Submitted by DAVID  COMISSIONG, President, Clement Payne Movement
Don'tPanic
Don’tPanic

A NEW CONCEPT OF DEVELOPMENT

I totally reject Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s often repeated admonition that Barbados […]

is a weak and vulnerable society / economy that is caught up in an international recession and that can do little or nothing about its predicament.

On the contrary, I see Barbados as a sturdy little nation that possesses resources which – if properly organized and mobilized – can propel the country forward and upward, international recession or no international recession!

As far as I am concerned there is no need for us to remain in a negative helpless posture of national hand-wringing and despondency! Rather, let us recognize that out salvation lies within our own hands, and that what we need to do is to organize ourselves and our national resources for social and economic production.

But central to such a mission is a national education system that is designed to reproduce, preserve and root us in our distinctive Bajan / Caribbean national culture, and to foster a national propensity for self-confidence, initiative, high academic or technical achievement, social solidarity, cooperative work, independent thought, and self-reliance.

The idea would be to establish the type of national education system that could provide the foundation for a model of development in which we Barbadians assume the primary responsibility for establishing productive enterprises, and in which the economic development of Barbados is based squarely on our country’s educational and human development!

In other words, we need to jettison this idea that the foreign investor will be our savior, or that Barbados could or should “develop” itself by increasing the number of its citizens employed in relatively unskilled, low-technology, dead end manufacturing, tourism or other service jobs!

I therefore envisage a new Barbados economy based on the following planks:-

1. Education, as a foreign exchange earning industry in its own right;

2. High technology manufacturing;

3. Intensive, high technology-based food production;

4. Cultural or arts-based industries;

5. Cultural and heritage tourism;

6. Health tourism;

7. Sports tourism;

8. A national “Employee Share-Ownership Programme”;

9. Public/Private sector partnership in the development and commercial use of such national assets as our rum, sugar, sea island cotton, solar technology, classic Bajan furniture, pepper sauce, black belly sheep, Cricket heritage, classic Bajan literature, pottery, and the list goes on;

10. A cooperative or people’s sector of the economy based on a combining and mobilization of the resources of our credit unions, cooperatives, trade unions, churches, educational institutions and community-based organizations;

11. An organized Public/Private Sector effort to provide for the technical, administrative, managerial and trade-related needs of our fellow CARICOM member states;

12. A meaningful national entrepreneurial partnership with the Barbadian and wider Caribbean Diaspora in North America and Europe;

13. A systematic process of small business development based– among other things– on the directing of government contracts and government expenditure towards small business;

14. A series of local environmental development projects, with funding provided under the international Global Warming / Climate Change agenda;

15. Development of a new relationship with Latin America based– in the first instance– on enhanced relations with Venezuela and Cuba, and on Barbados joining Petro Caribe and the Bolivarian Alliance For Latin America and the Caribbean (ALBA);

16. Engagement with the African Union (AU) on their Diaspora / Sixth Region initiative by undertaking joint AU / Barbados developmental projects;

17. Expansion of Solar Energy mechanisms and applications right across the island;

18. A systematic effort to dismantle the national “log-jam” of un-met human needs, un-employed people, and un-used financial resources with a national programme of low income housing construction; expanded educational programmes; expanded health care provision; local food production; and solar energy production;

19. An organized “Research and Development” effort based on and in the University of the West Indies; and

20. Implementation of the  notion that– especially in a period of economic distress – each Government ministry must identify and undertake responsibility for developing at least one concrete project that will add significant economic value to our nation.

If one closely examines these twenty propositions one will discern that at the heart of each proposition is the notion of a conscious, patriotic, culturally rooted, highly educated and trained Barbadian population.

Thus, we come right back to the fundamental issue of education and national identity formation!

In the next component of this extended essay I will outline a proposal for a revamping of Barbados’ educational system (and the umbilically connected spheres of cultural development and mass media), before going on to explain how my twenty developmental propositions can be implemented in our beloved country.

(To be continued.)

142 responses to “DON’T AGONIZE! ORGANIZE! (ii)”

1. I would like David Comissiong to explain the concept of “A national Employee Share-Ownership Programme” to BU.

I interpret such a concept to mean that business owners will be mandated to offer their employees shareholder’s rights of ownership in the business.

Is Comissiong implying that an entrepreneur, who developed an idea and had to incur expenses associated with establishing the business; used his property as collateral to obtain loan financing; and ensured that his employee receive adequate and fair compensation for performing their duties, MUST offer share ownership to his employees, especially bearing in mind that the owner faces the burden of repaying the loan as well as the possibility of losing his home if he defaults?

If Comissiong argues that the employee’s labour contributed to the development of the business, then could it not be viewed as a situation whereby the employee offered his services to perform a specific task for which he received adequate and fair compensation?

Okay, I employed a maid and landscaper to clean my home and keep my property’s lawn well groomed and the surrounding clean respectively. A realtor informs me if I decide to sell my house I could receive a price above market value of the property.

Note, the maid and landscaper are employees, are they entitled to a share ownership of my property?

This means that an individual could seek employment at different business establishments over a period of time, receive share ownership privileges and can relax knowing he can receive an income without having to make an initial investment and at the expense of the business owners.

Perhaps Comissiong should explain this concept thoroughly so as to prevent us from “delving in the realm of assumption.”

2. Artax, or maybe he welcomes other propositions building on his base level. Here is another scenario to yours propo above. Let’s accept the same foundation constructs – “an entrepreneur… incur expenses associated with establishing the business; used his property as collateral to obtain loan financing…”.

The ambitious entrepreneur gets her business off the ground with one other employee. Within five years the operation is 10 people. She is in a growing niche market and thus services customers region wide.

The company pushes into new areas and in five more years has grown to a team of 25 and continues its successes as a pan-regional player.

The entrepreneur had in year seven sought additional financing using property left to her by her parents as she needed to expand to grab hold of her biggest opportunity.

Throughout the years employee #1 has been a tower of support and without her skill and focus the business would have cratered during the tough times. No investment came from #1 at inception. Currently she is VP of Bus. Development, Marketing/Sales.

In year two the current VP of Technology & Service came on Board.

Below the top three there is a management team. All of whom came on board within two years of the inception. All management have been relentless in helping to build the company: working long hours with no overtime, ensuring that projects are done to the highest level, available to fly out at a moment’s notice to handle a difficult issue in a neighboring island etc etc. Just relentless.

