Queens College Secondary School
Queen’s College Secondary School

The following communication was distributed to several parties and needs no explanation – Barbados Underground

Students

I know that you would be surprised by receiving emails from me. […]

My name is Caswell Franklyn. I am a trade unionist representing your teacher, Mr. Wismar Gibson, who was unceremoniously kicked off the school’s premises by the Principal, Dr. David Browne, on Wednesday, November 18, 2015.

This message is intended to set the facts straight with respect to his absence from school since that date, and also to dispel some very disturbing untruths that are being circulated which students at your level would recognise for what they are. Mr. Gibson’s absence from school is not his fault. He is being punished for refusing to be bullied into doing the wrong thing.

1 – Prior to returning to Queen’s College in September 2014, Mr. Gibson worked in a vacant teaching post at Christ Church Foundation School. He applied and was interviewed for an advertised vacant teaching post at Queen’s College.

2 – He was hired during the summer vacation and started teaching at QC in September, 2014. In October after school started Mr. Gibson was presented with another temporary teaching contract to which he objected given that he was informed at the interview, by the chairman of the interviewing panel Mr. Nadur, that it was a permanent job. He wrote to the ministry that this was unacceptable and continued teaching for that entire school year. This year after teaching you for two months in this term, the school’s administration came back with another temporary contract. He refused to accept that temporary contract as well since it was not what he applied for.

3 – As a result, the school’s administration attempted to bully Mr. Gibson into accepting the contract which is illegal and unfair. You know Mr. Gibson encourages you to stand up for what is right – he did as he teaches. For defending himself, he was thrown off the compound like a common criminal by Dr. Browne. He did not throw the teacher who was carrying on a relationship with a student off the compound with such indecent haste.

4 – Mr. Gibson turned up for work on Wednesday, 18 November as normal; did registration and form prayers; and while going to teach a class at 9:00 a.m. was told to see the Principal immediately at which time he was told that he was being put off the premises by the Principal for refusing to accept an illegal contract. He was not even given the opportunity to say good bye to his students or to return corrected work to them; nor was the work he left for you given out.

5 – Mr. Gibson has an unblemished teaching career of fifteen years. He is the holder of a Bachelor of Arts degree in Literatures in English and Linguistics, a Diploma in Education (Teaching of English), a Certificate in General Management and a Certificate in Industrial Relations (with Distinction).

6 – Mr. Gibson did not choose to be away from classes during this time. You are well aware that his attendance record is almost perfect. He did not miss any classes for the term, despite (for two years in a row) having an extremely high teaching timetable. You are well aware that even on occasions when he is ill, contrary to my advice, turns up and teaches your classes.

7 – You are well aware of the fact that every single class you have ever had with Mr. Gibson over the last two years was rewarding and productive. I am told by Mr. Gibson that 27 out of 29 of you received a grade 1 in English A last year after Mr. Gibson worked with you in fourth form. It is my understanding that no other fourth form has surpassed or equaled this record in the last examination cycle. I am also informed that 75 % of Mr. Gibson’s Communication Studies students scored a grade 1, compared to a school average of 43%. Maybe that is why he was not given a Communication Studies group this year. This temporarily appointed teacher’s results were making the permanently appointed ones look bad.

8 – You must use your reasoning skills to decide why it was so necessary to remove Mr. Gibson from a job he is very good at and loves to do. He did nothing wrong unless you consider standing up for your rights to be wrong. You should ask yourselves why you are being punished by being deprived of teaching because Mr. Gibson stood up to bullies, rather than take the advice of the Principal who suggested that he should lay low and let things work out. And to add insult to injury, they refused to pay Mr. Gibson his salary for this month.

9 – I hope this clarifies matters.

169 responses to “Queen’s College: Teacher Kicked Off School Premises”

1. ….and we wonder why our children “does behave so”

Happy Independence,

Quietly observing

2. @ NAIEWOR November 30, 2015 at 6:52 PM #

You sound like a reasonable parent. I am sure your son chose the right school. If he is now at McGill, he is a fine young man, got an award up here and was very polite in writing to thank us for the assistance and we wish him well. If he is not the one, we still wish him well. With a parent like you, he will excell and go far.

I taught many years ago at Sir Grantley Adams and the other parents on this thread are the worst kind.

