Vernon Smith QC

Hot on the heels of his suit against Marston Gibson, Vernon Smith QC has sued the BA. It is reported that the BA has responded by filing and serving [โ€ฆ]an acknowledgement under signature of BA president Tariq Khan, with their counsel of choice TBA.

The heat is on Khan, because, first, the BA must file a defense within 15 days as of filing of the acknowledgement; and, second, to involve themselves in this case means that the BA must have it sanctioned and agreed by its membership. Otherwise, Mr Smith may move to have the BA noted in default and ask for summary judgement. Thus the inappropriate advice given by then Chief Justice Simmons to his then-prospective son-in-law and then BA president Wilfred Abrahams back in 2008, not to pursue the matter because it would be expensive, seems to be coming to pass.

If the BA admits fault, then it drops Marston Gibson right into the fire Smith has already got going for the barbecue on which to grill him, appendages and all.

Many of the BU family have weighed in stating that this is merely a case of a lawyer trying to make money (or save money) by avoiding VAT. However, most respectfully, we suggest that no one ought to have to arbitrarily pay VAT in cases where VAT is NOT payable, whether lawyer or not.

BU has also published a great many comments critical of the BA, especially when it comes to taking action on complaints made against attorneys-at-law. BU agrees that the BA is, in this respect, not-fit-for-purpose and is constantly letting the public down. BU wants now to revisit its report of some time ago regarding the fund into which every attorney-at-law must pay annually, the object of which is to, in part, reimburse victims of attorneys-at-law who have cheated them – Compensation Fund: Another Screw-up By the Barbados Bar Association . BU has been able to ascertain that this fund now holds $2.5 million dollars and, despite findings of culpability in regard, but not limited to, Fields, Nicholls, Lynch et al, never has so much as one red cent been paid by the BA out of that fund to victims. Never! Instead the ONLY funds paid out of that account has been to advertise the estates of deceased attorneys-at-law. This is iniquitous and a downright betrayal of public trust and sacrifice of public confidence, which is at an all-time low anyway as far as the justice system of Barbados is concerned.

One of BUโ€™s legal eagles was able to have sight of Smithโ€™s claim and make notes for us. Here is what we are able to report and we stress that as the Claim has been filed, this report is fair comment and reports a document in the public domain:

Smith asserts:

• He was admitted to the Roll of Attorneys-at-Law as Attorney-at-Law number 158 the 28 April 1975 and has practiced since then. He is also on the Roll of Solicitors and Barristers in Dominica and St. Vincent and has practiced there.

• As of the date of his admission as an attorneys-at-law in Barbados he has been a member of the BA and at the beginning of every succeeding year he always obtained his annual practicing certificate in accordance with Section 11 of the Legal Profession Act and paid my annual membership subscription to the BA in accordance with Section 44 of the Legal Profession Act. He therefore asserts that the payment of the membership subscription as imposed by the Legal Profession Act is a statutory requirement and cannot be considered as trading or as a taxable activity.

• When the Value Added Tax Act commenced on the 1st January 1997, after obtaining his practicing certificate he tendered my subscription to the Defendant in form of a cheque, but it was refused by the BA and returned because it did not include VAT.

• By letter dated 29th January 1997 [BU notes this was when Alair โ€œBotsyโ€ Shepherd was president] he retendered the cheque to the BA giving his legal opinion that the subscription was not VAT chargeable and giving his written undertaking that when a court of competent jurisdiction in Barbados declared that VAT was imposed on BA membership, he would pay the VAT and any interest to have accrued. Nevertheless, his payment was refused. Mr Smith tried again in January 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2003, only to have his payments refused by the BA.

• Mr Smith points out that the BA is a statutory (chartered) corporation of all present and future Attorneys-at-Law on the Roll of Attorneys-at-Law of Barbados who constitute the legal persona known as the Barbados Bar Association and as a statutory corporation all its powers, authorities, duties, functions, aims and objects are contained in the enactment. The BA has no power or authority to carry on a business of any sort. The BA subscriptions are for the purpose of carrying out its aims and objects. Therefore, the association is not a business as defined in the VAT Act, nor is it a profession, vocation, trade, manufacturer or undertaking, adventure or concern, in the nature of a trade. The BA does not carry on a โ€œtaxable activityโ€ as defined by the VAT Act.

