Prince dead at 57

Prince was a musical genius.  Of greater importance to the BU household is the revelation that he did his part in a relative brief stint of in a temporal existence to improve the lot of mankind. If only more human beings were predisposed to assist a sister or brother financially or through mentorship and to resist greed and desire for things, we would have less problems in the world.

Prince Rogers Nelson may you rest in peace.

120 responses to “Prince the Humanitarian”

1. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea;

It would appear that Prince, in addition to being a musical genius and utilizing those talents to the max, also exhibited a humanity and character that gives the lie to your characterization above that “His main contribution to humanity was his role in helping us to be distracted by sexuality and music from the REAL issues of living on this earth….”

I always thought that the ultimate measure of any man’s contribution to humanity was the degree to which he fully utilized his talents. Any objective look at his contribution in that regard suggests that he is one of the relatively few human beings who has demonstrably performed fully in that regard.

Perhaps his contribution to the distraction of humanity “from the REAL issues of living on this earth….” was something preordained by the powers that be re. the duality and contradictions of being partially spiritual entities.

2. @AWTY & David

David, thanks for the 6:02 contribution.
    Like AWTY I was not a great fan of Prince and knew very little of his music.
    In fact, i was avoiding looking at this post because it was all about Prince, but that video and many of the comments here will send me looking and listening to his music and videos.

I also saw a video which spoke of his help to others, a next fact that I was unaware of.

U2, thanks.

May he RIP.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There is a deposition where Cosby admitted drugging multiple females, he says with their consent, doubtful, but you can both carry on smartly Chad.

Suffice it to say HE is getting every miserable minute that he deserves in his old age, he thought he had gotten away with it for decades…ha-ha.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/prince-family-friends-mourn-icon-paisley-park-service-article-1.2612308

Prince was very generous with his money.

Bushman…lighten up, imagine what they will say about you when you pass on and in bajan parlance…lol

5. A good last comment Are-we-there-yet.

6. The claim that Cosby drugged other women for sex comes from newspapers with axes to grind.
    If a man invites a woman to his home, and offers her a couple of drinks, and then has sexual intercourse with her, some feminists will say, “he drugged her to get her to have sex”. But that is usually a false claim. Serving drinks is a custom. Many women want to drink to give themselves permission (or an excuse) to be bad. In most cases, sex is completely voluntary, but feminism distorts what actually happened.
    In big cities in the 1970s and 1980s, alcohol, marijuana, Quaaludes, cocaine and many other drugs were commonly used to lubricate conversation and enhance sexual interactions. Decades later, some women are using these events to blindside men with illegitimate claims that would have been inconceivable, and considered bizarre at the time.

7. @ awty
    “I always thought that the ultimate measure of any man’s contribution to humanity was the degree to which he fully utilized his talents.”
    Sure…..for positive and uplifting purposes.
    Some ‘talents’ can be terribly misused AGAINST humanity.
    LOL …sometimes Bushie has nightmares about the possibilities with which the whacker can be mis-used…. 🙂

“Perhaps his contribution to the distraction of humanity “from the REAL issues of living on this earth….” was something preordained by the powers that be re. the duality and contradictions of being partially spiritual entities.”
    Perhaps …. but it is much more likely that he just followed the straight, wide and easy road …and the adoring crowds of sheeple – doing shiite..like most of us do…. and that he happened to have unusual musical talents at the same time.

@ Chad
    Boss, …women have been the downfall of men since they were created. It is likely to continue.
    It is not like the situation suddenly crept up on us….so let the men pay…
    Contrary to Sargeant’s suggestion, women generally look for RICHER men to associate formally with (marry)…. so you very rarely hear of women having to pay large sums to poor divorced husbands….
    …many such ‘poor-boys’ usually get unceremoniously dumped along the way to fame and fortune.

8. @ Well Well
    Bushman…lighten up, imagine what they will say about you when you pass on and in bajan parlance…lol
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    No need to imagine….
    They will say – with one voice – ‘Good riddance – F*%$^#!!’

…yuh think Bushie only whacks on BU? 🙂
    LOL ha ha ha
    What YOU need to now imagine …is what ‘they’ will say ….when BBE sets up his shop and the same bowls find themselves living under Bushie’s new and enhanced whacker….

Um will be “he who whacks last…. “

9. @Bush Tea April 24, 2016 at 2:37 PM “when BBE sets up his shop and the same bowls find themselves living under Bushie’s new and enhanced whacker”

Ya foolin ‘yaself.

Lolll!!!

10. @chad99999 April 23, 2016 at 7:53 PM “Tiger Woods married a nanny, Elin Nordegren, who made off with an undisclosed amount of his money when they divorced…. By any definition, she’s a predator.’

