Queens College Secondary School
Queen’s College Secondary School

The following communication was distributed to several parties and needs no explanation โ€“ Barbados Underground

Students

I know that you would be surprised by receiving emails from me. [โ€ฆ]

My name is Caswell Franklyn. I am a trade unionist representing your teacher, Mr. Wismar Gibson, who was unceremoniously kicked off the school’s premises by the Principal, Dr. David Browne, on Wednesday, November 18, 2015.

This message is intended to set the facts straight with respect to his absence from school since that date, and also to dispel some very disturbing untruths that are being circulated which students at your level would recognise for what they are. Mr. Gibson’s absence from school is not his fault. He is being punished for refusing to be bullied into doing the wrong thing.

1 – Prior to returning to Queen’s College in September 2014, Mr. Gibson worked in a vacant teaching post at Christ Church Foundation School. He applied and was interviewed for an advertised vacant teaching post at Queen’s College.

2 – He was hired during the summer vacation and started teaching at QC in September, 2014. In October after school started Mr. Gibson was presented with another temporary teaching contract to which he objected given that he was informed at the interview, by the chairman of the interviewing panel Mr. Nadur, that it was a permanent job. He wrote to the ministry that this was unacceptable and continued teaching for that entire school year. This year after teaching you for two months in this term, the school’s administration came back with another temporary contract. He refused to accept that temporary contract as well since it was not what he applied for.

3 – As a result, the school’s administration attempted to bully Mr. Gibson into accepting the contract which is illegal and unfair. You know Mr. Gibson encourages you to stand up for what is right – he did as he teaches. For defending himself, he was thrown off the compound like a common criminal by Dr. Browne. He did not throw the teacher who was carrying on a relationship with a student off the compound with such indecent haste.

4 – Mr. Gibson turned up for work on Wednesday, 18 November as normal; did registration and form prayers; and while going to teach a class at 9:00 a.m. was told to see the Principal immediately at which time he was told that he was being put off the premises by the Principal for refusing to accept an illegal contract. He was not even given the opportunity to say good bye to his students or to return corrected work to them; nor was the work he left for you given out.

5 – Mr. Gibson has an unblemished teaching career of fifteen years. He is the holder of a Bachelor of Arts degree in Literatures in English and Linguistics, a Diploma in Education (Teaching of English), a Certificate in General Management and a Certificate in Industrial Relations (with Distinction).

6 – Mr. Gibson did not choose to be away from classes during this time. You are well aware that his attendance record is almost perfect. He did not miss any classes for the term, despite (for two years in a row) having an extremely high teaching timetable. You are well aware that even on occasions when he is ill, contrary to my advice, turns up and teaches your classes.

7 – You are well aware of the fact that every single class you have ever had with Mr. Gibson over the last two years was rewarding and productive. I am told by Mr. Gibson that 27 out of 29 of you received a grade 1 in English A last year after Mr. Gibson worked with you in fourth form. It is my understanding that no other fourth form has surpassed or equaled this record in the last examination cycle. I am also informed that 75 % of Mr. Gibson’s Communication Studies students scored a grade 1, compared to a school average of 43%. Maybe that is why he was not given a Communication Studies group this year. This temporarily appointed teacher’s results were making the permanently appointed ones look bad.

8 – You must use your reasoning skills to decide why it was so necessary to remove Mr. Gibson from a job he is very good at and loves to do. He did nothing wrong unless you consider standing up for your rights to be wrong. You should ask yourselves why you are being punished by being deprived of teaching because Mr. Gibson stood up to bullies, rather than take the advice of the Principal who suggested that he should lay low and let things work out. And to add insult to injury, they refused to pay Mr. Gibson his salary for this month.

9 – I hope this clarifies matters.

169 responses to “Queen’s College: Teacher Kicked Off School Premises”

1. The question is: do we want our people to be properly educated or only halfway so that others can unfair them? This playing with students’ education has gone too far! It is high time that we get a grip of education in this country to bring it back to where it was years ago! it seems that there are too many wannabe judges, juries, and hangmen! I am fed up with people who already have their education – and are being paid by the parents/guardians of the said students – taking the liberty of treating the taxpayers with disdain! If, this is as Caswell Franklyn says, and i have no reason to disbelieve him, then Dr. Browne owes the students of Mr. Gibson’s class, and their parents/guardians an explanation! This is nothing but codswallop!