• Instead, the BA is a regulating authority to protect the public interest. [BU says: What a joke that is]. The supply of service of the Association, by its constitution, is made solely and only to itself. The BA is not an unincorporated body (e.g. an association, club, society, union and is not an activity that involves the admission for a consideration of persons to any place or premises. It is also not an organization the membership of which is voluntarily.

• In effect, Smith asserts, the BA is a Trade Union as defined by the Trade Union Act. โ€œTrade Union means any combination whether temporary or permanent the principal purposes of which are under its constitution. The negotiation of the relation between workman and employer or between workman and workman or between employees and employers whether such combination would be or would not, if this Act had not been executed have been deemed to have been an unlawful combination by reason of some one or more of its purposes being in restraint of trade.โ€

• Smith then references and quotes Section 10 of the VAT Act, โ€œthat the supply of goods or services specified in the Second Schedule is exempt from the tax imposed by the VAT Act on the supply of goods and services.โ€ He then quotes Paragraph 11 of the Second Schedule: โ€œa supply by a Trade Union within the meaning assigned by the Trade Union Act to a member of the Trade Union or to another Trade Union where the supply is made in the ordinary course of fulfilling the objects and purpose of the Trade Union.โ€ Smith posits therefore that the supply of service of the BA is an exempt supply and does not attract Value Added Tax.

• Smith continues that he has never withdrawn his undertaking to pay the annual membership subscription. That every year the BA has sent its membership a notice that it will not accept the annual subscription without VAT. Smith has been awaiting the declaration of the Court of competent jurisdiction in Barbados that VAT is payable on the annual subscription or the BAโ€™s notification that it will accept his membership subscription without VAT.

• Smith states on the basis that he has never ceased to hold a practicing certificate and has never withdrawn his written undertaking to pay the annual membership subscription, he is and remains a member of the BA.

• On 14th September 2015 Smith wrote to the president of the BA asking whether he acknowledged that VAT was not on the annual subscription and to inform him accordingly within 14 days. The BA has never replied.

• By its refusal to accept payment of Smith annual subscription and contrary to the provision of Section 44 of the Legal Profession Act, the BA has removed Smithโ€™s name and place of business from the list of members and his place of business from its list published on its website and mailing lists in breach of its statutory duty owed to him under Section 5 (1) and 5 (2) and Rule (6) of the Statutory Rules of the BA.

• The BA has always been aware that Smith has never ceased to practice as an Attorney-at-Law [BU notes: How could they not be, as he was commissioned as a queens counsel in 2005 when, presumably according to the BA, he was no longer entitled to practice]. Therefore, the exclusion of Smithโ€™s name from the BAโ€™s lists of members and its website, means and is intended to mean, on the part of the BA, that he not a registered Attorney on the Roll of Attorneys-at-Law in Barbados, that he has been purporting to be an Attorney-at-Law and has been practicing in Barbados, which is fraudulent and in breach of Section 12 of the Legal Profession Act, which is a criminal offence punishable by imprisonment.

Smith asserts malice on the part of the BA and sets out the particulars:

• The BA without authority repeatedly refused to accept his annual subscription, knowing full well that it was depriving him of his membership and putting him in breach of the Legal Profession Act. [BU notes that this commenced in 1997 under the presidency of Alair โ€œBotsyโ€ Shepherd when โ€œBotsyโ€ was on the other and losing side in the Kingsland Estates matter, a spectacular loss for โ€œBotsyโ€ and his paymaster Mr Allard].

• The BA requested that the Judges of the Supreme Court of Barbados disbar Smith without due process even though the BA knew that the Smith held a practicing certificate for 2015.

• Smith references the Minutes of the annual general meeting of the BA held on the 1st day of November 2008 (published by BU previously) on the consultation between the Registrar, the then President of the Bar Association (Senator Wilfred Abrahams) and Chief Justice David Simmons and a resolution passed by the BA that the Bar would take no further action in the matter of non-payment of subscriptions by members, because of the expense. In spite of that resolution and with no further resolution by the Association to re-raise the issue, the BA chose to pursue the matter on the 14th April 2015 by requesting the Chief Justice (Gibson) to refuse Smith audience in the Courts of Barbados [BU notes: For which Smith is now suing Gibson].

