The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – “The Gorilla and the Boy”

e_hutchinson_gorilla_cincinnati_blackThere is a joke that made the rounds sometime ago about this fellow who woke up one morning and discovered that a gorilla was on his roof. It is arguably in sufficiently good taste to bear repetition even in a Sunday family newspaper such as this.

So the fellow looks up the yellow pages and, sure enough, there’s an ad for “Gorilla Removers”. He calls the number, and the gorilla remover says, “I will be there in 30 minutes. The gorilla remover arrives and gets out of his van. He’s got with him a ladder, a baseball bat, a shotgun and a huge, ferocious looking dog of uncertain progeny.

“What are you going to do?” the homeowner asks.

“I’m going to put up this ladder against the roof, then I’m going to go up there and knock the gorilla off the roof with the bat. When the gorilla falls off, the dog is trained to grab the gorilla’s testicles and bite them. The gorilla will then be subdued enough for me to lock him in the cage in the back of the van”, says the gorilla remover, and hands the fellow the shotgun.

“What do I need the shotgun for?” asks the homeowner.

The gorilla remover replies, “If the gorilla should knock ME off the roof, you must immediately shoot the dog.”

There was no need for a gorilla remover on May 29 this year at the Cincinnati Zoo when a three-year-old child fell into the enclosure housing Harambe, an imposing 17-year-old silverback gorilla. Rather, the call would have been for a child remover. In these days of the new journalism, where every incident becomes immediate fair game for social media communication, a video of the event went viral.

The outcome was the shooting of the gorilla by the zoo authorities in order to protect the boy from possibly being mauled to death by the gorilla who, it was claimed, could crush a coconut with his bare hands.

One aftermath of this outcome is that this ostensibly sensible decision proved not to be the popular one, as some of those who had no problem with this majestic animal being held in captivity for populist entertainment, nevertheless wondered about the lack of value placed upon its life in the incident.

Some argued that the child was in no clear and imminent danger, given similar previous incidents between gorillas and small children and the almost maternal treatment ostensibly displayed by Harambe towards the child here on some occasions during the episode.

This, alas, is a non-starter. The gorilla is classified in law as an animal “ferae naturae” (wild by nature), a categorization that makes the owner strictly liable for any harm that it causes, whether the animal has previously exhibited such a propensity or not. I am not aware that the law in Cincinnati differs from this. Thus, circuses and zoos are liable if one of their wild animals should be the cause of injury to an individual. We may surmise therefore that the zoo authorities may have acted out of a sense of avoiding possible liability to the parents of the child and the consequential negative reputational damage to the establishment as much as out of a desire to avoid the nightmare scenario of such a frightfully strong animal rending an infant from limb to limb in full view of horrified onlookers.

Indeed, those moments when the animal suddenly dragged the child through the water by his feet were far from tender and drew an audible collective gasp from the spectators. This merely served to demonstrate further the unpredictability of an animal of this classification and, hence, that too of a probable happy outcome to the entire affair.

Confronted with the argument that it was a straight contest for the primacy of a life between that of a human and that of a magnificent specimen from an allegedly endangered species, those against the destruction of the gorilla naturally turned their attention to the mother and her “negligent” supervision of the child. Last Friday morning, I watched an intriguing discussion on CNN between two female lawyers who held contrasting points of view on this matter.

Over the years, I have had consciously to warn first-year students of the law of negligence that liability for harm should not be presumed as established simply because there is the existence of harm to an individual. The victim must still establish that the elements of the tort are severally satisfied in order for there to be liability. One of the discussants appeared to have committed this elementary error, being prepared to attribute culpability to the mother simply because the child fell into the enclosure. She would not be swayed from this view by the fact that the mother was also simultaneously attending to her other children and sought to confirm her assertion by relating the fact that such an incident had not occurred in 38 years, assumedly the period for which the zoo had been in existence.

It is clear that if the mother is to be held civilly liable at all for anything. It would have to be to the zoo for causing the death of its gorilla through a failure properly to control the wanderings of her son. This determination is likely to involve complex issues such as whether the “chain of causation” between the mother’s negligence of not keeping a proper lookout and the death of Harambe remained unbroken despite the zoo’s meditated decision to shoot the gorilla, or whether this action on the zoo’s part was constrained by the consequence of the mother’s inadvertence in the first place, leaving the zoo without a free choice in the matter.

Criminal liability of the mother, on the other hand, would be based on some statutory provision to that effect, but this should also require that the mother acted without due care and attention for the safety of the child. I have not discovered such legislation in Cincinnati, but that in Tasmania is apposite. The Children, Young Persons and their Families Act 1997, provides, by section 91:-

(1) A person who has a duty of care in respect of a child must not intentionally take, or fail to take, action that could reasonably be expected to result in –

(a) the child suffering significant harm as a result of physical injury or sexual abuse; or

(b) the child suffering emotional or psychological harm of such a kind that the child’s emotional or intellectual development is, or is likely to be, significantly damaged; or

(c) the child’s physical development or health being significantly harmed.

Penalty:

Fine not exceeding 50 penalty units or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 2 years, or both.

(2) Proceedings for an offence under subsection (1) may only be brought after consultation with the Secretary.

(3) A person may be guilty of an offence under subsection (1) even though the child was protected from harm by the action of another person.

205 thoughts on “The Jefferson Cumberbatch Column – “The Gorilla and the Boy”

1. @Gazer, that too is a very valid point.

To build up the vast pleasure industry in those areas of Florida means that the natural gator habitats are being affected and encroached upon. Thus you have the ‘wondrous’ Fish and Wildlife peoples doing their thing to ensure the alligators are supposedly protected even as they are displaced.

As long as millions of tourists can come an enjoy themselves in the ‘Sunshine State’ and spend those billions of $$ all is good.

So right now the noise about the killing of several gators to determine which one did the deed (as if they can determine that – as the child’s body was intact they say – or that it makes a difference) is their way of barn door closing.

The fact that the child is dead because of negligence by these same business and conservation executives must be absolved by this frenzy of useless killing of the gators.

Absolutely no different to the same comparative behaviour seen in BIM daily.

2. David, thankfully he was not. Yet tragically he was still the MaC snack of the day…no bites of flesh taken but surely some deep teeth marks I suspect.

I absolutely would have a Sig-Sauer moment if this had happened to my kith and kin.

Falling into a gorilla enclosure is one thing but an alligator plucking my son from the shallow water on the shore of a lagoon at an entertainment park!!!

From the legal perspective it would be amazing to talk of damages or negligence in a case like this and compare to the awards in cases where a person places a hot coffee cup in their own lap.

