Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC

โ€œI donโ€™t know what you mean by โ€˜gloryโ€™ โ€œ, Alice said.

Humpty Dumpty smiled contemptuously. โ€œOf course you donโ€™t -till I tell you. I meant โ€˜thereโ€™s a nice knock-down argument for youโ€™!โ€

โ€œBut โ€˜gloryโ€™ doesnโ€™t mean โ€˜a nice knock-down argumentโ€™ โ€œ, Alice objected.

โ€œWhen I use a word,โ€ Humpty Dumpty said, in a rather scornful tone, โ€œit means just what I choose it to mean โ€“neither more nor less.โ€

โ€œThe question is,โ€ said Alice, โ€œwhether you can make words mean so many different things.โ€

โ€œThe question is,โ€ said Humpty Dumpty, โ€œwhich is to be master -thatโ€™s all.โ€

Alice was much too puzzled to say anythingโ€ฆ Through the Looking Glassโ€ฆ -Lewis Carroll (1871)

Language, especially the English language, is notoriously imprecise. And, therefore, it is highly likely to confuse, bemuse and sometimes amuse when employed in its principal function -that of communication. This need for clarity might partly explain why lawyers and scriveners of old were much given to the use of the doublet expression (or the pleonasm as they are sometimes pejoratively called nowadays). These are phrases such as โ€œto have and to holdโ€, โ€œcease and desistโ€, โ€œlet or hindranceโ€, โ€œaid and abetโ€ and โ€œnull and voidโ€.

A more mercenary and hence more popular explanation though is that since lawyers were then remunerated according to the number of words in a drafted document, the legal doublet became de rigueur in order for the attorney to earn a sizeable fee.

Of course, the relatively recent thrust towards the โ€œplain Englishโ€ mode of drafting legal documents has now rendered this style largely superfluous (no pun) and, too besides, the degree of difficulty in draftsmanship of the document has significantly replaced the number of words in it as the principal tariff of the attorneyโ€™s fee.

Even with plain English however, imprecision persists and the hoary principles of the interpretation of deeds and statutes yet maintain contemporary relevance. Imagine then, the bedlam that may ensue in lay communication when a speaker or writer attempts to convey information to the public. And add to that the Barbadian context whereby the identities of the speaker (especially if a politician) and of the reader or listener assume major relevance. More so, where the topic is one as sensitive as race relations or of what should be considered preservable local heritage; two matters that are swiftly becoming indistinguishable here.

In parenthesis, it should be recalled that Barbadians are rather ambivalent about communication. While English is the official lingua franca, and the use of more popularly spoken dialect is frowned on at times by some, it is nevertheless seemingly accepted in the media so long as there is a perception that the writer or speaker is, I suppose, otherwise proficient in the use of Standard English and simply being light-hearted or engaging in mimicry on the occasion.

For those of us writing in Standard English however, we are often enjoined to write for โ€œthe common manโ€, a fiat that entails using a range of words and expressions that should be familiar to the average third form student at secondary school. Thus, any usage that may not be grasped without using a dictionary (!) is considered as gratuitous ostentation or โ€œshowing offโ€ by the author, although to be fair, there are some who have remarked favourably on the periodic additions to their vocabulary.

Both of the phenomena referred to two paragraphs earlier have entered the public domain in recent weeks. First, Mr Ralph โ€œBizzyโ€ Williams, a lighter-coloured national, took umbrage at the Prime Ministerโ€™s public reference to Barbados as being the โ€œfreest black nation in the worldโ€. Second, the historian, Mr Trevor Marshall, is reported as having expressed displeasure at an official reference to the late and eccentric public character โ€œKing Dyalโ€ (aka โ€œHog Foodโ€ in my youth) as a โ€œleading cricketing iconโ€ and a โ€œlegend in his own rightโ€.

With regard to the first issue, Mr Williamsโ€™s objection appears to be primarily based on the fact that it is a misnomer to describe Barbados as a โ€œblackโ€ nation, given the presence and contribution of many whitish Barbadians over the years. I read a later clarification where he would have preferred a description of modern Barbados as โ€œmulti-racialโ€.