• On 7th October 2016 the BA issued a memorandum to all its members stating that the annual subscription for 2016 must be paid with VAT.

Smith therefore claims:

• A declaration that the BA is not a person who carries on a taxable activity as defined in the Value Added Tax Act, 1996-15.

• A declaration that the BA is a Trade Union as defined in the Trade Union Act and is accordingly a supplier of an exempt supply on which VAT is not imposed under the Value Added Tax Act.

• A declaration that VAT does not form part of the annual subscription of a member of the BA and accordingly cannot be claimed by the BA as part of the subscription.

• A declaration that the BA has no competence or power to refuse to accept the annual subscription when tendered by a member of the BA.

• A declaration that the receipt of the annual subscription of members is not a taxable activity.

• A declaration that the BA has no authority to impose any measure or sanction against any Attorney-at-Law who has refused to pay VAT.

• Damages for defamation. [BU notes: This is a real kicker, as if the BA is unsuccessful, it is looking at seriously high damages, which would certainly explain the expense that David Simmons advised the BA it would likely incur].

• Damages for deprivation of the Claimantโ€™s rights, privileges, benefits and entitlements of membership. [BU notes: Another massive possible hit in the BAโ€™s pocket].

• Exemplary Damages. [Likely the largest award the BA may have to pay out].

• An order that the Defendant forthwith include and publish the name of the Claimant and place of his business on its website and on its mailing lists.

• An order that the Defendant accept the Claimantโ€™s subscription without VAT.

• Further or other relief as the Honourable Court deems fit.

• Costs.

BU now awaits sight of the defence from the BAโ€™s TBA counsel and will certainly report on it. HOWEVER, it may be of some consolation to know that the BA cannot pay any damages or costs to Smith out of the fund reserved for payment to members of the general public who have suffered loss as the result of misconduct of attorneys โ€“ but not much as nothing had been paid out of that fund EVER! BU expresses the hope that when this action comes on for hearing, there is some way that the lack of any use of this fund can be brought before the courts by Mr Smith QC.

BU is able to report that Mr Smith is not the only counsel to be considering action against the BA and BU will faithfully report it if and when such further actions are filed.

Marston, you are going, whether you like it or not. Why not show a little dignity and class and leave quietly? Oh, but of course, you are waiting for a golden handshake for completely failing to do your job, arenโ€™t you? Feel free to write us by e-mail as you did Sanka Price and enlighten us. We undertake to publish it without expurgations. Come on, engage us and the people of the country of which you are chief justice.

169 responses to “TALES FROM THE COURTS – Vernon Smith QC Has Sued the Barbados Bar Association XXIX”

1. @ Simple
    True!
    Bajan men are REAL miserable.
    …except of course the ones who were smart enough to marry foreign women….

2. “It was a massive โ€œcall dayโ€ at the District โ€˜Fโ€™ Magistratesโ€™ Court today when about 400 persons charged for various traffic offences appeared before Magistrate Ian Weekes.”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/11/07/400-charged-with-traffic-offences/

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ well Well & Consequences

You have been privy to my book under review with the publishers ” my Doggie bigger than Yours” which we have been haggling over for five years now since they think that my older tittle “Why we have wars and famine” is nicer

In chapter one I spoke rather plagiarized from Star Trek and the concept of the Borg the collective being that assimilated all individuality for the collective good, and I sought to liken it with the individuality enforced on students at HarsunCollege in contrast with the purported? gregariousness of Cawmerians and how that maternal instinct of caring for all of one’s offspring seems natural to women and seems at variance to what we big doggie men (all self promoted lies of course) by our repeated failures have been unable to enact.

A “mother” like Justice Cornelius, or a “father” whose focus was not between his own legs, would be naturally disposed to resolving this remand problem and all other man made problems that besiege us at today, emphasis on the word man.

I will appreciate if you stay away from my publishers or if you do speak to them encourage them to adopt the Doggie title.

@ Amused

I am glad that I was able to amuse you and SWMBO. To mention Haggis would have gotten certain parties even more incensed than they are and while de ole man is not liked at all, one should not so antagonize the object of derision with such total scorn that borders on hatred towards A creature of God, we should still let a protagonist walk away from the fray with some dicky, sorry dignity, I pun de IPad and it using predictive text

SWMHBF (She Whom My Heart Beats For – de Madam) does not find these submissions humorous especially since I doan got too much to say positive bout she Washed in the Lamb crew, so there are no moments like yours “shared in wonderment with a kindred spirit…”

@ Bush Tea

I does doan unnerstan you at all!!!

