Submitted by William Skinner

We seem to be lurching from one issue or crisis to another. Whether it is garbage pilling up all over de place or teachers being assaulted by students, our beloved island state now seem rudderless and heading straight for the rocks. When we add an ill conceived, basically stupid, so called no confidence motion, apparently designed to get the Prime Minister to talk; a picture of utter confusion seems to have permanently infected the body politic.

The only person who seems to have a fairly level head these days is Mr. Grenville Phillips, whose recent appearance on the rapidly deteriorating brass tacks program was intelligent and enlightening. It was a departure from almost five years of one particular moderator, who has taken it upon himself to be the main antagonist of the Prime Minister. Repetitive and one-sided contributions, designed to futilely prove that there is some real difference of what we have, the DLP, and what we gine get, the BLP, unless apparently a miracle intervenes.

Mr. Phillips has undertaken the bold task of convincing the public that Mr. Owen Arthur is as much to blame as anybody else for the economic slide that is now taking us into financial ruin and possibly oblivion. Any Minister of Finance, who left the country with perhaps all the problems he had inherited, should not be elevated to God like status. Arthur has been given a lot of credit where none was due. There are shop keepers and those who only keep shop. The only real difference between Sinckler and Arthur might be the fact that Arthur can claim he is an economist by training. They are selling the same bread in different bread carts, the result will be the same. Drowning men will clutch at a straw; Mr. Arthur is the straw of choice at this moment.

The simple truth is that as we approach fifty years of nationhood, our country finds its infrastructure in danger of becoming shambled. These two parties should be praised for what they have done and we should not be afraid to remind them that things they should have done they left undone and things they should not have done they brazenly did. Two glaring examples should suffice: Who will invest over one hundred million in a cricket stadium to see the West Indies get beat and leave old mains in the ground leaking water? That will be our friends at Roebuck street. Who will invest nearly fifty million in an office building and leave old water mains in the ground? That will be our friends at George Street. Same difference.

So in steps Mr. Phillips with his Solutions for Barbados and like all third parties, he finds himself often coming up for oxygen. Very hard to hold ones breath because of the polluted waters that are the trade mark of the BLP and DLP. Only problem is that he honestly believes that only those who have successfully managed business for a period of time and have employed a certain number of people, should get the opportunity to run the country. He may be shocked to know that over the last fifty years or so we have had quite a number of such persons in parliament and look wuh happen.

My advice to Mr. Phillips is to exclude lawyers and economists and try everybody else, except Sinckler!

168 responses to “Who Will Save Barbados?”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Wikileaks

You are the only person who posted about this item

And you will notice that not one person even responded to your submission.

I wondered regarding your posts about the Remington 700 7.62×51.

That is a very accurate weapon at great distance and is very dangerous in the wrong hands. This is a killer’s gun this is not for sports. And we have 10 weapons. Ten killers, and elite kill team. mercenaries.

The mere fact that the National Intelligence Officer, sorry the US Embassy became involved is to be noted as an item of interest.

Why were you searching these documents though? WHO ARE YOU?

You did not use another Nom de Plume that was nondescript, you used a magnet, yet, as you saw, in your magnet of 11,51 a.m. you saw that all these brass bowls, did not even see your posts rather none responded nary a fellow!!

The response from the then Commissioner was on June the 12th but the enquiry was February 8th. Four months, 4 months for you to interview an Inspector who is in your office.

And in 2007 too.

Wow. So we have the wiretapping and this

It would be very interesting to know who this Sports Imports is and how many weapons they have imported over the years.

One can only hope that the US Embassy discloses further details about this and other parties

Maybe now, with the words “…PolOff also called the procurement officers at both the RBPF and the Royal Barbados Defence Force, both of whom stated that they were not importing these weapons…” reinforced by the National Intelligence Officer of the US Embassy, maybe some of these persons here will see the true face of “despotism” that Owen Seymour Arthur was speaking about. and has refused to expose.