On the simplistic point of the various races present in the nation, Mr Williams is of course right, although I do not think that the Prime Minister was making a racial reference, erroneous or at all, by his description. In any event, it does seem particularly useless nowadays to refer to a country by reference to the races of its citizens. Indeed, given the incidence of forced and voluntary migration, there are currently very few nation states that may not be referred to as โ€œmulti-racialโ€ by Mr Williamsโ€™s token.

However, while I thought that the Prime Ministerโ€™s statement was merely a harmless repetition of one of those idle jingoistic boasts that that we so much adore in this region โ€“โ€œa nation that punches above its weightโ€ and โ€œ the best beaches in the worldโ€ come readily to mind-, the geopolitical reality is that for those few individuals who may still want to describe a nation by reference to a colour, the principal cosmetic indicators are the race of the overwhelming majority of its citizens and the colour of those who hold economic and legislative power. An examination of apartheid South Africa provides a clear example; the majority race was African, although Whites controlled the laws and the chief economic indicators. How should one describe South Africa then? And now? How should the US or UK be described today ? Are we really a โ€œmonarchyโ€? A โ€œChristianโ€ society?

It is indeed remarkable that none chose rather to challenge the accuracy of Mr Stuartโ€™s superlative.

Mr Trevor Marshallโ€™s objection does carry some weight at first blush. To my mind, to describe King Dyal as โ€œa leading cricket iconโ€ oversteps hyperbole and โ€œlegendโ€ [except perhaps in his own mind] is clearly a stretch. I have not seen the calendar to which Trevor refers, but his objection, from the press report, appears to be based on the odium that the late character displayed towards black people. If true, perhaps this is more to be pitied than anything else. My support for the assertion is based rather on the fact that the self-styled โ€œKingโ€ was merely another local character, no more memorable for all that than โ€œGear Boxโ€, โ€œBulldogโ€ or โ€œTown Manโ€ and โ€œTown Womanโ€, for examples.

161 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Humpty Dumpty Comes to Town”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So much double speak, interpretations and misintepretations, particularly by those allowed to have more paper (money) that allows them to misrepresent and represent more than the average citizen.

In apartheid era South Africa 30 million blacks in their own country fighting against the evil and hatred perpetrated and incessantly practiced for decades by 3 million Dutch descended South African Boers.

In Barbados 275 thousand majority black citizens tolerating the emulating of South Africa’s apartheid system by less than 10 thousand descendants of indentured servants considering themselves white, who are still fighting to preserve a dead apartheid practice in a bid to retain wealth they are allowed to accumulate, through criminal means, by a corrupt political system.

Dyall was just an unknowing product of all that fraud, just like the generation after him, too many of whom are still alive today, as a disgraceful reminder….this generation is more enlightened, or should be…..but need to be educated more about the pitfalls of timid tolerance and docility.

Bizzy is just being a pr**k….multiracial would mean the minorities and majority have been mixing through marriage and breeding for decades, he is even too dumb to get that right.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I did not see Bizzy complaining when this Black Government gave him a no bid contract to build and operate what is now called SBRC. There were black recyclers in the business yet still the Black Government gave him a sweetheart deal that potentially could put the black recyclers out of business.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That is what pisses me off Caswell, this disparity in equality and special treatment in exchange for bribes and then they are all looking for respectability from the same population, whom they victimize and some are stupid enough to respect them for their behavior.

4. To be fair to Bizzy, we negroes have a problem with Whites using the term nigga which is felt to be disparaging. Does Bizzy have the right to take umbrage to Barbados being referred to as referenced given the context ?

5. What does black mean,what connotes a black person????

Their is no gene identified for pigment,how does one quantify it?

6. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Technically, yes, David, especially since the State should avoid references to colour, religious persuasion, etc., lest it be mistaken for discrimination against or favouritism of one group. But Bizzy seems to be making a different point of description.