The sole secret of my acclaimed next bestseller “How A Bajan man can Live a long and Happy Life – and possibly outlive he wife” you come heah at 7.46 am an jes so expose to de whole uh de island dat fuh a bajan man tuh live long doan marry a bajan woman. I wonder if de BA compensation fund would compensate me fuh dis loss uh income? You ent a lawyer in you alter ego life, is you?

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple

While it is hard for you, try not to act out your name.

You have every been stopped by that traffic policeman who waits at Lancaster Gully and catches every single driver speeding at 86.4 km/h in a 60 km/h zone???

It is amazing that even though the radar LED readout is the same for every single infraction and Holetown Traffic court is mek King real money not a man ent bring dis up as a lawsuit gainst de courts!!

You know how many peeple get remand fuh not paying de fine? And while you may rightfully say if you speeding you brekking de law, equally so, being in impecunious circumstances should not put a young man or woman pun remand until such is paid, WID HARDENED CRIMINALS.

The sentence and the crime do not match and we are creating a category of “felon” through this remand administrative inefficiency, try to keep focused o.k?

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Piece…..imagine if the remand without hearing or bail trend continues, some accused wil lnot see the light of day until well into their 80s or 90s should they live that long and the taxpayers will still have to feed and/or bury them and maybe their families as well, it’s a long term commitment that those who are wielding power seem not to notice, too busy with the titles.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Well Well

You know that age old adage “today’s guerilla fighters, if they win, are tomorrow’s liberators”

One has to be careful that comments against those “mis-wielding” power are not seen to be seditious comments

You have spoken a truth among the many you voice here on BU that these elitists do not notice and de ole man would add neither do they care.

The target of their unrelenting proactive derision and uncaring action after all are directed against the Expendables.

Now the Elitists have over successive generations and governments identified the sheeple as such BUT, and herein is a mystery akin to the Heilige Spear, the sheeple accept that they are Expendable!!!

You may not know this but Hollywood has glamorized many a group of Expendables “the Dirty Dozen, Too Late the Hero, even the Expendables part I and II.

over a period of years this group constantly pressured like the San Andreas or Nevada faults release all their pressure with such force that the obliterate all that is in their pathway.

A few Expendables continually reaching out and destroying the Elitists in their comfortable homes, as has been happening of late here and pretty soon the Summer of Discontent becomes a tsunami that no riot gear recently purchased can withstand

So the question is not what is the cost of the life of an Expendable, we know that to be worthless given the constant action, what we know is the question that drives this equation is moreso what is the perceived cost of the lives of the Elitists and will their increasing forced demise cause them to address the travesty they joyfully and dispassionately perpetuate?

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece……the demise of the current useless practces is imminent, the leaders of the Caribbean will be the ones fighting to the death to keep those practices in play, but world changes dictate they cannot win, they either adapt or deal with the consequences. Though the masses were always the expendables and the most programmed through politics and other destructive forces, their transition will be easier than their leaders, they will adapt to the new changes easier.

8. โ€ขDamages for defamation. [BU notes: This is a real kicker, as if the BA is unsuccessful, it is looking at seriously high damages, which would certainly explain the expense that David Simmons advised the BA it would likely incur].

…. and of course, if BA is successful then there will be egg on the face of the honourable court as it has allowed an attorney at law who has not been in proper standing to try cases …. and horror of horrors, to actually sit at the Bar Table.

Would all those decisions be rendered null void and of no effect or would Vernon Smith run quick and pay the VAT?

Imagine what his past clients would say if that were the result?!!

… and the thousands of attorneys who have actually paid their VAT … does the GOB reimburse them if Vernon Smith is successful … am I mean ….. retroactively ….. back to 1997 …. probably two decades …. or more by the time the case is over given the rate of disposition of cases in Barbados?

This is one of those cases that could go on to the next milleniun but I suspect it will be over before it even gets started.

I would hazard a guess that Vernon Smith is told to pay all outstanding VAT and he does so post haste!!

He has left the window of opportunity open for himself, a sure sign he isn’t sure of his interpretations.