I am sure that neither William Skinner, in his enthusiasm and support for Granville Phillips II, nor the pedantic Granville II himself, will notice the depth and profoundity of your find, nor will they care for what is an article that itself is seriously worthy of a blog.

Nero fiddled while Rome burned!!

People like Skinner and Granville and ignoramuses like me walk about talking pretty bout making white collar criminal pay fines of 5 times the cost of their theft while the United States of America, with their end point Munitions databases, have seen the inordinate build up of weapons in Barbados under the Troika and are making enquiries.

Wow, look at the letter of response, wow, “my second in command has done this, but i am checking up on it” but why are you interested? Wow.

This is why it is so easy to say “if the debauchery of these people were turned towards national growth, this country would be unstoppable.”

But we just want to be driving MP1 effing one

But I, one who is marked for death, among those of the dissenters who talks long and hard, prior to the Night of the Long Knives, .

But soft, tarry a while my friends, you do not need to use the 7.62 mm on the poor ole man, time has another appointment for me soon.

I have been reading some “documents” that one Lupus sent, portending to a mutually assured, destruction pact.

Men with small parts and women trying to be big men

I will wait and see if this article gets its own blog

2. Chris Sinckler will save us. He will save from ever being rich again, ever being proud again, ever feeling financially safe again.

3. @dribbler reread. Colonel remarks before trying to get on your high horses

4. @Dee Word

If you are following the Doha news the meeting ended with no agreement.

https://t.co/5xTcWcUESx

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces I was confounded by Wikileaks post actually at several levels and frankly could not read in puzzlement. I could not understand why the BDF would be ordering guns through would be ordering guns via a middleman and not directly from source in US.

Obviously the duplicitous nature of the Inspector’s actions were clear but based on the date stamp I concluded this was just another serious backroom matter that had slipped under the radar.

Look, things in Barbados are absolutely dreed…but I don’t have to tell you that do I …this place is going to explode and not in any verbal way as you posited recently, either.

And how YOU know bout guns that are used for killing! Gotta watch you!

@AC thank you but I do not have any higher horse than any other blogger here. I offer my comments frankly objectively and with honesty. Maybe you should try that.

@Colonel, the situation you described at 4:59 PM is the type of BS life issues that I readily accept should not take place. But frankly I have ‘seen’ it too in how Black tourists are treated as compared to white tourists;how a Black businessman is treated compared to his White counterpart….and too that consultant stuff you described.

That petty Black self-hate is a problem and is pervasive. It surely is manifest against returning expats like you but obviously is not specific to your group

My only point was to reinforce that those of us who have lived overseas must appreciate some basic home truths when we plan to reintegrate to the island after a long absence. We have to employ all the skills that helped us navigate life off the island…

…. yes it’s had to come back and sometimes face an insidious type of ‘reverse racism’ but if we are ‘experienced’ as we claim to be then we should be ready for that…

I will not let a small minded JA dampen my plans is all I am saying…not on the rock on which I run bout and guided/tutored’ kids for the love of it as a young volunteer leader. No frigging way.

Now if I come back to start a business then I could be stopped if I am not good enough or can’t generate a client base. But I should have plan to circumvent any deliberate gov’t attempt to stop me (a civil servant who decides he is God) or other serious issues (can’t secure loan for startup etc).

That’s my simple point. If I come back with a plan to do some stuff I should be ready for all eventualities because of years of experience… if I get run bout den I gotta accept some of the blame.

We know these things should not happen but we are all humans!

6. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Shaft, is it your intention to” show up” Barbadians who have remained and built up the Barbados to which you have returned, or are you willing to make a useful contribution? Surely your living and working abroad do not imbue you with any superior ability or wisdom. What is the difference between you and the foreign consultants who ask the locals their opinions, summarize them and charge the GOB millions of dollars? It is this arrogance and condescension that fuel the tension between some returning citizens and those who remained.

7. There is a reason if you want to climb the career ladder and you work for an outfit with a global footprint you have to accept postings in different countries. One becomes expose to different situations and the knowledge gained; the world view, ensures one is able to leverage a wider understanding of what is required to be effective and efficient doing a job. This is what many Barbadians living overseas can offer.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David re DOHA not surprised. Too many moving parts.

