New Poll Gives BLP 46% and DLP 16% of the Respondents

Q18a Party to win next elections: When asked which party they think would win the next election, one in seven of the respondents (16%) felt the DLP would win, while a much larger group (46%) felt the BLP would win. There is however a sizeable group (36%) who did not say which party they felt would win. Those who felt the BLP would win were found well spread by sex, but higher among those in the 16-55 years age group, those with post primary education, and those who would support the BLP.

90 comments

• @David, thank you for sharing this. I just had a quick read through of the Poll Results. The results are largely not surprising.

What I find interesting is the news on VOB today of two potential third parties in the making, one which is apparently to be a reincarnation of the NDP. I look forward with interest at this development with the hopes that the two will amalgamate behind a solid pro-people platform and present a viable alternative to the two-party system we currently have.

The problem will be getting most Barbadians to see beyond the two-party system which the results of this poll show will still be a challenge.

However, desperate times call for desperate measures so maybe now is the time for a third party to emerge victorious.

• Overall it was a good effort. The methodology does not sates what criteria was used to determine which constituencies were to be sampled or the sample size. Can anyone tell me whose constituencies were sampled?
    The younger people want change. It will be interesting to see who the DLP come with as the leader of the party after FS because based on the sample the Public has shown no confidence in the three names put forward. I am confident that the results showed that there can be a new political party. I am surprised at the 49% positive rating for education. The recent fiasco with the student at the Springer School or the plight of the UWI students did not appear to have such a damaging impact.
    On question 12 with regards to the PM and Minister of Finance being the same person, I felt that there should have been a follow question that encompasses knowledge of economics for the title holder of the Minister of Finance.
    It is surprising that the survey did not mention the Central Bank of Barbados Specifically. Also the economy is such a broad term that it should have mentioned the performance of the different sectors in the economy. For example how did government policy affect manufacturing or tourism?
    Following question 8 on the qualities of persons seeking political leadership, there should have been a follow on question as to if these qualities have been displayed in both parties.
    No questions were asked about the social systems in Barbados. The quality of health care ; if the standard had declined, improved or was the same. The same should have been asked of the institution that fall under social care.
    Communication of government policies and projects should also have been address. For example has government communication declined, improved of was the same should have been asked.

• Well Well & Consequences

It appears that the majority of the electorate are battle fatigued from both D & BLP, they have worn out their welcome, if new people are serious about making a difference and getting rid of those two albatrosses hanging on the necks of the citizens, they need to make their move now.

• If the results of the poll represent a realistic opinion of the electorate, the DLP has an additional two years to “turn their fortunes around.” Fortunately for them the 50th anniversary of independence presented DEM with the perfect opportunity to use a STATE SPONSORED year long independence celebrations to basically “CAMOUFLAGE” to the START of their ELECTION CAMPAIGN.

From what I have read, it seems as though the DLP usually base their election campaign around Barrow, independence, free secondary education, national housing, national insurance, welfare, school meals, etc.

On Monday, February 15, 2016 (at Almond Bay), the DLP announced a nine-month calendar of events to celebrate Barbados’ 50th anniversary of Independence, under the theme: “’Barbados – The Journey to 50.”

DLP General Secretary, George Pilgrim, said the party’s activities are separate from those being planned by Government and will focus on the leadership of the four Prime Ministers from the Democratic Labour Party and will extend to DLP branches in New York, Canada and the UK.

“The calendar of events includes town hall meetings, a lecture series, thanksgiving services, award ceremonies, social events, exhibitions and concerts. The DLP will also be publishing a commemorative calendar featuring the party’s achievements and successes that contributed to the development of Barbados.” [Loop News, February 16, 2016]

Bearing the above information in mind, together with those persons charged with organizing the year-long celebrations (all of whom are associated with the DLP), obviously this is not a NATIONAL EVENT, which encompasses all Barbadians, irrespective of their political affiliation, or that recognizes those individuals who made meaningful contributions to the development of Barbados during the past 50 years will be recognized.

Instead, we are being asked to celebrate the DLP because of that party’s involvement in achieving independence.

Even Stevie Wonder can see that this is a yearlong, STATE SPONSORED political campaign.

Yep..albatross around the people’s neck.

• I waiting for the follow up poll before I comment. Oh shirt! this one was done by somebody else. The right mix in an alternative party can make inroads towards the restoration of people’s confidence in the political system. How do we willingly go back to the BLP, when that party tells you that not much has changed? The most recent announcement that came from Christ Church West, coupled with the affair of a weather cock named Marshall successfully ruffling the feathers of a peacock with a similar name lends credence to my claim. According to the PONTIF one needs to build bridges as opposed to walls. Where the Barbados Labor Party is concerned the snipping and infighting is on a scale that matches that of the dreaded ISIS. Mia build…….Kerry brek down…….Mia build…….George brek down…..Mia build…..Ronald brek down. The eager eleven……..the spiteful seven…..only bout hey!

