Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Kammie Holder, Insurance Executive and Advocacy Director, Future Centre Trust

Musing of  local environmentalist Kammie Holder.

Many laughed at me when I did the 350PPM ride to highlight the optimal Carbon Dioxide emission the earth needs to return to for global warming to be under control, yet it’s what COP21 was about in 2015.

Many laughed at the tour I did of illegal dump sites where 100 tyres with mosquitoes where found.

Zika is upon us with the US CDC issuing a travel advisory against countries with cases. Unfortunately, many are not reporting that this mosquito born disease also causing paralysis in adults.  Hopefully, some day the lazy indifferent decision makers will learn the importance of the proactive approach. I guess they are waiting until the planes start arriving empty to act.

178 responses to “Kammie Holder Laments Barbados’ Lazy Response to Zika Threat”

1. @Kammie, as you rightly pointed out, this is an important issue and I am very interested in hearing your proposals. What’s the frequency of the Government’s fogging programme? I recall during the height of the Chikungunya issue there was increased fogging and checks by health inspectors but since then I haven’t seen much fogging being done. Also what other measures do you propose?

2. @David, thanks! This is good news. However, fogging has not been done in my area in months and I note that it is not on the list for January. Hopefully they will get to us soon.

3. caribbeantradelaw January 23, 2016 at 10:21 AM #

The problem with fogging is that it also kills beneficial insects such as the honey bee and affects some people who have allergies like asthmatics.

Below is a link to natural ways to get rid of mosquitoes.

http://purelivingspace.me/2015/05/25/the-all-natural-way-to-get-rid-of-mosquitoes/

4. The ministry is obviously hamstrung by lack of funds but we need to improve our education and tactical programs. It seems we are happy with riding on the carpet of lady luck. The place is nasty, lack of water across the country, dumping in gullies. Did we read about legionnaires in Michigan? And this occurred in the great USA!

5. @Vincent Haynes, thanks!

6. @David, agreed we all have a role to play, including cleaning up our surroundings so stagnant water doesn’t settle and breed mosquitoes. I have also been following the situation in Flint, Michigan. Very sad what’s happening. I note the increasing calls on the Governor of Michigan to resign.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Government has cut back on everything even things to protect us from epidemics. All they are interested in is what to do to get re-elected. They have cut back on the amount and quality of the food they give to patients at the Psychiatric Hospital and to the children as school meals.

This place is becoming extremely nasty and Government is spending millions on independence celebrations rather than fix the problems. As a result I expect to see a lot of small head babies before Government acts.

8. David January 23, 2016 at 10:42 AM #

A possible incentive for bajans to keep the place clean,would be to re visit the local house stay programme for visitors to the island.

9. @Vincent Haynes, we need to start more vigorously enforcing our laws against dumping. Too many Bajans just toss their empty food containers and drink bottles out of their cars while they are driving. I have seen this for myself on several occasions. They don’t care how nasty it makes the surroundings and they don’t spare a thought that when that litter is filled with water it could harbour the same mosquitoes they complain about.

10. *illegal dumping and littering

11. When will the new environmental legislation be proclaimed? This government seems to so the important things in slow motion.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/15220/harsher-penalties

12. caribbeantradelaw January 23, 2016 at 11:19 AM #

It has to be the carrot and stick approach….earning from visitors ensures that they pay attention to the surroundings,then the laws will enforced by vigilant neighbours calling the authorities for any infractions.

13. @Vincent Haynes, lol I get you now. Well, considering how we only pay attention to problems once tourists are affected, I can see the merit in your suggestion. 🙂

14. If you believe emission is destroying the atmosphere, you’re a fool..! Stop and think, where are all these stats coming from..? Do the Caribbean have the resources to do such tests..? The Caribbean should only fear the breeze which blows in from that great African desert..! The trade wind is such that the EU breathe in what we breathe out..!

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I found it strange during Chikungunya outbreak that no mention was made that it also caused minimal paralysis in those who already had serious problems particularly in the elderly.

This Zik-V is decidely more dangerous and information needs to be given right across the island. Too much information was hidden with Chikungunya. If the government hides the info, the various consulates will put out alerts and planes will arrive empty.

16. @Shaft

Here is the view of the minister of foreign affairs in response to your concern.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77001/mcclean-calls-completion-doha-round

17. Bajans need to be reminded of the dangers of mosquitoes.

In the 50s and 60s we had public health inspectors walking through the neighborhood….. Wha happen now ?