7. Stupid ceremony. Stupid video. Stupid argument. None of them change what is. And what is ain’t pretty!

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Donna…they are all hypocrites, Bizzy and DBLP, trying to avoid reality in their little pretend world filled with pretentious titles, bribery and criminality.

Vincent….it’s nice having you back to your controlled self, I warned you last week about mixing drinks..lol

Jeff…that’s a tall order since discrimination is prevalent and practiced throughout everyday by government, black on black, against the citizens…they all need to look within themselves, both culprits, if capable and not too preoccupied and blinded by status, useless titles and making lots of money at the expense of the citizens, ii seems that is all they do, when last have you noticed any of them do anything positive besides belittle the taxpayers, without whom neither side can survive or live comfortable, they all need knocking off those pedestals they built for themselves afer using the island and people for years….that is the nitty gritty..

9. @Jeff C
    First, Mr Ralph โ€œBizzyโ€ Williams, a lighter-coloured national, took umbrage at the Prime Ministerโ€™s public reference to Barbados as being the โ€œfreest black nation in the world

Forsooth Mr. C I think you are engaging in some language machinations of your own, what is a โ€œlighter colouredโ€ national? How would you describe David Thompson?

Speaking of language why do Bajans as in Mr. Marshallโ€™s column employ the phrase โ€œright thinkingโ€? Does โ€œrightโ€ mean that I am in agreement with you? If we disagree am I a โ€œwrong thinkingโ€ person? When do โ€œleft thinkingโ€ individuals get their say?

A satire should be in the works.

10. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Sarge, I would have described Mr Thompson in the identical fashion. Indeed, come to think of it, there is a slight resemblance between the two.My usual description, taken from the late surgeon Jack Leacock, is “whitish”, but I hesitated to apply that to Mr Williams.

The phrase “right thinking” has its origins, I believe, in the formulation of a defamatory statement in law, ” an imputation that tends to lower the claimant in the estimation of right thinking members of society generally…” The phrase refers to those ordinary members of society who endorse that society’s values, whether right or wrong. So, although I am loath to admit it, for this purpose, most “right thinking” Barbadians support corporal punishment, although I would not personally call them that.

I do not claim to be “right thinking” myself, however,

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

You are righ-thinking most of the time in my estimation, but like most of us, you go off that path sometimes which makes you human.

12. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Touchรฉ, Caswell. Thanks!

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

From the evidence before me, I can’t see these Cost-U-Less concessions as anything other than corruption. I could be wrong but the evidence proving me so has not yet been revealed.

14. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

You know as well as I do, Caswell, that the other side has a right to be heard.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Jeff C:
    โ€œFirst, Mr Ralph โ€œBizzyโ€ Williams, a lighter-coloured national, took umbrage at the Prime Ministerโ€™s public reference to Barbados as being the โ€œfreest black nation in the worldโ€

What an arrogant supercilious load of poppycock of a statement!
    How can Barbados claim to be the โ€œfreest black nation in the Worldโ€?
    What criteria were used to make such a claim other than jingoistic chest-thumping of the silverback gorilla kind.
    Where does that leave Ghana and Jamaica?

How can a country claim to โ€˜Freeโ€™ but its black majority is still directed and controlled by a minority (of whichever shade of the racial spectrum) who owns the economic wealth of the country?

How can a country be the freest when it is virtually impossible to borrow money on the international markets because of junk bond status? Why would a so-called educated โ€œfreestโ€ black country allow itself to sink to such low depths?
    One hopes there will not be a time when such a leader who projects himself as
    one arrogant aloof sob, always with a whiff of crap in the surrounding air, is possessed with the gumption to say: Barbados is the freest and also the poorest black nation in the world.

And you guys want to crucify poor Hog Food for telling the truth!

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

I agree that they have a right to be heard but they have refused for over four years.

For starters, they will have to explain why income tax was waived for anonymous persons. The order must state who received the benefit.