First of all, is there civil negligence and if yes what will damages do…well actually they would pay for the years of psychiatric counseling.

Alas.

3. I AM NOT TOO BRIGHT BUT EVEN I KNOW THAT ALLIGATORS MIGHT BE EXPECTED TO EMERGE FROM ANY BODY OF WATER IN FLORIDA………INCLUDING RETENTION PONDS

I AM NOT VERY BRIGHT BUT EVEN I KNOW THAT A SIGN THAT SAYS “NO SWIMMING” ALSO MEANS NO WADING IN THE WATER ALSO

ALLIGATORS MAY BE FOUND IN BACKYARD SWIMMING POOLS AND THEY CAN APPEAR FROM HIDING ALMOST ANYWHERE IN FLORIDA

I WOULD THINK THAT IN MY DEEP IGNORANCE THAT I WOULD KEEP MY LIKKLE BOY OUT OF ANY AND ALL LAGOONS IN FLORIDA………BUT WHAT DO I KNOW?

MY ATTEMPTS TO KEEP MY BOYS OUT OF HARMS WAY PROBABLY EXPLAINS WHY THEY HAVE LIVED SO LONG

ITS BEST FOR ME TO READ THE BULLSHIT I SEE ON BU WHERE MORONS TRY TO SOUND INTELLIGENT
    IT IS CLEAR THAT THE IDIOT WHO IS HERE BULLSHITTING HAS NEVER BEEN TO THE DISNEY RESORTS AND DEFINITELY KNOWS NAUGHT ABOUT WHAT HE SPEAKS

WHY HA THIS NOT HAPPENED BEFORE AT THIS SITE? BECAUSE THE GUESTS HAVE BEEN CAREFUL TO EXHIBIT THE NECESSARY COMMON SENSE TO OBEY SIGNS AND ORDERS THAT ARE CLEARLY DISPLAYED ALL AROUND

IT SEEMS THAT AMUSEMENT PARKS HAVE TO DO MORE TO PROTECT THEMSELVES FROM STUPID PATRONS

WATCH THE BOVINE EXCREMENT FLOW NOW

4. BIRD BRAIN

TELL US WHY WAS THE FOOLISH MAN WADING WITH HIS SON IN the shallow water on the shore of a lagoon at an entertainment park IN FLORIDA WHERE THERE ARE SIGNS AGAINST SWIMMING!!!

WHO DOES THAT? EXCEPT A TOTAL JACK ASS?
    WATCH THE BOVINE EXCREMENT FLOW NOW

HOW DO YOU DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE.

I DONT SEE BOYS IN FLORIDA PLAYING IN RETENTION PONDS (LAGOONS)

5. @DPD
    I was deliberately dispassionate in the short submission as this would be very difficult for any parent, now social media has chimed in and blame is being doled out to both the Resort and the parents.

Alligators are all over Florida, recently I read that there are even Nile Crocs there, notwithstanding the warning about “No swimming”, I don’t think Disney wants the adverse publicity of a law suit.

6. GP, I really do try to avoid responding to you because your demeanor is often one of arrogance that dismisses any ideas other than your own. But what the hell….

It is known that Florida is gator country. Pellucid. And yes no one was so killed in many years. Is that a valid reason not to have precautions as time progresses. Things change.

It is noted that the park had various types of precautions like persons tasked to check for gators and so on…yet one got where none apparently had gone before. There was a gator killing.

Your superior logic suggests that the parents were solely expected to appreciate this but the operators who were there daily for years did not have one water sensor or other technical solution to protect their guests in this gatoor-fested place…other of course that the awesome No SWIMMING sign.

A kid got under an enclosure where none had gone before and fell into a Gorrilla enclosure. The Zoo should not have been tamper-children-proof is your comparative position!

You are being your arrogant asinine self to opine that a NO SWIMMING sign is any type of warning about alligator danger.

As a doctor who evolved through a drug industry that had to child-proof their containers it is highly amusing to read your comments in this scenario. It clearly indicates that you dismiss logic to suit your likes and dislikes rather than the basic facts.

I am not here to match wits with you surely.

I have no problems with your opinions, brother. But don’t expect me to acquiesce to you because you are older, got a bunch more degrees or is a doctor though.

So if that NO SWIMMING sign suggests to you that a two year old wading a few feet on the lagoon shore of a man-made park and being snatched by a gator is acceptable then clearly once again your superior scholarship wins the day.

Bye, bye!

7. @Sargeant, I have avoided reading the brickbats to the parents as the details as I read them did not cast the blame there. I was critical of the parent in the Harambee incident as I thought she planned poorly for her zoo trip resulting in the near-death of her son. This does not appear to be in any way related to parental neglect or being careless per se.

Those parents could not for one moment ever contemplate such an occurrence; particularly when apparently NO ONE at Disney did!!!

I have never been to this amusement park but I have been to others and traveled to Florida and around the country and world often with my family. Signage and warnings are important.

I would completely agree with you that Disney does not want the publicity.

8. @Sargeant June 15, 2016 at 9:50 PM “I don’t think Disney wants the adverse publicity of a law suit.”

Whether Disney likes it or not there will be a law suit. Social media is already full of pictures of an adjacent hotel which has signs posted saying “NO SWIMMING. BEWARE OF CROCODILES.”

Ask yourself why Disney did not have such signs.

9. @Georgie Porgie June 15, 2016 at 8:00 PM Cuhdear Dr. GP. Not all of us are Barbados scholars like you. Some of us are genuinely simple, and we do require more care, more hand holding. I’ve been to Disney and I am not at all sure that I was alligator aware while there. I was only there for 5 days, not the 20 years you have spent in Florida getting to know the place.

And “No swimming” can’t necessarily be interpreted to mean no wading. There are places where I have waded, but would not swim, since the feet are tougher than privates. i have put my tough feet in water, that I would not dream of putting my privates in.

That may not make sense to a doctor, but it is common practice among us lay people.

That is why we are not doctors.

10. THE NO SWIMMING SIGNS WORKED FOR MANY YEARS…BUT
    COMMON SENSE IS APPARENTLY NOT COMMON ANY MORE FOR SOME

YOU COME TO FL AND YOU DONT KNOW THAT GATORS ARE ALL ABOUT IN EVERY POND? ..THEN YOU ARE A DUMMY….YOU ARE A FOOLISH TWIT

THE CHILDREN OF OUR FRIENDS WHO HAVE FREQUENTED THE SAME RESORT ARE ALIVE

THE CHILDREN OF ALL THE FOLK WHO HAVE BEEN ON THAT BEACH BUT DID NOT SPLASH IN THE WATER ARE STILL ALIVE

THEY DID NOT ENTER OR SPLASH IN THE WATER AT DUSK

THE CHILD OF THE DUMMY WHO DIDNT NOT UNDERSTAND NO SWIMMING MEANS DONT GO IN THE WATER IS DEAD

I AM WRONG AND ILLOGICAL BUT THE DUMMY’S CHILD IS DEAD! DEAD! DEAD! THE CHILD IS VERY VERY DEAD.