18. @Hants January 23, 2016 at 12:08 PM “Bajans need to be reminded of the dangers of mosquitoes. In the 50s and 60s we had public health inspectors walking through the neighborhood….. Wha happen now ?”

Public health inspectors still walk through the neighbourhoods. One came to my home up to last month.

19. @caribbeantradelaw
    The “natural” methods of reducing the mosquito problem are all horrifyingly expensive. Garlic sprays? Coffee crystals? Are you a pampered, six- figure gal?
    The environmental crowd can never come up with cost-effective solutions.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

You asked:

“In the 50s and 60s we had public health inspectors walking through the neighborhood….. Wha happen now ?”

The answer:

They become president of NUPW and the Government take them off the road and give them a desk job, with no work, in the Ministry of Health.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn January 23, 2016 at 11:00 AM
    “Government has cut back on everything even things to protect us from epidemics”

You got that right! Just look at the state of place. Where do they think mosquitoes live and breed? In China and imported as wenzi – 蚊子 – wénzi?

The government has been playing Russian roulette with public sanitation for sometime now. Colonel Buggy and others have been highlighting the risks the public health authorities have been taking.
    The tipping point has now been reached. The next predicted event is an outbreak of a dangerous disease transmitted by the ever exploding rat population.

22. I’ve lived in Barbados for more than 50 years. Neither myself or any member of my household has ever had dengue or chikungunya. I don’t expect that we will get Zika either.

A few things about protecting yourself and your family.

Screen your windows and doors. It cost less than $1,000 dollars to screen a small house less than $3,000 to screen a middle sized house, and less than $5,000 to screen a large house. There are a number of very competent large and small companies in Barbados that provide standard screens, or that will custom design screens for any size or shape window or door. I could mention some here but I know that David does not permit advertising.

For women and girls especially wear tights, even if the wuffless men make nasty jokes about camel toes. Tights keep the mosquitoes from biting on the legs.

Put mosquito repellent on the exposed areas.

Remember that mosquitoes tend to bit within 18 inches of the ground so it is really important to protect the lower body.

Use mosquito nets.

At lease once per week, every week check in and around your house for containers and or areas collecting water. The government can’t do this for you. You must do it yourself. Remember that water can collect in discarded sweetie papers, discarded bottle caps, water containers used for pets etc. The government cannot and will not check around your nasty house for you. It is your job.

The government’s job is to check that you are doing your job.

The government’s job is to fog.

The government’s job is to educate the public.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The people really need to stop discarding their filthy containers everywhere, when I have seen garbage cans at every bus stop and around beach areas, they are being nasty and are socializing their children to also become nasty creating an island vulnerable to diseases, they are responsible for taking care of their own environment. …they do not need a handbook of instructions to show them this, it should be second mature.

24. @Chad99999, pampered maybe but not quite six figures, lol 🙂 On a serious note, in terms of mosquito prevention I mainly use citronella oil, spray frequently, keep the grass low and also have mosquito nets. Those have helped somewhat and they are relatively cheap. They have worked so far as thankfully I’ve never had any mosquito borne illness, whether dengue or Chik-V.

25. But we Bajans have a nasty attitude that dropping our garbage anywhere is a good thing to do; and that picking up litter and garbage is somebody’s else’s job. See today’s Nation where a student has defied her class teacher and principal when she was asked to pick up a sweetie paper, and who is being defended by her mother and by many people who have posted a response on the Nation’s website.

I wonder how many people in her household has had dengue, chickungunya or both and how many will soon get Zika.

But we a bunch of poor great poppets feel that we are too good to pick up trash.

Just this week I had to walk 3 houses down my street with gloves and plastic bag to pick up my neighbour’s trash. The garbage truck had spilled it right at her front door, 72 hours previously and she had made no move to pick it up. I know now that she NEVER intended to pick it up.

I picked it up.

I am not dead yet.

I am not too poor great to pick up my own garbage.

I am not to poor great to pick up other people’s garbage.

Did I mention that the “lady” is a health professional.

God will NOT help us because we refuse to help ourselves.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon January 23, 2016 at 12:52 PM
    “The government’s job is to educate the public.”

The government job is also to:

Lead by example and keep State-owned properties in good sanitary conditions.

Enforce the laws against those so-called educated people whose nasty unhealthy acts pose an ever present danger to the health of others.

Create a framework that penalizes financially those take-away consumers of fast foods who see it as a badge of honour and respectability to dump containers and other wrapping material indiscriminately on the streets and open lots right across the country and impose a heavy burden on the image of the country and the huge cost of cleaning up the unsightly mess.

27. @David, have you seen this article?

