Submitted by Anthony Davis
Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

The CEO revealed that work had already started on the controversial multi-million dollar project, with waste studies and sampling completed, and a front-end engineering design contract negotiated – You’re Safe (Barbados Today)

On October 27, 2015, Minister of Finance, Chris Sinckler,stated in Parliament: […]The Opposition did not wait for the process to unfold.” – meaning that the Opposition didn’t give them time to seek Town & Country Planning approval.

Pray tell me, Mr. Minister of Finance, if the Opposition didn’t wait for the process to unfold before running to the public re your application to Town & Country Planning for building the Cahill waste-to-energy plant, who gave Cahill Energy the permission to start on building the plant? It was certainly not the Opposition, because you said they ran around saying that no approval had been given by T & CP.

In the article posted above, Clare Cowan, said unequivocally that work had started on the project in July. The question here is: Who is fibbing? Someone has to be fibbing because either permission was given to Cahill Energy or not. They would not start work unless they were given the go ahead so to do! You cannot state one thing whereas something else entirely different is taking place. If Cahill Energy started work surreptitiously on the plant, would they be dealt with like Mr. Cherry who wanted to start a recycling plant, or is there here once again one law for the Medes and another for the Persians?

The Opposition spoke of Vaucluse and surrounding areas being affected by any problems that arise from running the plant – especially the toxins associated with such a plant – but they didn’t think about the people who traverse those areas on their way to work, school, the doctor, etc., or the tourists who will be driving around the island. Their health is just as much in danger as those who live in the areas that would be affected.

Granted, that will not have such an effect on the transients!

They decided to locate the plant where they got the sweetest sweetheart deal. Imagine having free water – which is so scarce that we have gone back to the days of the standpipe in the 21st Century – for 30 years. Some people would love to see water on a daily basis in this country. There are people leaving home and going to work to get a bath before starting work, and you have the audacity to give away water!

We are perhaps the most heavily taxed people in this region, yet there is a “low cash flow” when it comes to things that are important in this country. People cannot get their money months after handing their sick certificates. The scions of the poor, the needy, the vulnerable, and the so-called middle class, cannot get a tertiary education because you stopped paying their UWI fees, and to add insult to injury, you hike the fees for the BCC, leaving them only one alternative – go and find a job.

We have a Psychiatric Hospital which was so dilapidated that the patients had to sleep on the beds on the floor and the roof left much to be desired in the sense of repairs. The QEH still has problems with some things. Funding has been cut to the Welfare Department leaving a few to deal with many which affects mainly our children and those who are dependent on the pittances they now get because that money has also been cut.

But we have millions of dollars to give to foreign entities.

The argument about the building of the highway and the prison does not hold water because the only polluted air coming from the highway is from the vehicles, and as far as I know there is no more pollution at the prison than anywhere else in Barbados. As for the Greenland landfill idea, that was mooted years ago, and we are looking forward not backward. It is time to spend some of our taxes on the populace of this country!

Beware of gift-bringing Greeks, Mr. Minister of Finance!

246 responses to “cahill, CAHILL”

1. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Keep playing with crooks and you will get robbed,

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

None of the parties can call each other liars or bad because no matter how you try to spin it, six is still half a dozen. Both parties are responsible for outcomes past and present that are affecting Barbados negatively. Now the cussing!!

We need to rid ourselves of these stinking corrupt self interest bitches. They do not have to worry about suffering or eating. They are all well set. Time for the people of Barbados to tie their asses out to the pasture and put the butcher knives deep in their crutches. Down with the BLP badwagon and DLP sell out stink liars. Time for the rising of the third.

3. Anthony Davis, E. Jerome Davis, Michael Rudder, Heather Cole – the BLP official spindictors who bombard every available media outlet daily with a blatant one sided partisan agenda.

4. @Bajanfuhlife

Isn’t it their right in a democracy?

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yes it’s their right that’s why they take full advantage amd take it to another level by deceiving the people and abusing their positions. They know there is no law in Barbados to prevent their rampage.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And even if there were such laws, there is no one on the island to implement them.

