Cornelius_RalphThorneAs Madam Justice Jacqueline Cornelius accompanied by and photographed with her BLP-candidate husband Mr Ralph Thorne, garners credit for her stance on sexual abuse and harassment and calls for legislation to address same, she appears not to know, and certainly fails to mention, that this issue has been comprehensively addressed by Madam Justice Kaye Goodridge (now Justice of Appeal Goodridge) in 2013 in the case of Margaret Wharton vs the Bank of Nova Scotia. See: http://www.barbadoslawcourts.gov.bb/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Margaret-Wharton-v.-Bank-of-Nova-Scotia.pdf .

The Goodridge decision is now law and binds the Barbados courts. As such, therefore, in the scope of the Goodridge decision, since it is already law, there is little need for legislation in respect of this scope. Cornelius J., in her bid to โ€œchampionโ€ the cause of persons sexually harassed in the workplace, omits to give Goodridge J. credit where credit is due. Why?

While we are most willing to admit that a further codification is likely desirable and the plight of all sexually harassed persons and those the victims of abuse needs to be more comprehensively addressed, to be constantly monitored, to be constantly upgraded and, most importantly, to be rigorously enforced, we are bothered by the sight of a high court judge appearing, as the run-up to a general election is in โ€œpre-productionโ€, accompanied and photographed with an opposition candidate (irrespective of whether it is her husband or not) and making speeches that, by omission, are less than frank and accurate. Far better that Cornelius J. should, like Goodridge JA., use her office to write new law and clarify existing law by way of precedent, than give the appearance of political bias by lack of frankness as to the true state of the law. A judge is allowed in decisions to provide “obiter dicta” and we recommend this to Cornelius J. as a means of publicizing her views on what areas of the existing legislation need to be looked at, rather than relying on a quasi-political platform and trite generalizations suggesting what the opposition, if in power, MIGHT do – a sort of implied manifesto and binds, even if it were an official manifesto, no one, as we all, unfortunately, know.

Cornelius J. might feel impelled to claim, based on this article, that she didnโ€™t know of the Goodridge decision. However, we point out that the case of Wharton vs BNS was reported by both Barbados Today (http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/07/01/youre-wrong-2/ ) and by the same Nation that has been so diligent in regaling the public with reports on the speeches of Cornelius J., (see: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/31892/bank-pay ) along with photos of her and her BLP candidate husband, Mr Thorne. There are inferences to be made here and we can leave that to our readers., some of whom may think, โ€œWomenโ€™s vote for Mr Thorne/BLP?โ€ or โ€œIf Marston goes, who will replace him?โ€ Or even both โ€“ kill two birds with one stone, maybe?

We also need to ask if Cornelius J. has simply failed to register the Goodridge J. decision from almost three years ago, because she is so busy working on her reserved judgements and supporting her politician/QC husband and has no time to concentrate on reading the judgements of her colleagues (now seniors) that bind the courts.

BTW, Madam Justice, how many reserved judgements do you have yet to deliver and how long have litigants been waiting for your decisions on each of them? If the principal of โ€œJustice may neither be sold nor delayedโ€ is not being met by you, is this not an abuse of litigants and their families and equally akin to the abuse that arises from sexual harassment and abuse? Are you familiar with the rules of equity that mandate that one must come before the court with clean hands?

We would also point out that sexual harassment and abuse is not solely attributable to men and that men can be victims too and that women can be the perpetrators โ€“ indeed, sexual abuse and harassment is not solely between men and women, but can be between those of the same sex. For clarification and confirmation, Madam Justice Cornelius, you can seek advice from any of your husbandโ€™s BLP colleagues, from MAM and Kerry down. After all, it is surmised and resoundingly mooted that we lack integrity legislation and FoI because MPโ€™s dare not have it legislated and codified. We are perplexed as to why you, Cornelius J./Ralph Thorne, apparently imagines that further legislation dealing specifically with harassment and abuse would not suffer a similar fate.

BU notes that Mr Thorneโ€™s main claim to fame was his representation of Turks and Caicos Premier Michael Misick, a case in which Thorneโ€™s arguments were decided to be frivolous and vexatious http://www.tciaffairs.net/news/former-tci-premier-michael-misick-lawyer-describes-his-legal-options-as-severely-limited-following-court-ruling/). Another part of this case was lost before the Privy Council (see https://www.jcpc.uk/cases/docs/jcpc-2015-0042-judgment.pdf ). This was an important case that has serious ramifications for Barbados. The genus of the matter was that the lower courts determined that none of its judges could hear a case of corruption and embezzlement against Mr Missick, due to possible conflict of interest and therefore appointed a senior external and highly respected judge from Jamaica. Missick objected, but the Privy Council ruled in a unanimous verdict in 2015 against Missick and upheld the Turks and Caicos courts.