2. @Casewell. You have made your case very well indeed. However, I am sure you will admit that it is one sided and not objective and it would be helpful to see Mr Gibson’s contract, for without that it is impossible to take any position. As you know, a contract does not have to be written in this case, but can be an advertised job description. The job description, in my view, must be narrowly interpreted and construed. Also of relevance would be the job descriptions and contracts of the teacher Mr Gibson was being hired to replace, as well as the teacher contracts prevailing at Queens College. As you may realise, I am not playing devil’s advocate, merely hopefully assisting you to build your case from the point of view of legal proceedings, which you are obviously contemplating.

In my view, there is far too much power these days placed into the hands of so-called “administrators” who, without any practical experience or even qualifications in the areas that they seek to “administer” have mostly one objective. Protect their jobs and pensions at all costs.

3. but Caswell
    you cant see that the teacher is very wrong? THE MAN WENT DOWN THERE AND EXCELLED! THE MAN WENT DOWN THERE AND WORKED HARD AND GOT GOOD RESULTS.

DONT YOU KNOW THAT THAT IS NOT ALLOWED?

My father used to teach us DO RIGHT AND FEAR NO MAN. I lived to learn that does not really apply in a contemporary world.

4. Let us move away from the legalese for a bit. Any parent who has children attending Queen’s College who are sitting in the classes Gibson should be teaching must be very worried. Look at his results!

5. likelovetohatredturned Avatar
    likelovetohatredturned

Each day it is becoming clearer that BU is permitting people, previously muzzled, by the various administrative systems and their respective heads/directors, to speak out. This pattern of crushing subordinates and employees is pervasive around our island. It has to come to an end. Victimization of employees who expose the under-perfomers show that it is possible to do excellent jobs AND exceed the expectations of one job’s description. What is the teacher’s name who is involved with the student? Whoever knows it needs to say it. Let Principal Dr. David Brown deal with the fallout of that.

6. Artaxerxes,

I bet when the dust settles Caswell is correct. This is the sort of stuff that is rampant in Barbados. Administrators who are not trained to deal with these issues and have no common sense (which often would suffice) are the order of the day. I must confess I was never impressed with this particular principal. Just a gut feeling.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Likelove….if it’s the same incident that happened with the tall bald head teacher and the student back in 2008-9, that teacher was sent to another school, which makes even less sense. If it’s a recent incident, that’s the second such incident of teacher/student involvement at QC.

Dr. Browne talks a good game, but, that’s all.

8. Well Well,

When did he talk that good game? I missed it.

9. Schools are there so that certain favoured teachers can get a salary. They have nothing to do with educating any children. What results what!

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna…..don’t know if you have ever held a conversation with the dude about the school and it’s students, he does show great concern, particularly to the 6th formers who take cape, he does push them to make absolutely sure QC ranks tops in the scholarship results……..you got my drift.

11. Heard all the hype from some parents. Have a problem with his methods. The way he pushes is crazy.

12. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

This behavior is all too rampant in Bim. The good workers are treatend, unfaired, discarded and bad mouthed. This foolishness must stop!

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

I am grateful for your assistance but the above was intended to explain to students that are preparing for CAPE and CSEC why they are not being taught.

In 2012 Mr. Gibson applied for a post that was advertised at QC. He was offered the job but when he was told that that it was a temporary job, he declined. In 2014 he responded to another advertised vacancy and was invited to an interview. He informed me that he asked the interviewing panel if it was a permanent job and was assured by the chairman of the panel that it was. The vacancy resulted from the retirement of Mr. Ishmael Daniel.

He was offered the job and started to teach. A month after he was teaching, the Secretary/Treasurer presented him with a letter informing him that he was appointed to a temporary job and asked to indicate in writing that he accepted the contract. He wrote to the Ministry of Education to say that he did not apply for a temporary but would accept pending the processing of his permanent appointment.

