Submitted by Solutions Barbados

solutions_barbadosManaging our national economy can be likened to managing a home. While there may be complaints about the food, washing, maintenance, and other services, if the mortgage loan is not repaid, then the occupants will suffer the trauma of being forced out of their home, and their previous complaints would become entirely irrelevant.

We are being manipulated into making complains about government services the primary criteria for judging the performance of those managing our economy. The primary measure of their performance is the risk to making those mortgage payments. Complaints about services is an important secondary concern. Of course, if we were not in debt, then the service complaints would become the primary concern.

Continuing with the home analogy, the bank (IMF) recommends that our debts not exceed 40% of our gross salaries (GDP). They have now grown to over 135% of our gross salaries and we have received repeated warnings by the bank about our ability to repay the debt. Concerned citizens have implored the current administration (DLP) to listen to better advice, but the DLP seems intent on only trusting their current advisors until the bitter end.

Many think that the solution is to go back to the previous administration (BLP). However, they brought us from the safe debt of around 35% GDP to the unnecessary 90% GDP on the sorry excuse that low-interest loans were available. It takes no special competence to negotiate a low-interest loan if you are within the safety of the responsible 40% GDP debt ceiling.

It should be noted that while the 2009 Moody’s downgrade occurred during the current DLP administration, Moody’s blamed the downgrade on the recklessness of the previous decade, which started when the BLP crossed the debt ceiling of 60% GDP, which the IMF recommended as the limit for advanced economies like Germany. But we wanted to ‘punch above our weight’, and used the deficit financing option irresponsibly.

By the measure of risk to repaying our loan obligations, crossing the safety of the 40% GDP debt limit to over 90% GDP, and more than doubling the national debt from $4.3B to $9.2B, must rank the previous administration as our worst. The current administration is behaving as if that is an enviable position to pursue.

https://solutionsbarbados.com/2016/04/14/brace-for-impact/

Best regards,
Grenville

79 responses to “Solutions Barbados Blames the BLP and DLP for High Debt to GDP”

1. in a booming economy what was the need for the OSA administration to engage in such heavy borrowing .it would be interesting to know what where the terms conditions of the loans and what were the influences/factors involved that permeate an environment for such action

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What about the current loans…again I ask, if there can be no turn around in the economy in 8 years, how can it turn around in 28 years by DBLP. An economy with a 1/4 billion population was turned around in 7 years, jobs galore. What is the problem with a 14×21 island populated by 270,000…what is the problem with the leaders.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

they dont know what they doing

4. GP and you do! is that why your backside is stuck in that hell hole

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

better than being stuck in bim under fumble and the dees ah lie?

6. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ David, I notice that both Solutions and the CUP ate using the expression “next party”. May I claim royalties?

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

*ARE

8. @Jeff

Not sure the SB will appreciate the comparison. Grenville has been hosting lectures, writing voluminously in the press and social media, on the talk show etc. What has the CUP been up do except braying about land fraud?

9. Good idea but poor execution and cannot work as a one man show.

10. The new jamaicain administration run on a promise to cut taxes. I am expecting this blp to use a similar tactic. But buyer beware unless the blp can state how they are going to reduce debt and restructer and diversify the economy on lower taxes the the promise of tax cuts would only serve the rich while the poor would have to pick up the slack in service fees
    I also remember another influential person by the name of Ronald Reagean using a similar strategy called trickled down economics..Buyer be Beware

11. @Kammie

How do you know that it is a one man show? Give Grenville some time to work his strategy. He is not a JA you have to admit.

12. Keep at it Mr Phillips and dont be dismayed if you come home with an empty bag next election.Trust and believe Bajans will be forced to vote in alternatives as the next government will be a monumental failure as well.Perseverance seldom fails.

13. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Jeff. I somehow preferred “Ate” as in gullible.!!
    @ac you should not really anticipate what will be in the BLP manifesto based on what was in the JLP’s manifesto. The philosophies of the two parties are fundamentally different. The only things they have in common are the L and P.

14. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

The analogy of a mortgage chosen by Solutions is unfortunate. Mortgages are usually more than four times the size of the borrowers’ annual salary. These are only rules of thumbs . That is a starting point. A more fundamental analysis is also carried out based on character , track record of the borrower etc. In the last restructuring process in the 1990s investors put GOB debentures in their investment portfolios and kept them to maturity. Such is /was the reputation of Barbados acountry noted for making sensible decisions in its finacial affairs. Has anything changed since then?