“[Waste recycling companies in Barbados] have done a remarkable job so far in keeping the landfilling rate constant for over two decades even though waste generation has increased some 233 percent. However, the average person, schools, businesses and community groups can do more to reduce waste and preserve the environment while also earning a little extra cash.”

Source: http://blogs.iadb.org/caribbean-dev-trends/2016/01/18/reducing-reusing-recycling-and-recovering-waste-the-bajan-way/

28. @David, Additionally when I was in Switzerland I was absolutely amazed at the cleanliness of the place. They have very strict environmental and anti-littering laws. You can’t even toss a piece of gum. But what really made their system work was the strict enforcement by authorities. Anti-littering is now ingrained in the local psyche. Perhaps we in Barbados can have a look at their system and see what best practices we can utilise.

29. The article makes one question why Cahill. Why not incentivize private sector to recycle. Why not educate Barbadians to separate waste. Why not engage in waste management practices that fit the landscape of a SID. Why not, why not, why not…

30. Agree with you Alicia, we need to have a plan, one that includes educations and enforcement.

31. @David, unfortunately, the political class tends to favour large projects to solve “simple” problems. In many cases a change of laws, stricter enforcement and public education and awareness would go a long way. Here’s where civil society comes in. Environmental advocates over the years have been calling on government for stricter environmental laws. Maybe the advocates need to go further and try to get wider public on board and maybe also suggest best practices that can be adopted.

32. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/19810/lies

Nothing but lies!

MARIA BRADSHAW,

Added 18 August 2013

Google +0

Print

revision1burnettalleyne
    MORE ARTICLES

Sir Richie and Peter Nero to be honoured by WICB Read More
    Curtain closes on Chanderpaul’s international career Read More
    Pride vs Force Read More
    RON IN COMMON: Preparing for water crisis Read More
    MAVIS BECKLES: Customs, religion and the law Read More
    I CONFESS: Mother always knows best Read More
    Vote for Peter Ram Read More
    Gold for Adrenalin! Read More
    Youth bands a hit Read More
    Vote for Peter Ram Read More
    Super Lotto winner in St Maarten now $4 million dollars richer Read More
    Shot gun ammo and cannabis seized Read More
    Challenges in medical tourism Read More
    AS I SEE THINGS: Changing consumption patterns Read More
    BEHIND THE HEADLINES: Rating Obama’s last State of the Union Read More

