Ronald Jones, Minister of Education promised 3,000 bursaries…

BU wishes to express disappointment no Barbadian teacher was nominated to be considered for the 2016 Global Teacher Prize. Thousands of nominations, with a capital T, were submitted from 148 countries.

[…]

The objective of the Varkey Foundation by supporting the prize is to engender discussion about the critical role of the teacher. If there is no pride felt by the teaching profession to motivate a nomination of a local teacher surely the USD one million dollar prize should have been enough to motivate the most lethargic of manager in the education sector in Barbados?

Teacher’s Professional Day is celebrated annually in Barbados. Billions of dollars have been allocated to the national budget ‘to produce citizens who are well-balanced, disciplined, industrious, creative, self-reliant persons who can think critically and function effectively in a modern society.’ – Ministry of Education Website. The foregoing begs the question, why were there no applications submitted from Barbados based the postings on the Global Teacher Prize website?

What metric should Barbados implement to ensure a fair ROI is received from the investment taxpayers continue to plough into education?  The inability of the leadership in Barbados to be motivated to submit an application for one or two teachers to the 2016 Global Teacher Prize is a worrying indicator any way it is viewed. From all reports this prize, in its second year,  is considered by many as the Nobel Prize of teaching.

If sceptics on the blog believe this is a harsh critique about the level of intelligence at play in Barbados – BU understands from a reliable source that a conscientious Barbadian was able to secure sponsorship of $30,000 to develop and deliver a customized course about Telecoms and Internet Regulations targeting the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) and the Telecommunications Unit.  The Human Resources Manager at the FTC indicated they were not interested. Have we not heard public lamentation by FTC senior managers about the lack of training?

Why Barbadians should be more worried?

Twenty five FTC, Telecoms Unit and other ICT related organizations employees were encouraged to signup  for the course, only seven finished the course, 18 dropped out claiming they were too busy or the course was too difficult. On a positive note, one young lady from the Telecoms Unit who finished the course was awarded an Ambassadorship by the sponsor, and represented them in Brazil at a global conference on policy regulation.

We need to have a critical look at the education schema. There is something not right with the finished product. We need to up our game IF we want to produce a nucleus of the workforce who are ready for the global market.

94 responses to “The Teacher: O to be Worthy”

1. Only just this week one Mr. Broome’s was complaining about the lack of vision afflecting those charged with overseeing the system.

Do you just nominate for nominating sake?

2. Do you allocate significant funds to the education budget for allocating sake?

3. It would appear so. How much has the system changed since you left school?

4. Isn’t that nomination a matter for the Ministry of Education? This Government is not supplying figures, etc. for many things it should. They talk so much about everything and it all stays as it is – just talk.

I hope that the Minister of Tourism has noted that Cuba – which he said he is not worried about – gained one of the Tripadvisor top 10 for destinations for 2015! Let me hear what has to say now!

5. Those that presently “excel” in the current system see no reason to change it. It works for them and that is all that matters. Until these ” best and brightest” stop exploiting said system for personal gain and recognize that it is failing the country, no teacher from Barbados will deserve nomination for this award. Too many children are just attending school because the law says they must and nobody cares.

6. St George's Dragon Avatar

The prize operates under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, UAE Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai.
    Presumably Donald Trump would ban it.

7. No teacher in Barbados (in Government schools) is worthy of such a nomination…! Why, because they lack commitment and drive in getting students to learn! The students that I’ve spoken to have little or no regards for the adult standing in front of them…!
    I could rattle on, but it pains me!!!

8. If children cannot learn the way we teach; maybe we should learn to teach the way they learn…! The young teachers and undergraduates standing in front of our children haven’t a clue!

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Small minds coupled with the crab mentality in adults will be the death knell of any progress for the island, unfortunately, the same practices and mindset are passed on from one generation to the next without any break from the cycle.

As someone said recently those politicians people are not leaders, they are only in charge. True leaders know better and act accordingly. The outside world is not only taking notice of the behaviors but have some comments on it, maybe that will make a difference or not, they may justify stupidity by calling it human nature.

10. St George's Dragon Avatar

One of our best known teachers is, of course, Minister of Education Ronald Jones.
    Here is a picture of Mr Jones with his colleague from FIFA Jack Warner:
    http://www.nationnews.com/IMG/815/11815/jones.jpg
    Can anyone remind me how Mr Warner’s extradition proceedings are going?

