Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC

โ€œI donโ€™t know what you mean by โ€˜gloryโ€™ โ€œ, Alice said.

Humpty Dumpty smiled contemptuously. โ€œOf course you donโ€™t -till I tell you. I meant โ€˜thereโ€™s a nice knock-down argument for youโ€™!โ€

โ€œBut โ€˜gloryโ€™ doesnโ€™t mean โ€˜a nice knock-down argumentโ€™ โ€œ, Alice objected.

โ€œWhen I use a word,โ€ Humpty Dumpty said, in a rather scornful tone, โ€œit means just what I choose it to mean โ€“neither more nor less.โ€

โ€œThe question is,โ€ said Alice, โ€œwhether you can make words mean so many different things.โ€

โ€œThe question is,โ€ said Humpty Dumpty, โ€œwhich is to be master -thatโ€™s all.โ€

Alice was much too puzzled to say anythingโ€ฆ Through the Looking Glassโ€ฆ -Lewis Carroll (1871)

Language, especially the English language, is notoriously imprecise. And, therefore, it is highly likely to confuse, bemuse and sometimes amuse when employed in its principal function -that of communication. This need for clarity might partly explain why lawyers and scriveners of old were much given to the use of the doublet expression (or the pleonasm as they are sometimes pejoratively called nowadays). These are phrases such as โ€œto have and to holdโ€, โ€œcease and desistโ€, โ€œlet or hindranceโ€, โ€œaid and abetโ€ and โ€œnull and voidโ€.

A more mercenary and hence more popular explanation though is that since lawyers were then remunerated according to the number of words in a drafted document, the legal doublet became de rigueur in order for the attorney to earn a sizeable fee.

Of course, the relatively recent thrust towards the โ€œplain Englishโ€ mode of drafting legal documents has now rendered this style largely superfluous (no pun) and, too besides, the degree of difficulty in draftsmanship of the document has significantly replaced the number of words in it as the principal tariff of the attorneyโ€™s fee.

Even with plain English however, imprecision persists and the hoary principles of the interpretation of deeds and statutes yet maintain contemporary relevance. Imagine then, the bedlam that may ensue in lay communication when a speaker or writer attempts to convey information to the public. And add to that the Barbadian context whereby the identities of the speaker (especially if a politician) and of the reader or listener assume major relevance. More so, where the topic is one as sensitive as race relations or of what should be considered preservable local heritage; two matters that are swiftly becoming indistinguishable here.

In parenthesis, it should be recalled that Barbadians are rather ambivalent about communication. While English is the official lingua franca, and the use of more popularly spoken dialect is frowned on at times by some, it is nevertheless seemingly accepted in the media so long as there is a perception that the writer or speaker is, I suppose, otherwise proficient in the use of Standard English and simply being light-hearted or engaging in mimicry on the occasion.

For those of us writing in Standard English however, we are often enjoined to write for โ€œthe common manโ€, a fiat that entails using a range of words and expressions that should be familiar to the average third form student at secondary school. Thus, any usage that may not be grasped without using a dictionary (!) is considered as gratuitous ostentation or โ€œshowing offโ€ by the author, although to be fair, there are some who have remarked favourably on the periodic additions to their vocabulary.

Both of the phenomena referred to two paragraphs earlier have entered the public domain in recent weeks. First, Mr Ralph โ€œBizzyโ€ Williams, a lighter-coloured national, took umbrage at the Prime Ministerโ€™s public reference to Barbados as being the โ€œfreest black nation in the worldโ€. Second, the historian, Mr Trevor Marshall, is reported as having expressed displeasure at an official reference to the late and eccentric public character โ€œKing Dyalโ€ (aka โ€œHog Foodโ€ in my youth) as a โ€œleading cricketing iconโ€ and a โ€œlegend in his own rightโ€.

With regard to the first issue, Mr Williamsโ€™s objection appears to be primarily based on the fact that it is a misnomer to describe Barbados as a โ€œblackโ€ nation, given the presence and contribution of many whitish Barbadians over the years. I read a later clarification where he would have preferred a description of modern Barbados as โ€œmulti-racialโ€.