• Still pushing those 2 crooks of a party and no talk of others, The crook system still want the people to loose no mater which of the 2 fraud parties they Chuse,

We can see the Set up is on the way and much money will be spent buying more votes,,

The CUP will not be buying votes, But will be stating the true of each matter, The media is no help to the public for both are in the pocket of the white men and the black men that look to behave white,

The CUP will win some seats to speak on the floor of the House so the Nation will know what the real deal is in BIM , Enemy of Our Enemy is still our Enemy, No friends with crooks , liars and scumbags,lawyers and Ministers,

By then the only media that will count is Naked Departure, Where people can really see what going in in Barbados , and people to get answers to their questions,

• 2018 is too big and heavy a chain (calling elections) to put on the necks of Barbadians!!!

• Yawn…….steupse

• @Heather, your interpretations of the poll results got my attention. You need to sponsor a brand new one with some of those keen followup questions proposed!

But jokes aside, you asked the very perceptive question of “whose constituencies were sampled”. Clearly you understand how skewed – intentionally or otherwise – these things can be.

And tell me, why do you think that the Springer imbroglio or the UWI tuition issue would impact the national psyche negatively on education?

Blame the gov’t all you want on its bold faced lies and change of policy re the tuition decision but the fact is undeniable that the free tuition policy at UWI does NEED to be changed. It has been noted here (I have not reviewed the details personally) that the students in medicine and some of the other ‘hardcore’ areas of study have not fallen off as much as some other areas in Soc Sciences and other areas,

The latter areas are those where students feel less assured of easily finding employment, I presume.

It may be a harsh comment and even considered biased to say but a small country like ours needs to better harness resources and producing an army of Soc Scientists and lawyers 50 years after independence is NOT the way to go. There was a time for that and that time has passed.

The average Bajan knows that only too well after being saddled with the results of our plentiful legal vultures. They want a change in that free UWI study ting.

re Springer…that was an absolute mess due to an out of control parent arrayed against an inept series of actions by Educ officials. Maybe it was symptomatic of a deeper malaise in the Educ system but there was nothing about the public facts of the Springer issue to move the nation to bad faith in Education overall.

Now if you expected the nation to be dismayed on discipline/respect of elders from that mess I too would want to see the results of that.

• I lost interest at the end, when I discovered the largest group of those surveyed Did NOT Vote in the last election. It is voters who determine election outcomes?
    So the already smallish sample size, shrunk by 37%.

• Outspoken Government minister Donville Inniss is strongly advocating for change to the Westminster style of Government, while complaining that way too much power is currently vested in the Office of the Prime Minister and that the Senate is engaged mainly in “rubber stamping”.

• A remake of run up to elections 2013. The DLP based on the polls of CIA snitch Wickham are extremely unpopular. Froon more unpopular than Shortman, MIA , Malick Wid Teet. Fast forward to week before elections Froon gains in popularity on Shortman and MIA so fast Wick-er-ham rubbishes his own poll conducts another to suit what the Bees wanted to hear. End result the “unpopular” DLP won. So shall it be in 2018. You could bring scumbags from Tony Webster to Tennyson Joseph to Quisling Wickham odds are the Dems will triumph in 2018. Sorry Mia it was written.

• @Heather

This link to Barbados Today answers your question about the polling samples used. Most worrying (for them) is how low Mia and Fruendel polled as leaders. We have discussed exhaustively on BU .

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/02/22/failing-grade-4/

• Will be interesting to hear Wickham’s comments. Enter Joseph Davis another pollster.

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

Oh come to Shite on, people. Wunna actually falling for that poll thing again? The elections outcome is no longer about polls but about Sir. Grantleys. And he who has the most Sir Grantleys to buy votes has the greatest influence on getting an election victory. Man, we all already know that 3-PM and his bunch of shites have done a good job in getting bajans to hate their asses. So to get them loving again, HERE COMES A YEAR LONG PARTY, and following that free money and gifts galore. Now if 3PM can spread the amount of money he give away during the last elections to come out winning, he might pull off a third term if he increases dow a little bit more so he can buy more votes. Poll my ass. Bajans hate both parties, but money definitely will buy loyalty.

• Some people are supported by the argument to not vote in a system that is manipulated by the rich and powerful, we say criminal.

• Visitors to BU site are encourages to share in the Diaspora Corner. Click the link.

• “The Freundel Stuart administration received greatest disfavour in its handling of the economy and unemployment with 65 per cent rating Government a failure in dealing with the economy, and 75 per cent criticizing its handling of the unemployment situation.” [Barbados Today – February 22, 2016]

On every occasion someone has to critique this DLP administration’s handling of the economy, their supporters always say critics are “prophets of doom and gloom” and “instead of criticizing, bring solutions.”

Barbados had 8 eight years of implementing various economic policies, including the Medium Term Fiscal Strategy and Medium Term Development Strategy, which failed to achieve the desired objectives (as admitted by the Central Bank Governor); levying of a various taxes on soft drinks, cell phone usage (and fat??); an increase in land taxes and VAT; and the promise of economic growth, as predicted by Sinckler and Dr. Worrell.