Things are compesetate enough that staff are paid relatively well. The top VP team and service personnel get the opportunity to travel on business. The top team – particularly ex region – so they of course can shop for their family or arrange to coordinate a brief weekend vacation with the spouse and so on. All in all, things are not bad.

But at which point does Ms Entreprenuer decide that her VPs and managers should be part-owners of the company? Have they not been as important and integral to the company’s success as those two property’s acting as collateral?

Are they not the ones that will help ensure that those loans and also the loan on the lovely property bought in Aruba in year 8, a year after that expansion when the big contract started to beef up the income statement, are PAID?

The concept from Commissiong is old speak but new from the perspective that more of our smaller and mid-size private companies do need to reward long standing employees beyond a salary and a bonus!!

3. @ Artax
    So what is wrong with the general concept of employees being able to accumulate shares in the business in which they contribute via their labour and often, their whole being?

Shiite man!! …and don’t talk bout de maid and gardener – wuh those are part of the damn Tea family skippa….

Never mind Dee Ingrunt Word …who is so steeped in the white man’s world of greed and selfishness that anything that does to seek to maximize selfish ends seems preposterous to him….

There is much merit in Comewithasong’s suggestions generally. It must be clear to all thinking persons that the greed-driven, capital-first society that we have built has been a failure – even among those capitalist countries who created it and championed its greatness…

Comwithasong is on to a good scheme…. but without sound leadership and good vision even THAT will fail us…. we still have the issue of brass bowlery…. 🙂

4. @ De Word and Bushie

Perhaps I’m ignorant, but I cannot see any merit in Comissiong’s suggestion.

People get into business to make money, if that is considered as greed, then surely you must also consider those individuals who work to receive payment, are greedy as well.

The difference is one person is an EMPLOYER, while the other is an EMPLOYEE, but they are both trying to achieve the same objective, and that is earning money to survive.

I would not finance a business venture and offer my employees share ownership simply because I employed them. They offered their services and were paid accordingly.

If those employees want share ownership, FACE THE BANK, GET A LOAN AND INVEST IN THE BUSINESS.

5. @ De Word

“The ambitious entrepreneur gets her business off the ground with one other employee. Within five years the operation is 10 people. She is in a growing niche market and thus services customers region wide.”

De word, the flaw in your argument is that the owner takes the initiative by developing the company’s mission statement and objectives. The employees main objective is to assist in the achievement of those objectives as it relates to the requirements of his job, which are usually outlined in the job description.

If the employee agrees to the terms and conditions of his employment, and is rewarded for his services accordingly, why should I offer him share ownership?

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

I absolutely agree.

Whu do de janitor bring to my business?

But wunna dun know dat Come-Sing-a-Song having put down this ball uh pup, hoping dat de bright BU-ians gine come heah and post and give he dribble food, or fodder, upon which he gine go someplace else tuh elaborate.

Dat man nevah are is come back to he jobby yet tuh comment pun nuffin!!

@ Bush Tea

I surprise dat you supporting de comrade ingrunt ideas

I was to did tell you to stop talking to Domkey, and AC and Zoe cause dere is sumting called cycberspace punch silly.

Dem say dat de configuration of the text pun de screen typed by idjits is equal to a punch to you head 10 times by Mike Tyson

And you was did talking to dem bout “a way to die” fuh a likkle while now

De autorities say dat “only a rapid shock. or a skocker question, gine brek de patient out of the “waking concussion” dat result from thm punches so I say i gine send you a nex one, i did send you someting to help you

I did do dat yesterday but you din reply

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/660/cpsprodpb/14F5A/production/_85405858_horse_man_composite.jpg

Yesterday it was Devon and now it is Norfolk, dese British peeples into serious bestiality

“A married father-of-three has been jailed for 14 months after he admitted sexually assaulting a horse.”

Now Bush Tea here is de shocker question

Given dat in cases uh bestiality dem does destroy de animal, does you ting dat since Asinus got offspring dem is gine tek out de donkey?

I hope dat dese concussions ent gine over come you… and you did so well up to Sunday…

7. @ Artax
    It requires a whole different way of seeing things.
    If you see employees as just being there to earn a living, and good only for executing some work in your business …then you will NEVER see Comewithasong’s point.

If you saw PEOPLE, and relationships, and community development and CARING about one another as primary, and money, work, and employment as MEANS towards that greater end, THEN you may follow his intent.

Truth is, that even if you are a serious capitalist, you would appreciate the VALUE of involving employees in ownership and actually EARNING their complete trust, commitment and loyalty.
    Yours is a shortsighted, but very common and popular perspective, which leads to the kind of chaotic and unproductive employment environment that we now see all around us…

8. @ Piece
    Bushie agrees that this tactic of Comewithasong of dropping articles and hiding is a lotta shiite. However you must understand that many of these fellows have spent YEARS carefully cultivating an image of being ‘intelligent, bright and creative’.

You think BU easy….?
    How long do you think Comewithasong would last on BU?
    You see how fast Peter Wickerham ran off with his tail between his legs?

Caswell, Walter, Adrian L, Jeff C …etc are SPECIAL people yuh….
    …most others DARE NOT face the fire of BU.

Finally …
    Give Dompey a break nuh…. yuh going to kill ee?
    Cuh dear … the poor fellow sleeping with one eye always open – in case of fire…
    He has to spend HOURS on the thesaurus looking for big words for the simplest of statements…
    …plus trying to remember which nom de plume he is currently using…..
    It must be hell….

9. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Artax, I am confounded by your reasoning. Absolutely confounded. Of course the employee ‘is rewarded for his services accordingly’. I believe I outlined very carefully the initial context of which part-ownership would be offered to the original payers in the startup venture.

As a person who knows the study of business well surely you know and understand that investment is not only money but time and sacrifice in other key ways in a venture of that type. The growth of the business I described is attributed not only to the entrepreneur’s financial investment, ideas and ambition but also to his original team’s investment of hard work…much of which they would not have been PAID for!

They were all in to ensure success. You are not giving away your sacrifice but rewarding the effort and hard work of your team.

I suspect you know also well enough also of the success/failure of businesses in their first year(s).

With respect Artax your archaic views on employee share ownership are rather disappointing. At least it reminds that as much as we are educated and ready to change that in many ways we still think in the same linear paths as many folks of the past.

Your views do not seem to be informed of more modern business perspectives. So as trained as you are may I rudely suggest you read the simple book on Sam Walton: ‘Made In America’.

