Submitted by Douglas
Dr. Maria Agard, Christ Church West M.P.

The most powerful way I can register my strongest opposition to this undemocratic and unconstitutional cutting of members’ rights and tinkering with our Constitution is to withdraw from the contest for the post of Chairman.” 

[…]

“We must quell all other attempts to secure the domination by a few to the detriment of the majority”

“I ask that you … to come out and demand respect for and a retention of the democratic values and time honoured traditions of integrity and fair play that have always guided this great Party

[Extracts from a letter signed by Mia Mottley in 2011]

“I am at the end of my tether with this shouting across the party via the media…” [Mia Mottley 2015]

Mottley vs Maria is not political it’s about class.  Mia [who describes herself as a third generation parliamentarian] will get her chance to tell Maria what she thinks of her as a woman and who is boss lady. This public dance by Mia must be noted as she once again pretends to come in and save the day. Her open opposition to Maria is no secret, however, her pedestal stance on these matters confuses the public as she behaved far worse than Maria when the shoe was on the other foot. Maria should NOT listen to any high and mighty, pious, holier than thou, loving and caring attitude from Mia.

The public of Barbados must be reminded of the shouting across the media led by Mia in 2011. She wanted to be leader so bad then that she went public to speak her mind hoping to gain some public sympathy. The strategy fell flat and Jerome was victorious in that election. Mia’s call back then “to quell all other attempts to secure the domination by a few to the detriment of the majority …” is instructive as she struggles to maintain legitimacy as leader.

The Mia conference held this weekend at Foundation school fell flat and poor Jerome could not even face the public at the end of the conference instead opting to issue a written press statement. The reality of struggles on the other side is clear for all to see.

Mottley leads an institution which has chalked up a world record for Branch voter list infelicities that is unmatched in the region. Yet they claim to have all the answers to unravel the troubling affairs of the globe. Jerome at the press conference to launch the activities made it quite clear that, there is no “magic wand” in resolving the issues that confront the small island states. Jerome was quoted as saying …I am not saying that we will wave a magic wand and everything will be resolved.

It is clear he distanced himself from the public utterances of his boss lady who claims she brings hope to the nation.

The underlying message in this latest political saga of the opposition revolves around rules. The rules that apply to Mottley don’t apply to Maria. Mottley refers to herself as a third generation parliamentarian which irritates her parliamentary colleagues. She speaks with a clear entitlement around the issue of leadership. Maria will never fill the eyes of the opposition leader for more than one reason. Maria must come clean to redeem herself in this regard or allow Mottley to bury her political career.

There can be no bigger fumbler of political utterances than the Mia conference 2015 chairman who continues to embarrass the top brass of the party. This top brass is not Mottley’s top brass by the way. The public saw through the press conference and how tense the chairman was as Jerome started to speak and spoke the truth. What is clear in this public fracas is the ultimate issue of class. Mottley lays claim to class while dismissing Maria as not worthy of acceptance. This kind of public snubbing was what the political involvement of blacks in public life was to correct but sadly today it is reinforce by the attitudes and behaviours on the other side. George Orwell must have heard about Mottley when he scripted his novel Animal Farm. “All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.” Maria you will NOT win!

202 responses to “Mottley vs Maria”

1. I think Mia is dwelling on the fact that her grand father was the first Mayor in Barbados. But his mannerism was totally different from hers.
    Being an off spring of a leader, DON’T make you a leader. It’s a big difference between A CONTROLLER, and A LEADER.
    A true LEADER will always keep the well being of the masses in mind. And be willing to LISTEN to others. From all this back and forth party situation. It seems to me from all that I have read, that Mia’s intentions are to win by any means necessary to keep the family tradition going.

At this point in time, any one who’s looking for the position to LEAD BARBADIANS back to a better quality of life.. MUST have to the PEOPLE’S INTEREST FIRST AND FOREMOST IN MIND, AND WORK FOR THE PEOPLE. It’s time that any candidate seeking LEADERSHIP, or be representatives for the people should be willing to BE CLEAR AS CRYSTAL FROM THE DOOR. TRANSPARENCY IS VERY IMPORTANT.
    Come on good people of Barbados if the people of Barbados has NO VOICE in matters that impacts their lives. THEN YOU HAVE A DICTATORSHIP.