If this PC decision is occasionally adopted in Barbados, it is reasonable to speculate that any cases involving sexual harassment and abuse may well see Cornelius J. having to recuse herself, due to bias and political partisanship, because, God forbid, justice, frankness and transparency should stand in the way of political agendas. Indeed, it may well be successfully argued that Cornelius J. has already rendered herself ineligible to try any cases of this nature that may be placed on her docket and we cite the example of Lord Hofmann in the Pinochet case.

So what have we actually got? We have a high court judge who has flung her hat into the political arena and comprehensively rendered herself ineligible to carry out her office and professional obligations and try cases of a certain nature and has, moreover, failed to recognise existing legislation and precedent in her blind desire to advance the political aspirations of her husband and his political party to grab the womenโ€™s vote. Stupid, as the vast majority of women in Barbados are not only cognitive, but highly intelligent and well able to discern (usually better than men can) when an attempt is being made to pull the political wool over their eyes. In the final analysis, it seems likely that women in Barbados will read with great care and comprehension the judgement of Goodridge J. and reach their own conclusions and not rely on a government headed by Mia, Kerry et al to carry out the implied promises of Mrs Ralph Thorne.

107 responses to “A Conflicted Madam Justice Jacqueline Cornelius”

1. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

just another crook married to a crook looking to make him look better for election

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I read this column with interest and I am of the view that it is a few years late. I well remember Miss Cornelius, prior to becoming a judge, appearing on television pushing her agenda in relation to family law issues. I have always held the view, rightly or wrongly, that a person with such strong views and bias against men, as I saw it, should not hear cases of this nature.

I have not read the judgment of Goodridge J but does it really bind another High Court judge?

In our system, I believe that judges should be heard from the bench and not allow themselves to be seen in situations that could be interpreted as political. In my opinion, those appearances tend to give an undesirable view of the courts.

3. We are fomenting the unnecessary because we continue to operate as if the conditions within the countries we want to emulate are similar to ours. We are also very convenient in highlighting and defining “conflict of interest”.

4. Besides the economic value of a Federal system of governance for the Caribbean Region,the nexus of Parliament and the Judiciary is not to be seen as collusive,therefore the greater the pool of talent available the better for Justice.Insularity breeds strange bed fellows.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The writer of this article is a lawyer without doubt.

The writer is a lawyer who is known to Madame Cornelius better than they are known to Ralph Thorne.

The article is instructive insofar as while its content as such relates to the soundness of reasoning with regard to someone who potentially will ascend to the heights herein spoken of in the coming DLP whitewash there is an element of “gentle” chastising, or counselling without the normal animosity associated with others of the legal fraternity.

The party making the submission posits quite reasonably that this is a joint representation fo the electorate of a husband and wife “team” the female who is eliciting some mileage on the very emotive topic of sexual harassment,

They point to a law and seminal case that has been exhausted on the matter insomuch that this is now law and that this is old meat being rehashed.

So one wonders as follows

Why the article? What does it gain? who benefits from it? What is the constituency that the husband is running for?

Is there another BLP candidate that is running for that seat? (or does the DLP candidate, while seeking to put oil on Mr. Thorne’s, aspirations, can be too vociferous, because they or someone close to them has a matter in front of the Judge”)

A careful read notes a a lack of spirited objection certainly no righteous indignation and definitely no vehemence in the submission and that absence of what some might cal “slash and burn” gives some indication of the author of this items since this was not set in the customary manner of a DLPite seeking to undermine/discredit a BLPite embarked on a voyage to secure a seat in the House of Assembly.

So this seems to be a BLPite observing another BLPite and this gentle undermining is from a party who is known to the object of the soft diatribe.

The mere insertion of Ralph’s publicly declared intentions underscore that, if it had been written as an article that focused on the Madame alone, that would have been enough to elicit discussion regarding matters upon which a judge should not comment since that might, and should cause them to have to recuse oneself thereafter.

Many of these persons have to learn from Jeff Cumberbatch not to speak publicly on any of these matters which WILL COME BACK TO BITE YOU IN YOUR DERRIERE, IF YOU CARE.

This article is targeting Mr. Thorne and not his wife.

The Enemy Within the Gates

6. A lawyer wrote this piece for sure.

Lawyers are all long winded bores.

No wonder our courts have such large backlogs.

Yawn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

How can a first instance decision “bind the Barbados courts”?

8. @Jeff. They cannot. However, having read the decision of Goodridge J., I see it is well founded and very tight and her exposition of existing law is sound, law that Cornelius J. has failed to point out in her much publicised addresses. Justice Goodridge’s reasons are, in my view, well expressed and unassailable and set out with clarity and accuracy exactly how the law stands. Something Cornelius J. has never done. I am disappointed that you have chosen not to engage on Justice Goodridge’s decision and limited yourself to such a relatively minor point.

