The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – On Nearing Fifty (v)
Another essay in the ongoing series during our fiftieth year of sovereign nationhood.

However [political parties] may now and then answer popular ends, they are likely in the course of time and things, to become potent engines, by which cunning, ambitious, and unprincipled men will be enabled to subvert the power of the people and to usurp for themselves the reins of government, destroying afterwards the very engines which have lifted them to unjust dominion. –George Washington, Farewell Address, September 19, 1796
There is, unarguably, a near palpable air of “partisan politicking” in Barbados. With the next general election constitutionally due more than two years from now, I am nonplussed as to the reason (s) for this.
Perhaps it is owed to the bizarre developments in the US Presidential run-offs where, in a jurisdiction that guarantees equality, and whose version of the Colossus, Lady Liberty, proclaims a welcome to the “tired, poor, huddled masses yearning to breathe free”, the presumptive nominee for one of the major parties has managed to achieve this status in spite, or by virtue, of his enunciation of an intended policy that would exclude even natural born United States citizens from the country on the basis of their heritage or religion. What is even more remarkable is that he has done so without the total loss of support from the leadership of his party, whose minds are fixated rather on having their nominee in the White House next January.
It may be owed too, to the recent round of general elections in the region where the electorates seem most unforgiving of an administration’s failure to provide instant economic gratification and thus unwilling to accord it more terms than one. It has happened so far in Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica and, on Monday last week, with the St Lucia Labour Party in St Lucia.
So the outgone People’s National Movement administration in Jamaica seeks now for reasons why it suffered electoral misfortune, ascribing it variously to snubbing political debates, initiating a brouhaha over the palatial home of the Opposition Leader, low worker morale, unresolved candidate election issues and in-fighting within the party. No consideration appears to have been given to the actuality that it might simply have been the electorate’s way of inquiring and answering, “What have you done for me lately?”
As for my friend and former Faculty of Law colleague, the Prime Minister of St Lucia, one suspects that he himself had seen the writing on the wall when he publicly expressed discomfiture at the presence in St Lucia of non-national political operatives aligned against his party, a phenomenon that has seemingly become par for the course in successive regional election campaigns.
It may be both or neither of these. It may even be the local preoccupation with being perceived to have been on the right side of history and that there is too a general feeling that we are in for a humdinger of a general election campaign in 2018 where there is likely to be regime change.
But I got the clearest indication of this sentiment last week when my column on the legal issues surrounding the killing of the handsome silverback gorilla, Harambe, and the possible liability in criminal negligence of the mother of the boy who fell into Harambe’s enclosure at the Cincinnati zoo caused some consternation in another forum in that it had nothing to do with current affairs in Barbados. Some even suggested that it was intended to be a distraction from more serious (sc. partisan political) issues.
While this was by no means an overwhelmingly popular opinion, it establishes that, for some, little else matters beyond the state of current local political play and that they will not be distracted by anything even remotely unconnected.
What we fail to realize is that if there is to be significant change, it will not come through the mere exchange of one grouping of personalities from the so-called political class for another. This game of “political tag” is scarcely the way for the citizen to play a greater role in his or her democratic destiny beyond the quinquennial (five yearly) placement of an X against a faceless and, in our case, symbol-less, name.
There is a memorable quotation by the comic strip character, Pogo, used to commemorate the very first Earth Day in 1970. Pogo is trying to pick up the litter strewn by humans near a swamp. It is, “We have met the enemy and he is us”, signifying that so far as the preservation of the environment is concerned, mankind is his own enemy.
The question begs asking, “Who or what is the enemy of the people, preventing their acquisition of more sovereignty over their own affairs?
Too besides, the Honorable Prime Minister is fond of urging the nation to reflect on three items during our fiftieth year –(i) those things that have been beneficial to our development that we would wish to keep; (ii) those similar that we have lost and need to reclaim; and (iii) those that we should wish to discard as quickly as possible? To this paraphrase, I would respectfully add a fourth consideration for reflection –those things that would be helpful to our future development to better governance and that we need to acquire as quickly as possible.