DISNEY CAN CARRY UP THE ANNUAL FEE BY 5-10$ PER PERSON NEXT YEAR AND RAISE ANY MONEY THE COURTS AWARDS………….BUT THE DUMMY’S CHILD IS DEAD AS A DOOR NAIL.OK? DESPITE ALL THE LOGIC BY THE PEDANTIC MORON——THE PICKNEY DEAD!

THE PEDANTIC DUMMY ADMITS I have never been to this amusement park BUT HE HAS ALL THE ANSWERS. I HAVE BEEN OK. GOING TO THE PARKS IS THE FAMILY’S CHIEF PASSTIME

HEAR THE PEDANTIC JACK ASS AGAIN Those parents could not for one moment ever contemplate such an occurrence; particularly when apparently NO ONE at Disney did!!!
    BECAUSE IT HAS NOT HAPPEN ONCE THERE IN 45 YEARS EVEN THOUGH IT HAPPENS ELSEWHERE IN FL. SIMPLY BECAUSE VISITORS DO AS THEY ARE TOLD BESIDES THE SIGNS

ONLY A JACKASS LETS HIS SON WADE AND SPLASH IN A POND IN FLORIDA………SIGNS OR NO SIGNS ah lie?

we have had a bad week in FL THIS WEEK
    1 THE BULLERS AND WICKERS GET SHOOT UP ON SUNDAY
    2 THE BOY GOT DROWNED BY THE GATOR YESTERDAY ….AND
    3 CHIEF SITTING BULLA COMING TO TOWN ON THURSDAY

I GLAD WE MOVED OUT OF ORLANDO 14 YEARS AGO.

11. When the travel agents are selling Florida holidays they NEVER mention that there are millions of wild alligators in Florida. They NEVER mention that there is one alligators for every 15 people. They NEVER mention that there are alligators inside the artificial Disney parks.

if they did would anybody book a Florida holiday?

12. Even disney would have to admit that their security was slacked especially for an organisation that aims at attracting diversity to a world wide audience one would have thought that there warning signs would be reflective of diverse languages another mistake which if not corrected could at some time drag Disney under a nightmare of further litigation in the event a similar incidence occur

13. All the warning signs suggest that Disney is now drowning in litigation borne out of incompetency who would have thought that an organisation this is flooded with the best brains could be so easily tilted by the dragging of an alligator bite sounds like some horror out of a Disney Halloween movie

14. The thing is “best brains” are accustomed to believing that child raising is real, real easy.

Because if you are a “best bran” you rarely have to do your child raising.

You can always subcontract it to a spouse of “lesser brains” or to a nanny etc.

But in reality child raising, especially the daily looking after of toddlers and teens is the hardest job in the world.

It demands that the “lesser brains” who do child raising be “on duty” at all times, as lapses can be deadly.

15. NEXT THEY HAVE TO PUT UP SIGNS SAYING BE WARNED MOSQUITOES CAUSE ZIKA

PREGNANT ZIKA FEMALES MAY BEAR MICROCEPHALIC CHILDREN

SINCE ZIKA CAN BE SPREAD BY MOSQUITOES THERE SHOULD BE NO FOOPING WHILE YOU ARE IN RESIDENCE AT THIS HOTEL

16. All the warning signs suggest that Disney is now drowning in litigation borne out of incompetency who would have thought that an organisation this is flooded with the best brains could be so easily tilted by the dragging of an alligator bite sounds like some horror out of a Disney Halloween movie

AS I HAVE SAID ELSEWHERE
    1 DISNEY WILL RAISE TICKETS 10-15 -20s
    2 THEY WILL PUT UP SIGNS ALLOVER
    3 FOLK WILL CONTINUE TO THRONG THE PARKS
    4 DISNEY WILL WRITE OFF ANY MONEY THEY PAY OUT AGAINST TAX MOST LIKELY
    5 THEY WILL PROBABLY END UP NOT LOSING A THING ON THIS INCIDENT
    IN THE INTERIM MORONS ON BU WILL GET HEART ATTACKS AND BLOW A GASKET ABOUT THIS ISSUE ah lie?

17. This is a public relation disaster for Disney no doubt about it and even if there are laws which give them the benefit of doubt there is no way that Disney can come out unscathed by remaining silent as if by turning a deaf ear to public opinion and not see a significant drop in visitors sales

18. GP the only person that seems to on the verge of having a heart attack is You You are shouting ! screaming And hollering uncontrollably seems like you have some kind of vested interest in Disney
    Disney is a known as a worldwide conglomerate who invites people all over the world to visit its theme parks One would except that Disney would have covered all their security bases especially knowing that there was danger lurking in and around its parks and playgrounds where children can access or be in easy reach
    You seem to be oblivious of that fact in the same way Disney was ,

19. David, your post re the erecting of signs is sad and the worst type of admission on an error after the fact. There is no way that this resort will be shuttered because of the poor decision making by its bosses because then we would be penalizing an entire community and the lives of thousands of people because of the avarice and ‘negligence’ of a few.

This plays directly to a discussion I had with @Pieces re bad decisions made by local bosses and the expectations of the average worker and too the reaction of the community.

The post of the legal analysis was excellent. But one thing the lawyer touched on but did not dive into was what Disney knew in the context of other signage at other properties or around the state at other lagoons.

From all the evidence presented thus far it seems clear that Disney deliberately did not post signs previously re ‘Beware Alligators’ because they did not want to create any sense of fear to affect the supreme sense of family rest and relaxation at their resorts.

In the piece above an expert said that Disney probably never expected an alligator to attack someone and remarked “I think this was more a failure of imagination than anything else.” Yet, it was also reported that “… numerous tourists have come forward sharing stories of alligator sightings at the resort and questioning why Disney didn’t do more to inform tourists about the gators. One employee said he had told management at the Grand Floridian the area should be fenced off.”

There was no lack of imagination. There was simply lack of a proper duty of care.

Now, we will have signs. When a comprehensive review from the Florida Fish and Wildlife authorities and Disney to install ‘nature friendly’ steel grating to shutter underwater the mouth of the lagoon intake waterway and suitable above water barriers or sensors to assure the absence of gators in that particular children-friendly lagoon area was the thing to do. As that employee and others long suggested, I am sure.