Predator what you silly man. Tiger got his money’s worth of whatever he married for, including a good mother for his children. The woman is not a predator. She did not hide behind bush and then stick him up. He married with his eyes wide open, and when the marriage ended he had access to the best lawyers that those very healthy U.S. dollars can buy.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re His main contribution to humanity was his role in helping us to be distracted by sexuality and music from the REAL issues of living on this earth….
    His death will be no real loss….

COULD NOT HAVE SAID IT BETTER

12. @chad99999 April 24, 2016 at 1:45 AM ” if you are not offended by the obscene amounts of money utterly undeserving and unworthy females are allowed to appropriate from gifted men”

If Woods and Jordan are as gifted as you say that they are then beating li’l ball ’round the place ain’t that hard for them, becausin’ they are greatly gifted right?

Who say that being a secretary or nanny ain’t harder work that beating little balls ’bout the place?

chad9999 if you get a horn it is long since time to get over it…and tobesides you would not have got a horn if you had been doing your homework right.

Lolll!!!

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple…you will notice re Tiger and his ex-wife, it’s not Tiger complaining about the money he had to pay out, he never said a word, it’s Chad complaining, for all he’s worth…lol

14. @Simple Simon

Who would you prefer, a Prince who sets up foundations and many opportunities to support philanthropy or many of these prosperity pastors who deliver a sweet bible message like TD, Olsteen et al.

15. @ are-we-there-yet April 24, 2016 at 10:09 AM,

I agree with almost everything you said except for two comments. Firstly you cannot be serious when you compare Prince’s guitar technique being on a par with Hendrix’s! Hendrix’s guitar technique was incomparable. The man was a virtual God. He stood head and shoulders above his predecessors and contemporaries.

Here is a video clip of the two giants in action:

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=machine+gun+jimi+hendrix&view=detail&mid=EE545D62A9BB2727938CEE545D62A9BB2727938C&FORM=VIRE

Cannot you, Bush Tea and Pachamama overlook Prince’s androgynous behaviour. The man was a genius and it takes all sorts to make up this earth.

16. I am not much into pastors of any kind. Then tend not to be much fun.

17. And besides we cannot take it with us when we go. So pastor, pope, prime minister or Prince we gotta leave it at some time.

18. And that is the point you wanted to make from the get go? Make up you mind.

19. @ David
    What make what point what..??!!
    Simple just wanted to talk shiite …as usual 🙂

20. @ Exclaimer
    Cannot you, Bush Tea and Pachamama overlook Prince’s androgynous behaviour. The man was a genius and it takes all sorts to make up this earth.
    Not Bushie bozie….
    Bushie never even bothered to UNDER-look Prince’s behaviour …androgynous or other…
    Prince shiite!!
    What genius what??!!
    The man was a talented musician and showman(?). Largely a quirk of nature.

In Bushie’s book, a ‘genius’ is someone who has been able to multiply whatever talents they have been gifted with …many times over – to the benefit of human advancement.
    This definition places such highly gifted persons as Prince, Bolt, and even Obadele at clear disadvantages in qualifying as ‘geniuses’…..
    Wuh if you start with world-class talent, then you are expected to produce galactic results….

A REAL genius turns out to be much more like Barrack Obama …or Akela Jones. Persons who started in almost obscurity and by dint of personality, effort and class, have risen to global levels of excellence in terms of the examples of excellence that they now represent globally…..

21. @Bush Tea

Have you watched the documentary BOLT? If yes you must have been intrigued by the arduous nature of his training, pulling old tyres etc. You get the point?

Prince’s journey you should take noteof as well.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_(musician)

On Mon, Apr 25, 2016 at 12:21 AM, Barbados Underground wrote:

22. For the old timers on the blog Billy Paul has gone to be with is maker as well, a cancer victim.

23. R.I.P Billy Paul.

That song is one of the smoothest love songs ever.

24. @ Bush Tea,

Given that you are always right…Prince was not a genius.

Maybe you could define a person who played about 20 musical instruments and wrote/composed and produced his own ORIGINAL music.

Let us call him a supremely talented musician / artiste.

25. @ Hants
    Agreed 🙂

Bolt is FASTTTTT!!!
    The ‘tyres’ and ‘yam-talk’ is good PR….and..
    In the final analysis …the man is a freak of nature….

A ‘genius’ would be an ORDINARY fellow who actually HAS to pull tyres, eat grass, give up the joys of life, etc ….all to become an INSPIRATION to others of what excellence is all about….
    Any idiot could be lucky enough to be born a ‘supremely talented’ musical /sport/ mathematical/ technology being.
    Some such talents settle for teaching at Cave Hill; some for ‘Unity’; and some retire to teach medical students in Babylon
    To qualify for ‘genius-hood’ these talents would need to use those skills to save bajan brass bowls from the grips of the current demon-filled, political assassins who have been systematically destroying paradise.