We can say a lot of negatives (deservedly) about Wal-Mart but his methodologies and practices on employee share ownership and the benefit towards a company (advisedly of course his being a public company) are seminal and very instructive.

He was not the first of course to utilize share ownership but that company grew to be at one time the biggest employer (if not still) and biggest firm by revenue in the world.

@Bush Tea, as I alluded to yesterday you basically like to rabble-rouse for the sake of rabble-rousing. I know my piece was long with the concluding statement at the very end and you likely stopped reading mid-stream.

So just to advise. You disagreed with me and then agreed with the same point I made.

So not sure which of your various brass-bowls was covering your head when you responded earlier. LOLLL

10. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Correction: original PLAYERS…not ‘original payers’

11. Bush Tea

Ask your good friend Piece and he would tell you that Dompey does not need to employ the lexicon/ thesaurus to confabulate here on BU because Dompey have been mentored under tutelage of his wife’s family Professor aka Prof.

Nevertheless, much of what Dompey employs for verbosity here on BU comes from his standard- memory bank, in case you were wondering Mr. Tautology.

12. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Artaax, forget Sam Walton cause if you did not read the book before its quite unlikely you will now; although it is a good primer on business entrepreneurship.

You disavow employee share ownership for key players in a startup and then also down the road for other long standing staff.

So tell me, why if you joined Deloitte would you find it appropriate to be invited to partnership when you didn’t “takes the initiative by developing the company’s mission statement and objectives”.

And have as your task “to assist in the achievement of those objectives as it relates to the requirements of [your] job”.

Why should you be invited to share beyond your salary and into the bounty of company ownership?

Is it because you have worked earnestly above and beyond the call of duty?

It is because yo are an integral money earner for the business?

I am talking above about such key players… the VPs and top managers who are integral to the company’s success and growth; who work daily beyond the call of duty.

Be serious and remove the rubric in your eye of janitors and gardeners.

You would certainly not deny yourself that partnership opportunity but you disavow simialr hard, earnest work by others.

Amazing good sir, Amazing.

13. Ingrunt Word, I am not trying to flatter you in no way shape or form, but I do believe and still hold that you have a lot more to offer than anyone on this entire blog, in term knowledge. And your writing skills are impeccable as well as unmatched in my estimation!

14. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Dompey, if there never was assigned in the dictionary an example of a ‘kiss of death’ now there is. Oh my lawd!

Onward ever everything I say will be dissed or not read!

But, you mean well, so thank yah, hear!!!!

15. You’re welcome sir… much respect Word…!

16. LOL @ Dee Word
    Bushie is forced to humbly concede that he erred in assuming that you would take the traditional big city approach in support of Artax on the matter of employee share ownership…

The LOL is because any humble pie that the bushman is currently consuming is being washed down with the wine of Dompey’s endorsement of your brilliance…. ha ha ha
    …Bushie just waiting now for AC to declare you ‘man of the year’ and for Alvin to invite you over for tea….
    Until then…
    Over to you…. you have been doing a good job of upbraiding Artax….

17. Artaxerxes,

Take a deep breath, clear your mind of the white man’s deadly poison, then tell me if you still agree with yourself.

18. Wait, yuh telling me that De Ingrunt Word has surpassed the ACs now? Sorry to hear. My sympathy. LOL

19. @ Donna

Why must YOU always blame white people for EVERYTHING?

My point is, and I WILL NOT DEVIATE from it no matter who says my views are “archaic” or as you seem to be suggesting, “I am thinking like the white man”, THERE IS NO WAY THAT I, ME, THIS MAN, will use MY PROPERTY as collateral to obtain loan financing to ESTABLISH and DEVELOP MY BUSINESS, INCUR ADDITIONAL START UP EXPENSES, have sleepless nights trying to make the business work so I won’t default on the loan and lose my property, then to give an employee, who has not made ANY MONETARY CONTRIBUTION to my business, share ownership, simply because I employ him.

My business idea is MY INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY.

The problem with you black people is you always WANT TO TAKE THE EASY WAY OUT TO MAKE MONEY. You won’t view taking up my pens, pencils, erasers, staples, foolscap paper, legal pads and giving them to your school children, AS STEALING.

Why can’t the same employee suggest going to the bank, get a loan and invest in my business. But as we know, he would prefer to get a car loan, but would want to benefit or “reap what he did not sow.”

THIS IS MY OPINION AND ALTHOUGH YOU MAY DISAGREE (and I DON’T CARE), YOU MUST RESPECT IT.

WHAT YOU SHOULD DO IS ASK COMISSIONG IF ANY OF HIS EMPLOYEES HAVE SHARE OWNERSHIP IN HIS LAW FIRM.

20. de Ingrunt Word October 27, 2015 at 6:32 PM #

“You disavow employee share ownership for key players in a startup and then also down the road for other long standing staff. So tell me, why if you joined Deloitte would you find it appropriate to be invited to partnership when you didn’t “takes the initiative by developing the company’s mission statement and objectives”.”

De Word, you above comments are inappropriate, especially against the background that you do not know who I am and what principles I am prepared to defend or “stand up for.”

You have your beliefs and I have mine. Notice I HAVE NOT ATTEMPTED TO ADMONISH YOU FOR EXPRESSING your views.

The back and forth will get us any where, since, like it or not, I am “STICKING to MY opinion.”

Perhaps it would be in your best interest to contribute to the topic rather than trying to “upbraid” me, as Bushie gave you 100% for attempting to do.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Come Sing a Song do What?

Artaxerxes I did rooting fuh you and den you jes drop dat bombshell!!

David Come Sing A Song will talk all he comrade ingrunce heah and elsewhere BUT no man shall share in he birfright pun Crumpton Street or Highgate Park

Looka looka wunna going dangerously close to de short and curlies of de real man yuh

Talk pretty. Tell wunna he doing de homework tonite.

Wunna cud go and watch TV he got um covered

Set wunna up fuh a fall and den….absent from class de nex day but he faddah bring in de wuk and gi de teacher and wunna lef cat spraddle.

Wunna ent understand doah??

Dis is end of year and David want to do a few trips to La Habana en Kuba and to Venezuela.

Come heah, drop some communist sentiments bout sharing profits, de Ambassador see dat Come and Sing a Song is still a good Marxist Leninist and whplax de dog dead.

De ting is dat DIW pushing Sing a Song agenda strong and long

Buh looka now whu happen too De ole man only went in de verandah to talk wid Sis *** and me madam and when I get back, Donkey paying compliments to De Ingrunt Word AND instead uh DIW telling he straight out dat to get compliments from he, Donkey, is tantamount to being tarred and feathered, he telling donkey bout “de Kiss uh Deaf!!