On the simplistic point of the various races present in the nation, Mr Williams is of course right, although I do not think that the Prime Minister was making a racial reference, erroneous or at all, by his description. In any event, it does seem particularly useless nowadays to refer to a country by reference to the races of its citizens. Indeed, given the incidence of forced and voluntary migration, there are currently very few nation states that may not be referred to as โ€œmulti-racialโ€ by Mr Williamsโ€™s token.

However, while I thought that the Prime Ministerโ€™s statement was merely a harmless repetition of one of those idle jingoistic boasts that that we so much adore in this region โ€“โ€œa nation that punches above its weightโ€ and โ€œ the best beaches in the worldโ€ come readily to mind-, the geopolitical reality is that for those few individuals who may still want to describe a nation by reference to a colour, the principal cosmetic indicators are the race of the overwhelming majority of its citizens and the colour of those who hold economic and legislative power. An examination of apartheid South Africa provides a clear example; the majority race was African, although Whites controlled the laws and the chief economic indicators. How should one describe South Africa then? And now? How should the US or UK be described today ? Are we really a โ€œmonarchyโ€? A โ€œChristianโ€ society?

It is indeed remarkable that none chose rather to challenge the accuracy of Mr Stuartโ€™s superlative.

Mr Trevor Marshallโ€™s objection does carry some weight at first blush. To my mind, to describe King Dyal as โ€œa leading cricket iconโ€ oversteps hyperbole and โ€œlegendโ€ [except perhaps in his own mind] is clearly a stretch. I have not seen the calendar to which Trevor refers, but his objection, from the press report, appears to be based on the odium that the late character displayed towards black people. If true, perhaps this is more to be pitied than anything else. My support for the assertion is based rather on the fact that the self-styled โ€œKingโ€ was merely another local character, no more memorable for all that than โ€œGear Boxโ€, โ€œBulldogโ€ or โ€œTown Manโ€ and โ€œTown Womanโ€, for examples.

161 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Humpty Dumpty Comes to Town”

1. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Jeff; re your 11:26 am post

Yes, Jeff, Icon

From an internet dictionary near you with the relevant phrases in bold.

An icon is a symbol. King Dyal and his faux sartorial splendour at Kensington Oval is an unmistakeable symbol of first class cricket in Barbados , no less than Sir Garry for a few generations of Barbadians.

It can be literalโ€”โ€“like the little trashcan on your computer screen
    โ€”โ€“or metaphoricalโ€“โ€“as in a singer SO WELL KNOWN by ten-year-olds, he’s called a pre-teen pop icon.

Icon comes to us from the Greek word eikenai, meaning “to seem or to be like.”

In certain religions, statues of religious figures are referred to as iconsโ€“โ€“because they are prayed to as if they were the thing they represent.

Icon can also describe a person closely linked to an idea. In this case the idea of a highly visible devotee to west indian cricket.

Mahatma Gandhi is revered as an icon of peace and humanity, while Adolf Hitler is reviled as an icon of violence and hatred.

Re. your definitions, King Dyal fits at least 2 of the categories given.

an image, picture, representation, etc.
    King Dyal’s image at Cricket was totally recognizable and unique in Barbados. I choose to use iconic to describe such universal Barbadian recognition.
    a person or thing regarded as a symbol of a …… cultural movement, cricket.
    a person regarded as …. a symbol of ….. (outmoded) fashion trends

Also be aware that some of us who use the term icon to describe King Dyal might be doing so in the same sense as Humpty Dumpty as aptly given above.

“โ€œWhen I use a word,โ€ Humpty Dumpty said, in a rather scornful tone, โ€œit means just what I choose it to mean โ€“neither more nor less.โ€

2. We can debate King Dyal’s ‘iconic’ status all we want, some obviously regard Hog Food as a wart but to many who watched cricket at the old Kensington Oval, and especially those who sat in the Kensington stand,he was an integral part of the entertainment. We are getting ‘tie’ up with definitions moreso than what the creators are trying to do read this is a strand of what is Bajan.

3. King Dyall’s “Mascoticy” was the outfit he wore,and the words he spewed out . Dressed him in a Khaki pants , an NE Wilson shirt and a pair of Bata pumps,and not a single soul would have noticed or recognised him walking along Broad Street ,until he opened his mouth and utter the words Black Cattle.
    Yes he was a mascot, but a mascot of whom?