11. @ Dragon
    Hearing postponed until early next year ..to allow Jack one last Trini Christmas before he goes off to ‘Guantanamo’ to start his singing career….
    The verses of his many songs should be interesting…. especially the one on Barbados….

12. Jeff Bromes was a poor administrator and equally poor when dealing dealing with teachers under his watch. To now hold him up as an example of what an educator or education system should be is a very sick joke.

13. A nomination for a world prize is in order for Mary Redman there is nowhere in the universe where you find a more cantankerous, disagreeable teacher. The b**ch is unbearable. What in heavens name do young impressionable minds learn from this misery driven woman. BU you have the go ahead to give her a world prize.

14. @Just Saying aka DLP yardfowl

JA

15. Jeff Bromes was a poor administrator and equally poor when dealing dealing with teachers under his watch
    That may be so, but deny that the man has not been consistent in his efforts “‘to produce citizens who are well-balanced, disciplined, industrious, creative, self-reliant persons who can think critically and function effectively in a modern society.”

The mere fact that he sees the current system as broken would cause consternation among many of the teachers under his watch. Far too many are contented to just collect lesson money.

16. The teachers presently control the system. How is that for effective administration?

Mr.Broomes seemed to have more vision than those walking the corridors of the Ministry.

17. @ Box Cart,
    It is quite interesting that Bromes had massive problems at both schools. I don’t see how being bombastic and insulting to your staff can result in producing rounded citizens. Quite the opposite, in his case ,he created an adversarial environment thereby resulting in the students being exposed to negativity. He should have been fired after Alexandra but it is the same ministry, he now crticizes, and his political connections that kept him in the class room. We are really short on heroes when Bromes could be treated with such undeserved esteem.

18. Quite the opposite, in his case ,he created an adversarial environment thereby resulting in the students being exposed to negativity.

++++> >++++>

Got that right!!!

That is why Parkinson’s results improved after he fist went to the school and declined this year. I seem to recall it being said that results at Alexandra were quite good while he was there, despite the adversarial environment.

Then again I am not a teacher, so what do I know. If my boss is an ass and I am a professional one, you can bet your last dollar that one and all will feel my wrath and suffer the consequences of any adversarial environment.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch

Before I write I am going to apologize to you for any slight against the Fear Trading Commission which you have the misfortune to chair, I beg you think of this my brief remark like that of Amused, as per Balance’s interpretation of the former’s “blows” on on of your recent blogs.

Were the FTC staff offered free S6 smartphones? and reduced monthly cellular charges? for had that been the case, they would assuredly have been allowed to participate in this programme by their boss Ms. Griffith. I wonder if she and Erine Griffith the Chief Immigration Officer are family? Certainly what they might lack hereditarily they made up for intellectually!!!

My apologies Mr. Cumberbatch, you only inherited the donkey cart but did nor rear the donkey.

@ William Skinner

Normally I am one to support you wholeheartedly because your post, particularly with regard to education, are well elucidated but today, I have to strongly disagree with you one on the basis of one premise alone, you assertion that Mr. broomes “created an adversarial climate thereby resulting in the students being exposes to negativity ”

This as you know, is unfair for Mr. Broomes, notwithstanding his people skills, just like Jeff Cumberbatch, came and inherited the ubiquitous “donkey”.

This phenomena of underachievers and sheeple is really about 90% of our population

Seriously dear writer, you area not posing the question as per why the current Minister of Edukashun, Ronald the chilrun are is readin well WeJonsing is not on the forefront of any Global Activity of worth!!!

Remember he is one of this lot of “perambulating female rabbits” who the free bus rides for all the schoolchildrun and then, had to turn around and discontinue the free school books programme because the former vote catching gimmick wiped out the latter critical component of schooling.

So the childrun is are at school today but dem ent go no books to read from!!!