When a fellow like Bolt, Prince, Michael Jackson, or our friend Money Brain use such supreme talent to become rich and famous, they are just like ordinary folk who raise a family, buy a home and retire …without becoming a criminal- or unduly hurting any innocent persons.

We should be impressed by ordinary citizens – using everyday talents, who go on to change their lives, their families, their communities and their countries for the better…
    ….or by these super-endowed-talents who go on to change the country and the world for the better…

…whole lotta talent …and he comes up with ‘Purple rain’ and ass-out pants…? …when the world needs guidance and inspiration towards ending wars, learning to love and respect one another ..and living in peace…?
    ….so who is left to achieve such goals then? ….Froon and Stinkliar?….. and Lil Hitler?
    Steupsss…

26. Now Bob Marley is another story altogether…
    What a global message…
    What an inspiration of black conscientiousness …
    What an awakening…

Here was another talented freak, but one who seemed more driven to get a global message out …than to amass a personal fortune…or even a fan following.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Billy Paul…very interesting.

http://ow.ly/4n3vDN

28. @ Hants
    Persons blessed with such rare talent such should positively impact a whole society….

@ Well Well & C
    Billy Paul tried too soon to bring a critical message of black consciousness to a racist world. Perhaps if he had first gone with a few more of the generally accepted white themes such as “Me and MR Jones”, or “Gimme all the money”, he would have been accepted with open arms …like Prince…

29. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea;

IMHO, Your views on this matter are flawed!

You seem to be intimating that the only talent that matters to the supreme Being or Beings is that of providing leadership in a global sense that demonstrably and ineluctably aids in the progression of mankind to the next coming level of our immanence in the universal spirit. I think that only a very small percentage of people are supplied with that specific talent and it is somewhat unfair to expect that musicians or gravediggers or carpenters or any other exponent of any specific aspect of human endeavour should be considered a failure if he excelled in the area of his talent but did not significantly contribute to globalising the area of his skill set.

You are also intimating that Bob Marley is possibly the only one of billions of recent entities who matches up to that yardstick. Perhaps you should instead focus on the contributions of Politicians or Ambassadors or Presidents or Prime Ministers who would have been better placed to use their talents in the above regard.

I think you are wrong if that is your concept of success re. the sharing and use of talents.

I think that we have all been provided with talents that we can either figuratively keep under a bushel or take out, practice to the fullest extent possible and burnish for our entire sojourn here and then leave 3rd density Earth a better place in respect of the flowering of that specific talent while providing a benchmark for future entities to surpass.

Prince, like Jimi Hendrix and Paco Lucia and Bob Marley and Nicholas Branker and that steelpan man from Trinidad (I forgot his name) and Mike Sealy and several others have been granted the talent of absolute genius in some aspect of music in relation to the physical environment in which they have operated or are operating. Their talent has not been to individually market their music skills to use its fruits to directly globalise mankind’s acceptance of that music in a way that you suggest your BBE envisages.

Someone indicated that Prince should not be mentioned in the same breath as Jimi Hendrix. Jimi Hendrix was one of my Guitar heroes. He invented the genre of unabashed technically perfect but absolutely wild Guitar playing. (Mike Sealy was at the same time doing the same thing here in Barbados but on a different stage). Jimi Hendrix invented a new method of playing guitar but a few years after he laid out the parameters of this new paradigm several youngsters were able to copy. Prince did not lay out a new method of playing but he was technically as proficient in Jimi Hendrix’s style as the master himself and indeed seemed to have removed some of the rough edges.

I think JImi Hendrix was a genius guitarist and that Prince was technically in the same top class as he was.

Genius withers if one does not have discipline to practice and practice and push ones limits. Prince lived his music and practiced for several hours a day to perfect his craft. That is utilizing his talents in my book.

The fame and wealth that came with his genius was secondary. That he seemed to have accumulated and given away as well as kept intact much more of his wealth than most of his other contemporary musical geniuses speaks of an entity that was probably nearer to fulfilling his eventual destiny of oneness with the Creator.

Bushtea, Uh tink yuh rong on dis one.

30. Yuh know dat Bush Tee as in ha ha has so much money (or so he claims) dat he should set up his own Foundation a la the MacArthurs so dat people who live up to the bar he set could apply fuh de bush tee genius grant. Dat way the percentage of brassbowls would surely decrease and he would leave a legacy that bajans cud appreciate.

31. Where Bush Tea’s position is flawed is that Prince, like many, did not have to give away so much of his money. He was a genius of music and he gave away money to boot.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I knew the Bushman would like the “let’s make a baby” theme…lol

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Perhaps you should instead focus on the contributions of Politicians or Ambassadors or Presidents or Prime Ministers who would have been better placed to use their talents in the above regard.”