7. Am I the only one confused???
    Was the bitch from hell on the island??
    Most the the BT article was crap that was said in July
    There is nothing new here.
    Does she have investors or not
    Is Infrastar the new owner of this contract?????
    Where are the answers to the hard hitting questions ???
    This is all smoke and mirrors
    A smoke screen to land acquisition and her not having real investors for the unproven plasma gasification process.

8. @RastaR,
    You should not be confused. You are contributing to the confusion.

9. This is what happens when u add AC and ac.
    ACAC.
    Acetylacetone
    Skeletal structures of both tautomers
    Ball-and-stick model of the enol tautomer
    Ball-and-stick model of the keto tautomer
    Names
    IUPAC name
    Pentane-2,4-dione
    Other names
    Hacac
    Identifiers
    CAS Registry Number
    123-54-6 Yes
    ChEBI CHEBI:14750 Yes
    ChEMBL ChEMBL191625 Yes
    ChemSpider 29001 Yes
    InChI
    InChI=1S/C5H8O2/c1-4(6)3-5(2)7/h3H2,1-2H3 Yes
    Key: YRKCREAYFQTBPV-UHFFFAOYSA-N Yes
    InChI=1/C5H8O2/c1-4(6)3-5(2)7/h3H2,1-2H3
    Key: YRKCREAYFQTBPV-UHFFFAOYAO
    Jmol-3D images Image
    KEGG C15499 Yes
    SMILES
    O=C(C)CC(=O)C
    CC(=O)CC(=O)C
    UNII 46R950BP4J Yes
    Properties
    Chemical formula
    C5H8O2
    Molar mass 100.12 g·mol−1
    Density 0.975 g/mL[1]
    Melting point −23 °C (−9 °F; 250 K)
    Boiling point 140 °C (284 °F; 413 K)
    Solubility in water
    16 g/100 mL
    Hazards
    EU classification (DSD)
    Harmful (Xn)
    R-phrases R10, R22
    S-phrases (S2), S21, S23, S24/25
    NFPA 704
    NFPA 704 four-colored diamond
    Flash point 34 °C (93 °F; 307 K)
    Autoignition
    temperature
    340 °C (644 °F; 613 K)
    Explosive limits 2.4–11.6%
    Except where otherwise noted, data are given for materials in their standard state (at 25 °C [77 °F], 100 kPa).
    Yes verify (what is: Yes/?)
    Infobox references
    Acetylacetone is an organic compound that exists in two tautomeric forms that interconvert rapidly and are treated as a single compound in most applications. Although the compound is formally named as the diketone form, pentane-2,4-dione, the enol form forms a substantial component of the material[2] and is actually the favored form in many solvents. It is a colourless liquid that is a precursor to acetylacetonate (acac), a common bidentate ligand.

10. South Africa saved $69 million from solar, wind energy in 2014

By Mridul Chadha on 18 February 2015

CleanTechnica

11. When this whole fiasco blows up, none of these incompetent morons will be around…..they will be somewhere far enjoying their spoils…………..what a nasty bunch!

12. Waste incinerators are the most expensive form of energy generation.

Examining twenty-six ways to generate electricity, the US Energy Information Administration found that garbage incineration:

Has the highest capital cost among 26 ways to generate electricity, including coal, gas, nuclear, biomass, hydro, geothermal, wind and solar.
    Has the highest fixed operating and maintenance costs.
    Has the highest combined capital and fixed operating and maintenance costs.
    Has the eighth highest variable operating and maintenance costs, which depend mainly on the cost of “fuel”.
    Costs more than 40% more than small-scale solar and off-shore wind, in terms of capital costs and fixed O&M costs.
    Costs nearly twice as much as large-scale solar and solar thermal, in terms of capital costs and fixed O&M costs.
    Costs significantly more than geothermal.
    Costs more than three times as much as on-shore wind.
    3.      Waste incinerators undermine efforts to fight climate change.