15. Construction funded through borrowing under the BLP, and civil/structural engineers used:
    Kensington Oval – CEP Ltd
    Judicial Centre – CEP Ltd
    GAIA – CEP Ltd
    Grenville Phillips I I – Director, CEP Ltd 2004-2011

16. Vincent Haynes Avatar

With the ageing population growing in Bim it would be usefull to hear a discussion on reverse mortgages from any of the parties looking to lead this country and hopefully BARP will continue to air this point.

17. @enuff

What is the point you are making. Did CEP tender for the work? Did CEP respond to an RFP?

18. reverse mortgages lol ….the companies would all go bankrupt, every week somebody new reaches 100 I cant imagine how many 80 or 90 year olds.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….longevity will kill them off…lol

20. One word–TRANSPARENCY. Or is that selectively and or situationally applied?

21. The analysis here is one dimensional. The underlying reason for the sky high debt is not just that leaders are incompetent and reckless.It is that we have a political system that requires elections every five years, and most of the voters are poor, greedy people who put relentless pressure on those incompetent reckless leaders for handouts and freebies. The voters are plundering the state, and they hire the most corrupt party available to help them do the job.
    We would be better off as a British colony with an unelected governor.

22. @enuff

Why not state what is on your mind? Are you suggesting that Grenville should discuss contracts entered with government when he was part of CEP?

23. Would any one give a person their businesses! their house or property to manage when their style of management resulted in unsustainable ! unsecured and uncontrollable debt that is how the BLP administration operated and managed the Barbados economy in fourteen years
    Now the LOOP comes out with excrement with her attacks and criticisms hash tag “culture of silence ” how about for once her involvement by engagement with the population int a “Culture of Solutions”

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ mr Phillips

Let me start by saying your heart is in the right place and you do essay to respond civilly to all who query, confront or assault you.

So, without much ado about my past observations let me see how I can assist in what you and others like you are seeking to do for Barbados.

There are certain streets in this world where if you went with your pristine proper manners you would be chewed up and I say that to gently suggest that your ideas about how you will treat white collar and other crime need to be revisited and revised in light of the realities that we are seeing across our Bim.

I get the impression that you are already well aware of your strengths and your weaknesses but, because your forces are not at critical mass as yet you are keeping quiet with the hoe that this will happen through osmosis. There is nothing wrong with being a force of one but if you indirectly convey something other than that status through statement like “the rest are not prepared to show themselves right now” after a while their absence becomes an albatross for you and some may accuse you of lying.

A force of one is good, if I, like David, “come to slay you in the name of the Living GOD”

You may have already realized that David while chosen by the Lord for the first task was not appointed to build the Dwelling Place of GOD, you may champion SB but may have another lead it.

The “undecideds ” around Barbados form a huge chunk of the population rather the electorate today and your message has to resonate with them, ten years in business and ten employees, will not cut it, that absolutism of qualification is a recipe for disaster and will kill your initiative in utero

People want integrity and commitment and competence and while there is no dna test to definitively confirm that, the task is going to be to use all means to convey that to the audience.

If Patrick Todd can be voted in then you can run a goat in The City of Bridgetown and possibly be successful. The thing is that Bajans are tired of the ineptitude of Bostic or Todd both of whom sit in the government benches and do nothing.

We collectively see where nothing, at a monthly salary of $17,000, has gotten us.

A Solutions Barbados which said that it would run on a commitment that none of it members would take a salary for its first 3 months in office would’ in addition to getting you noticed, would show the financial stolidity of your candidates as being people of means, prior to going into politics

The commitment of the leader of that party to say that he will not take one cent for 6months until his duly elected party resolve 1. Integrity legislation 2. Freedom of Information and 3. The Power of Recall would be an additional jumpstarter for your lukewarm movement.

Publish your tax statement and assets today to show that you are a man who lives by his words.

The thing is that few of you have a clue about how , in the absence of anything, to inspire confidence in the people who right now have lost faith in the BLP and the DLP

Success favour S the bold. Stop with these mamby pamby sentiments and get real serious people as advisors on the key issues that will permit the smooth running of our economy that is required today.

Your current slate of proposals are at best not “real-world and at worst well….I shall be kind and say that they need refashioning

You have to ensure that you are not offering the people the same jobby as the rest of charlatans while lobbying Mia

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“and most of the voters are poor, greedy people who put relentless pressure on those incompetent reckless leaders for handouts and freebies.”

