Akanni Mcdowall, Pre

The NUPW posted the message in the newspapers last week inviting members to a meeting to vote on a No Confidence Motion in President Akanni McDowall triggered by the garnering of 50 members who met the criteria. BU will NOT insert itself into the internal squabble of our largest pubic sector union except to share a letter from the First Vice President of NUPW Joy-Ann Inniss to the General Secretary.  Note Appendix E which conflicts with assertions made by Akanni McDowall in today’s Sunday Sun.

173 responses to “President Akanni McDowall Under Pressure,with documents”

1. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

I will say again that video is so pathetic poor fella he looks like he gine cry,boo hooo hooo wuh loss.

2. I don’t care if he is B or D or F but it is becoming clear that Macdowall does not have a clue of what his role as president should be. I always thought the general secretary was the pivotal voice of the union but it appears that power and nice cars have gotten to this boy’s head.
    Some people say it is not him but the hand of the political demon that controls him.

If these documents are correct he is a blatant liar or at least he willfully misrepresented the the truth.

3. @Bajanfuhlife

Did you exercise similar concerns when Walter Maloney was large and in charge?

4. david-thats a good question
    note that he (Macdowall) suck on Walter Maloney nipples .
    so they have the same thirst.

5. So erice we can assume who you will be voting for?

6. David don’t be smart my friend -you know the answer .LO

7. Good Morning ‪#‎realdreamchasers‬! Here is your daily newscap.

DON’T BE SIDETRACKED BY LIES – Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) leader Mia Mottley is urging party supporters to keep the pressure on the governing Democratic Labour Party (DLP) and not to be sidetracked by “rumours” and “lies”.Mottley last night addressed the controversial issue of her possible involvement in the general election campaign in St Lucia. Anthony Astaphan, an advisor to Dominica’s Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit, also questioned Mottley’s recent visit to Castries and her apparent support for the opposition there.Mottley has denied involvement, telling a meeting of the BLP St Philip branch last night that during her visit to the sister Caribbean Community (CARICOM) island, “I ain’t canvas, I ain’t walk, I ain’t went pon no platform. I ain’t speak publicly, I have done what all good students of politics do”.However, while she did not make direct reference to the Freundel Stuart administration, the Opposition Leader urged supporters not to be distracted by persons seeking to divert attention away from the political situation at home. “There is a movement building in this country, and therefore the rumours, the lies, and the cursing will come faster and quicker . . . . It is a sign that we are on the right track. Nobody throws stones at an empty mango tree,” she said.The BLP leader also said she saw nothing wrong with Caribbean politicians campaigning for other politicians in sister states.Mottley listed a number of past and present examples of cross-territorial activity by regional politicians, including senior and retired members of her own party; Dominica’s Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit, who she said spoke the SLP’s platform and the minister in the office of Jamaica’s Prime Minister, who appeared in support of the UWP.“That’s what happens in the region where people are close,” she told party supporters.

GOVERNOR GENERAL ON LEAVE – GOVERNOR GENERAL, Sir Elliott Belgrave, will travel to London on official and vacation leave from June 7 to 25. His Excellency will be accompanied by Lady Belgrave and his Aide-de-Camp, Captain Carlos Lovell.Sir Elliott will attend a Business Meeting at Buckingham Palace for Governors-Generals on Thursday June 9, while their Excellencies will attend a service of Thanksgiving at St Paul’s Cathedral, in celebration of Her Majesty The Queen’s 90th birthday on Friday June 10, as well as Her Majesty’s Birthday Parade on Saturday June 11.During Sir Elliott’s absence, Sir Philip Greaves, will perform the functions of Governor General.

GAY BLOW – The Barbados Government “will not change the law” to allow for same-sex marriages, an adamant Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite has declared.However, Brathwaite warned the island had no room for discrimination on the basis of sexuality. “As a lawmaker, if Jane decides she wants to live with Janice, that is their business as far I am concerned. But I will not change the law to allow them to be married in Barbados. I will not stop them from being able to access health care, being able to have a job, or to be able to eat and sleep and do all the things I do,” Government’s top legal adviser said last Friday at the official launch of Man Talk, a monthly discussion series organized by the Men’s Fellowship of the Cave Hill Wesleyan Holiness Church.The more than two-hour discussion, which at times drew heated responses from the panel and the audience, was centred on the topic, Same Sex Relations – A Right Or An Abomination?Brathwaite stressed that Barbados still held to the norm that marriage must be between a man and a woman. However, he said same-sex relationships were fast becoming a human rights issue and Barbados would soon have to decide where it stood in light of the positions already taken by several international bodies. President of Barbados Gays, Lesbian and All-Sexuals Against Discrimination (BGLAD) Donnya Piggott was adamant that the local gay community was not interested in pressuring authorities to legalize same-sex marriages. She stressed the sole interest of members of the community was the freedom to exercise their right to live free of harassment and discrimination.

