mariaThe government and DLP supporters are pleased for the distraction the Maria Agard disagreement with her political party offers. […]While there is possibly a majority view by Barbadians everywhere that the mauling of the affairs of the country is the worse we have experienced in the post Independence history by a government,

a politically fatigued citizenry appears eager to be distracted by the political class yet again. Political conflict is nothing new in our system of government and in the same way the DLP, on the surface it seems, appears to have recovered from the Thompson vs Mascoll episode so too will the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

Of greater concern to the citizenry should be a governance system that is failing. The current state sees an inability of the citizenry to hold elected politicians accountable, demand transparency read Cahill deal, facilitate policy direction to stoke innovation and creativity,  increase national productivity, insightful use of physical resources, align the private and public sectors to breed global competitiveness…  Law and order  have been enduring characteristics of our small island and have defined our way of life as Bajans – now gone like the wind.

Mia Mottley should recall the period when the gang of 5 deselected her as Opposition leader. She struck a tone that endeared her to Barbadians everywhere. She was particularly strong on the need for governance strengthening.  We should be concerned that Maria Agard is being railroaded out of her safe seat because she dares to veer from the party line. It is not the first time members of a political party have expressed differences with the party line. In the USA the party Whips have their hands full to build consensus on many issues to support party positions. The fact that we have political parties demanding sheepish adherence to party positions and allow for zero space to entertain different positions  – shaped by conscience for example  – is where national debate should be the focus. If change is required to how political organizations are structured and ‘new blood’ is encourage to infuse the political parties with ideas why should the establishment not disengage from predictable behaviour and resist gang banging members who hold different positions.

The BU household has observed the interventions from the traditional players concerning Agard and her altercation with the BLP. Whether it is Wickham, George Bell, traditional media it all appears to be so orchestrated and disingenuous to those who are close to the issues. Take David Ellis and his position on air yesterday. How does one place so much faith in the workings of the executive of a constituency in Barbados? If Agard is prepared to challenge the influence less than a 1000 partisans bring to the table in order to defend principle issues why should the political party – represented by Mottley who was a proponent for change of the BLP constitution not so long ago – not discomfort itself to accommodate those who canvass for said change?

It is obvious to ALL there is conflict between Agard and Mottley. Those who follow local politics are aware of the dissent which has been fermenting from the time Agard by dint of hard work won the nomination from Bishop. Herbie and his establishment gang have never forgotten Agard the upstart. Didn’t the great Arthur have to ask Herbie to backoff in 2011 when she kicked Bishop’s ass? It appears Mia does not have the same long coat tail of Arthur to command order in that constituency and his heavily dependant on Jerome Walcott.  It is payback time. It is clear Agard is seen as a trouble tree whose political head should be lopped of. And the BLP machinery is well on course to achieving that objective. It is the nature of politics, Machiavellian politics. Barbadians should not be so blind to not probe more deeply what is at play here. What has Agard done to deserve political assassination you ask? From where BU sits we see a young, bright female who is prepared to defend her positions even if it means butting heads with colleagues and or sacrificing her political career. How many sitting MPs are prepared to do the same? Mia Mottley as leader should be able to meet with Agard and negotiate a compromise position with the disaffected parties. The idea of killing an ant with a hammer, encouraging the infighting by siding with factions within the party is immature and gives insight to Mottely’s unwillingness to depart from the old way of practicing party politics in Barbados. Imagine Agard sitting in a Cabinet and or Parliamentary Group meeting giving her willingness to veer from the party line. How refreshing that would be to force decisions closer to the interest of the people!

BU will deal with Peter Wickham on another occasion. He has used his several platforms to spew perspectives on the Agard issue which are nothing more than he being disingenuous.