Recently, Dr. Worrell, Sinckler, Richard Sealy, Stuart and the DLP were bragging that Barbados experienced ECONOMIC GROWTH, which has been ATTRIBUTED to an INCREASE in TOURIST ARRIVALS during the LAST QUARTER.

If TOURIST ARRIVALS are RESPONSIBLE for ECONOMIC GROWTH, then this administration is essentially ADMITTING their ECONOMIC POLICIES have FAILED to ACHIEVE THAT OBJECTIVE during the past eight years.

• @Artax

You can go further by saying further growth is projected based on 1 billion dollars to be spent on tourism related projects. Let us discuss the achievements to make structural changes and key reforms. To Healthcare, Education, Governance….

• Mia Mottley leader of this country ? I doubt it, and preferred leader? Don’t make me laugh.

• David February 23, 2016 at 6:49 AM #

“@Artax: You can go further by saying further growth is projected based on 1 billion dollars to be spent on tourism related projects.”

Yes, David…… projects we were hearing about since 2009.

Okay, let’s look at any achievements to make structural changes and key reforms to health care. Correct me if I’m wrong, but so far this administration has not articulated a definite health care policy. They are still struggling with the QEH and have been sending “subliminal messages” which suggest that Barbadians will eventually have to pay for health care, since they have also “attached” fees to certain health care services.

What about building a new hospital? This was one of their promises as outlined in their 2008 election manifesto. David Estwick mentioned this when he was minister of health, but his plans were “shot down” by then PM Thompson who said that resources would be made available to refurbish the QEH.

The hospital and polyclinics often lack basic supplies, essential equipment as well as medication because in some instances, the QEH is in debt to suppliers who more often than not refuse to fill orders until the debt has been paid. These were issues this administration accused the previous administration of undertaking……. the more things change, the more they remain the same.

What are the DLP’s major achievements in health? Renaming the Black Rock Polyclinic to the “Branford Taitt Polyclinic” because some say he was the best minister of health Barbados ever had (even though no one has so far present information to substantiate this myth) and completing the St. John Polyclinic and renaming it “The David Thompson Memorial Polyclinic.”

You ask about education. This administration has been successful in renaming many of the school after DLP stalwarts. What has Sleepy Smith done that is so spectacular to have St. James Secondary School renamed “Frederick Smith Secondary School? Are we in Barbados fascinated or obsessed with naming everything shiite after politicians?

• SIgnificant is the need for a third party in comparison to who don`t know.

• @David, if only more ministers shared this view:

“If it were up to St James South MP Donville Inniss, all Cabinet ministers would be required to hold regular press conferences and be open to fielding questions from members of the media about the performance of their ministries.”
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/02/23/breakdown/

People in general are fed up of the delusional lying mouthings of politicians, every political independence day they come up with the same old lies re independence as though the people are deaf, dumb and blind…..maybe if they took a good, long, hard look at the truth themselves, they would not need to be delusional liars and think it necessary to waste taxpayers dollars on those lies.

Here is the truth re independence as the politicians should be telling it:

“According to businessdictionary.com, if you are independent, then, you are “not controlled by any outside factors including opinions and regulations”. If one were to interpret that definition in strict manner, then, the logical conclusion is that we are not independent because there are countless cases where external circumstances have not only controlled our responses but also dictated the nature and extent of those responses.

A more pragmatic approach to this issue is for us as a people to case aside all of the material religious, political and cultural things that divide us and begin to ask some tough but relevant questions about the existing state of affairs in our various countries, several years after gaining political independence.

That sort of critical self-examination is an effective way to approach the question of whether we are truly independent, as people, as countries. For instance, are we really independent when our children and grandchildren wake up early in the morning with no food to eat, no clean water to drink and shower, and no sense of purpose? Can we consider ourselves independent when we lack basic access to quality education and health care? Do we wish to be independent when time after time our governments fail miserably to deliver on promises made to us during election campaigns?

Have we been exercising independence when each time our economies make a turn for the worse, we run cap in hands to the International Monetary Fund for bailout funds and technical assistance? Folks, to be really independent does not mean that as peoples and countries we have to do everything ourselves without any foreign assistance or involvement. What is at stake is our willingness and ability to do all of the things we can handle ourselves in the most efficient manner and not sit back and wait for others to provide handouts to us” – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77864/-independent#sthash.pr90Ii2a.dpuf

By the way…if Donville held a press conference in his constituency to field questions, the first thing he will be asked is, what is wrong that after 8 years of represnting the peoole in the Haynesville, Holders Hill areas of St. James, why is the state of the roads so deplorable, he is dependent on that large segment of St. James voting for him to be returned to parliament as a minister, so why has he been ignoring the bad roads in the area, or does he not think he need their votes anymore…

Or does he think he can placate and fool them with lies in the next year and a half leading up to elections in a case of, fool me once shame on you, fool me twice…shame on me.