MENTION THE name Sydney Burnett-Alleyne and Barbadians are immediately taken back in time when there was talk about a plot to overthrow the newly-installed Tom Adams administration in 1976. Burnett-Alleyne, said to be an arms dealer and self-styled guerilla leader, was supposed to be on his way to Barbados with a shipload of guns and dynamite. He was, however, arrested in Martinique; the guns were seized and he was jailed for two years for illegally importing arms into the French territory. Prime Minister Tom Adams moved quickly and made a request to Martinique to have Burnett-Alleyne extradited to Barbados immediately upon his release to be tried for treason. But Burnett-Alleyne has never stepped foot back on Barbadian soil and over the years he has gained more of a reputation as a maniac rather than the mercenary which he wanted people to believe he was. Over the years, he became known for his utterances on bringing down the government of the day, but now 86 years old, he seems to have retreated to living a quiet family life in England where he resides. Speaking to the SUNDAY SUN via telephone, Burnett-Alleyne staunchly denied that he ever organized the coup plot, going as far as to demanding an apology from Barbados for “scandalizing” his name. “Someone said I should be pardoned because I am an old man. No, I don’t want any pardon,” he said. “The Government of Barbados must apologize to me. “They have wronged me. Tom orchestrated it well. They were my friends who betrayed me who subscribed to what Tom was saying because they had no choice. I never attempted a coup in Barbados.” In fact, Burnett-Alleyne said he has just finished writing a tell-all book about the supposed coup and he has evidence – letters and cheques – which he said would expose everything and embarrass a few members of the Adams Government. What arms?, he asked, charging that the boat “which they put some arms on, that wasn’t the boat on which I was”. He added: “If I had been told in 1977 that I was a gun runner; that I was a mercenary; that I was a pirate . . . . If I was told what the Barbados newspaper had said and it was made public to the Barbados community and the world community – that this was what was said of me in the Parliament of Barbados – I would have returned to Barbados and ripped the intestines out of the politics. “I would have invaded the country. I would have liberated the country. I make no apologies about that,” Burnett-Alleyne said, displaying some of the aggression of old. Asked if he has stayed away from his beloved Barbados because he was wanted for treason, Burnett-Alleyne insisted that he could never have been tried for treason. “You cannot commit treason against a country unless you are in the country or you have published against the country,” he said. “I have not been to Barbados since 1975. I promised my wife on her death bed not to go to the Caribbean and not to have anything to do with the politics.” As to the reports that he had recruited mercenaries from France, Burnett-Alleyne said people tried to negatively connect him to France because Empress Josephine was his wife’s grandmother. This is why, he explained, because of his direct connections to aristocracy, he could not be executed by Barbados. “They signed my death warrant. I was supposed to be taken from Martinique to Barbados to be executed but you can’t execute a member of the Napoleonic family so in that respect I could not be extradited to Barbados or anywhere else because my wife was the maternal granddaughter of Empress Josephine. “So when I made a speech in the in the court yard “tell my people I shall return even if it is on the fin of a dolphin”, I couldn’t be arrested. “I owe nothing to Barbados. I have made a great contribution to Barbados. I have never been a mercenary. I have never been a gun runner. I have never been a pirate. I gave Barbados Independence – not Errol Barrow, not Cammie Tudor not Wynter Crawford,” he said. Boasting of a wide knowledge of international and political affairs, Burnett-Alleyne said he was still of sound mind and body and he still kept abreast of local politics. He spoke of his admiration for Prime Minister Freundel Stuart and his desire to see Opposition Leader Mia Mottley, whom he met many years ago, become Prime Minister. He however dismissed Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, saying he knew nothing about economics. A product of St John, his dream is to see “Barbados return to the people”. “There is no political legitimacy in Barbados. You see, there is trading on the integrity of the masses. There is pork barrel trading; there is no politics in Barbados.” He still believes that his political ideology was not respected because he did not attend Harrison College or Combermere but Burnett-Alleyne said he was contented with what he had achieved in life. Asked what he did for a living he said he was a designer of arms. “I was brought up in a humble environment. My mother kept saying to me that learning was better than silver and gold so I had the best learning and a lot of gold. I am satisfied and contented with what I have achieved in life.” He said he was enjoying his sunset years with his children and grandchildren.
    – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/19810/lies#sthash.hUu7qCsH.dpuf

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Cariblaw……Scandanavia is even cleaner and more obsessive about their environment, their buildings and houses are routinely washed on the outside, that is all anyone has, their environment and it should always be pristine. Canada is also great at keeping their surroundings healthy and clean. Can’t understand how deterioration managed to take hold in Barbados.

If that is inculcated in children from small, they will not grow up to be dirty adults thinking there will always be someone to pick up or clean up after them. How one keeps their surroundings defines their mentality.

34. @WW&C, as you rightly said, respect for the environment must be inculcated from small. Unfortunately, the people doing the dumping of old stoves in the gullies and tossing their empty Styrofoam containers out of car windows are the same adults whom we expect to guide their children in respecting the environment. Every time I participate in a beach clean up I am astounded by the amount of litter, anything from empty bottles to used condoms. We don’t think about the damage plastics can do to the ecosystem, far less the impact on tourism.

We need stricter environmental laws and penalties, and better enforcement, including naming and shaming. Both government and civil society can work together in promoting public awareness. Eventually, in time anti-littering will become part of our culture. Years ago when I was younger I recall there used to be ads on TV encouraging people not to litter. I am not sure if they still run those.

35. Neither my son nor I have ever had any mosquito borne disease. I have no mosquitoes. If any mosquito wanders onto my premises she is hunted down and killed. I clean up the neighbourhood on a regular basis even wandering onto neighbours’ premises to save myself from their breeding grounds. I have screens and use natural repellants when necessary.

On the subject of the Springer Memorial student I suspect that she may have been rude in the way she answered the teacher. But… some of these teachers are also rude, unfair and cruel to some students. I do not tell my son to obey them in all things because I have experienced a few of these teachers. I instruct him not to reply rudely but to state his case calmly to the year head or the principal who are more level headed.

My son does not litter. He complains about people who litter. My son would not be cleaning up anybody else’s litter unless voluntarily and equipped with gloves. No teacher will be given that weapon to use against him. They have NO RIGHT TO DO THAT. Besides, they need to punish the nasty ones who drop it in the first place.

36. I am watching CNN cover the snow storm in NYC and what is impressive is how organized they are. The authorities are communicating with the citizens, they have trucks and equipment standing by to clear the roads and to lay down salt as soon as the snow fall abates. Emergency services, police, first responders are all in position and functioning efficiently. Heaven help us if we are hit by a hurricane in this year of celebration. What with an administration that has “nothing to say to the Nation” and are incapable of collecting household garbage, supplying clean water to a continent of 144 sq. mi, maintaining the public highways in a reasonable condition or don’t even have a residence for the ambassador to the UN three years after a fire – well you tell me, how would we survive?