It is time Barbadians, educated Bajans, speak out about the injustice being meted out to the few who dare to challenge the establishment. To those who are lobbying for Agard cross the floor, where is the precedent that it will act as a catalyst for change? Have we seen it with Symmonds, Mascoll, Lashley, Prescod et al? Those who are members of the BLP need to step up and support the good lady. Even if she suffered a few indiscretions – as accused by the party  – the point is she appears to be a committed a BLP supporter.

A good place to begin for Mottley is to recollect her position of a few years ago when she called for a overhaul of the BLP Constitution and was ignored. Agard and Mottley are probably not that far apart on the issues IF Mottley was genuine in her earlier positions.

496 responses to “The BLP Purge: Maria Agard Appears to be Undaunted”

1. @ Miller
    Steupsss….
    EVERYONE knows that the ONLY reason why Owen did not win the last election was that certain members of his OWN party campaigned AGAINST the damn party….

@ SSS
    You are 100% correct.
    ANYONE who is so willing to go after THEIR OWN MEMBERS to get their own way, can be GUARANTEED to wreck havoc on the WHOLE population if ever they are given the power to do so…. especially on those who oppose them.

Mia has ALREADY outlined her intent for the blogs….
    She has DEMONSTRATED her lack of tolerance for internal dissent
    ..and she has shown the lengths to which she is willing to go to get her own way.

If those other BLP jokers are unable to find a half-decent leader by next election then it may well be better for Bajans to stick with the dumb-donkeyed DLP ….who at least don’t display that level of vindictiveness…..

Owen deserves a national award ..if only for his warning about the danger that this joker presents to the country….

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My sweet piece

Hmmmmmm smack on the lips. Too sweet.

@TeaBush

Do you know why I am not referring to you by your rightful alias? It is because you did not apologise to me for getting my name right. As for Mottley, her hunger for power in the seat of Prime Minister and her quest for making history’s pages makes her very predictable and dangerously unpredictable. Snippets of what she will unfold on Barbados if seated as PM is already defining her style of leadership. The woman walks too much along the lines of double standards to launch any effective moral persuasions that she understands what it will take to be a good leader. You really think that Maria Agard would want to be in dispute with her leader knowing it can come with consequences if there was not something seriously wrong. There is no way in the world, unless dementia set in, that a young politician early in her tenure would want to jeopardize her reputation, tarnish whatever image she has built for herself over the years, and turn to the press to air her disgust if she were not faced with overwhelming circumstances of the detrimental kind. TeaBush Mia Mottley is venomous as much as she is villainous.

3. LOL @ SSS
    Bush Tea, Tea Bush, Bush shiite….. same thing to the Bushman….
    Apologies anyway for rearranging your handle…. 🙂

4. Bush Tea & SSS

So wait here a minute, you mean to tell me that MM got the entire executive council of the BLP (40 in favour, 2 in abstention out of 42 present) to vote to bring those 9 charges against Maria Agard?

Don’t make me laugh man.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ ATrue Free Man

Bynoe., Frost and Andy while what they have their heart in the right place are proposing a solution which is fraught with the simple problem of proof and, as per the advice of the luminary Jeff Cumberbatch, the person receiving the bribe would have to be party to the prosecution procedures and affirm that they were propositioned by the party to be prosecuted

@ Neutron Sky

De ole man tends to disagree that OSA is illy perceived by the electorate because of his services to the Demonaic Lying Party.

In a normal circumstance, Owen ‘s allegiance might be queried but, during these perilous economic times, people are accommodating this aberration BECAUSE THEY RECOGNIZE the unassailable incompetence of the DLP and our need that do something, anything to save our collective donkeys (Domps sorry for calling your name so often)

In fact de ole man feel that Owen even score some points as a true patriot for this oddity

6. Sunshine
    Your contributions are usually good and often make me laugh. The latest about golden apples, transportation, solar etc only achieved the latter. So kindly expand on how we could have restructured the economy around the areas you mentioned.

7. @ Bushie who wrote ” Mia has ALREADY outlined her intent for the blogs…”

What is her intent for blogs owned and operated by Canadian-Bajans living up here in Canada ?