3. Independencebaby Avatar

i am a retired science teacher. i was one who was blessed with free education (BIG UP ALLEYNE SCHOOL MASSIVE) after an injury i had to leave this job and could not afford the car e i needed in barbados so i left barbados a few years ago. i am grateful for what i was able to do in this country, i dont know how i would have reacted if i were in this teacher’s shoes. someone would have been knifed already. it is scandalous that someone so qualified and gifted can be treated in this way. no one should be hand to mouth for a fulltime job after a decade and a half. much credit to him for still working hard and delivering for his students. this could not have happened when boyce or wendy were in the ministry – total wickedness. those mothers online are ungrateful and childish, no wonder there are few comiitted teachers now. STAND UP YOUNG MAN. DO NOT BACK DOWN. i worked with david browne at springer years ago, was so proud of him. i am very hurt at his actions if caswell’s account is true. i am a regular reader. i know caswell shoots straight. so david, not too late to fix your mistake – be a big man if not i will get bushie for ya

4. @ Independencebaby wrote ” i dont know how i would have reacted if i were in this teacher’s shoes. someone would have been knifed already ”

I hope you meant ” knifed verbally”.

5. Independencebaby Avatar

Mr. Franklyn, where is the Ministry of Education in all of this?

6. Looks like a lot of the QC mummies have way too much time on their hands.

Damn helicopter parents.

If ya kids that good you don’t have to be always hovering over them.

You don’t see we HC parents hovering do you?

7. Wait richelle, your daughter is really a son – stop embarassing the boy with your antics. We know who he is – can’t wait till school tomorrow. You making Shem and Seth shame, they did not get any grade ones twos or threes

8. Rechelle

I have just spoken with Mr. Gibson and he assured me that he is not Shurland. If he were that person, he would have going contrary to the terms on which I represent workers. I always say to them that you do not buy a dog and bark. If he commented it would have been vetted by me. He is so cautious that he has only been responding to emails from his students after I approve the draft.

However, you have said enough to identify yourself. He remembers you as the parent who did the SBA for your child and he rejected it. No wonder you are angry.

9. Come on Caswell
    Which parents/ teachers/ siblings do not “do the SBA for their children”?
    …is that not worth 40% of the scholarship mark…?

The smart parents make it look like the child did it….

CXC is SUCH a damn waste of money….

10. Caswell the next time I see you I shall shout you and identifY myself but I am actually surprised at your comment. Your client could never tell the difference between seth and shem thats why he know to call their name. Why would me as the parent(shurland said he us a parent) of a student know other student grade off the top of my head. MAYBE BECAUSE I AM A TEACHER. He was the one who told his students that his name on this blog was Shurland not me.. So please Caswell do not insult what little intelligence i have.As to me writting my child SBA I would not know where to start. This is indeed sad. Quit b4 it gets worse.

11. Independencebaby

The Ministry of Education is managing the process. They are angry because Mr. Gibson took the Government to Court over his treatment at Lodge School. The former Chief Education Officer, Laurie King, was the only one in the Ministry who fought for Gibson. He was forced to use the power he had under the Delegation of Functions Order to keep him employed after that case. He was forced to defy the other ministry officials and the Personnel Administration Division to do so.

This is a ministry that protects teachers who get involved in inappropriate sexual relations with students. Ask them why did they not send home a male teacher from a St. Michael’s school that was involved in a sexual relationship with a little girl. Rather than call the police for him, he was reassigned to the ministry and that same teacher, using his position in the ministry which gave him access to more schools, was able to get involved with another child from a different school.

Rather than deal with teachers like that, they prefer to terrorise good teachers like Gibson, whose only offence is to stand up for his rights.

Mr. Gibson was ordered off the compound: Did Dr. Browne order the teacher off the compound who was involved in an inappropriate relationship with a little girl? He had the intimate emails that the teacher sent to the child. That teacher is still being paid half of his salary while they have withheld Mr. Gibson’s entire salary.

They better not get me vexed. I have been very restrained so far.

12. No Simple Simon wunna HC parents is not hovering, wunna standing in one place wringing wunna hands, waiting on de results of the pregnancy tests fuh wunna daughters who may be pregelent fuh de ** teacher and he overactive gonads!!