That could have saved a life…but here comes all this effort after the fact. Sad and ridiculous.

But no one would dream to shut down this theme park because of ‘callous’ oversight. Would we shut down Maloney due to his callous oversight. No and No, of course.

Nor does anyone improve their governance practices, so we will have more Maloney type bad behaviour and many more government facilitated Disney type corporate deaths…and life goes on.

Just raise the fees or pad the contracts more to pay the damages and fines and let’s get back to normal…

20. @David, as I wrote about what Disney knew and when, in response to your post I was thinking of the FBI and 9/11 and how it was thought initially that it was a lack of imagination that planes could be used as ‘weapons of terror’ until it was revealed that agents had in fact warned of such a possibility.

So this story JUMPED out at me: “Florida gun owner says he warned FBI about Omar Mateen after he tried buying body armor and ammo weeks before Orlando massacre”.

When the reports first circulated about the attempted armour purchase I was absolutely confused why there was no ‘alert’.

I could not fathom how an Arab looking man in a US store asking about body armour would not send an IMMEDIATE profiling alarm to the head of any of the red-bloodied White males who normally run those business.

So now I know my faith in people (like me who consciously and sub-consciously profile) is solid and not misplaced. I was getting concerned about my common-sense radar. LOLL.

Why he was not stopped, therefore, is a totally other story for another time.

That too an interesting perspective of gun-store owners which the same common-sense radar tells me that something is amiss.

• @Dee Word

Then it is fair t say a class action suit maybe in the offing. We often criticize the developed world for being too litigious but there is something to be said for ordinary citizens exercising rights vested in to them in the las of the land. How else can you hold the system accountable with a view of making it better?

21. David, I am no lawyer but that would be a difficult ‘class’ to certify I would suggest.

Folks were not robbed of their pleasure because of alligator sightings per se and of course the death of this child is not related to a class.

But I get your point. Disney has been selling a somewhat tainted product all these years. On that I would completely agree.

Please tell your esteemed doctor friend to ease up…oh lawd. LOLL.

22. Every Floridian knows about Alligators and their ubiquitous presence in and around water, however that knowledge is not necessarily shared with visitors who arrive from cornfield Nebraska seeking a sunny vacation at a family resort.

Does Disney require its guests to sign a waiver absolving it of any liability if any of them gets attacked by an Alligator on its property? If no why should a father expect that his child would be seen as a potential meal if he was wading in a man- made Lake “no swimming” signs or not? This incident happened in the evening and the Alligator could easily have leaped out of the water and grabbed the child if he was meandering at the water’s edge. It has been reported that Disney removes Alligators from the “lake” when they reach a certain size so they know that there is the potential for larger animals to be there and the fact that Disney is now posting Alligator warning signs is a sign of some liability even if nothing has happened for 50 years.

I say Disney will settle.

23. sing sing sing
    signage or no signage

THE STUPID MAN LOST HIS SON FOR LETTING HIM WADE IN THE WATER
    THE BOY IS DEAD
    STUPIDITY HAS A HIGH PRICE

RE Disney has been selling a somewhat tainted product all these years

GUESS WHAT THERE ARE THRONGS THERE TODAY ALREADY

SIGNS OR NO SIGNS

STUPID PARENTS WILL BE MORE CAREFUL FROM NOW

RE Just raise the fees or pad the contracts more to pay the damages and fines and let’s get back to normal…
    AND YOU CANT DO A THING ABOUT IT EXCEPT BRAY AND TRY TO SOUND INTELLIGENT

I GOING DOWN HERE TO DISNEY

AND TO CHECK OUT THE SITE OF THE BULLETS AND THE BULLERS

24. I say Disney will settle.
    THEY PROBABLY WILL
    THEN THEY WILL RAISE THEIR FEES
    THEY WILL MOST LIKELY HAVE A NET GAIN

25. Out of court settlement would suffice the parties. Disney would not want any further damage done to its “World” coming out of a long drawn out court proceedings. The parents have the upper hand in the negotiations

26. BREAKING NEWS

DISNEY IS SETTLING
    BOY ARISES FROM THE DEAD
    ALL ALLIGATORS IN THE STATE CONDEMNED TO DEATH

27. LOL
    YOU DONT LIKE THE FACT THAT DISNEY IS SETTLING? AND THAT ALL ALLIGATORS IN THE STATE CONDEMNED TO DEATH ? MURDAH

THE LIKKLE BOY ONLY WADED HE DIDNT BREAK THE NON SWIMMING RULE……….BUT YET HE DEAD OH ME AM

28. It has already cost Disney plenty by the negative fall which would reflect a drop in sales by those who become skeptical out of a fear associated with the circumstances surrounding the death. even if Disney tries to recoup by higher prices there is a high a high possibilty that vistors might seek alternatives destinations for similar activities..which means that Disney would have to launch an advertisement campaign to dispel any of the negativity felt which can run them into millions of dollars before they can recoup any financial losses resulting from this incident
    Can anyone tell uf Disney stock prices dropped because of the incident

29. guess what? disney closed today and will be closed for the rest of the year while they launch an advertisement campaign to dispel any of the negativity felt which can run them into millions of dollars before they can recoup any financial losses resulting from this incident

all of their stocks fell in the water and were eaten by alligators

the rum shop too sweet though murrdah!

30. Are you a betting man GP or was that a tongue in cheek comment.
    Willing to bet that it is “business as usual,

31. @David earlier I said that I don’t think a ‘class action’ was possible and I still believe that to be the case, but based on the details now being reported and more particularly based on the abject cover-my-backside behaviour by Disney Corp with signs and fencing now after the fact I do hope that there are very, very serious repercussions for executives and the company overall.

One news reports had shocking (in my view) details such as :

========= “A year before an alligator killed a 2-year-old boy at a Disney resort in Florida, a concerned father was told by theme park officials that the gators were “harmless” following a terrifying close call with his own son.

David Hiden recalled how he saw alligator approaching as his 5-year-old son enjoyed himself in calf-deep water behind their hotel in April of last year.

“I saw something rapidly coming on like a submarine,” the San Diego resident told CBS News. “And I look and I went, ‘Oh my god. That’s an alligator.’ And it was probably about six to seven feet.”

As Hiden pulled his son out of harm’s way, he spotted another gator nearby as well.

The relieved father told resort officials what happened, and was stunned by their reaction.

“It was, ‘Those are resident pets, and we’ve known about them for years. And they’re harmless, they’re not going to attack anybody,'”====

This happened at another Disney property but the sheer indifference is mind-boggling if these various reports are all truthful.