• @Alicia

He is saying the right thing, an obvious differentiation tactic by him. What he needs to address is the fact I’m he is a member of Cabinet.

• caribbeantradelaw February 23, 2016 at 8:16 AM #

“@David, if only more ministers shared this view:”

“If it were up to St James South MP Donville Inniss, all Cabinet ministers would be required to hold regular press conferences and be open to fielding questions from members of the media about the performance of their ministries.”

@ caribbeantradelaw

Please, don’t be naïve and misled by Donville Inniss, who, in my opinion, is Barbados’ version of Donald Trump. Inniss says things he believes the public wants to hear.

If you were to peruse pages 47 and 48 of the DLP’s 2008 election manifesto, under the heading: “22: Good Governance,” you will read the following:

“The DLP administration’s attitude to accountability will be based on the understanding that as servants and representatives of the people there can be no secrets or matters to be hidden from the population. Consequently, a DLP administration will be accountable for its actions and policies and take the public into its confidence.”

Under a DLP government, the people will be kept informed of what the government is doing on their behalf through:

1) Regular press briefings following meetings of the Cabinet of Barbados.

2) Press briefings by Ministries/Departments to inform Barbadians of major developments and changes.

3) The publication of details of agreements and contracts involving the government and its agencies.

4) Formal Ministerial statements at regular intervals on the progress of ongoing programmes and projects.

5) A revision of and adherence to the rules regarding Parliamentary questions.

6) A POLICY OF FORMAL REPORTING BY PARLIAMENTARIANS TO CONSTITUENTS ON STEWARDSHIP AND ISSUES AFFECTING THE CONSTITUENCIES.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

What Inniss has alluded to is exactly what his party PROMISED Barbadians, as articulated in their 2008 election manifesto. If he said the DEMS have “rescinded” from what they had originally promised, then I would accept that is some merit of SINCERITY in his comments.

• I just dont get it………a third party will be made up of our fellow bajans with the same predelictions as us and the members of the existing parties……..so what will change with a third party?

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

Donville Inniss was not talking this shite when he bluntly stated that he could not take a pay cut because he has a family to support. When his administration decided to take the road of silence and speak to Barbadians through branch meetings, not a single word from Donville Inniss about this. When his 3-PM (Piss Poor Prime Minister) was insulting the intelligence of Barbadians during his direct and indirect speeches to Barbadians, you ain’t hear a single word of objection from Inniss. But, elections are coming and all of a sudden, he has found some integrity to address the lack of good open governance with his fronting. That psychological bullshit will only convince the paling cocks on the side of the DLP fence. The only thing that is going to help your asses win the next election is the amount of free money you spend to give away buying votes.

• Interesting to hear yesterday a group of third party aspirations interested in the death of the NDP.

• Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

While a 3rd or 4th party might not be able to win, 3rd or 4th parties within a coalition gov’t might act as a safety valve.

Regardless, the teefin’ is going to increase in the coming months with the writing on the wall for Fumble’s Fools. There will be all kinds of dodgy individuals rushing development permissions through the system.

• caribbeantradelaw February 23, 2016 at 8:16 AM #

If Inniss was truly sincere in his comments, he could have taken the INITIATIVE by “holding regular press conferences and be open to fielding questions from members of the media about the performance of his ministry” and his TENURE as REPRESENTATIVE of St. James South, while ENCOURAGING his COLLEAGUES to do LIKEWISE.

However, since Inniss has demonstrated a PREFERENCE for HOSTING constituency Christmas and New Year FETES over the type of press conferences he alluded to, his non-action in this matter begs the question:

1) Knowing what he suggested was ARTICULATED in the DLP’s 2008 ELECTION MANIFESTO, what has PREVENTED him from HOSTING his OWN PRESS CONFERENCES or was there a COLLECTIVE AGREEMENT amongst DLP members NOT to partake in such a venture?

• @ Artax at 9:27 AM…very strongly and well stated. The good member Inniss does seem to understand quite well how to ‘play’ the public. We should not be mamaguyed by him or any others from any party!

And @Vincent of course you get it! Stop messing around …LOL. Consider that when Barrow formed his new party it too was “made up of our fellow Bajans with the same predilections”. When Haynes formed his same thing too.

Both effected change. One profoundly of course.

Yes there is no template in BIM to give confidence for a successful third party but there is also no template for the abject corruption and leadership decay which our country currently experiences.

We came out of the 1950’s with two labor parties. The country was demanding a change of the status quo…are we not at such a point again in our history?

Why can’t we come out of the 2020s in a different political way too!

Hope springs eternal or as Jesse Jackson was fond of saying: Keep Hope Alive!

“Yes there is no template in BIM to give confidence for a successful third party but there is also no template for the abject corruption and leadership decay which our country currently experiences.”.

Well said, so one wonders why when it’s so easy for them to be corrupt and do all the wrong things against the people who elected them…..the politicians find it a gigantic task and herculean effort to do the right things devoid of corruption and scams against the same people of whom they seek reelection.