4. Donna, I write precisely because of what you just mentioned, Bajan”Whites” and your wishing to rid yourself of them! U write as if Bajan whites are some specific definable specie, they are indeed amorphous. Your own words prove that you dont know Bajan Whites.

I have seen written on this site that:

1 Whites dont shoot at Waterford—-NOT true, my own nephews go to that range.

2 Whites dont associate with Blacks—NOT true, I have attended my family Christmas parties at various homes in the last 10 yrs and on EVERY such occasion there have been black and brown peeps of various connections, including “outside” family newly reacquainted.

Donna, perception is NOT reality. Yes it is true that some White Bajans dont want to associate with darker ones and want to dominate purposefully. However, it is also true that some darker peeps have the same objectives.

5. @Mneybrain

1 Whites dont shoot at Waterfordโ€”-NOT true, my own nephews go to that range.

You are simplifying the point when people say Waterford is 99% members compared to Kendal which is 99% White.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant January 24, 2016 at 1:29 PM
    “His history is right before our eyes, we donโ€™t have to read about him in some dog eared book that was rescued from antiquity, how would you explain his place on the Barbadian โ€œiconโ€ calendar to your 12 year old grandson/daughter?”

The same way you would explain the statue of Horatio Nelson lording it over Heroes Square.
    All part of the Barbadiana landscape and the country’s colonial heritage. From James to Cromwell to O’Neal and TT Lewis to Adams to Barrow.

Who would you prefer to be featured? Speaker Michael Carrington presiding over 375 years of Parliament while the ghost of Sir John Gay Alleyne hovers in the background?
    King Hogfood Dyal has done less of a disservice to Barbadians than Michael Carrington and Fumble in his undying admiration of the biggest thieves (white or black) Barbadians have ever been faced with.

7. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@David, Vincent et al, I suppose that iconic status is a personal and subjective matter…much like heroes or role models. Hog Food does not fit that description for me. He clearly does for some of you…I can live with that…I prefer Ninja Man, Professor, or Dr Bostic

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“of mixed-race ancestry who self-identify with just one group culturally and socially (cf. the one-drop rule).”

MoneyB…in Bizzy’s delusional multiracial Barbados and given the above definition, it would be interesting to know which group would be the most comfortable self-identifying with just one group and which group will be chosen for both sides to identify with….Bizzy could very well be 95% subsaharran African ancestry, the DNA history goes back 20,000 years, why are you guessing when it can be pinned down, it’s obvious he does not want to be identfied as being any part of a black nation or he would shut up and educate himself, money does not make anyone intelligent, knowledge does that….

Now ya see how Bizzy is full of shit, he is taking bribing politicians thing too far, his relationship is with the politicians, he should not involve the people in anyway by trying to designate labels on them, it is ridiculous.

How fair could it be that we know the names of all the minorities involved in the bribing and extortion schemes with politicians of both parties, but we cannot get the names of all the politicians involved, how is that fair to the minorities…..is there some kind of secret arrangement between the 2 groups. I can’t see any of the very well armed minorities being afraid of any politicians on the island giving their beneficial to both groups of culprits, arrangements,…….try pulling the other leg…..Money

But ya know what, since we know who is who and an election is coming up in 2 years, we already know who is desperate for one thing or another, it will be a cake walk.

9. @Well Well

How have you extrapolated to Bizzy bribing politicians? He said he contributed to the campaigns of both parties.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 24, 2016 at 2:43 PM

So what is it if the same contributions are not declared by the same politicians in their election returns as mandated by the Electoral and Boundaries Act?

Caswell can attest to this legal requirement.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David….those were Bizzy’s words…..contributing to both political campaigns and calling up for favors after elections for multimillion dollar contracts is bribery….MoneyB calls it extortion, who am I to argue, when both MoneyB and Bizzy are on the scene when these transactions take place and put their own labels on them afterward. If one callls it bribery and the other calls it extortion, why would I call it something else, it’s not like anyone will go to prison for it in Barbados and they both are well aware of this…….