I agree with the implication of the author that Cornelius J. has compromised herself. I also agree with the measured and well founded and reasoned opinion of @Piece that it does not give the appearance of a DLP vs BLP assault, but tend to disagree that it is an attack on Ralph Thorne. In fact, agreeing with @Piece and going further, I do not think it is a political attack at all, rather it is one that challenges the conduct of a judge. There is certainly an attack, but that attack is against the so-called press that has failed to fulfil its proper function and challenge, was this report does.

The challenge is, I believe, relevant. The independence of the courts appears to have been compromised by Cornelius J. Some may say that it is only her court, but I would disagree, as it sets an extremely dangerous precedent. We are not like the USA where many judges have to stand for election and their appointment is based on politics, rather than their ability as judges. This has been one of the failings of the CJ. He has tried to play politics and I well remember how he excused his failure to be appointed a judge in the USA on lack of funding to go through the political process – it was in one of his post-appointment announcement interviews in, I think, the Nation. If we follow the USA, then our courts officially become the pawns of private and political interests that some say they already, unofficially, are and I disagree with that for the most part. If that were to happen, then an independent judge like Goodridge J., might well find herself compelled to side with an organisation like BNS, rather than with Ms Wharton, irrespective of where the evidence had led her.

Yes I agree that this report is late, but better late than never. I recommend that anyone suffering or who has suffered harassment and abuse ought to read the Goodridge decision, as it also points out certain measures that are advisable, such as if you are claiming psychiatric damage, make sure you go and see a psychiatrist for confirmation as, if you do not, certain remedied and damages will not be available to you, except possibly in the court of Cornelius J., after which you will likely be exposed to the trauma of an expensive appeal where chances are that award will be reversed.

9. I have no idea why Barbados, or most of the rest of the Caribbean, went to the trouble to seek independence from Great Britain. For the last 50 years, we have seen only the most slavish imitation of the intellectual and cultural fads and fashions of western Europe and North America. Our ideas, our laws, our politics, and our conversations are all shoddy second-rate copies of British and American models. Europe and North America do regional trade integration. We rush to do the same. Europe and North America do feminism. We rush to do the same. They legitimize homosexuality. We are following in lock step. They make a fuss about “secular harassment” . The jokers who live here start making the same noises.
    This female judge is a parrot. You don’t need to read anything she has to say, because it has been said many times before, and more eloquently, by equally misguided female jurists in the UK, Canada and the United States.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Wow, Chad9999 and here I am thinking that you were a simpleton of the order highest moron. You actually compelled my curiosity to read a contribution from you that make sense. Good one. the measure of our worth is not the adoption of what others do, but how we have applied it to make our situations better. As you rightfully alluded, we are the type of mocking birds that simply do not understand the noise of the birds.

11. “So what have we actually got? We have a high court judge who has flung her hat into the political arena and comprehensively rendered herself ineligible to carry out her office and professional obligations and try cases of a certain nature and has, moreover, failed to recognise existing legislation and precedent in her blind desire to advance the political aspirations of her husband and his political party to grab the womenโ€™s vote”

Highly speculative.Are you saying that Madame Justice Cornelius should deprive us of her scholarship and intellect just because her husband is seeking political office? I say not. Where does the actual conflict of interest lie in this instance? Where is the evidence to indicate she is pushing her husband’s political agenda or that she has flung herself into the political agenda and rendered herself ineligible to carry out her office and professional obligations and try cases of a certain nature ? Has her professional conduct ever been called into question?

If you want to talk about conflict of interest then you should have referred to the dispute between the NUPW and the GAIA where the Minister of Labour adjudicated and found favour with a decision of which she had already been a part as a member of the Cabinet.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Balance

Ask Mara Thompson. We all thought all along that she was the respectable innocent wife of the David Thompson that Barbadians came to love and eventually hated for his dark secrets. Mara Thompson is now pushing a political agenda for the DLP Piss Poors. Why should one not think that this particular justice will not do the same? A reasonable assertion and plenty of probable cause.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Talking about the legal system and lawyers… Now that the ills of Barbados’ judiciary and legal system is internationally known, spread across the world for everyone to view the rot and decay, will anything be done about the misuse and abuse by those who should be setting better examples, not just destroying it for personal gain and then retiring as many have done over the decades.

Amused…the CJ should have things under his control by now, it’s been enough time.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/79543/nicholls-knocks-legal

Chad…that is the weakminded males, who have been the leaders in the Caribbean for decades, but are still unable to think for themselves and the good of their people, with any intelligent clarityclarity…it’s a male problem and they should be asking themselves why..

14. “Why should one not think that this particular justice will not do the same? A reasonable assertion and plenty of probable cause.”