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

A third party in Barbados will upset the number of votes the two lying parties might think they will get. All a third party has to do is present the right type of ‘faces’ and a strategy not base on erroneous promises and you will see votes shifting hard from both crooked parties. But I doubt if the NDP will be able to make any significant in rows, at least not with Commisiong as its leader.

• you need a white guy that doesn’t need more money but wants to leave a legacy to run the country a trump if you will. I can see the slogan now…time for bajans to get bizzy.

• de Ingrunt Word February 23, 2016 at 10:42 AM #

A good point to discuss,why EWB succeeded and RH failed,possibly the federation/small 8/loitering on whitehall steps forever/Independence were burning issues that allowed a 3rd party to emerge……no such factors existed when RH tried and none exist now.

• Laughable how the political strongholds seem shaken about new parties.If they cant win why the fear mongering?Vote alternative , vote independent, spoil the vote or stay to ass home.

• Interesting though are the usual talking heads on the Hill and in the media who are persuasive in their arguments that a third party will take decades to solidify.

• @ de Ingrunt Word, I have to look back at the stats to see what the education levels were of those who gave education a passing grade.

• David February 23, 2016 at 3:05 PM #

Interesting though are the usual talking heads on the Hill and in the media who are persuasive in their arguments that a third party will take decades to solidify.@@

David ! when did you start to believe the words of these ” talking heads” Hill or media , crooks in Barbados, They want to delay what is coming ,and for them to be to old to be put in jail or judged,
    99 years old can still go to jail even if they die the next day,

The CUP is still here and not going any where, and it did not take decades for We are already at the gates of the peoples HELL. Only way it taking long is by the media taking sides to hide the crooks from the people and the new Party or parties from the people , A media they control ,

• @Deeds

For a political party to be successful it has to appeal to a cross-section of the electorate. Many of those who you believe support you do not vote.

• @Deeds

For a political party to be successful it has to appeal to a cross-section of the electorate. Many of those who you believe support you do not vote.@@@

We did well with 2 weeks notice and no coverage , We will do better this time,
    The people have time now to learn what is going on and have all questions answered . We have not seen BU give the same time and to be equal to both side, OR 3 SIDES,

https://www.facebook.com/Coalition-of-Unified-Parties-Hon-Alex-MitchellEl-President-427129324101550/notifications/

ADD CUP to the options , most will vote , they want to see the power of 38% ,and some others that find out we are here will come over, Barbados can not play sleeping beauty for ever, there is a lot of room for the CUP between 46% 16% still leaves anyone but them 38% with a shift to remove these crooks,

• For the past several months many contributors to BU have been expressing the view that, under the present circumstances and against the background of the inadequate performance of the BLP and DLP, there is a need for a viable “third” or alternative party.

Although I agree with the sentiments expressed on this issue, I am aware that a “third” party will ultimately experience some difficulty in trying to convince at least 51% of the electorate to vote.

For example, let’s look at St. Vincent. SVG has two main political parties (Unity Labour Party and National Democratic Party) and there is SVG Green Party, which for the purpose of this “discussion,” I shall categorize as a “third party.”

The SVG Green Party was established by Ivan O’Neal in 2005. Interestingly, O’Neal was treasurer of the Unity Labour Party before leaving in 2000 to join the PPM.

After being in existence for 10 years, the Green Party has not been able to convince the Vincentian electorate that it is a credible alternative party. In the 2005 elections the party was able to gain 34 votes of which O’Neal received 14. He managed to gain 12 of the 145 votes the party received in the 2015 elections.

It must be noted that over the years SVG has had a total of 11 alternative parties, starting with the Democratic Freedom Movement of 1970, which contested the 1974 elections and received 217 votes.

In Barbados we recently had the PDC seeking to present themselves a viable alternative for the electorate. Based on their articles and contributions to BU, they would have great difficulty in soliciting my vote. They were advancing a policy of “no taxation,” but were unable to explain how they were planning to “run the country” without taxes.

• @Artax

Let us see what is the slate of candidates Grenville had to offer. The profile promises more than PDC et al.

• A third party can make significant inroads during the upcoming 2018 elections if they abopt

1) Candidate must be persons with track records of doing and honesty.

2) No shite hounds

3) No persons who just like the attractiveness of parliament but have no interest in good governance

3) Decriminalization of marijuana

4) No hungry persons who are bribe-able

6) Willing to lock up politicians within DBLP for corruption

7) Introduce ITAL & FOIA

8) Create parish councils who would have autonomy to raise funds to develop parish

9) Remove appoint of judges by Prime Minister

10) Asset disclosure of politicians and PEPS

11) Allow election of local think tanks by parish residents

12) Appoint Permanent Secretaries on contract basis

13) Allow flexitime for government departments

14) Divest Government revenue departments with trade unions as to make citizens truly shareholders

Finally, hang cocaine dealers and corrupt politicians by the balls from a pimpler tree!