When do you feel that ENOUGH IS ENOUGH? When most become homeless,or hungry? The time is NOW FOR CHANGES TO BE MADE FOR THE BETTERMENT OF ALL. Sad as this may sound, some of the elected officials are even worse than the slave master. And in their minds it seems that the people are theirs to control. I couldn’t care less what color you are. YOU MUST TREAT PEOPLE AS HUMAN-BEINGS, and not THINGS to play your FINANCIAL BULL SHIT GAMES with.

WAKE UP BARBADIANS, BECAUSE IF YOU KEEP ON ON THIS PATH. THINGS ARE GOING TO BECOME EVEN WORSE.. STAND UP LIKE YOU GRATE,GRATE GRAND PARENTS STOOD UP AGAINST SLAVERY. SO BEING GRATEFUL FOR WHAT’S RIGHTFULLY YOURS ISN’T THE WAY. MAKE THEM ALL ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS. AND DON’T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKES ALL OVER AGAIN;

2. David Ellis made a statement today that is as true as John 3:16, partisan politics has consumed every decision we make. The DLP promised to depart from how the BLP operated yet just this week in parliament were heard padding their defense by referring to BLP misdeeds read Greenland, GEMs etc.

JAs

3. @ Douglas……At this time plasma gasification, deception and mendacity are the buzz words that occupy the thoughts of right thinking Barbadians. In the fullness of time ventilation of the Mia/Maria saga might well engage our attention, even though it is plausible to assume that they too might kiss and make up a la Chris Sinckler and George Pilgrim. Oh how quickly some forget. Not me though.

4. This blog is merely an attempt to deflect attention away from the terribly upsetting CAHILL Fiasco. What you guys need to do is engage the public from a platform of truthfulness.

5. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Violet Agard C Beckles is Family to Maria Agard that is Mia the crook problem ,,Get a Picture from the Nations News Papers and look side by side,
    Beatrice Jemmott Henry worked with E.D Mottley as Mia long time crooking the family in the worse way, That is MIA pain, she now looking at History stabbing her in her face .That why she will never be PM , she is more of a crook than any man .

6. Maria Agard…..has told Mia….I ain’t lying down and taking no DICK from you!

That stance (no pun intended) from Maria……continues to boil Mia’s testosterone levels! !!

Mama…..Mia..

Agard……will soon become Agone….from the BEE hive….!

7. MIa had promised last week to quell this fast burning inferno in the quickness of time
    What time is it now ?

8. Didn’t Sinckler promise to quell Four Seasons/Paradise?

JA

9. The issue at hand is the saga of Mia and Maria which refuses die. The discussions on Cahill should be under the posts on Cahill. Sinckler, George Pilgrim, Four Seasons are red herrings to confuse the Mia/ Maria controversy. We shouldn’t introduce Payne v Hinckson cuss out here or oblong head Kerry Simmons thousand pounds of blubber. Stay with the subject at hand.

Maria turning out to be a boss. She was absent at Froon’s alma mater Foundation in defiance of Mia , Jerome and the self appointed protectors of the BLP soul. Its a battle of big girls set to go down to the wire. Do not drag Four Seasons red herrings across the trail that’s not going to work. Grab your popcorn and Deputy this comedy tragedy just getting started.

10. @passerby aka waiting = troll.

Another yardfowl par excellence.

11. Any Jackass here it is you David trying to infuse the complications and complexities of the Four season with high drama driven by a less than stellar performance under the watch guard of the blp party leader Mia Motley
    You must be out of your mind or have reached the age of sennility where by the brain has been frozen in “time”

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Passerby October 31, 2015 at 7:51 AM.
    “Do not drag Four Seasons red herrings across the trail that’s not going to work. ”

Lookie here “Passerby”, the ‘waiting-in-vain’ troll, are ye not ashamed to even mention the name “Four Seasons”? Even the pathological liar Sinckler has dropped the ‘very soon-to-be-restarted’ All Seasons project from his lexicon of lies and bullshit.

Why not make reference to the ‘soon to be started’ Pierhead marina project or the Sugar Point Cruise ship terminal started in January 2014 and to be named after Alvin “Boots” Cummins the ass-licker par excellence?

How about the red herring called the Pickerings Upscale Housing project or the Exmouth Condominiums to house the workers employed by the Chinese funded Performing Arts Centre whose construction started 2012?