According to the US EPA, waste incineration produces more global warming CO2 per megawatt-hour than any other form of electricity generation. Incineration generates nearly 25 percent more CO2 per megawatt even than coal – the most carbon-intensive fossil fuel. (Incineration generates 2988 lbs CO2 /MWh.  Coal generates 2249 lbs.)

13. @RastaR.
    I said you should not be confused because I KNEW that you know. You’re a boss!!.

14. WTE makes no sense environmentally, economically or socially:

it has the most greenhouse gases (GHG) per fuel type
    its emissions contain dangerous air pollutants
    it’s the most expensive form of electricity.

15. According to the government the project is in the hands of the TP, we await his decision but bear in mind the PM will have the final say.

16. @David
    How can the project be in the hands of the TP
    There is no design done ??
    The town planner has nothing to review
    The land hasn’t been purchased
    The plasma gasification technology hasn’t been chosen (alterNRG have backed away from Cahill ) water supply hasn’t been investigated
    Who is the design company ?
    This is all BS
    TP can’t evaluate blank pieces of paper
    My money is still on crazy Canadian trying to get Infrastar to buy the contract from her so she is eliminated from the front line and the renegotiate the technology.
    This thing will become a 20 megawatt incinerator .

17. I am quite satisfied, that Barbados has gone mad.

Not only the approval of a contract with a shell company, absolutely mind-boggling that the Government has the balls to go through with this, but other things.

Like the impending release of a host of convicted murderers, from jail.

Sure, commute sentences to life, but release from prison?

Ya think they were in there for stealing a few yams??

Mark my words. Within a year of being out, at least a couple of them will re-commit serious crimes.

Insanity.

18. ”Violet C Beckles October 29, 2015 at 4:39 AM # Keep playing with crooks and you will get robbed,”

Sadly, Barbados is not what it was twenty years ago.

Now, there is an issue discerning who is a crook and who is not.

And no, it was not always so.

It has changed much.

The inmates are running the asylum.

19. Hants

Them applying for outline planning permission or full? lol
    A real pappy show.

After some internet searching,I found an application for planning permission for a 14MW plant. Look at the level of consultation and supporting study documents.

http://buildings.westsussex.gov.uk/ePlanningOPS/tabPage3.jsp?aplId=1613

20. @Rastar

Simply quoting the minister of the environment.

21. @RastaR et al, it has been noted in the doc dump that Clair Cowan asked a financial professional to commit fraud in issuing statements for what was a company in name only.

Can you or any of the protagonists on this issue speak to the blogger’s remark above, ‘…approval of a contract with a shell company”.

I too am unclear how or why the project is not halted on the simple issue of fraud based on the statements suggested in that particular email.

Were those details not valid?

I heard only MP Sutherland in parliament on this matter. He touched on all the key points related to the environment, water usage and made an absolutely great point re cooling requirements for a system generating 3000 degs. He even questioned how the three contracts could have been signed before other key steps were completed.

But I did not hear one word of the legal standing of the company underlying the deal. What exactly is real or false on that front?

(of course all he said has been prosecuted here on BU 3 or 4 times over)

—BTW , Sutherland had a solid speech but his presentation was frankly poor. Based on the data he offered up, if one placed that speech In the hands of Tom or Barrow or Blackman then the entire island would still be buzzing.

Mr Sutherland is a bright fellow but he needs to spend some time before the mirror in honing his oratorical skills. Great oratory coupled with really good details can go a long way to winning the debate.

22. The “wild boys” have spoken. They have arisen from their habitual slumber.
    All is well say the “wild boys”. Nothing to see here move along say the “wild boys”.
    What a crock of shite. Night is day etc etc etc.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word

Every now and again I get on BU and ask that a blogger be banned for various reasons, cussing, idiocy, etc

I going ask that you and Crusoe be banned for highlighting the absolute idiocy and incompetence of the Barbados Labour Party.