๏ˆ
    The above speaks for itself. What more can I add my friend other than perhaps she might, perhaps she might not? Still highly speculative , do you not think?

15. @enuff

The days when one man (or woman)can sit on Fontabelle and determine what can be questioned, those days are long gone. You are correct ours is an insular society, however it does not prevent some of us from signalling to leading actors – in this case the Thornes – whether in the judiciary or political system what we expect of them.This is urgently required if we accept the mountain of feedback that both systems are broken.

16. “Amused March 30, 2016 at 4:00 AM #

@Jeff. They cannot. However, having read the decision of Goodridge J., I see it is well founded and very tight and her exposition of existing law is sound, law that Cornelius J. has failed to point out in her much publicised addresses. Justice Goodridgeโ€™s reasons are, in my view, well expressed and unassailable and set out with clarity and accuracy exactly how the law stands. Something Cornelius J. has never done. I am disappointed that you have chosen not to engage on Justice Goodridgeโ€™s decision and limited yourself to such a relatively minor point”

I have just gone through Madam Justice decision with a fine tooth comb and I find nothing earth shattering about the decision. Matter of fact in my view her decision stomps some of the decisions made by Justice Elliot Belgrave where bias was later established on appeal but who the dog like he lick.

17. Chad99999, I can’t help but to agree with you more regarding the emulative actions of those whom with enacting and interpreting laws in tCaribbean.Though these people are liberated mentally, physically and intellectually they still possessed the European mind.

18. Sorry the box in which i write on my phone is screw up and I can’t seem to edit I am writing.

19. Enuff March 29, 2016 at 9:32 PM #

โ€œWe are fomenting the unnecessary because we continue to operate as if the conditions within the countries we want to emulate are similar to ours. We are also very convenient in highlighting and defining โ€œconflict of interestโ€.โ€

@ Enuff

I could not agree with you more.

The writer of this article is obviously a DEM, and it is meant to discredit Ralph Thorne as a BLP candidate, by casting aspirations on his wife, while citing โ€œconflict of interest.โ€ This is โ€œstandard operating procedureโ€ for the resident DLP yard-fowls assigned to BU and the DLPโ€™s pseudonym, Douglas.

We have seen blatant displays of โ€œconflict of interestโ€ issues arising in this country involving members and supporters of the ruling administration.

We all know that David Thompson was CLICOโ€™s lawyer and Leroy Parrisโ€™ personal mate, and he received funds from that company under โ€œpayments to related parties.โ€ Rather than implement ITAL immediately upon assuming office in 2008, as promised by the DLP, Thompson travelled through the Caribbean using CLICOโ€™s private jet, appointed Parris as chairman of CBC, and subsequently gave CLICO a โ€œlife lineโ€ of $10M.

Thompson died and his wife is now the representative of St. John.

What about Denis Lowe and Michael Lashley driving vehicles registered to Trans Tech Inc., the same company that repairs the majority of Sanitation Service Authorityโ€™s trucks and Transport Board buses.

Then we have Stuart appointing his buddy Hal Gollop as chairman of the ERT and Gollop speaking on behalf of the government, saying the former NCC employees would not be re-employed because the government has no money. It is interesting to note that Gollop and the tribunal have not addressed the โ€œprocedural mis-stepsโ€ (i.e. not adhering to the โ€œFirst In, Last Out protocol) Stuart alluded to, which was the main reason for convening the ERT. Denis Lowe and the NHC management remain in their jobs despite breaching an Employee Rights Act protocol.

Michael Lashley attempted to employ his relative at the Transport Board, which caused TB employees to engage in protest action by with-holding their labour.

When the QEH was undergoing refurbishment under Donville Inniss as minister of health, his wifeโ€™s brother, Steve, was contracted to provide construction services.

The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation has sponsored karaoke competitions at Hoodieโ€™s Bar, which is owned by minister of agriculture, Dr. David Estwick.

There must be a separation between the DLP as a political party and CBC, which is owned by the state (and not the DLP). Yet, Astor Watts is allowed to call CBCโ€™s โ€œTalk ya Talkโ€ call-in-programme to advertise, free of cost, the DLPโ€™s Friday lunch time lectures.

The DLP is using CBC and the Government information Service to promote their political propaganda.

These are just a few instances of conflict of interest that many seem afraid to comment on.