12. @Miller

There is a reasonable argument to be made that an intelligent corporate citizen should be aware of the rules/law as it relates to campaign contributions. In this matter however the accountability should be with the political party and the Electoral Commission.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller….in the real world, there is a cap on how much business people can contribute to political campaigns, as I know you know, that is why so many of them go to prison….in the followup to and after elections…eg Del Mastros of Canada who are looking at jail time in Canada for the same thing Bizzy et al do in Barbados…no business people are supposed to exchange campaign financing for government contracts, I can see with Money saying initially that the ministers refused to give contracts unless they got their extortion money, but after the first elections and it becomes a pattern every election for the last 6 or 7 elections, that’s bribery.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David…and who will enforce these rules on the island, they should, you are right, but who will.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

When they start prosecuting business people and politicians for violating campaign financing laws and rules, then they will be taken seriously and no one will be able to call them corrupt ever again.

MoneyB…ya really exposed them this time….Cayman Island Accts. Lol

16. Jeff Cumberbatch January 24, 2016 at 2:34 PM #

Truth be told,I am no believer in icons,statues,name places,masoleums,etc and the interesting thing is that EWB,the person some would like to deify did not either,which is why it is of no import to me.

I have passed him on the street many a time and was never addressed by him,I only heard him use the term when he was called by his other name by boys intent on fretting him.

My other point is if you are comfortable in your own skin,know who you are,does it matter what others say?

17. @ Jeff,

I hope that you do not have a problem with me inserting this article in your post.

“South Africa: Nelson Mandela’s friend Goldberg seeks ANC clearout

Veteran African National Congress (ANC) activist Denis Goldberg has called for leaders of the party to be replaced.

In a BBC interview, he alleged that the ANC leadership, locally and nationally, was riddled with corruption.

Mr Goldberg said that leaders’ focus on personal enrichment was threatening freedom in South Africa.”

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-35394540

18. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Not at all, Exclaimer, but I do not immediately see the connection.

19. @Vincent
    Truth be told,I am no believer in icons,statues,name places,masoleums,etc

Could not agree more!

20. WW wrote
    Davidโ€ฆ.those were Bizzyโ€™s wordsโ€ฆ..contributing to both political campaigns and calling up for favors after elections for multimillion dollar contracts is briberyโ€ฆ.MoneyB calls it extortion, who am I to argue, when both MoneyB and Bizzy are on the scene when these transactions take place and put their–

Excuse me WW but you are putting words in my mouth. Contributing to both political parties is NOT bribery or extortion, but merely great business practice, especially for Businessmen who depend on signed Govt contracts.

I have never been on the scene when EXTORTION is being implemented but know from excellent sources what goes down.

21. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Jeff Cumberbatch;

Seems to me that the discussion re. an iconic King Dyal vs. a clownish Hogfood is at the very centre of the thrust of your article.

I think you also recognized in your 2:34 pm post that dictionary definitions, varied as they are, often cannot do justice to the understanding and usage of a word by the total population when you admitted that “@David, Vincent et al, I suppose that iconic status is a personal and subjective matterโ€ฆmuch like heroes or role models. “

Thus “icon” can mean different things to different people and mere dictionary definitions cannot circumscribe the plurality of its usage. Thus to me the basic import of the word is that it is a symbol of something that could be tangible or intangible and it therefore is subject to several interpretations.

22. Contributing to both political parties is NOT bribery or extortion if it is NOT more than

the LEGAL maximum allowed.

23. Jeff Cumberbatch January 24, 2016 at 5:33 PM #

What is your take on this request for an ANC leadership clear out…..does it have merit?

Hants….what is the legal max allowed in Bim for campaign financing for BOTH political parties, $6 million…..an account in Cayman Islands?

MoneyB……you know you are privy to accurate info. Potatoe, potato, tell that to the small business men who have been disenfranchised for decades because they don’t have millions to pay politicians for contracts usingv “good business practices” are ya’ll listening to yourselves….lol

I am just happy that my and my families future are not in their hands and I know you are as well Moneybrain, you devil.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

I will suggest the King was a Legend.

26. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Vincent, I think that Goldberg’s call is genuine…”Power tends to corrupt” after all.

@ Northern Observer, and not an icon or hero or role model or epitome of excellence? How about Ossie Moore?

27. Seeing is Believing Avatar
    Seeing is Believing

Humpty and Dumpty in town blog started at same time photo of Hats Payne and Muscle Mary Lynch holding the Broken Trident made the news. One thought the piece was of that odd couple as they ran through Bridgetown. It gave the lie to government not including the opposition in 50th celebrations. The duo of buffoons evoked much laughter. The missing clown was habitual complainer Dwight Sutherland.

28. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Jeff re. your 7:51 am post;

No definition of Icon that I’ve seen equates or even limits its use to denoting a hero or role model or even epitomy of excellence. Was Hitler a hero of the west? But Hitler’s symbolic image is immediately universally recognizable to his generation and is therefore an iconic symbol, no less than his “evil” deeds.

West African religion is characterized by its adherents considering various outstanding objects as sacred ( eg. sacred crocodiles, sacred rivers, sacred trees, etc.) and these “icons” are used to intercede to an ultimate God. Those objects or things are symbols. they are also icons in its widest sense.

Ossie Moore is merely a Bajan character like “Town Man” or “Ninja Man”. None of those individuals in themselves represent a unique recognizable type. King Dyal’s “iconic “attributes, which distinguished him from those characters was his widely recognizable association with cricket at Kensington and his quirky dress styles. Gravy was to Antigua’s cricket what King Dyal was to Barbados’, an Icon in his own right and an ineluctible aspect of the ethos of Cricket in these parts .

29. Moneybrain,

RELAX! I tested you and found you harmless. LOL. We are not pointing any fingers at YOU or the few others who are of your ilk. Just yesterday my son went to the beach with a lily white next door neighbor and his family. This boy invites him EVERYWHERE and helps my son with his grooming so that they can leave the faster. Saw him cutting his toenails just the other day.

Accept that you and the few others are the exception and not the rule. Put away your broken record and suggest how we can bring about change.

30. Just saw the Kendal bit. This child even invited my son to Kendal but I didn’t let him go. Didn’t want him to experience the freeze that may have come at such a young age.

31. Dyall was a DIRTY self-hater! He was an irritant to me in the Kensington stand. I repeat- what has he done to deserve honour in Barbados? Dress in a DIRTY suit and cuss the natives? Great job!

32. Moneybrain,

My school and class were half filled with Bajan whites. Don’t tell me I don’t know them! They teemed like ants from all over the school from every class even for the short break time to separate themselves from us by the tennis courts. They were outraged when we refused to greet Elizabeth their queen. There were few exceptions then. There are only a few more now.

33. Donna,

Did not know we were discussing ancient history about your long lost years of youth.

34. are-we-there-yet January 25, 2016 at 9:20 AM #

โ€œGravy was to Antiguaโ€™s cricket what King Dyal was to Barbadosโ€™, an Icon in his own right and an ineluctable aspect of the ethos of Cricket in these parts.โ€

Perhaps you may care to explain in what context you are comparing Antiguaโ€™s โ€œGravyโ€ with โ€œKing Dyal.โ€

โ€œGravyโ€ (Laden Benjamin) is revered by Antiguans as a โ€œcricket icon,โ€ โ€œambassadorโ€ and the โ€œfaceโ€ of the Antigua Recreational Ground; some say more so than Ambrose or Richards. He gained popularity from his antics of providing entertainment at that cricket venue. โ€œGravyโ€ also operated a convenience store, which is located in St. Johnโ€™s; a vendorโ€™s stall, selling gifts, souvenirs and various cricket paraphernalia and has his own taxi stand. He was also involved in the Digicel Antigua & Barbuda For Life campaign.

Whereas โ€œGravyโ€ is seen more as a โ€œpeopleโ€™s manโ€ and can identify with ordinary Antiguans, as well as cricket enthusiasts from the other cricketing nations, โ€œKing Dyalโ€ was a snob who preferred to be in the company of whites, calling his โ€œblack brothers and sisters,โ€ โ€œblack cattle.โ€ I doubt there are many people, (probably with the exception of his immediate relatives) that were fond of Dyal.

Letโ€™s examine both individuals from Trevor Marshallโ€™s perspective. โ€œGravyโ€ was encouraged to continue entertaining cricket fans by three well renowned Antiguan cricketers, namely Viv Richards, Curtly Ambrose and Courtney Walsh. He even mentioned in an interview with Rahul Bhattachartal on May 12, 2002:

“The only three people who knew what I was going to do were myself Gravy, Curtly Ambrose and Courtney Walsh. We had a plan and we used it systematically. When the water cart comes onto the field, Curtly Ambrose and Courtney Walsh supposed to get the drinks first. Then I start my antics. That is when I’m at my best, when the water cart is on the ground. It allows me a chance to make the opposition not to be a part of the water cart. They forget to drink the water because they’ve never seen anything like me. They’re thirsty and they’re back in play. They’re listening to me, watching me. By that time, Ambrose and Walsh have taken their wickets.”

