Adrian Loveridge

As we re-enter the softer summer season, the emphasis by many tourism partners is how to use this prolonged traditionally quieter period to enhance, upgrade and generally improve their individual plant or product.

Having owned and operated a small hotel for almost three decades, we had a policy of re-investing a substantial part of the previous years’ turnover and/or profit annually, so that returning guests could see that we were always trying to improve the property. It became almost like a game and we offered our guests a clipboard so that on their second day of their stay they could tour the grounds and report back to us the improvements they noticed since the previous visit.

Regular readers will by now realise that I always think it is better to achieve goals using smart partnerships, so we are bringing back, as a non-for-profit initiative that was initially rolled out about ten years ago. Through our wonderful web communications company we have registered the domain name www.tourismenhancement.com and launched a live Facebook page.

The objective is to try and persuade local suppliers and manufacturers to offer a special discount to all tourism partners during the month of September only. For those companies agreeing, it will of course result in depleted margins, but hopefully the volume and brand awareness will at least partially compensate for this.

If most accommodation providers, restaurants and ancillary tourism services all undertake some upgrading, this has to result in a nationwide improvement, which I am sure will not go unnoticed by our repeat clientele.

While most people can understand our geography has an impact on pricing, if you really study freight charges it is difficult for layman to comprehend exactly why in so many cases we pay often double what a similar or even identical product costs in our source tourism markets.

Yes! some may say, but designated qualifying tourism providers can import many items, supposedly ‘duty free’ and this may be true for the larger players. But to the majority of our smaller tourism businesses it’s a bureaucratic nightmare and often simply not worth attempting to scale the hoops and hurdles placed in the way. As our own example, I can still graphically recall attempting to import some specialty paint, after first obtaining verbal permission from local authorities through one of Britain’s largest manufacturer’s’, Imperial Chemicals Industries (ICI) and intended for lighthouses.

17 days after placing the order, it arrived at Bridgetown port. It would then eventually take almost three years before that ‘permission’ became a reality and we were allowed to collect the paint. But only after paying three times the cost of the paint and shipping in duties and taxes. At that time we went to the ‘secure’ customs area to collect the goods, only to find one third of it had been stolen. Resigned to the fact, we then attempted to obtain a refund of duties on the reduced quantity, only to be told this could well take up to two years. This is part of the cost of doing business on Barbados.

Most of us can understand why our ‘local’ manufacturers have to be protected, but ICI had already indicated that they were happy to licence a Barbadian based company to make this particular product here. Eventually this became a reality for other brands, but it took almost 20 years to make it happen.

77 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – the life of a small hotelier”

1. Adrian;

I like your paint story, just proves my point Bagans are not to smart in continuing to support a CORRUPT TURD WORLD COUNTRY. You have Canadian roots, wake up and smell the roses, head north to civilization.

2. “At that time we went to the ‘secure’ customs area to collect the goods, only to find one third of it had been stolen. Resigned to the fact, we then attempted to obtain a refund of duties on the reduced quantity, only to be told this could well take up to two years.”

The above scenario reinforces the point that Barbados definitely needs a “Claims Court,” to specialize in adjudicating claims against businesses, individuals, the government and its statutory and quasi agencies.

The VAT Division of the BRA never ceases to amaze me. If a business does not file it’s VAT return one day after the stipulated filing date, you can guarantee that the officers are able calculate that business’ fines and penalties immediately. If those fines and penalties remain unpaid, the Division is sure to send you reminders to pay, with the amounts increasing monthly due to the addition of accumulated interest on the penalties.

However, that same business has to wait almost two years before being paid their refund, since the officers do not see it necessary to apply the same haste they exercise in charging penalties and interest to paying refunds. And this is ridiculous, especially taking into consideration that these processes are “computerized”

Another interesting development is that during last year’s budget presentation, Sinckler mentioned that effective January 2016 the VAT threshold would increase from $80,000 to $200,000 per annum. Unfortunately, this policy has not gone through the usual parliamentary process, resulting in those businesses falling under the new threshold, having to continue filing VAT returns until authorization is given for them not to file.

Although the policy was “verbally articulated,” in the case where those businesses falling under the new threshold have to pay VAT between January 1, 2016 and when the policy becomes enacted, they will not be refunded.