20. @David
    You make me laugh!
    You mentioned judiciary and political, but what about all the other areas where “conflict of interest” raises its head? For example, Caswell was scathing in his comments about the NUPW in one or two of his columns but they were carried here on BU. Some would see Caswell’s comments in those columns as opportunistic too, but was he telling lies or the issues he raised invalid? No!
    Didn’t you support the amendment of the law to facilitate the appointment of the current CJ after railing against that of David Simmons?
    Sometimes we just have to accept that the constraints of size make connections unavoidable and instead pay more attention to the message rather than the messenger or, in some instances, the objective rather than the players as you seem to have done in the CJ’s appointment.
    Judicial and political reform are indeed necessary but this tactic of demonising the actors involved and assigning a sinister ulterior motive to their every thought, word and deed only serves to exacerbate the public’s apathy and prolong its sojourn in Wonderland. A similar tactic was used in 2008 and, sadly, it is the same one fueling the emergence of “third parties”–we will deliver Utopia. It has and will continue to result in further disappointment. Carry on smartly.

21. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You sure darn right about what you just said. However, there is still that reality to deal with, that untouchable existence that many of these people have come to enjoy and benefit immensely from. The insularity is slowly corroding thanks largely to social media and efforts like yours. They are exactly appreciative of the fact that a more inform public is now subjecting they many put on appearances and forms of uprightness that aided and abetted their many scams to greater scrutiny. It’s like for the first time in their lives they can no longer feel safe and comfortable that their decades-long scam is no longer as secretive as they thought it would. With the Nicholls book castigating they thievery and fraud to the rest of the world criticizing their judicial practices, they know that at some stage the delightful delicious honey cone apple cart will get skat spraddle and skin up. Just a matter of time before the laws change to no longer being respecters of persons and lawyers will no longer be given the vote into elective politics only to wuk up and roll in the money.

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

Our beautiful judicial process just playing to script in the Leroy Parris crookery. Already, it has ignored the part played by David Thompson and allowed his widow to continue to wallow in the bucks.
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/79549/clico-adjourned

23. Barbados can never be any better with a Chief Justice who is US citizen and sworn to uphold the US Constitution in all his endeavors,yet comes to Barbados and as Chief Justice swear allegiance to Her Brittanic Majesty Queen Elizabeth 2 and again accepts a knighthood,swears allegiance a 2nd time to QE2 and appears to reside at the home of the US Ambassador,with a glass in hand and a big sheepish sambo type grin on his physiog.On this basis Vernon should have him up before the magistrates for swearing in public and taking falsehood and false oath to a level hitherto unknown in a stable and progressive island state Barbados.
    Besides its cost in Pensions,a system of governance that can award unbridled power to asses like Denis Lowe,Steve Blackett,Adriel Braffitt,Michael Lashley,Christopher Sinckler(caught in another lie to parliament…we haven’t forgotten the alleged threat on your life,you low life C.sucher)Todd,Byer,Ince,Boyce x2,Husbands,Kellman, et al,cries out for radical,earth shattering change.

24. @enuff

Most disingenuous!

BU covers ALL issues.

When the dust settles we have to evaluate the judiciary and political based on the current state that exist. And yes BU supported Gibson because we subscribed to the position that he was an outsider and therefore might have been better placed to drive change. Change must occur and BU will continue to be part of that movement.

25. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Gabriel March 30, 2016 at 10:11 AM #

When the Prime Minister can not find a lawful man in his own Nation of 270,000 + then you know how mess up the deep rooted the corruption is in the Nation of Barbados,With conflicting Oaths of Office,
    Wait until you wake up to the Massive Land Fraud and the full impact of Clear title deeds and Banking , the recording of these records re-written , You Have not seen the light as Yet,

Rulings in Barbados is based on Fraud documents which will also conflicts with the Names and the History of the Nation ,

26. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Amused at 4 am – I am afraid that I am not as enthused as you are with the Goodridge decision. I am with Balance on this one. Your disappointment is to be regretted.

As a student of employment law, I was far more exasperated by the proposition that a first instance judgment based on a recitation of English authorities could “bind” any later adjudicator!

You should read and compare the earlier Industrial Court decision in BEU v Republic Bank Ltd. from Trinidad & Tobago, not cited in the Goodridge judgment. An excerpt from an article-

Trinidad and Tobago Industrial Court decided in Bank Employees Union v. Republic Bank Limited that sexual harassment by Deolal Mohess, an employee of the bank, was within the โ€˜corridor of dismissable misconductโ€™. Deolal Mohess was dismissed following an investigation of the allegations made by three women that he made unwelcome physical contact with them, touching their bottom,hips and kissing them on the cheek. After the first allegations, a supervisor spoke to him. The employer wrote to him and asked him to respond to the various allegations. He admitted some of the behaviour but said his actions were innocent.
    His Honour Bernard articulated the problem with sexual harassment in terms of a common law duty on employers to provide a safe system of working.