It is submitted that the answer is similar in both cases. The enemy, as Pogo suggested, may be us (and our narrow focus on political partisanship). And that which we might each do well to acquire quickly is the ability to think for ourselves and not to be mere “useful idiots” of any partisan political dictate.
To be continued…

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/cops-hope-find-body-2-year-old-snatched-gator-disney-article-1.2674905
This is going to set a precedent.
LikeLike
WW
DO WE HAVE SIGNS ON OUR BEACHES WARNING PARENTS THAT UNATTENDED CHILDREN AND TODDLERS MIGHT DROWN IN THE SEA?
WHY DO YOU THINK THAT DISNEY SAYS NO SWIMMING IN THE LAGOON?
IS THAT MORE SIGNAGE THAN WE PUT ON OUR BEACHES?
ARE PARENTS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE CARE OF THEIR CHILDREN ANYMORE?
I JUST ASKING AND TRYING TO LEARN HERE?
LikeLike
“No swimming” does not mean “No wading” and that child was wading in inches deep water at the edge with his parents in close enough proximity to be able to jump in and fight the alligator. My son got away from me on more than one occasion. All it takes is a fraction of a second.
LikeLike
GP…I agree with you, but seeing that Forida is known as Alligator Alley, Disney knew there were alligators in the man made lake since they walk all over Florida and slide into the first pool of water they find, it was negligent of Disney not to put up a sign saying alligators are in the water…stay out.
Of course the parents were also negligent, being from Minnesota is no excuse…I always kept my 2 year old on a child leash…in the 90s they were kidnapping small kids left and right in Miami…I still remember the Paulie Glass kidnapping……ya have to fear for and protect small children, the 2 foot beasts are even more dangerous.
Child leashes are sold all over the US.
LikeLike
http://ow.ly/fgny301lfan
GP…this should give you some insight into culpability, being from Nebraska is no excuse not to leash a small child.
Disney was well aware that there were alligators in the lake, there should have been a sign to that effect along with the lake being dragged on a daily basis, just in case.
I am sure they will quietly settle…they are not like the idiots in Barbados who like to drag everything out unnecessarily and indefinitely.
LikeLike
Oh dear, what you cud be trying to learn by asking Ossie Moore questions and using Sharkey logic. Oh lawd.
Let me quote the always succinct and quite pellucid @Donna who said :”“No swimming” does not mean “No wading” and that child was wading in inches deep water at the edge with his parents in close enough proximity to be able to jump in…”
The child did not drown from swimming in the water.
And we obviously DO NOT place no swimming signs on our beaches unless there are on the rough sea coast .
And who warns about toddlers and the sea..even Ossie would know better.
Whether they were from Nebraska or from Florida is irrelevant. The signage was inadequate.
What is even more disturbing as was noted by one news item is the fact that the authorities killed FIVE alligators in the surrounding area while searching for the boys’ body.
Read slowly…..any one of FIVE alligators could have possibly slipped onto that beautiful tranquil beach area and not ONE DAMN sign said…ALLIGATORS, BEWARE!
Anyhow here are a few comments from someone who visited that resort. Cause the doc only listens to people who went there and ting…right brother!!! LOLL.———
“My whole family loves all things Disney.
“We are Disney Vacation Club members….
“… Last night, at about 11:30pm, we got the news that a 2-year-old child near the Grand Floridian Resort was snatched up in the dark and taken into a lagoon by an alligator.
“We knew exactly where that was. We’ve been there many times. It’s one of the most beautiful, peaceful, tranquil places you can visit. It’s not a part of an amusement park, but is a really well-done hotel with special water features surrounding it. The lagoon is a man-made
lake created just for the park with a fake sand beach.
“Of course, all around this lagoon, and all around Disney in general, signs say “Don’t play in the water” or “Don’t step on the grass” or “Don’t stand on this statue of Mickey Mouse.”
“However, as a guest who has been to Disney World dozens and dozens of times with my five young children, the general consensus is “Don’t play in the water” because it’s deep, or because it’s dirty, or because not enough people are around to help you if you can’t
swim.
Never once in our times there did we ever consider that an alligator was lurking beneath the surface.
“… I’ve never seen a single sign anywhere in the park that warns you of such a thing.”