3. Adrian

You said “Most of us can understand why our ‘local’ manufacturers have to be protected…..”

Well it seems that, rather than being protected, THE LIFE OF THE SMALL HOTELIER just became more difficult.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/79510/bigger-sandals

Bigger Sandals

ROY R. MORRIS, roymorris@nationnews.com
    Added 29 March 2016

“Sandals Barbados is set to undergo major expansion. (FP)

SANDALS RESORT’S love affair with Barbados is about to blossom in a huge way.

The regional hotel group is now finalising plans with various Government agencies for an expansion of its Casuarina property in Dover, Christ Church, that will see it become by far the largest hotel operator on the island.

In fact, tourism sources disclosed yesterday that the Gordon “Butch” Stewart-led Sandals chain would shortly begin adding 282 rooms to the 240 it opened just over a year ago in a $100 million-plus reconstruction of the former Casuarina Beach Hotel at Dover.

Given the popularity of the brand and its occupancy record, sources close to the project said the expanded property should accommodate between 1 000 and 1 200 guess on any given day.

Currently, the only operator within the region of 500 rooms on the island is Elegant Hotels, but these are spread over six properties, five of which are along the platinum West Coast”

So SANDALS is finalizing the terms of the tax, duties and other concessions it will receive from various Government agencies to induce SANDALS to add 282 rooms, to compete on an unlevel playing field with the small hoteliers. Those 282 new rooms will help fill air plane seats, and inflate visitor arrivals; but how will they effect THE LIFE OF THE SMALL HOTELIER.

It will take more than a fresh paint job for the small hotelier to level the playing field.

4. DD,

I still think our small hotels can compete with a superior level of personal service. Again, I have to point out that even since the reported US$65 million upgrade, Sandals Barbados has fallen from No.16 to No. 20 out of 90 plus hotels in the TripAdvisor ratings. These are posted by guests reflecting on their actual stay.

5. @DD

If you take the Sandals tax concessions into consideration, Butch could afford to expand because his construction costs would probably be half the cost when compared to the actual cost of construction.

Interestingly, when government calculates the amount of revenue foregone due to those tax concessions, obviously firms and households will have to compensate for the short fall through “home grown austerity measures.”

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@AL
    my Trip Advisor shows Sandals at #16/97. Since all the top 20 are highly rated, I am unsure what the difference between #1 & #20 is, as it relates to booking a property. On a relative scale, Bim is a very expensive destination.

@DD
    the concession horse is dead? you keep beating it every chance you get?

7. NorthernObserver March 29, 2016 at 12:00 PM

I know I should stop flogging that horse.

BUT, the concession horse is alive and well.

It is the small hoteliers who will be dead because of the uneven playing field.

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DD
    go check the prices. Nobody is giving away anything [relatively]. Plenty of room to make a dollar.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

Always remember that there is a breed of people that forms 97% of the population who, unlike you, will be caught up in the Cuba repressionist litany which, given Raul’s receptiveness to the US visit, suggests some aspect of the possibility of two hands clapping and not one.

The fact is that when we consider this matter David is that what you are discussing is like what Goodyear tyres is to the Olmec ‘s use of Hevea Brasiliensis (the Rubber Tree) and what existing Research Departments are doing with the next generation of tyres with run flat variants etc

I don’t generally comment on Loveridge’s articles because, inasmuch as it speaks to the same lack of vision and direction problems that the country has been subjected to for 50 years (20 before he got here) there is something about Loveridge’s cry that confuses me.

In one breath, he and others speak eloquently to the abject lack of vision of our Tourism officials etc., while others remark on the old ways of them doing business highlighting their tired ole same old strategy

Adrian and his group of “oh woe is me soothsayers” always seem to be talking about it and for the most part this issue of what he is doing to record the “Replenishing of Tourism Plant” is really not so abnormal since IT IS STANDARD FOR ANY HOTELIER, who want to stay up there in the market place, to nice up his property. That is par for the course in the industry.

So what if Butch gets 280 “kickback” rooms that make the Minister of Tourism and the Minster of Fine Ants multimillionaires overnight, that is what these self agrandizement specialist do best, there are of the genus, Politicus Parisitum – the politician that is really a parasite.

Parasites that we enjoy voting for every 5 years. 10 years of Sealy, 15 years of Barney and the list of body lice continues.

But here is where you deviate from all of that feces David.