Next he received a letter fron the Secretary/Treasurer, with his acceptance letter as an attachment, saying that the Chairman, George Pilgrim, instructed her to return his letter. The Chairman of a school board does not have that power, but I suppose that because he is General Secretary of the DLP, he could do what he likes. Nonetheless, Mr. Gibson continued teaching for the entire school year.

He resumed teaching in September this year and again this matter of signing an acceptance letter for a temporary job surfaced. His position remained the same. He was paid his salary in September and October. The Principal ordered him off the compound after meeting with ministry officials in November and did not pay him.

To be fair, the story did not start at QC. Five years ago, he applied for a vacant position at Lodge School. He got the job and he was assigned to a temporary job. I was working then as a grievance/industrial relations officer at NUPW. After writing the Ministry, Board and CPO without success, we took the matter to court. The Government did not defend the suit and Justice Cornelius gave a default judgment in his favour.

Four years after that judgment, the Crown moved to set it aside. That matter went before Madam Justice Weekes in February 2015. She informed the litigants that she would consult the Chief Justice to determine if she should recuse herself. This is now November and we are still waiting for her decision.

Rather than wait for these molasses courts, Mr. Gibson decided to seek to mitigate his losses by applying elsewhere. His job letters after 15 years in teaching still says temporary teacher.

It is my understanding that he is being punished for being so rude as to sue the Government. I further understand that his name was included in the batch of 416 teachers that were recently appointed but it was rejected because he sued the Government. He taught some of those 416 teachers.

You want a little fun. The lawyer in the Solicitor General’s Chambers, that is fighting to ensure that he is not appointed, has been calling him almost on a daily basis for the last two months trying to get Mr. Gibson to give lessons to her son.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This happens way too often in Barbados, have these people no shame. Can’t they see or do they even care how they are being preceived. No one stays a temporary or acting anything for 15 years in the real world.

15. @Caswell, wid respect but that last paragraph on the 7:33 post was poorly played. Isn’t that lawyer in the SGโ€™s Chambers who is “fighting to ensure that he is not appointed” not an employee civil servant tasked to a job just like Mr. Gibson?

He or she could find themselves in the very same position as your client if they refused to vigorously do their work.

The ‘little fun’ is that your remarks likely victimizes them now too.

Chillingly non-amusing situation.

16. There is right and there wrong. For these politicians and political appointees to ruin the lifes of people is sacrilegious. They will pay now or their children, karma is not to be trifled with.

17. @Dee Word

You like middle of the road prim and proper don’t you.

What about the flip side, those public servants who are aware of the victimization of others and do nothing.

18. Under what circumstances is the Public Service Commission compelled to offer a permanent appointment to any specific person? Did the judgement of Cornelius order that a permanent appointment be offered to Mr Gibson?

19. This country is full of hypocrites. They want the man’s hard work and then unfair him for getting good results. QC is too full of shit. They don’t teach one shite there. All of the children there running all over St. Leonards for lessons. My sister two sons always getting unfair by the staff up there. If that teacher man is who i think he is, he real good – nobody don’t fail… and the children love him – that is wha got them goat. What George Pilgrim know bout children.. stupse He aint the foolish man that say he aint breeding nobody till the goverment get vote out? Wuhloss

20. LOLL, David. Prim and proper, middle of the road. Oh lawd.

So wha you want the lawyer in the SG’s office to do? Tell de boss to assign this case to someone else?

Now, if Caswell was really conniving he wud in fact tell his client to accept the call and tutor the child…den Whaplax, conflict of interest.

Of lawd, life can be so righteously clear …and then we have to go and earn a living to support our families.

Trust me David, I am not trying to be prim or proper. Just being real!

21. So wait, the children dont got no teacher because the headteacher and the board want to prove that them igrunt? Where Ronald Jones in dis? He always know about children being hurt and treat bad. Jones wont touch this because the headteacher is a big DLP man too – always pon tv at their foolish lectures when he should be at work teaching the children.

22. Mr. Gibson is an excellent teacher and a fine young man. My daughter was blessed to be taught by him at Foundation and was totally devastated when he left. Because he talks straight and does not get mixed up with the other teachers they were unkind to him there too. He is a consummate professional, very knowledgeable and very kind. This is a travesty.