I presume you are aware of the imminent major issue between the US and Saudi Arabia. The US Congress has before it a Bill to remove sovereign immunity for any country involved in activities “arising from a terrorist attack that kills an American on American soil.”

The Sauds are livid as they (via their country nationals) would be likely implicated in the 9/11 terrorist activity and thus liable to be sued.

Sooooo the Sauds have threatened to dump $750 billion in Treasury securities and other US assets.

This is some serious sh** and they can’t even squeeze the US with high oil prices.

No wonder these geo-policitical matters make every US president get grey prematurely!

9. @Dee Word

They liquidate 750 billion and reinvest where? This is why Caricom and by extension Barbados must keenly observe these geopoitical events and plot to mitigate the exogenous shocks sure to result from it all.

For the first time, poorer countries are investing more than rich ones in renewables http://econ.st/1SjUm9P

12 retweets 12 likes

10. Back in 1979 , just before the Barbados Defence Force was fully established, and approaching the time when most of those young men , who were snapped up by the British Army back in 1961 , were due for demob, the government of the day, under Tom Adams sent a delegation to the United Kingdom and the British Army of the Rhine,in Germany ,to try to persuade these men to return to Barbados. In my opinion the biggest mistake was bringing these men back to just serve in the Defence Force. Among them were members of the Royal Signals, the Royal Engineers, the Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers,the Royal Army Ordnance Corps, the Royal Corps of Transport and many of the other specialist Corps.Men who were well respected in what some would call the “White Man’s army,” In the UK, some of the most enterprising companies, were also waiting outside the various Depot doors, to recruit these type of men into their businesses. Barbados, likewise, should have integrated them into the various government services. We lost a valuable opportunity in capitalising on these men’s skill and expertise. As it happened they were under utilised in the local military, and had to suffer the added indignation of being called ‘Cadavers’ by their grounded Barbadian colleagues.

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

If during the time my house was being searched a glock 19 or smith a Wesson were to be found(those tenses don’t match do they) I am sure that I would get five years!!!

Since it is me I would hazard to say I’d probably get life without the possibility of parole.

An officer, rather former policeman from st lunch gets caught selling firearms to criminals and is kicked off the force.

So inspector Harewood from the office of the Commissioner of Police gets caught falsifying gun records for weapons on a restricted munitions list for wfhich the dope of the weapon was of such caliber that the 10 weapons set off an alarm at the Embassy of the United States of America

And no disciplinary action is brought against the Inspector Harewood who falsified the end user report for not one but ten such weapons??

Is this man still on the police force???

Was he brought up on disciplinary matters?

Is this story being censored?

Dribbler you in Canada so you are sorta safe but why people frighten talking about this matter?

Wiki leaks why you don’t write to the Blogmaster and ask that this article be started as a block.

I am sure that it will draw a few people possibly including former PM Arthur

12. Barbados government has something to smile about, for now!

12 minutes ago

Oil plunges by most in 2 months after Doha talks end without deal http://bloom.bg/1qQXBtj

13. Vincent Haynes Avatar

de pedantic Dribbler April 17, 2016 at 2:46 PM #

I am not in Bim but last I knew a hefty tax exists for green vehicles……as I intimated previously the merchant class (import&sell) controls Bim.

The Colonels words resonate….I recall in the 70’s a person who is now deceased decided to pursue a venture using the Ag.Loan bank for money,I may add he was highly qualified in his field and was told by an officer equally dead that such a venture was not for him…..nothing changes.

14. @Vincent

The government reduced the tax to be paid on hybrids.

To encourage use of transport systems which utilise alternatives to fossil fuels, some special concessions now apply. Hybrids, solar energy, compressed natural gas and LPG vehicles now attract an excise tax at a fixed rate of 20%, a rate far lower than that of regular cars.

15. Vincent Haynes Avatar

David April 18, 2016 at 5:28 AM #

Well lets be thankfull for small mercies.