Chad…that would make the voters poor and NEEDY and they are kept that way by both political parties so that they can accumulate and grow yardfowls…..every 5 years, they repeat.

26. As a predominant Back country we (Barbadians) must be motivated to protect the Black brand.

One of Britain’s first black judges is thrown out of the profession

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And Chad..why do you want to go BACK to colonialism…why not ask for shackles and chains while ya at it, dont go half way, ask to reinstitue slavery too….damn.

28. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

This man have no idea about why Barbados in this mess, He feels all is well and he can run a business with out knowing the cause of the pain in Barbados. . He is still not willing to charge and lock up Ministers nor Lawyers for crimes. Nothing will change if they win, He is a 3rd Party not the Next. He is not on the side of the people, but on the side of the business man. He was giving a book by a white man at his meeting the book title first word was LAND.

@ lawson , they cant do reverse mortgages without clear titles deeds, unless you go where it all started at FIRST CARIBBEAN BANK , just wait from an AUDIT. SO WE CAN SEE WHERE THEIR ASS-SITS.

VOTE C.U.P FOR CLEAR TITLE DEEDS.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ WW&C

That wasn’t what Chad with all the 9s said.

He said that the poverty of the majority of the people in conjunction with the endemic mendicancy coupled with the term of office, exacerbated by the poverty of the elected and the paucity of ideas they bring leads him to propose that independence was not a good choice if, with these so called self determinations we now possess we are so bad off

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

In the above case, protecting the “black brand” means protecting oneself and the brand from engaging in anything dishonest and low class that in her case brought disrepute to herself and the profession.

It would be nice to see some local lawyers practicing their usual crap in UK or US and eventually get to watch themselves in the media…after.

I am told that some local lawyers help insurance companies not only falsify witness statements, but help bribe false witnesses to testify and lie, before a judge in the supreme court. …In such a case….all the players, from the jnsurance executives, their lawyers and back down, should be imprisoned for decades, how is thst protecting the black brand.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…I understand perfectly what Chad said….but what he dont get is that the behaviors of these political asses, is a direct symptom of colonial rules aftermath.

32. No! I am saying if you’re going to write an article criticising government for borrowing money, which funded projects that you benefitted from personally in a professional capacity, you should let the reader know. Especially when at the time of collecting the cheques, your sacred 40% was long exceeded yet you remained silent. Is there a document by Grenville during those years of him criticising the over 40% debt to GDP? I can remember him criticising the absence of a building code.

33. Grenville means well, but this particular challenge is a bit much for anyone.

The FACT however, is that he is technically correct that it will take EXPERIENCED and PROFESSIONAL business leaders to successfully manage a billion-dollar economy like ours, that is ALREADY in disarray.
    ANYONE who suggest otherwise has to be ignored as an idiot. The idea that someone who would NEVER be considered to manage ‘Piggies’ in Shereton could be expected to successfully manage the whole country is ludicrous – no matter how many brass bowls feel so…

Politically, of course, there is NO POSSIBILITY that a party of businessmen will EVER be elected by popular vote in Barbados. In any case, given the couple hundreds years of our history when exactly this arrangement was in place, NO ONE in their right mind would even WANT to see such an arrangement again.

The solution is ,of course, already on the board via BU’s Ten-Point plan.

We elect our parliamentarians as normal (selling votes and all ..if that makes us happy)- and fill the HoA with typical Bajan brass bowls as we have been doing…
    …only now, we will LIMIT their roles to GOVERNANCE, ceremonies and shiite -talking.
    To manage the country’s business, we then advertise, recruit and hire professional managers (like any serious BIG business would).

The politicians can pass laws, cuss each other, trade insults and generally have a ball…. and the managers are insulated from their direct political directives …since they report only to a special ‘Cabinet’ that is concerned only with meeting performance targets and to a National Supervisory Committee …that is concerned with transparency, integrity and the rule of Law.

This way, Grenville gets to have his (obviously needed) professional management, and Bajans get to elect their sweet-talking shiite-hounds and political comedians as is our wont…

@ Enuff
    Stop talking shiite do!!
    So if some idiot decides to blow his fortune by buying some luxury that he cannot afford in the long term should a businessman in the business of selling such luxuries refuse to sell to him…?