13. What high drama you jackass yardfowl!

What is different to what is happening compared to Mascoll vs Thompson or Stuart, Kellman and Estwick vs Thompson?

JA

14. What is the role of the media and ‘independent’ voices in separating the yik from the yak?

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Obviously DBLP politicians never understand anything once it’s spoken to them in English, these EU dudes should trying communicating to them in Germany, they may understand that, they still believe it’s all a game and a joke once they have gotten access to the treasury, they still don’t understand that major changes are afoot.

16. @Fractured BLP October 31, 2015 at 6:54 AM #
    Maria Agard…..has told Mia….I ain’t lying down and taking no DICK from you!

That stance (no pun intended) from Maria……continues to boil Mia’s testosterone levels! !!

SIR, ARE YOU SAYING THAT MARIA DOES NOT PLAN TO LI DOWN IN ORDER TO GET UP AS IS COMMON PRACTICE IN BARBADOS??

17. Yeap!fuh trut speckled fowl aka as David your brain has been frozen in time

18. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

Seems to me this young lady Dr.Agard is really the one with the balls,she ain’t no sweet bread, this girl is prepared to fight to the death and is not apparently intimidated by anyone. I truly admire her for her stance, i eagerly await the outcome of this situation and i will continue to support her as i have always felt that she has been unfairly targeted.

19. Miller, what you calling my name for? I have already put my mouth in the plate. Maria Agard is right to stand up against unfairness, and the moves my you and the hierarchy of the party are shameful. She has every right to her stance. She was elected by the people, and should serve out her full term serving the people.Even if she has no yard ducks as her executive. She will get people to assist her in the constituency.
    Leave me alone or I will prance up on you.

20. here the week is almost over and after given a promise of quick resolution by the leader of the Blp , the silence is deafening Tick !Tock! tick! Tock!
    Mia the country is waiting with baited breath to hear your resolution. Tick ! Tock! Tick ! Tock

21. Speaking of class and another one who thinks she has all the class bought and paid for is Santia Bradshaw,
    Don;t know a dam thing about govt but believes she belongs to a privilege class and is entitled,
    that is the problem with the Blp they have these high affluent type who only claim to knowing anything about govt, was having knoweldge of their parents political backgrounds which they can easily grab hold of when election bell rings as a guarantee for re election.
    One would never see them doing the heavy lifting like community work in the ghettoes outside of grabbing hold of a newspaper to see who talking about them

22. I love how PM Stuart sandpaper Mia Mottley…..with her little Ms. Muffet backside.

By the way when PM takes out a lady….’ his voice must be heavier than hers’

Mia Mottley….does not meet that criteria on many ‘fronts’ (no pun intended)

23. Same old same old.

24. I am the captain and I will lead the other 29 whoever they may be – and offered to meet the warring parties during the ensuing week to settle the dispute once and for all

only a week ago those were the “biting” words of the leader of the Blp Mia Mottley
    ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    Now almost a week leader and the loud noises coming from the BLP party faithful says this

CAPTAIN THE TROOPS ARE WAITING
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    So what one is seeing is a capsule version of indecisive leadership
    A leader who for the pass six years relied heavily on yardfowls politics to divide a country
    a leader now caught up in the malaise of not knowing how to deal with division in her own house.
    if there is a caveat in this mess it is one that needs bearing thought that the seeds you throw in others people back yards might one day spring up in yours
    Yes those seeds have sprung up in Mia backyard comprising of thorns and whistle blowers
    Mia having to sit back and watch them grow and not a enough hands around to help her get them out of the way,
    Mia it is all about diplomacy a word that is foreign to your vocabulary
    Six long years in the trenches of yardfowl politics now the yardfowls are crying for relief whilst praying for a New Party Leader,
    Girlfriend You are on your Own as the wheels of Doom and Gloom arrives on your Door step,