If they were really serious all taxes would be removed and tax incentives given back to the poppuli to go green……the technology and application exists in Bim to turn our little 2×3 into a fully green island…..but to do that will be like emancipation when the planter class was paid to give up slavery due to the losses that would be incurred…….in 2016 read merchant class instead…..note too that a satisfied population is not part of any ones political agenda.

16. @ David,
    It is somewhat inconceivable to believe that our governments do not understand or pay attention to geopolitical developments. Most of the changes that are now happening worldwide had their genesis after World War 2. Japan is a prime example of this. It is not that we did not know or understand because if we look at many of our political leaders and intellectuals of the 60s they were more than competent to analyse world socio economic trends. They, the emerging political and intellectual class chose to interpret them from the narrow confines of their own political construct. Hence by the time the information highway started to take shape , we were still asleep and we have essentially remained asleep eversince. The only way forward is to first admit that we have collectively fooled ourselves that sea water and sand would be our perpetual saviour. We now have one-legged economies throughout the region. Barbados is a prime example of this! Where there is a one legged economy, the reality of perishing is present. That is why Arthur can speak so glowingly now because he is no longer the political animal he used to be. Where was this enlightening and forward thinking Arthur for the fourteen odd years he was in complete control of the affairs of the country. The same can b asked of Barrow, Williams, Burnham, Bradshaw, Bird etc . all leaders who were dedicated to propping up the colonial system they inherited because at the end of the day it served their political and power interest. Hence we had a most brilliant intellect such as Williams being consumed by party politics. Barrow was more concerned with alienating the black nationalist movement(1974 Public Order act)in order to appease white people. Williams had the same attitude toward the Black power movement. Arthur wasted his intellect by engaging in fantasy strong man maximum leader politics. Mottley has clearly demonstrated she is cut of the same cloth re; Maria Agard. We dont spend our time applying ourselves to real socio economic change. We have our political parties to protect. That is why Mascoll can cross the floor just like Hamilton Lashley. It does not matter. We are our own worst enemy swimming in a polluted ocean of intellectual hypocrisy and a rampant desire to be little iron men/women lording over the citizens. Only thing missing is the whip , horse and cork hat. Everyday it becomes more difficult in knowing who are the animals and who are the humans.

17. @Vncent

The conundrum the government finds itself is that hybrids must be charged by households from the national grid. The incentives must occur in parallel at the household level to convert/install RE systems to generate power (intermittent). If not we are spinning top in mud.

18. @ David,
    The real question is: How many citizens would be able to afford an electric car costing $40,000 USD. When that car lands here it could cost $200,000BDS. The solution could well be to allow citizens to purchase scooters tax free. That may have a greater impact especially in urban areas. Park the car and scooter to work. Think about solutions that we can apply almost immediately.

19. @William

You will have different bands, the idea is to implement a holistic solution to satisfy economic and social needs.

20. @ David,
    Your interjections seem to be often based on the belief that those in control of our destiny are totally oblivious to what is going on in the world. I find that very difficult to believe when two year old children already know how to “google it”. Why are we finding it so difficult to accept that the white colonial structure is still in place and it is now being used by” black skin” white thinkers to perpetuate lordship over their essentially black citizens. I assure you that none of the decisions made by our black political managerial class has any REAL effect on the livelihoods of our white citizens. They control enough of the wealth of the country to manipulate willing so-called leaders. Have you or anybody else seen one white citizen in de papers laid off from NCC or among the 3000 plus that get send home? Let’s call a spade a spade and cut out the excuses.

21. @ William Skinner at 6:14 AM
    Masterful analysis of our situation.
    Short sighted leadership by narrow minded political operatives, whose only real objectives have always been selfish and self-sustaining.