โ€œThere is a common law obligation on an employer to provide for his employees a safe system of working. In the modern commercial office that obligation may well not be limited to the provision of a workplace and a system of working which protect the employees against physical harm. That obligation may well extend to the provision of a work environment which is free of the threat or application of sexual coercion by one employee towards another.โ€27
    Even without a legislative framework, the Industrial Court established that employers had a duty to protect their employees from harm at work, and that this includes sexual harassment…”

27. “These are just a few instances of conflict of interest that many seem afraid to comment on.”

Not really- just not able to readily remember them like you do. If you do not know age like love does things for reasons which even reason does not understand.

What about the payment of Mr Hartley Henry from the public purse as political advisor to the Mr David Thompson.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…..that’s the reason I think the CJ has had more than enough time to wrestle the supreme court away from David Simmons, the corrupt lawyers and the corrupt insurance executives who abuse yhe system, he has had enough time to implement new rules and procedures to deter the attorneys who practice conflict of interest and accept bribes to sell out clients, make a mockery of the supreme court, withhold evidence and medical reports from the judges and since I am so damn tired of repeating, Justice Gibson and all the Supreme Court judges need to read Philip Nicholl’s book for a glimpse of the destruction that has been caused in the supreme court for decades, because, they do not understand the depth of the decay….

Just the fact that Mara Thompson can get away with an estate of millions that Thompson did not earn as an attorney, is disturbing to say the least.

29. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

I think we need to review our understanding of “conflict of interests” as it relates to an extremely small state of less than 280000 citizens. Is having a husband who offers himself as a candidate in a political election a conflict of interest for his wife who is a judicial officer? Should we bar public servants from making speeches on social issues? In our justice system judges make decisions based on the law not on personal whims.

30. @Artax March 30, 2016 at 8:38 AM “We all know that David Thompson was CLICOโ€™s lawyer and Leroy Parrisโ€™ personal mate, and he received funds from that company under โ€œpayments to related parties.โ€ …Thompson travelled through the Caribbean using CLICOโ€™s private jet, appointed Parris as chairman of CBC, and subsequently gave CLICO a โ€œlife lineโ€ of $10M.

What about Denis Lowe and Michael Lashley driving vehicles registered to Trans Tech Inc., the same company that repairs the majority of Sanitation Service Authorityโ€™s trucks and Transport Board buses.

Then we have Stuart appointing his buddy Hal Gollop as chairman of the ERT and Gollop speaking on behalf of the government, saying the former NCC employees would not be re-employed …

Michael Lashley attempted to employ his relative at the Transport Board, which caused TB employees to engage in protest action by with-holding their labour.

When the QEH was undergoing refurbishment under Donville Inniss as minister of health, his wifeโ€™s brother, Steve, was contracted to provide construction services.

The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation has sponsored karaoke c”

Ok.

All of the above.

But does the BLP come to the electorate with clean hands?

And if their hands are clean on assuming office do the hands remain clean throughout the term of office?

Tell the whole truth now Artax do BLP bigwigs even ask for or ever do favours for their relatives?

31. Some time back it was Steve Blackett I think who complained that as a Cabinet Minister he was paid “only” about $17,000 each month.

BLP and DLP Cabinet Ministers know that the basic old age pension is $145 per week, and the maximum NIS pension is about $500 per week.

And yet they dare to expect more.

32. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Is our Justice system really corrupt ? I think we have some administrative issues to deal with: but these are not unsolvable. We have to learn to trust ourselves and work with our appointed officials. No one is perfect and there is no perfect system. So please make intelligent and useful comments but stop this denigration of our fellow citizens. Too many comments seek to demonize persons whose views differ from ours. This is not going to contribute to the development of our great country Barbados.

33. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

How does Steve Blacket’s alleged income compare with other persons in the Barbadian society that have similar responsibilities? How much of that does he actually get to take home? Surely that salary was determined openly and approved by parliament? What is the real problem? Does it remotely has anything to do with the fact that his name is Blacket? Were his name Whiteman would you have the same problem?

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I read conflict of interest as this disgusting habit of some lawyers, they know the are either the attorneys for the insurance companies, David Thompson, et al or sit on the board as directors of said insurance companies, Leslie Haynes et al, and still take cases from unsuspecting clients AGAINST the same insurance companies they work for….what the hell is thatm these claimants will never get paid in that type of environment.

Another conflict of interest scenario…attorney takes case from unsuspecting client, but does not tell client that he has been “holding papers for” the defending attorney for years, they are thisclose, look after each other’s cases…how is the attorney serving the best interest of that client…what the hell is that….where is the fairness to the client.

The size of the island is no excuse, attorneys are allowed to practice across the Caribbean, just like the doctors, the population is in the millions…lots of people to choose from, if you are a good attorney, why stick around a small island competing for the same small pool, just because you believe your client will never find out cause Bajans like to keep important information from each other….it’s an eye opener for clients and potential clients….also for the attorneys who are willing to stop the practice.