37. boy i tell yuh and all that co-coordinating cost taxes yuh think bajans would want to fork up that much taxes to have their country in pristine co-ordination in times of crisis wunna look at the green grass on the neighbor yard but never asked how much it cost to keep it well cut and manicured,,

38. @millertheanunnaki January 23, 2016 at 1:37 PM “Enforce the laws against those so-called educated people whose nasty unhealthy acts pose an ever present danger to the health of others.”

Agreed miller etc. but clearly you have not heard the one about a Minister of Education who was seen regularly driving home from work at about 3 each afternoon, eating fast food and throwing the chicken bones, fat, skin, cup, straw and box through the car window.”

No name. No party. No gender.

But wunna understand now why we are where we are.

Maybe the young miss from Springer School aspires to be a Minister of Education.

If so she is well on her way.

39. I went to what people call a good school, or maybe a fairly good school, since it was not so good that we felt too great to pick up our own trash and other people’s too.

And back in the day while I was growing up stupid under the Union Jack, the school had about 500 students, and 2 maids and 2 gardeners, all of whom did excellent jobs.

But every lunch time the going back to class bell rang about 5 minutes early and at that time it was everybody out in the school yard and the corridors to pick up any trash/garbage/debris which we the children had dropped at lunch time.

That was our school and that was our responsibility.

It was not the responsibility of the maids or gardeners to pick up after us.

Consequently since the age of 10 I have NEVER littered. NOT even a sweetie paper.

Sweetie papers go into my pocket or handbag until such time as I get to a bin.

In recent years I also made it my business to pick up the giant African snails with gloved hands from my own property and my neighbour’s property, since some of the neighbours [not all] seemed to be blind to the giant African snails on their property. And the snails know no line mark.

I’ve never had dengue.

I’ve never had ChickV either.

Very likely will not get Zika.

We can be a much, much cleaner nation.

It takes will and education.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…I am sure the taxpayers would much prefer see the island clean and free of mosquito borne diseases than to be wukking up and celebrating independence for a whole year, the money would be better spent that way to secure everyone’s good health. Am sure the tourists would prefer know that they are not at risk of being victims of Chikungunya or Zika.

Violet Beckles….I remember seeing the above photo of Sidney Burnett-Alleyne, I would never have remembered it though, too long ago and I was way too young. I bet he got a story to tell. He did stick in my memory so it must have been a huge event with Adams holding court. Politics was nasty from the get go….crabs in a barrel.

41. keep watching CNN yuh hear good entertainment , yuh think that the USA govt rolled out of bed and decide to be generous with their aid for the people ,, dude rool and come again what yuh see is the hard earnings of people who paid heavy taxes to city and federal govt to buy all them sophisticated state of the art machinery to keep the country up and running in time of crisis. wunna bajans sure know how to talk but talk is cheappppppppppp

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I posted a small excerpt from the US consulate’s advisory asking their pregnant females and dependents to leave the island, it is not something to be in the usual denial about.

43. Dont mek me laugh do wuh year yuh talking about ? when was that bajans were happy to pay taxes? amm wuh i missing here.

44. Kind of tough to get a read on ac.
    Some said female but some of his/her positions suggest otherwise.
    Seem to be more supportive of party that country or an idea.

45. that=than

46. Can we continue to discuss how we can protect our little country from ZIKA and ignore the silly distraction?

47. wuh yuh talking about bro i pay taxes to support in the development of the country.but when some gaze upon the spoils of others with comparisons ..i snicker out loud with wonderment

48. Good night Simple Simon and all awunna, the minute you leave your clean house and environs you are entering a contaminated environment and may get bitten by the aedes aegypti mosquito. You may get bitten pon de bus, in de bus stand at work at the supermarket, in de market so you just lucky so far.

We have raised a nation of effing nasty pigs and de pigs done get outta de sty and multiplied. If the Minister of health and the Minister of public works and the environment can’t smell and see the piles of garbage around the island then how de rass wunna expect dem to deal with the Zika virus???? They have become accustomed to their stinky ass selves. They are soo full of shoite they are oozing it from all openings!

49. So David what is your illustrious idea to control the spread of mosquito borne diseases through out the carribbean ? Btw i find your response to be very offensive and rude you need to chill