Paint the 15 Garbage Trucks Green
Submitted by Anthony Davis

Denis Lowe, Minister of the Drainage
Members of the public are being encouraged to wear green this Friday in celebration of World Environment Day, which falls on Sunday, June 5. Schoolchildren, Government officers and all citizens are encouraged to wear green T-shirts, green ribbons or green articles of clothing on Friday. “This will also form part of the Ministry of the Environment and Drainage’s activities to mark Environment Month, 2016, themed Living Sustainability is …Celebrating 50 years of Environmental Stewardship. “Environmental Education Officer Donna King-Brathwaite says all those who wear green on World Environment Day ‘will be demonstrating their commitment to environmental stewardship – Barbados TODAY dated 30 May, 2016
Please tell me, Mrs. King-Brathwaite, do we still have a Minister of the Environment?
If so, where is he, and what is he doing?
Is it possible that he has been removed by some black ops?
That’s the way things are done these days – clandestinely.
This invitation to wear green sounds very hollow as it seems that the Minister of the Environment has gone AWOL. The last time I heard anything from him is when he said that he hasn’t seen any garbage in Bridgetown. I however surmise that he was in his high-end vehicle which is being paid for by the taxpayers – wearing sunglasses with the windows rolled up – when he passed through!
I’m not delusional therefore I cannot take part in such an exercise.
There are diesel vehicles spewing so many particulates into the environment daily that they are surely contributing to the rise in CNDs in our country. These particulates go directly into the lungs, because they are minute. People are still burning all kinds of garbage at will with scant regard for their neighbours, or anyone who is passing through. Some people who suffer from asthma or some other lung problem are then at risk, but the ones burning the garbage couldn’t care less. This also contributes to the rise in the number of CNDs in Barbados.
There are also some who drive around with music blaring, and those who drive around with modified exhaust pipes, pretending that they are Lewis Hamilton. All of this contributes to the rise in CNDs – not only what we eat, and whether we exercise or not.
Green isn’t my favourite colour, and I won’t be buying any band to show that I love the environment, because nothing is being done about its sad state in Barbados. I’m an environmentalist, but I’ll only join such action if and when the relative legislation is passed to protect it.
The CEO of Sandals butchered the environment in Christ Church, and Dr. Watson is the only prominent person who objected to it. I don’t remember hearing any objections from the Minister of the Environment.
We were promised such legislation since last year, but it has turned out to be nothing but long talk.
Are we again seeing black ops re the issuing of the contract to the person who is to collect the garbage in this country?
It seems that Massa day isn’t finished yet!
Everything seems to be going to a select few!
What’s this about “Celebrating 50 years of Environmental Stewardship”?
Are you insinuating that as far back as 1966 there was environmental awareness in Barbados, when there isn’t much of it up to this day with people dumping everything in our gullies?
I’m tired and fed up with all of these fair weather promises!

A waste of time giving Dr Denis Lowe any ideas for the only person he listens to is Mr Stuart. He is deliberately avoiding the promotion of recycling, compostng and upcycling for reasons he knows best. Man is just a bold empty talker who acts globally but never locally. UNEA obviously did not take into consideration his local stewardship.
LikeLike
@Kammie
Tek dat!
LikeLike
The UNEA is clearly unaware of the disastrous oversight of the care of the Ministry of the Environment particularly in respect of garbage management by this poor minister Denis Lowe.One is reminded that Bharrat Jagdeo was declared Champion of the Earth by the UNEP in 2010 and his record in raping the forests and lands in Guyana are there for all to read and see.In cahoots with Chinese logging co Baishailin,Jagdeo has overseen the destruction of the Guyana left by the PNC President Hoyte in 92.
The irony of Lowe’s appointment is that there is now a UN body to whom one can name and shame Denis Lowe.This appointment has a sting Lowe and Stuart will regret down the road.
LikeLike
Sigh
LikeLike
Heard about the offer from a source months ago. Congrats to him but he still a pretty talker who speaks globally but never locally.
LikeLike
Perhaps he will remove the ban on communication he issued last year against the Future Centre Trust and its proxies.
LikeLike
The Anthem of Minister Lowe and most of his fellow Ministers.
The Red Flag (bajanised)
The working class can kiss my arse,
I’ve got the Minister’s job at last.
I’m can’t find work and on the taxpayers dole,
You can stuff the Bajan voters up your hole.
The working class can kiss my arse,
I’ve got the Minister’s job at last.