Some people need to revisit the definition of conflict of interest before laying accusations….unless they have more information.

35. Simple Simon March 30, 2016 at 1:07 PM #

โ€œBut does the BLP come to the electorate with clean hands? And if their hands are clean on assuming office do the hands remain clean throughout the term of office? Tell the whole truth now Artax do BLP bigwigs even ask for or ever do favours for their relatives?โ€

@ Simple Simon

Yuh know, when I does read de shiite you does write sumtimes, I does understand why you does gih you self de befitting moniker, to wit, โ€œSimple Simon.โ€

Shiite, wuh is de reasons we vote out de BLP in 2008 fuh?

Taking into consideration the allegations of corruption and the DLPโ€™s promise of โ€œcleaning up politics in Barbados,โ€ good governance and introducing ITAL, was the BLP not punished at the polls for their sins?

And what has occurred with the DLP so far? The status quo remains the same, de same shiite happening and you asking me shiite โ€˜bout wuh de BLP do before?

If the DLP was given the opportunity to do better and they continued on a path similar to what the BLP was voted out for, and even continued to do worse, are they not deserving of criticism?

Simple Simon, you is nuff shiite, hear.

36. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Do you have to be a lawyer to know that if a forensic report says that David Thompson and Leroy Parris fraudulently undertake to obtain 3.3 million dollars without proper financial diligence, then you know that they simply thief de gaw darn cotton picking money! Therefore, if this type of action was delivered by them, it is safe to ramgeorge assume that this is no one-time financial impropriety. It means that David Thompson earned money that was not legit. That Leroy Parris is a millionaire base on illegitimate undertakings, that the Prime Minister of Barbados who called the likes of Leroy Parris a friend, knows something that we all do not know, and the fact that Leroy Parris can still be walking around on two legs showing his grin of big-up-ness is testament to a piss poor judicial system that is operating at its worst. Talking about what the Chief Justice has not done should be common knowledge even before he started doing nothing. He is the Democratic Labour Party choice of new wine that was placed in old wine skins. Nothing was the inevitable outcome unless you were looking for something different than disappointment. It is quite clear that the standard operational practice of governments in and those in opposition is to be seen liked you are doing something when in essence you are really not doing anything. So there should be no surprises concerning the shite that still remains to be plain old shit. If you doubt me look at what Michael Lashley is proposing. There was nothing done to improve the transport system in decades in terms of convenience, time or comfort. Yet, this shite wants transport buses strictly for tourist. Like I said, appear to be doing something for its people but really not doing one shite.

37. In a televised debate on the Estimates in 2003 or 2004,the Honourable Member for St James North,Rawle Eastmond,who apparently taught at Garrison Secondary at some time,gave the listeners a brief history of his experience and his vain attempt to impart knowledge,sound principles and civility to a student named Michael Lashley.Eastmond spoke in the finest English Language and was devastating in his treatment of the crude,crass and shallow thinker that he encountered in his classroom and who was offering himself as a steward of the people’s trust and aspirations.Since becoming a minister in the poorakiest parliament of Barbados,Lashley has shown Eastmond to be a person of preternatural insight.

38. Well i cannot fault any one for keeping sexual harrsement issues on the front burner of any issue political or otherwise. Anyhow there is a thin line which separtes an individual in high office from indluging in practices which on face value might be presented as without having the potential for harm.once a precedent has been staged plotted on a hot pot of political stew any advantage obtained from the message becomes lost and the messenger becomes the message. Not good.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS..Lashley is cintinuing the tradtion of being a world class jackass to propose something dumb enough to be described as segregating tourists from locals using buses for tourists only, dont they already have the coaches, from airport to seaport and island wide trips…will there be new routes and who is paying for all this special treatment.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Will Lashley be calling the buses…Whites only or Tourists only.

I am still trying to wrap my head around the above article re Justice Cornelius, I must be confused or slow today…as I remember it Judges are political appointments…was she not appointed by the ruling party, if they were trying to strike a balance by selecting a judge whose husband is known to support the opposing party….is that not a good thing….I am not dealing with what Justice Cornelius said re sexual abuse and harassment yet, that confuses the whole issue, I like to compartmentalize, and dont see a conflict whether she or her husband supports one party or another; has not everyone been saying that both political parties are one and the same for years, that they are just interchangeable, so where is the conflict.