8. The political immaturity of Barbados.

Will there ever be room for dissent within political parties in Bim or will it be forever my way or the highway and we will drum your ass out of the Party.

Funny thing about this constituency, they’ve elected two Dentists and now according to the scuttlebutt the Riding Association (and Leader) wants to up the ante by selecting a Doctor. It is still unclear (to this observer) what major transgressions against the Party that the lady Dentist generated that brought the wrath of the Party leader down on her head, the charges are so boiler plate that all of the gang of five that moved to supplant the Leader prior to the last Election should have been brought before the Star Chamber.

Which brings me to this: All politicians are created equal, but some are more equal than others, if yuh want to have a friend in politics, get a dog.

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Willie

You certainly do not understand the bajan mentality. Agard might have done one or three wrongs but since she is not at all highly favoured, magnification of those wrongs will be accompanied by the spreading of additional convincing innuendos, and finger pointings all intended to persuade that she is inappropriate. This creates the ideal domino effect that convinces party hopefuls to believe and follow. Do you know how easy it was to persuade Arthur’s loyals that he is a mere spent hen and if any of them want to remain in the bright future of politricks there must now look to a more effective layer with a bigger plan and better portfolio. Stuuuupppse really think these villains upright?

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Enuff

Tell me why, first, we did not restructure the economy around these alternatives? Tell me why at this juncture we are now noticing for the first time that we have to develop our agriculture model to reduce our escalatingly high import bill and why all of a sudden the pursuit for alternative energies is now at the forefront of our priority list. I will answer your question when you can provide me with an answer to mine. I am certain you know the answer and if you are going to tell me shite about not enough resources I will tell you that that did not stop us from building a near billion dollar prison, wasting 30 million on green land, endeavouring to spend another near million on fixing our waste disposal problems or looking to spend another near billion exploring our solar opportunity. Notice how crisis drives us towards restructuring when during the time of plenty we could not give two wuk ups and squeeze pooch about endeavours we are no seeking to embark upon.

11. The supporters of Agard should proceed with caution as the apply their medicine to the leaking wounds
    First and last Agard is not the party the party would continue to survive amidst the harm or damage come about
    There seems to be a bold contention that Agards actions would be the medicine which all political parties need which is farther from truth having seen all of the similarties played out before
    However the stings left behind would hurt the party temporarily but as for Agard she would be regarder as a selfish soldier travesting down a lonely political road
    Retrospective would be herundoing in the world of politics
    Her role as an independent would be downplay cast with a high degree of doubt and measured with in distance party wanting to get close to her

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Is you head hard? The party that is the BLP has survived far more serious developments than this current petty squabble and they will continue to survive until the partisan divide that makes them eventually wakes up and see politics for what it is and break them. Only the electorate possess the power to dealt either party a significant blow to show them that they are no longer willing to put up with anymore shite. Rather Agard is relegated for actions interpreted as not in the best interest of the Barbados Labour Party, I can assure you her role can be no more diminish than that of a Michael Carrington, Liz Thompson or George Payne. You are trying to play this situation as one far more serious than any other that ever presented itself in party politics. When Owen fired George Payne from his ministerial role was he, George Payne diminished to a lonely political road? You seem to be spinning web to catch flies so that Agard must been viewed as a broiling wayward school child who refused to adhere to her head mistress’ rules. You should know that not all headteachers are right and not all students are wrong. Mia as the face of the leadership of the BLP is to be respected as long as that respect is reciprocated. You should ask yourself what is really fueling the dissenting behaviours on both sides.

13. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine, wrote ” we have to develop our agriculture model ”

They already working on it. lol ” 9 foot plants ”

“The plants which ranged in height from one foot to nine feet in height were discovered under cultivation in canefields.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/74601/cannabis-plants-fisherpond#sthash.NuN9NNYl.dpuf

14. It seems to many bajans that 70% of the electorate are fed up with the current state of affairs in Barbados,in particular what 49 years of ‘independence’ have bestowed upon them in the institutions known as the Democratic Labour Party and the Barbados Labour Party.Is this what free education has done for the country?
    There are those who suggest that successive ministers of education with the exception of Luther Thorne were failures.Now, one wants to become Prime Minister with promises to make another failure of that ministry Governor General.As if to throw salt in the wound of the body politic,another failure is attempting to unseat a sitting member by creating havoc in a constituency that is shaping up to be….not coucou versus callaloo but Chapman Lane versus Carrington Village.What is tantalizing is the foreign language they both speak fluently and shamelessly.Wuh gaul bline yuh,tek yuh han’ out me pot ya mullah….well yuh know wat I meaning!

15. Why does Barbados want to grow food to export ?

Why is the food IMPORT bill so high?

16. @enuff

Would a serious dent in the import bill for oil not result in potentially hundreds of millions of dollars in forex opportunity cost included?

17. To my current representative in that once honourable house:

Please be advised that my previous support does not guarantee my future support of your candidature in the forthcoming election. Please take note of my increasing conviction to vote against your party.

Even though your stewardship of this southern constituency has been excellent thus far, supporting you next time around automatically lends support to your current leader and I have no intention of ever doing such.

If circumstances change in the near future, I may revisit my current position. Until then please be guided accordingly.

Best Regards
    Raw Bake

18. Maybe Wickham should take a poll as to voters perception of himself
    A political allegation was brought to the forefront by OSA namely by reference to Wickham as a political big gun for Mia and the blp
    As a political journalist and a political scientist and contributing role in defining the political landscape via his pools
    Going forward into the next election there is nodoubt that this latest charge would further be a downgrading.of his credibilty and integrity as he conducts his polls
    Wickham might now find himself cast into a limelight of political cesspool trying to off load the burdensome task of rebuilding Mia,s image with poll after poll to acheived the desired result
    There is no doubt that when the ashes are cleared his skeletal remains would be one of the casualties

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Wickham got whipped big time by his DLP. Which part of payback is a bitch that would not cause Wickham to go in the camp of the birds of a feather you do not understand. For all of Wickham’s brilliance, he is doing just what cause the wisest man to ever live on the earth to do back in extrabiblical times: he simply is leaning towards the doing of a stupid thing.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea November 18, 2015 at 8:12 AM #
    “EVERYONE knows that the ONLY reason why Owen did not win the last election was that certain members of his OWN party campaigned AGAINST the damn party….”

Oh what witchy magical powers MAM must have to bring about such an electoral defeat to the Mighty Owen the political Zeus from Mount Olympus. The economist Merlin that if given the chance could have transformed the economy from one of a basket case to a shinning beacon of hope and a hallmark for privatization to even rival Singapore.

You claim to be some smart ass political tactician-general having graduated from the School of Machiavelli summa cum laude. You also see yourself as the self-appointed Pontificate for your BBE on Earth.

Now ask put yourself in MAM’s shoes and yourself these questions:

After being deposed in 2011 as the leader for no publicly-stated justifiable reasons would you risk you future in any Cabinet with OSA at the helm?

How would you have felt to be treated like a mare in season in that horse-trading exercise which took place between OSA and Fumble by way of exchange of notes.

Why is OSA so afraid to tell the people why he is so much against MAM leading the BLP and ever becoming P M? Is it something so scandalously private or is she such a bad and ineffective leader that even Fumble would outshine?

MAM had no political future if OSA had been returned as P M in 2013.
    She does now since that fair-weather politician is now a spent force.
    But you could prove us all wrong if Fumbling Froon were to call elections very soon to destroy Mia’s ambition. Don’t forget, Bushie, that your BBE both appoints and disappoints according to his whim and fancy or even on advice from his earthly representative.

21. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

David Ellis’s six thirty show on this AGARD issue one has to wonder,you mean he could not find anyone in support of AGARD? SMH.

22. LT.HORATIO CAINE. November 18, 2015 at 7:15 PM #
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fear

23. Agard would not be top of the list for starcom . Agard is doing a great job all by herself helping them to sell news papers , when this issue is dissolved the media still needs the political parties for commercial and financial support,
    THe dollar is and will always be king , not Agard or small fry like herself who has grasp the opportunity to shout the loudest and longest ,
    Be that as it may Starcom would say to Agard you are a welcome guest on my shows but only when called upon

24. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

well freeman i do not know if it is fear but I give Ellis zero for his fiasco,he boast of being the ultimate journalist but that piece was not in keeping with his touted motto of fair and balanced, one would have thought that he would have gotten the opinions of those that support Agard so that we could weigh things in the balance, all he has done is convinced me that he is part and parcel of this mockery to rail road that young woman. An interview conducted with a group of persons whose sole purpose was to vilify Agard and all apparently persons in the know in the constituency. well i am still not buying what they are selling.Ellis your show was a far from balanced and very unfair to that young lady’s chances in any form of court even the kangaroo one that has been convened to lynch her, if i were her legal team i would cite prejudicial biases as a result of your silly show.

25. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

By the way Eliis your six thirty show this evening is just in my opinion that vulgar dance of the same name,not the quality of previous shows.

26. For a long time now it has been touted in the marketplace that besides being moderators and part time journalists Ellis and Wickham are public relations consultants and they are both working to enhance the images of MAM and CPSinckler.So we have CBC and the one sided duo Lovell/Holder tag team and VOB and the onesided duo of Ellis and Wickham

27. Why does anyone refer to these political mongrels as journalist, they are far fro being journalist they are simply talking heads who might have gained free education” think” of themselves as intellectuals and now have egos the size of Mt, Rushmore and adored by die hard followers who agree with there every road,
    Let them try taking that same kind of analytical review on any given subject to international audience,these great pontificators. and political spin doctors would be laughed out of town.
    luckily for them they are living in a small country where there input is not readily heard in international markets, For if so they would be labelled as goof balls and small fish trying to swim in big ponds.

28. On the other side of the Agard coin . there is this growing concern that Mia is not going to weather this Storm as other raging fires within the party going back as far as 2010 under her leadership still remain unresolved and continues to be hindrance for the party going into 2018.
    These concerns stem from the fact that as long as she is leader the public perception of the party would continue to grow weary of questionable division in the party and Mia inability to quell by positive action.

29. You could really hush your donkey AC.

Mia IS a colossal joke.
    Actually she is an embarrassment who could only be seriously considered for leadership in a place like Brassbados. And the BLP is being moronic to persist with her…

But you and your DLP pack are EVEN worse.
    A pack of Morons who have distinguished themselves by destroying EVERY shiite that they have touched…. CLICO, Sugar, Almond, BS&T, BL&P, CAHILL and currently BHL.
    There is NO national leadership from your version of Ossie Moore in charge…only insults and lies…

The Speaker of the House is a court declared thief.
    The Speaker of the Senate is blind …leaving Maxine and Depeiza to embarrass themselves..

…and the DLP speaker on BU is a certified jenny-ass.

Let someone with credibility criticise Mia and the BLP do….!!!

30. See what I mean by hiding behind anonymity?

Now what does the blindness of the young lady who presides in the Senate have to do with the on-going debate?

You would never have made such an offensive and inane comment if you had to put your name over it.

Blogging was tailor-made for cowards like Bush Tea. You dare not say who you are.

Now go ahead and cuss me one more time.