LikeLike
And perhaps we should also paint the mounds and piles of garbage everywhere green , then we will be able to pass it off as grass.
LikeLike
Barbados is proud of you,Mr Minister
LikeLike
These people do not know of this man’s track record because if they did there is no way he should be appointed to become any Vice President for the Latin America and Caribbean region on the Bureau of the Second United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA).
Maybe we on BU should forward all of the posts we have on BU on him. We could ask his siblings to write and tell them of the unaccounted millions in an account and for good measure copy that letter to the DPP as Lyin Fumble and ac recommends.
This would make him shame when he turns up for meetings!
LikeLike
Oh….. I just thought of what we should do………just email pictures of all the garbage aound Barbados…………oh that would be priceless!
LikeLike
There is yet hope of Stephen Lashley to becoming the Vice President of UNESCO World Heritage Site Committee.
LikeLike
LikeLike
Gabriel…they give jackasses like Lowe these titles and awards to highlight thrir uselessness, these people travel and would know the nasty garbage situation Lowe has developed in Barbados with his bribetaking…if the electorate, who live on the island, cannot see for themselves and vote his ass out of a seat, that is their problem, if they want to remain dazzled by shit titles and not concerned with disease csrrying garbsge pileups, they deserve what they get….the UN does not have to worry about Lowe having any powers in and over their jurisdictions…they would not give him any.
Prodigal…great idea, send the UN council weekly photo updates of Lowe’s nastiness…they might not know how consistently nasty and corrupt he really is…send them the evidence.
LikeLike
Well Well; Fat child would like to get all the work like he used to before.Tough!!Bajans are too nasty to begin with. Lowe does not generate the garbage, Bajans do. Government should put a charge on every plastic bag that is so freely given to every person wh shops in th supermarket, by every store, and by every shop. That would generate millions of dollars. See the BLP connection that desires to be reconnected? Tough.
LikeLike
@Alvin
Your interventions do boggle the mind
LikeLike
Alvin…you need to restructure your sentence to,,, politicians of the D and BLP are too nasty to begin with, unfairly distributing taxpayer funded contracts…ya should ask Christpher Sinckler why, instead of divvying up the construction jobs evenly among contractors in Barbados, they were given to his brother instead….so you see, both political parties practice nastiness, nepotism and favoritism,,,, that is what needs to be gotten rid of….
you live in Canada, as do I, you see anyone throwing garbage out of car and bus windows, throwing garbage everywhere in Canada…..no, because there are strick penalties for such and the laws are enforced for everyone….again the nastiness of bajans and their politicians. ..
Mark Maloney had thousands of gallons of 20 year old decayed molasses belonging to Seale which was sitting in the port….thrown and dumped all over the island in neighborhoods and none of the DLP politicians had him charged…the nastiness of your politicians.
LikeLike
And further….the nastiness of your DLP leaders made sure Bizzy got to rip off the taxpayers, again, with the SBRC contract, why was the contract not evenly distributed making a difference and deviating from BLP practoces. ..instead Bizzy sits on his greedy ass waiting for garbage haulers to pay to collect garbage and deliver to him so he can charge the taxpayers.
That arrangement was conceived by Bizzy out of Dennis Lowe’s nasty, bribetaking common class mentality, the mentality of a slave politician.
LikeLike
The price of petrol at the pump has moved from $2.58 per litre on 7th March to $2.85 per litre today.It is still one of the greatest mysteries of the governance of Barbados that John Public remains in ignorance at how the Fair Trading Commission allows this to happen.Dog bite yuh Jeff!The cost of goods sold in accounting is skewed as a result of this present day Robin Hood approach to Price.
LikeLike
What is the government planning to do with garbage collection in Barbados. Obviously no private contractor will import 15 garbage trucks without an ironclad agreement to justify the purchase.
LikeLike
Alvin, Your interventions do boggle the mind
WHY?
You expected exactly what …from Alvin C?
Boss…
The two most abundant things in the universe are hydrogen and stupidity.’
It often takes a wise man to play the fool, but while Alvin may look like an idiot and talk like an idiot, don’t let that fool you. He really IS an idiot.’
Creatingminds.org
LikeLike
LOl, Bush tea…….omg! Include the local ac’s too.
LikeLike
But that Wendell Callender post boggles the mind too and says a lot about the “political class”. $23,000 per week to rent a bulldozer is ok because someone’s father was an MP or because they struggled? I here flummoxed!!!