17. Have to disagree with Trevor Marshall, Hog Food was an icon in our cricket, his status solicited invitations from English principals no less to watch cricket. History of WI cricket will be inaccurate if King Dyal was not mentioned.

18. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Miller

“…It is indeed remarkable that none chose rather to challenge the accuracy of Mr Stuartโ€™s superlative”

I made the identical point though more subtly than you did…this was the true bone of contention in my view…

19. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ David, i disagree. You seem to use the word “icon” here in a very unusual sense. Have you ever heard the tune by Chalkiest, “White people laughing at we…”?

Hog Food was viewed as a figure of fun by the English….a thinner Falstaff, if you will.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I read an article where Fruendel some months ago,, an attorney, referred to “right thinking bajans would…….” can’t remember the exact context, but it proves that governments are guilty in leading the charge in belittling the citizens, which would give Bizzy & Co, who are not the brightest bulbs to begin with, the greenlight to also do whatever they feel like and say whatever they feel like to the citizens. DBLP governments show no respect across the board, people actually folow their lead of disrespecting the people.

21. @Jeff

He will forever remain part of the character of our cricket, an eccentric though he was. The manner in which he was viewed is no different to how the principals of the bastion of colonialism regard(ed) our calypso playing cricketers. And this is reflected in how the intelligentsia of he Lord’s Tavern shaved the rules to blunt the progress of WI cricket. Say wha you will about Fallstaff, he broke bread, and shared beverage with royalty.

22. Have to agree with TM not an icon but in reality a “mock stick ” one which the whites easily made fun similar to the days of black man with white face
    ..poor soul only if he knew better.his placed in history should be only that of an after thought.

23. @ David,

If Hog Food was an icon put him on another page. NOT on the same page as Sir Gary.

24. are-we-there-yet Avatar

What is our cricket?

Is it related only to the Players and their exploits?

Shouldn’t it include the other aspects of the game?

Shouldn’t it include the various elements that are characteristic of our brand of cricket?

Does’nt these elements include the ICONIC characters like “Gravy” and “King Dyal” who were inseparable aspects of our Cricket ?

King Dyall or Hogfood was an iconic figure that defined the brand of Caribbean Cricket.

Whether King Dyall disparaged black people or not is immaterial in the context of our cricket.

Whether he was invited to England or not is also immaterial in that regard.

He was a Barbadian Cricket ICON (full stop)

25. @Hants

We have to appreciate life is a mosaic. Do not underestimate the role of the jester.

26. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Yes, David and AWTY, but…ICON?

See below-

icon (หˆaษชkษ’n)
    n
    1. (Eastern Church (Greek & Russian Orthodox)) Also: ikon a representation of Christ, the Virgin Mary, or a saint, esp one painted in oil on a wooden panel, depicted in a traditional Byzantine style and venerated in the Eastern Church
    2. an image, picture, representation, etc
    3. a person or thing regarded as a symbol of a belief, nation, community, or cultural movement
    4. a person regarded as a sex symbol or as a symbol of the latest fashion trends
    5. (Computer Science) a pictorial representation of a facility available on a computer system, that enables the facility to be activated by means of a screen cursor rather than by a textual instruction
    [C16: from Latin, from Greek eikลn image, from eikenai to be like]
    Collins English Dictionary โ€“ Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014 ยฉ HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2014

Which one is applicable? Remember Humpty Dumpty’s words in the epigraph?

27. The colours of Bajans.

Black. The PM, MP Michael Lashley

White… Cow, Bizzy, Lowdown Hoad

Red, brown skin, light skin ( that is what people called me when I lived in Barbados) William Duguid, the late David Thompson.

That is how the average Bajan describes people.

This is my observation in the environments I frequent and the company I keep when in Barbados. Rum shops and Fishing areas on the beach.

You cannot “generalize” that Barbados is a “multi racial” country when about 90 % of the population is Black.

28. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Word, Hants!

29. @ David I watch sports to enjoy the “contest”.