BAD TIMING – The decision by one commercial bank to further cut interest rates on savings is a blow to the country’s poor and the economy, according to economist Ryan Straughn.CIBC FirstCaribbean International Bank has announced that effective June 1, the interest rate it pays on regular savings, savings plus and senior savings will be cut to 0.25 per cent from an already record low 0.5 per cent, which the commercial banks applied after the Central Bank of Barbados lifted the 2.5 per cent minimum interest rate.However, Straughn said CIBC’s timing was poor and “really not a very good strategy” to get people to spend the money they have in the bank.“It is very bad timing for the depositor to be experiencing 0.25 per cent interest rate at this point in time given that we had to go through a two per cent cut last year. I think it is ill-timed,” he insisted.

REGIONAL SECURITY THREATS – Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has identified money laundering, cyber-crimes and cross border criminal activity among the greatest threats to this region’s security.Delivering the feature address yesterday at the official opening of the three million pounds (sterling) Regional Security System Fusion Centre at Paragon, Christ Church, Stuart also emphasized the need for regional information sharing to combat the current “basket of challenges” facing governments.Stuart told the gathering, which included the British High Commissioner to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, Victoria Dean and the United States Ambassador to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, Linda Taglialatela, there was a pressing need for the RSS to have a clear understanding of all issues impacting the national security of member states.He also said it was imperative that new methods be adopted by the RSS to defend the nations of the Caribbean and their sovereignty.

TIGHTER BORDER PATROLS – The country’s top law enforcement official is again pointing an accusing finger at Customs officials for allowing illegal guns to enter the country without detection.Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith said in an interview yesterday morning that illegal weapons continued to make their way onto the streets of Barbados via legal ports of entry.And Griffith expressed frustration that the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) did not enjoy the full cooperation of border security officials, including the Customs & Excise Department, as it sought to crack down on illegal firearms entering the island. During a news conference at the RBPF headquarters on Roebuck Street, Bridgetown last August, Griffith spoke of an “untenable situation” where persons charged with protecting the island’s borders might have been assisting with the smuggling of illegal guns into the country, either wittingly or unwittingly.Earlier, the police chief had restated his contention that overall crime was down, including murders, rapes, robberies, crime against visitors and all other major categories of crime.Speaking at RBPF headquarters during the handover of Segways valued at $80,000 by the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association to assist with patrolling boardwalks, Griffith did not give any statistical evidence to back up his contention.The top cop also addressed the contentious issue of missing files that result in delays in matters going before the court, explaining the difficulties involved in preparing such files. So far this year, there have been no official statistics on crime levels, but at the start of this year the Acting Commissioner acknowledged there was an increase in crime last year when compared to 2014, with the rise partly attributed to gun-related violence.

RBPF REMINDERS – THE ADMINISTRATION OF the Royal Barbados Police Force has reminded reminds the public of the procedures to be followed when requesting police services. All requests for police services are to be in writing, and addressed to the Office of the Commissioner of Police, Police Headquarters, Lower Roebuck Street, St Michael.Requests must reach the office of the commissioner of police 90 days before the date scheduled for the event. In cases where the event will require a maximum of three police officers (to be determined by the divisional officer), the request should reach the office of the commissioner 28 clear days before the scheduled date for the event. In a release, the RBPF said these time limits are necessary to give them time to plan and assess the required resources for policing the event. Failure to comply with the requisite times may result in the denial of service resulting in the promoter not being able to hold the event. Police also reminded the public that applications for loud music permits and occasional liquor licences must be made four weeks before the date of the event. Failure to comply with the requisite time period will result in the refusal of the application.

GITTENS REMAINS ON REMAND – Murder accused Constable Everton Randolph Gittens was back in the No. 2 District “A” Magistrates’ Court yesterday for the continuation of the preliminary inquiry into his case.The 43-year-old of Lot #1 Dash Gap, Bank Hall, St Michael, was brought through the rain for his appearance before Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant.Gittens, who also left court in the rain, is charged with March 15, 2015 fatal shooting Selwyn ‘Blues’ Knight.He is also charged with wounding his son Junior Knight with intent to maim, disfigure or disable him as well as recklessly engaging in conduct which placed Junior in danger of death or serious bodily harm.