And Asinus ent understan de insult Asinus tanking he!!

Whu ent happen in a year does happen in a day…

22. pieceuhderockyeahright October 27, 2015 at 8:56 PM #

“David Come Sing A Song will talk all he comrade ingrunce heah and elsewhere BUT no man shall share in he birfright pun Crumpton Street or Highgate Park…”

Comissiong has basically used extracts from the “Conflict Theory” as outlined by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels in the “Communist Manifesto.” According to Marx and Engels, the extortion of the proletariat by the bourgeoisie (investor) class is the crux of economic conflict theory. This is what people of his ilk does, and without taking into consideration the times during which these ideas were conceptualized.

I have absolutely no problem with any entrepreneur or owners of large businesses embracing the concept of share ownership. However, I would have difficulty with any government that seeks to enforce the practice or include it in the Laws of Barbados.

23. @Pieces, sorry but I am not pushing Commissiong’s agenda. A discussion point was picked up by Artax and I expanded in it. Let’s be clear, We have been discussing BHL for weeks and prior to that the entire matter of investments. There is absolutely nothing new from Commissiong on employee share ownership. NOTHING,

@Artax, I must respectfully say that for a learned and educated person who aims for and generally achieves objectivity you are also very selectively subjective to suit your needs.

I have responded clearly to your remarks and on the TOPIC with each of my post.

Don’t link Bushie’s commentary to me. That is Bush Tea. Follow your own advice: stay on topic.

My comments are NOT inappropriate. Making an example of Deloitte and you being invited to a Partnership was a scenario.

I DO NOT need to know you. It was An HYPOTHETICAL. An EXAMPLE. It was based on you joining them as an employee and getting a piece of ownership. What does that have to do with your principles.

Nor am I trying to admonish you. You are absolutely correct that we have different views.

I am shocked and disappointed that anyone as trained and educated as you are – AND to Donna’s point a black Bajan could make such absolute archaic remarks about employee share ownership. Your remarks are unacceptable to me. And I will call you on that.

We can agree on another day on another subject because I enjoy and appreciate many of your posts.

But let’s be clear. There will always be the innovators with the ideas who invest to get the business going. Those who embrace their team and offer them ownership as the business grows meet the standards I know all hardworking dedicated employees cherish.

Please revert to my earlier suggestion: Read the Sam Walton book. He was a billionaire times over and you may learn something. I do hope you do some more practical reading on the value of employees.

One day undoubtedly you will be sitting in the Board Room and the same shiiitteee that we have condemned the Directors at Banks or BL&P (yes the white and black both) you now appear to be just a replacement voice on the crucial issue of employee empowerment.

How so very disappointing.

24. De Word

Remain “shocked and disappointed” that’s your prerogative. Quite frankly, I don’t give a shit!!!!

25. @ Artax, that’s fair. It’s also amusing or hypocritical – depends…when a guy who carved out a niche on this site with his long list of credentials, supposed objective reviews and insightful critiques can opine on a discourse on the fundamentals of investor/employee relations with the indifferent remark “Quite frankly, I don’t give a shit!!!!”

How quickly we are infused with the Animal Farm behaviour and sound so much like those we condemn and criticize.

Amusing or hypocritical … we talk sweet but when it gets in our own kitchen we can’t stand up objectively with a strong, proper argument to validate our views.

All your education reduced to: Quite frankly, I don’t give a shit!!!!

Reduced to puerile retorts. Steeups!

You know something I care. I actually thought I was conversing with a practical, reasonable young Bajan with the insight to be a leader unlike the current crew…I was mistaken.

Thanks for the clarification.

26. There is the view an employee share ownership creates the opportunity for employees to be more productive because they own a stake in the company. It taps the philosophy that the employee is a key resource. There is no right or wrong position if adopted by the employer or not.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Because de ole man been heah long, I would like to comment in the context of models that I have seen work and where.

COW and BHL may have (compulsory) “employee sharing models” (so long as the employees NEVER own enough of the company to make it theirs nor to allow them to make any decisions in the running of the company)

So too with BL&P (Light and Power not the political party)

To the degree that their is meaningful, and not token, participation in said company which permits and employee to truly invest AND partake in the operations of that company then the concept is theoretically sound.

IT DOES NOT AND WILL NOT WORK IN specific circumstances. Even with cow and the rest, these compulsory shareholder models are computed NOT for empowerment, but to diminish the actual monetary payout to employees each month. It is mock money, actuarially computed to give cow et all loans through employees who have no say in the matter!!

Realistically speaking to what you propose De Ingrunt Word which sector of business on the rock in Barbados will find such congruence between the progenitor of a business such as Artaxerxes speaks of and an employee from our labour force work pool who is of a “congruent DNA”?

What Artaxerxes hinted at as he enumerated on the person who sacrifices for his business during its gestation period and its establishing a foundation, and then running (after 7 years, for while it might be 3 – 5 in Murica, it is more like 7 in these accursed island mentalities).

Operation against the odds of disproportionate overdraft requirements, and the banks sending back your black business cheques for $2.50 overdraft, notwithstanding that you banked $500K that year, leh we get real and move away from this fancy, hypothetical hibber gibber.

Then let me give you the real curve ball which you spoke to earlier per being in the innovation sector. Which employee that you bring on board can you reasonably seek to empower through this Marx crap, and that is precisely what it is crap!!

Note again that Come Sing a Song of Six Pence IS NOT HERE TO DEFEND HIS DOGSHIT and has released this ball of Pup, and left, confident that this long ball of jobby will attract interest like a ball of pup at the base of Nelson of EWB statues would!!

So suppose dat I does mek icons and ting. I is a michael angelo en ting and does produce tings dat wax sculptor Marie Tussaud does envy, or dat I got my entire house powered by Solar and Wind and dat I kin mass produce dis fuh every Bajan.

Now suppose dat de banks plussing dem microenterprise entities dat de guvment set up, dem Fun Access and Enterprise for Fun Limited (EGFL and timuty Simmons) and de res uh dem personal development specialists dat feel de guvment money deah fuh dem friends en ting, now suppose dat dem doan gi me no funding and i gots to scrape up a few dollars tuh get my business going, you mean to tell me dat when i hire a maid or an employee dat dem entitled tuh part uh me company jes to please dis hairy fairy ingrunt David Come Sing a Song Scheme?