If I want comedic entertainment I can rent a Chris Rock video.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“A mascot is any person, animal, or object thought to bring luck, or anything used to represent a group with a common public identity, such as a school, professional sports team, society, military unit, or brand name.

A mascot is usually identifiable with folks like Dyall.

31. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Caswell, To be fair, a strict reading of what you have presented in paragraph 5 of the Order does not exempt the investors from income tax where this is applicable and where they are so subject. Rather, it seems to exempt C-U-L from the payment “withholding tax” in respect of sums disbursed as dividends or loan repayments.

32. WW wrote,
    In Barbados 275 thousand majority black citizens tolerating the emulating of South Africaโ€™s apartheid system by less than 10 thousand descendants.
    multiracial would mean the minorities and majority have been mixing through marriage and breeding for decades, he is even too dumb to get that right.

Sounds substantially enlightened BUT is full to capacity with rather gargantuan orifices. Firstly, of the 275K mentioned a very mammoth proportion are indeed mixed and therefore multiracial. We have been mixing for hundreds of years and that can not be undone by a “pen” or other device.

Today we maybe emulating Sth Africa but NOT so much via apartheid but by the Corruption of those with new found power who may well suffer abuse upon the people’s money!

It would be so easy to solve if it were true that only the very light skinned were culpable.

Alas, we all should know that among those elected by the people are some very corrupt darker skinned peeps that would gladly sell their granny’s soul to the Devil if the price was good. These EXTORTIONISTS know no bounds. When I was in Bim over Christmas last I was informed of a major project where the Minister elucidated the “commissions” that had to be forwarded to the Cayman Accts of very senior Govt peeps to the tune of 10% or more than $50mn. He concluded by saying that given the size of the project they would be willing to proffer a DISCOUNT on the “normal” 10%. Evidently the Project bearer closed his briefcase and left the island promptly. There were no lighter skinned Bajans at any stage of this “negotiation”.

Interesting that Biz is actually quite an authority on the subject of multiracial relationship and marriage. Maybe Biz is one of the very few Bajans who have got this multiracial relationship correct? I certainly have!

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants….Bajans have been socialized to be color coded, let me rephrase, the Caribbean itself was socialized to be color coded….it’s a mental illness in the US, let’s hope the poison can be reversed in the Caribbean, it is the cause of many of the social problems blighting the Caribbean, particularly in black majority countries.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ha, ha….Moneybrain, I knew I could draw you out..lol

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya wrong about Bizzy, I don’t know him to have multiracial children like you and I do, MoneyB, being married to a black woman just means he’s married into another group, he has not produced anything that’s multiracial.

And MoneyB….I take great issue with you, you know of the extortion re government ministers and have known for years, there are ways to out them, you too have a duty to protect the taxpayers in Barbados, we already know who Bizzy & Co are….so what’s up.

36. Some people never cease to amaze me. Their hypocrisy comes to the fore, especially when dealing with issues of race and racism.

It is a known fact that white people have made financial contributions to BOTH major political parties in Barbados. Bizzy Williams is on record as saying he supports the governing party, whether itโ€™s the BLP or DLP. It is a known fact that this DLP administration has found favour with the likes of Mark Maloney (who have benefited from a number of government contracts) as well as Bjorn Bjerkhamn (who is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Central Bank of Barbados).

I have read on BU, for example, some supporters of this DLP administration defending government retrenching a number of NCC and Beautify Barbados employees and facilitating a process whereby Mark Maloney is providing similar services through his “adopt a mile” program.
    With all their rhetoric about Martin Luther King, Rosa Parks and โ€œblack history,โ€ not one of these supporters suggested (and in keeping with the DEMS talk of entrepreneurship) that the government assist those former NCC employees to become entrepreneurs and subcontract their services to clean the highways, etc.