23. @ David
    What “middle of the road prim and proper” what??!!
    The man is just plain LUKEWARM.
    …neither here nor there….

What did Bushie tell wunna…?
    Pick ANY 10 organisations in Barbados; invite honest feedback from those in the KNOW, in a way that immunises them from victimisation….
    …and at LEAST 7 of those ten organisations will be shown to be full of shiite….

…but of course Dee Word will tell us that this is to be expected… that it happens in Canada too…. that Obama has decided to accept that position …and that Bushie talking shiite ๐Ÿ™‚

Ent it?

24. I remember when Mr Gibson was the part time student rep on campus.Very vocal and a very decent chap.

Wismar, hang in there.You going get your due.I met you via work and you were always very mannerly , forthright and professional.

25. @Bushie, I know this blogging ting is just fun and games for you but I was looking forward to your gems of business insight on that Miller/Windmill blog but I noticed you and Money Brain were MIA. I found that strangely interesting. Anyhow such is it.

But yes Mr Bush Tea on this topic and others “Dee Word will tell us that this is to be expected”.

Your wonderful problem, good sir, is that you truly enjoy your neologisms and redefining of life’s basic rhythms to Bushie’s new term model. Not a ting wrong wid dat.

Thus according to you “Pick ANY 10 organisations in Barbadosโ€ฆand at LEAST 7 of those ten organizations will be shown to be full of shiite” is a brand new Bushie construct.

What you don’t whisper to your fawning fan base is that your exercise would have had very similar results if done in 1965, 1995 or 2015.

So I plead guilty as charged for agreeing that change is necessary but also I ask simply: who will make the change if not each of by acting like the Gibsons of Unity fame and not mere blog talking.

So Ellis was right to ask the youngster if he was going to be the needed investigative journalist. It’s easy for all of use to talk shiiiitee…lot harder to actually do some serious shiiiitee.

Wha did you say, he wanted the pick so he pureed his words! Imagine that.

26. LOL @ Dee Word
    “…your exercise would have had very similar results if done in 1965, 1995 or 2015…”
    Ha ha ha .. classic
    Yuh got Bushie there boss…. the bushman thought you would have said there would be similar results in Canada, USA, UK and Nigeria… but yuh gone ‘BACK in time’ instead…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Look boss, Bushie don’t have any damn ‘fan base’ …everyone is just past, present or future whacker meat…. Shiite is shiite!!!

Square pegs have no right on round holes. If a fellow is NOT prepared to make the needed SACRIFICES to excel in his CHOSEN profession then his ass is deserving of a good whacking…
    You need to either wax HOT or COLD…… this “in-between”, lukewarm, apologetic nothingness from you is suitable only for spitting out…. Stand up for something nuh!!!

…don’t mind Vincent (chuckle…)

27. Administrators from all spheres of public offices MUST be trained…! They are a disgrace!

28. Ok Bushie with your thermometer it is lukewarm to agree that it is blatantly illegal and foolishness that according to Caswell an applicant is confirmed for a permanent post and then has the offer unilaterally revised to a temporary post. AND also at the same time to advise that it’s NOT the fault of the lawyer who is involved in the Gov’t legal case.

The mere fact that the lawyer is allegedly contacting the plaintiff for personal services is itself evidence of how ‘conflicted’ small community life can be. That mere request if true is blatantly ridiculous.

As ridiculous as supposedly rabid political opponents being God-parents of each others children.

And it is lukewarm to note that in a small community it is impossible to maintain true viability and functionality as an investigative or truly hard-hitting journalist unless you carefully parse your investigatory details.

As I said above carry on smartly with Bushie’s latest hits. You play well and are very entertaining….and selective with your attention to discussion. LOLLL

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The ministry now look like a cabal of idiots for deceptively and willfully advertising a permanent post that they had absolutely no intentions of making permanent. They were just looking for the best applicant so that later they and the principal could bully the unsuspecting teacher into accepting a temporary position. That is called false advertising and maybe worked in the 50s-90s, when people were way more complacent and desperate to feed families, but this is 2015 and it will not work with someone with even a small measure of intelligence far less with someone blessed with large amounts of intelligence AND professionalism.