…you just vex because, like Bushie, Grenville CORRECTLY pinpoints your man OWEN as the ROOT cause of our current peril…

34. @Bush Tea

Grenville should expect to be attacked by the establishment. Did you listen to statsman yesterday on the talk show?

35. @Bush Tea

Sorry, switched the comment to this blog. He is entitled to his view. What can one say.

36. Bushtea
    Like I said, selective. Get thee behind me you hypocrite!! Wunna just talk the talk, but only walk when it suits wunna, that’s why Thompson fooled wunna. Public policy and management is not the same as private sector management. Not to mention we are talking about a private sector that depends heavily on government contracts and rules bending for their “success”. What transformative policies these so called business leaders (Grenville says business owners/EMPLOYERS which is not necessarily the same) can bring to the table? Tax free salaries for civil servants?

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman’s 10 pointer should be a starter in moving us away from the repetitive and nauseating analogy and constant references to colonial times, that has become a very useless and constant reminder of being stuck in a time warp, too easy to fall back on, definitely time to move onward, upward and upgrade those brain cells.

38. @Enuff
    Like I said, selective. Get thee behind me you hypocrite!!
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Skippa… NOT Bushie and that shiite yuh hear?!!
    You probably want Peter…

Look back on BU and you will see that Bushie was cussing Owen LONG before Thompson usurped Mascoll…
    Owen was always intelligent enough, man enough, and experienced enough to take the steps NEEDED to get Barbados back on the right track.

ADDITIONALLY, he understood better that most, the DIRE consequences of NOT doing so… (as can be seen from the same impromptu speech at that Public/Private sector consultation…)

But instead, he got caught up in CSME shiite, and found himself personally UNABLE to deal with the money-hungry leeches running some of his ministries…

Conversely…
    Poor Fruendel has NO CLUE what to do….or even how to wake up…
    David Thompson just wanted power and money… and was also too compromised to deal with corruption…

So no point in blaiming the clueless Froon…and..
    Thompson already paid his Karma..

Shiite man… Grenville is right…
    …the only one worth cussing is Owen… he has sense and should have done better.
    ….You too… 🙂

39. @Bush Tea

Arthur attempted to deal with the army of occupation and other challenges by appointing many many consultants.

40. Who the cap fits. On that note have a nice day.

41. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea April 16, 2016 at 7:55 AM #

Chuckle….Bushy….could you point out these individuals and their countries…..

The FACT however, is that he is technically correct that it will take EXPERIENCED and PROFESSIONAL business leaders to successfully manage a billion-dollar economy like ours, that is ALREADY in disarray….

Would love you to name individuals in the international bussines sector as well.

42. @ David
    Arthur attempted to deal with the army of occupation and other challenges by appointing many many consultants.
    He actually UNDERSTOOD the danger….
    …which is why Bushie likes to cuss his donkey (and Enuff’s 🙂 ).

BUT….
    Not only did he appoint lots of ‘consultants, but he also created lots of shiite departments that only adds to the problem while allowing him to talk about initiating ‘solutions’…

The Productivity Council is the second biggest waste of money in the whole public service. Bunch of jokers walking about talking shiite …while national productivity falls to record levels.

The biggest one of course is the ‘Office of Public Sector Reform’ … ha ha ha LOL ..he created YET another of the same shiite entities that needed closing down…

The Defence Force Sports program is the funniest one though… they hire the best sportsmen from the various clubs to play for the BDF …so that this waste-of-time entity would seem to be good at something….

@ Enuff
    ….man don’t go…
    COME BACK NUH….
    Bushie done cussing yuh…!!!

43. When devious adults enthrall other simple minded adults with puerile comments such a “Barbados is more than a economy…” the result is unfortunately disaster. See our future in

However Solutions Barbados has NO solutions.

44. Enuff:

Your irresponsible comments are the ONLY reason why our candidates are encouraged to continue maintaining their businesses and employees, and not become publically associated with Solutions Barbados, regardless of the very reasonable and fully justified requests that they be revealed now.

Our candidates care too much about their employees, their families and dependents to risk them being unemployed in this challenging economy – which is exactly what your comments may achieve. The risk is substantially lower if we are closer to the general elections.

I have promised to clean up this vile political trench, that can destroy professional reputations that took decades to build, as much as I am able, in order to prepare the way for our candidates. I have also promised to protect our candidates from wicked persons like yourself with all of the resources available to me. May you fall into the same pit that you are trying to dig for others. After you have suffered there a while, please contact me and I promise you that I will pray for your release.