You are speaking of sustainable outreach to Cuba in something which is meaningful.

So Let me join you in that with this article dat me grandson give me recently.

“Last week, Electronic Arts (EA) hosted the Fifa Interactive World Cup Grand Final in New York City where 32 players competed on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One for $20,000 (about £17,500) and a trip to the next Fifa Ballon d’Or in Zurich.

More than two million players from around the world took part in the online qualification round for the largest video gaming tournament in the world.

According to SuperData, the quickly rising eSports market is valued at $747m and is expected to more than double to $1.9bn by 2018. Having garnered an estimated audience of 134 million in 2015, more video game publishers, developers and media networks are looking to cash in on the digital action.”

Imagine if Loveridge, in addition to complaining about whu Kickback Butch get for an unlevel playing field, was to group together with 20 other hotels, and all of them agree that they are going to write a letter to EAGames and offer to host all of the EA players here in Barbados for free IF EA agrees to host 2016 games here!

You really thing that he or the rest of the hotels that are empty during this period all the way down to September October would need to spend too much money to orchestrate the writing of that letter and the subsequent hosting of one of the tournaments here in Bulbados?

We always are looking fuh de caviar, we want to get Serena and Venus Williams her to Barbados and to stay at Sandy Layne for US$5 million dollars for a two day activity but are incapable or creating other more meaningful, repeat encounters

We cant see nor recognize where the new tourism products are going or why them Big boys setting up studios to create games in Asia.

We always talk about Intel and how many people it employed years ago in Sheraton but, not one fellow has been able to attract serious development initiatives for the tourism sector, or for that matter, any sector.

I have a question for Mr. Loveridge WHICH I KNOW THAT HE WILL NOT ANSWER.

When Butch comes and we give him all these incentives that you and yor fellow hoteliers dont have, how many jobs does he create? and of those how many are permanent positions that employ bajan men and women?

What has been the net employment level that you have generated in your hotel over these 40 years? and what is that figure augmented by when you add the statistics of the other small hoteliers to that grouping?

You need some help drafting the letter?

Carl Moore is an expert Writer and Proof reader you might want to axe him for some help…

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Oh before the band wagon starts, I know that this is an Esports arena so occupancy would be for the participants but appropriate partnering agreements would be entered into with regard to the profits ok?

11. @PUDRYR

Then we have the expert who publicly opined recently that we have placed too much in the tourism basket.

12. The Tourist industry needs “continuous improvement” to maintain profitability.

Barbados needs to add or bring back “entertainment” to add to that which God gave us….Sea, Sand and Sun…..the basics of a tropical destination.

Until you find a better industry to replace it tourism will continue to be valuable.

13. In today’s Business Authority we see the BTMI was successful in acquiring more airlift out if Germany. To your point we also need to focus on the product.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PUDYR
    unless AL has stated anti concessionary statements elsewhere, it was not in this article?

15. To the point of Butch the same ole tired voices are still adding their voices to his displeasure.Wonder if it would make them happy if he closes up and leave the island .

16. Recently ended my business dealings with Barbados after over 20 years. Frankly it is an
    overpriced, traffic congested, dirty & unfortunately whatever natural beauty it may have once
    had has long since been paved, over little island.

17. Butch invested in the tourism plant on his terms. We have to give him credit because the Bdos government was in an prostrate position given the economic state. We must continue to look at ways to shift our investment focus from the tourism sector. There are examples in Europe and elsewhere to support caution.

18. Easier said than done .There was a time when Barbados could have made a positive move in the area of manufacturing making very good use of mahogany when the playing field was not so wide open to accessibility in a global market. But pray tell where are the innovators in barbados who would be the engineers to remake and rebrand barbados image on to a new frontier

19. Too much tourism

Economics professor dissects Barbados’ economic problems
    Added by Marlon Madden on March 25, 2016.

A noted professor of economics has raised concern that Barbados’ heavy reliance on services, especially tourism, is hindering its overall development.

“The problem is that tourism’s success created a strong tendency towards Barbados’ total factor productivity dead end. Obviously it is not itself a high tech industry. But more importantly it limited the country’s productivity because it was not a source of personnel, who on the basis of their industrial experience, could bring potential new industries to life,” explained Professor of Economics at Colgate University Jay Mandle.

