramblings designed to provoke us into long discussions that keep us as far as possible from the Fear Trading Commission and from other areas that can get him into trouble.

He then goes through it to replace a few simple words with scholarly sounding ones (Dompey style – but Jeff actually understands what he is doing), …..adds a sly twist …in case Caswell attacks…and BRAM!!! …we are off and running.

Personally, Bushie do not care who writes about what. In the end, the important points are that BBE started the whole ‘life on earth’ project … and that it is shortly to be wound up.

Amazing that more of wunna cannot see the CLEAR signs.

34. @ GP
    Simple is Bushie’s girl as you know, but hearing about those pit bulls brings a whole new dimension to our relationship….
    Those dogs are unpredictable when they hear their mistress screaming…. whether it is in pain or otherwise.

With respect to the Dribbler and the lime tree …. Bushie doubts he would be so foolish.
    …not after the coconut tree fall….

35. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Simplt Simon at 4:49pm – Your duty towards your lawful visitors as an occupier is as stated in the column –

“to take such care as in all the circumstances of the case is reasonable to see that the visitor will be reasonably safe in using the premises for the purposes for which he is permitted by the occupier to be there”.

Do you consider that letting your pitfalls run about the house with strangers there comply with this?

Endtime signs again, Bushie? Choose one-

“Endless” drought burns forests like kindling
    Bird flu outbreak the next step toward a new plague?
    Thousands of starving sea lions mysteriously displaced
    The Altar of the Lord rebuilt in Jerusalem
    Microchip implants—the Mark of the Beast?

Re “hebdomadal” -Do some of you really think that your vocabulary should be the same as that of a twelve year old child?

That is not what Plain English is about!

36. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

*PITBULLS

37. @Bushie
    There are quite a few that I enjoy reading and I read what them without expecting what they write to change the world or even Barbados. I do not always agree with what is written (take GP and Heather for example) but there are also times when these two contributors deliver material that provide food for thought, a veritable feast. I guess most of us has a contribution to make and we each do it in our own way; one day we please some and a next day we may displease anothero

I also enjoy your contributions except when you agree with Chad (too many 9’s minus one); but recently I got the surprise of my life, Chad was hitting the ball out of the park…..

So I pick little bits and pieces from here and there.

PUDRYR should add a G (Gibraltar) to his name. Solid.

38. *what them= their contributions
    (beginning to think I should type in word and then cut and paste)

39. Jeff C like he has some company, Bush Tea is among other things the latest legal beagle to join the ranks of BU but he must have missed a few courses particularly the one that covered “Duty of care” which covers the reasonable obligation that a host has to his guests.
    I remembered this case from a few years ago, sure there are examples in the US Courts

http://www.canlii.org/en/on/onca/doc/2002/2002canlii45019/2002canlii45019.html

40. BTW: I think this guy is so far out on the limb that they want to cut it and see which side of the fence he falls on.

41. @ David who wrote “Why must an academic step down?” They shouldn’t.

When fellas like Jeff and GP write words that I don’t know, I go to the online dictionaries.

Continual learning is anti aging medicine for 64 year olds like me. lol

42. The Gazer’s manifesto

In chess, there is a move called ‘en-passant”. It is where you advance your men up the board and as a side action you capture the piece of an adversary.

I do not want to see political pieces disappearing off the board, en-passant. This should not be a swap of a Duracell battery for an Ever-Ready battery; a flick of the light switch from an on to an off position; an exchange of real coke for a dirt coke. Do I need to go on or have I made my point?

Victory cannot be claimed because there are only two horses in the race and the populace scratched one of the horses. I don’t want to be here typing the same stuff, but aiming at a different villain.

I am getting myself back on the voters roll and there is a need for you to tell me
    1) What will be different?
    2) Why should I vote for you?
    3) that you will put Barbados first (make Barbados great again) and not just seek to enrich yourself?
    4) the only difference between the Maloney’s and the small man is the amount of money they have; both will have access to justice and to the politicians

Reassure me. Distinguish yourself. Or I may be force to vote for the devil I know.

There is no victory by default (in my world). Americans have an expression “put up or shut up”. So far you’ve been shutting up. In my books….it is time to start putting up.

You have seen my manifesto. I wanna see yours before the heat of an election.

43. dirt=diet

44. What is it Sarge… You got some spare time to kill?

Canadian cases are not applicable to this discussion. Everyone knows that your law assumes that all citizens are dumb ..and that the law must therefore do their common sense work.

Some idiot drinks at a party, goes to a bar and drink some more, then causes an accident driving home – and your country SERIOUSLY entertains a $2M lawsuit from her against the bar? If someone who loved her had given her a good cut-ass early in life, she would likely have been able to figure out that she was doing shiite.

If in your second example, an employer entices an employee to dring during working hours and she causes an accident as a result that is different.

This Law business is not brain surgery. It is just that most people don’t have the time and patience to be reading up on the lotta shiite cases….. 🙂

@ TheGazer
    Sorry to disappoint with the occasional agreement with Chad. But he seems to understand AC better than most….

@ Jeff – re end-time signs…
    All of the above … plus Bushie says so… 🙂

45. @ Piece my son’s name is Abijah. I doubt that there are many young men in Barbados with that name. It is as old as the hills and found in the Bible in 2 Kings. It means son of Jah or the Lord is my father. I was sad to hear of his death and when I knew his name my heart bled. I could not help but imagine his mother’s sorrow because it hit home.

46. @BT

It was the same case, one dealt with the Appellate Court, the other was the final decision but you forget that Canada is a Commonwealth jurisdiction? Yuh think that the judges down there won’t look this way for precedent?

47. You are correct Sarge
    …except that the Canadian court actually dealt with it ..and concluded the matter.
    We do not have that precedent bout here.

It would be 2025 before a decision …and 2045 before any payment.

48. Still believe Disney is at fault. If there is a possibility of alligators around why not put up a sign which warns of alligators? Because it’s not good for business that in a magic kingdom one should be thinking about death by alligator. Thing is that in a magic kingdom meant to lull one into a false sense of security some naive people would never believe that in the absence of signage this could ever be a possibility. This was a business decision pure and simple. The almighty dollar reigns!

P.S. Lime tree pricks and tall coconut trees are OBVIOUS DANGERS! Alligators in a man made body of water in a magic kingdom built for children are NOT. Simple Simon should tell you to go and cut some grass!