“People pay to be at Disney for a safe and secure family outing. It’s not a National Park where bears roam free and you are warned by rangers and signs about the danger every few hundred feet. If multiple alligators were roaming the Disney property, guests should’ve been warned.”
–S. King, Syndicated columnist.
(REALLY NOW!!! How idiotic can a person be to think signage is necessary. I mean you would have to be a totally idiot to think that a Disney resort in Florida would be made safe of gators )
LikeLike
@ d p D,
you could have stopped at ” The signage was inadequate.” lol
LikeLike
Hants
BOTH MY BOYS ARE SAFE…….NONE HAVE BEEN DROWNED BY ALLIGATORS
ALL MY FAMILY MEMBERS THAT GO TO DISNEY ON A REGULAR BASIS ARE SAFE NONE HAVE BEEN DROWNED BY ALLIGATORS
TO TRY TO DISTINGUISH SWIMMING FROM WADING IS PLAYING SEMANTICS
THE LIKKLE BOY DEAD!
NOW DISNEY WILL PUT UP SIGNS
IN THE FUTURE SOME DELINQUENTS WILL STILL BE DROWNED BY ALLIGATORS DESPITE THE SIGNS
DISNEY WILL INCREASE THE PRICE OF TICKETS BY 10-15 DOLLARS AND PAY UP WHAT IT IS CHARGED
AND PEOPLE WILL CONTINUE TO THRONG TO THE PARK
THE DELINQUENT PARENT THAT DID NOT UNDERSTAND TO KEEP HIS CHILD OUT OF THE WATER WILL REMAIN DEAD
AND BETZPAENIC WILL CONTINUE TO BE BETZPAENIC
I HAVE SAID WHAT I HAD TO SAY AND I DONT GIVE A RATS RECTUM WHAT ANY ONE ELSE SAYS
ALL I KNOW IS THAT WHEN I GO ANYWHERE AND I SEE A SIGN THAT SAYS NO SWIMMING I DO NOT PLAY SEMANTICS I JUST DONT GO IN THE WATER…I DONT SWIM NOR DO I WADE
BUT I AM AN IDIOT AM I NOT ?
LikeLike
RE “Of course, all around this lagoon, and all around Disney in general, signs say “Don’t play in the water”
TO ME DONT PLAY IN THE WATER MEANS …………….. DONT PLAY IN THE WATER PERIOD!
I TOO HAVE Been to Disney World dozens and dozens of times
I UNDERSTAND THE the general consensus “Don’t play in the water” MEANS DONT PLAY IN THE WATER FOR ALL POSSIBLE MEANINGS
IT CERTAINLY IS dirty
THE PLACE IS BUILT ON WHAT WAS A SWAMP
DIRTY WATER IS A HEALTH HAZARD
THE STUPID MAN SHOULD HAVE KEPT HIS SON OUT OF THE WATER
AND WE NEED TO PUT SIGNS ALL OVER OUR BEACHES
BEWARE ONE CAN DROWN IN THE SEA
MORE TOURISTS DROWN IN THE SEA YEARLY THAN ALLIGATORS HAVE DROWN LIKKLE BOYS AT DISNEY
BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP
LikeLike
@ de pedantic Dribbler
The signage was inadequate.
LikeLike
BUT YET NO ALLIGATOR HAS DROWNED ANYONE IN 45 YEARS PREVIOUS TO THIS
WAS THE SIGNAGE INADEQUATE TOO AT THE ZOO WHEN THE LIKKLE BOY WENT TO SEE THE GORILLA?
CAN YOU STOP LIKKLE DISOBEDIENT BOYS FROM ACTING AS LIKKLE BOYS
CAN YOU STOP THE STUPID PARENTS OF LIKKLE BOYS FROM DISOBEYING A SIMPLE SIGN SUCH AS NO SWIMMING!
HOW DO WE KNOW IF THERE WAS MORE SIGNAGE THAT THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN A DIFFERENT RESULT
WOULD THE CHILD BE LESS DEAD
LikeLike
@Hants, yah really think so!!! Well I do agree with you.
But your school mate ( a few years removed??) has spoken. You really expect me to continue to disagree wid a Kolig boy who got he name up pon one of your scholar boards there in de hall.