Needless to say, you do not have my best regards at this time.
    Grenville

45. @Grenville, rule #1 despite being human never poke anyone in the eye when they have poked you in the eye. The barbs will come and if you cannot take the simple criticisms it will deflate your passion. How are you selecting candidates? How will these 12 mystery persons remain unknown when they canvass? Stop the excuses if you want to be taken beyond AIDA aka Attention Interest Desire Action.

Oh by the way, the suggested removal of public servants from paying income tax is a bad move. The 10% tax rate is a suggestion totally unsound that would guarantee Barbados becoming a failed state beyond Haiti in a matter of days of Solutions Barbados becoming the government.

Be ever mindful, they who angers you, controls you. Always remember to DTIP!

46. @Kammie

Anything to report on the Green Party that was mooted last year? Doesn’t the Cahill fiasco provide a good intro?

@Bush Tea > > Arthur attempted to deal with the army of occupation and other challenges > by appointing many many consultants. > > >

47. @Grenville
    I merely stated facts gleaned from CEP website and your own information online. I did not fabricate my comments; nor did I say you were wrong to benefit from government contracts or questioned the legitimacy of such contracts. My position was, and is, that you should have disclosed that you were involved in projects funded by monies borrowed. I guess doing so would have shed some light on some of the reasons for borrowing and would have poked some holes in your reasoning.
    The fact that asking for the “next” party to be transparent is seen as wicked says a lot about you. How can you be serious about cleaning up the “vile political stench (sic)” but ignore the lack of transparency, which many belief to be a prominent feature of the same stench and is often highlighted here on BU and across the length and breadth of Barbados?
    You speak as though you’re guaranteed victory at the polls. In the event that Solutions loses the election will it’s candidates’ and their employees’ welfare no longer be of concern?
    In closing, there’s no need to pray for me as I suspect any prayers from you would be insincere. Best regards.

48. Grenville Phillips posing as a Barbadian version of Diogenes is so pathetic.

49. Hi PUDR:

Not taking a salary for a period of time is a god idea. Thank you. An improvement is that collectively, the cabinet should not take a salary in the first month until activities that can reasonably take one month to accomplish are completed – like abolishing the lifetime pension arrangement for politicians, abolishing the power of politicians to appoint civil servants, addressing any corruption through fines, starting the ISO 9001 process in government departments, etc.

We can then extend that to no payment after the 3rd month if the 3-month critical activities are not met, eg, whistle-blower legislation, training PS’ and their assistants in project management, returning statutory corporations to the management of the PS’, reducing taxes, starting a new national bank, etc.

Hi Enuff:

During the last BLP administration, the economy was growing. Therefore, there was little reason to complain about the economy. Like most persons, I believed the Government and did not examine the financial statements. I heard the debt complaints of Mascoll, and his desire to ‘lock horns’ with Arthur, but I assumed that they were disagreeing on academic economic arguments on which I was unqualified to comment. As the critical person courageously warning Barbados about our reckless debts, his inclusion into the BLP now makes sense.

I assumed that the Opposition or the media would explicitly warn us if we were taking on too much debt. I do not think that the IMF reports were as easily accessible to the public as they are today. I was more concerned about the inefficiency of the public service and other domestic matters, and I both wrote and spoke formally about them – not the debt.

Enuff, we were living on borrowed money. During this time we more than doubled our national debt and exceeded the safe 40% GDP debt limit to over 90% GDP – hastening us to the non-negotiable directives of the IMF. Ask the Guyanese whether their 70% devaluation (in one year), doubling of income tax (in one year), and 75% of the population in poverty after the IMF stabilization programme was worth the cost of the excessive borrowing.

Regards,
    Grenville

50. @Grenville

A downside to the recommendation in quotes is that quality candidates will be dissuaded from serving in politics to replace those who now enter to pay the bills.

Not taking a salary for a period of time is a god idea. Thank you. An improvement is that collectively, the cabinet should not take a salary in the first month until activities that can reasonably take one month to accomplish are completed – like abolishing the lifetime pension arrangement for politicians, abolishing the power of politicians to appoint civil servants, addressing any corruption through fines, starting the ISO 9001 process in government departments, etc.

We can then extend that to no payment after the 3rd month if the 3-month critical activities are not met, eg, whistle-blower legislation, training PS’ and their assistants in project management, returning statutory corporations to the management of the PS’, reducing taxes, starting a new national bank, etc.