Adrian Loveridge

As we re-enter the softer summer season, the emphasis by many tourism partners is how to use this prolonged traditionally quieter period to enhance, upgrade and generally improve their individual plant or product.

Having owned and operated a small hotel for almost three decades, we had a policy of re-investing a substantial part of the previous years’ turnover and/or profit annually, so that returning guests could see that we were always trying to improve the property. It became almost like a game and we offered our guests a clipboard so that on their second day of their stay they could tour the grounds and report back to us the improvements they noticed since the previous visit.

Regular readers will by now realise that I always think it is better to achieve goals using smart partnerships, so we are bringing back, as a non-for-profit initiative that was initially rolled out about ten years ago. Through our wonderful web communications company we have registered the domain name www.tourismenhancement.com and launched a live Facebook page.

The objective is to try and persuade local suppliers and manufacturers to offer a special discount to all tourism partners during the month of September only. For those companies agreeing, it will of course result in depleted margins, but hopefully the volume and brand awareness will at least partially compensate for this.

If most accommodation providers, restaurants and ancillary tourism services all undertake some upgrading, this has to result in a nationwide improvement, which I am sure will not go unnoticed by our repeat clientele.

While most people can understand our geography has an impact on pricing, if you really study freight charges it is difficult for layman to comprehend exactly why in so many cases we pay often double what a similar or even identical product costs in our source tourism markets.

Yes! some may say, but designated qualifying tourism providers can import many items, supposedly ‘duty free’ and this may be true for the larger players. But to the majority of our smaller tourism businesses it’s a bureaucratic nightmare and often simply not worth attempting to scale the hoops and hurdles placed in the way. As our own example, I can still graphically recall attempting to import some specialty paint, after first obtaining verbal permission from local authorities through one of Britain’s largest manufacturer’s’, Imperial Chemicals Industries (ICI) and intended for lighthouses.

17 days after placing the order, it arrived at Bridgetown port. It would then eventually take almost three years before that ‘permission’ became a reality and we were allowed to collect the paint. But only after paying three times the cost of the paint and shipping in duties and taxes. At that time we went to the ‘secure’ customs area to collect the goods, only to find one third of it had been stolen. Resigned to the fact, we then attempted to obtain a refund of duties on the reduced quantity, only to be told this could well take up to two years. This is part of the cost of doing business on Barbados.

Most of us can understand why our ‘local’ manufacturers have to be protected, but ICI had already indicated that they were happy to licence a Barbadian based company to make this particular product here. Eventually this became a reality for other brands, but it took almost 20 years to make it happen.

77 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – the life of a small hotelier”

1. ac March 31, 2016 at 3:23 PM

I assume you refer to the Hotels and Resorts fiasco.

I am copying the following from a BFP blog in November 2011 at:

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2011/11/20/gems-of-barbados-website-slickly-deceptive/

“The scandal of GEMS Hotels and Hotels and Resorts Inc. is a textbook lesson in how the political elites rape public funds and get away with it. Barbados tried to nationalize the hotel industry and lost hundreds of millions of dollars, perhaps over a billion dollars – who knows? They won’t tell us how much we taxpayers lost.

Predatory Pricing by Government… upon privately-owned hotels!

By using tax funds to support an unprofitable operation the Barbados government also kept out other brands and undermined private hotels large and small. The government even subsidized the GEMS hotels room rates to keep them lower than possible in the private sector.

That was decidedly hostile to outside and domestic tourism investors who soon got the message: “Don’t invest in Barbados where your main competition is the all-powerful government.”

As so many learned the hard way, it’s not a level playing field when the Barbados Tourism Authority pushes government hotels over privately-owned businesses.

Except the GEMS project failed just as everyone predicted and now the government is begging outside investors to renew our aging hotel inventory. The Government should have thought of that when they originally established a business climate that was poison to private investment in tourism accommodation.”

I am sure you will agree with the above.

So, do two wrongs make a right?

Don’t you think that your government should disclose the terms of the deal with Sandals.

Do you not agree with St Michael North Member of Parliament Ronald Toppin who said:

“When a company could be granted a half-billion dollars in concessions, it is only right that Barbadians should be able to see the agreement,” argued Toppin.

“I believe it is by right that we see a copy of the agreement that entered into between the Government of Barbados and Sandals so that we can know what we might be in for,” he added.

The Opposition shadow spokesman on tourism described Sandals as “a state within a state”,

“At the 50th anniversary of our independence, we have Sandals here, the state within a state, a veritable animal farm, where all are equal, but one is more equal than others,”

Do you not agree that granting 40 years of tax and duty concessions to one player makes that one player more equal than others.

Do you not agree that foreign and domestic tourism investors get the message: Don’t invest in Barbados where your main competition the all-powerful Sandals empire which is being substantially subsidized by the government.