LikeLike
@enuff
What Wendell saying is that he knows both Brathwaites and by dint of hard work they have achieved. He is therefore as curious as the next person to hear about the $23,000 payment explained.
LikeLike
Truck shortage causes pile-ups
LikeLike
I agree with you. I agree with Bushie too. I am an idiot. But Bajans still nasty.
The Ontario Government charges ten cents for every plastic bag that is obtained at the supermarket to put groceries in.As a result almost everyone goes to the supermarket with their own containers, or use boxes from the supermarket; destined for the garbage bin, to put their groceries in. I guess the people there are also idiots. But Bajans prefer to bury themselves in the garbage. It is easier than recycling, for which we do not have a culture. All the complaining is not going to create land for any more landfills. All the trucks were of no use if there is nowhere to place the garbage. Wh generated the garbage pile show in the picture above. Not Alvin the idiot, but lazy Nasty Bajans.
LikeLike
Alvin….get it through ya thick yardfowl head….the Ontario governments are not nasty like the Barbados government they do their jobs, they saw the problems…re garbage and disposal….they fixed it, I too when shopping at Loblaws carry a shopping bag….it’s cleaner.
Why is your DLP government doing nothing to implement and enforce garbage disposal laws….and reduce the use of plastics.
Ya on BU waxing advisement….why ya not telling it to ya political masters.
LikeLike
And when in Barbados, shopping at Pricemart….take a shopping bag, cause they do not provide or sell plastic bags for packaging.
When in NY or Miama…..anywhere in the continental US and shopping at Costco or BJs….take a shopping, bag, they do not provide or sell bags for packaging, so you get my drift….
So, in Barbados’ case it’s the government to ban the use of plastics or make the supermarkets charge a fee and the supermarkets have to comply….what is taking the government so long Alvin.
Theu need to start doing their jobs and stop the long tLk.
LikeLike
David;
The Stephanie news briefs are valuable research tools. Could you put them all in one blog for easy reference?
LikeLike
The DLP political bribemongers do not want to fix the garbage problems on the island, unless they can get a 700 million dollar scam to skim from…right Alvin.
LikeLike
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences June 7, 2016 at 8:11 AM #
……………………………………………………………………………………..
Perhaps because the plastic bag manufacturers are ,as the Prime Minister, so boldly put it, part of the Political Class ,who must be protected,and Truss-ed
LikeLike
Whats the latest on who brought in the 15 Garbage trucks?
LikeLike
While we are focused on our internal garbage, importers everyday are bring in deadly garbage that more than likely has long been banned in the United States, and not a fellow in the Ministry of Health seems to be bothered about it.
Contain petroleum distillates,may cause skin,nose,throat,and respiratory tract irritation.Known in the State of California to cause Cancer,birth defects, or other reproductive harm.
LikeLike
http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/nyc-shoppers-february-paying-plastic-bag-tax-article-1.2665119
Colonel. ..ya have to keep beating it into the politicians’ hard ass heads that they are being paid to legislate, implement and enforce rules, laws and requried legislation, in they and their yardfowls backwardness, the people should just do it without enforcement or laws. ..it boggles the mind that these same ignoramuses live, worked, went to school in the bigger countries and know better, but dont think the same procedures to affect positive change, should be applied to the small islands.
To do so, a bribe or some other self-serving greed must apply….it’s a blight they carry along with the nastiness living deep within their very souls.
LikeLike
@ Well Well,
Why do you think that you cannot find a plastic soft drink bottle anywhere? Government imposes a 10c per bottle charge on soft drinks to cover the costs of the bottles. That is why people collect these bottles and sell them to the recyclers. The something needs doing on plastic bags. I also remember the noises that BLP yard ducks made when the environmental tax was imposed. See what happens when you try to impose that type of discipline on this society. Same thing will happen with a charge on plastic bags. Why do you think a tipping fee was imposed; or at least included in the costs when SBRC was given the contract to build the plant. What was the reaction when it was imposed? This problem has nothing to do with politicians. If everyone refused to take plastic bags and took their own bags to the shop there would not be so many bags in the dump (landfill) Visit Mt. Stinker any day and see for yourself. Where would bribery come in to encourage YOU to take YOUR OWN bag to the store. Instead of criticizing the politicians, tell me what YOU are doing to help solve this problem? What do YOU do with your garbage?
LikeLike
Alvin…the tipping fee was imposed to steal from taxpayers and disadvantage the garbage haulers to pay Bizzy via bribetaking Dennis Lowlife…do not try to cover it up.