SHOOTING TAKES SPEIGHTSTOWN BY SURPRISE – A shooting incident this morning in Church Street, Speightstown, has left a 30-year-old man nursing injuries at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH).This evening, police spokesman David Welch said the shooting victim, Kaeron Moore of Crab Hill, St Lucy remained in stable condition in hospital after he was shot in the area of his groin around 9:40 a.m. The victim, who was forced to seek immediate medical attention at a nearby doctor, was later transported to QEH by ambulance where he underwent surgery. Vendors and shoppers expressed total shock over the shooting, which was an unusual occurrence in the sleepy St Peter town.One woman, who requested anonymity, expressed surprise that “people would have the heart to do something like this in broad daylight”, while shopper Sharon Inniss was angered by the incident.“This is not something that happens in Speightstown. In fact, this is one of the first shooting incidents in Speightstown of late.“It is just scary that you could leave your place, and you could be in the wrong place, at the wrong time, get shot, and don’t even know why,” Inniss said.

UNEXPECTED TRAGEDY – The children of 62-year-old Reynold Ricardo Bear Jemmott who perished in a fire in his Wavell Gardens, Black Rock, St Michael home are shocked and saddened at the tragic way he lost his life.Speaking yesterday at the house where she joined her brothers, Jemmott’s daughter Racquel Jordan said the family was finding it difficult to come to grips with the death. According to police, fire officers who responded to blaze which occurred around 2.30 a.m., recovered Jemmott’s body from the house.Police are treating his death as unnatural at this stage. Investigations are continuing into the origin of the fire and a post mortem will be performed to determine the cause of death.“The hardest is the manner in which he died. This house was his pride and joy. To die in it was pretty heartbreaking. Right now we are just trying to come to grips with what happened,” the daughter said. A composed Jordan explained that her father was undoubtedly a private individual who lived alone for about 35 years. She said he had few friends, and one grandchild who he adored.Jordan said the food vendor of 30 years was hard-working and was known by many at worksites across the island for his hot dogs, burgers and barbeque chicken. Jordan said she received a call around 4:30 a.m. from her mother, informing her that something had happened at her father’s house and urged her to get there. She said through a follow-up call from her aunt, she got the terrible news that her dad had died.

VENEZUELAN WOMAN SHOT DEAD DURING LOOTING – A Venezuelan woman died on Monday after being shot in the face when looters raided state food warehouses in the latest unrest in the crisis-hit OPEC nation, her family said. Relatives of hotel worker Jenny Ortiz, 42, said she died in hospital after being shot during the melee late on Sunday in San Cristobal, a town near the border of Colombia, where looting and anti-government protests have been occurring in recent months.Family including her mother-in-law Carmen Rosa, 58, who said she saw the incident, alleged that a policeman shot Ortiz.Authorities did not comment on that accusation, though local police said armed criminals had fired on police and an investigation was underway.

UWP WINS ST. LUCIA GENERAL ELECTIONS – Economist Allan Chastanet led his United Workers Party (UWP) to a resounding victory in Monday’s general election and immediately signalled his intention to turn around an ailing economy, deal with a ballooning debt while at the same time keeping citizens at the heart of the new socio-economic plans for St Lucia. “I want to say a big thank you to the people of St Lucia…let them know we are not going to let them down,” Chastanet said at his first news conference after the Electoral Department preliminary figures showed that the UWP had won 11 of the 17 seats contested in the general election.“Thank you for the support in energising us,” he added.Chastanet said that while he has not received any communication from outgoing Prime Minister Dr Kenny Anthony regarding the outcome of the election, he wanted to name his Cabinet as soon as he has had discussions with other members of the victorious party.

That’s all for today folk. Have a terrific Tuesday. 🙂 Shalom <3 Steph.

8. @David – I always remember even in Mr. Maloney’s time, the preeminent voice of the union was the General Secretary.
    Call a spade a spade David – Macdowall has alienated those who are even apolitical in the union as he behaves like a bull in a china shop.

9. Why are we not hearing about the guardian general or beacon insurance proposal made to executives. This smells stink and have no confidence in my union anymore.

10. Who were the ones that discuss them ?

were those persons given permission to approach any insurance companies ?

I recall reading in the papers that the UNION had said who it had agreed to manage its business.