A CLEAR sign of a REAL leader has often been their RELUCTANCE to lead …and their having to be FORCED to take up the role….. a la…. King David, Mandela, Churchill, Caswell? 🙂

@ Vincent
    Following up on William’s analysis, R.E. will never be able to take off in Barbados because the government is MUCH TOO committed to the revenues that are being generated from the taxes on the very anti-R.E. shiite that is killing us….
    …Gas guzzling cars – $200% taxes
    …Fossil fuels – Unbelievable markups and shenanigans being done through National Terminals Ltd and BL&P
    …Taxes on luxury goods that should NEVER be part of our champagne diet

It is like a church that gets 90% of its income from its congregation of ladies of the night and their pimps …calling for an end to prostitution …because the book says so….
    Their hearts will never be in it…

If you want something useful to do, have a good, slow read of the parable of the ten virgins – try to understand the story being told…
    The value of RE will soon become VERY clear to all of us, but perhaps even less that five will have provided adequate ‘oil’ in their lamps when that time comes….

22. @William

Not disagreeing with you at all. Do not become confused with how BU will craft responses from time to time.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Judging from the Ionics scam and from what is being revealed on that thread, Bajans will have to get up off their asses, take a stand and save themselves from the greedy, hateful and uncaring politicians and the corrupt, viciously greedy criminals who operate within the private sector, as business people.

And I also find it beyond strange why the descendants of slaves never ask, neither does the black governments, how do the less than 10,000 minorities on the island live and survive very well and most in luxury and have been for decades, when so few of them have or hold traditional jobs and most who hold these jobs are alwsys in a mangerial position….ya’ll better start asking these very important questions, because for decades, many of these minorities have been living off the backs of the majority…..FOR FREE.

25. William Skinner April 18, 2016 at 7:29 AM #

Chuckle….would suggest you visit Glenburnie/Zoares/New Castle and tell those poor descendant of the indentured servants how they control the wealth of Bim.

One percent of virtually all countries control 80% of the wealth of the land.

26. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Now we have this one wanting an apology for slavery……to who and by whom is my question?

When will my fellow Pelaus stop begging and get up of their respective arses and do like Singapore and force the world to humbly come to them…..pardon…what….bunch of mendicants.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/80233/-sorry

27. Ronnie Woodyear Avatar
    Ronnie Woodyear

Who will save Barbados?

Probably “albino” taxpayers.

Nigeria signally fails to give a shite.

28. Ronnie Woodyear Avatar
    Ronnie Woodyear

What albino what? Smiley face. Exclamation.

We all gut get dem collarless shirts onan what albino what?

We come 197th on the PISA score?

Why? Slavery, nuh, has yuh hearwuhloss,what skippa what.

29. Ronnie Woodyear Avatar
    Ronnie Woodyear

Welly welly is back. Caw bleah and wuhloss!!!

This fecking halfwit, the shopping-channel shut-in cretin spending his idiot days on what many are “we blog” has got we bawlinn!!!

30. Certainly its not the church that is going to save Barbados,as they appear to be in collusion with politicians. What I find most distasteful , is that last week many of the clergymen in Barbados were up in arms with the Barbados Lottery over its decision to institute lotto draws on Sundays. Yet only a few days have gone by, and we saw last Sunday, at least two Churches in Barbados, namely St Patricks RC Cathedral and St Philip Anglican Parish Church ,downgrading the priority of worshiping and serving Jesus Christ in preference for a political party and politicians, who they allow to talk politics in the house of God, in place of a sermon. As far as I am concern no politician , should be allowed to stand up in any church and preach, unless he or she is a lay preacher like Vic Johnson , Sleepy Smith or own his own 5 million dollar megga church.
    What bloody hypocrites we Barbadians are

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Colonel…they are all frauds and if Bajans would get off their collective asses and expose them as the frauds that they are and stop enabling them and their bribers in the minority group, if the politicians would their intelligence and manage the coutry effectively effectively, devoid of corruption, instead of forever begging for bribes from some scam attached to taxpayer funded contracts, everything will be equal or close to it and EVERYONE will prosper.