โ€œThe new DLP Government will therefore put in place the legislation, institutional structures and resources to increase the number of self-employed entrepreneurs from about 10% of the working population to 20% by 2016. We will assist in the creation of new enterprises through training, direct subsidies and easier access to capital for investment.โ€ [Source: DLP 2008 manifesto; page 34]

How on one hand could political party supporters accept white people with open arms when it comes to them making financial donations to the BDLP and by extension accept and defend the BDLP unequal distribution of contracts in favour these people rather than a fair share for black and white owned businesses; yet on the other hand when some issue of race raises its โ€œugly headโ€ these same supporters make statements such as: โ€œwhites making fun of black people?โ€

This is the reason why the white people will always make fun of us. We are inconsistent.

37. โ€œKing Dyalโ€ was viewed with derision when I was growing up, a self- hating black man who saw the majority in the old Empire as his betters and his fellow citizens as lesser mortals no wonder the locals bestowed the โ€œhonorificโ€ title of โ€œHog Foodโ€™ on him.

There must be a shortage of heroes when someone seeks to rehabilitate his image by describing him as an โ€œiconโ€ of Barbados cricket. What next? A celebration of the once and future street characters that were/are found on the street corners of Bridgetown.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

I might be mistaken but my interpretation is that when CUL pays money to these investors the usual amount of withholding tax would not be taken out and remitted to BRA. When the banks pay interest, they are required by law to deduct income tax in a similar manner, or so I heard because I don’t get enough money to bank.

39. Jeff Cumberbatch January 24, 2016 at 11:26 AM #

He could fall into 3 by virtue of cricket or 4 by virtue of his sartorial splendor.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant January 24, 2016 at 12:00 PM
    โ€œKing Dyalโ€ was viewed with derision when I was growing up, a self- hating black man who saw the majority in the old Empire as his betters and his fellow citizens as lesser mortals no wonder the locals bestowed the โ€œhonorificโ€ title of โ€œHog Foodโ€™ on him.โ€

If you really knew the man, Redvers DonDonald Dyal, personally you would not be so harsh in your criticism. He was merely a product of his generation (Victorian cum Edwardian times) many of whom privately shared similar โ€˜house-niggerโ€™ attitudes in order to curry favour with the ruling plantation and merchant classes of those days.

The colourfully-dressed King was a well-read man and despite his loathing of his own race and indeed himself was proud to be a Barbadian of his time.

King Dyal merely highlighted in outspoken fashion what many blacks even today feel about themselves. Check and see how many want to โ€œlook whiteโ€ with their long false hair or by bleaching their skins.

Check how those so-called educated liberated black politicians dress up in Parliament with poorly-tailored suits garrulously aping their white counterparts at Westminster. They have simply taken over from the street character King Dyal when it comes to sartorial ostentation and their demonstrably haughty attitudes towards the people whom they see as their ignorant subjects and serfs to rule over.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Multiracial Americans are Americans who have mixed ancestry of “two or more races”. The term may also include Americans of mixed-race ancestry who self-identify with just one group culturally and socially (cf. the one-drop rule).”

BIRACIAL

“Of, for, or consisting of members of two races. 2. Having parents of two different races. biยทraโ€ฒcialยทism n. American” …

Just substitute the word American for Caribbean or Bajan….

Now MoneyB…..there is ancestry.com which allows you to know from the last drop of blood the amount of subsaharan Africa, Europe, Asia etc everyone has, you might have 90% African ancestry, I might have 20% European, 30% African 10% native Indian……Bizzy cannot take it upon himself to define black majority Barbados as being multiracial without the scientific evidence to back up his rubbish and we both know that he is only attempting to do so to make it fit into his own self serving agenda…..I will go with the definition of a black majority nation until Bizzy pays for everyone on the island to be tested by ancestry.com and provide me with proof to the contrary, when the hell did Bizzy become a scientist…steupss. just spouting that nonsense does not make it true.