As we are coming to see, rather as it is becoming more publicly broadcanst, Jeff Broomes is only the tip of this iceberg of inappropriate student/teacher interaction, student/student sex, violence and bullying, teacher/teacher vindictiveness.

Now that I think of it, I must say that over the years there have been instances of every single issue that is being shared here the only difference was that there was no internet to circulate the information in a heartbeat and with the instance of and protection of nom de plumes, everyone becomes the judge jury and executioner.

Looka me, at 80 something and as long as me wife out de house I is a regular Eddie Murphy, sorry Dirty Harry sorry Sylvester Stallone De ole man real ole nuh?

We have to get back to brass tack Simple Simon because every day these chilrun are is reading well are become=ing increasingly more extreme with their display of Columbine Violence.

Several moons ago I was at a PTA meeting when a particular parent had an altercation with a teacher and accused the teacher of victimizing her child, more specifically, that the teacher had wrongfully accused her daughter to be copying another child’s work.

Well the mother, not content to keep the conversation at a reasonable decibel level, proceeded to ask the teacher “how you know dat my chile is copying from a nex chilrun? (“chilrun” is grafted from the lingo of Minister of Edukashun, Ronald We Jonesing)

With that the teacher asked the bombastic mother what was her child’s name, (loud enough for all of us in the hall to hear), and then calmly took out two books and gave the mother that of the other child and asked her to read off the name at the top of the page of the test in question. She then gave Miss Bombastic her daughter’s bookd for the same test and asked her to read off the name there.

Well wunna know dat de hall brek down when de muddah call out the name of the other chile proving that her daughter, in her enthusiastic copying spree, had copied the name of the other “chilrun are is reading well” name at the top of her book too!!

Houston, we have a problem!!

To all teachers and parents, keep notes of your correspondence to and from the school, you never know when you will need to revert to it, OR COME HERE ON BU AND PUBLISH IT!!

13. BU is very interested in those emails and would be prepared to publish with redactions to protect the child.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Bushman….that’s a new one, as I recall, the SBA process from 4th to 5th Form is a rather lengthy one, why would a parent not want their child to practice on raising their own acuity, then again, judging from what some parents on here are typing, their acuity needs some adjustment as well.

If I remember correctly, the CXC exams, though lacking in several areas, the fees are reimbursable, don’t know if that’s still the case. Unless the kids are using CXC as a requisite for Cape, CXC certs have very little value.

15. why would Caswell choose to write a letter to students? is this not total disrespect? i think mr. Gibson is being really disrespectful too because he is trying to tell Mr Browne how he should be employed? Mr. Browne is right to throw him out. Queen’s College students usually score good in English and Communications Studies long before Mr Gibson’s arrival.

I admire Mr Franklyn but this time, this seems really petty, cheap and stupid. Mr. Gibson should fight battles the proper and decent way, this way seems so low class. he can look for another job…btw does Caswell and Mr Gibson really think that the students of QC gives a rat’s bottom who teaches them English or Communications Studies?

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ she Neighing

De first premise heah is dat Dem offer Mr Gibson a permanent job AND DEN DEM CHANGE DE OFFER.

Once you unnerstan dat and it implications den you can move to de nex matter of dem rescinding dat offer unilaterally and offering he a nex job dat de man did no interview fuh!!

You wid me so far?

Well leh me ole self explain it in terms dat you and udder scvunts kin unnerstan…

You ever try to get a car loan or a house mortgage as a summer vacation employee at Super Centre?

Well if you is a non appointed worker, fuh 15 years, um is de same PHREAKING ting…I know dats all uh wunna unnerstan now right? Dah is whu some gor blimahs does do…

17. @Bush Tea November 30, 2015 at 10:27 PM “Which parents/ teachers/ siblings do not “do the SBA for their children?”

I didn’t do the SBA’s for my children.

Can you imagine me doing SBA’s for anybody?

Lolll!!!

18. @pieceuhderockyeahright November 30, 2015 at 10:43 PM “No Simple Simon wunna HC parents is not hovering, wunna standing in one place wringing wunna hands, waiting on de results of the pregnancy tests fuh wunna daughters who may be pregelent fuh de ** teacher and he overactive gonads!!”