25. BTW DAVID why dont you see if you can help rally the BLP foot soldiers who frequent BU ,
    There leader Mia Mottley is under heavy political stress which might lead to her down fall
    And not one willing foot soldier is seen in sight on the battle field today
    HA! HA! these Blp foot soldiers are just a bunch of hypocrites
    When the going gets hot they all run lookin for cool in the shade,
    CALLING ALL THE BLP FOOT SOLDIERS TO BATTLE! YOUR LEADER IS IN BIG TROUBLE
    THE ENEMIES WITHIN HAVE SURROUNDED HER CAMP
    Ac know the list of Blp Foot soldiers is long i have done battle with everyone of them
    Not even for the love of country Not a single one has made their presence heard.
    Unbeliveable

26. Fractured BLP

Do you realise that if, according to the PM, the waiter or waitress is unable to determine who is the man and who is the woman, that this an admission on the PM’s part that the same waiter/waitress is confused about what gender the PM is? Is he saying people find it hard to tell if he is a man or woman or both?
    Is he still washing socks in the bathtub and having a gay old time whilst not “enjoying the luxury of female company”?
    He should be the last person in the whole of Barbados to question someones sexuality or gender, the last man well, kind of a man.

27. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

Froon the fool,is that you Petra Wickham? Oops i mean Peter whickham in disguise,then i guess not you would not talk about female company.

28. Could today be the day that Mia call this infamous meeting the Troops are awaiting
    There is a trend of thought blowing across the rippling waters of the BLP party that the longer Mia holds out ,
    The gaps become larger making more room for Agard.

29. If i were a betting person i would say that MIa is now building a strategy of self defense in hopes that when she makes a decision the outcry would be lessened and people would see her as a victim and not as a weak kneed leader/

30. Frederick Falconberg Avatar
    Frederick Falconberg

You my friend are reading the political tea leaves incorrectly. Mia is busy consolidating herself by go thru the nomination procedure of the party and putting the right candidates in place. The only thing in politics worth anything is loyalty and a lot of people in the BLP are now reaping the revenge they sowed in 2010.

31. Frederick Falconberg Avatar
    Frederick Falconberg

Despite Owen or rather in spite of him and notwithstanding the efforts of Marshall, Payne, Toppin, Agard and Kerri………..a new BLP is taking shape, one they are powerless to stop or influence.

32. A cursory scroll up suggests the DLP yardfowls ac,Fractured and others are the main contributors to this debate.In today’s press,Carl Moore decried the inanity of Stuart’s contribution to his insipid yardfowl audience and the suggestion of mixing of the genders and the voices etc etc.Such silly banter,but we have come to expect that from the “worst prime minister Barbados has ever had”.
    By comparison,In today’sTrinidad press,it is reported that Prime Minister Rowley speaking at a post-budget national public meeting at Belmont,taking a jibe at former prime minister Kamla Bissessar said”the people received savings on the night of September 7th,the minute the PNM got the majority vote and he became Prime Minister because he started saving on a hairdresser and a powder man travelling with him”…..now that is picong

33. Frederick it doesn’t matter how i read the tea leaves , what matters is How Mia reads them and right now the writing on the tea leaves not good.

34. Frederick Falconberg Avatar
    Frederick Falconberg

Maria Agard is going to get a cou-cou punch soon, you remember the kind of cou-cou punches DHT used to dish out when he was Opposition leader?
    Agard is minding the rabble rousers in the BLP, however is she wants to gamble with her seat and her political neck then who is the Opposition Leader to stop her?

35. Why fight with Agard, she is only one plus Payne maybe two?

36. Mia should have cut off Agard ever since. One time. Show decisiveness. Think anyone could have done this foolishness with Barrow or Adams?

37. Frederick Falconberg Avatar
    Frederick Falconberg

That is true but she cannot be a lone wolf in the party doing as she wants with impunity. If she is not going to work with her branch, notwithstanding whether she like them or how they were elected, she has to co-operate with them until she gets a chance to influence the next branch election.
    She is fighting where no fight need exist.

38. Frederick Falconberg Avatar
    Frederick Falconberg

Crusoe
    Yes, that is also true but Mia is a clever lady, she is going to wait just long enough for the entire party to be lined up behind her when she takes of Agard’s head politically.

39. Frederick Falconberg Avatar
    Frederick Falconberg

Lets be real, Mia Agard makes not credible contribution to the Opposition in Parliament. She not only talks a lot of non-sense but her style of talking and delivery is THE MOST BORING for a very, very long time.
    Maria Agard, even if she was to secure another term in Parliament on a BLP ticket WILL NOT a part of any Mottley cabinet.