He pointed out that the skills learned and utilized in the tourism industry were of limited use in new sectors of economic activity.

“To make matters worse, tourism in Barbados is a mature industry. Its future growth will not replicate that of the past. With that being the case, the tourist industry will not be able in the future to fill the role of the leading sector in a growing Barbados economy like it did in the past,” he added.

Mandle, who was at the time presenting a paper on the topic Barbados Between Growth and Development, further explained that over the years productivity and economic development had been masked by economic growth; therefore it was time for the island to consider a new “economic modernization”.

“Over time, Barbados has experienced economic growth, but it has not experienced development,” said Mandle.

“The conundrum in which Barbados finds itself – a history of economic growth but productivity decline – stems from the same source, ironically, the success of tourism,” he added.

However, despite the lack of productivity, he acknowledged that tourism was responsible for the relatively high standard of living in Barbados as a result of its significant contribution to the island’s Gross Domestic Product.

Mandle was delivering the third annual lunchtime lecture put on by the Faculty of Social Science at the University of the West Indies (UWI), Cave Hill Campus this afternoon.

He said despite ranking favourably in terms of human development over the years, since 2008, the country had “suffered economically”, largely because it remained a “one-crop” tourist economy. He added it was in need of investment that was directed toward improving quality and productivity, as outlined by Governor of the Central Bank DeLisle Worrell as early as 1994.

He further stated that the tourism industry’s success “may also have produced a policy formation dynamic that militates against diversification”.

To support this argument, Mandle highlighted the Global Competitiveness Index by the World Economic Forum, pointing out that “buried in the long list of variables included in the index are issues that do impede economic diversification.

“For example, Barbados is not an easy place in which to set up new business . . . furthermore, it ranks 101 with regard both to ease of access to loans and the availability of venture capital. Beyond the difficulties firms experience in becoming financed and setting up, Barbados is listed at 130 with regard to strength of investor protection. These rankings represent formidable barriers to a restructuring process that could create a more diversified and therefore resilient Barbados economy,” said Mandle.

“Most of these are variables that are under the direct control of the Government. That these barriers are present suggests that Government policy has not yet seen the need to shift from tourism industry encouragement to industrial policy that seeks structural change,” he explained.

In order to achieve increased productivity and economic development, Mandle suggested that Barbados and other Caribbean countries could learn from Asia, in developing domestic industrial policies that suited their circumstances.

He also said the region was in need of a “state-led export-oriented strategy of development”, adding that Government would have to “dismantle the obstacles to structural change that presently exist”.

“Establishing a new business has to be made easier. Bureaucratic roadblocks to firm-creation will have to minimize. Something has to be done about the difficulty of financing, but that will just be the start,” he said.

Mandle also called on the private sector to expand beyond tourism and retail. (MM)

20. But in the long term barbados is dreadfully lacking in innovators the wheels and engines that build an economy. The beauracy although an hindrance still does not account for those missing gaps that allows for the filtering down of growth within an economy

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

You are largely correct. Yet, one factor causing the gaps of which you write, is confidence. That can turn a risk factor of 3 to 10. Folks don’t want to invest $5M today, and have it be worth $3M in 6 months. It “may” not happen, and most hope it doesn’t, but it’s a risk many will not take.

22. David – PUDRYR

Please help this observer from the GWN

I am having trouble interpreting the message in the editorial cartoon in todays Nation

23. “To the point of Butch the same ole tired voices are still adding their voices to his displeasure. Wonder if it would make them happy if he closes up and leave the island.”

Stupse!!!!

Just look at what he did to the Paradise property, aka “Four Seasons.”

What is there to prevent him from doing similar with the properties he now owns?

24. @DD

Appears to be high expectations to the announcement that Butch will be adding 282 rooms at Dover.

25. Yet we are always turning a sour face to the outside investor . but for the life of me unable to cultuvate and produce many of those that are home grown
    btw Capital is always at risk. There is no sound evidence that can guarantee that investment would not be subjected to failure no wherein the world even when confidence is at a high level
    The last economic boom which started in the late nineties did had a very high degree of confindence but was cat spraddle with the disaterous attack in 911..Who would have thought that with all the high confudencr driving the economies towards sucess that a 911 would have dissolve the confidence level of most investors

26. How can you attempt to attribute economic conditions, a lack of investor confidence or the 911 attacks to what happened at Four Seasons?