Money….am still taking issue with you, time to call the names of the corrupt politicians, why are you protecting them, they do not deserve it.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn January 24, 2016 at 12:17 PM
    โ€œI might be mistaken but my interpretation is that when CUL pays money to these investors the usual amount of withholding tax would not be taken out and remitted to BRA.โ€

Caswell, your interpretation is correct in respect of โ€œwithholding taxโ€ but not income tax.
    Barbados is nothing more than a foreign exchange whore of a junkie who is now at a sorry stage that she is only too eager to sell for a cheap high of materialism all the vestiges of the hard work of their ancestors for a few foreign dollars to feed her habit of conspicuous consumption. What will be next on the paroโ€™s list of items for sale at knockdown prices? GAIA?
    And just to imagine this same administration referred to OSA as a paro economist prepared to even sell the eyeballs off his dead father as marbles for a puff of foreign exchange.

43. So is the word “icon ” now to be redefined as one only of symbolism having no significance or relevance to history or content and if so can any character be so define according to a particular choosing This seems to be an extension of the white man.s joke perpetrated on the intellect of barbadians How can it be that a man dress in colorful gay colours using profanity as the choice of language can now be written into Barbadian history as a “barbadian icon” i perish the thought of another following in his footsteps wearing the slogan HOG FOOD

44. @Miller

If I accept your description of King Dyal as valid it doesnโ€™t mean we should elevate him to iconic status. His history is right before our eyes, we donโ€™t have to read about him in some dog eared book that was rescued from antiquity, how would you explain his place on the Barbadian โ€œiconโ€ calendar to your 12 year old grandson/daughter?

BTW I thought bleaching was passรฉ? Whatever happened to โ€œBlack is beautifulโ€? Do you know anyone who bleaches their skin? I must admit that I am stymied to explain the hair issue but that failing seems to be an issue for black women everywhere even from the mother continent.

There was a time when men like Dipper favoured the Shirtjac or the Nehru jacket but Dipperโ€™s legacy is mostly forgotten except on EWB day or ceremonial ceremonies e.g. Independence when the usual suspects pay homage to him.

45. @WW
    Notice that I did not claim Biz as 100% Caucasian. Indeed, I am very confident that his DNA profile would have other entry columns. It is true to say that Bim is a predominately Black Nation and one that had a high measure of success historically, but not so much recently. Cumulative DNA percentage would have to be somewhere in the 70% range for the entire population.

WW I dont have ALL the info/ proof to call names and even if I had ALL what would result? who would take appropriate action??? The guilty would just pay some fool to snuff me out like a bad cigarette. I mentioned a lil while back that someone called out some Pols in private and had 2 very large chaps with hammers visit his home with very malicious intent, luckily the said gent was trained by foreign Special Forces and broke several bones of the intruders. The Judge in the case found the defendant guilty of using lethal weapons on the transgressors, in his own home, how did the Judge come to such a conclusion and judgement for damages of $2,000!

WW, I certainly encourage a person of your far more detailed knowledge of the Corrupt Transgressors to spew the info like a fire hose, I await your details.

46. @Sarge great reply re Would U extol about King Dyal to your 12 yr old son.
    Dyal was certainly a fine example of truly messed up Psychology of self preservation. Then again many Jews in Concentration Camps indulged in similar types of behaviour.

47. Saw Dyall many times at Kensington. Sartorial splendor my foot! His suits were dirty! Why don’t we Bajans like to speak the truth? The man was just a house nigga not a court jester. The court jester was known for poking fun at his “betters” so smartly that he got away with it. What exactly did Dyall do besides get himself free tickets and free trips etc so they could laugh at the house nigga’s self-hate? No wonder we are where we are!

48. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Caswell, we are in agreement on that point….I am still to be persuaded about the income tax exemption though.

@Vincent at 11:26am, as a Jamaican female said to me once, “Get real…! “

49. Moneybrain,

We know about the politicians. Every day we speak about them. We know about the Bajan “whites” . Why do you feel like your corns are mashed whenever we speak of them? They are in it together. They are BOTH corrupt. We wish to rid ourselves of BOTH!

50. Jeff Cumberbatch January 24, 2016 at 1:42 PM #

Chuckle…..you asked me to name the categorie(s) and I did,as you are fully aware any of your students could make a case in those two areas……..ah lie?