… and if this case is actually heard and Vernon Smith fails and then actually takes it to the CCJ ….

…… come to think of it the CCJ has already dealt with Mr. Smith.

This is a non issue, a complete joke and a waste of time.

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….not to mention, that when David Simmons told them probably in the early to mid 2000s that it would be too expensive to pursue the matter, here is a reality check, it’s now 2015, thrice as expensive…lol

10. @Amused November 7, 2015 at 4:09 AM “Even if Khan went and had a drink-fuelled lunch with Customs and Excise.”

Maybe the drinks fuelled lunches are a part of the problem rather than being a part of any sensible solution.

When the fellas come back from their drinks fuelled lunches they don’t remember what the shite it is they agreed to do.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol..

12. โ€ขSmith references the Minutes of the annual general meeting of the BA held on the 1st day of November 2008 (published by BU previously) on the consultation between the Registrar, the then President of the Bar Association (Senator Wilfred Abrahams) and Chief Justice David Simmons and a resolution passed by the BA that the Bar would take no further action in the matter of non-payment of subscriptions by members, because of the expense. +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Of course expense could refer to the waste of the court’s time.

It can’t be cheap having a judge or four sitting down listening to this or for that matter any case …. the CJ would be within his rights to try and keep it out of the court.

…… and then there is the political expense …… and make no mistake about it, Sir David is steeped in politics ……. how could the political powers that be rationalize allocating court time to hear an attorney arguing as to whether he should pay VAT or not when Sam, Cow and de Duppy paying it and ain’t complaining!!

Mr. Smith might not understand exactly what the meaning of the word expense was in this context.

He might find out to his chagrin!!

13. A fellow on the block told me that some of the female prison officers at Dodds Prisons are able to do what the Government of Barbados ,the Courts of Barbados, the Attorney General of Barbados and the Colonel of the Prisons have all failed to do ….. ……..Get the male prisoners to do HARD labour!

14. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@John, isn’t your argument rather badly positioned. Whether other people are paying VAT cannot be THE determining factor that Mr Smith should be paying his on his Bar fees.

Clearly if you read the brief and appreciated the reasoning that VAT should not be accessed on fees associated with activities akin to union practices you must also appreciate that there is a question of rules and regulations being questioned.

Naturally one of Smith or the BA have to be wrong and the courts are there to make that determination.

You seem to be suggesting that the matter is either trivial (aren’t simple matters of non payment of monies brought before the courts often) or that because one person is required to punished according to the law that another must be as well (why aren’t killers at self defense sent to jail).

You are completely dismissing the fact that Smith is claiming a strong and legitimate defense – his self defense – for his actions.

Aren’t the law courts where society resolves long standing disputes related to governance and rules?

Why is this matter which goes to the very heart of our legal system: “…a non issue, a complete joke and a waste of time”?

That’s an interesting bias you are presenting.

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ DIW

I don’t think that John is presenting a bias on the contrary I think that while he may be agreeing with all of the brief he has fast forwarded to the outcome of the trial and what success of Mr Smith will mean for either matter.

He presents that outcome very simply and in that suggest that Mr. Smith may be playing in a game where the outcome is already predetermined and stacked against him.

John is probably another seasoned lawyer and his points are quite reasonable

16. I am late to the party but If the law as written could lead to a different interpretation why would the Govโ€™t of the day or succeeding Govโ€™ts rewrite that part of the legislation so that there would be no ambiguity?

They could also make it retroactive but nah that would be too simple and we dealing wid a bunch of lawyersโ€ฆ..

17. Since the Vat registration threshold has been raised from $80000 per year to $200000, surely the BA does not reach this threshold. If they were Vat registered, does that mean that they will now be de- registered??โ€ฆ.if so, this whole affair will come to a quick end, as they will no longer be able to collect Vat from members.

18. `Walter Blackman Avatar
    `Walter Blackman

Walter Blackman November 6, 2015 at 7:18 PM #
    “And whenever the Nation or Advocate has a reason to call your name, they praise you as a successful and โ€œshrewdโ€ businessman, when in actual fact you are nothing more than a national parasite.

That, my friend, is the real world. Welcome.”

Nostradamus,
    Do you now understand what the real world is like in Barbados? You thought I was joking when I wrote the above words yesterday? Remember, you read it first on BU.