20. I am of the view that Broomes’ problems were of a more fundamental nature.He brought to the classroom only what he saw and imbibed as a child.He never saw the weakness inherent in his ‘billingsgate’ style approach to managing human resources entrusted to his care by an unsupervising education department now run by former bombastic,tyrannical members of the hierarchy of a Teachers’ Union.Broomes was a monumental failure as an administrator,as was Matthew Farley.They think they literally ….fought the good fight,gave the education ministry ‘6 for the bit’ and now want me to believe that they deserve a knighthood.Good riddance you humbugs.
    Last night I saw the principal of QC on the DLPTV.Firstly,someone should tell him how to dress,how to choose colours which blend and not blind.Secondly,someone should tell him how to speak in public,tone of voice,facial expression,body language etc.Spitting into a microphone is for a political ‘flatform’.Thirdly,I thought the principal was out of place to suggest the matter of returning to separate boys’ and girls’ schools
    should not be entertained.I am very opposed to it and think it should be abandoned forthwith.You don’t mix the sexes at primary nor secondary level.I had the experience of having to deal with a male teacher at a well known secondary school who invited my 14 year old daughter to lunch!!Females should teach females in an all female setting.Similarly,male teachers in an all male setting.I had the pleasure at secondary level of walking to school with the young ladies and leaving them at their school gate.I couldn’t concentrate on the curriculum with them in my class room.I found it difficult at times at tertiary level and in the workplace..Women always know what they are about.Not so a man..he’s a sucker for some of the games women play on men.

21. I couldn’t concentrate on the curriculum with them in my class room.I found it difficult at times at tertiary level and in the workplace.

++++> >++++>

Thankfully all males were not similarly afflicted. Opposing Co-education simply because boys are distracted by pretty young girls is misguided to say the least.

It does not get any better late in life, so young boys have to learn how to focus. It will serve them in good stead.

You eva keep sheep? You ever try separating the sexes?
    Well leh muh tell yuh big man. You duz gaw be buying rope all de time and every morning, you duz gaw be fixing back de pen.

22. All like now, big able hard-backed men are being distracted by pretty young girls. It is a fact of life. Yuh cud run but yuh caan hide from um.

23. If one us trying to break the status quo heads will of necessity be crushed. We might not agree with Broomes approach but it is difficult to see how one can buck the establishment and be popular read not black sheeped.

24. @ Raw Bake
    Thankfully all males were not similarly afflicted.
    True….
    It don’t affect batty boys – in fact with less boys in class they are less distracted ‘ent’ it? …..so they tend to do well academically …DESPITE co-education….that probably explains a lotta the sissies parading around the damn place…

@ Gabriel
    Excellent assessment ..except for your overly harsh judgement of Broomes and Farley. When confronted with a shiite system, it is NOT necessary for a mover and shaker to be absolutely pure and clean….. often, just being ‘ingrunt’ is a good start…

Our system is DESIGNED to fail, ….and in that regard, is succeeding extremely well.
    Putting a ‘normal’ 14 year-old boy in a class with healthy 14 year-old girls …day after day… and expecting him to concentrate on English and Maths is about as intelligent as selling off all your National Assets and expecting that the new owners will give you the profits.
    This approach is designed to destroy true manhood; promote the effeminate and females.

It is working well…
    Only complete and utter brass bowls could sit down and destroy their OWN future so deliberately…..

25. @PUDRYR

Is it fair to say Jeff is not an employee of the FTC per se?

26. At the end of the day Matthew Farley’s vision of discipline is straight out of Charles Dickens’ England . Whenever religion is used as the foundation of discipline , it leads to psychological damage.
    Jeff used to be anti-status quo but changed dramatically when he found himself among the same status quo he and others such as Mr. Ronald Jones vehemently criticized as trade unionists. Bromes , Farley and Jones are all trying to suck up to the powers that be. In Bromes’ case it back fired on him and he just went on an pathetic PR exercise.
    All three of them are just opportunists .

27. @ Skins…
    All three of them are just opportunists
    True….
    Just like almost EVERYONE of the other 270,000 of the brass bowls bout here skippa….
    You were expecting Moses and Aaron?

BUT…
    Unlike the others, they at least STOOD UP and cried fowl…..
    ..about possibly the SINGLE largest piece of shiite infesting this country…
    – The Education system.

Even if they are flawed, nothing prevents the perfect among us from pointing them in the right direction …and pelting some stones with them…

28. @William Skinner December 11, 2015 at 10:33 AM #

Whenever religion is used as the foundation of discipline , it leads to psychological damage.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I would amend that…..by removing discipline and inserting anything…… e.g. The USA.