Except, of course, the Chinese government whose motives are not know or understood (Beware Greeks bearing gifts).

The scandal of Sandals. is a textbook lesson in how the political elites rape the taxpayers and those who compete with Sandals.

2. You seem to be suggesting that Sandals is much favored above barbados home grown stock in the hotel industry but that flies in the face of a global competitive market and furthermore goes against Caricom initiatives
    What if Barbados had produce a brand like that of a Sandals which took root in other Carribbean markets would you be hollering in the same mmanner asking those carribbean govts not to be lenient in offering concessions to boast their tourism stock ?
    The long and short of the story is not about the length oftime but the returns in dividends across the board that is of help to the country within the forty year period

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

You will rarely finding me agreeing with ac, though I am a-political.
    WE, investors and their advisers, know we have nearly every government over a barrel when it comes to investment and jobs. The more desperate they are, the more we can get.
    A few in the Caribbean area we deem “desperate”. They need jobs and we need concessions. It is a marriage made in heaven.
    And understand, the concessions can be found, if not in Bim, then elsewhere.
    So don’t be too hard on a government for bending over backwards, they have little choice. Take the jobs and whatever investment comes or lose it to another. Bim isn’t the only place with sun and beaches, and it is a longer flight than many from N.American hubs.
    And the truth is that Bajans expect more than many others. It isn’t a low cost place to do business, whether tourism or otherwise.

4. OK then

I get it – Jobs – Jobs – Jobs

btw – how many more jobs are there at Casuarina under Sandals than there were under Couples

I will put my Butch Whacker away – for now at least,

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

its relevant only to how many jobs were there a week before Sandals took over?
    When Almond had it there were jobs and for all the years the Edgehills ran it.
    Gov’t pay the most attention to new jobs. You can bend them over in an acquisition too, but its harder.

6. And there were jobs when Couples had it until GOB kicked them out so they could sell the property to Sandals.

How many net new jobs under Sandals over Couples?

7. @DD

We have discussed this many times now, Sandals strength is in its marketing might and generating airlift.

8. @ David
    Sandals strength is in its marketing might and generating airlift.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    what exactly does that gobbledygook mean?
    marketing might? … putting ads in North American papers? Wuh boss, give Bushie 1/2 Billion dollars in concessions and Lord know how much under the table in exchange for bribes and you would see ads…
    As to ‘airlift’ … please explain that phenomenon. Are more planes are coming because Butch now own a hotel …that was previously quite successful..?

Look boss…. all the shiite talk aside, Butch is here because it suited the ‘personal objectives’ of our politicians to promote foreigners over locals like Almond….

They would not invest $100M to develop LOCAL Almond, but would happily GIVE a foreigner $1/2B to take over Couples… A foreigner best known for settling a multimillion dollar fine for bribing government officials in another jurisdiction…

9. @Bush Tea

If Butch spends the advertising dollars it means the BTMI’s budget is supplemented. This is important because government has scarce resources.

10. bush shit u need to shut to F up! for every issue u say the same over done bull shi t! give you what ! you cannot even generate a dogs interest in joining BUP. HUSH do

11. …so we give Butch 40 years of concessions worth how many millions of dollars? ….in order to avoid BTMI advertising expenses of what…?

We gave away BNB because Arthur could not be bothered to insist that it be properly managed…
    It was not important to refine and develop the BARBADIAN brand called ‘Almond’ so we scrap that whole multi-million dollar investment and bring in Butch…?

Something is not right!!!

Is BARBADOS government not duty-bound to develop ‘things BAJAN’ first and foremost?

12. @Bush Tea

OSA gave away the BNB because he was lead for CSME.

13. Here he comes again talking shit it is sooooo obvious that this ole fool lives in an isolated world far away from reality ,
    Ole man the global competition is fierce and you better believe that if barbados acts or pretends that it can carry its weight by being belligerent and stubborn there are many other competitors who would gladly give more than forty years of concession to a brand that is well known and highly appreciated and sought after world wide, where is the benefit in holding on to nothing and losing all ole boar ,Barbados would remain on the losing end with arrogant egomaniacs like you who have nothing to offer but pretends as if you have
    Who the hell ever heard of the Almond Brand world wide ! What influence did Almond have in marketing or Branding
    Getting cocky when your ship is sinking and refusing a viable life raft is down right ignorant jac ass

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DD
    help me with history…I get confused sometimes.
    Wasn’t Casurina owned by a consortium of BS&T [Massy], GEL and Almond? When that group ran it in the ground, they leased it to Couples? The same owners sold it to Sandals?
    This same consortium also owned Morgan Bay in St.lucia which after similar poor performance was sold to Elite (for the debt it owed), who also bought Almond St.James (former Divi).
    What was the GOB connection to Casurina?