The doc says “WOULD THE CHILD BE LESS DEAD” and more poignantly ” HAVE SAID WHAT I HAD TO SAY AND I DONT GIVE A RATS RECTUM WHAT ANY ONE ELSE SAYS”
De man right yah know. This child is dead and nothing can change that. He is dead today because smart people like your doctor friend are arrogant in their ways and don’t give a rats rectum what others say.
And your boy is so bold with his pronouncements of death. He is a doctor after-all and when he makes a mistake he don’t have to give a rat’s rectum either because he can BURY his mistakes.
It is semantics to distinguish between ‘No Swimming’ and ‘No Wading’ he says. And contends that beaches on the Caribbean Sea are comparable to man-made lagoons and lakes in Florida. So he asserts that drowning deaths here are directly comparable to gator deaths there.
He is much too scholarly for me, as usual. I am struggling to keep up with his torrid leaps of logic.
So I gine call it a night and let de doc parade.
LikeLike
reThis child is dead today because smart people like your doctor friend are arrogant in their ways and don’t give a rats rectum what others say.
this is clearly false and a big nonsequitur
the child is not dead because I am arrogant
he is dead because his father is stupid! He let his son wade in a pond where there were clear signs that SAID NOSWIMMING. Children usually cant swim but experience the water by wading prior to swimming
THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU ARE SAYING AND STOP EMITTING SHIT FROM YOUR VERY SHALLOW BRAIN
I WOULD NOT HAVE LET MY SON CLOSE TO THAT WATER BECAUSE I WOULD HAVE THOUGHT THAT THE SO CALLED “POOR SIGNAGE” SPOKE OF SOMETHING SINISTER. I WOULD HAVE HEEDED WHAT LITTLE WARNING WAS GIVEN
RE and when he makes a mistake he don’t have to give a rat’s rectum either because he can BURY his mistakes.
WHAT DOES THIS NONSEQUITUR HAV TO DO WITH THE ISSUE?
FOR THE LAST 20 YEARS I HAVE BEEN TEACHING NOT PRACTICING MEDICINE………….I CERTAINLY HAVE NOT BEEN BURYING MISTAKES
IT SOUNDS CUTE DOESNT IT………….BUT IS IRRELEVANT AND THE RANT OF A MORON WITH A SPECIAL CASE OF HIRSPRUNGS DISEASE WHO HAS TO REGURGITATE hIS SHIT ORALLY
IT IS INDEED semantics to distinguish between ‘No Swimming’ and ‘No Wading’ BECAUSE THE WADING NON SWIMMING LIKKLE BOY IS NOW DEAD.
AS HILARY WOULD SAY ” WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES IT MAKE” THE BOY DEAD ah lie?
at No stage did I compare beaches on the Caribbean Sea with man-made lagoons and lakes in Florida except to note that IT IS DEFINITELY A TRUTH THAT drowning deaths here are directly comparable to gator deaths there BECAUSE THE VICTIMS ALL DIE.
RE He is much too scholarly for me WE ALL KNOW THIS TO BE TRUE. OF THAT THERE IDS NO DOUBT
rE as usual. I am struggling to keep up with his torrid leaps of logic.WE ALL KNOW THIS TO BE TRUE
So I gine call it a night and let de doc parade. JUST GO AND VOMIT YA PIECE OF INTELLECTUAL SCUM
LikeLike
You are so easy to goad.
For a brother with so much education your English comprehension is rather poor though. You jump from: “This child is dead today because smart people like your doctor friend are arrogant in their ways and don’t give a rats rectum what others say.” to ……”this is clearly false and a big nonsequitur […] the child is not dead because I am arrogant”.
Your 3rd standard English teacher would have looked askance at her star boy for writing that. The child’s death is due to ‘arrogant’ people LIKE you. Not BECAUSE of you. But that is simple comprehension though. So let’s move on.
Your comparative reference to Caribbean beaches and Florida resorts was clear. Again, third standard English comprehension. On our beaches folks come specifically to swim and surf etc. They would absolutely not allow a toddler to be unattended at the waters edge even on the calmest day.