Well take a look at what the Nation reported today:

“Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler said more than 40 per cent of registered members in some unnamed professions persist in flouting the law by not even filing Income Tax.
    He put the offenders on notice that they would be taken to the law courts or the court of public opinion.
    โ€œIt is wrong that those of us who work and get taxes deducted from our salaries and who employ them or deploy them to work on our behalf and expect our salaries to be taxed as payment for their service and they enjoy all of the social services in Barbados free of cost . . .,โ€ he said.”

PS: This problem has been going on for years. Yet, the offenders have not been named. Their professions have not been named. Have you noted what their punishment is? They have been put on notice.

19. @Walter

They are all complicit, at the top of the heal a passive media charged to protect people as well as a member of the Fourth Estate..

20. Mr. Smith has provided himself with a big able escape route ….. he is prepared to pay the VAT!!!

What more do you want!!!

No abstruse principles of law involved here!!

21. Colonel Buggy November 7, 2015 at 3:25 PM #

Off the back foot and cracked for four, much to the delight of the Kensington stand.

22. Is it correct to say that both the Advocate and the Nation are foreign owned?We have come full circle since the days of contributors Batchelor,Gonzalves and Singh all of whom suffered the heavy hand of the political directorate and in the words of Timothy Callender,shared the common honour of being declared “Person none Greater”

23. So just how much money is involved here.

Yearly professional fee for a lawyer is $2500 … correct me if I am wrong.

Vat at $17.5% …… the princely sum of $437.50 per year!!

What I am not getting here?

24. @John

You will never get it if you rational the issue at hand in dollars and cents.

25. Wait
    John is back….?!!
    Shiite boss, Bushie missed yuh…!!!

26. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@John, it’s not about the $ & cents as David noted; it’s all about principle, fair play and upholding the rule of law. I know those things seem very fanciful when the lawyers daily flout the rules and cheat clients, keep their monies unethically and all that, but sometimes a person says enough is enough and will fight to the bitter end.

The highest law officer in Barbados acted in a manner that denied a citizen his rights to a fair and reasonable review of his dispute.

The law officer was the Chief Justice who was also sued by Smith.

Don’t you recognize that ‘do as I say, not as I do’ is absolutely unacceptable when it relates to actions of law carried out by the Chief Justice.

In fancy terminology one would say that there is fissure in the orderly operation of our legal system as the Chief Justice has overreached his legal boundaries. Almost a constitutional crisis!

It’s a big deal for our legal governance… may mean a hill of beans to you but it really is important

27. @Colonel Buggy November 7, 2015 at 3:25 PM “Female prison officers at Dodds Prisons get the male prisoners to do HARD labour!”

Or as I always say if there is a hard job to be done the best man for the job is a woman.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hence the reason Justice Cornelius has taken the initiative. These dudes will argue points of law with their last dying breath, until vat has been abolished, until lawyers and the legal profession have become extinct, until the aggrieved citizens start fighting back with real artillery…until……until…?

29. @john 8.09pm you are off target … The BA fee in question is not $2500 . That is The Registration fee which is paid to The Registry, not to BA . That is not vatable. What is in contention is the annual membership fee to the BA. The fees are shown on their website., where the vat amounts are shown separately to the annual fees. In the business world, vat can only be collected if the company is vat registered, and must provide a vat invoice and receipt showing the vat amount, and the company’s vat registration number on those documents.

30. Ahhhhhhhh … thank you YTIE!!

A breath of fresh air!!

All you need to do now is tell the folks numbers!!

How much is the Bar Fee?

What is the 17.5% VAT?

My bet is it is significantly lower than my number which I gave subject to correction!!

Twenty five years ago a much wiser man than I told me … John, if somebody insists money is not the problem it invariably is!!

So ….. what’s the number that is the cause of all this trouble?

Of course, there could be another reason for all this too!!!!

The BAR Association came out in support of the CCJ after it accused/found/cited Vernon Smith et al for Abuse of Process.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/02/21/barbados-bar-association-backs-the-ccj/

31. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/02/14/legal-knocks/

Accusing the judiciary in Barbados of not delivering justice in a timely manner, the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) has strongly condemned the local courtsโ€™ โ€œexcessive and inordinateโ€ delays in resolving cases.