As a united front arguing against this proposal fellows like Barrow and Tom would have met with the team and said “focus on this, you on that etc” and would have collectively and systematically dissected this Demoniac Lying Party Cahill WTF Assification plant scheme

You indicated that you were unclear why, simply on the basis of fraud, (Crusoe argues on the basis of lack of experience of the company) the contract with Clare Cowan was not terminated.

These two issues were enough for a focused presentation to have been made by one member, which would have highlighted what rules and regulations were compromised, simple things like the inability for a company in her state of malaise to secure a performance bond in the event of her being able to deliver the project

You rightfully state that there was enough material that would have caused the common man in the streets to have a conniption which begs the question why it was not used, could it be that the BLP has similar skeletons in their closet or anticipates that such may be its future profile? and lest they do a Haman s gallows they opted to stay clear of that Inchcape Rock?

Or is it because they too are such a poor assembly of MPs that they do not have the skills to attack this government?

24. @PUDRYR

It is evident many in the House lack the intelligence and or the will to pursue issues that will portray the political class in a bad light. Some tried we have to give them that recognition.

25. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/10/30/enough-4/

Enough!

PM Stuart concerned about Barbados’ reputation abroad

Added by Marlon Madden on October 30, 2015.
    Saved under Local News, Politics

“Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is worried that the blacklisting of Barbados as a tax haven by powerful, rich countries could have a devastating impact on the island’s international reputation.

Expressing deep disappointment over the recent case involving the European Union (EU), Stuart today revealed that the region has a new case on its hands involving the District of Columbia where the U.S. capital, Washington, is located.

Addressing the opening of the 8th plenary of the Global Forum, Stuart noted that the issue with D.C. had arisen, despite “Barbados’ having in place a Double Taxation Agreement, a Tax Information Exchange Agreement, and an intergovernmental agreement to implement FATCA [Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act] and exchange tax information automatically with the USA”.

“Again, in order to minimize any fallout, we have had to divert our already limited resources from use for developmental purpose to deal with this unnecessary new distraction,” Stuart said, calling on the Global Forum to join the fight in addressing the issue.

“The recent publishing of a list by the European Union deeming 30 countries, including Barbados and others in the region as ‘non-cooperative’ and ‘tax havens’, once again highlights the concerns of the region regarding blacklisting by international organizations,” Stuart told the opening of the two-day meeting.

“This type of action can have a devastating impact on the reputation of our countries. It increases our risk profiles and affects our ability to retain or attract new investment and also has the potential to jeopardize the ease with which investors can access funding,” highlighted Stuart.

………………:

The man sure does have a way with words; so I will just paraphrase.

As word of the The Cahill WtE deal spreads beyond Barbados’ shores the effect have a far more devastating impact on the reputation of Barbados than the EU countries’ blacklisting.. Cahill will increase Barbados’ political risk profile and affect Barbados’ ability to retain existing or attract new investment and also has the potential to jeopardize the ease with which investors (including potential CEB investors) can access funding,”

26. @DD
    Or does it mean that the government are cought in a catch 22 where they will have to pay any taxes due under international rules having signed a Zero tax contract with this Canadian con artist

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maybe PM Froon Froon Stuart is now realizing that just so, it’s even harder to govern and getting a rare little glimpse at the real reasons why.

28. @DD, @Well well.
    Barbados has had a history over the past number of years, even before the election of the DLP (i.e.. before 2008) of having to fight against the OECD for blacklisting Barbados. Owen Arthur had to fight against them vigorously because they had blacklisted Barbados even though it had changed the legislation to satisfy their requirements, and the DLP strengthened that legislation after they were elected. It has nothing to do with Cahill.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Barbados….Alvin, is being blacklisted for good cause, the only unfair I see and Donville alluded to is that the bigger countries in Europe etc, do the sames things and are allowed, but the politicians in Barbados are not innocent by any stretch of the imagination..

They look for the most criminal-minded business people, both local and foreign to collude with against their own people and outside the best interest of the country, none of them are innocent, that is why they will always cause the island end up on some blacklist or other. The taxhaven issue is not the only mess they have dropped the island in, so please don’t go into denial Alvin, it is so beneath you..