• Oh a third party gine cut much votes and will attract the 34 % undecided as well as the disenchanted BDLP yardfowls. Thus George Belle and Peter Wickham using psychological tactics to get into the masses minds that third partys cannot exist.

De DLP was a third party formed by Errol Walton Barrow!. need I say more.

• Oh Christ for 97% literacy rate we are some naive simpletons.

• @Enuff explain to a simpleton

• I have to print and go through the numbers, but please note that person saying they think “party A will win” does not necessarily mean the person will vote for A. It also appears these question was not asked of voters/likely voters but to the general population. Extrapolate at your own peril.

Heather raises some pertinent question related to sample size, sampling methodology. etc….

• seriously !it got to be silly season

• @ Lawson
    you need a white guy that doesn’t need more money
    Bushie sees that you are practicing up on your oxymorons….

Liked by 1 person

• That’s right George Carlin you saw thru the bull shale, its all MASTURBATION either mental or physical and the people ALWAYS get the gov’t they deserve. They’re just too educated and intelligent to see the BIG PICTURE. One of the greatest and most effective strategies of the controllers was to remove the chains from the wrists and ankles and place them securely on the MINDS.

• @ Artax. ….the longest walk begins with one step. You don’t necessarily have to win the race (51%) the first time out. If inroads are made into some of these so called safe seats, perhaps we can realize the beginning of the turn around. Just saying.

• Bushy when I think of Barbados and oxymoron’s the ones that come to mind are loyal opposition, unbiased opinion or one that we see a lot there negative growth. I know it would seem odd having a white guy in charge, many questions could arise like ,how could you bribe yourself or is he asking me ,telling me, ordering me or is it in my job description who cares lets march.

• Frustrated Businessman aka Republic my ass.

We are not asking the right questions……….AGAIN!

Why would a person run for public office?

For sincere reasons – to give back to society what he has been given (success).
    For corrupt reasons – access to dishonest money.

For the purpose of this discussion I will ignore No.2, we need only look at the current cabinet to understand the effects.

To achieve No.1 a candidate must have already realised his life’s ambitions and be on the threshold of Maslow’s last step in the ‘Hierarchy of Needs’ self actualisation, having achieved the previous steps of safety (financial security), sense of belonging (socially) and self esteem (personal or professional achievement).

To be clear, there was a reason the House of Lords was filled with successful men, whether self-made or granted by the King.

There was a reason our House of Commons was filled with successful men in times past, whether self-made or educated professionals.

When Donville Inniss says his civil service income is his only income, shouldn’t that set off alarms?

We can’t have people entering parliament looking to make money or a name for themselves, it must be a pre-requisite.

Therein lies our problem. Those people are not going to get into pissing matches on public podiums with the rest of our political scum.

• Agreed Lawson … those are good oxymorons…
    But why does it seem ‘odd’ having a white guy in charge?
    Who the hell do you think we now have in charge…? Froon?

Being ‘in charge’ does not have to mean sitting in the driving seat… you ever heart of remote control? Who do you think put that fella on the Central Bank board?
    Who do you REALLY think dish out those one-sided contracts to Bizzy and Maloney?
    …an educated, independent, thinking, black leader of a post-slavery country?

LOL …what ‘questions would arise’ are you talking about? Such questions have been answered for 400 years straight… check out our plantation history…

@ Frustrated B
    You are correct that successful experience is THE most critical factor for selecting credible leadership.
    HOWEVER…
    If that ‘success’ has been attained in a clearly illegal and fraudulent manner (by bribery, underhand deals, and inside trading) then such ‘self made’ persons surely do not qualify to lead a fair and balanced society….
    You therefore need to qualify what you mean by “realising life’s ambitions”…

With the clear and unmistakable exception of one of Bushie’s top men in Barbados (Lowdown Hoad) there are VERY few of the persons to whom Lawson refers ..who ever seem to be contented with their material successes….

Everyone seems to want to be a multi-Zillionaire….. like in the good old plantation days…

• Bushy what are you saying froon is an oreo ???? Some PRETTY UGLY things have happened in the past and it is an OPEN SECRET that white people may be in charge but that’s OLD NEWS, GOOD GRIEF cant we get over that….. how are those oxymoron’s

• To be honest Lawson, you getting ‘good as shiite’ at this oxymoron business 🙂

• Retribution-things that make me go hum!

What I don’t understand is why the people of Barbados did not just pelt DEM out instead of waiting until 2018- too passive uh?

• Bush Tea February 24, 2016 at 9:25 AM #

“Agreed Lawson … those are good oxymorons…”

Jester Ince, Reggie Hunte and Dennis Kellman are also examples of good “Ossie Moore-rons.”

Hmmmmmm……. sorry, I meant “those are good oxymorons…”

Liked by 1 person

• So wait who needed a polls to tell we this?…DLP doing BARE SHOITE and going NOWHERE FAST……they lost DEM way 7 years ago and up to today they don’t know their thumbs from dey DxCKS. Ac cud really hush……Dey gine try again wid the $$$ but even dat ent gine WORK. NO WATER,NUFF TAXES..Nutting to help a fella..A FAT TAX even….BARE SHOITE DENNNNNnnnnnnn!!!!