Of course, many of the criminal element in the minority population who have benefited from the greed and corruption emanating from parliament and the business community over the last 4 decades…..will never want that to happen, they will crawl out from under their rocks and holler.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

*if the politicians would use their intelligence. …

Even my goddamn fingers know the local politicians have very little to no intelligence to use…..steupss.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Told ya…lol

34. Certainly its not the church that is going to save Barbados…
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Has anyone contemplated the possibility of NO salvation….?
    Fairy tales always end with a hero rushing in at the last moment…
    But real life mostly ends with death and decay.. unless intelligent inputs are applied…

35. Who will save Barbados?

Certainly, not the returning expatriates because the native Barbadians are quite hostile to any introduction of the foreign ideas, and I can’t fault them,because me myself was once ignorant and closed minded as they’re as a resident of the infinitesimal island.

36. Bush Tea April 18, 2016 at 4:23 PM #

Bingo. And maybe not the Church, but really, seriously, only God can now.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frightening. ..

38. understands Agard is a regular member of that church, bet mottley could not resist the temptation of having this odd display of photo op even in church
    ROflmasof

39. On occasions such as these , I always sit in the very back of the church, nearest the door, as I always feel that God is not going to miss such an excellent opportunity to bring the roof crashing down on the heads of these frauds.

40. Now we are beginning to see why many people, old and young,in every walk of life, are beginning to turn their backs on the church. The same way these politicians make laugh and sport at the very people who vote them into office, they are also making laughing sport at God and the church,aided and abet ed by the so-called disciples of Christ.

41. @David April 17, 2016 at 3:55 PM “there is an unexplained hostility towards Barbadians who have lived overseas for a lengthy period. It has manifested itself in the last 10 years when those who emigrated in the 60s started to retire to Barbados, their home. It is a group ripe for the social scientists to explore. Barbadians see this group in the diaspora as a potential money tree yet on the flipside there appears to be some societal tension. ”

Ahh David because some of them treat some of us as though we are so stupid that we cannot cross a road without assistance.

You know that I always have a story.

A dear returning national friend of mine always insists that whenever he comes to Barbados that BARBADOS gives him a cold. I tried explaining endless times that if you sit on a closed tube (that is an aeroplane) for ten hours with hundreds of strangers some of whom are bond to have the cold or even the flu that you are far more likely to catch a cold from one of the hundreds of people seatted in the same tightly enclosed space as sitting on a beach or verandah in Barbaods.

But no this well educated person insists that my sweet beloved Barbados makes him sick.

So yeah David sometime I get more than a little testy.

42. And David please do a little reading on “REVERSE CULTURE SHOCK” and then come back again.

43. @David April 17, 2016 at 8:14 PM “There is a reason if you want to climb the career ladder and you work for an outfit with a global footprint you have to accept postings in different countries. One becomes expose to different situations and the knowledge gained; the world view, ensures one is able to leverage a wider understanding of what is required to be effective and efficient doing a job. This is what many Barbadians living overseas can offer.”

David I can’t tell you how many immigrants land in New York, or London or Toronto and NEVER move 100 miles from Heathrow or Kennedy or Pearson.

I know, I know.I shouldn’t expose that dirty little secret.

44. @Colonel Buggy April 18, 2016 at 10:56 PM “Now we are beginning to see why many people, old and young,in every walk of life, are beginning to turn their backs on the church.”

But Colonel: The church has never been a museum for saints. It has always been, and is, and will always be a hospital for sinners.

45. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Excellent point made by Andrew Bynoe in his letter on page 16 of 18 Apr,”Barbados Today” ,one which I totally agree with……time we had more thinkers like him instead of these mendicant leaders.

46. @ Vincent Haynes,

Try telling the Jews to forget the holocaust. I guess w should tell our local Jewish community to forget about all the restoration work they are doing in Bridgetown and simply embrace Mr. Bynoe’s “brave new world” and build skyscrapers.

47. @David

That photo of Mia and Maria next to each other is priceless, a cartoonist could have a field day with that e.g. placing knives in the hands of all the participants; the Priest intoning “the congregation will now rise and sing (How great thou art)” or since it is a Catholic Church the Priest telling the congregation “For political reasons we will dispense with (Hail Mary (Maria) as that may cause a disturbance in Church”.