30. @Well Well,
    Are you saying that even they have wronged us, we should just accept it, without defending ourselves forcefully? I wanted to point out that it is not only this government they did it to, they did it with the previous government and Owen Arthur defended the country vigorously; in ore than one forum. This blacklisting has nothing to do with our country; and other Black led governments in the Caribbean, but more to do with their own governments, but as usual they want to give us the shitty end of the stick. We cannot continue to denigrate our own at the expense of others. An american once said of some of his not so good allies, they may be bastards, but they are OUR bastards.
    Our politicians may not be the best, but they are OURS!!

31. Someone above mentioned the EU. The EU has given Barbados millions of dollars. Two nights ago a man that works for the EU and his wife were mugged. If I were them I would ask the Barbados government to have programmes to get skills for all these unemployed men that are committing crimes. I hope they will be okay and would like to say sorry on behalf of the public. The public is so sad on where our country is going. In fact it is very stressful.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin, as I said, they are the do as I say and not as I do crowd and have been for centuries, as long as the politicians in the Caribbean stand up to them and fight for their people’s rights and that of the country, it will be recognized and respected.

However, because a parent may have a bad child does not mean it should not be acknowledged. In this case, that would be the taxpayers as the parent and the politicians as the children/servants.

You are still quoting the same people who you say are disrespecting your country and people, Alvin. The citizens do not have to put up with self-serving politicians, do you see them putting up with them in Europe and North America, that is the point right now, who wants to put up with bastards, I certainly won’t, it’s unfair to the taxpayers and the electorate is right to copy that positive from the bigger countries.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As long as the politicians continue to disrespect their own people, have little regard for their concerns, feelings or health, future of their children and wellbeing, they cannot expect respect.

Alvin….you should be telling them all of this, it’s elementary.

34. @Crusoe

You have a valid point, the bona fides of Cahill Energy has been exposed for east it is, a rotten company set for a specific purpose aka 3S.

35. When the Waste to Energy Plant is completed the same critics on BU will buy & use the toxic energy produced by Cahill. While the rest of the world investing heavily in rooftop solar energy , we make excuses. Barbadian have the opportunity to produce their on energy sell the excess to BL&P or store it in batteries. Rooftop solar along with other large scale solar projects & wind can easily surpass the 14MW capacity of the Cahill Plant .If solar & wind are utilised on a wide scale it could make the Cahill plant uncompetitive & force its closure. The cost to produce electricity at Cahill will be higher than methods currently employed by BL&P will likely lead to higher electricity prices.

36. Greenmule

Brother or sista, yah got aa point there because rooftop solar energy system went up like hot cakes on this side of the ocean within the past two years.

Walking around the neighbourhood the other day, I started to noticed that an increased number of apartment complexes as well as residential homes have been fitted with this new solar energy, so your point bears some deliberation and consideration Greenmule.

37. Bonaire’s Electricity System Transformation

The island is now home to 12 wind turbines with a total of 11 MW of wind power capacity, which contribute up to 90 percent of the island’s electricity at times of peak wind, and 40-45 percent of its annual electricity on average.

38. Germany Breaks Solar Power Records Again
    http://phys.org
    Monday, 23rd June 2014
    Germany produces over 50% of it electricity from solar on June 9 2014 – breaking all previous records.90% of Germany’s solar is from roof top panels, not big solar farms.

The Fraunhofer ISE research institute has announced that Germany set a record high for solar use on June 9 – on that day the country’s solar power output rose to 23.1 GW – 50.6 percent of all electricity demand.

Despite not having a generally sunny climate, Germany has been pushing solar energy – but not from the huge solar farms seen in other countries. In Germany, the focus has been on rooftop solar collectors mounted on homes, businesses and buildings of any other kind. Currently, over 90 percent of mounted solar panels in the country are on rooftops. The country broke two other records around the same time, producing 24.24 GW of solar generated power between 1 and 2pm on June 6, and over that entire week, the country produced 1.26 TWh of electricity from solar power.