Where wunna getting dis tampee tuh smoke from doah? Adriel Nitwit Brafwit de Attorney General get dat law pass bout marijuana fuh personal cuntsumption already??

28. NOTE: These words from God through Jeremiah, are as applicable to Barbados, today, as our FOUNDATIONAL, CORE problem, IS* moral and spiritual, NOT economic!!! Jeremiah 9:

Oh that I had in the desert
    a travelers’ lodging place,
    that I might leave my people
    and go away from them!
    For they are all adulterers,
    a company of treacherous men.
    They bend their tongue like a bow;
    falsehood and not truth has grown strong[c] in the land;
    for they proceed from evil to evil,
    and they do not know me, declares the Lord.
    Let everyone beware of his neighbor,
    and put no trust in any brother,
    for every brother is a deceiver,
    and every neighbor goes about as a slanderer.
    Everyone deceives his neighbor,
    and no one speaks the truth;
    they have taught their tongue to speak lies;
    they weary themselves committing iniquity.
    Heaping oppression upon oppression, and deceit upon deceit,
    they refuse to know me, declares the Lord.
    Therefore thus says the Lord of hosts:
    “Behold, I will refine them and test them,
    for what else can I do, because of my people?
    Their tongue is a deadly arrow;
    it speaks deceitfully;
    with his mouth each speaks peace to his neighbor,
    but in his heart he plans an ambush for him.
    Shall I not punish them for these things? declares the Lord,
    and shall I not avenge myself
    on a nation such as this? . . . .

12 Who is the man so wise that he can understand this? To whom has the mouth of the Lord spoken, that he may declare it? Why is the land ruined and laid waste like a wilderness, so that no one passes through? 13 And the Lord says: “Because they have forsaken my law that I set before them, and have not obeyed my voice or walked in accord with it,

14 but have stubbornly followed their own hearts and have gone after the Baals [–> other lords and gods they look to for deliverance; what does God think of our idolatry of political messianism?], as their fathers taught them.

15 Therefore thus says the Lord of hosts, the God of Israel: Behold, I will feed this people with bitter food, and give them poisonous water to drink. 16 I will scatter them among the nations whom neither they nor their fathers have known, and I will send the sword after them, until I have consumed them.” . . . .

23 Thus says the Lord:

“Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, 24 but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the Lord.”

29. de Ingrunt Word October 28, 2015 at 12:07 AM #

“You know something I care. I actually thought I was conversing with a practical, reasonable young Bajan with the insight to be a leader unlike the current crew…I was mistaken. Thanks for the clarification.”

You are most certainly welcomed.

Let me get this right; because I have some difficulties with the concept of share ownership, which is MY personal view; because I won’t sing in your choir and am NOT IN AGREEMENT WITH YOU ON THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE; because I WON’T let you FORCE your beliefs down my throat:

I am characterized to be “amusing or hypocritical,” impractical, unreasonable, “being infused with the Animal Farm,” lacking objectivity, making “unacceptable remarks” to you, and archaic, and in your contributions you have implied, in innuendo, that I may be educated, but I am an idiot.

“At least it reminds that as much as we are educated and ready to change that in many ways we still think in the same linear paths as many folks of the past. Your views do not seem to be informed of more modern business perspectives.” [de Ingrunt Word October 27, 2015 at 6:04 PM #]

“I am shocked and disappointed that anyone as trained and educated as you are – AND to Donna’s point a black Bajan could make such absolute archaic remarks about employee share ownership.” [de Ingrunt Word October 27, 2015 at 10:20 PM #]

“All your education reduced to: Quite frankly, I don’t give a shit!!!!” [de Ingrunt Word October 28, 2015 at 12:07 AM #]

All these INSULTS as a result of me having a view/perspective on share ownership that DIFFERS FROM YOURS?

You seem to take people disagreeing with you rather personally.

It appears as though you were just WAITING for the OPPORTUNE MOMENT to “give me a good ass wupping” and my DISAGREEING with this issue presented you with the perfect opportunity to do so.

THANK YOU for your SCATHING remarks on me. Since you have been able to get it “off your chest,” I hope you feel much better now.

De Word, we have two options/choices on BU, either read a contribution or use the “down arrow” key to scroll pass it.

30. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Pieces, as I said to your acolyte on this issue: REMOVE the nonsensical Rubic from your eye and get serious. What construct are you proposing BASED on the scenarios I noted previously to propose : “…I hire a maid or an employee dat dem entitled tuh part uh me company…”

What absolute nonsense are you offering BASED on what I ‘scenarioed’ to consider emplye share ownership as Marxism. You can’t be serious?

I absolutely do not have to agree with your proposition but that’s OK. What’s NOT OK is discourse not based on accurate premisses and rationally, logically presented.

This discourse is going into the realm of absurdity.

I am speaking and offering support to a fundamental aspect of the CAPITALIST corporate system.

It is IMPOSSIBLE -as an example – for a rational human being to accept that Deloitte or some local law firm can invite a member of the UWI law class of 2005 to their partnership ranks in 2015 based on that lawyer’s sterling work, focus on company ethos, ability to generate revenue and all those metrics used and ALSO disavow share ownerership to TOP team members who display the SAME qualities.

That hypocrisy boggles my mind. And then we get here on pompesette about political palaver. REALLY.

I have said this consistently from my first post YET you and Artax continue to present the absurdity of maids and janitors using some communism manifesto to lazily grab hold of your hard earned efforts.

I offer that your view are either deliberately being misconstrued, both of you have very archaic and hypocritical views of modern corporate and people management or you are both already operating from that ‘kiss of death’.

Let’s and this absurd nonsense. If you want to chat practically I am always interested.

Later.

Incidentally in which context would you or anyone describe the American Sam Walton as a Marxist? Which bone? Pieces you can be very funny at times..even when not intended or maybe you did intend to be!!!!

31. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Artax, I am a blogger so believe it I am tenacious with words.

” Let me get this right; because I have some difficulties with the concept of share ownership, which is MY personal view; because I won’t sing in your choir and am NOT IN AGREEMENT WITH YOU ON THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE; because I WON’T let you FORCE your beliefs down my throat….”It appears as though you were just WAITING for the OPPORTUNE MOMENT to “give me a good ass wupping” and my DISAGREEING with this issue presented you with the perfect opportunity to do so.”

NO sir. I have ABSOLUTELY no interest in comments like giving anyone an ‘ass wupping’ or jamming a view down your throat.