But the Trinidad-based court reserved even harsher words for prominent Barbadian Queenโ€™s Counsels Vernon Smith and Hal Gollop as well as their associate Steve Gollop, charging them with abusing the judicial process.

Those criticisms were leveled by CCJ president Justice Sir Dennis Byron yesterday, in a judgment in which the regional court dismissed a case brought by the three lawyers. The case surrounded a land deal that went sour and was brought by Smith, Gollop and Gollop on behalf of land developer Systems Sales Ltd, against Arletta Brown-Oxley, the executrix of the estate of now deceased Glenfield DaCosta Suttle and his widow Sonja Patsena Suttle.

On January 12, 2015, the legal team filed an application asking the CCJ to give them time to file a notice of appeal against earlier decisions of the High Court and the Court of Appeal in Barbados which went in favour of the Suttles.

In November last year, the CCJ delivered a similar ruling in this matter, but it was later refiled by the lawyers who protested that the judgment was published in the media before being communicated to the litigants and their legal representatives.

In yesterdayโ€™s rejection of the application for leave, the panel of judges said it took the Barbados courts 16 years to resolve this matter, but noted the regional court was able to return judgment within six months on the grounds that the application had no realistic chance of succeeding at appeal.

But the CCJ accused the attorneys of seeking to further deny the respondents their rightful due, even after a protracted delay in the local courts.

In delivering the decision on behalf of the panel, Sir Dennis said the trio sought leave to appeal the earlier ruling although there was no realistic chance of success.

โ€œSomething must be done to correct this harm to litigants. The court has usually commented on the judicial default in this area and, in this case, the judiciary has to accept responsibility for the inordinate delay in bringing this case to justice,โ€ the CCJ ruled.

It noted that the matter was not a complex one, yet it took seven years from filing to judgment and eight years from trial judge to appellate judgment.

โ€œThis is a process which should take no more than two and a half years. It is time that the judiciary in Barbados adopt practices that prevent this type of denial of justice.โ€

The court added that all parties, including the applicant, were being prejudiced.

โ€œIn this case where the CCJ has already ruled that there is no merit in the appeal, it is unconscionable that the litigant should be burdened with expenses when there is no reasonable expectation of any benefit accruing. It would not be fair to the applicant for the court to allow expenses to accrue when it is already known that there is no realistic chance of success,โ€ the judgment stated.

The court also contended that the conduct in bringing the case, using a wrong process, and having no realistic chance of success, fell into the category of improper, unreasonable and negligent conduct.

In dismissing the case and making an order for wasted costs, the CCJ ruled that there be no further proceedings in this matter without leave of the tribunal.

After the CCJโ€™s first ruling on the matter in November 2014 which he called unjust, Queenโ€™s Counsel Gollop strongly advised other countries that have not joined on to the CCJ to stay away from the regional court.

32. … so which attorney at law had the temerity to skin out Vernon Smith and his associates at the CCJ?

Not, surprisingly, Alair Shepherd … why else would the invective in this blog be directed his way.

33. @John. This is from the BRA website.. I have no way of knowing if it is up to date . Your point is well taken, the annual fees , even with Vat are much lower than the figure you quoted.

THE FEES PAYABLE ARE AS FOLLOWS:

ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTIONS PAYABLE TO THE BARBADOS BAR ASSOCIATION:

Less than 5 years $250.00 plus vat of $43.75 = $293.75

5 years and over $375.00 plus vat of $65.63 = $440.63

10 years and over $532.00 plus vat of $93.10 = $625.10

15 years and over $800.00 plus vat of $140.00 = $940.00

20 years and over $1,000.00 plus vat of $175.00 = $1,175.00

Queens Counsel $1,330.00 plus vat $232.75 = $1,562.75

Associate Members
    (persons qualified but not
    holding a Practising
    Certificate) – $ 440.63

FEES PAYABLE TO THE REGISTRAR OF THE SUPREME COURT:

Practising Certificate-$ 2500.00

Practising Certificate
    (Queen’s Counsel)- $ 2500.00

Compensation Fund- $ 200.00

34. Two hundred and thirty two dollars and seventy five cents

$232.75

WTF

…. F of course stands for France!!

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Wait a minute, wunna two legal sleuths mean to tell me dat all uh dis is a personal Vendetta playing out between a top dog (Vernon) and a Botsie?