39. @greenmule

Doesn’t the establishment in Barbados consider solar rooftop as intermittent and not stable enough to satisfy BL&P base-load requirement?

40. @ David
    That was just a lot of baloney put out by BL&P to keep its old fossil plant relevant. People all over the world are rushing to incorporate Alternative Energy – including solar which requires NO fuel inputs, while BL&P have been talking shiite about doing endless ‘studies’ about how it will affect their grid.
    The problem is that once the solar revolution starts, Bajans will quickly see the GREAT benefits of this technology …and EMERA’s ass will be grass…

41. @Bush Tea

Have we not heard that BL&P has invested in a solar far in the North?

Also what do you think about Minister Lowe’s response to government not negotiating with BL&P about Cahill etc i.e. they have stated publicly they have a stated/approved capacity to take on 60 megawatts???

42. Barbadians like to talk,talk…..but no action.If you invest in solar/wind you can zero your electric bill.If you produce excess you can sell to BL&P. Millions of dollar would be saved by cutting its oil imports. New jobs would be created & carbon dioxide emissions reduced. Barbadians have invested millions in Clico & junk bonds instead of the future -solar ,wind , electric cars , green homes/ other technologies that can move Barbados firward

43. @ David
    It is not clear that Lowe is retarded?
    Bushie got the impression that he was saying that since BL&P says they can accommodate 60MW of alternative energy without disruption to their grid, then Government is free to go ahead within that limit without consultation.
    This has nothing to do with economics. coordination, redundancy etc…

On the other hand, BL&P seems to have been very quiet during the whole CAHILL shiite… They seem to be just relishing the possibility of government-prescribed-rates to replace the rigged fuel charge that they have enjoyed over the years…

44. There is need to wait on the BLP ,DLP, NDP or PPP . The power is in your hands , you had free education , put it to work.Stop hiding your money in the Bank & invest it in green technology, the future.

45. @ David
    WRT the solar farm up north..
    If yuh can’t beat them, join them…

Don’t you see that in the process they have practically shut down the growing Solar Electric sector with technicalities?
    LOL …they even have Bizzy’s ass in a tizzy…

The WHOLE aim is to protect their fossil investment until Emera is ready to make their exit.
    They could not shut it down with the shiite talk about unstable grid (since other countries have shown that this is shiite) so now THEY (and government) will be taking up the available ‘capacity’ …to the exclusion of the private contractors.

Here is the question…
    What gives BL&P first rights to any Alternative Energy business? …the Electricity act?
    Why is that new business not open to general competition?
    Why can they frustrate customers who wish to connect?

What is their long term strategy for replacement of the OLD generating plant? (if not ‘cut and run’ as Bushie strongly suspects…)

46. BU understands we have several large photovoltaic installations stalled because of the amendment to the rise earlier in the year. Many of the companies involved in installation are struggling.

JAs.

47. @ Greenmule
    Stop hiding your money in the Bank & invest it in green technology, the future.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …then wait how long for a meter?
    …then be ‘selling’ electricity to BL&P for free? (you get approximately the fuel charge – which BL&P never paid in any case -(their customer does). – so your input is FREE to them)

This kind of thinking is OK in NORMAL countries where playing fields are level and things are transparent….. But, like buying shares in public companies, it is NOT so ’bout here.

Bushie’s preference… in the absence of a level field…
    Self-contained home power systems with battery backup.

48. The buy back is too much tilted to bl&p, It is not fair. Hopefully Jeff can help?

49. @Bushtea.
    If BL&P is willing to accept 60MW of alternative energy that is great. What are Barbadians waiting for ? Barbadians need to jump on this before Cahill grabs it.

Bushy next time you come on BU let us know that you have invested in alternative energy.I challenge all BU members to do your part & invest in alternative energy now. Stop the talk & do something for the future of this country.

Free the people from oil.
    Oil is used to keep a few rich & the masses poor.
    Some countries are using their oil wealth to fund terrorism & wars.
    Oil & other fossil fuels cause pollution & global warming.
    Help pave the way for a better future.