11. The Barbados Workers Union (BWU) is seeking to broker a speedy resolution to a potentially explosive situation at the Spring Garden generating plant of the Barbados Light & Power Company (BL&P).”

Kicking is an assault. Charges should be laid. If convicted. Deportation.

12. @Erica, should not the Union get other opoptions to get the best deal for us. This stinks and I will be dropping out the union. How come I was told only last nite by a member of the agency that they have proposals from guardian general and beacon.

13. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Am so saddened by these turn of events. I believe Mr MacDowall in his claims of political interference. We live in an era where nobody wants to be at the bottom and would therefore would sabotage anything or anyone in their way.

I remember seeing on another post somewhere, that spoked to the model car Mr MacDowall drives, what his wife looks like and what she does for a living. “Shake my head” – this is what the black man come to, Educated or not. Smells like DLP shit!!

We REFUSED to work with each other – White man keeps on smiling!

14. Interesting comment from Vice President on the front page of the Nation, the documents leaked were for the eyes of the general secretary. The question we need for Vice President Inniss to answer is, where can the truth be found.

15. david -find the truth in the documents

nupw-I am told and read that the COUNCIL had agreed on an insurance company and a broker -therefore when the President -2rd vice president and treasury when discussing with any other company they were going against the council and has brought the Organisation into disrepute .

16. Truth to power Avatar
    Truth to power

Mr. Bloggmaster which point are you referring to so i can attempt to address it.

17. Truth to power Avatar
    Truth to power

If you are referring to those document there are very misleading. I will outlined the facts as i know them

18. Truth to power Avatar
    Truth to power

The meeting that was stated in the documents where the members say they wanted to go to capita. That meeting was cancelled by the NUPWIAI. A group of determined individuals invited a smqll number of members who came and had a meeting. Any decisions at that meeting was null and void.

19. outline the facts Akanni

20. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Erice are you insinuating that truth to power is the one and only.

21. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

By the way erice who paid for those adverts during brasstacks today?

22. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

If in fact truth to power is who i suspect it to be then you are more stupid than i thought coming to this forum to plead a case,do you not know about court procedure i was an investigator of crime all my life and i could smell fear for miles, my advice to you if it is you is to shut to fump up and stay away from this forum you are truly desperate.

23. I didn’t hear them -ask David Ellis

maybe the same one who paid during the Elections

24. @Truth to power

Specifically Appendix E of the docs posted to BU which conflicts with what was posted in the Sunday Sun.

25. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Erice about the truth to power question.

26. Truth to power Avatar
    Truth to power

What those documents did not say David that the meeting where the resolution was passed had been cancelled by the NUPWIAI. A few persos with an agenda still carried on that meeting.

Also, what the documents did not say that the vulnerable members was given the impression that capita was their only life line.

Playing on those members vulnerability a resolution was put forth.

However, the second meeting that was called by the NUPWIAI the rates that was given was negotiated previously.

The New board informed the members better rates would be forth coming.

DAVID some of the challenges for the new board was cooperation in getting the info to send on for rates.

Before the President travelled it is my understanding that the first VP was fully updated.

When Council accepted Capita they did not even knew what the rates would be.

Any group or individuals who have people best interests at heart would have gathered all the information and make an informed decision.

That nonsense about a decision being made by members is hog wash.

Another important point to note that the members are now left with high rates that could have been avoided if the members interest were put first and not personalties.

Sagicor informed the Inc in January and the shareholder was only informed in May according to what i read.

For some known reason but would not state here

The President did not send any correspondence after May 05th.

The only wrong doing was trying to help the members get better rates. All of those involved in this madness focus on personality and not the best rates for the members

27. What are the academic qualifications of Akanni and Joy-ann?

28. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

My apologies seem like i was sidetracked i will await more info.

29. appendix E-is the one that shows how wicked Akanni is

he has place the lady at Sagicor in a nasty position and has brought All parties into disrepute

30. what was in the sunday sun is false

31. truth to power Avatar
    truth to power

Mr. Blog master Sagicor already stated that they did not received any information after May 05th from the President.
    Any correspondence that was sent to Capital would have to be in response to previous correspondence from the President.
    Sagicor would not lie for the President so I do not understand erice statement.

@Horatio you seem to be a very angry and bitter woman but as I said before and I would reinterate here…Akanni McDowall will still be your President on Friday June 10th.

It appears that Akanni should lay down and play dead and do nothing to inform the membership about what is happening. How else would he do that outside of the Newspapers and Social Media.