The above comments are more than enough reasons why โ€œGravyโ€ could be included in any appreciation given to Antiguaโ€™s cricket icons.

What has โ€œKing Dyalโ€ done to be deserving of being called โ€œBarbadosโ€™ leading cricket iconโ€ and a โ€œlegend in his own right?โ€

Jeff Cumberbatch and Trevor Marshall have my support on this issue.

35. @ Sargeant
    There must be a shortage of heroes when someone seeks to rehabilitate his image by describing him as an โ€œiconโ€ of Barbados cricket. What next?
    Well said.
    What next you ask….?

How about the man that represented the very epitome of Bajan educational, professional and sporting excellence …and who was paid, and charged with the role of developing and maximising such talents in Barbados ……choosing to name the ONLY presentable sports stadium in the Island after a Jamaican …who did not even go to university…?
    NOT A SINGLE PRODUCT OF HIS STEWARDSHIP COULD BE FOUND TO DESERVE SUCH HONOUR.
    Luckily he did not name it after Chris Gayle….

How about this same scion of national development now focussing his talents on trying to extort ‘reparations’ from Europeans for the unspeakable evil perpetrated on blacks in the Caribbean.. by begging and scraping at the feet of their descendants….

Perhaps we REALLY can do no better than King Dyal….

36. Bush Tea January 25, 2016 at 10:55 AM #

โ€œWhat next you askโ€ฆ.? How about the man that represented the very epitome of Bajan educational, professional and sporting excellence โ€ฆand who was paid, and charged with the role of developing and maximising such talents in Barbados โ€ฆโ€ฆchoosing to name the ONLY presentable sports stadium in the Island after a Jamaican โ€ฆwho did not even go to universityโ€ฆ?โ€

The University of the West Indies Ground, LOCATED at UWI, ST. AUGUSTINE was RENAMED โ€œTHE SIR FRANK WORRELL MEMORIAL GROUND.โ€

37. Bush Tea January 25, 2016 at 10:55 AM #

Chuckle……..man yuh got muh ‘greeing wid yuh too often now,yuh not giving muh sumtin to cuss yuh bout.

38. Was Frank Worrell not a WEST INDIES Captain during a period of WEST INDIAN Federation?

39. Moneybrain,

Not so long lost, dear. I have a young son, you know. LOL. The point is that those people grew up and haven’t changed much. They are now in possession of their inheritances and continue the “Freeze.” Ten years after leaving school I experienced the “FREEZE” in the bathroom of the grandstand at Bushy Park. Two years ago my brother experienced the ‘Freeze” at Bushy Park in the pit area before the race for which he had received a pass from a friend. Consideration for the forum doesn’t permit me to detail every occurrence and I have forgotten many of them but the impressions remain. I do interact with “Bajan whites” still today and some have changed but not most of them. Why I referred to my school days was because a leopard doesn’t change his spots. Not without some sort of surgery. As far as I know, that has not yet been performed in Barbados.

40. Artaxerxes,

Trust you to have SUPPORTING EVIDENCE! Didn’t know that one. I guess The Dyall character would hurl insults at our players and tell the opposition how to get the West Indians out. This would spur them on to disappoint him. That is probably what he did for West Indies cricket. Reverse psychology!

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JeffC…re Legend
    a traditional story sometimes popularly regarded as historical but unauthenticated.

an extremely famous or notorious person, especially in a particular field.

adjective
    very well known.

So no, not Ossie Moore, nor that of Sam Lord. For the King was very real. The mere fact we are referring to him, and most know of whom we refer, is evidence of his status.

42. Maybe by strict definition an icon is not necessarily a hero but people perceive it to be so. The presence of that menace on an official brochure seems to hold him up as a positive element. Placing him on a page with a true hero whom he used to demean and WILL to fail is a travesty. Would the Australians have done that to Don Bradman or the Englishmen to Ian Botham? We are truly our own worst enemies. Only a house nigga would do that! Nothing wrong with mentioning Dyall in the history of cricket but this brochure is supposed to be about national pride. Are we proud of King Dyall?