The previous BLP administration did not allow Butch Stewart to make Paradise beach private. He got vexed, pulled the stumps, took up his bat and ball, and went home.

Rather than being so overly “politically defensive,” you need to be a bit more rational in your thoughts and contributions.

27. it also note worthy and amazing that under the constraints of volatility in high a pressured economic market that butch would pursue million dollars expansion.Such should be seen as a good measurement of Confidence that he has with the people of barbados and the govt which can relate positively as a barometer or marker directed towards any potential outside investor interested in barbados

28. @Artax March 30, 2016 at 3:06 PM

“How can you attempt to attribute economic conditions, a lack of investor confidence or the 911 attacks to what happened at Four Seasons?

The previous BLP administration did not allow Butch Stewart to make Paradise beach private. He got vexed, pulled the stumps, took up his bat and ball, and went home.”

The present DLP administration allows Butch to mess with beach, put up sea walls and cut down rare trees.

29. @DD

Good trees were cut down on the Paradise property to prepare for Four Seasons as well.

30. Bring your evedience of “rare”trees what ever that means.in any event Professor Fraiser brought those enviromental concerns to butch and as shown with the evidence of the continuation of the construction site your loud noises are unwarranted and display a tacky and a shady affront towards progress viewed under a political lense

31. What a JA.

32. Stupse, you does beleive de shiite you does write?

Any investor who is able to CONVINCE a government (or the government is stupid enough) to give him/her 40 years of tax free concessions for imports of food and beverage, cars, building materials, etc, not having to pay corporation and value added taxes, and expatriate employees exempted from paying income tax, will obviously invest.

Butch did not invest in this island because of the “good measurement of Confidence that he has with the people of Barbados and the govt,” he invested in Barbados based on his OWN TERMS…….. 40 years of tax free concessions.

And given the tax concessions, Butch’s construction costs would be less than half under ordinary circumstances, especially taking Barbados’ high cost of living into consideration.

33. What a JA indeed.

Where was Professor Henry Fraiser when the trees were being cut down around the environs of Paradise beach and when did he present those environmental concerns to Stewart?

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

Just sweetness.
    Adroitly avoided risk related to public finances, and turned it into a 9/11 market crash.
    I thank Butch for his investment, even if he is running rough shod over other concerns.
    The groins and sea walls are a game, which ends badly for those who cannot afford to build one. Or truck in 3000 loads of sand.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

The video I saw on the Dover topic was from historian Karl watson. I think it was Nation product but I do not subscribe

36. As a SID do we place enough attention and or allocate adequate resources to our environment and this includes the coastline. When you think about it, maintaining a pristine environment is all we have give our all or nothing investment in tourism.

37. Well sir when one consider the benefits derived from the concession your noises are just loud noises associated with a disgruntled political yardfowl.
    For what it is worth for every dollar invested in the concession the benefits derived from jobs alone are worth the financial cost given..For indeed if Sandals were shown the backdoor in similar fashion as the blp govt did .One can be certain that the unemployment rate would have been much higher and many having to rely on govt benefits.benefits which when accumulated would have cost govt snd taxpayers substantial moneies ..money that would never show or have a favourable return on what was spent

38. Steupsss
    …as soon as a sane government is reestablished in Barbados, Butch “paradise pisser” Stewart should be arrested and charged for gross public indecency …to wit… taking unfair advantage of a clearly mentally challenged DLP government ….and previously for publicly urinating in Paradise.
    Bizzy should also be charged as an accessory BEFORE the fact…and AC as an ASSessory after the fact,

39. You wrote that you manage a large business, which I find hard to believe since managers are trained in the intricacies of financial accounting, management accounting and managerial economics. Hence, when you wrote: “every dollar invested in the concession,” (in addition to other malapropisms) provides enough proof to convince me that you are a liar (similarly to Sinckler).

Firstly, you mentioned: “For indeed if Sandals were shown the backdoor in similar fashion as the blp govt did. One can be certain that the unemployment rate would have been much higher….” This is the first time Sandals came to Barbados.
    However, if you were referring to Stewart and Four Seasons, then you are admitting that you and this DLP administration are of the opinion that Barbadians should NOT be CONCERNED about PRIVATE BEACHES as long as “the unemployment rate is much higher.”