15. jac ass (bush shit ) u need to get off your high horse talking shit about barbados brand and stop fooling yuh self what de hell does barbados have to sell world wide that is recognizable and competitive enough to give barbados full exposure bringing big foreign exchange bucks to the country
    You really believe that if the Govt had spent millions of dollars on Almond that the return on the investment would have been enough for the the cost in securing a barbados brand
    Bro your are dumber than a door nail

16. @ ac
    If you are anything to go by, Barbados indeed has nothing worthwhile to sell other than its ass…
    Fortunately, there are a few of us who have been blessed with the talent to operate at world-class levels. Unless such persons (David Weekes comes to mind) are given the opportunity to shine and to explore their inherent talents, ALL of our asses will be kicked to the curb….

The situation now, where the political class is comprised of people of your ilk – dead beats who KNOW that they are hopeless, brass-bowl, jokers – leads us to think like you have articulated….where prostitution is our only hope…

You sound EXACTLY like the idiot Froon and the clueless Stinkliar… “we are not doing as badly as Haiti and Afganistan …. so there!!”

Jackasses…

17. NorthernObserver April 1, 2016 at 1:12 AM #
    @DD
    help me with history…I get confused sometimes.
    Wasn’t Casurina owned by a consortium of BS&T [Massy], GEL and Almond? When that group ran it in the ground, they leased it to Couples? The same owners sold it to Sandals?
    This same consortium also owned Morgan Bay in St.lucia which after similar poor performance was sold to Elite (for the debt it owed), who also bought Almond St.James (former Divi).
    What was the GOB connection to Casurina?

This old memory is not so good too.

So hear are some links to help

Almond too big to fail
    Geralyn Edward, Business Editor,
    Added 02 March 2012
    – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/46280/almond-fail#sthash.4d6om6Tt.dpuf

Almond Beach going to Elite
    Geralyn Edward, Business Editor,
    Added 27 July 2012

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/38543/almond-beach-elite

Two set to go
    NATASHA BECKLES,
    Added 07 November 2013
    – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/31323/set#sthash.yVPhWjLp.dpuf

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/31323/set

So as I understand it:

When Massy/GEL et al decided in 2012 to cut their losses they sold Almond Beach Club to Elite who converted it to The Club Barbados.

When they could not find buyers for Heywoods and Casuarina, BTII stepped up and bought them some time in late 2012/early 2013.

BTII then leased Casuarina to Couples, who operated it until BTII kicked them out so they could sell it to Butch.

Apparently BTII still owns the property at Heywoods, and Bernie Weatherhead is operating some of the rooms – under lease or management agreement.

While Butch may have added some new jobs, the bulk are the same jobs that Couples had when they operated at Casuarina

It would be interesting to know what BTII paid for Casuarina and what they got for it from Butch. But as full disclosure is not something this administration ascribes to, that will probably not be known until the ruling party changes and they have their hands on the books.

18. Bush shit go sell yuh brand to the jac asss in the BU classroom that accommodate your nonsensical rants and raves .see how much of a profit you can get nincoompoop.

Btw tell the classroom where on the stock exchange would you have seen a rating for the Almond Brand. The sector was an exculsive dud
    Then again in your little world of isolation your dumb a.ss wouldn’t want to even bother about marketing to a world wide audience u jerk

19. I have it on excellent authority that Sandals was selling liquor at duty free prices during their staff v management cricket match at Dover playing field. Not drinks, but whole bottles of liquor. Was that part of the deal too, ac?

20. Peltdownman April 1, 2016 at 1:28

Was that Mount Gay or Appletons?

21. More than likely Appletons, but not just rum – scotch, Baileys and other liquors.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DD
    if I read those articles, and referenced annual reports from GEL & Massey, they all suggest Casuarina was sold directly by the consortium to Sandals. The BTII (GOB) was never involved in Casuarina, only Heywoods. And while Casuarina/morgan Bay had similar ownership, GEL was not part of other Almond properties, only Massey.
    In other words, I am unsure one can blame the GOB or an agency of it, for terminating the Couples lease. That was a Massey/GEL deal.

23. As concerned Bajans let us continue to be vigilant and be inspired by those who only have an appetite for grain.

24. Peltdownman April 1, 2016 at 1:28 PM #

I have it on excellent authority that Sandals was selling liquor at duty free prices during their staff v management cricket match at Dover playing field. Not drinks, but whole bottles of liquor. Was that part of the deal too, ac?

it not against the law as long as they have been granted licensed permission to do so

25. Murder!

26. So speckled fowl have you never heard of a duty free operators license ?
    Well all sandals resorts through out the carribbean has duty free operators licencse a smart business move that is available to any barbadian who meets the necessary criteria

27. Naked ladies are popular
    https://youtu.be/1AI47p388tQ