Carl Moore

31. Look at dat the ole sage using his weed wacker to attack the blind
    What a friggin loser. Bro u need to work for isis ..byeee

32. Wait Mr.Moore as a commentator / journalist”the most
    input u can contribute on the subject is your feeble attempt to attack a person because of their anonymity
    Is that the new brand of jounalism that requires The people right to know

Anonymous

33. @ Carl Moore,

I agree with you one hundred percent. It is one thing to” hide behind anonymity” , as you stated, but to stoop to such a pathetic level, as to reference anybody’s infirmities, especially a young woman, who should be a bigger and more important role model for our country, than any of the political party leaders, we have around here.
    All I can say to that blogger, is that there is none so blind as he who wil not see ! He or she is totally blind and will scarcely ever reach the heights of our current President of the Senate.

34. @ Bushie,

Time to man up and use your real name. I using mine.

35. Despite being blind, this young lady has done much more than many in the nation who can see. She should be lauded for her courage, tenacity, endurance, perseverance and her other wholesome attributes.

36. So it is NOT a fact that she is blind then?
    She is an amazing lady …. but she IS BLIND….

What is your point exactly?

AC is also probably a nice lady … But SHE is DUMB
    …why should we appoint her a high ranking role as government spokeswoman?
    …to prove that we are bowls…

Carl (ossie cousin) Moore
    …can’t you come up with something more original than anonymity…
    Shiite man …this is neat 40 years now you with that shiite…

…go long back and watch old cricket do…

37. Bush Tea you are one of the several digital eunuchs who pollute the blogs. Your testicles have dried up; you’re afraid to identify yourself.

You want to have your puddin’ and souse and eat it too.

Come out from behind that big rock and face Carl Moore like a man. I look forward to the day that the Computer Misuse Act (1990) flushes out cowards like you.

Until then, you are a monkey playing with a computer … and drinking too much bush tea.

Carl Moore

38. I second those remarks re the bona-fides of the President of the Senate.

The remarks by Bush Tea are offensive in spirit and tone surely but for all practical purposes he was being his usual rant persona. In that regard one should realize he was really not being insulting and small-minded but rather just so consumed in a standard blog rant style.

At best it was a bad pun re the government plodding along in a manner and style of a ‘blind’ person.

Unfortunately the insensitivity that the disability of blindness would not be an appropriate as a pun for a brave young woman who entered a regular school (the alma mater of the blogger Bush Tea) and handled all the issues academic and otherwise therein with aplomb and later went on to further academic success and more to a level that most of us with eyes to see will not achieve was lost on him. At that moment.

There is no reason to eviscerate the Senate President on these pages and frankly I am confident that Ms Ifill has overcome much worst than such trivial blog comments.

In short, some ado and fuss for lack of sensitivity. But blah. Accept that it was a stupid, inept remark and let’s move on.

39. @Carl Moore, I find it hard to understand why the Computer Misuse Act (1990) would be needed to flush out people who make the type remark re Ms. Ifill. The averaage person can accept your displeasure over the insensitive comment but it was not libelous or slanderous or in any way vilified anyone.

People make stupid remarks every minute of every day that are sanctioned in normal social one-on-one discourse/feedback. In social media you get digital shamed to achieve the same effect.

In your aggrieved mien you give more reason for concern with a desire to chill speech that is simply not ‘politically correct’ . That’s a ridiculous stance.

Is that what the Act is about? I think not.

If you are able to stand up and let your name be known then more power to you. But
    there is and will always be a valid place for anonymity in public discourse.

Let’s separate personal animus and disdain from practical and reasoned governance.

40. Agree the woman’s disability has no relevance to the subject but then again Bushie is President of the local chapter of MCP’s-Male Chauvinist Pigs- (see his frequent rants against females especially teachers). Little does he know that all the other chapters except for certain countries in the ME disbanded eons ago but Bushie’s mindset is circa 1940’s.

41. Brother Bush Tea stated a fact “The Speaker of the Senate is blind” without any animosity, just a fact.

Many of us get here from time to time and say Jerome is a buller (and unless he bull-ed you you cant say for sure) and Mia is a Lesbian (and unless she bit out your clitoris, you can say for sure) but Bush Tea states a fact and he is castigated.