I enjoy debating the issues resolutely and rationally and enjoy engaging with persons who can do that.

ALL my descriptions of you were based on practical interpretations of the comments. And if you care to look properly you will note that every word you find scathing or insulting is defined within the sentence (s) around it.

No sir, petty insults and attacking a blogger for the sake of ridiculous tit-for-tat is NOT my thing.

I honestly and practically thought you could defend your views. Yes I was strong and strident in my comments but respectfully so. I offered nothing like what you would get in a Board Room or conference room from folks critiquing a presentation.

You should step off your AC style contest and appreciate that education and training means getting into the cauldron and using the heat to temper YOUR steel.

In that regard emulate your role model Mr Blackman.

Enough of this. As I said and again with due respect. Disappointing how you respond.

Your views are your views. I can disagree and still respect you completely but I ask that you define what guides the views.

The retort “Quite frankly, I don’t give a shit!!!!” does not define anything other than that you are crass.

And based on the credentials you presented to us on BU along with the sterling compositions I was very disappointed in how this young, bright Turk presented when challenged.

Yes sir, I was disappointed. It happens when someone or something we like/appreciate does something so completely unexpected,,,like the politicians you condemn daily.

32. Artaxerxes,

I was waiting for that one. Who set up this capitalist system, sir? Who run this system, sir? By whose text books were you educated, sir? Whose mass media has fed us? This is precisely why we must emancipate ourselves from mental slavery. We have been schooled to think the way of the powers that be who happen to have been white in our instance. We are to blame for being too gullible. That is why we are up to our necks in debt because through their influence we have champagne tastes on mauby pockets. And that is why we can’t get together to save ourselves because we have been trained to see money as the only decider of who is worthy as you have demonstrated by your attitude. You were looking at it in the individualistic way you have been trained by them to think.

33. @ Dee Ingrunt Word
    Shiite fella … you have been on a roll here, and most impressive has been your steadfastness in the face of obstinate objections.
    Bushie is suitable impressed…

@ Artax
    In your ongoing tussle with the family idiot AC, you seem to have been disappointed that, in the face of overwhelming evidence of error provided by you, the idiot continues to stick to her DLP yardfowl position.
    …..So SURELY it was not you who said ” The back and forth will get us any where, since, like it or not, I am “STICKING to MY opinion.”

Surely ‘everyone’ needs to be open to alternative positions that MAY, upon more enlightened review, warrant a revamp of an accepted position.

Instinctive dismissal of Come-and-sing-a-song’s communist leaning is NOT, in itself , grounds to dismiss the concept of employee involvement in business as a CORE NATIONAL POLICY.
    Do you have a similar disgusting response to the concept of the NIS, where employers make substantial contributions to employee’s insurance premiums?
    How about Redundancy Pay that requires that employers pay lump sums to long term employees whose services they no longer require?

It makes absolute SOCIAL sense that part of the contribution of all employees to their employer be converted to ‘share ownership capital’. The only difference between our current redundancy pay and such a scheme, is that the employer is mandated to liquidate the employee’s benefit upon them being asked to leave.

As Dee Word explained, the owner may well have the capital and the vision for the business, but most often, he will need to hire EMPLOYEES who bring other (often MORE CRITICAL) developmental skills to the business. Bushie has been highlighting the situation where those controlling most of our national assets have been forced to dispose of their ownership to foreigners …precisely because they have an ACUTE shortage on needed skills within their closed circle….. and like you, they are reluctant to expand ownership to those ’employees’ who have helped them to make these businesses successful over the years…

We ALL have different talents and your insistence that CAPITAL and VISION trumps all else is highly suspect….as you no doubt realise… 🙂

You MUST know that it hurts Bushie to have to side with his arch – enemy Dee W
    ….but shiite man … he gotta good point….

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ DIW

You seem to believe that I am caught up in your representation of this worker shareholding, I AM NOT!!

What I do know, and am in no way confused about in the least, is David Come Sing a Song whom you do not so I forgive you your exuberance per this theoretical discourse.

One notes that, in your last comment, you now seek to “qualify”, and consequently begrudgingly accept? what I have been saying.

It is only based on what I called “congruent DNA” what you now call a candidate having similar “ethos” befitting of the indigenous sectors of activity that such a model can be selectively entertained, based on it being entertained BY THE EMPLOYER.

Here is part of your hero’s comments which may help you understand where I am coming from

“Outstanding leaders go out of their way to boost the self-esteem of their personnel.” The genesis of such interaction COMES FROM THE LEADER!! NOT THE WORKER!! DO YOU UNDERSTAND THAT??

David Come and Sing a Next Song, this week, next week and once a week for the rest of the existence of BU, and den lef it for us plebians to converse about WILL NOT EMPOWER THE EMPLOYEE AT HIS COMPANY AS A SHAREHOLDER AT NO TIME, irrespective of your relentless support of his dribble.

Otherwise, and I repeat this so that you will not be confused as to whether I am jesting or serious, IT WILL NOT WORK, in Barbados, and to the Degree touted by Sam Walton, when it is exported to cuntrys with our collective populations, and our mentality, it cannot and will not work, carte blanche without your last qualifier.

35. All is mine, all is mine, ALL IS MINE!

36. Now we see that the value added by a maid is not recognized!

37. I’m sure no one was suggesting that everyone be given equal shares in the business or that the founder should not retain a controlling interest. It should be all based on merit and the value added by the employee.

38. When the business fails (as most do) will the employees help pay the debts or do they just move along and look for employment elsewhere?

By the way this is Barbados…shares (unless you have sufficient to ensure that you can control the business) are worth very little. A moribund stock market and inbreeding among directors, weak regulatory systems and an expensive and “lethargic” legal system all serve to undermine minority shareholders interests. Give me a good salary, safe, healthy working conditions and pay me on time. I’ll deal with the rest.

Anyone want to buy some Plantations or SunBeach shares or a CLICO annuity? Willing to sell at a discount.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Oh lawsie Donna, whuloss!!

“It should be all based on merit and the value added by the employee….” No body ent saying that Janotor or maid is bad or useless people, whu aftah all CEO Artaxerxes ent cleaning up de floors or replacing de ammonia balls in de urinals in de menses bathrooms (Donna you evah visit a urinal in a menses bafroom dat ent get clean by a janitor??)