32. YES DAVID
    HIS STUPID FATHER ALLOWED HIM TO WADE IN A DIRTY WATER LAGOON IN FL
    HE WAS DROWNED BY AN ALLIGATOR
    HIS PARENTS WILL GET LOTS OF MONEY
    BUT HE WILL REMAIN DEAD
    WILL MOST LIKELY BE BURIED

DISNEY HAVE PUT UP SIGNS
    PREPARATIONS HAVE BEEN MADE TO COLLECT THE MONEY NEEDED FOR THE PAYOUT
    LIFE GOES ON
    OH WHAT HORROR!
    NEXT

33. DAVID
    THERE ARE SOME ON BU WITH MICROCEPHALY EVEN THOUGH THEIR MOMS DIDNT HAVE ZIKA IN PREGNANCY

34. My Lord! David, don’t you know a lost cause when you see one? Bullers and toddler dead in Florida. LOL! Praise the Lord! Amen! LOL! Murdah in the rum shop, you morons! Praise the Lord! Amen! I hear waiting on the Lord with my Christ-like self! Fools! Morons! Stupid parents lost their precious toddler to an alligator. NEXT! Amen! Praise the Lord! LOL!

35. Praise the Lord! Amen! LOL!
    YES INDEED! IT IS A GOOD THING TO ALWAYS GIVE THANKS.
    NEXT! Amen! Praise the Lord! LOL!

36. WHEN I LIVED IN BLACK RIVER JAMAICA THERE WAS AN ALLIGATOR IN THE BAY THAT SWAM DOWN THE BAY EVERY EVENING TO THE BLACK RIVER HOSPITAL WHERE HE WAS FED , AND HAD BEEN FED SINCE HE WAS A YOUTH

NO ONE SWIMS OR WADES IN THAT BAY WITH ITS LOVELY TORQUOISE WATERS

BUT THERE ARE NO SIGNS UP SAYING BEWARE OF ALLIGATORS

BUT THE BLOGMASTER WOULD CALL THIS SPEWING BS

I JUST WANNA SPEW BS LIKE EVA BODY ELSE

37. lol GP you are really serious about this story maybe you should become Disney PR manager ,,Rotten oranges any one

38. lol GP you are really serious about this story maybe you should become Disney PR spokes person,,Rotten oranges any one

39. While I will accept that GP is in the moho zone regarding “a seeming apathy” and a stated “last days of the last day” therefore what is the use of it all? mindset can we stop a while and look at what he is saying?

My ass when I travelled to Murica or anyplace outside or Barbados, did not let my children out of my eyesight!!

“he or she is with their auntie or cousin” was not any excuse for me to abandon my child to pedophies and closet druggies at anytime then to say to myself “if I hadda known”

It is stupidity to leave your children unsupervised in such blatantly incompetent and hostile circumstances.

Equally so, the Amusement Park is at fault to not do everything in their power to notify ingrunt illiterate Muricans that the Alligators are not pets and thiese are not pals of Wally the Tlking Gator.

He is goading all of us, with what might seem to be insensitive per the loss of this child whose picture the Honourable Blogmaster has kindly put up,

But let me join? append? give some fuel to? GP with another picture of Abijah Holder who will not enter secondary school this coming september because of a more egregious act against a son of our soil who is no less important than this Murican Child.

Here we are canvassing with the Armour of the Blood of the lamb out front and centre castigating Georgie Porgie per his goads, and yes we were equally offended when Georgie Porgie spoke of the “bullers” being murdered this week, but, and i will put this to many of you who throw your righteous indignation at GP, where was this soldierly application for Abijah?

abijah-holder

Abijah Holder (Internet Image)

My heart weeps for the toddler but he is in Murica where the Laws of the land will give recourse to the parents BUT my heart weeps for he who once coined the name which means “My Father is Jah” more because, with all the goading and indignation, Abijah has passed violently from this island in the sun and there are few to mourn him and do vocal battle for him here in this cyberspace place of discourse is there?

40. Honourable Blogmaster.

I tried to paste Abijah’s picture but all i got was this long link.

I do not want to do a disservice to him, his memory and his family with this impersonal link

Grateful if you would assist.

My heart grieves for this son who did not have all the attention of the News like the 11 year old Luke, nor the might of a central bank director, nor the machinery of a DPP.

I wish I were a man of words or letters or of understanding.

Then Blogmaster I might understand the difference between homicide and filicide, effected by people with money and influence, and by poor menses or wumens.

Perhaps if I knew latin and could decline matricide and patricide and filicide, or was familiar with the nature of death, like a doctor in a hospital then perhaps, like GP? it could pass easily over my sensibilities.

But it does not.

Bear with the ole man Blogmaster “Bear with me. My heart is in the coffin there with Abijah,. And I must pause till it come back to me”

41. @de pedantic Dribbler June 17, 2016 at 6:05 AM “Florida gun owner says he warned FBI about Omar Mateen after he tried buying body armor and ammo weeks before Orlando massacre”. When the reports first circulated about the attempted armour purchase I was absolutely confused why there was no ‘alert’. I could not fathom how an Arab looking man in a US store asking about body armour would not send an IMMEDIATE profiling alarm to the head of any of the red-bloodied White males who normally run those business.”

Ahhh!!! Most people are lazy. Most people just want to put in minimum effort for maximum pay check and then get the hell home.

That is the reality.

42. @David
    That Disney sign is better late than never, I was wondering when snakes would make the grade as there are untold numbers of Burmese pythons in Florida, they are not native to the area but are probably the result of the exotic trade where someone wants a reptile and when they become too big or aggressive they release them into the wild. There they compete with Alligators for resources and also decimate the animals native to the area which has spurred the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission to organize an annual hunt.

Some years ago during a visit to Florida I toured part of the Everglades in an Airboat to observe the Gators, sometimes they could be a few feet away and you can’t see them but the Airboat operator would point them out, some places had permits to serve them as food (don’t know what under what conditions that you could kill them), and an acquaintance who ate the meal said it “tasted like chicken”

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/python-hunters-florida-everglades-1.3420131

43. @Pieces, all our hearts also grieve for Abijah.

But I am lost wid de comparison. And certainly lost that you are associating Dr Death with any concept of righteous indignation.

Disney in all their wisdom constructed a luxurious oasis with amenities for human pleasure and relaxation and lavishly advertised for families to come and visit yet you can so boldly say that it is stupidity to leave your children “unsupervised in such blatantly incompetent and hostile circumstances”. REALLY. A child within a parents’ view and seconds from their reach on a beach, on a peaceful night at a luxurious resort is being unsupervised. What an interesting concept.

Abijah’s death as compared to the aftermath of this US tragedy is even more damning.