They must have creamed themselves when he applied for the job and they realized he had already stood up for his rights against the government. I could just hear the disgusting lowlives….”we got he now.”

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well

There is a herd of sheeple in Barbados who fall into the category of sheeple who just hate other people for being.

Is that statement clear?

De ole man going try to explain dis with an example. I got a dog in my yard or I should say me madam have a dog in de yard. It is whu I call a great dog, it does go to de vet, in a car, de chilrun are is come and drive um death cause Virgil tek way de ole man license (you realize dat I still always talking bout my license even doah de ole man cyan see and should not be driving)

Dere is a couple down de road who de man okay but de wife like sandpaper pun pooch, abrasive is an understatement and she jes hate me madam dog and does drop hints bout imagine a dog going to de vet fuh checkups, and getting shampooed and injections etc. well she two sons, imps from the 2nd circle of hell, tek to throwing rocks at Sheba (dat ent de true name of de dog but it name have been changed to protect the identity of de innocent like in de movies, Dragnet)

Without any reason she hates Sheba and, without any reason, she two imps hate Sheba too! jes because Sheba is. No other reason.

In addition to being, Mr Wismar Gibson is an excellent educator, that is different to being a teacher and if I has Tim I would explain the difference and just for that Mr Gison is going to be hated.

Couple that for trekking de guvment tuh court, whuloss, I surprise dat dem ent trump up some charges gainst he like saying dat he tiefing school toilet paper, or did was caught with one or two school “deskes and chairses” at he lessons place.

Doan fear do, between de time Caswell print dis public statement heah and de day aftah independence dere gine be a statement from de Minister of edukashun Ronald we Jonesing, the chilrun are is learning well, saying dat ” for administrative reasons, mr Gibson have been released pending ongoing investigations on missing toilet paper over the last 15 years at schools wher mr Gibson was teaching …” Watch and see.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Errata couple dat for tekking guvment to court not trekking. Apple Corporation hate Bajan dialect?

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…..it leaves knowledgeable people feeling cold and distrustful of the powerful foolish imps (satan’s most disgusting) in existence.

33. @Caswell

The report in today’s Sun about the last forensic pathologist to hold the post in Barbados is strikingly similar to the one here. The government ignored his request for renewal of contract and withheld his last months salary. Is this the way a government in the 21st century is expected to operate?

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well & the Blogmaster

This is a pattern and legacy of androgynous government.

As long as you dare to speak out about its practices you are marked for life even though an administration or the elected Party in Power may and will change, the mechanism that remains, the Permanent Secretary, the Deputy Permanent Secretary the Senior Analyst and the next in line under them, the “powerful foolish” imps as Well well calls them, remain to administer the grapes of wrath to he or she who spoke out.

35. De Ingrunt Word,

Did I do that?

You don’t have to be jealous of Bushie’s entertainment appeal because each man has his own place. That has to be somewhere in the Desiderata

And before you misunderstand, let me add LOL for your humour challenged self.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Oh Piece……the stories we can share with the BU folk, but it’s a new week and it’s too soon after my child’s memory surfaced, I was a very tiny child then, re the Sydney Burnett-Alleyne affair and though these many decades later, I sense it still scares people on the island. Just imagine if they heard the true nature of these governments. However, it’s not my intent to scare anyone so it’s better to let some things rest.

Suffice it to say, it’s a new era, though it still feels fulfilling for them to destroy each other, this new generation will not sit still and allow their own destruction. Small comfort, but much better than what obtained before.

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Government changed the rules in the Public Service via the Public Service Act but neglected to train people to implement the changes. Further, all senior post are now being filled by political lackeys as a result of the system of interviews and many of these lackeys only carry out the bidding of their political masters.

38. Seriously though, if all this is true (and since I know how things go in Barbados I believe that it probably is) Mr. Gibson should stand firm. Such a good teacher/educator can’t suffer as long as there are parents who know how good he is. Maybe he could do well giving private lessons and throw in a few freebies for promising financially challenged students. Charge the true price to all those professionals (like that attorney). They will pay if he is worth it. This should keep him going until this shameful issue is resolved in his favour, if not now, certainly in 2018.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David….that doctor realized, too late, that everything is infused with the stench of politics on the island to the detriment of the people, the courts etc, and when they realized he was trying to do the right thing, they got rid of him, as Piece articulated, it’s a legacy………..