32. truth to power Avatar
    truth to power

Clearly you all do not understand Trade Unionism.
    Who for a Trade Union leader would support a government that caused Labour in Barbados to bleed.
    Unions Represent Labour. A government that retrenched 6000 workers- who for a Trade Union leader would support this government…

Unions Support political parties financially so I do not understand what you are saying. The Laws in Barbados do not support such but Unions support parties who support the workers.

33. truth to power Avatar
    truth to power

Who for a Trade Union Leader would support this Government….Labour bled under this government and No Union Leader in the right mind….not even the Mighty Caswell would support this government.
    Unions internationally supports political parties financially but our Laws do not support that.
    So if the President shows that he is not in support of this party he has all rights to do so. In case Horation forgot 6000 workers went home and that means less Union dues to pay your salary.

34. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

First i am not a woman and i hope for your pathetic sake come Friday your desires lest we have a suicide on our hands,

35. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

First i am not a woman and i hope for your pathetic sake come Friday your desires are met lest we have a suicide on our hands,

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ LT.HORATIO CAINE June 7, 2016 at 7:52 PM
    “If in fact truth to power is who i suspect it to be then you are more stupid than i thought coming to this forum to plead a case,do you not know about court procedure i was an investigator of crime all my life and i could smell fear for miles, my advice to you if it is you is to shut to fump up and stay away from this forum you are truly desperate.”

Caine, why don’t you shut your dirty lying pimping (dlp) mouth? Life-time crime investigator my ass. The only crime you should be investigating is the DLP criminal act of harbouring a fraudster by the name of Greenverbs Parris aka the Leper. What you should be smelling close up is not fear but the lies, deceit and dishonesty of your leader.

Stay out of the NUPW affairs. Your party has already destroyed the trade union movement; from BUT to BWU. There is nothing else to be done other than bribe the president to be a Maloney.

37. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

By the way what is that word and what does it mean?REINTERATE

38. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Here goes the annunokie again another venomous rant,what is wrong with you and FYI i do not have to lie about anything as i told you before you believe that you are bully of this blog but your wimpy little ass would never or could never scare me i would really love to meet your candy ass in person.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ LT.HORATIO CAINE June 8, 2016 at 1:50 AM

Why would you want to meet me? I certainly don’t want to meet you. So piss off, my intellectually backward friend.

BTW, “truth to power’ really has your number.
    We now see why you hate Peter Wickham so venomously (to use your favourite adjective). Two smartass women can’t live in the same rat hole.

40. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Get some rest nookie.

41. This affair is about greed,personalities and fraud. Simple

42. Akanni becareful of what ask for -look at your glass windows,where you got and how you moved up all because of your father wickness -now files gone missing

Tell us what that is ?

43. @erice

You cant just say files are missing. Which files?

44. P A D and Minisrty of Health relating to Akanni promotion .
    these were requested by the applicants-the defence cant produce them

45. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Erice is being economical with the information in the matter relating to Akanni’s appointment in the Public Service.

Over six years ago, when I was working at NUPW, I instructed a lawyer in a case against the Government where Akanni’s appointment was at issue.

Akanni’s father, John Broome, is a senior officer at the Personnel Administration Division. His job included forwarding the list of persons, who are to be appointed, to the Public Service Commission. The Ministry of Health sent a list of names of persons to be appointed to the post of Environmental Health Assistant. That list did not contain Akanni’s name but when the list got into his father’s hands for forwarding to the Commission, Akanni’s name somehow appeared on the list and the rightful person’s name was deleted. The wrong man got appointed instead through fraud.

The young lady who was disadvantaged referred the matter to the Union, and we in turn carried the case to court. The file at Personnel Administration Division went missing and when they went to the Ministry of Health to get copies from their file, that too went missing. CORRUPTION!

46. @Caswell

Are you saying the matter will never be resolved unless the file reappears?

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The matter could have been resolved even without going to court but there is too much dishonesty in the system. There is a culture of covering up wrong doing if the perpetrator is your friend or from your party. Even when wrongdoing is clearly established the matter still has to be referred to the Solicitor General’s Chambers where they fight everything. Unfortunately, their method of fighting is to use every tactic delay the matter.

48. @Caswell

The matter is easy to resolve, have the members of the NUPW ask Akanni to verify. He seems to be an honourable man.

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Just like all the members of the House are honourable men and women.

50. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

That should be seem to be honourable men and women.