We always teach we daughters to have neffen to do wid old men..and all teachers are old.

Sex wid an ole man? Eeeewww!!!!

Dat is nasty man.

19. Yall should blog about hc and combermere teachers them want sending home

20. @shenieyah December 1, 2015 at 8:46 PM “mr. Gibson is being really disrespectful too because he is trying to tell Mr Browne how he should be employed? Mr. Browne is right to throw him out.”

Oh lord, looka unreasonableness!!!

21. Dear pieceuhderockyeahright:

I still remember a male teacher I had at school (no, no, not that kinda “had” you old perv) He was an English teacher and we used to mek sport at him behind his back because his hair was always shiny and greasy and the flies used to boo his head so we wondered if he used to grease his hair with used lard oil.

That put me completely permanently offa old men. They are never “with it” never “cool” poor souls.

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Humble Bajan

It is obvious than Simpleton Simon is/was being po great when she made that comment about HC parents having so much time on their hands to hover around

The fact is that this teacher school child this is a problem at many of the schools, many more than Simpleton would wish to accept including her precious HC.

@ Simpleton

The Freudian slip is something you could have easily corrected by back spacing but your fond memories did not allow you to heheheheheh you likkle kinky ting you? How Barry?

23. BU is still waiting for the ‘other’ side of this matter.

24. This is the kinda pulling down that happens in Barbados
    Lots of teachers take the bull – say nothing
    That is why so many of us have left there
    So many Bajans teaching in Bermuda
    this gibbs guy is been getting a raw deal for years, he is mouthy, he dont let them take advantage of him
    really decent guy – you see how those people try to pull him down for teaching their dunce kids
    teachers get that all the time. he did lessons with my niece years ago, she still takks about how good he is. cant believe he is temping all those years
    i heard two queen college teachers out here say they got the same shitty treatment, its a qc thing
    they left. maybe he should too
    here isnt paradise but some like him will be welcomed and treated fairly
    what has he done wrong, man?
    demand fairness, like rosa parks did
    mr browne taught me history and showed the struggle of negroes for equality
    ironic aint it – he seems to be the white guy in this now, hurting his own now tho

25. this ministry of education is de worse. a whole lot of assholes. Mekking de good teachers shite and bigging up the igrunt ones.
    so Pat bermudda is where the good ones gone?

that wiggy woman karen best mek my two grands shite morning noon and nite wid blows at st mattias next ting yuh hear she is a headteacher coz she got big friends. The lord jesus save she from getting a cut ass too many times becoz they dad beg me not to mek noise – always unfairing them boys. i was gine to pull out that picky hair she got.
    since she was small she was terrible, wunna expec any better?
    ask anybody in carrington village bout she
    she aunts used to get hell, hardears as shite
    then she was real tiefing at st leonards girls too, me and my sisters shoulda lick in she tail

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I tell ya…lol

27. Dr. Browne (long before the Dr.) taught us history. If there was one teacher that we knew wouldn’t take sh*t, and would stand up for what he believed was right regardless of who it pissed off, that was David Browne. Therefore it’s hard to believe this story of a ‘Sambo’ that would toss someone off the compound for doing exactly as he would do in the same position. I would more expect him to stand with the one victimized if that is indeed the case, although people can and do change and go soft. Time will tell.

28. @thejustician

Obviously Dr.Browne acted on instructions? The employer in this case is the MOE not so?

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dr. Browne has no excuse. The Public Service Act allows him to refuse to carry out instructions that he knows to be wrong.

30. Barbara Vaughan Avatar

I must say that all my interactions with Mr. Gibson have been pleasant. My daughter also performed excellently in his class. I believe the attitude with which an individual approaches another person elicits certain responses. Indeed my daughter informed me of how the now head girl said Mr. Gibson responded to her mum when she spoke to him. I in turn felt skeptical about approaching him in relation to an issue I had but when I did he was so pleasant. The present head girl is jodb by no means a saint and I know this for sure from the time she used to flout school rules and wear lip gloss even when she was repeatedly told not to do so. There are some parents at Queen’s College who approach teachers with an attitude believing they and their children know everything. Many children obtained grade ones without attending lessons. Mr. Gibson is a good teacher and its the parents with the attitude.