Secondly, let’s discuss the unemployment rate. During the period of Butch’s (mis)adventure with Four Seasons, the unemployment rate was approximately 5% or there about. Even though you are seeking to convince BU that Stewart has made a significant contribution to the level of employment with Sandals, the current unemployment rate is still hovering around 13%.

Thirdly, consider the fiscal deficit, whereby government’s expenditure has been exceeding revenue. You seem to be also suggesting that it is wise for this administration to grant Stewart 40 years of tax concessions. Government will obviously have to borrow or increase taxes to make up for the short fall in potential revenue as a result of those concessions. Ultimately, in either case, the BURDEN falls on the tax payer.

Given that BDS $1 = JAM $60.82, Stewart’s 40 years of tax free profits will be used to expand the Sandals brand in Jamaica or invest in Jamaican products such as Appleton Rum and provide employment for Jamaicans.
    Have you considered the levels of foreign reserves, since profits will obviously be “repatriated” in USA dollars?

Fourthly, do you care to outline to BU, what are the benefits to be derived from the concessions?

In September 2012, Sandals renewed a partnership with Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum, which “will once again be poured at ALL Sandals Resorts and Beaches Resorts throughout the Caribbean.” Obviously, this means Appleton rum WILL be the PREFERRED CHOICE of rum in the hotel. What implications would this decision have on Barbadian BRANDS such as ESAF, Mount Gay, Stades, Old Brigand, Alleyne Arthur and Dorleys?

How can you justify a Barbadian government giving a hotelier 40 years of tax free concessions and the choice rum in his hotels is the Jamaican brand, Appleton?

It’s better to assume one to be a “disgruntled yard-fowl” than to open ones mouth to provide proof of being a “stupid is ass” yard-fowl.

40. Jesus take the wheel!

41. Nice bit of PR.

I would have thought that Butch would have used his internal marketing machine to get the Sandals’ Reunion Week 2016 story out.

But, why bother when the DLPGIS does it for him

http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=9&p2_articleid=15703

Barbados: A Congenial & Safe Place For All

Published on March 30, 2016 by Sharon Austin

Sandals Chairman, Gordon “Butch” Stewart has the ear of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and Sandal Barbados General Manager, Fernand Zievinger during a dinner for Sandals’ Reunion Week 2016. (A.Miller/BGIS)S)

Government is continuing efforts to make sure this country is a congenial and safe place for all.

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart underscored this point last evening, while delivering remarks at a dinner for Sandals’ Reunion Week 2016 at its Dover, Christ Church location.

Those in attendance included Chairman of Sandals, Gordon “Butch” Stewart, and Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy.

Mr. Stuart pointed out that tourism was the lead sector in the Barbados economy and it paid the bills, therefore it was necessary to make sure that the country was as congenial and comfortable as possible.

“We do not start by trying to make it congenial for the people who visit us. We start by making it congenial for our own people here in Barbados because we are aware that if the people … are not happy, if they don’t feel comfortable here, if they are not proud of the country in which they live, they will be hard put to smile when they see you coming and they would find it that more difficult to be warm in their exchanges with you…. So unless you make them comfortable, they might not feel any impulse to make sure that you are as comfortable as possible when you come here,” he stated.

The Prime Minister said no tourist destination could hope to succeed if visitors did not feel safe. “Therefore, we make every effort here in Barbados to make sure that in your moving around and in your savouring all of the cultural and other delights we have here in Barbados, that you feel as safe as possible.

That is a continuing commitment of successive Governments of Barbados and certainly a commitment of the present Government of Barbados, over which I have the honour to preside,” he stressed.

Mr. Stuart told the large gathering that Barbados would celebrate 50 years of Independence later in the year and encouraged them to participate in the activities. In thanking them for their loyalty to Sandals and Barbados, he urged them to spread the word about this “precious slice of paradise” when they returned home.

During the night, Sandals officials presented several of the returning guests with gifts to say “thank you” for vacationing with that hotel brand, which has several locations across the Caribbean.

This is the second time Sandals Barbados has joined its sister hotels to host Reunion Week, which started on Sunday. The local guests will engage in a number of activities, including beach volleyball, a catamaran cruise and a bus tour.

sharon.austingill-moore@barbados.gov.bb

42. Sandals operating like ‘a state within a state’ – Toppin

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/03/17/sandals-operating-like-a-state-within-a-state-toppin/

“St Michael North Member of Parliament Ronald Toppin has called on the Freundel Stuart administration to make public its agreement with Sandals Resorts.