As we know, those named above have all failed, so people look to musicians to sooth their disappointed souls.

34. @ AWTY
    Bushie may well be flawed wrt the idea that being born with an innate talent makes someone into a ‘genius’. But that you could conclude that Bushie thinks “that Bob Marley is possibly the only one of billions of recent entities who matches up to that yardstick” is so ridiculous as to be funny…
    Not when Bushie was at pains to emphasise that ORDINARY talents who do outstanding community work – for example, are more ‘genius’ than these highly talented people like Prince who did little that was commensurate with his given talents….

Surely you can see that if you were born a natural leader, and you used that talent only to get yourself rich and famous ….then you are no damn better than a fellow gifted with the talent to blog shiite on BU (think Dompey 🙂 ) …and who does that despite all the hassle from Bushie…
    …while someone like Akela has been able to overcome all kinds of obstacles and challenges to become a national symbol of persistence and excellence …and a role model for other young people… now THAT is genius (in Bushie’s book…)

@ Sargeant
    One has to pity wunna fellows who have been overwhelmed by the albino-centric way of thinking…
    …No surprise that you equate money with ‘success’ and ‘giving back’. But there are many MUCH MORE VALUABLE ways in which one can contribute to one’s society besides money.
    Also, it must be unbelievable to you that a black man like Bushie can have more money than he needs nuh? That speaks to your flawed black consciousness brother…
    With Bushie’s “connections” it is hard to understand your’s (and Simple Simon’s) incredulity at the bushman’s blessings….
    If only wunna REALLY knew… 🙂
    …but soon…

Gave away money shiite….!!!
    You mind those converted Canadians…?
    Wuh if you have $100M that you got from singing two shiite songs and from the support of a Satanic record industry …designed to corrupt public morals…. and you (publicly and loudly) give $100,000 to some hopeless mendicant (not Sargeant) …. SO WHAT??? … big deal!!!
    That is just good PR….

Check out the story of the widow’s mite……

35. @ are-we-there-yet wrote , “Bushtea; IMHO, Your views on this matter are flawed!”

That is not possible. Bushtea is ALWAYS right!

ROTFLMRAO.

36. @Bush Tea

You is a Boss.

37. @ Hants & David
    Seriously… It may not be that Bushie is always right….
    Why not consider the (ever-so-slight) possibility that Bushie consults with those who DOES know every shiite….
    …because dey mek every shiite… 🙂

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Another unknown side to the Prince….

http://ow.ly/4n6QQI

39. Did Price die intestate?

incredible if true!

40. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Why is that incredible?

Do you have any idea of the percentage of the population (rich or poor, Lawyers or Soil Mechanics, Famous or little known musicians) have made wills at the age of 57?

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As far as they are saying Prince left a 300 million dollar estate that the lawyers are now sorting through, some say he may have willed most of it to his church, he has a half sister and multiple half siblings, a couple have already died. He had a son with first wife Mayte, who died at a week old with a rare disorder….apparently he left instructions…then there are 100 years worth of written music.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And inside edition said they cant find a will, stay tuned for drama. I remember Marley had 10 kids or more and no will..

43. @are-we-there-yet

It is strange a man whose estate as reportedly worth 380 million would not see the need to make a will. If this is true then some will ask if he was sincere in his philanthropist role. Why not leave a will and dump some money with worthy causes?

44. Why not leave a will and dump some money with worthy causes?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    Because dead men do not need PR.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I too am against leaving wills, so easy to forge, rewrite etc, Prince was not that liquid, smart dude and uncle sam will take a good 120 million, nearly half the money in estate taxes anyhoo, so let the benficiaries divvy up the prpoerties and the money he is now making hand over fist now he is dead, be managed by a court appointee to be divvied up later.

Ya’ll forgot the will scam in Barbados, Cottle Catford etc, wills are a no-no, there are other ways around that sham.

Chadx9….Ha-ha
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/04/25/pennsylvania-cosby-criminal-case-given-go-ahead/

46. Not having a will could be very problematic, although Minnesota law treats all his beneficiaries i.e. siblings both full and half equally it could very well precipitate a fight on who would be the executor/executrix of the Estate. Michael Jackson was thought to have died Intestate until a lawyer produced a Will with a Living Trust.

Let’s hope Prince did the same otherwise things could get messy.

47. @Bush Tea
    Because dead men do not need PR.
    ++++++++++

Open mouth, remove foot. Prior to his death how many people knew of his charitable acts? He gave anonymously not in the hope of gaining PR.

Now slowly take the other foot out.

48. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; re, 2:53 am post

Because, at 57 he might not have considered that the grim reaper would soon be a-calling.