40. @Frederick Falconberg

More boring than Sutherland for example? Actually Agard is very articulate and it is obvious she researches her contributions.

@Crusoe

In the US for example the leadership of the parties have to canvass those with left, centre or right leaning views to present a solid party position. Why must Agard toe the line absolutely? She obviously made mistakes the best way to engage the political hacks who make up these executives but it does not mean she is not a BLP foot soldier.

41. reason why Mia did not cut off Agard early in the game because she has too many political foot soldiers to appease ,mIa has now become the story of the dog and his shadow,
    Any great leader would have done the cutting earlier which would have been the logical and political thing to do especially knowing the sooner the healing begins the less damage occurs
    Now time is her greatest fear as well as her enemy .literally her back is against the wall,

42. @ David
    Why must Agard toe the line absolutely?
    Because politics in Barbados is about convincing a bunch of mindless lackies to toe a particular line no matter what their conscience (for those with one remaining) tells them.

Just like the Church
    Just like the Lodge
    Just like the schools
    Just like the various Boards of Directors…

There is NO room for independent thought ..just institutionalised brass bowlery.

43. @ac
    “MIa had promised last week to quell this fast burning inferno in the quickness of time
    What time is it now ?”

Time for the BLP yardfowls including Peter Wickham and the apologists on this blog to keep making excuses for the worst opposition leader Barbados has ever had. Even with the largest opposition in this country’s history and the weekly promotion she gets from Starcom host Peter Wickham and buying out the new executive of the NUPW and a non stop 3 year political campaign , her head has gotten so big that she thinks that every BLP MP must stop and kiss her political ass or be thrown under the bus.
    I see a self absorbed megalomaniac in Mottley. Owen Arthur is right .Bajans would be foolish to put this joker anywhere near Illaro Court.

44. Agard should stop listening to Owen, Marshall, Kerrie, Toppin and Payne. They are using her for their own nasty ends. Can you imagine Owen Arthur wanting to lead the BLP in the next election? How many times this man got to lose? Seriously? Time up skipper, let the lady settle down and secure her future in Christ Church West.

45. @ Frederick Falconberg. .surely content or quality of content to debate cannot be the stick of measurement used, for if such were the case St George North would have attracted attention big time, looong time. …Anyone who pays close attention to politics in Barbados has to know that Ch Ch West is of little concern to Mia…..that is when compared to St James Central. History will record that the semi independent member of parliament would have gone from politician to puppeteer. The strings at his disposal will prove more worrisome to this leader than anything that Ch Ch could present. This talk about leading 29 others onto the field is just that. TALK.

46. Last week the Nation had an editorial advising mottley that she had little time to put the issue behind her
    This week big fat albert brandford another blp political mouth piece says THE TROOPS ARE WAITING laughed so hard Almost spill my tea,

47. Give me the name of one single member on the side of the government that has a genuine case for reelection. Now look at the disarray that the opposition has chosen to bathe itself in. Recognize that a change of government is not a done deal, and then admit that the bush man is on point with his brass bowl this and brass bowl that. We are indeed a strange people.

48. Bush Tea

I just got done emphasizing your above thought to my wife regarding what we have been taught to think regarding religion.

I said to her that there isn’t any real Empirical-Evidence regarding the existence of Heaven and Hell, but what we have read or have been told by those who espouse such words.

Religion in of itself is totalitarian in its outlook and nature because it leaves us no room to explore outside perimeter and confines of the given subject matter, and any attempt to do likewise is viewed as blasphemy.

There is absolutely no room to employ one’s individual conscience and judgment to arrive at a satisfactory conclusion regarding subject of religion.

49. Frederick Falconberg Avatar
    Frederick Falconberg

Hamilton Hill

Come man, are you serious about Kerri Symmonds? How can he prove to be worry or challenger for Mia Mottley when he hold a seat in Parliament by the slimmiest of majorities?

FOR SURE IN THE NEXT GENERAL ELECTION THERE WILL BE OPERATIVES IN KERRI’S CONSTITUENCY WITH ENOUGH MONEY BURY HIM COMPLETELY. THE ISSUE FOR KERRI IS WHETHER HE WILL BE OBSERVANT ENOUGH TO SEE THOSE OPERATIVE WHEN THEY FIRST ARRIVE.