At Florida resorts the calm, tranquil man-made lagoons with artificial beaches that beckon ‘loudly’ No Swimming ALSO just as ‘loudly’ invite to relax and enjoy the waters edge if there is only a ‘No Swimming’ sign..
And I am glad that you stopped burying your mistakes…of course that old ‘joke’ sounds cute. That’s why it has been so long repeated. LOLL
An average person believes NO SWIMMING means ..well..do not propel yourself through that body of water. Average people understand NO SWIMMING signs. Those average people do NOT plan that “Children usually cant swim but experience the water by wading prior to swimming”. EH!
Wading inches deep, in a ‘No SWIMMING’ zone is not the precursor to anything. It is wading…walking in or through water.
So when arrogant people like you (note the comparative again, ok, not YOU) refuse to account for average folks and determine that ‘BEWARE ALLIGATOR’ should be clearly understood by ‘No Swimming’ then bad things happen.
LikeLike
Chuckle……..A 50th anniversary essay……and we here talking about alligators and signage in Orlando….now if Graeme Hall swamp had in dem dere critters ah cud unstan.
PuDRYR…..ah see yuh din like muh responses…..mussee to lowbrow fuh yuh.
LikeLike
@Vincent, so let’s frame this clearly. The Florida corporate and government agencies have the same corrupt governance practices as those in Barbados.
There are four 50 year anniversary essays writ large in US history and a multiple of that writ in English history so in every apparently non-connected event in your neck of the woods or in US there is much to be learned re Barbados for those who have eyes to see.
So its never about the alligator and the boy directly. Never. There is the law, the corporate handling of the matter, the government oversight or lack thereof etc.
Transpose those with specifics on this Maloney brouhaha, for example, and the irrelevance quickly becomes relevant.
Incidentally a remark was made to draw a comparison to the tragic death of the MP Jo Cox to local Bdos events. One would never perceive that could have any relevance to Barbados but a connection was being tweaked.
How does that balance with your 50th anniversary sensibilities!!!!
LikeLike
de pedantic Dribbler June 17, 2016 at 5:36 AM #
Ok….no problem once the relevance is shown.
I am presently in MP Jo’s neck of the woods watching the story unfold with regular updates on the BBC……the only comparison to Bim that can be made is the political crassness this morning,after having ceased all EU mouthings overnight lo and behold we hear that she was about to attend a Remain Rally and that the killer was overheard muttering Britain First….other than that how can you draw relevance to Bim?
LikeLike
I didn’t personally draw any such reference @ Vincent. I simply noted that a reference was being tweaked out.
It was facetious. The blogger was ‘playing’ really. But in this day and age, playing can be a very relative term.
But back to Ms Cox. I don’t see how the killer’s action helps the ‘exit’ discourse in the least so clearly he had to be a demented fool who had some personal animosity or infatuation with the representative.
But I am not really tuned in to Brexit yet. Will get more acquainted next week as the vote nears. Should be fun for Brits, whether up or down.
LikeLike
@ Vincent Haynes
Huh?
Sorry my apologies, I honestly didn’t see it and not I am not one of the arrogant, I jes can’t see too good.
@ The Alligator and Silverback discourses
What I going say is this.
I watched my children like a hawk. You ever try to catch a toddler who has just learnt to balance?
I swear that they are faster than Bolt, seriously when they tek off dem leaves you in the dust!!
I watch children BECAUSE THEY ARE CHILDREN AND ADULTS, TRUE ADULTS, WATCH CHILDREN cause they can’t watch themselves
You at the beach with me, if I am not in the water your donkey is not even going be in the surf.
The first time I ever encountered a poisonous snake I was in *** and I going tell you while I had only seen them on Hollywood before that, I was looking for those things ALL THE TIME.
I am sorry but I must say that these are Ingrunt irresponsible parents who mindful that you have to be vigilant with a child ewould, in a cuntry where alligators and snakes end up in your house, be sooooo stupid as to let their child wade, teeter or whatever verb you want to use, near alligator water.
Since it is Murica, I would check to see what, if any insurance those “parents” have on that child, I am only saying……
LikeLike
de pedantic Dribbler June 17, 2016 at 6:14 AM #
Yes,the Brexiters are a bit like our local ones who see no purpose in the unity of Caricom.