Contributing to the debate in the House of Assembly on the Appropriations Bill 2016, Toppin charged that the accord signed between Government and the international hotel chain was “the most tightly guarded agreement”, while complaining that “a whole lot has been given to Sandals and the country has got relatively small in return.

“When a company could be granted a half-billion dollars in concessions, it is only right that Barbadians should be able to see the agreement,” argued Toppin.

“I believe it is by right that we see a copy of the agreement that entered into between the Government of Barbados and Sandals so that we can know what we might be in for,” he added.

The Opposition shadow spokesman on tourism described Sandals as “a state within a state”,

“At the 50th anniversary of our independence, we have Sandals here, the state within a state, a veritable animal farm, where all are equal, but one is more equal than others,” he charged, adding, “Sandals has done nothing in this country to build a tourism industry.”

However, he bitterly complained that the hotel chain had “extraordinary powers” and was “determined to dominate every single little thing”, including jet ski and other water sports activities.

“At the same time not one local tour operator can go on Sandals’ premises to try to solicit business, to carry somebody for a taxi ride or a tour anywhere. Nobody can go inside,” Toppin alleged, adding, “it is an all-inclusive with a big difference.”

Toppin also pointed out that while most all-inclusives came with two or three restaurants, but Sandals has 14, and was bringing it to Barbados “an offshore tourist, who does not mix with the average Barbadian”.

“The Sandals model is totally out of sync with the tourist industry that has operated in Barbados over the years. It might apply in other places where people are afraid to go out, but that is not so in Barbados.”

He said that the power and reach of Sandals was so strong that even business people seemed intimidated and were not saying anything in their defence.

“And the Government’s lips are sealed too,” he added.

However, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy rose to his feet in objection after Toppin charged that Sandals could build groynes in the sea “and the Coastal Zone Management [CZMU] people do nothing about it, or say nothing about it”.

Sealy said an application was made to the Town & Country Planning Department, which was commented on by the CZMU.” (GA)

And to which Minister does own & Country Planning Department report.

The same Minister (PM) who was guest speaker at Sandals’ Reunion Week 2016 soiree.

Should the tile of the story read “Barbados operating like a Sandals resort within the Sandals chain”

43. re post at 10:34

Should have finished with

Talk about the tail (Butch) wagging the dog (Freundel)

44. Great PR for Barbados and sophisticated marketing skill a co joining effort between govt and Sandals that gives Barbados much word of mouth publicity generated by those foreign vistors who attended the social event

45. Artax March 31, 2016 at 12:30 AM #

Have you considered the levels of foreign reserves, since profits will obviously be “repatriated” in USA dollars?

Profits repatriated?

Payments for Sandals reservations go directly to US (or Canadian or UK) bank accounts.

Remittances are then sent to cover local expenses – salaries, wages, utilities, and modest local purchases.

Profits are recognized in the US or Panama where the ultimate holdco is domiciled.

46. Have you consider that the Tourism industry is a wide and opened playing field and each individual interest varies and not necessarily committed to one area or venue.
    When last have u hear the taxi drivers belly aching about having no business.
    Dont u realise that type of foreign reserves stay immediately in the islands adding to income
    You guys are the type of bean counters that cannot see beyond the horizon

47. ac March 31, 2016 at 12:44 PM

……. the Tourism industry is a wide and opened playing field ……..?

When one player receives 40 years of tax and duty waivers?

That is a very long time horizon.

48. Have you ever heard or read about the loans that many in the Hotel industry received from past govts and still are outstanding or might have become written off the books all at taxpayers expense.
    Think about those million dollar loans which were meant to boast and improve the Tourism stock more than thirty years ago and moreover which did not produce any gains but significiant losses to govt
    Aren/t those type of losses you and those in opposition should be angry about rather than projecting negative connotations on a proven and deliverable brand as Sandals

49. And David i kind of tripped over you response intentionally since you have already proven so easily that JA sses come in all shapes and colours and you are no exceptation after exposing your true colours nakedly in the shape of naked deparature.. Oops not just a Jass but one with a Johnny cloth attached.