Well de ole man gine state a fack fuh wunna who have rushed to the defense of that which cannot be defended.

Peter Serieux years ago was the President of the Barbados Council for the Disabled some years ago and was once the Treasurer.

Peter was visually challenged and consequently the Barbados National Bank where the accounts were held wrote to the BCD and rightfully insisted that the Treasurer of Record of the Organisation, since he was blind, would be disallowed and the account was to be rectified forthwith.

Braille notwithstanding, to wit any person here needs to tell me if the Rules of the Senate have been thusly converted, the BNB indicated that by virtue of the simple functions of that Office of Treasurer, it necessitated greater oversight no pun intended for the management of such a critical function.

The point that Bush Tea is making that is lost on the Scvunts that parade aroung this cyberspace cavern as intelligencia is that in her substantive post which WILL perforce necessitate greater visual interactions, it is a seeming mockery of the critical functions of our government, to saddle such responsibility on someone who lacks this sense.

I am just as disposed to giving persons with Physical Challenges Equal Opportunity but when it comes to piloting my American Airlines up the Grantley adams tarmac give me a sighted pilot please.

It becomes so glaringly obvious that some of you are so opposed to Bush Tea that the slightest thing that he says “off theme” becomes the mote that you all assemble around and seek to cut him down on.

42. Let us agree Bushie’s reference to President of the Senate is in bad taste in the same way Duguid a sitting MP retorted yuh mudda scunt in response to Adriel Brathwaite and Donville Inniss tauting about a child get put pun he. Note the names of the MPs are known and we’re not made by anonymous bloggers.

43. It becomes so glaringly obvious that Bush Tea IS BEYOND REPROOF ON BU ah lie?
    It becomes so glaringly obvious that only Bush Tea can seek to cut down anyone on BU ah lie?.
    It becomes so glaringly obvious that THE STUPID OLD MAN KNOWN FOR IMMENSE PALAVER TO SAY THE SIMPLEST OF THINGS IS AN APPROXIMATOR OF HIS LABIAE ORAE TO THE FAT OVERLAYING BUSH TEA’S GLUTEI .

iF BUSH TEA HAS SAID SOMETHING THAT OTHRS THINK IS “off theme” PERHAPS ITS OFF THEME
    HOW CAN THIS OLD STUPID MAN TRY TO DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE?

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de Ingrunt Word November 19, 2015 at 11:36 AM

I support the position you have taken here.

Why is C M making reference to the Computer Misuse Act? Hasn’t he seen how that act itself has been misused to silence those who dare criticize politicians and their lackeys?

What Computer Misuse Act what? Let us assume Bush Tea is blogging from Canada or Nigeria, would you still, C M, wish to invoke that piece of legislation that has no relevance to today’s world than the 1904 Obeah Act?

What viral crime has Bush Tea committed? Bush Tea- as is his right to free speech- is just being politically incorrect as usual or just plain rude. That’s all. He has not called the person a thief or accused her of corruption.

As for your bugbear of bloggers’ anonymity, shouldn’t you be more concerned with a campaign to have the Libel Act modernized to reflect greater freedom of expression associated with a so-called highly educated population?
    What about your ardent support through calling on the ruling administration to fulfill its promise and commitment to the people by implementing the long overdue FOI & Integrity legislation?
    What about undertaking such causes with the same publicly expressed gusto you have demonstrated over 20 years in your futile clarion calls for a cleaner and quieter Barbados?

Now let us measure that success in your strident appeals instead of your perceived attempts to muzzle people like the rude but harmless Bush man who, by the way, has garnered a wider readership of his anonymous viral contributions than you have ever achieved in your many letters to the editors of the advertising rag sheets posing as newspapers in Barbados.

The Anonymous Jethro Miller.