29. @ Bush Tea,
    For the record, can you just say what they stood up for and what they cried fowl against?
    You obviously are unfamiliar with those who have been calling for a reform of the education system since the 70s. Ironically Bromes , Jones and Farley , were there in the forefront along with others. I would say that Jones always made it known that his ambition was to be a parliamentarian. Farley was very interested in the St John seat. As I said Bromes underwent a very unfortunate metamorphosis and the rest is history.
    Let me add whereas I now have a bone to pick with them, they are all fine men. They would appreciate that there is nothing personal here. I cannot question their personal integrity and I know that they are all extremely excellent teachers . Just setting the record straight.

30. @ William
    For the record, Bushie can say what he THINKS they stood up for…
    …and it was for what THEY HONESTLY THOUGHT were needed changes in the education system, as a result of falling standards.

Obviously what they may have considered to be important needed changes would probably have been of little more actual value than what any other one of us also thought …or thinks, BUT what was different about THEM was that, as teachers WITHIN the system, they dared to articulate their dissatisfaction with the status quo…. and actually tried to make changes..incurring the ire of authorities.

Now if you want to debate the value of the changes tried that is fine, but YOU YOURSELF have vouched for their personal integrity and professionalism as teachers….. What more can you have honestly expected? …..Wuh they ain’t bushmen… 🙂

As you probably know, step one in the change process is DIS-satisfaction with the status quo. Somewhere down the road there is room to ‘fine tune’ a new vision. In that regard therefore, they were excellent pioneers in critiquing the co-ed education mess that we have developed.

BTW …Who are those who have been “calling for a reform since the 70’s” bozie…?
    …and what reform was that….?
    Wuh Bushie would have joined that association long ago…

31. @Bush Tea December 11, 2015 at 10:45 AM “Unlike the others, they at least STOOD UP and cried fowl…”

Or do you mean cried “foul”

32. We don’t want it to see as though the honourable gentlemen are fowl cocks, or worse still paling cocks.

33. http://www.globalteacherprize.org/2016-finalists
    50 of the Best Teachers Join Forces

Please note that 31 (that is about 2/3) of these best teachers are women. And yet here on BU we are discussing Jeff, Ronald, Mathew, the male head of Queen’s College, as though the teaching profession is an old boy’s club

As though we don’t understand that if we in Barbados had to choose the best 50 teachers we would also find that about 2/3 of those best teachers are also women.

So who are the excellent women teachers in Barbados?

Name then BU.

Honour them BU.

34. @Simple

You does post some ish sometimes. Here we are discussing why in the Caribbean and Barbados we were unable to nominate worthy teachers to enter for this global prize and you come with the gender base shite.

35. Dear David:

I did not “come up with gender based sh!te” I noted truthfully that about 2/3 of the people nominated for the prize referenced in your article are women. And I posted the link to verify this.

Did I lie David?

Did I make up the almost 2/3 number?

For the first time on this blog somebody [you] has hurt my feelings.

36. Instead of wasting our time writing about Ronald and Jeff and Matthew, and the guy at Queen’s College (all has-beens or soon to be has-beens) should we not be talking about the 25 to 40 year old excellent female teachers who we know are out there?

And maybe lobby to nomnate one or more of them for next years competition?

37. Or are the men on this blog too sexist to sing the praises of good women?

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simpleton

As one of the women talking bout “de men promoting men and not women”, you doan tink dat you cudn’t have mentioned the name of at least one of the women?

You does talk some “ish” in trufe doah

39. “You don’t mix the sexes at primary nor secondary level.I had the experience of having to deal with a male teacher at a well known secondary school who invited my 14 year old daughter to lunch!!Females should teach females in an all female setting.Similarly,male teachers in an all male setting.I had the pleasure at secondary level of walking to school with the young ladies and leaving them at their school gate.I couldn’t concentrate on the curriculum with them in my class room.I found it difficult at times at tertiary level and in the workplace..”

Gabriel I think you are in the wrong part of the world, why don’t you go and live in Saudi Arabia?

40. The following article was written by an advisor to the minister of education in Jamaica.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/columns/Slave-mentality–Caricom-and-elections_45234.