And in extrapolating on what Artaxerxes has been saying, as were the comments of Come Sing a Song extrapolated on, “worker empowerment and this model of employee shareholding, cannot be applied carte blanche”

40. Has anybody recognized that Tony Blair has admitted that their invasion of Iraq is largely responsible for ISIS? Has anybody read Tennyson Joseph’s column this week where he discusses that Europe is responsible for their own current refugee crisis? The average man in the street said that long time. Bury your head in the white sand if you like. But they have been running things for centuries and are responsible for MOST things. I took my head out of the sand as a pre-teen. That is why in my future company I will have NO PROBLEM with worthy employees eventually receiving shares. UNITED WE STAND! DIVIDED WE CONTINUE TO BE TRAMPLED!

41. Pieces,

Wasn’t referring to your contribution at all. And I have had experience with the messenger but rather than shoot him I am going to take his message regardless. OF COURSE IT CANNOT BE APPLIED CARTE BLANCHE. That would leave us just where we are now with non-worthy people being rewarded.

42. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ping Pong is right, buying shares in Barbados, unless it’s majority shares, is a waste of time, money and energy, the directors are nepotism driven jokes, the owners are bigger jokes

43. Comissiong has some good ideas but only as good as the cost of living to execute these ideas.I accept the fact he is not an economist but too often I hear of these concepts without considering the cost of living and how they plan to arrest it’s increase or reduce it to make these ideas work.

44. Pieces, I did not want o return to this but your post changed that. Which part of the assertion: I am not supporting a Commissiong’s communist manifesto but expanding on a fundamental capitalist construct do you NOT understand? This is your second post that blows right past that simple point to build an argument…or should I say a fallacy, considering that your main premiss is built on a falsehood.

Be that as it may, however, as part of your overall remark, I DISPUTE the “IT WILL NOT WORK, in Barbados, and to the Degree touted by Sam Walton…”

Let’s evolve this seriously and practically.

—-1 Firstly, @Ping Pongs’ point is valid and instructive, when he said: “By the way this is Barbados…shares … are worth very little. A moribund stock market … weak regulatory systems … all serve to undermine minority shareholders interests”

But there are different, practical and REAL ways how showing an employee partner some serious love -beyond a bonus – can be meaningful with share ownership. And thus a further disputation of your ‘It will not work’

—-2 As a young man I worked with a gentleman who started a minimart…in St. George as I recall. He was an accountant at a major local company and established his operations while still workung there.

The operations did well initially and may still be there (I don’t recall) but work with me on this practical exposition.

As the company evolved after eight years and continued solid growth he realized that his GM and the two top lieutenants were seemingly restless and decided to recognize their excellent work (and keep them on board) and gave them a 5% ownership in the company.

He laid down some simple rules. This stake can only be sold after consultation with him and if they decide to sell and leave then any buy back would be based on the company’s latest audited financials.

As a shareholder he said they would share profits with him based on their % ownership and of course, he said, if I sell the business down the road you will receive funds as well. Also he said If he died and his family did not want to continue the business then the shareholding team would be given the first right of refusal for a buy out.

35 years on the operation continued apace the managers had all stayed and helped push the business to continued success

—3 Lo and behold along comes an aggressive player who offers to buy.

Whaplax after 35 year the entrepreneur – long retired from his substantive job – and happy enough to completely retire from his retail bus grabs the chance to sell.

Everyone is happy especially the devoted management team.

And lo and behold AGAIN, the local stock market is irrelevant. And America style operations really DID WORK in these backward isles.

PIECES, the supermarket example is REAL for the first part. The second part re shares and buy-out is taken from another REAL Bajan operation.

You are speaking out of turn both practically or THEORETICALLY cause there is everything of what I palaver happening right under you nose in little BIM and has been for several years now. Over 15 years ago I was asked ‘so were you made a shareholder now too’ after certain actions within the company at which I worked.

Yes Sam Walton style operation ca work even in BIM. It is all about the intent of the leaders.

And again I REPEAT I am not blowing smoke of some fanciful scenario. I have based my palaver on REAL, REAL situations that took place here in private companies.

If you don’t grasp the reality of it working then you are not placing your nose as close to the operations as you otherwise seem to do so very well.

Anyhow, enough of this. A wise man once said “a person convinced against their will remains of the same opinion still”.

The Bushman said it so sweetly and pellucidly: ” Surely ‘everyone’ needs to be open to alternative positions that MAY, upon more enlightened review, warrant a revamp of an accepted position.”

That’s what we do here on BU…open minds to different views.

Thus Bushie and I can love to hate each other so well…sweet! LOLLLL.

Love and peace of Brother Bob, to all!! I gone!

45. David Comissiong Avatar

Hello Brothers and Sisters,

This is David Comissiong checking in.

Let me begin by thanking all of you for taking the time to respond in some way to my opinion piece.

Perhaps I should explain, though, that this piece (and the others that you would have seen in the past) are the contents of a weekly newspaper column that I do for Barbados Today. Last year and/or earlier this year some person or persons posted a couple of my articles on BU. It seemed to me to be a good way of getting additional exposure for my views, and so I took the initiative to post the last 3 or 4 pieces that you would have seen on BU.

I notice however that at least one of the bloggers is of the opinion that merely posting and not being an active contributor to the ensuing debate is tantamount to exploiting the Blog since the whole purpose of a Blog is to engage in debate.

I hadn’t thought about it in that way, but on reflection I think the brother has a point. So in future I won’t post unless it is a piece for which I am committed to finding the time and energy to fully engage in the debate.

So far as this piece is concerned, I must say, however, that I am somewhat disappointed that all the debate centred around just one of my twenty propositions – the proposed National Employee Share Ownership Programme.

I had hoped that bloggers would have engaged with the fundamental notion underlying the article – that we Barbadians do have the possibility( and the resources) to craft for ourselves a national programme of action to take us out the current state of stasis and crisis.

So far as the National ESOP is concerned, I would like to say that ESOPs may be found in several advanced capitalist economies, and that they come in several different forms.

Most of what I learnt about ESOPs was gleaned from the book entitled “The Ownership Solution: Towards a shared Capitalism for the 21st Century” by Jeff Gates.

Please note that I am not proposing a compulsory national ESOP. Rather, I am thinking that our Government should put tax and other incentives in place to entice businesses in that direction.

An ESOP is about fairness, solidarity and motivating productivity.

Take the case of Chefette Restaurant as an example. Chefette started with one restaurant in the mid 1970’s and today the company possesses 15 or 16 restaurants. Weren’t the employees of Chefette responsible in some way for that expansion? And yet, the Chefette employees don’t own a stake in not even one of these 15 or 16 restaurants?