Now supposing I was to abbreviate top dog to doggie and Botsie to Botsie if you was to measure the distance between your doggie and you Botsie what you end up with is a variant of Six Degrees or Seperation or Six Inches of Seperation!!!

In crude language de Botsie was hounding de doggie for almost ten years commencing when de Botsie was Top Dog at de Bar Association and de doggie was not a top doggie but a wee winkler

Years passed and the new doggie, formerly a wee winkler, the former doggie, in fact both a doggie and a Botsie, simultaneously, continued to see each other, why after all they are only six inches apart and there seemed to be a hankering for each other; the doggie for the Botsie and the Botsie for the Doggie.

I have two questions for you gents, when Botsie skinned his pooch at the goodly Justice was Doggie there? and did you notice any rising in Doggie’s silk?

Ammmm yatinkiteasy and John is there not a Sodomy law on the Law Books of Bulbados.

The two of these people are not to be left in a room together and I would also advise that neither of the two of you get into Doggie or Botsie way..

36. QED!!

Maybe Mr. Smith should be suing the CCJ too!!

37. Mr. Smith is as I understand it well into his 80’s.

He is not going to have many years of earning capacity for anyone to damage.

Let’s say he has five more years before he listens to the wise counsel of old age and retires.

Has he quantified his expected damage anywhere?

Should be easy to determine his average earnings per year over the past five years.

38. @John

This seems so personal for you.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Blogmaster

Could John be “Botsie”??

I was noticing his crisp writing style

You is sumting else wid yourself doah mistah King

You like de kgb

40. Just felt like a little fun today … glad to see I haven’t lost my touch in cutting to the chase in any topic I choose!!

I think I have improved with age!!

Anybody come back to me on water as yet?

41. @PUDRYR

It reads like sour grapes.

42. I agree!!

So anyone of you erudite chaps like to hazard a projected earning capacity for Mr. Smith over the next five years?

What’s his damage?

43. I am NOT a lawyer so I am tired of all the long winded and short winded inconclusive explanations that do not include or exclude why the party of the first part and the party of the second part can’t find a third party and a party of the fourth part to write almost as much shite as me and answer this question.

Is Vernon Smith right or wrong not to pay what he is supposed to pay ?

44. @Hants

The Court will have to rule on it.

45. Hants

I don’t think it matters!!

It’s all smoke and mirrors.

The CCJ did more damage to Mr. Smith than any CJ could ever do.

It found he abused the process of the court to deliberately harm a litigant ….. my understanding.

The court does not exist to be used for that purpose.

Lawyers are supposed to help the court solve problems.

They are officers, they have privileges, much is expected of them.

Judges depend on them to tell the truth and for direction to a speedy resolution of a problem.

Mr. Smith has no recourse, no way to appeal, it is on his record as a lawyer for good.

The CCJ cooked his goose.

The CJ just poured a little hot oil over the carcass.

I think whether he paid VAT or not is irrelevant!!

How does a Judge view a lawyer who he is supposed to trust but who has a finding like that on his record?

If you get caught drinking while you drive in Canada what happens to you?

Do you get a second chance?

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Hants….I too having participated in this robust discussion noticed that not one attorney mentioned if BA is registered or not to collect Vat, we just assumed they are not because lots of lawyers don’t want to pay, if they are not registered means they should not collect vat from attorneys, which would lead to another argument, but if they are registered why would the attorneys not want to pay vat…see what I mean.

47. @Well Well et al

Have you taken the time to read and understand Smith’s argument? It appears some of you are resorting to simplistic reasoning without trying to understand what his position is based on. Reread the blog.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

BTW…..many people know Smith has been part of the problem at the supreme court for decades, taking advantage, as too many do, of his standing as an officer of the court to lie, to lie to the court and client, withhold evidence from the court and client and waste everyone’s time. It appears the CCj is having none of that and will not tolerate the behavior. It’s time for the supreme court in Barbados to make examples of all the other lawyers who blatantly do the same thing.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David… I have been reading and reading, as Smith’s track record shows, he likes to waste time. I know attorneys who has never paid vat or registration fees and practiced on the island, they believe themselves entitled, this argument is nearly as old as you David…trust me.

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I have also read Act 94 of the rules, laws and procedures governing paying vat in England and Wales, which Amused said mirrors Barbados’. There are many considerations regarding this issue, no getting around it.