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Well Well

First, help me to understand what the cunt AC just wrote. I am having great difficulty deciphering that nonsense. As to Michael Lashley, his idea would seem to be a good one because it is looking after our tourism product. But, when you examine the fact that the bus terminal was transmitting lice, louse, jiggers, itch mites or whatever shite it is that was living on the benches the transport board workers did not clean in years, when you have routes that were hardly being serviced by buses because of lack of buses or poor transport management implementations or Transtec ensuring that they only work for a few weeks before they not down again waiting for a 40 thousand dollar part, you know that this idea is a simple slap in the face of the commuting citizens who for years suffered at the hands of transport management gone bad. You know upfront that the transport board buses for tourist will be a new fleet all equip with air-con, comfortable seating, GPS tracking to provide time schedules and well-trained bus drivers. To Lashley and his Piss Poor administration, locals who depend on public transport to commute, do not deserve anything so because they are uncouth and uncivilized. The worst approaches and systems are always meant for the local masses because their definition of appreciation is to deface and vandalized.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…the new tourists buses is a bad idea…government maintains nothing, they need to move pass any thoughts of delving into tourism and start thinking on a higher level…we can only hope. They have been stuck in tourism mode for too many decades…cant think further than tourist dollars…they are stuck.

Tourism already has it’s players, Lashley needs to get the piss poor bus service working for Bajans…..FIRST. they are always coming up with some half baked idea and cannot fix the minor or major problems that stare them in the face.

Is he even working on reducing the humongous and deliberately orchestrated liabilities of the transport board, engineered by the insurance carrier for transoort board…that is what he should be doing reducing the board’s liabilities…getting CGI to pay the people who are injured.

Spend time teaching the young people from small to appreciate taxpayer funded properties, the GG runs around the small schools telling the grade school kids to appreciate school, his message should include appreciating their mode of transportation etc.

I dont know what to tell ya…sounds like AC cancelled out what she was trying to articulate, leaving me more confused about the article….I could only follow to a point, then got totally lost..lol

43. @Bernard Codrington. March 30, 2016 at 1:53 PM “How does Steve Blacketโ€™s alleged income compare with other persons in the Barbadian society that have similar responsibilities? How much of that does he actually get to take home? Surely that salary was determined openly and approved by parliament? What is the real problem? Does it remotely has anything to do with the fact that his name is Blacket? Were his name Whiteman would you have the same problem?”

Take it easy Bernie. I was simply comparing the income old age pensioners to the salaries [and pensions] of Cabinet Ministers.

After all the Water Authority, FLOW, Barbados Light and Power and the supermarkets charge us the same regardless of income.

So when a Cabinet Minister “earns” 30 times as much as an old age pensioner then I think that I have a right to ask hard questions.

And the bright boys of BU can respond to my simple questions.

44. Unless you believe that a pensioner who is 100 years old or more “deserves” no more than $145 per week.

45. I am a Simple Simon because I ask simple questions.

Let the bright people provide good answers.

46. And by the way the old age contributory and non contributory pensioners have not received a raise for more than 3 years.

Does that mean that the inflation rate over the past 3 years has been zero?

As an old Central banker I know that you can answer the simple question about the inflation rate and as a Christian I know that you can also answer the question about the impact of inflation on the poorest of the poor.

Simple questions.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What the hell was Blackett complaining about…17,000 dollars a month, how much was he making as a radio announcer and he had to explain any absences, could not hide from his bosses or not do his job….he was being ungrateful in not appreciating a step up to government minister complete with liveable salary and perks…at taxpayer’s expense. Most of his constituents have to make do with 1k a month or less, with families to feed.

Blackett should be creating 53 jobs a month, not 53 over an 8 year period, that is mediocre, Bajans need to stop settling for mediocrity from limited intellect politicians.

48. @ Well Well
    Bajans need to stop settling for mediocrity from limited intellect politicians.
    You may be right yuh!!
    ..We had the same damn problem of ‘limited intellect’ with sugar …so we brought Trickidadians and Guyanese to run the sugar industry
    ..we had ‘limited intellect’ in banking….so we got Canadians and Trickidadians to do that…
    …we had ‘limited intellect’ in Telecommunications …. Irishmen were brought in..’
    …’limited intellect’ in Electricity …. and we now have Canadians
    …’limited intellect’ in Almond …so we got S(c)andal’s Butch….

LOL…Michael Lashley ain’t just bring in some Spanish speaking fellows to tell us what are bad roads and good roads?…. Oh Shiirt!!!

You right yuh!!
    …how else can we deal with the obvious VERY limited intellect in politics…..???
    Looks like we need some Albinos …preferably European…

49. No one has remarked on the fact that Cornelius’ speech was carried by The Nation, in its entirety, over six or seven days, sometimes spreading over two pages. This type of coverage of a speech is unheard of in normal journalism. Not even kings and presidents get this type of treatment unless they run dictatorships. Could it be that Roy Morris owed Mr and Mrs Thorne a huge favour? Wasn’t Ralph Roy’s lawyer when he was brought up on rape charges?

50. LT.HORATIO CAINE Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE

Fly on the wall yes he was,i found the same as very strange,actually i saw no need for it.