Have the Barbados authorities erected signs warning of the road-hazard and erected more lights and other safety features to protect against another incident….. which should have been up in the first place??? I don’t know.

Was his parent ‘stupidly’ driving her car in such blatant and incompetently created circumstances that she placed her son’s life in danger?

Is the absence of any ‘don’t-blame-me-if-this-happens-again’ signage by the Coverly developers or TCP Dept. an indication that no one is in anyway concerned abut the legal recourse Bajans have at their disposal or future liability?

And using your esteemed doc’s ‘perfect logic’ re no deaths at the resort before; similarly there were no deaths at that road island since it was built – well as far as I know. So according to him – and you appear to agree – it was stupid parental ‘misadventure’ at the genesis of the matter….

Decent people remember Abijah and want that road matter resolved so that what caused his death is not indicted as the cause of another. Surely that can be prosecuted here extensively regardless of any incident in north america.

Just saying.

44. @ Pedantic One

My submission was really a response to 3 “subliminal blogs” that were interjected in this unfortunate death.

Mine was also intentionally to bring to the minds of posters here that the article that Jeff posted spoke to “the child’s physical development or health being significantly harmed” and more specifically “my Abijah”

I do hope that, in your statement “Was his parent ‘stupidly’ driving her car in such blatant and incompetently created circumstances that she placed her son’s life in danger?”, you sought to highlight the need for vigilance in matters of care and attention when we are driving, specifically )and caring for our young, generically) and in no way would support those who seek to lessen the seriousness of that “island in the road” and the counter defence being touted by the murderers who refuse to move the island

I guess that i am guilty of that affliction of “not being able to walk, clap, chew gum and speak at the same time,” and in such vein, was after the blogs, finally triggered by the cherubic face of the toddler shown above, and sought to show the face of “my own toddler” rather the toddler of “one of my own”

“Brutus and Caesar—what should be in that “Caesar”?
    Why should that name be sounded more than yours?
    Write them together, yours is as fair a name.
    Sound them, it doth become the mouth as well.
    Weigh them, it is as heavy. Conjure with ’em,

Lane Graves and Abijah Holder what should be in that Lane that is not in Abijah

@ Colonel Buggy

De ole man no longer drives but would be grateful to your photographic skills if, at your convenience, you could provide us with a picture of that island in the ABC highway.

It is an island which on the way to the airport, when I used to drive, I have oft been unable to make out its “point of demarcation” with the highway.

I wonder where all the other activists are on this one Pedantic?

Where is Heather Cole?

Where is my personal Favourite Mia Amor and her Covenant of Hope?

Ooops I forgot Abijah is at Coral Ridge, so all hope for him has ceased forever, so he is not among those to be counted in this Covenant and according to Pornville “we must not fustrate the small business that ensure the economic well being of Barbados”

Leave Baloney alone

45. People have not forgotten Abijah. We still comment on it. But you know that that is all most Bajans do. Any single agitator (or even a small group of agitators) in ALL circumstances in Barbados is labelled as mad. It takes a strong person to stand up and be counted alone. The person who stands has to be charismatic enough for Bajans to follow. Speaking obvious truths alone will not do it. Being obviously right alone will not do it. Most Bajans need charisma to get them off their fat behinds even for an obviously just cause.

46. GP, GP, GP

I have never found such a site.

I have marked it as a favourite IMMEDIATELY.

You made me remember my Mother on the organ, and brought tears to an ole man’s eyes

I love it, absolutely beautiful.

Bless your soul.

47. Pieceuhderockyeahright
    https://www.hymnal.net/en/hymn/h/967

We used to sing this at Ch Ch in the 60’s to Monk’s beautiful tune Beverley. As a lad I didnt know enough Bible to really understand the meanings of the lyrics especially the last verse
    Oh, the joy to see Thee reigning,
    Thee, my own beloved Lord!
    Every tongue Thy Name confessing,
    Worship, honor, glory, blessing,
    Brought to Thee with one accord;
    Thee, my Master and my Friend,
    Vindicated and enthroned,
    Unto earth’s remotest end
    Glorified, adored, and owned!

48. @Piece, I ‘does’ try real hard to match your level of discourse when I responding to — we have passed this way before recently, have we not!!!

My remarks re Abijah’s mother’s driving was exactly as you surmised. It was a direct riposte to your exact words “to highlight the need for vigilance in matters of care and attention when […] caring for our young, generically”.

I am sure that you can see the DIRECT relation between driving with care and attention and never having an accident on that piece of road-way used millions of time since that island was constructed; and the millions of guests who would have managed their children with the same care and attention without incident on that beach-lagoon.

Yet sir you ‘suggested’ the lad’s parent might be stupidly careless. I saw no evidence that was the case just as I read of no evidence that Abijah’s mum was either.

I believe we are on the same page…if we were not previously.

And to repeat no one forgets and will forget Abijah.

From what I have seen in light of the explicit law noted here by Dale and previously by FrustratedBusinessman it seems clear that the island has remained all these years either because there is no clear law for the CTPO to remove it or no definitive way to BETTER handle the egress of traffic from the Villages or maybe a bit of both.

On other matters….

I am overjoyed that you have brought out the humanity in Dr Death. All of us here mourn in some way and his type of rants do grate. So I do encourage you to continue to use that charm – some of what Donna seeks on other matters – to sooth that beast lurking in him.

Surely a man such as him can come to BU and behave like a mature adult regardless of his strong opinions!!!

49. @ Pedantic

Nuff Said.

You passed Cawmere school recently?

Dat “island/roundabout” is the cheapest roundabout in Barbados.

But Pedantic, it was done by simply the bestest engineers in the cuntry!!

Yellow Flimsy tubular? tings dat define the prescribed roundabout.

At the height where any driver, including short me crutch Lil Caesar Lashes, can see them from your car seat.

Bright conspicuous things that, whether it be day or night, catch your attention, and force you to cautiously negotiate the roundabout.

A picket fence that is cheap but which enforced caution.

You see where some people don’t understand how to do war De Pedantic?

Baloney et al., including the geriatric investors, should do this forthwith.

De same way that dem get the nigger dat is Assistant to the Financial Comptroller and de man Maloney to come out and sing praises to Baloney as being de saviour of de black man, de same way dat dem get Petter harris tuh put he news crew out there and tek a picture of all de niggers in de hot sun, to wit, you notice dat a few wumens in the group was out deah in de hot sun widout nuh hat?

Dem should say, looka, Sir Calf and Bizzy already gots a reputation dat we ent like de niggras and dat widout we, dem wud not got no shirt pun dem back.

Let us do a little bit of diplomacy and redesign the entrance and mek it a simple entrance OFF DE ROAD?