41. And Mr Bushshite you can go with Gabriel wunna stinking sexist racoons!

42. I will excuse Mr Broomes disciplinary actions as one of ignorance coming from an philosophical brand of “old school ” mentality defined as spare not the rod and spoil the child / man or woman
    Unfortunately his biggest failure and one which has tarnished and over shadowed his image was his dictatorial persuasion so sad especially when he had and has given so much of his scholastic abilities to this country
    As a matter of fact on his trek to Parkinson it was one of those moments when he tried shedding and removing the cloak of discontent but found that the environment of social and economical disparages in that school was a mountain too hard to climb which had tried his patience and forcing him back to a dark place of errors and clashes with parents and pupils .
    As for closure Mr. Broomes believes that he has established himself well enough to be merited for those good things he and should never be disciplined for those wrongs he have done
    So sad that a man who had and has given so so much of his scholastic energy would remain shrouded in an image of discipline bufoonary and dis contention
    He cannot be a Happy Man

43. Raw Bake

This idea that co-education does not work because dem little power-puffs does twitch dem little bottoms in de classroom and mek de male species of the human genus lose concentration is bare hogwash.

Down at St. Leonard’s when I attended there in de late 70s and early 80s, de school wasn’t co-educated, but de girls school and de boy school was located on de same compound… have you ever hare such madness?

And de boys and girls founded unique ways to engaged in sexual relation still, so de power tah be at de time decided that de girls would eat lunch at 12:00pm and de boys at 1:00pm after de girls done eat, but that en all… though, girls were to be released from school for de evening at 3:00pm and de boys at 3:30pm to avoid any hanky panky.

Boy let mah tell yah, that only made matter worse becausing the pregnancy rate shot up exponentially or is it astronomically Piece?

I don’t which one is contextually fitting; all I know was that like de Forbidden-Fruit de teachers and de administers had a big mess on they hands Piece becausing students were caught redhanded in de act on school grounds mah dear child.

44. Here we go discussing such matters from a perspective of emotion. Another discussing it from 70s perspective. Around and around we go.

45. @ Simple Simon
    The damn man cried ‘FOWL’ …. mainly in relation to the lotta old hens he had to contend with….
    Why don’t you name the top teachers yourself? Women DO NOT rock boats, they will do WHATEVER they are told to do, by whoever is in charge…

@ Islandgal
    Wait, …you man gone out and left the computer unlocked or wuh?
    Bushie heard that you got banned after eating all the food at the restaurant last birthday and then writing to criticise the place… ha ha ha LOL
    Bushie IS sexist …. so wuh?!?!
    …come up by the bush hut and see…. 🙂

@ Dompey
    The idea of “little power-puffs does twitch dem little bottoms in de classroom” will be hogwash to you….
    Remember that batty-boys are immune…..

46. Bushie,

Speaking as a “mad ass, miserable” boat rocker I have to again disagree with you. I have always been known for “kicking against the PRICKS” . My CEO was livid at me when I told him that my allegiance was to the financial rules and not to him. He maintained that he was the CEO and I had to do as he said. I didn’t and his response was ALL OUT WAR in which he won the battle and I won the war. I set a chain in motion for the better. I can’t give any more details or my workmates will know who I am.

I am known for challenging brass bowlery everywhere. That is why I am divorced and single for ages. I can’t find a non brass bowl man.

47. David

What’s wrong with discussing this particular topic from a 70s perspective? I speak to what I know, what I have lived, and what I have experienced, and therefore, sees my contribution here as beneficial to the discourse in some small respect.

Moreover, I could have spoken about co-education from the perspective of my four American kids who were co-educated from the inception of they school years and I have never had a problem with it and I am quite sure many West Indian parents here like me have never really saw co-education as a problem in any respect.

48. With respect to teachers, there is a small minority of teachers who still care about the children and do their utmost to enrich their lives. My son’s form teacher is one such woman. I would nominate her for any award. As for some of the others, I am gearing up to challenge them next term because I am having to home school my child. Some of the problem is the disruptive children but the rest is the don’t-carish teachers. The educational system is in dire need of a complete change in approach, curriculum and teaching method as well as personnel upgrade and retraining. Also a teacher evaluation system is crucial We are wasting our money right now. I would venture to say that most children in our school system are being demoralized and set up for failure in life. I am not worried about my son. He has me. I am really worried about those children with parents who don’t have the time or the ability or the vision that I have to steer their child in the direction where he or she can find his or her place in life. And as for the children with bad parents this system does more to destroy them than rescue them.

49. Woe to Barbados!