31. i really do not like stupid people and i hate persons who insults other and take them for fools. All of a sudden after it was pointed out that MR. Gibson identified himself to his students as Shurland on this blog shurland disappeared and Barbara Vaghan who has never blogged here before appeared. Caswell and your subject instead of continuing to trying to pull down Queens College and its students what you should really do is tell Mr. Gibson aka Shurland aka Barbara Vaughan to stop calling the kids in his class and inciting them to do nonsense before he finds himself before the law courts on a serious charge, Every human at some point in their life resents rules stop being so petty now. I am sorry that i cannot put the list of the current students and their parents on here to show that there is no parent of any child attending this school by the name of Barbara Vaughan. You all need to stop. Stop digging you grave deeper Mr. Gbson aka Shurland aka Barbara Vaughan aka whatevaelse you call yourself. You publicly called out students on here. You called Shem you called Seth you called out the headgirl. YOU JUST NEED TO STOP. Noone complained when you corrected some of the students SBA and used whateva you thought to give them as their final mark but called others and told them what to change so they can get full marks. Mr. Gibson children will talk so the same way we know that you have been calling the kids we know other stuff. Caswell i know of you from when you were David Simmons personal assistant. i always tought taught you were someone of integrity but i must say that i am deeply disappointed that you a big man would use kids email addresses and address them about a matter like this, if as you said they were close to their teacher did you not consider how it might affect them. Its time to stop name calling and deal with the flipping matter at hand.

32. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

And here lies the good and bad of social media.

Caswell, you made a bold move to lay this in the court of public opinion. One can only hope you and Mr Gibson achieve your desired result at the end of it all.

A lot of unsavory stuff from parents and others have been washed up as a result of this matter.

33. I am not Mr. Gibson unless he now has boobs and a vagina. I am speaking from all I know and I know way more than this but I wouldn’t say. Let me add at this time that I do not agree with Caswell Franklyn involving children in this. I particularly do not agree with mention of the incident between the female student and the teacher as the student will be the one hurt in the end by rumours and innuendo. I am just speaking the truth, I have never had a problem with Mr. Gibson. Some of the parents who speak about him need an attitude adjustment.

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Fedupteachr

There would have been no need for me to write to any of the students if you and your colleagues were not trying to discredit Mr. Gibson in the eyes of the students.

They told one class that Mr. Gibson had gotten a job elsewhere and run of and left them. They were quite angry with him for deserting them when they needed him. Another class was told that he was aware of someone molesting a child and he did not report the matter and that was the reason he was put off the compound. I could go on but will only do so if forced.

I can assure you that Mr. Gibson is not Shurland or Barbara Vaughan but it suits your purpose to believe that he is.

Like most other people I represent, I told Mr. Gibson that you don’t buy a dog and bark too. He is not representing himself on this blog or anywhere else. That’s my job.

35. Barbara Vaughan is not my real name and neither will I indicate my real name because I will not allow myself to be bashed by anyone. I know what I am saying is the truth.

36. But Barbara, If Fedupteachr could use their REAL name, pray tell us why you did not also use YOUR real name?
    Admit it…. Your name is “Fedupparnt”…. ISN’T IT????
    What Barbara Vaughn what??!!
    Let’s stop this pseudonym shiite before Carl Moore come down to QC with his “ferret”f uh wunna hear…

37. I didn’t know that Mr. Gibson likes to use my name on the blog, lol. What tripe! I understand that the man don’t even answer emails now. Shurland is my real name; I am quite worried that there are parents who seem to have eyes on the personal lives of other parents. But it is good to know – my child is now extra careful about saying anything now to any of those students at school. And it very funny to have different students coming up everyday and even some teachers asking the child if “you daddy name Shurland” lol.
    Shelly Edwards needs to remember what an ass she made of herself about her children in primary school. A lotta us remember. And some of the QC teachers get a lot of crap from she too, long before Gibson taught her kids. Now my child trying since last week to reach the man to find out what happen and he ain’t returning emails.

38. @pieceuhderockyeahright December 2, 2015 at 4:44 AM “Simpleton, How Barry?

Barry good. He tell me to tell you that next time you passing to stop by and fire one wid ‘e.