The government need to do their jobs re enforcing laws for garbage collection on Bizzy, since he gets 1 million dollars of taxpayers money a month for doing nothing and expect garbage haulers to pay to collect garbage and bring to him…what kind of stupidity besides corruption, resides in Lowe’s head thst he would contract with SBRC to facilitate such a scam…what is wrong with you…..besides the obvious.
The onus is on government to deal with the wasteful plastics issue and stop taking bribes for taxpayer contracts from Bizzy and Maloney.
LikeLike
@ Alvin Cummins June 8, 2016 at 9:47 PM
“If everyone refused to take plastic bags and took their own bags to the shop there would not be so many bags in the dump (landfill) Visit Mt. Stinker any day and see for yourself. Where would bribery come in to encourage YOU to take YOUR OWN bag to the store.”
Alvin, what you are proposing is nothing new and is standard practice in more enlightened and environmentally aware jurisdictions. Bajans like to brag about how well educated they are compared to the rest of the world. Why can’t they adopt some of the good habits of their so-called less educated brothers and sisters?
What is required is the legislative backing to ensure retailers do not issue plastic carrier bags or are required to charge a fee of a sufficient deterrent proportion on those shoppers who insist on having plastic bags.
Same thing should apply to the use of Styrofoam containers for takeaway food. As you appropriately pointed out the effectiveness of the [20] cents deposit on plastic containers for beverages can be replicated and it would offer an additional opportunity for those who provide an ‘itinerant’ collection service to earn a little money from the dirty habits of those nasty fast-food eating Bajans.
This certainly would be in keeping with a very important principle of conservation and environmental protection methodology: Make the polluter pay directly even if the charges have to be imposed and collected at the point of production, or in the case of importation, distribution.
So Alvin, what is required at this stage is the political will to implement and regulate such a programme instead of trying to import chicken wings or onions or operate a farm. Whom are you going to blame for this lack of political will and determination? The BLP?
Now get on with the People’s business by fulfilling your commitment you made to them as outlined below:
“Why environmentally sound? We all have to
live, move and have our being in the protection
of the environment. Daily, as we interact with
one another we also interact with nature. The
contest with nature which characterized man’s
relationship in earlier times, has now become a
contract with nature in our times. A degraded
and unhealthy environment is a threat to man’s
very existence on this planet; and this Manifesto
recognizes that important fact.”
LikeLike
Come 2018
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy June 9, 2016 at 12:02 PM
Lol!!
Brilliant, Colonel! They say a picture is worth a thousand words. But the above can be put in the category of Tolstoy’s War & Peace.
Just can’t believe that is the sorry state Barbados has descended to. This country is certainly playing Russian roulette with its public health system.
Carry on smartly, Bajans. The place will soon be slapped with a cordon sanitaire to warn visitors from Europe that Barbados is a no-go place because of the high risks to health and safety.
LikeLike
There should be more than a cordon sanitaire for what Dennis Lowe has done.. Miller
How could ministers be so corrupt as to allow that level of degradation to the environment.
Then ya have a greedy pig like Bizzy jumping in the media and boasting that whether the garbagevhaulers pay to bring him garbage or not, he still gets paid over a million dollars of taxpayers money every month for doing nothing.
Dennis Lowlife should be hung.
LikeLike
Privatisation is underway, everyday and in everyway. These boys selling everything before them get booted out of office.
LikeLike
The one sure way of getting Denis Lowe’s attention is what would be done in most Caribbean islands……find out where he lives and take your garbage and leave it on his doorstep then take a pic of it and put it on all social media platforms.Dont forget to send a copy to UNEA now that he say he is a VP in there.
LikeLike
Bridgetown and Beirut
LikeLike
That is what citizens/taxpayers do, hold governments accountable.
Dennis Lowe should never be allowed to get away with this type of nastiness..he gets a salary…with perks.
LikeLike
@Denis Lowe
Follow That Tractor
LikeLike
We could bring in all the tractors and Caterpillars we like, new or used, If we continue the trend of not maintaining equipment, we will find ourselves back in the same sorry position in double quick time.
Once the government had a fairly efficient mechanical workshop in the Pine which was quite capable of maintaining these caterpillars, but over the years the government has decentralised the maintenance, placing the onus of repairs and maintenence, into the hands of the operating departments. And as a result we have seen a build up of such scrapped equipment at the Pine, Soil Conservation and SSA.
LikeLike