We going loss a few square footses dem but looka what gine mean, it would mean dat we is concerned Bajans too, and we ent murderers.

Looka, dem cud even get de same assistant nigga and Brathwaite and half uh de niggers tuh go up deah and work pun dat Coverley Entrance and get peter harris and Kaymar Jordan tuh send out dem crew and tek pictures wid all uh them hugging and kissing and ting, tuh show dat dem ent no racists.

But hold yah horses doah, dat is “loss uh face” to 95% of the population and Baloney and the other geriatrics ent doing dat fuh no niggers dem

50. I know what pax means but tecum is beyond me. Is that “Peace, perfect peace” which has the lovely tenor?

• From Facebook.

Amazing…..

People are rightly upset over the insensitive memes (I agree they are in bad taste) but I am one who refuse to be distracted from facts.

We continue to ignore the elephant in the room.

How about we focus on the bigger issue of inequality and double standards towards our own kind.

Hyphy Da Spider's photo.

51. Dear David,

Sometimes when I’m not here I’m on MSN articles sharing so many licks to the white racist pigs that they retreat into their stys and venture out no more. And the blacks say” Boom, right there!” I hosed down their dirty, twisted little tails on behalf of the “man ape” Serena Williams, Trayvon Martin and various other “ape-like creatures” and threw acid in their greedy little pig-like eyes with simple extracts from their history books that they cannot dispute. Why just two days ago I had cause to remind them of how dirty Europeans were and how rat infested were their cities that they lived only at the rats pleasure. I reminded them of the filth they threw out their windows in London to the streets below and how they wallowed in it like pigs until they died not knowing what killed them. So, “swinging from trees in the jungle into the water” below showed up much better when I’d finished with it.

52. RE I know what pax means but tecum is beyond me. Is that “Peace, perfect peace” which has the lovely tenor?

“Peace, perfect peace” is sung to the tune “pax tecum” which has a lovely tenor.Means peace with thee(you)

53. Boy, I am getting slow! The boy was black! That is why there was the outrage about the gorilla being killed. He was a more valuable ape than the boy was!

54. And the reason for all the fuss at Disney is because the boy drowned by the alligator was WHITE!

55. @ Honourable Blogmaster

You is a boss!!

Of all the blog items you have found the very one where I believe gives partial support to what our resident Doctor hath been saying here

You are indeed an agent provocateur.

@ Georgie Porgie

Where did you get that name and that picture from?

Jzajiadah Huskey? Indeed a strange nom be plume.

But all jests aside, there is a thing most strange that i find in many of your postings.

You will post something controversial, an item of interest, devoid of all the trappings, clinical fact.

Then, “mainstream” posters take it up and express/repeat what you are saying, have said (with no less or no more acrimony).

Now mind you. We have told you all sorts of things about your “opinion” and when others express your position, we never seem to come back and, even grudgingly, apologize to you

You are a man, who, because of your Love of GOD, I love, a man, who for your unswerving testimony and declaration of GOD, I cannot fault, albeit your interpretation and mine may differ.

But, If i may be so bold to say to, the thing is that, notwithstanding your observance of the Hippocratic Oath, you do not “take prisoners”

And I shall explain that “no prisoners” comment in the context of how you refer to the occupants of Pulse. (Note that I am skirting the words lololol)

It is men like you who would make a man question “morituri te salutant ” (we who are about to die salute you) Either combatant, in two opposed roman armies, intoning that cry would be equally loyal.

It is much like how AC, and Alvin Cummins, loyal proselytes (I said proselytes, not prostitutes) are “loyal”, even unto the death, to the Demonic Lying party.

You simply do not accept the manifestation of same sex practitioners, IN NO FORM OR FASHION.

Where People like me question the why it happened, or some scientists state definitively that “the human embryo is female for 3 months until it goes through some internal process that makes it determine its “maleness or femaleness” (AND their body MAY OR MAY NOT FOLLOW that command based on the command and sexual orientation) you simply say “a man shall not lie down with a man, or a woman with a woman”

People get caught up in how you say what you say but they are unable to see what it is that you are saying.

Then you add “quod scripsi, scripsi” and whuloss all hell does brek loose..

That is why I said “no prisoners” GP so I no longer read what you write I try to read what it is that you are saying and that takes a while, and it comes like apple vinegar, “not too tasty but good for the heart”

Sometimes the ole man wishes that I could have started out “old” in a young man’s body, with wisdom and youth concurrently and then I wake up to this world around me…

I going have to stop sharing with menses like you and Bush Tea and Miller and Due Diligence and Are We there yet, the errant Amused, David the Blogmaster, Gazer, Northern Observer and visiting Pedantic and reading Donna, and Simple, and Well Well and my dearest Suzanne.

And come here and jes quarrel with AC, Alvin, and Mia, and Pornville and Fumbles and keep mekking “stupid cartoons” and other things cause wunna does mek an old man weep looking and feeeling the hope in your words, and your passion, and your caring and mek a man feel that it is possible to change this ingrunce even though these effers outnumber all of us 1,000 to one

56. @Donna,
    Everything in the USA ends up being about race.
    One would think that children in danger should be rescued, but it seems as if the race of the child should determine the degree of effort given to the rescue. Note that only race is important; whether the child is dead or alive is immaterial.

57. @PUDRYR & SSS
    Those silly cartoons are pretty good.
    The issue I have is that when i follow the link, I end up seeing just a few. Is there a central place where a person can see all.

You can tell I am a silly man; my favorites is Jonesing in some big ugly sun glasses.

58. PIECE
    i just got this note from a student who THINKS she is an A student

She says

for many of the following questions on the assignment, I am having trouble finding information that can help me understand the concepts. One of the questions on the assignment is:

Why was the S mutans inoculated and incubated in a glucose suspension as well as a glucose + xylitol suspension?

The powerpoint does not go in-depth with an explanation as to why so I am having trouble understanding enough of the concepts to answer the questions.

I hope you can provide some guidance and help when you have time.

===========================================================

Can you tell me how to answer this moron educated in the greatest country in the world ever?

59. Gazer,

My love of children made me forget that for a moment. I’m still sorry about that little white boy though. Who knows if he might have been one of the good ones. Of course he could have turned out to be a Donald Trump but I still wouldn’t wish that on any child.

60. @ GP

You must be kind.

I do not have the benefit of the questions(s) to which she refers but i am going to take a stab at what remained with me from an episode of Time Tunnel and the madame Curie storyline.

it there is a common denominator in the question de ole man will assume that this seems to be some type of controlled experiment where one constant is exposed to multiple environments and then an observation is made as the the results thereafter.