I think my point is made.

The final point I wish to make is about the tone of the contributions of some of the bloggers. Some of the contributions are filled with gratuitous insults, ridicule, and intolerance. Why is this necessary? What is this all about?

By all means adopt a rigorous and uncompromising attitude towards public office holders who are paid by the taxpayers to perform their functions. But in the case of private citizens who give of themselves by getting involved in public life and public discourse, I think there should be a general attitude of respect and tolerance.

Got to go now.

Regards,

David Comissiong

46. GUATEMALA CITY – Basking in the glory of a landslide in Guatemala’s presidential election, a former comedian with no government experience has some unorthodox policy plans: he will tag teachers with GPS trackers to ensure attendance and give poor kids smartphones.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/73844/guatemalas-leader-eyes-gps-tags-teachers-phones-kids#sthash.mx0rNBVt.dpuf

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ DIW

I am on record, and Bush Tea will confirm this, as to my endorsement of your induspitable reasoning skills

SO LET ME SAY THIS SLOWLLLLY….as I said at 8.42 a.m.

“It (worker Empowerment) should be all based on merit and the value added by the employee….”

and as i said at 8.29

“It is only based on what I called “congruent DNA” what you now call a candidate having similar “ethos” befitting of the indigenous sectors of activity that such a model can be selectively entertained, based on it being entertained BY THE EMPLOYER….”

AND WHICH YOU IN YOUR POST OF 10.13 am REPEAT

“As the company evolved after EIGHT YEARS and continued solid growth he realized that …”

What part of your 8 year gestation period that you do not understand it the requirement under which Sam Walton and all the rest of theoretical expositions DEMAND as a prequisite for it to be understood that management has (a) made that decision and (b) seen that ethos that would so encourage them to extend that binding offer to employees???

I would ask you to use your normally logical and rational skills and return to Artaxerxes’ October 27, 2015 at 10:31 AM post upon which you subsequently commented and upon which I am stating that unless one is able to assess the employee’s orientation that hocus pocus blarney that Commissiong put out there, his cyberspace flatulence for want of a better word (no pun intended) is just 6 words “8. A national “Employee Share-Ownership Programme” and do not mean shyte

Let me confirm how i know that David talking shyte and is probably seeking to impress someone at some institution regarding some sort of consultancy

Look at item 19

An organized “Research and Development” effort based on and in the University of the West Indies;

You cant be seriously supportive of this dogshyte BASED ON??? BASED ON???

I am starting to be “disappointed in you” LOL to use your words DIW

I had previously skimmed over his Dogshyte but because of you I went back and saw this one, what i call the end of year “request for bilateral funding from almost empty budget lines”

Item 15.

Development of a new relationship with Latin America based– in the first instance– on enhanced relations with Venezuela and Cuba, and on Barbados joining Petro Caribe and the Bolivarian Alliance For Latin America and the Caribbean (ALBA);

So in item 17. the Expounder of Dog Pup Comrade Leh we Sing a Song (of Freedom) talk bout ” Expansion of Solar Energy mechanisms and applications right across the island” and den in 15 we gi’ning PetroCaribe!!!

Looka you gots til noon to get out of Dodge City or I’m a gonna come a-looking for you partner with the boys and we gine run you outta Dodge….

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David Commissiong

Dat is how men does do dem business.

Dat is how Walter do he Business when he get carry to the fire

And dis is de standard dat BU does hold bloggers to “come back to your mess” (and dat is why dat felly Danny Gill get trample heah cause you gots to come back to your vomit)

Respect is due to a dog and BU gine be de PitBull in wunna asses til tings change.

Some uh We dat does come heah doan jes come causing we got a fancy online Thesaurus and like to hear weself talk.

We cuntry is dying and we ent into de fancy plaster dat alot uh wunna fellows does be doing

Why I say wunna??

I hear your apology and can see how the issue might have progressed based on your explanation but you know whu dis ting is doah, when you see Sir Allan, Bjerkham, Bernie and de Willie’s and Frustrated Businessman posting heah, when even the wealthy and haves postin heah daily time gotsa be made fuh dis crap dat happening all about we

Wunna really tink dat de unemployment statistics is 12% or let me direct this question to the author of this blog, is the unemployment stat 12% or 23%?

Axe Mia Mottley or Cynthia Forde or de people in the opposition cuntstituency offices of the BLP and wunna gine really see whu going on in Bulbados.

I am sure that unlike Grenville dat you got expanded papers pun you 21 points

You gotta get off you high horse one second sir with that condescending remark bout “I had hoped that bloggers would have engaged with the fundamental notion underlying the article …”

You ent see how with the piddling 21 pointer dat you post heah how nuff peoples start to speculate pun whu you, Comrade Plenipotentiary was seeking to say.

I am sure that the blogmaster would defer to your papers which expand on these piece uh points and give us the real meat of your thoughts

That is unlessing dere isnt any more beef!!

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-34658131

Former US Speaker of the House of Representatives Dennis Hastert has pleaded guilty in a case tied to hush-money.

The 73-year-old was charged with lying and breaking financial laws in an attempt to pay $3.5m (£2.3m) to cover up “misconduct”.

The admission is part of deal with prosecutors that could see Mr Hastert serve up to six months in prison.

This is what Barbados wants – accountability

50. It’s OK Pieces, no OK Corral fight here either. You pulled a Bushie on me and disagreed with me yet you agreed in context with my point.

Let corral around this. I did not at any time endorse or support the author’s overall treatise. A blogger opined on one tenet of the multi-point commentary and I debated THAT point and thus engaged said blogger.

I painstakingly separated and laid out my scenario which was stepped away COMPLETELY from the scenario of gardeners and maid as offered by said blogger.

From my FIRST post I enunciated what you appeared to see/accept in only my final posts as your “congruent DNA”. It was always about top managers who were ‘congruent’ with the leader.

Did I not say they started with or were the first ones hired by her/him and were longstanding. How much more ‘congruent’ can one be?

In sum therefor you have:

—been accusing me, wrongfully, of supporting the author. I supported one point and I re-defined it to present my argument.

—- been accusing me, wrongfully, of offering something different to your “congruent DNA”.

Suffice to say a fallacy can’t be proved right. We were never arguing the same thing so of necessity our paths could never be “congruent”.

Oh my lawd!!!

I will more carefully look at your remarks before I leap again…and would ask you PLEASE do the same….as it’s no fun to discourse in apparent disagreement when there is NONE.