• David

BTW…….U ent got ah more amiable foto of FUMBLES doah? Is like a SCARY MOVIE all ova again….cud laud!

• @Hitler Young February 23, 2016 at 5:46 PM “Candidate must be persons with track records of doing and honesty.

3) No persons who just like the attractiveness of parliament but have no interest in good governance

4) No hungry persons who are bribe-able

Finally, hang cocaine dealers and corrupt politicians by the balls from a pimpler tree!”

And while ya hanging, hang those people who say persons when people is a perfectly good word. You do know that people is the good and correct plural of person right? And hang those people too who say breakfast instead of the correct brek’fast. And those who say Thompson instead of Tom’son, and Thomas instead of Tom’as.

And hang those as well who call themselves Hitler anything

Lolll!!!

By the time we are done hanging we may only have two or three people left.

• @Vincent Haynes February 23, 2016 at 9:41 AM “I just dont get it…a third party will be made up of our fellow bajans with the same predelictions as us.”

They planning to ask God to send down a few angels from the Kingdom of Heaen. God is a Bajan right? So I think that he will help we out.

• @Onions

He is what he is, a Black man from St. Phillip…lol.

• hi ole onions ac not worried ,,not even breking a sweat bout this brek neck poll have gotten used to the BLP mixing apples wid oranges ,bolting out of the stable gate then getting tired and fatigue and dropping dead half way down the stretch ,,,,,as i see it the poll reminiscent deja vue all ova again

• Simple Simon February 25, 2016 at 3:33 PM #

If you had read the PMs letter you would have seen that he already has,he sent his angels,which is why I asked BT to explain what de france BBE did to Bim creating so many BBs here……so far BT has been unable or too shame to explain it all.

• Simple Simon February 25, 2016 at 3:33 PM #
    @Vincent Haynes February 23, 2016 at 9:41 AM “I just dont get it…a third party will be made up of our fellow bajans with the same predelictions as us.”

………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Why do we keep talking about a Third Party when since post Errol Barrow, we have had one which, sink or swim, rain or snow, controls the majority of politicians in our Houses of Parliament .
    Ask Bizzy, Cow, Maloney, Bejerkham et al. The Invisible Conservative Party is alive and kicking, thanks to Bizzy’s P.I.G’s

• Can someone tell me what type of housing project was to be at the villages of Coverley? Was it low income or medium income or what? Also what was the cost of the leasing agremment per year.

• @ Colonel Buggy February 26, 2016 at 2:59 PM,

……meanwhile in Zimbabwe, Mugabe kicks a white family off their land!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3465233/Black-British-doctor-seized-farm-white-Zimbabwean-couple-personally-knows-Mugabe-family-extraordinary-picture-reveals.html

• Exclaimer so typical I wonder how long it is before the the crops are dead, the land goes into disuse because they don’t know what to do with it, the farm is scavenged in a free for all then cry when the only people that want to invest there are crooks and charletons….sound familiar

• I see that the BWA is announcing a prohibition on the use of water for certain uses, shockingly, includes household water tanks greater than 400 litres which is smaller than many have. That makes no sense.

Household water tanks do not change the amount of USAGE, they only remove the inconvenience of having water off at odd times like early in the morning when one is trying to shower for work, which has happened to me.

Are Barbadians now to pay for the inept water management of the BWA and successive Governments?

Indeed, while Barbadians suffer for lack of water, will the sale of multi millions of gallons weekly of potable water to cruise ships continue?

I guess so, as it is $$$$$?

Why does the BWA not build more reservoirs?? Why?

I guess a plant to burn rubbish is more important.

Ha.

What a joke.

• @Crusoe

Please clarify:

The thousands of water tanks Barbadians were encouraged to installed must now be removed?

• Hitler Young February 23, 2016 at 5:50 PM #

Oh a third party gine cut much votes and will attract the 34 % undecided as well as the disenchanted BDLP yardfowls. Thus George Belle and Peter Wickham using psychological tactics to get into the masses minds that third partys cannot exist.

De DLP was a third party formed by Errol Walton Barrow!. need I say more.@@@@@@

As you can see , the other 2 parties have their goats out there trapping the people minds in this, Vote for us or not at all , they still win,
    People sick of the media in BIM and on line doing their dirty work ,, the CUP will hit them hard ,, this is why you are seeing Blog WARS and the people are waking up,

Once people know there are others out there running it will cut on on their 46 % ans 16% add just 2% off each party to 38% will leave CUP with 42% or more , the 2 other parties will have to join in real as they have already done behind closed doors.

All of Barbados media can go to hell , as you can can see they are all fake , We hope they have a clear title for CBC and the Nation for we hold the Plantation deeds, those fraudsters will have to find land to set up with COW,

• David,

No, the Nation reports that the BWA is putting a prohibition on various uses of piped water, including the filling of water tanks in excess of 400 litres.