My ingrunt self layman that I am would think that glucose and that big word would seem to produce some specific response that the first suspension, post what seems to be a single step, would not.

Please forgive me GP I am an ingrunt man, bereft of the knowledge that others have and certainly lacking in any scientific knowledge.

Can I share something with you GP?

1.A man has 5 dogs
    He then was given 4 cats

Therefore he has 9 animals in all.

If you teach that logic to any 5 year child and reinforce that “alignment” of the digits and augment the logic of each sequential line to any child until it is 9 years old, NO CHILD can leave any school anywhere in the world, a dunce, unless it is developmentally challenged.

We have lost the ability to impart logic to our children.

A child who learns what 5 is by using stones, toes, fingers and then is taught to add/subtract/multiply/divide is given a table in their mind’s eye that CANNOT be removed.

The call however is yours but sometimes while you and I are not the Saviour, do remember that he invites us to forgive 70 time 7 and more.

If you do not seek, as painful as it is, to break through her dimness, there is a slim chance, Lord forbid, that said A Student may have to conduct some sort of culture for you, or one of yours in years to come, and be seized by that paucity of understanding because you did not spend a few moments with her now.

I used to ask them to tell me what they understood.

I made them speak it or write it.

And the i spent time with them in their “idiocy” demanding them to think or at least go back to some point where they understood.

Should you fail however I would beg you to send the Blogmaster her name, confidentially, so that dis poor ole man may avoid her like the plague

(I hope those lines in that problem align like they did in this yellow box while i was typing

61. 1.A man has____________ 5 dogs
    He then was given _______4 cats

Therefore he has________ 9 animals in all.

(I thought of the underline after posting.

But you can see what the alighnment I spoke of was and how the practice of statement “a” followed by statement “b” is used to cement reasoning into what is essentially a sponge.

By the way please let the simplistic ole man understand in layman’s terms what is the answer.

Additionally, remember she has done one thing that should be a redemption, irrespective of her state of understanding.

She has reached out.

Now, you would have enough of this A student’s history to know definitively if she is genuinely lost or is accustomed missing the simplest of concepts to know if she should be assisted or ignored.

I myself am a perpetual idjit and even though the varmints do me bad things, i usually go back to help their sorry donkeys, over and over and over again.

Maybe it is because He Who Guides me is Infinite in His Knowledge or that i am stupid and a sucker for punishment

62. PIECE
    RE this seems to be some type of controlled experiment where one constant is exposed to multiple environments and then an observation is made as the the results thereafter.

My ingrunt self layman that I am would think that glucose and that big word would seem to produce some specific response that the first suspension, post what seems to be a single step, would not.

THIS IS BASICALLY THE ANSWER ALTHOUGH I KNOW YOU DIDNT HAVE AS MUCH INFO AS SHE DID.

YOUR OLD BRAIN SINCE WORKING IT STILL GOT IN BETZ CELLS NOT LIKE THAT OF BETZPEANIC

63. pIECE
    XYLITOL IS A SUGAR THAT CAN BE EXTRACTED FROM THE BAGASSE WE HAVE BEEN THROWING AWAY FOR CENTURIES

IT IS SWEETER THAN GLUCOSE OR SUCROSE AND YOU CAN USE LESS

ALL OF OUR DIABETICS SHOULD BE USING IT IN MY OPINION

I HEAR THEY NOW SELLING IT HOME

64. @Gazer I certainly cannot disagree that race becomes the bottom line of all in the US. But I think it’s fair to say that is often unnecessary and unfortunate,,,as we have been reminded by ESPN and others these last few weeks with the OJ trial re-do.

We let race get in the way and we are too cowed by our own race to say STOP. This is not about race, this is just wrong.

The boy and Harambee was not about race. It was a lapse , very briefly of course, but a lapse nonetheless by a parent. Her race should never be at issue. At issue also was that the zoo was not completely child-proof.

The boy and the alligator was about a lapse by the Disney corporation. And a few moments of sheer terror by two parents who were right there withing grasp of their child but could not save him.

But as the OJ Simpson trial taught us and has reminded us these last several weeks: racism permeates every fabric of our existence. Daily,

And of course back then over 70% Blacks thought that the brother – who was married to a White woman – was absolutely innocent of killing his estranged wife and her friend. Over 70% of White thought he was guilty.

Now twenty plus years later and for various reasons , unbelievably more than 50% of Blacks think that OJ is GUILTY.

So tell me why does race have to come into matters where clear evidence says the actions should have nothing to do with it.

OJ was guilty as sin then. And yes the police officer Mark Furhman was a racist clearly. And he lied on the stand. But OJ was guilty.

So whether Harambee or Disney we need to be honest about these issues and leave the race card out of the discourse…if we are honest. We can’t wait 20 years later to admit the truth.

• @Dee Wod

The issue of race is exposed by the reaction to the event.

On Sun, Jun 19, 2016 at 1:32 AM, Barbados Underground wrote:

65. Pieceuhderockyeahright June 18, 2016 at 10:40 AM
    Check photos under ‘Arawak Cement file complaint……………..”

66. @DPD
    And of course back then over 70% Blacks thought that the brother – who was married to a White woman – was absolutely innocent of killing his estranged wife and her friend. Over 70% of White thought he was guilty.

Lies, damn lies, and statistics. In this instance I believe that the majority of black people were lying to anyone who asked them that question, don’t forget that just two short years before the policemen who beat Rodney King in front of a live audience were acquitted by a white jury in Orange County and it took the Federal Gov’t to refile changes and a new trial for them to be convicted.

The OJ trial was an example of jury nullification, (it has happened thousands of times in the US but the vast majority of times it was a white person on trial for the death of a black person) they would have acquitted him glove or no glove and when Mark Fuhrman was found to have used the “N” word and then lied about it, they could have stopped the trial right then. The OJ result was the Jury’s way of settling scores on behalf of black people everywhere, a pity OJ wasn’t a more sympathetic figure but “yuh gotta dance with de one that brung yuh”.

67. @David
    The issue of race is exposed by the reaction to the event.
    It is never so simple, sure some people will react based on race but the reaction to the killing of “Cecil” the Lion in Zimbabwe resulted in a far more visceral response by the public than the feedback from anyone about the situation leading to the killing of Harambe. Cecil was killed by a white Dentist from Minnesota, his Dental Office was closed until the anger died down, people were urging the Gov’t to lay charges against him. Was that reaction based on race also or were people reacting because an animal was destroyed needlessly? In both instances the majority of people were upset about the death of the animals and what they represented, they were less concerned about the race of the people involved.

68. Pingback: The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Tragedy in the Magic Kingdom | Barbados Underground

Leave a comment, join the discussion.