They are many differently wired individuals in this world,whose conduct leaves us baffled and one has to wonder who is realy on the path to enlightenment?
LikeLike
pieceuhderockyeahrightPiece June 17, 2016 at 6:37 AM #
Apology accepted in the spirit given.
Was not aware that we had a signage problem with alligators at Graeme Hall swamp…..some agitation required.
LikeLike
@Pieces, oh goodness. Yah being as harsh as the good doctor. Oh lawd.
Whatever insurance they got I can tell yah it ain’t going to be enough for the initial counselling bills for that sister who watched her brother get dragged away by an alligator and definitely not for the life-time counselling for the parents who fought an alligator for their child.
Walking along a lagoon off Hialeah or further up just north of that big sign advertising the ‘Pink Pussycat’ I would completely agree with you on negligent parents getting their child killed.
But at a luxury resort on a man-made beach inviting and advertising the pleasure, rest and relaxation awaiting FAMILIES?? Wheel that buggy around and come again, surely.
Do you remember (you traveled often enough as a young man I imagine) the days when Florida STOPPED using special license plates for rental cars because so many tourists were being targeted apparently based on that variable specifically?
That sir is the opposite effect of when the LACK of signage is good and more importantly saved lives.
The lack of signage at Disney’s resort is an example where signage was badly omitted and more important led to a death.
Reasonable people can debate why other reasonable people do things the way they do.
LikeLike
I too watched my child like a hawk. Some, including his father, said I was overprotective. I am acutely aware of most dangers. But on more than one occasion I had “an unguarded moment” you could call it. I reached for a shoe off a store shelf letting my son’s hand go for a split second and he was gone. I found him after about fifteen minutes in a corner of the store playing. Several people whom I asked if they had seen him were too busy to help. But when I found him and gave him a lash he wouldn’t forget for his disobedience they were quick to point the “CHILD ABUSE” finger. I didn’t give “a rat’s rectum” and told them so. Told them if anyone came anywhere near me I’d kick their “rectums” too. The other occasion before that it was the same. Quick to judge are you Bajans. Just be happy you were SO SMART and SO VIGILANT” and SO FOCUSSED that nothing happened to you. But really, you were just lucky.
Well Well,
My son needed one of the leashes you spoke of but it seemed too much like dog business to me. I decided I would NEVER visit any country until he was old enough not to need one.
My son would not have been far from my side at Disney because I’m sure that pedophiles must hang out there. But I would NEVER have expected alligators to be roaming at Disney. So, though I wouldn’t knowingly have let him wade in the water I could not say that he wouldn’t have ended up as alligator supper.
Bottom line = they do not warn you because not many people would visit. I sure will not be.
PS.
The reason why this post has gone this way is because of Jeff’s last column on the gorilla and the boy. And this one which referred to it. Nothing hijacked.
LikeLike
http://www.toronto.ca/health/swimsafe/beaches_about.htm
LikeLike
Donna…I had a scare with my then 2 year old daughter at Miami International one thanks giving day, 23 years ago, there were easily over 1 million people roaming around…I was holding her hand and my then 12 year old son was holding her other hand, I was distracted and felt a tug, but instead of letting go I turned my head to ask my son what was was up and instead of my son it was this blonde woman tugging my daughter out of my hand….my son had wandered off.
Well I would not repeat what I said to that beast, but suffice it to say, buying a leash was definitely in order, just imagine what would have happened had I let go my daughter’s hand without looking, that beast could have boarded a plane to any part of Europe with my daughter….never to be seen again.
Shortly after that, a freak had kidnapped a little girl Paulie Klass from her bedroom and it did not end well…..my daughter is now a grown woman and not the worse for wear after being leashed. I told my daughter-in-law to leash one of my grandsons….some children attract these beasts…there is always a market out there….a leash can save your child’s life. Or ya can take your chances.
LikeLike
http://ow.ly/Nn77301nJOW
Too late, too late.
LikeLike
Now we get the signage about the alligators and hear about the SNAKES…in the same water at Disney..lol
Lawsuit, lawsuit.
LikeLike