39. Barbara Vaughan Avatar

Why is everyone blaming Dr. Browne for this problem? I think this problem may have been created by the ministry of education. Remember Ms Montrose who also is an English teacher was acting the role of Deputy Principal. I am convinced she should have been given the position. I am even more convinced of this fact since students are saying she tries to be too friendly and does not have the respect of the students. I have heard students say that if she ever became principal QC would have problems. I am convinced that Ms Montrose being returned to her role as English teacher contributed. I also wonder if there is not some type of political interference. Dr. Browne is guided by the board.

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Barbara Vaughan

Why don’t you stop writing about things that you have no knowledge of. The Board cannot lawfully give directions to the principal in relation to the deployment of teachers. I suspect that you are not aware that the Board does not employ teachers and therefore have no authority over them.

This matter is simply: it is either that Dr. Browne does not know his job; he allows irrelevant consideration to influence him, like the opportunities to lecture at George Street; or he has no guts.

All of this could have been avoided if Dr. Browne was interested in doing the decent thing rather than trying to be friend of all even if it meant sacrificing Gibson. That man ought to be ashamed of himself.

41. @Caswell Franklyn December 2, 2015 at 10:49 PM “They told one class that Mr. Gibson had gotten a job elsewhere and run of and left them…ana Another class was told that he was aware of someone molesting a child and he did not report the matter and that was the reason he was put off the compound.

WTF!!!

Teachers tell lies?

Now I am completely disillusioned.

42. @shenieyah December 1, 2015 at 8:46 PM “mr. Gibson is being really disrespectful too because he is trying to tell Mr Browne how he should be employed?”

You understand don’t you that Mr. Browne is NOT anybody’s employer.

DR. BROWNE IS AN EMPLOYEE, just as Mr. Gibson is an employee.

They are both BOUND to follow the law.

43. @pieceuhderockyeahright December 2, 2015 at 4:44 AM “this teacher school child this is a problem at many of the schools.

Tek it easy piece. If I had my way any teacher who interfered with a student would join ninja man sleeping in the fountain gardens or the balcony of the treasury building. I would fire them, AND bankrupt them. But we Bajans have thing that not even a pervert must lose his pick.

44. What is really sad is that this teacher is loved by the students and is very kind and respectful to them. It seems that the perverts and child molesters can work at queens and st michaels but not the law abiding teachers. you should hear the parents talking about it in the car park the other day, this is too much shite. ronald jones got a lot to pay for

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ shurland

You got to be careful using the words child molesters, perverts an Ronald we Jonesing minister of edukashun in de same sentence lessing Ronald friend Adriel Nitwit Brafwit doan cum fuh you under de Cuntputer Misuse Act 2015

De dust by de depot still blowing down by you?

46. Observant American Avatar
    Observant American

From reading your comments, most of you are intellectually ingorant, complete ignoramuses. Tell me why you all are being so immature, you are arguing while students have lost their teacher, yet no sympathy is shown for them, I am disappointed in the parents who are just squabbling about irrelevance, what do the named students have to do with the situation at all? This was between two men, now its between Barbados.

47. Goodnight. How about a comment from someone worried about something important for a change rather than logging on to blast teachers, insult students, call names and shade people. Here is a student (who is utterly disappointed in the manner the “adults” have been talking on this blogpost), Mr. Gibson was my teacher, regardless of what kind of teacher you believe him to be, and to me he was a reasonable one. Now that he has been ‘unceremoniously dismissed’ my class is left with NO substitute. Have you know this is exam year CSEC and we cannot be taught because this matter has taken our teacher and left us to starve like stray dogs without a chance. (Honestly, I do believe this is more relevant than arguing over who is who and who should have been headgirl and what student got what because to me it seems a bit juvenile..)

48. @ Observant American
    “..most of you are intellectually ignorant, complete ignoramuses….”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

No need for the excessive big words Boss…. that is Jeff’s forte..
    it is simply called brass bowlery…..
    We Bajans blaze the global trail in this regard…

49. Observant American Avatar
    Observant American

@Bush Tea
    Just trying to shut up the fools here, I believe Gibson is a good man, Queens College could have dealt with the situation differently, with the contract originally being temporary and with it being so close to the end of term, I believe that the school could have waited until the end if they were going to remove the teacher, not saying that they should, but it would have looked better

50. Wow! My alma mater has gone to the dogs!