45. The problem with you and others is that you want to share licks but do not expect to take. Bushie whacks, to use his terminology, but he takes as good as he gives. By your description BU is a rumshop, not a expect robust, muscular exchanges would not give meaning to your characterization of BU. Some of you need to chill man. Bush Tea most agree used an insensitive turn of comment, whack him and move on. He is intelligent to take it that BU is sure.

46. @Pieces, years ago I was embroiled with a team who made a rather snarky comment about a politician. What was most ‘amusing’ or ‘debilitating’ – depending on how one saw it – was that in making the written public excuse/apology for the original remark we then created greater conniption.

The BNB were out of place to do as you stated as they had no grounds to determine that the gentleman was unable to have the details of the accounts/cheques etc verified (by other person on the council). Also, I could be wrong but I believe the man of whom you speak was partially sighted though designated as ‘legally blind’.

Be that as it may, could you please explain ‘…that in her substantive post which WILL perforce necessitate greater visual interactions, it is a seeming mockery of the critical functions of our government, to saddle such responsibility on someone who lacks this sense”

What critical functions exactly would require her ‘greater visual interactions’ in the Senate?

You mentioned braille. Systems and processes have come a long way since that reference to Mr Serieux.

If this lady has completed two degrees (I believe, its two) in the world of the sighted; has access to more braille generated data; likely access to devices which read and repeat text; can hear rather well her Senate colleagues and can in a decorous environment make appropriate rulings, please explain what exactly her lack of sight would prevent in the Senate chamber.

I have no problem with your defending your blog-mate but there are some things which are simply stated and which are also simply insensitive. This was such. No brouhaha needed. And absolutely no need to compound it with more intellectual excuses.

As you suggest re your AA pilot, there are many things a visually impaired person would best leave to others but its passing real strange that talking and legislating about policies, rules and governance would be considered one of them!

Your suggestion that it takes a sighted person to oversee a talk-shop is a true Bajan conniption.

47. QUID DIXI SCRIPSIQUE, DIXI SCRIPSIQUE,

48. @ DIW

And that is exactly why we are where we are, as is so competently summarized in your last comment which reads “… suggestion that it takes a sighted person to oversee a talk-shop is a true Bajan conniption…”

The problem with our cuntry being here DIW is because our people in general, and electorate in particular, feel that “gi he a chance, dem gine learn it as dem go along” is the modus operandum that will bring us success.

And when we are rudely awakened that it jes doan wuk so, we cry foul and come here and on the other various media to bewail our predicament when the writing was clearly on the wall WHEN WE STARTED.

For the Dumb Dip SHITS like the resident doctor who thinks that the sun shines out of his backside I remain unmoved in my assessment that we ole farts, of which he is lead, become disgruntled in our uselessness, in our golden years.

Age ravages our skeleton and “the silver chord” is captive to that mortal skeleton, unless we pull a Kevorikan, dumb useless “APPROXIMATORS OF LABIAE ORAE TO THE FAT OVERLAYING GLUTES of other men/women/transgenders/in-betweeners.

I am resigned to my fate to “go down to the earth” but GP fights it and is so angry here in the Rum Shop that every chance he gets his CAPITILIZATIONS SHOW THAT “USELESSNESS that we who were once young, FEEL OURSELVES TO BE…”

SO IN CLASSIC DUGUIDIAN STYLING I say to him “YAH MUDDA SCVUNT” with a gentility and lack of acrimony similar to that with which Bush Tea said the Speaker of the Senate is blind.

49. Wuhloss not even a sorry coming from the jackass and certified clown bush shite.
    I guess he thinks that his attack on the blind can be anothrr featured attraction to his road show
    He is just one uh dem bajan with gully boar manners.

50. Deputy dawg alias bush shit i knew the day would come when yuh stick both feet in your mout. Now dawg today is that day .i have a jackhammer which needs to cranked to do you a favour at no cost.