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    “by three well renowned Antiguan cricketers, namely Viv Richards, Curtly Ambrose and Courtney Walsh”…Walsh was Jamaican?

44. Donna January 25, 2016 at 10:10 AM #

โ€œThey teamed like ants from all over the school from every class even for the short break time to separate themselves from us by the tennis courts.โ€

Donna, I know what you wrote about well. When I was at BCC and UWI the whites and Indians used to congregate in their own groups. There is not anything wrong with thatโ€ฆโ€ฆ. to each his ownโ€ฆโ€ฆ. โ€œbirds of a feather flock together.โ€ The same thing occurs at these institutions to this day.

However, what really annoyed me was when the blacks of a fairer complexion (who were under some misguided opinion that they should be considered white) and those of darker complexion, who wanted to โ€œinfiltrateโ€ those groups so as to give themselves a sense of โ€œbelongingโ€ or notion of identity.

This usually creates a situation whereby one or two โ€œtoken blacksโ€ may be invited to a party, resulting in them telling their black counterparts, (with pride and some semblance of superiority); they were invited to โ€œSusanโ€™s party.โ€

45. Donna January 25, 2016 at 10:10 AM #

These same โ€œtoken blacksโ€ take this attitude with them in life. For example, a few years ago I had reason to visit someone who lived in Mullins, St. Peter. As I was making my way to their home, a black dread-locked man, driving a rusty Land Rover (who was married to a white woman), โ€œflagged me downโ€ to ask what was my business in that area and who I was looking for.

His reason for stopping me? A black man should not be in that area unless he is invited or is working, probably cleaning the pools, gardening or washing cars. His actions reminded me of the hypocrisy we, as black people, exhibit in this island.

Could you imagine that back in the day, when black people could not enter Strathclyde, Pine Road or Bellville after a certain time, as perpetrated by the whites, would have been frowned upon by this same Rasta, his parents and fore-parents. Yet, this guy would have been proud to know he is doing similar acts of prejudice and segregation against his own.

46. NorthernObserver January 25, 2016 at 11:39 AM #

@Artax: โ€œby three well renowned Antiguan cricketers, namely Viv Richards, Curtly Ambrose and Courtney Walshโ€โ€ฆWalsh was Jamaican?

Wunnuh does like to nitpick, yuh. Yes, Walsh is Jamaican. Who said I was perfect and did this mistake take away from my general point?

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    nitpick yes. While Gravy is certainly more of the people, his own opinion of his impact on the outcome of any game, versus his entertainment value, is seriously questioned.

48. NorthernObserver January 25, 2016 at 12:08 PM #

โ€œWhile Gravy is certainly more of the people, his own opinion of his impact on the outcome of any game, versus his entertainment value, is seriously questioned.โ€

It is your prerogative to โ€œnitpick.โ€

However, what โ€œharrows me with fear and wonderโ€ is how can you, based on ONE INTERVIEW, whereby Gravy implied his entertainment antics in conjunction with the actions of named cricketers, may have had an impact on the SPECIFIC game to which he referred, would cause you to โ€œSERIOUSLY questionโ€ โ€œhis own opinion of his IMPACT on the outcome of ANY game,โ€ especially taking into CONSIDERATION that the gentleman in question is a COMEDIAN/ENTERTAINER?

Supposed Mac Fingall performed at the Nagicor Super 50 and Barbados Pride won the finals. Fingall told reporters his trumpet blowing and outrageous suits caused Pride to win the match. Based on your logic, perhaps you would believe him rather than viewing his answer as one that would obviously come from an entertainer.

Surely, your nitpicking in this regard โ€œis seriously questioned.โ€

49. Donna January 25, 2016 at 11:28 AM #

โ€œMaybe by strict definition an icon is not necessarily a hero but people perceive it to be so. The presence of that menace on an official brochure seems to hold him up as a positive element. Placing him on a page with a true hero whom he used to demean and WILL to fail is a travesty. Would the Australians have done that to Don Bradman or the Englishmen to Ian Botham?โ€

Donna, your above comments are 1,000,000% correct.

50. Let us agree there is an element of subjectivity about this matter.