Remember the doctor who warned them about Aids and their lifestyles, he was thrown off the island. We all know and some have paid dearly to learn, that commonsense makes no sense to those powerful foolish enough to be that destructive.

40. I hear all kinds of stupid stories; I glad this one get the facts out. I got a child at QC Mr. Gibbson taught him last year. He is very good. Those queens college teachers don’t like work – when they can’t get the pupils to understand, they get on like it is the pupils fault.
    That man does work real hard, give nuff homework, correct it, call us when the child need extra help and teach them in his lunch time and vacation for free. Some of those nasty teachers jealous of him.
    Last year everyone wanted to speak to this man at the form level meeting and I see how some of the same nasty teachers sit down and eyeball he and talking he name when he was only he was a breath of fresh air. He dont deserve this. Dr Browne shame me; minding jealous people. That is why education int going nowhere bout here. As soon as my son graduate he aint coming no where bout there again. And the school always asking for money and cant pay a man dat does work so hard. He salary going to build the pavillion or get Dr Browne a new car, wait and see.

41. When the dust settles Dr.Browne is able to retreat to a position that QC garners more scholarships than most.

42. David,

Did not Mr. Gibson contribute to that number?

43. Well Well,

My grandmother would have said they “powful foolish”. lol

44. What are the barriers to Mr. Gibson setting up his own school of excellence? Away from the clutches of these stupid controllers he could do wonders.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna…..an apt a description in Bajan parlance as can be applied. Mr. Gibson can teach lessons and be in great demand, many teachers across the island do the same, they are the best of the lot and come well recommended.

Given the deterioration spoken about by the above concerned parent, it’s not as though parents on the island have, or have had for many years now, any other choice. Private lessons guarantees a modicum of success for individual children. No way will government mess with that because it will also affect, to their great detriment, their own children, it would be like shooting themselves in the foot, great visual, but one which they are not prepared to do…..lol

And given testimonials about Mr. Gibson, he will be very successful.

46. The issue raised is not about Gibson although it is. It is about a deficient governance system.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I have often said that a School of Excellence, funded by the Maria Holder Memorial Fund, staffed by educators like Gibson and his ilk, would show how much talent the island has our noble prize winners in waiting, but ….

48. @ Donna
    There is indeed much for you to learn.

The FACT is that normally, people like Mr Gibson CANNOT win in the local shiite system. He will be frustrated by any court action – with the case coming up sometime in 2031 if he is lucky….
    He will be avoided -EVEN BY THOSE WHO SUPPORT HIS STAND – for fear of their own victimisation (even while they sneak and get their children lessons from him…)
    He CANNOT start his own school …not without 100 licenses and permits – ALL of which will need a politician’s say-so..

Traditionally, his ONLY bet would have been to join the OTHER shiite party, and wait for them to form Government in order to get a fair shake (while they then shake down others from the opposing party…)
    in short, he would have had to JOIN the shiite system.

The BIG problem for this joke country is …..CASWELL.

Here we have a MAN among MEN….
    ..with the talent, knowledge, skills, BALLS and experience to make a DIFFERENCE ….and where do we have him….?

…Running a little moses of a boat called Unity Trade Union…..

We are such brass bowls……

49. @ Caswell
    I have no doubt that Mr. Gibson is an excellent teacher and is being bullied but, from a strictly legal perspective, does he have any evidence that he was offered a permanent position? From what you said I gathered the assurance was only verbal.

50. Anyone in Barbados today who stands on principle stands alone. Political patronage in return for political obedience has infected every sphere of life in the country. And every five years we have the opportunity to exchange one infection for another. So many Bajans now depend on this to make a living that we don’t want a cure. And here is this awful truth: with each year that we move further into independence, and away from the dreadful oppression of our colonial masters, it gets worse. You can’t blame the “albino lab rats” any more.