I guess that this prohibition is temporary, until Barbados actually gets rain. But the point is, water tanks per se do not cause more water to be used or prevent misuse. They prevent the inconvenience of water outages from impacting regular usage.

The use or misuse is a totally different matter.

One really has to wonder what people come up with these so-called solutions.

I really wonder where Barbados is going.

Not only that, but with the Government removing incentive in tax savings to install solar electricity generation, who really is thinking about the future.

Green energy?

LIP SERVICE!

• David, PS , how are they going to Police this? By using the new ‘law’ to come into your home at will?

Some VERY strange things happening now.

Be careful and respectful of your freedoms, protect them or you will lose them.

• Crusoe February 26, 2016 at 9:15 PM #

Some VERY strange things happening now.
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    No stranger than reducing the sugar output to 7000 tons.
    No stranger than knocking down Andrews Sugar factory to be replaced by a Super Factory to produce 7000 tons of sugar, if we are lucky, annually.
    No stranger than planting fields of wild river tamarind when Barbados is now almost cover from north to south in wild river tamarind.
    No stranger than restricting the capacity of domestic water tanks, while running a 10 inch water main almost directly from the pumping station to lands at Lears now being turned into an industrial estate by COW.
    No stranger than building a super sugar factory while, allowing much of the agricultural land which formerly produced canes to be turned into industrial and residential estates.
    No stranger than building an SSA Office block next door to the garbage dump, when at present we have one secondary school in Roebuck Street abandoned, and many other schools and government buildings being affected with serious environmental issues.
    No stranger than promoting alternative energy, while at the same time penalising those who are producing it.
    No stranger than paying high prices for petrol and diesel at the pump, while the price of oil has been reduced to its lowest in many years.
    No stranger than addressing and regaling frequent visitors from overseas, but have no time for locals.
    No stranger than bringing Koreans to carry out a transport survey at SSA.

• Heather February 26, 2016 at 6:32 PM #
    Well, Heather, the real Minister of Housing, Mark Maloney, has indicated tonight on CBC News that he has started a project at Coverly ,west, building some bigger and flashier units, as requested by many Bajans prospective homeowners . Meanwhile the original boxes , are rapidly being snapped up.

• Not to worry too much. As soon as Mark Maloney has obtained the mould to manufacture 500 gallon Hard Rock concrete tanks for household use, the two water rats will have no more to say.

• lawson February 26, 2016 at 7:21 PM #
    We are almost there. But some enterprising farmers have found an alternative crop. It is so important, like the vineyards of France, that the Barbados Government ,now has the security forces reaping this crop, in abundance ,almost weekly.

• Crusoe;

Yuh certain dat there is now a prohibition on FILLING tanks in excess of 400 litres (roughly 100 gallons) from the mains?

How are they going to enforce that?

Ensure that every household with a larger capacity tank install some type of system that would shut off when the water level reaches a height equivalent to a volume of 400 litres?

Are such systems available for existing larger capacity tanks or will they rely on the householders to shut off the water manually when it reaches the prescribed level?

If so how will they ensure that householders are obeying the drought restriction regulations? Use the Police? Use the SSA officers? Use Min of Health personnel? Use BWA personnel?

Do they know all of the houses that have tanks with greater capacity than 400 litres?

Will they ask householders with existing larger tanks (most people, as 450 gallon tanks seem to be the most popular ones) to replace them with 100 gallon tanks?

Will the prohibition be all over the Island? Or will those areas in St Thomas, St Andrew, etc. which only get intermittent supply of water from the mains be allowed to pump more than the 400 litres of water while the rest of the island will be subject to the prohibition?

In such areas a more relevant measure might be limiting the amount of water to be supplied by tanker to households with tanks but without water to 400 litres at any one time to ensure that such water is provided to everyone in an even handed manner.

The rationing of water is a good thing and all Barbadians should play their part and one can understand the need to limit the water being held in tanks. But what appears to be being mandated here needs a lot of refinement to be workable and enforceable in the short term but could be developed to be part of a workable long term strategy where all households would be allowed to fill potable water tanks to a limit of x litres per household member. Thus a 2 member household might have a limit of x litres and a 4 member household one of 2x litres.

I wonder if the current strategy has taken into consideration the relatively high water use by washing machines and water toilets as well as showers and if the given 400 litre figure takes these into account?

Something seems awry in what has been reported so far. Perhaps tomorrow’s paper might give some better indication of what is in store for us.

• Pingback: Water Rationing from March 1, 2016 | Barbados Underground

• Col you half to start a civil war so you can get off that rock Start a fight and we will send you a free tent

• canvas coverleys

• Right out the box for Jamaica new PM is a meeting with IMF

• Next time I hope the poll tell us that Barbados is done GREAT and no more on the verge of eminent collapse from lack of sufficient FOREX, Maybe all DEM ostriches that like BURYING they heads in the SANDS will find SOLACE in such POLLS that more agreeable to DEM.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s